View Full Version : Match Updates Sunday's Games.

19-04-2015, 11:34 AM
0-1 Celtic. Van Dijk 17. Great free kick.

19-04-2015, 11:38 AM
Scott brown booked for a shocker. Should have been a red!

19-04-2015, 11:39 AM
That's why they will win the treble, although I would like to see ICT winning the Scottish Cup.

However, what you wish for, and what you get, are often entirely different.

19-04-2015, 11:41 AM
Should be 1-1.

19-04-2015, 11:54 AM
Scott brown booked for a shocker. Should have been a red!
Surprise Surprise Brown gets away with another horror.

Growing a strong dislike unfortunately for Brown.

19-04-2015, 12:03 PM
Celtic denied a stonewall penalty.

Shame. :tee hee:

Right in front of the official on the goal line as well!

19-04-2015, 12:05 PM
How did the boy meekings not get sent off. Blatant handball on the line and red card!! The official at the side of goal was literally 3yds away looking straight at it!

19-04-2015, 12:08 PM
Never a penalty.

Typical moaning Celtic.

19-04-2015, 12:09 PM
How did the boy meekings not get sent off. Blatant handball on the line and red card!! The official at the side of goal was literally 3yds away looking straight at it!

Yet another example of the terrible standard of refereeing in this country. I don't care if it's for/against Celtic. Imagine that had been against Hibs.

19-04-2015, 12:26 PM
Yet another example of the terrible standard of refereeing in this country. I don't care if it's for/against Celtic. Imagine that had been against Hibs.

:agree: It was that blatant even the most anti Celtic person could not deny them it.

19-04-2015, 12:28 PM
Craig Gordon sent off!! Pen to ict

19-04-2015, 12:29 PM
It gets worse for Celtic, Gordon sent off and a penalty for Inverness. :tee hee:

19-04-2015, 12:29 PM
If Caley win this then i'll feel even worse than yesterday.

19-04-2015, 12:32 PM
1-1

1-1. Ten man Celtic in trouble.

1-1.

hibbymick
19-04-2015, 12:33 PM
Pizza face oot the final if they get there :greengrin

SFA will be bricking it.

ICT v Falkirk final could see a crowd of 30K or less for their showpiece

Brilliant penalty by ICT! But how long did it take the celtic sub keeper to get ready, he didn't even have his socks on! :confused:

Absolutely, but it's the Hibs way unfortunately

19-04-2015, 12:35 PM
Wouldnt have happened if We had been waiting in the final.

19-04-2015, 12:35 PM

We created so many chances for ourselves and failed to convert them.

19-04-2015, 12:36 PM
ICT v Falkirk could be played at Spartans ground! 😂

19-04-2015, 12:38 PM
Thats the biggest piece of cheating i have seen since Thompson, the ref clearly stepped out 7 steps and lined the wall up nowhere near 10 yards. :confused:

19-04-2015, 12:39 PM
Celtic will go berserk at the referee, if they lose this. Farcical to miss the ICT handball.

19-04-2015, 12:41 PM
This is excellent viewing seeing Celtic getting ****ed over 😂😂

19-04-2015, 12:42 PM

I agee with you and if we had made final would rather have faced ICT.

Deep down though I suspect both teams on display today would be too good For Hibs, then again, we'll never know.

19-04-2015, 12:44 PM

Celtic v ICT...yet we still manage to shoehorn in "hibs way" in a negative context.

It's not the hibs way. It's your way.

19-04-2015, 12:45 PM
The east end of Glasgow conspiracy theorists will be out very shortly 😀

19-04-2015, 12:45 PM
I'll be even more gutted if we've blown an opportunity to face ICT in the final. What an opportunity blown if so

19-04-2015, 12:49 PM
The east end of Glasgow conspiracy theorists will be out very shortly 

You should check out twitter mate. Comedy gold. :greengrin

19-04-2015, 12:50 PM
https://twitter.com/ICTFC/status/589769556228472832

19-04-2015, 12:51 PM
Man City 1-0 West Ham

19-04-2015, 12:52 PM
https://twitter.com/ICTFC/status/589769556228472832

That Twitter account is absolutely superb.

19-04-2015, 12:52 PM
Never a penalty.

Typical moaning Celtic.

It's a conspiracy.

19-04-2015, 12:55 PM
I'll be even more gutted if we've blown an opportunity to face ICT in the final. What an opportunity blown if so

We'd be massive underdogs either way and aren't streetwise enough to beat ICT.

let's not pretend that we've blown some big opportunity here if celtic lose.

19-04-2015, 12:55 PM
That Twitter account is absolutely superb.

Ha, the 'I'm in nets' one :greengrin

19-04-2015, 12:56 PM
It's a conspiracy.

It was a great save.

19-04-2015, 12:59 PM

They've got a point. The handball decision was farcical.

19-04-2015, 01:03 PM

Who could blame them? That was a farce. If it was against Hibs I would be going mental.

19-04-2015, 01:03 PM

We would still be underdogs but would be a massive opportunity chucked away. When was the last time we got the opportunity to play a non old-firm side in a Scottish cup final? Apart from the financial doped up Hearts in 2012. The chances of beating Inverness would have been far greater than a Celtic side chasing the treble

19-04-2015, 01:05 PM

Hibs are not streetwise enough to beat Falkirk.

