View Full Version : Unofficial matchday nonsense thread.

Hibs07p
18-04-2015, 04:29 AM
Good morning all Hibbies, how are we this morning? Nervous? Confident? Champing at the bit?
I am very confident of a good Hibs victory, and will be having a wee punt on 5-1 & 5-2, for no other reason than I stayed at my boys house in Falkirk last night, we were out at Sportsters and gave him a lesson in pool. Beat him 5-1, although he insists it was 5-2.
BBC weather report predicting a good sunny day after a chilly start, so take the brolly with you. Will be on the 08.01 departure from Falkirk High heading for The Iron Horse.

18-04-2015, 04:36 AM
A cannae sleep ive been awake since 4am !! Nervous but quietly confident.

mondacabbage
18-04-2015, 04:45 AM
I've been awake since 3pm and could sleep but don't finish till 7am. Hopefully get a kip on the bus.

Hibs07p
18-04-2015, 04:48 AM

Interesting reading on the Falkirk forum. 4K tickets sold, a lot of apathy about the way Housten has them playing, the striker shortage appears to be real with Loy not having trained for the last 5 weeks.

18-04-2015, 04:58 AM
Right that's me - I'm up !!

No-one move!! I can't find my lucky pants. I hope the current Mrs Tupper hasn't thrown them out or ..... worse .... Washed them.
I've had these bad boys for a few years now and our success today at Hampden all depends on me finding them . 😳

18-04-2015, 05:08 AM
I've been awake since 3pm and could sleep but don't finish till 7am. Hopefully get a kip on the bus.

18-04-2015, 05:10 AM
Jason and Farid up front today everyone ?
Hopefully no-one will get stage fright !! GGTTH

18-04-2015, 05:12 AM
On the train to Locarno for a surprise weekend away with the ladyfriend. Irish bars thin on the ground so will be relying on here for updates whilst hiking .

Green with envy at those going !

ArmadaleHibs
18-04-2015, 05:19 AM
My journey today starts now at 0617 hrs.
Shower, clothed in today's attire then 0712 train from Armadale to Edinburgh. Quick munch at Waverley then taxi to Tor bar. Few scoops then on the bus to hampden. Can't wait.

18-04-2015, 05:21 AM
Djedje is scoring the winner. I can feel it.

18-04-2015, 05:51 AM
On the train to Locarno for a surprise weekend away with the ladyfriend.

Is that the snooker hall on Slateford Road? ;-)

18-04-2015, 05:56 AM
On a train to Preston. Lancashire is dull.

18-04-2015, 05:57 AM
Djedje is scoring the winner. I can feel it.

That's the JD and lack of sleep you feel mate!

18-04-2015, 05:58 AM
That's the JD and lack of sleep you feel mate!

Managed to get 3 hours sleep.

18-04-2015, 05:59 AM
Who says romance is dead :greengrin

18-04-2015, 06:02 AM
I'm up and my first coffee cup is already half empty.

A taxi is coming for me at 8.00am and I'll be suping my first pint around 9.00.

Hopefully, when I get off the plane in Antalya, Hibs will be in another cup final.

(8 nights, 5 star all inclusive, 5 rounds of golf, 16 beer monsters, mucho fun (http://www.gloria.com.tr/en/resorts/gloria-golf-resort))

Give them a shout for me.

And, if we do win, would someone get this glory hunter a ticket for the final, please. :aok:

Cheers!

18-04-2015, 06:10 AM
Setting your alarm for 6am to go to the football.

Not Good!!:zzzzz!::sairhead:

18-04-2015, 06:12 AM

Hopefully, when I get off the plane in Antalya, Hibs will be in another cup final.

(8 nights, 5 star all inclusive, 5 rounds of golf, 16 beer monsters, mucho fun (http://www.gloria.com.tr/en/resorts/gloria-golf-resort))

And, if we do win, would someone get this glory hunter a ticket for the final, please. :aok:

Cheers!

No problem Dave, i'm bound to have a few spares should we win today. :wink:

18-04-2015, 06:12 AM
Lying here in bed thinking of all the visits I've made to Hampden following Hibs down the years. I'm trying to count on my fingers all the victories and all the disappointments, the disappointments win easily although there has been some memorable wins. I can't put a true figure on it, probably around 20 games since my first when a Dixie Deans hat trick was too much for a Joe Harper hat trick as 3 other Celtic players scored to make it a 6-3 classic. Been to every game we've contested at the national stadium since that afternoon in 1976 (I think) and there's been days where the confidence has been justified and others where the pessimism has been gleefully unnecessary...today I am unfazed as never before, whatever will be will be is my mantra with Hibs. We never take the easy route, disaster is always an option, we may win this by three or four but equally we could get beat by the same margin, you can never tell with Hibs, we are the most unpredictable team in the country, I travel today with no opinion on how we may fare, we are Hibs, we make this sh#t up as we go along, nothing is written in the stars, nothing is meant to be, we will just go along the M8 and be Hibs. I'm going to get up now and have poached egg on toast with a cup of green tea and a dollop of honey.

