View Full Version : Tommy Preston RIP

big-mo
16-04-2015, 12:18 PM
It is with great sorrow to announce that Tam Preston passed away this morning.

TP was born Thomas Baxter Preston on the 3rd October 1932 in Longstone Edinburgh. He started his playing career with Juniper Thistle before moving to Edinburgh Thistle and then Newtongrange Star. He signed for Hibs on the 6th October 1953, he playing 313 games scoring 50 goals for Hibs.
He made his first team debut against Celtic 61 years tomorrow the 17th April 1954. His first goal was against East Fife in the league cup on the 15th Aug 1954. While with Hibs he had many memorable games including scoring home and away against Barcelona.
I was speaking to Tam last year and he was saying that he had been down the bowling club and the Champions League game between Barcelona and Bayern Munich was on the tele, he turned to the guys he was playing dominos with and said ‘I don’t know what all the fuss is about, I have played and scored against them both!’ he then said he was chapping.

He was transferred to St Mirren in season 1964-65 but only played one game for them.

Tam like many ex-Hibs players ended up in the pub trade with his final pub being the Annefield in Newhaven which he ran with this partner Janet, Janet's sons still run the pub. Up until recently Tam was an active member of the Hibernian Former Players Association and went to Hibs games and was a regular guest in the director’s box.

16-04-2015, 12:26 PM
RIP Tommy, a true gentleman.

16-04-2015, 12:26 PM
Truly sad news, one of the Hibs greats that i can say spent time in his company many times over the years.

RIP Tommy

16-04-2015, 12:28 PM
how sad, RIP tommy

16-04-2015, 12:29 PM
RIP Tommy.

16-04-2015, 12:30 PM
Very sad news.

RIP TP.

16-04-2015, 12:30 PM
RIP Mr Preston.

Had the privilege to sit behind him for s season in the old Main Stand.

Always had time for a chat.

A true gent.

16-04-2015, 12:32 PM
Sad news.

A true great.

16-04-2015, 12:33 PM
One of the greats who shaped the wonderful history of our club. RIP.

16-04-2015, 12:34 PM
Very sad news this is, he was great friends with my dad and I got to know him very well when he had the Traveller's Tryst at the bus station.

I know we all can't live forever and Tommy has been suffering with ill health for a while now, still comes as a wee shock when you her it though.

R.I.P

16-04-2015, 12:37 PM
My old man and his brother used to play with him in his Juvenile days.

Last time I saw him was just before the Livi final in 2004. He and my dad had a wee chat, and both had the same "bad feeling" about the game. Such is the cross auld Hibbies have to bear :greengrin

RIP.

Jay
16-04-2015, 12:42 PM
Sad news. My dad occasionally went down and had a pint and a natter with Tommy, he spoke very highly of him.

db03
16-04-2015, 12:43 PM
R.i.p

16-04-2015, 12:47 PM
RIP, Lovely guy, great Hibs man.

16-04-2015, 12:48 PM
R.I.P Tam, very sad to hear indeed !

16-04-2015, 12:50 PM
Very sad news this is, he was great friends with my dad and I got to know him very well when he had the Traveller's Tryst at the bus station.

I know we all can't live forever and Tommy has been suffering with ill health for a while now, still comes as a wee shock when you her it though.

R.I.P

That's where I used to encounter him, a wee stop off on the way home from work - a good host.

16-04-2015, 12:53 PM
That's where I used to encounter him, a wee stop off on the way home from work - a good host.

I used to clean the windows at the old bus station offices, my dad would pop off to see Tommy while I finished off cleaning said windows, I drove so it was always a coke for me.

16-04-2015, 12:55 PM
RIP Tommy - thanks for the legacy.

16-04-2015, 12:58 PM
I used to clean the windows at the old bus station offices, my dad would pop off to see Tommy while I finished off cleaning said windows, I drove so it was always a coke for me.