19-04-2015, 01:06 PM
Commentator: celtic receive triple punishment for penalty.

**** off!

19-04-2015, 01:06 PM
Griffiths has done nothing today.

19-04-2015, 01:07 PM
Commentator: celtic receive triple punishment for penalty.

**** off!

Technically right if they make final!

19-04-2015, 01:07 PM
Hibs are not streetwise enough to beat Falkirk.

Can you imagine their crosses into the box? :rolleyes:

19-04-2015, 01:13 PM
I'm not going to spend much time feeling sorry for Celtic, but this is scandalous refereeing. There's no excuse for what happened.

19-04-2015, 01:17 PM
We would still be underdogs but would be a massive opportunity chucked away. When was the last time we got the opportunity to play a non old-firm side in a Scottish cup final? Apart from the financial doped up Hearts in 2012. The chances of beating Inverness would have been far greater than a Celtic side chasing the treble

We're a first division team this time.

Our chances would increase from "none" to "a snowballs in hell" :greengrin

19-04-2015, 01:21 PM
2-1 Inverness.

19-04-2015, 01:21 PM
**** sake

19-04-2015, 01:22 PM
Go on ICT!!

19-04-2015, 01:22 PM
Lol

19-04-2015, 01:23 PM
Wow. Prepare for the sh** to hit the fan :-D

1068gary
19-04-2015, 01:23 PM
The final is going to be a joke!

Green forever
19-04-2015, 01:25 PM
Have to say both teams look a lot better than what was on show yesterday but given the choice, I would rather play ICT than the smellies.

19-04-2015, 01:25 PM
This doesn't matter. Celtic have won the treble for weeks.

P.s. nice pro-IRA singing.

19-04-2015, 01:26 PM
Going to be some final.

Come on, Celtc.

Hibeewilly
After us losing yesterday you could have written the script. ICT haven't won yet but we certainly would have had a better chance of beating them than Celtic in the final. If they win it just makes it worse!!

19-04-2015, 01:27 PM
Haha

If we'd won yesterday the gods would ensure Celtic had already won 5-0.

Hannah_hfc
Why would we have any devine right to beat Inverness?

And no doubt this place would be worse than it was yesterday if we had got beaten by Inverness in the final.

Come on, Celtc.

Are you serious?? :confused:

After us losing yesterday you could have written the script. ICT haven't won yet but we certainly would have had a better chance of beating them than Celtic in the final. If they win it just makes it worse!!

Definitely. That's why I want Celtc to win.

19-04-2015, 01:28 PM
2-2

2-2. Keeper howler.

2-2, Guidetti free kick.

Shocker from Esson [emoji85]

19-04-2015, 01:29 PM
wow...what a total c**k up by the caley keeper...ouch

HibeeSince82
2-2 Shocker from the keeper

No point being annoyed. Its illogical, but I firmly believe had we won yesterday Celtic would have cruised this game. :greengrin

19-04-2015, 01:31 PM
[QUOTE=HibeeSince82;4352999]2-2 Shocker from the keeper[/QUOTE
It was but the ball takes some funny bounces on that pitch.

19-04-2015, 01:31 PM
Poor keeper, I feel for him.

19-04-2015, 01:32 PM
Both ICT and Celtic look stronger and quicker than both Hibs and Falkirk. Whoever wins this semi will steamroll Falkirk in the final

19-04-2015, 01:33 PM
Poor keeper, I feel for him.

I think oxley was to blame for the goal yesterday. Tin hat on though.

19-04-2015, 01:33 PM
Been a decent game this. I would say it's effectively the final as both teams will pump Falkirk.

19-04-2015, 01:35 PM

I thought so at the game, watched it back since and I cannae blame him. It's on the 6 yard line with the ball going away from him and players in front of him. Robertson shouldn't have let the cross come in and McGeoghs attempt at defending was dog *****.

19-04-2015, 01:37 PM
Technically right if they make final!

They'll just replace one fantastic keeper with another. They could buy and sell every team they play.

Just more mumping from the Glasgow bias media.

You've had a go at a fair few people for their opinions in the last 24 hours or so G, I'll let them get back to you re this post. :wink:

Has the game changed channels?

19-04-2015, 01:38 PM

Some people would blame Oxley for Celtic's goal today if they could get away with it.

19-04-2015, 01:39 PM
I thought so at the game, watched it back since and I cannae blame him. It's on the 6 yard line with the ball going away from him and players in front of him. Robertson shouldn't have let the cross come in and McGeoghs attempt at defending was dog *****.

The way I see it is that the ball was there to be caught and if he's not coming then he has to be saving that as sibbald is only going to head on in one place with the angle he's running in at.

19-04-2015, 01:39 PM
Some people would blame Oxley for Celtic's goal today if they could get away with it.

Bugger off. :D

19-04-2015, 01:43 PM
The boy shinnie is a decent player. As is that boy Watkins.

19-04-2015, 01:43 PM

This, no chance can you blame Oxley, if any fingers were to be pointed then it should be at DM he new he was to blame for it.

19-04-2015, 01:45 PM
3-2

3-2 Inverness.

3 minutes left.

3-2 ict

good goal and not undeserved 3-2 caley

19-04-2015, 01:46 PM
3-2 ICT. Makes us not winning yesterday even worse.

oldbiker
19-04-2015, 01:46 PM
Go On Caley

19-04-2015, 01:47 PM
Yesterday is absolutely galling now

19-04-2015, 01:48 PM

How? Do you think we would just turn and beat caley? They imo would beat us!!