18-04-2015, 06:14 AM
Nervous.What a huge bonus this cup run is and we've as good a chance as any now. Cmon the Hibees and ICT tomorrow.

18-04-2015, 06:18 AM

Cheers!

Enjoy Dave. No sure if yer allowed your phone on during the flight but if no then the first txt ye get when you switch it back on will have the result. :greengrin

Have a great time.

18-04-2015, 06:22 AM
Bus has just left Harthill Services, I wish the big group of Spaniards on it would shut the **** up! :-)

18-04-2015, 06:25 AM
I've got a spare ticket for the North stand if anyone needs it.

Face value obviously, can arrange to meet. Only downside is you'll have to stand next to me.

18-04-2015, 06:29 AM
No problem Dave, i'm bound to have a few spares should we win today. :wink:

Good lad. I'll hold you to that. :aok:

18-04-2015, 06:30 AM
Enjoy Dave. No sure if yer allowed your phone on during the flight but if no then the first txt ye get when you switch it back on will have the result. :greengrin

Have a great time.

Thanks, Dave. Everything's crossed here.

18-04-2015, 06:31 AM
I can't put a true figure on it, probably around 20 games since my first when a Dixie Deans hat trick was too much for a Joe Harper hat trick as 3 other Celtic players scored to make it a 6-3 classic. Been to every game we've contested at the national stadium since that afternoon in 1976 (I think)

18-04-2015, 06:46 AM
Bus just arrived at Buchanan Street Station. Let the fun begin! :-)

Green Man
18-04-2015, 06:50 AM
Just had breakfast, muesli and a cup of tea from my trusty Hibs mug. Heading into town in about half an hour so I've got time for something more substantial before getting on the train.

18-04-2015, 06:58 AM
8am train to queen street is packed with hibees.

the pie eater
18-04-2015, 06:58 AM
On way to train station. Nervous but confident. Come on ubhibees.

Glesgahibby
18-04-2015, 07:05 AM
3rd coffee,eyes now fully open.
erskinehibby bus due in about an hour:thumbsup:
feeling very confident:flag:

18-04-2015, 07:07 AM
7 young 'uns and 2 older 'uns in Alfredo's so far!

Please tell me you don't have Hibs as favourites for this game or in any bets. :greengrin

In fact please put your lot on Falkirk. :thumbsup:

Slept like a Log Which means not that nervous Must be the confidence after way we played in the Derby .Just about to make Peruvian filter coffee to kick start the system .possibly a Chocolate Pastry as a treat .
Do all my wee cup rituals which for some reason involves lighting a wee candle and toasting dead relatives with a wee glass of Port who never saw us win the Scottish Cup .
A brisk walk to the Train station and fifteen minute train ride into Central and decide where to head from there
Moan the Hibs we can do this and do it in style .:flag::cup::cup::coffee:

Hahaha. Girlfriend loves a bit of the baize....

18-04-2015, 07:14 AM
Ready to go and feeling good. I think we'll win 3-1 in front of a big Hibs crowd.

18-04-2015, 07:20 AM
My quandary at the moment is whether to wear long John's or not.

Any thoughts?

18-04-2015, 07:21 AM
Train has left Perth. Can't wait to get to Glasgow.

C'mon the cabbage

18-04-2015, 07:21 AM

Was thinking the same. I know the stairs are steep but to call it hiking is a bit of a stretch. :)

18-04-2015, 07:33 AM
My quandary at the moment is whether to wear long John's or not.

Any thoughts?

As long as your putting trousers on then it should be fine Jack.

18-04-2015, 07:34 AM
As long as your putting trousers on then it should be fine Jack.

No match thread silver :greengrin

skyehibee
18-04-2015, 07:37 AM
Folk getting the train from Glasgow Central, where's best to get off mount Florida or kings park station?

18-04-2015, 07:39 AM

Oh aye, so it was... It's all a foggy memory now although The Dixie Deans header via a misdirected Jimmy Johnston drive is ingrained in me for some reason

Mixu62
18-04-2015, 07:45 AM
In nz it's 7:40 and just polished off a lovely chicken curry courtesy of Mrs mixu62. As soon as the wee boy is asleep I'm off into the city to catch up with fellow hibbies who are already on the lash. I'm out of practice so happy to start later and pace myself!!

18-04-2015, 07:45 AM
Folk getting the train from Glasgow Central, where's best to get off mount Florida or kings park station?

Mount Florida.

Canon Hannan
18-04-2015, 07:51 AM
That's it I am going now. Can't wait any longer......

oldbiker
18-04-2015, 07:55 AM
Working today so won't be there.

Good luck Hibbys :gwa::flag::flag:

18-04-2015, 08:04 AM
If anybody is going by Train from Central and fancies visiting all three sites of Hampden (first two and the current stadium), then get off at Queens Park station and follow this route.....

When you're at the wee black circle next to Queens Park Recreation Ground, you'll be standing roughly in the centre circle of the First Hampden Park.

As most people know, Cathkin Park is the site of the Second Hampden, and the former ground of now defunct Third Lanark.