Small world :greengrin My office was 2 floors up, one window to the left of the Travellers Tryst!

TowerHibs
16-04-2015, 12:58 PM
Truly gutted to hear this. What a nice guy and always had time for a chat no matter what.

Gutted

16-04-2015, 12:59 PM
RIP Tam, really sad news.

Billie Jo
16-04-2015, 01:06 PM
RIP Tommy, met him a few times and as others have said always had time for a blether, lovely man.

16-04-2015, 01:06 PM
RIP Tommy

16-04-2015, 01:13 PM
Such a gentleman, always had time to speak to me and my dad at Easter road. Heard many a story from him. Let's win the holy grail for him!

RIP Tommy

16-04-2015, 01:14 PM
aw Maurice, thats such a shame.

Last time i saw him he wasnt looking so well but always had a smile for me.

A Hibby till he died and such a nice man. RIP Tam. x

16-04-2015, 01:15 PM
RIP Tommy. I met him loads of times and used to love listening to his stories about when he was playing.

16-04-2015, 01:16 PM
Rip 😔

http://youtu.be/3ahBCzv9erE

16-04-2015, 01:17 PM
It is with great sorrow to announce that Tam Preston passed away this morning.

TP was born Thomas Baxter Preston on the 3rd October 1932 in Longstone Edinburgh. He started his playing career with Juniper Thistle before moving to Edinburgh Thistle and then Newtongrange Star. He signed for Hibs on the 6th October 1953, he playing 313 games scoring 50 goals for Hibs.
He made his first team debut against Celtic 61 years tomorrow the 17th April 1954. His first goal was against East Fife in the league cup on the 15th Aug 1954. While with Hibs he had many memorable games including scoring home and away against Barcelona.
I was speaking to Tam last year and he was saying that he had been down the bowling club and the Champions League game between Barcelona and Bayern Munich was on the tele, he turned to the guys he was playing dominos with and said ‘I don’t know what all the fuss is about, I have played and scored against them both!’ he then said he was chapping.

He was transferred to St Mirren in season 1964-65 but only played one game for them.

Tam like many ex-Hibs players ended up in the pub trade with his final pub being the Annefield in Newhaven which he ran with this partner Janet, Janet's sons still run the pub. Up until recently Tam was an active member of the Hibernian Former Players Association and went to Hibs games and was a regular guest in the director’s box.

Brilliant story thanks for sharing that. RIP

16-04-2015, 01:20 PM
A true Hibs legend.

16-04-2015, 01:20 PM
RIP Tommy.

16-04-2015, 01:22 PM
RIP Tommy.

Always had time for a wee natter, a great Hibs servant and will be sadly missed.

16-04-2015, 01:36 PM
Have known Tommy for a long time and am really sad at the news.

A real gent and bled green.

RIP Tommy, Hibs legend

EH6 Hibby
16-04-2015, 02:02 PM
Really sad to hear this, met him a few times and he was a lovely man. Rest in Peace.

16-04-2015, 02:12 PM
R.I.P. Tommy
That's some squad we've got up there now

fishybeaver
16-04-2015, 02:12 PM
Really sad to hear this, met him a few times and he was a lovely man. Rest in Peace.

Another one lost... was TP not the first ever British player to score in a European compitition?

wazoo1875
16-04-2015, 02:13 PM
RIP Tommy, a real gentleman and loved to talk about Hibs. You'll be missed greatly

16-04-2015, 02:14 PM
Always sad to hear about the passing of a former player. RIP.

16-04-2015, 02:16 PM
Another one lost... was TP not the first ever British player to score in a European compitition?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/scotland/sportscotland/asportingnation/article/0043/print.shtml

ET according to this.

fishybeaver
16-04-2015, 02:20 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/scotland/sportscotland/asportingnation/article/0043/print.shtml

ET according to this.