Why? ICT are a much better team than us.

Says it all. Managers who were pish for us. Go on to do well with another club.

We would of been easily beat by this Inverness team, they're much better than any team we've played this season.

Some goal. Would be as well playing the final at easter road or pitodrie

19-04-2015, 01:49 PM
Why do folk think it's worse now that ICT look to be in the final? They are a cracking side third in the prem and would maul us.

Play the final at Cathkin

I would rather play Inverness in a Scottish Cup final than Celtic.

I didn't say we would beat them but IMO it would've been in our best chance in years.

It does, but I'll still be delighted to see Celtc beat. Deila is a prick, been banging on about a treble far too much tae.

Inverness are a good side. A level above us at the moment.

19-04-2015, 01:50 PM
Full time, 3-2 Inverness.

19-04-2015, 01:50 PM
i'm going to say it early doors...well done caley on winning the cup next month :agree:

p.s. the final will be held at pollok juniors ground :)

19-04-2015, 01:51 PM
If we'd won yesterday I'd be absolutely delighted at this. But we didn't so no point bothering about it.

Excellent.

The way the media have been going on about Celtics treble for weeks has been a total pain in the erse.

Nae luck.

The way I see it is that the ball was there to be caught and if he's not coming then he has to be saving that as sibbald is only going to head on in one place with the angle he's running in at.

DM was wrong side of his man, he gets more blame than anyone.

19-04-2015, 01:53 PM
Bloody hell, we'd be scared of Inverness??? Nonsense.

Gutting.

19-04-2015, 01:54 PM
The final, could in theory be played at Easter rd. how ironic would that be!!

kdhibees1
Well done to big yogi! Very pleased for him and hope it leads to better things!!

Unbelievable, that game had everything. I'm pleased for Caley, it's a great win for them, but referee McLean has some explaining to do. He made a huge mistake that changed the result.

19-04-2015, 01:55 PM

Gutting.

Dont think people are scared but there is a realism that we would still be underdogs against ICT. Albeit less so than against Celtic.

edinburghhibs
19-04-2015, 01:55 PM
It's fairly damning on this Hibs team when the consensus is - Celtic or ICT would have pumped us in the final so today's result is irrelevant.

19-04-2015, 01:57 PM
Want Caley to go on and win the cup. Yogi deserves it.

This, no chance can you blame Oxley, if any fingers were to be pointed then it should be at DM he new he was to blame for it.

:agree: Watched it last night and DM was very flat footed as the build up was taking place... Poor effort...

Yeah, just like Livvie final methinks... :rolleyes:

Well done ICT. If we had won yesterday we would struggle against them

Will be cheering yogi and latapy on in the final

Gutting.

Imagine getting to a final against ICT, thinking you're going to win then end up getting leathered.

Realistically they are several levels above us and will take Falkirk apart. Well done Yogi. :thumbsup:

19-04-2015, 01:58 PM
Where's Latapy ?

Penicuik Hibee
Well done ICT. But even more gutted now. They would have been hard to beat in the final but would have given us our best chance in many years to win the cup. Still can't believe we lost yesterday.

This makes yesterday's result even worse, perhaps Inverness are better than us, but so are Celtic. Who would we rather have played in the final had we won, Inverness.

Who's to say we may have done what Falkirk did yesterday and won it ugly, but no thats not what we will be doing. Falkirk will go there with the same game plan, it may work or it may not but at least they have an opportunity to try.

19-04-2015, 01:59 PM
Why do folk think it's worse now that ICT look to be in the final? They are a cracking side third in the prem and would maul us.

Probably but you are not telling me we wouldn't have a better chance against them rather Celtic??

Northern Hibby
19-04-2015, 01:59 PM
Do Celtic just have to copy everything we do 😉

19-04-2015, 02:00 PM
Well done ICT. But even more gutted now. They would have been hard to beat in the final but would have given us our best chance in many years to win the cup. Still can't believe we lost yesterday.

It makes no difference. We couldn't beat Falkirk....again.

19-04-2015, 02:00 PM

Not having a pop, but do you really think we had a chance against either of these? ICT and Celtic are both top teams, hardened by the premier. I think that the downer of losing v ICT would be ten times worse than yesterday.

kdhibees1
19-04-2015, 02:01 PM
Can't believe people think we would have had a better chance against caley. They are streets ahead of us in every area of the park.

19-04-2015, 02:02 PM

Gutting.

Don't think any of us would be 'scared' of them. It follows logic that the premier team currently sitting third comfortably in the league would be favourites to beat the 3rd placed team in the championship.

Yesterday is absolutely galling now

Caley would have been strong favourites against us...too many Hibs fans just right other teams off...like many had Falkirk down as cannon fodder yesterday. There was even a thread on here yesterday am saying 3 finals in 4 years.

HibsMax
ICT might be way ahead of Hibs but I would still rather face them than Celtic (not that it matters).

Can't believe people think we would have had a better chance against caley. They are streets ahead of us in every area of the park.

Celtic are streets ahead of Inverness in every area of the park.

TheHarpy76
Why? ICT are a much better team than us.

I'd fancy our chances a hell of a lot more against ICT than Celtic.

Pleased for yogi. ICT played well, they got there luck re handball non decision.