18-04-2015, 08:05 AM
If anybody is going by Train from Central and fancies visiting all three sites of Hampden (first two and the current stadium), then get off at Queens Park station and follow this route.....

When you're at the wee black circle next to Queens Park Recreation Ground, you'll be standing roughly in the centre circle of the First Hampden Park.

As most people know, Cathkin Park is the site of the Second Hampden, and the former ground of now defunct Third Lanark.

I think most would be more grateful for a map of local pubs, mate :-)

18-04-2015, 08:07 AM
I think most would be more grateful for a map of local pubs, mate :-)

I know, but there must be SOME people in our support a bit more cultured than that. Surely............ :wink:

Aye, OK then, if you get off at Queens Park and follow that route, you'll pass three Pubs in the first three minutes.

McNeill's (a Celtc Pub), O'Connel's (another Celtc Pub) and The Queens Park Cafe (not actually a Cafe)

Kaff
18-04-2015, 08:34 AM
Even the yanks lit up the Empire State building green last night for us!

18-04-2015, 08:39 AM
Mount Florida.

Kings Park is the officially advised one and is better for approaching towards the East Stand isn't it?

18-04-2015, 08:42 AM
Kings Park is the officially advised one and is better for approaching towards the East Stand isn't it?

Mount Florida is closer - only a stone's throw from the stadium, though in truth it's only a few minutes difference.

18-04-2015, 08:59 AM
I know, but there must be SOME people in our support a bit more cultured than that. Surely............ :wink:

Aye, OK then, if you get off at Queens Park and follow that route, you'll pass three Pubs in the first three minutes.

McNeill's (a Celtc Pub), O'Connel's (another Celtc Pub) and The Queens Park Cafe (not actually a Cafe)

Where are you. The bus is at Burdiehouse.

18-04-2015, 08:59 AM
Mount Florida is closer - only a stone's throw from the stadium, though in truth it's only a few minutes difference.

The difference is the time it takes the train from mount Florida to kings park

yekimevol
18-04-2015, 09:03 AM
Felt confidant this morning but now that I'm half way to Glasgow the nerves have kicked in :(

Tha Cabbage Kid
18-04-2015, 09:07 AM
Question. Does anyone know if its possible to pay a one off payment to watch the game live over the internet?

18-04-2015, 09:12 AM
Right I'm away. Enjoy the game everyone. Mon the Hibs!!

NYHibby
18-04-2015, 09:26 AM
Question. Does anyone know if its possible to pay a one off payment to watch the game live over the internet?

I believe its on iplayer. If you know how to access iplayer...
http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b05s9hmb (http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/schedules/bbcone/20150418)

Tha Cabbage Kid
18-04-2015, 09:36 AM
Thanks mate but im outside the uk. The buggers from thebbc dont allow outsides to view anything! :(

18-04-2015, 09:38 AM

if your overseas just buy a subs to Hibs International TV - cost 9GBP per month -note it auto renews every month, but can be cancelled from the website if you wish

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/tv/subscription

RamblingJack
18-04-2015, 09:39 AM

I'll be watching the game on the internet...nudge nudge,know what i mean...:thumbsup:

18-04-2015, 09:41 AM
Sitting outside the gates already . 3 burgers , 3 juice and. Programme = £20 lighter :-)

18-04-2015, 09:41 AM
Left from Livingston and stopped at Harthill for the toilet. Nae staying power.

18-04-2015, 09:42 AM
Sitting outside the gates already . 3 burgers , 3 juice and. Programme = £20 lighter :-)

How much is the programme bud?

18-04-2015, 09:43 AM
Met Aldo earlier. That was quite awkrand 😁👍🏻

18-04-2015, 09:43 AM
How much is the programme bud?

£3

18-04-2015, 10:04 AM
I've got a spare ticket for the North stand if anyone needs it.

Face value obviously, can arrange to meet. Only downside is you'll have to stand next to me.

Is that you Rod?

HibeeEmma
18-04-2015, 10:04 AM
I'll be watching the game on the internet...nudge nudge,know what i mean...:thumbsup:

Can you PM a link to me? I'm out of the country so bbc won't work

18-04-2015, 10:09 AM
Winnae be there today, but good luck to all going through.

Spoke to my brother earlier - he was on his way to Oxgangs from sunny Hawkhill to rendezvous with my nephew who had to fork out a ridiculous amount of extra dosh to return a day earlier from his holiday in Ireland to make the game. (Not saying how much in case it ends in divorce as a result!)

I'm 64 next month, so I'm not sure if my heart condition can take a repeat of the last semi final meeting with Falkirk!

I mentioned to my older brother(68) that time is running out for us old codgers as the cup is concerned, so c'mon Hibs.

RamblingJack
18-04-2015, 10:32 AM
Can you PM a link to me? I'm out of the country so bbc won't work

Done.

Tha Cabbage Kid
18-04-2015, 10:34 AM
I know what you mean :) but fine that way really annoying when it freezes unles you have a goodlink you cojld pm me??

wpj
18-04-2015, 11:50 AM

Jeez, that's steep for a lighter!