Would think that is correct and I am wrong, reading all those names on that report brings a lump to the throat.

esjorto
16-04-2015, 02:37 PM
Would think that is correct and I am wrong, reading all those names on that report brings a lump to the throat.
R.I.P. big Tommy.

16-04-2015, 02:41 PM
It's always sad when an old hero passes away. RIP Tommy, and all the very best to his family and friends.

ripvanwinkle
16-04-2015, 02:50 PM
Sad news indeed. Like so many on here I met TP a few times and he always had time to talk all things Hibernian.
Great back post diving header to equalise against Barcelona at ER to make it 2-2 before Bobby Kinlochs' penalty winner.

Best Hibs game ever.

RIP Tommy, thanks for the memories

16-04-2015, 02:57 PM
Known him all my life and was at his wedding to his first wife Cath
A lovely man with a great spirit which stood him in good stead in difficult times in his life
A true friend

16-04-2015, 03:00 PM
RIP Tommy

tanfield
16-04-2015, 03:14 PM
Very saddened to hear this. Knew Tommy for 20+ years through the bowling and from popping into the Annfield when I lived in Newhaven. Lovely guy but an awfae fierce competitor. RIP

16-04-2015, 03:18 PM
So very sad to hear of Tommy's passing. He was the epitome of the 'one club man' - just grateful that that club was Hibs.
Had the privilege of meeting Tommy in hospitality before a game when I had my daughter with me - he was the perfect host - he even smiled when I asked if he was still modelling. Lovely man!
Thanks for the memories Tommy.
Condolences to Tommy's family and friends.

16-04-2015, 03:19 PM
Rip TP

16-04-2015, 03:34 PM
RIP. A true Hibby

shetlandhibee
16-04-2015, 03:43 PM
rip tommy a true gentleman and proud hibee ,i was fortunate to share a table twice with him when down on shetland orkney yearly hospitality trips, my thoughts to family and freinds...

H18S NX
16-04-2015, 03:47 PM
RIP big tam,true hibby and gentleman.

16-04-2015, 04:19 PM
RIP Tommy

16-04-2015, 04:29 PM
I worked in the chippy in annfield when I was 14 and an older gent came in and we got chatting. He asked me if I was in to football and I said of course, Hibs fan etc. He took out his wallet and got out an old football playing card. He said this man played for Hibs and scored against some of the best teams in the world. And that was me.

RIP Tommy

16-04-2015, 04:39 PM
Brilliant story thanks for sharing that. RIP

:agree: RIP Tommy, there's some team up there.

16-04-2015, 05:23 PM
Only met Tommy the once a while ago in coopers but he was an absolute gent and quite openly proud of what he'd achieved with us and the players he'd played with.

Sad, sad news. RIP Tommy!

16-04-2015, 05:25 PM
R.i.p... Big Tam.
I met him on a few occassions years ago with my other half. Gentleman.
Sadly missed, another great to join the rest
B

16-04-2015, 05:49 PM
Sad news but his place in Hibs history is well assured.

RIP Tommy.

16-04-2015, 05:53 PM
Condolences to Mr Preston's family and friends. A true Hibs man. RIP.

Lord Only Knows
16-04-2015, 06:21 PM
Tommy was a man, of my parents age who I was proud to call a friend. He was a neighbour when I stayed in Edinburgh, he gave me a lift to work when I was young, I bowled with him, I had many social occasions with him, I think he was at my wedding, he could get a hell of a tune out of a table when he had had a few, but above all he was genuine person who always picked up with me whenever I met him. Tommy, I will miss you, we had some great times in the past and keep playing that table with all your pals wherever you are.

HibeeHutch
16-04-2015, 06:23 PM
Very sad news. Another great Hibee lost. Tam was a friend of my family's and I remember meeting him many times as bairn with my mum. He would always ask about my own footballing progress and I remember being awe struck that this man had played in such amazing teams in the past and faced Europe's giants of the game.

RIP Tam - GGTTH

16-04-2015, 06:47 PM
Sad news. I saw him play in my teens.
Farewell, TP.