Still think we will be celebrating the day after the final.

19-04-2015, 02:03 PM
Dont think people are scared but there is a realism that we would still be underdogs against ICT. Albeit less so than against Celtic.

Course we would be and they're a better team. Can't for the life of me see how people don't find it galling that we could've been in a Scottish Cup final against Marley Watkins, Ryan Esson etc. Who are nowhere near good enough to rule out any prospect of being crap on any given day.

No evidence that Hibs can't match better sides - I'm not including Falkirk and QOS in that as Hibs are favourites to beat them.

19-04-2015, 02:04 PM
Well done Caley, always nice to see teams beat the ugly sisters. Congratulations to John Hughes, a good hibee

Gerard
19-04-2015, 02:04 PM
Its a funny old game this football. In Cup games anything can happen and does. IMO this season was a rebuilding one for our club after the years of having poor managers at the club and mediocre to bad results. Like many people we need a manager who will be given a reasonable period of time to develop the team and have a chance of winning silverware. Today is the day that is a good result for the non OF teams who will not win the top league but can win cups. May the best team win the Scottish Cup on the 30th May 2015.

SonOfDavidFrancey
19-04-2015, 02:05 PM
Watched the highlights of yesterday whole listening to ICT- Sellick and couldn't help feeling luck was not with us this weekend.

Some Of Allan's through balls were another class. Macdonald's save from fyvie and ball falling straight back into his hands etc etc etc.

2-0 Celtic if that penalty had been given and game over.

davidw
19-04-2015, 02:05 PM
Full time, 3-2 Inverness.

Cue patronising media comments about the "friendly final"....

banchoryhibs
19-04-2015, 02:06 PM
Not having a pop, but do you really think we had a chance against either of these? ICT and Celtic are both top teams, hardened by the premier. I think that the downer of losing v ICT would be ten times worse than yesterday.

I would have fancied us against ICT as an outside bet, no chance against Celtc. Without doubt we would be one of the poorer premiership clubs if we played in that league but we've got enough Premiership standard players who would have given ICT a good run for its money had we reached the final. We would also have had a good 60% of the crowd behind us....... better to be there and lose in a hard fought contest than not be there at all.

So yes, this makes yesterday's result just that touch more disappointing..................... it's the Hibs' way sadly.

19-04-2015, 02:07 PM
Course we would be and they're a better team. Can't for the life of me see how people don't find it galling that we could've been in a Scottish Cup final against Marley Watkins, Ryan Esson etc. Who are nowhere near good enough to rule out any prospect of being crap on any given day.

No evidence that Hibs can't match better sides - I'm not including Falkirk and QOS in that as Hibs are favourites to beat them.

You don't understand how people don't find it galling?

I don't understand how people get all upset about things they can't change.

hibees59
19-04-2015, 02:08 PM

I agree with this.

19-04-2015, 02:08 PM
Well done to Caley and a new name on the Scottish Cup. Yogi has done an excellent job there saving his own career and maintaining a successful team, despite the loss of key players. I'm delighted for a fellow Leither and for the supporters of Inverness. They've shown that a club with much smaller resources can be run effectively and remain competitive.

19-04-2015, 02:10 PM
Where's Latapy ?

He is a coach up at inverness, did you watch the game? Was on TV a few times today

19-04-2015, 02:11 PM
I would have fancied us against ICT as an outside bet, no chance against Celtc. Without doubt we would be one of the poorer premiership clubs if we played in that league but we've got enough Premiership standard players who would have given ICT a good run for its money had we reached the final. We would also have had a good 60% of the crowd behind us....... better to be there and lose in a hard fought contest than not be there at all.

So yes, this makes yesterday's result just that touch more disappointing..................... it's the Hibs' way sadly.

"The hibs way".

Here we go again. :rolleyes:

19-04-2015, 02:14 PM
"The hibs way".

Here we go again. :rolleyes:

I know, I had hoped all the radges would be back watching the Man City game and forget about hibs til next year........

19-04-2015, 02:18 PM
Well done to ICT. Really bad decision by 3 officials (ref, lino, behind the goal) not to see the handball. Stupid by Gordon and rightly sent off. Poor substitution by RD who needed attacking option, crazy bounce for equaliser, ref misses another penalty and Shinnie get a deserved bit of luck when his shot is banged in.

It truly is a funny old game .

19-04-2015, 02:18 PM
i'm hearing the SFA have been in consultation with the sponsors and apparently this years final will be contested by the losing semi-finalists, not sure how much truth is in this but i reckon a good decision :agree: obviously this is another first for scottish football

19-04-2015, 02:22 PM
The final, could in theory be played at Easter rd. how ironic would that be!!

It will be played at Hampden.

19-04-2015, 02:23 PM
Where's Latapy ?

Having a puff. :greengrin

19-04-2015, 02:24 PM

I hope so! :greengrin

19-04-2015, 02:25 PM

In front of 16-17k fans max. Will surely be one of the lowest attended Scottish cup finals in recent history, perhaps ever.

19-04-2015, 02:28 PM
Who could blame them? That was a farce. If it was against Hibs I would be going mental.

Yes but we are well used to that kind of treatment from officials, they normally get away with it.

19-04-2015, 02:30 PM
You don't understand how people don't find it galling?

I don't understand how people get all upset about things they can't change.

Yes I was a bit sweeping. But it's football, it's not meant to make sense and we're all within our rights to be mighty pissed off and regretful on May 30th that it's bloody Falkirk versus bloody Inverness.

And we would've had a decent shot at Inverness, definitely.

19-04-2015, 02:30 PM
Aston villa 0-1 Liverpool

19-04-2015, 02:48 PM
Aston villa 0-1 Liverpool

This weekend just keeps getting better. :rolleyes:

19-04-2015, 02:50 PM
This weekend just keeps getting better. :rolleyes:

It's 1-1 half time. Very nice finish by Benteke.

19-04-2015, 02:53 PM
i'm hearing the SFA have been in consultation with the sponsors and apparently this years final will be contested by the losing semi-finalists, not sure how much truth is in this but i reckon a good decision :agree: obviously this is another first for scottish football

If Hibs.net had a like button

19-04-2015, 03:13 PM
Villa lead 2-1

Pleasing

19-04-2015, 03:20 PM
Villa lead 2-1

Pleasing

:partyhibb

19-04-2015, 03:22 PM
Reading take Arsenal to ET and Villa - fighting relegation - are in the lead versus Liverpool. Surely all that is embarrassing too...

19-04-2015, 03:32 PM
Newcastle 0-1 Spurs. Chadli, 30 min.

19-04-2015, 03:37 PM
Yes but we are well used to that kind of treatment from officials, they normally get away with it.

Whether they do or they don't doesn't matter. Every club's supporters think the referees have got it in for them, and that includes Hibs, Hearts, Rangers, Celtic, Aberdeen, Dundee Utd. Any team you care to mention. Just have a look on their fans forums and you will see what I mean.

The point here is that this was yet another glaring example of the officials simply not doing their jobs properly, and of course everyone has to "move on" to use that well worn and tired old cliche.

No, it's time for these people to be held to account for their actions. At least give some sort of explanation. Even if it's to say... "Sorry I got that wrong". I don't care whether it's Celtic or anyone else. We should not have to be "well used to that kind of treatment from officials". That's just not on.

19-04-2015, 03:44 PM
Hibs Ladies scored in the last minute of the scottish cup V Spartans to take it to extra time and pens. The girls eventually getting through 4-1 on PENS.

19-04-2015, 03:47 PM
Looks like Stevie G will have to go to Frankie and Bennys for his birthday this year.

19-04-2015, 03:54 PM
Full time. Villa in the final. Yas.

19-04-2015, 03:58 PM
Embarrassing performance Liverpool. Them and Hibs drive me insane.

Congrats to Villa, hope they win it!

19-04-2015, 04:11 PM
Newcastle 1-2 Spurs latest score.

The Geordies are in freefall

19-04-2015, 04:14 PM
Weekend of the underdog or what!

19-04-2015, 04:33 PM

Scouse hibee will be hurting

19-04-2015, 04:33 PM
Looking forward to the Milan Derby tonight in the San Siro.

Both teams are struggling at the moment but it should make for good viewing nevertheless.

Saturday Boy
19-04-2015, 04:38 PM
Looking forward to the Milan Derby tonight in the San Siro.

Both teams are struggling at the moment but it should make for good viewing nevertheless.

This might confound the underdog weekend theory. On recent form, they are both underdog. :agree:

19-04-2015, 04:52 PM
Scouse hibee will be hurting

Yeah a ****** great weekend!

19-04-2015, 04:55 PM
TNS the last unbeaten team in Britain were beaten yesterday for the first time this season 1-0 by Airbus uk.

19-04-2015, 05:20 PM
Got to be said the offside decision on Balotelli was a shocker. Villa the better team though.

19-04-2015, 06:04 PM

Were Hibs not the underdogs against Falkirk, given our record of results against that club so far this season?

19-04-2015, 06:20 PM
TNS the last unbeaten team in Britain were beaten yesterday for the first time this season 1-0 by Airbus uk.

That's impossible.

Hearts were the only unbeaten team in the UK back in November.

19-04-2015, 06:22 PM
That's impossible.

Hearts were the only unbeaten team in the UK back in November.

So they would have you believe. :confused: What happened?

19-04-2015, 07:22 PM
Milan derby live on bt sport if anyone is interested.

Hannah_hfc
19-04-2015, 10:57 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QH20CgcP170&sns=em

This is currently doing the rounds on Facebook. Apparently it's not even a p**s take

"some of they caley thistle fans were pullin the Celtic players down in the box" :faf:

20-04-2015, 05:11 PM
Celtic not happy

http://www.celticfc.net/news/8087

20-04-2015, 05:20 PM
Celtic not happy

Is that for real?

20-04-2015, 05:44 PM
Is that for real?

Of course it is.

It's the sort of behaviour that I fully expect from Celtic.

I can understand their frustration as they should have had a penalty yesterday and they should have been playing against ten men for just over 45 minutes and they would probably have gone in at half time 2-0 up.

However that's football and Celtic are no different to any other football club in the entire world in terms of being on the wrong end of a refereeing decision.

This sort of statement is just nonsense. They want to seek an understanding of what actually happened.

What does that even mean?

The Inverness player handled the ball and the referee and the other officials missed it.

It shouldn't have happened but it did, get over it.

20-04-2015, 05:44 PM
Is that for real?

Yes. Also on reporting Scotland.

20-04-2015, 05:47 PM
Yes. Also on reporting Scotland.