16-04-2015, 06:52 PM
Tommy was a man, of my parents age who I was proud to call a friend. He was a neighbour when I stayed in Edinburgh, he gave me a lift to work when I was young, I bowled with him, I had many social occasions with him, I think he was at my wedding, he could get a hell of a tune out of a table when he had had a few, but above all he was genuine person who always picked up with me whenever I met him. Tommy, I will miss you, we had some great times in the past and keep playing that table with all your pals wherever you are.

Wonderful first post - just wished it was under different circumstances.

Tommy was the Guest of Honour at the London Hibs Burns Night several years ago and he was a breath of fresh air. His anecdotes and tales will forever live with me.

Bravo, Tam. Our paths will cross again.

RIP.

16-04-2015, 06:55 PM

R.I.P

Aye, remember him well from the Travellers. Good times.

RIP Tommy.

16-04-2015, 07:01 PM
i imagine there will be a minutes silence before the game v Alloa a week on saturday

Pickle
16-04-2015, 07:02 PM
Never knew him directly but have been in the company of his brother Roy a good few times and by coincidence one of my friends mum helped run the annefield with him.

RIP Tommy and thoughts with everyone who knew him.

Capt Mainwaring
16-04-2015, 07:31 PM
So sad. Another legend departs the scene but will never be forgotten.

Rest in peace Tommy

16-04-2015, 07:39 PM
This is heartbreaking news. When writing my books I had to do a fair bit of research and Tam's name was often prominent in match reports etc. Back then, the official programme carried snippets of dressing room chatter and Tam was clearly very popular with his team mates as well as the fans.

RIP Tam

hibbymick
16-04-2015, 08:34 PM
RIP Tam, you were an absolute gent.

16-04-2015, 08:38 PM
Sad news.

I'm sure TP lived in the same street as my Granny when she was growing up.

RIP.

Gerard
16-04-2015, 08:58 PM
RIP Mr Preston

alnewhaven
16-04-2015, 08:59 PM
Met him a few times when I lived in Newhaven. True gentleman. RIP Tommy

16-04-2015, 09:08 PM
Such sad news, I'm only glad i saw Tom on my last trip up for the win vs Dumbarton a month or 2 ago. One wee story that may raise a smile on this sad day. A few years back, the day of the Sunderland friendly, I shared a couple of drinks with Tom in the Four. We were joined at our table by a couple from Sunderland. I told them that no Sunderland player in history had achieved what the gentleman at our table had, ie scored home & away vs Barcelona in a competitive match. They were entranced, Tom was bursting with pride. When I left, the cigarette picture of Tom had come out & he was just about to describe his 4 goals at Airdrie in our 11-1 win! :wink: A fine player & a better man. RIP our Tom.

bodoglimt
17-04-2015, 05:43 AM
RIP Mr Preston.It was a pleasure to have met you

28-04-2015, 03:43 PM
Notice the funeral is next Tuesday 5th May, Warriston Crematorium at 12 noon if anyone is interested.

28-04-2015, 04:30 PM
Notice the funeral is next Tuesday 5th May, Warriston Crematorium at 12 noon if anyone is interested.

Does it say flowers or donation to a charity in the notice?

28-04-2015, 08:43 PM
Does it say flowers or donation to a charity in the notice?

From EEN

PRESTON Thomas (Tommy) (Edinburgh,
formerly Longstone) Peacefully, after a short illness, on April 16, 2015, at Royal Infirmary, Edinburgh, Tommy, dearly loved partner of Janet, loving father of Anne and beloved brother to Roy and Susan. Funeral service will take place at Warriston Crematorium, Lorimer Chapel, on Tuesday, May 5, 2015, at 12 noon, to which all family and friends of Tommy are warmly invited. Family flowers only, please. A voluntary collection will be taken on retiral of the service in aid of Chest, Heart & Stroke Scotland.