Cheers. Thought that it was that daft an interview that it couldn't be genuine.

On the other hand it is Celtic. I'm sure they've had a few dodgy decisions gone their way recently.

20-04-2015, 05:47 PM
Celtic not happy

lol

20-04-2015, 05:50 PM
Of course it is.

I can understand their frustration as they should have had a penalty yesterday and they should have been playing against ten men for just over 45 minutes and they would probably have gone in at half time 2-0 up.

However that's football and Celtic are no different to any other football club in the entire world in terms of being on the wrong end of a refereeing decision.

This sort of statement is just nonsense. They want to seek an understanding of what actually happened.

The Inverness player handled the ball and the referee and the other officials missed it.

Absolutely. There's nothing to explain - the referee made a bad decision, but mistakes happen. He can only apologize for his error; he can't turn back the clock.

20-04-2015, 06:16 PM
Celtic should check out some of the decisions we've endured over the past few years

20-04-2015, 06:26 PM
Of course it is.

The bit in bold. This is the thing. They didn't miss it. They both saw it IMHO from what I've seen on TV & press photos.

If that had happened to Hibs on Saturday this place would be going berserk. This sort of thing has become all too common in our game. Collum only a couple of weeks ago at ER comes to mind.

It doesn't concern me that it's Celtic. That's irrelevant (unless you are a Celtic hater I suppose). These officials are simply not doing what they are paid to do and getting away with it. There needs to be some sort of accountability, just like in any job or occupation.

20-04-2015, 06:31 PM
The bit in bold. This is the thing. They didn't miss it. They both saw it IMHO from what I've seen on TV & press photos.

If that had happened to Hibs on Saturday this place would be going berserk. This sort of thing has become all too common in our game. Collum only a couple of weeks ago at ER comes to mind.

It doesn't concern me that it's Celtic. That's irrelevant (unless you are a Celtic hater I suppose). These officials are simply not doing what they are paid to do and getting away with it. There needs to be some sort of accountability, just like in any job or occupation.

If they saw it but didn't give it, then the only explanation is deliberate cheating, which is a very serious accusation. Why would the officials want to cheat Celtic? I doubt they're Orangemen who were just waiting for their chance.

20-04-2015, 06:33 PM

There is a massive difference between members of an online fans forum going mental at their club being on the wrong end of a bad refereeing decision and the club itself coming out with a public statement which basically infers that there is something untoward happening towards them.

Celtic know exactly what they're doing by coming out with this statement. Clubs all over the world have to put up with bad decisions from referees and linesmen every single week. Thankfully most of them manage to deal with it in a dignified and respectful manner.

20-04-2015, 06:45 PM

I'm not so sure that they didn't miss it. These things happen so quickly and they only have a split second to see it unlike us who can view it numerous times in slow motion as well. Only seen it a couple of times myself and think that the official behind the goal didn't see the arm movement.

Unless we go down to the same route as rugby where they look back on incidents then these wrong calls will continue.

We should complain about the ref getting in the way twice on Saturday.

20-04-2015, 06:57 PM
Are we too late to ask for an explanation for Craig Thomson's multitude of errors in the 2012 final. :greengrin

20-04-2015, 06:57 PM
If they saw it but didn't give it, then the only explanation is deliberate cheating, which is a very serious accusation. Why would the officials want to cheat Celtic? I doubt they're Orangemen who were just waiting for their chance.

Nope. The only explanation is NOT deliberate cheating. How about sheer damned incompetence, and not doing their jobs properly? People do make mistakes, including referees and their assistants, but what I've said is there needs to be some accountability. Failing that, it's way past time technology was used to help officials stop making these obvious mistakes.

There is a massive difference between members of an online fans forum going mental at their club being on the wrong end of a bad refereeing decision and the club itself coming out with a public statement which basically infers that there is something untoward happening towards them.

Celtic know exactly what they're doing by coming out with this statement. Clubs all over the world have to put up with bad decisions from referees and linesmen every single week. Thankfully most of them manage to deal with it in a dignified and respectful manner.

Is that what Celtic's statement infers? I've not read it.

However, it's time clubs didn't have to "deal with it" in a dignified and respectful manner, or put up with it every single week. What's there to respect about decisions / performance like that? Why should they? These blatant and seemingly senseless decisions have to stop, or at least be reduced.

I suggest the use of technology to help officials, and allow coaches to challenge errors like this in real time. It works in every other sport, but not football. I believe that's wrong.

20-04-2015, 07:11 PM
Is that what Celtic's statement infers? I've not read it.

However, it's time clubs didn't have to "deal with it" in a dignified and respectful manner, or put up with it every single week. What's there to respect about decisions / performance like that? Why should they? These blatant and seemingly senseless decisions have to stop, or at least be reduced.

I suggest the use of technology to help officials, and allow coaches to challenge errors like this in real time. It works in every other sport, but not football. I believe that's wrong.

I think so.

Why would they need to seek an understanding of what happened?

It's quite obvious what happened. Leigh Griffiths headed the ball towards the goal and Josh Meekings blocked it with his hand but the incident wasn't spotted by any of the officials.

What else needs to be explained, unless Celtic believe that something underhand was going on?

20-04-2015, 07:17 PM
5 pages in today's record about that handball yesterday. Unbelievable. :rolleyes:

Argylehibby
20-04-2015, 07:20 PM
Dougie McDonald all over again I reckon. Hounded out because they didn't get what they wanted. I think the SFA should simply put up a message on their website saying it was an error of the same magnitude as Craig Gordon's which probably had a bigger bearing on the result than the refs. The SFA however will not be looking to CFC to explain Gordon's error.

Ref should get Celtics game at the weekend too, just like Thomson got our first one after that cup final.

20-04-2015, 07:21 PM
I think so.

Why would they need to seek an understanding of what happened?

It's quite obvious what happened. Leigh Griffiths headed the ball towards the goal and Josh Meekings blocked it with his hand but the incident wasn't spotted by any of the officials.

What else needs to be explained, unless Celtic believe that something underhand was going on?

How do you know it wasn't spotted by any of the officials? They aren't allowed (as far as I'm aware) to give their version of events, which is unfair on them. It looked to me anyway that two officials were standing feet away staring at the incident. John Hughes more or less said ICT got away with it.

That's what I believe Celtic are asking to be explained, but I could be wrong. If it was Hibs, I would applaud it if our club did exactly the same. Similar to the way our CEO challenged the nonsense about allowing the newco to kick off their final league match 24 hours after Hibs (and everyone else).

If something is wrong, it should be challenged otherwise nothing will change.

20-04-2015, 07:24 PM
How do you know it wasn't spotted by any of the officials? They aren't allowed (as far as I'm aware) to give their version of events, which is unfair on them. It looked to me anyway that two officials were standing feet away staring at the incident. John Hughes more or less said ICT got away with it.

That's what I believe Celtic are asking to be explained, but I could be wrong. If it was Hibs, I would applaud it if our club did exactly the same. Similar to the way our CEO challenged the nonsense about allowing the newco to kick off their final league match 24 hours after Hibs (and everyone else).

If something is wrong, it should be challenged otherwise nothing will change.

If Celtic believe that to be the case then they're calling into question the integrity of the officials and that's a matter which should be dealt with privately and not through the media.

20-04-2015, 07:34 PM
If Celtic believe that to be the case then they're calling into question the integrity of the officials and that's a matter which should be dealt with privately and not through the media.

They may well be calling into question the integrity of the officials. I don't know if that's what their intention is or not.

Do you believe officials' integrity should never, under any circumstances, be called into question? Craig Thomson, for example, has often been accused on this forum of being a cheat. Again, I'm not sure, but I've heard rumours that Hibs asked that Thomson should not be put in charge of that cup final.

Do you agree with my point about using technology? That would go a long way towards eliminating the conspiracy theories IMO.

20-04-2015, 07:34 PM

Was Mclean not the referee who awarded Hearts the last minute penalty in the 2012 Semi and dumped Celtic out.

20-04-2015, 07:43 PM
Was Mclean not the referee who awarded Hearts the last minute penalty in the 2012 Semi and dumped Celtic out.

I think it was the clown Norris. He who managed to miss the griffiths goal v them.

20-04-2015, 07:45 PM

Referee saw that one OK. Ball played man IIRC.

20-04-2015, 07:49 PM
Nope. The only explanation is NOT deliberate cheating. How about sheer damned incompetence, and not doing their jobs properly? People do make mistakes, including referees and their assistants, but what I've said is there needs to be some accountability. Failing that, it's way past time technology was used to help officials stop making these obvious mistakes

But if they actually saw a handball on the line and chose to do nothing, as you think, how could that merely be incompetence, EG? Surely that would be cheating.

20-04-2015, 07:51 PM
Poor celtc, always victims.

Was just with my brother in law who is a celtc ST holder and he said that statement is embarrassing from his club, s**t happens and you move on.

You would think celtc were the only team in the world who have had a bad decision made against them.

Anyway, the ref was poor for both teams, ICT were denied a stone wall penalty, don't see Yogi taking the cream puff.

20-04-2015, 07:57 PM
But if they actually saw a handball on the line and chose to do nothing, as you think, how could that merely be incompetence, EG? Surely that would be cheating.

I've stepped back from saying it was cheating. I'm just giving my opinion based on what I've seen with the benefit of TV & press pictures, including replays and slow motion.

As I've said, I think they have made a huge mistake. Why? Who knows? Only the officials can give an explanation for their actions (or lack of action - i.e. award a penalty and send the ICT player off) but the rules, as far as I know, do not allow them to do that. IMO that's unfair to the officials.

Do you think it was cheating?

20-04-2015, 08:02 PM
I've stepped back from saying it was cheating. I'm just giving my opinion based on what I've seen with the benefit of TV & press pictures, including replays and slow motion.

As I've said, I think they have made a huge mistake. Why? Who knows? Only the officials can give an explanation for their actions (or lack of action - i.e. award a penalty and send the ICT player off) but the rules, as far as I know, do not allow them to do that. IMO that's unfair to the officials.

Do you think it was cheating?

No, I don't think it was cheating, on the basis McLean mustn't have seen it. If he saw it and looked away, yes he cheated.

20-04-2015, 08:11 PM
No, I don't think it was cheating, on the basis McLean mustn't have seen it. If he saw it and looked away, yes he cheated.

OK fine, so we will never know, and nothing will change if things stay as they are. I really would like to think there was nothing sinister.

I don't give a toss that it was Celtic. I just don't want that happening to any team, in the interests of sporting integrity. Where have we heard that recently? Oh yes, it was Leeann Dempster.

I believe we as football fans need to be much louder in calling for technology to be used to try to at least reduce these sort of incidents. No doubt there will be a queue of folk coming on now saying they disagree with the use of technology. I'm out now.

20-04-2015, 08:15 PM
OK fine, so we will never know, and nothing will change if things stay as they are. I really would like to think there was nothing sinister.

I don't give a toss that it was Celtic. I just don't want that happening to any team, in the interests of sporting integrity. Where have we heard that recently? Oh yes, it was Leeann Dempster.

I believe we as football fans need to be much louder in calling for technology to be used to try to at least reduce these sort of incidents. No doubt there will be a queue of folk coming on now saying they disagree with the use of technology. I'm out now.

Hey, I wasn't having a go, don't get me wrong. I also don't think there was anything sinister; there's no reason to think McLean would have a vendetta against Celtic. But, IMHO, that theory only stands up if he didn't spot the handball on the line. The technology debate (beyond whether the ball crossed the line) will run and run.

20-04-2015, 08:20 PM
Hey, I wasn't having a go, don't get me wrong. I also don't think there was anything sinister; there's no reason to think McLean would have a vendetta against Celtic. But, IMHO, that theory only stands up if he didn't spot the handball on the line. The technology debate (beyond whether the ball crossed the line) will run and run.

It's fine H & A, I wasn't taking it like that! Nae probs. :aok:

20-04-2015, 08:49 PM
No doubt it's all part of some huge Masonic conspiracy against them to ensure their promise to win trebles unchallenged for seasons to come continues to misfire.

Absolutely no qualms that it was a penalty and a red card but some you win, some you lose and they win more than any other club in Scottish football (hence why Scott Brown manages to stay on the park for the full duration of games when he plays as opposed to, say, Jim Goodwin). Having said that, say they get that penalty - that's an opportunity to score, not a goal - you would think they've had a goal ripped away from them. And sure, playing for prolonged time against 10 men might have altered the dynamic but equally, it might not have made ANY difference. Perhaps Inverness stand all 10 remaining men on the line until the final whistle, forming an impregnable wall...maybe the Celtc players play against 10 men, are unable to break them down, become frustrated and begin kicking lumps out the Caley players and are subsequently reduced to 9 or 8 men themselves and Caley go on to score another 4 or 5.

Let's not forget that Inverness were also denied a stonewall penalty when Zaluska poleaxed Ofere from behind with no hint of being anywhere near the ball.

Celtc should conduct their query privately and otherwise quit publicly embarrassing themselves everytime they get papped out of a big competition. It's absolutely guaranteed every time they lose, they have something to gripe about.

20-04-2015, 10:04 PM
They may well be calling into question the integrity of the officials. I don't know if that's what their intention is or not.

Do you believe officials' integrity should never, under any circumstances, be called into question? Craig Thomson, for example, has often been accused on this forum of being a cheat. Again, I'm not sure, but I've heard rumours that Hibs asked that Thomson should not be put in charge of that cup final.

Do you agree with my point about using technology? That would go a long way towards eliminating the conspiracy theories IMO.

Once again, there's a world of difference between supporters posting on a fansite about a referee allegedly cheating against their team and the club itself making public statements which are calling into question the integrity of the referee.

Discussions of that nature should be held in private between the club in question and the authorities.

As for technology, it's a no-brainer but I feel it is a long way off at the moment.

20-04-2015, 10:13 PM
Here's a memory test for you all (apologies if it's been mentioned already):

2004 Scottish Cup final, Dunfermline vs Celtc...

Bobo Balde anyone?

Goes around. Comes around.

20-04-2015, 10:35 PM
I wish a journalist had the balls to ask Peter Lawell just what the point of that statement was. Sadly I am sure none will.

21-04-2015, 09:52 AM
Here's a memory test for you all (apologies if it's been mentioned already):

2004 Scottish Cup final, Dunfermline vs Celtc...

Bobo Balde anyone?

Goes around. Comes around.

Cant remember that one but clearly can remember a game at ER when Balde on a booking clearly elbowed I think it was Fenwick full in the face within 5 yards of the ref. Surprise, surprise he didnt see it. Hibs were 1-0 up at the time, it was only about 20 mins in the game, match ended 1-1 during Sauzee reign who knows what might have happened if we had won this.

21-04-2015, 10:19 AM
What about publicly asking for an explanation from their manager as to why at 1-0 up at half time, and after telling everyone who would listen that he would win the treble, he couldn't go on and win the match. An embarrassing statement from one half of Scotland's shame. Do they want the match replayed? Maybe they should look at old reruns of some of their matches and look at some of the rediculous decisions they have been awarded. Just when I thought I couldn't hate them any more than I already do!!

21-04-2015, 02:27 PM
Cant remember that one but clearly can remember a game at ER when Balde on a booking clearly elbowed I think it was Fenwick full in the face within 5 yards of the ref. Surprise, surprise he didnt see it. Hibs were 1-0 up at the time, it was only about 20 mins in the game, match ended 1-1 during Sauzee reign who knows what might have happened if we had won this.

Pars were 1-0 up and just before half time, Balde got away with a blatant handball in the box that would have given Dunfermline the chance to go 2-0 up just before half-time. Celtic went on to win 1-3 and lift the trophy.

Short memories it seems.