View Full Version : Crowd

12-04-2015, 06:56 PM
See the crowd was only around 13k given that there would have been at least 3k hearts fans that's a poor turn out for a derby where we had a genuine chance of winning

12-04-2015, 06:57 PM
Pish poor turnout :agree:

12-04-2015, 06:58 PM
It was a brutal crowd today. Full marks to those that went and helped generate some atmosphere.

12-04-2015, 06:59 PM
Piss poor but it was their loss.

Good performance and a great win and they missed it.

12-04-2015, 07:00 PM
I was hoping we'd get around 15K, despite prices, cup semi, game on TV etc. Disappointing.

Green Fish
12-04-2015, 07:01 PM
I thought the announcement said 15000 +, did I mishear it

12-04-2015, 07:03 PM
The team deserved a better turnout today. There was absolutely no way the Yams were more "up for it" than Hibs.

Hopefully, that mentality is now what we have rather than them.

12-04-2015, 07:04 PM
Horrendous crowd but great atmoshpere. Fair play to all who went and to the sect 43 boys :thumbsup:

12-04-2015, 07:33 PM
Social media full of hibees going nuts about today and declarations of supporting us evermore. Just wish more of these guys went to the games.

This is a team worth watching and more need to start making an effort to come along.

12-04-2015, 07:33 PM

He did

12-04-2015, 07:35 PM

Unless it was corrected at a different time, I heard 13,000 odds.

12-04-2015, 07:35 PM
He did

Think he said "Thirteen" which sounded like "Fifteen" :greengrin

12-04-2015, 07:37 PM
Think he said "Thirteen" which sounded like "Fifteen" :greengrin

Cheers Jonnyboy

12-04-2015, 07:38 PM
See the crowd was only around 13k given that there would have been at least 3k hearts fans that's a poor turn out for a derby where we had a genuine chance of winning

If you'd read quite a few of the posts on here in the days leading up to the game you'd have known we had no chance of winning today. No point going along to see the gunts having their party and rubbing our noses in it. A good turnout considering that.

12-04-2015, 07:39 PM
Horrendous crowd but they will be the people regretting not going today, currently in the office on Easter road still looking for "the party".

Fergos
12-04-2015, 07:41 PM
Our section in the east was emptier than last week vs QOTS.....bizarre all things considered.

However well done to all that could make it today...well worth it.

12-04-2015, 07:42 PM
Embarrassing turnout for a derby, absolutely brutal.

12-04-2015, 07:42 PM
Can folk at least turn out to support the team in the play offs?

Well done to the players for being up for it, it must have been demoralising to run out and see such a poor turnout.

Well done to the ones who did go :aok:

12-04-2015, 07:46 PM
The stay aways missed a great day...not sure about the so called "party" going on in the gunts end which many gave as a reason for staying away earlier this week??

12-04-2015, 07:56 PM
Very poor turnout...it must be worrying for the club that we are not generating more regulars...

12-04-2015, 07:59 PM
There will be 15K plus next week. The play-off against Hamilton saw the biggest turn out of Hibs fans at Easter Road in 35 years. If we keep winning the fans will come back.

12-04-2015, 08:03 PM
It's still the Easter holidays, some folk will be away.

MurrayfieldHibs
12-04-2015, 08:07 PM
Still ill with the flu. Gutted that I missed it today :boo hoo:

I did ask Big Frank to give them a cheer for me though :gwa:

Couldn't make it as I have to pick and choose my games and 28 this week v 15 next is difficult to justify. Would have had to have missed my sons 5th birthday party too.

Shame we couldn't get a bigger crowd, but I'm sure quite a few folk would have done the same as me. (The money bit, not the party bit)

Crowd was poor, stay aways lose out today as that was worth every penny. Win next Sat & the stay aways will be calling in favours for a final ticket no doubt.

davidw
It's still the Easter holidays, some folk will be away.

...and it cost £28, was on the telly, and people were sick of not enjoying games against them. So maybe not terribly surprising, all said and done. Maybe board needs to think seriously about price structure for these tv games.

Lee Marvin
12-04-2015, 08:11 PM
I hope the stay away fans with no valid reason were devastated they missed it. If they were not, I'd say their time for properly (note properly) supporting hibs is over. Which is ashame as we need all the fans we can get.

Hannah_hfc
12-04-2015, 08:12 PM
Regardless of the poor numbers, the fans that did go deserve credit, we were still in good voice and good spirit and encouraging the team. I hope today encourages the few refuse to go back to ER to think again about how capable our team are in these games.

12-04-2015, 08:12 PM
Had we beaten The Rangers, Raith and QOTS the crowd would have been bigger. Long standing issues about Sunday footie, TV coverage, kick-offs times and also price, cannot be ignored either.

12-04-2015, 08:14 PM
yeah i was disappointed at the crowd but to be fair, its been like that most of this season! a few years of playing mediocre has taken its effect and i don't know what it will take to pull the punters back

12-04-2015, 08:17 PM
The cost is a killer for me. My ticket plus three kids tickets is a lot of money and I just can't do that every week.
I like many have to pick and chose my games, I chose next week at h ampden as they don't come round very often.

If Hibs introduced a family pricing area I, along with numerous others would go to more games
From the late seventies through the eighties and ninetys I barely missed a home game

Well done to the fan's that went today, they done the team proud

12-04-2015, 08:24 PM
All these excuses are fair enough but are the conditions not the same for the Hearts supporters who have turned out in big numbers.

12-04-2015, 08:27 PM
The team and manager deserve more support than 10k at a derby.

Lee Marvin
12-04-2015, 08:30 PM
The team and manager deserve more support than 10k at a derby.

Indeed. The worst derby turn out I can remember, and I've been going to them for 20 years.

But, those that were there did the club proud. Just hope not to many of those not going are not lost forever

12-04-2015, 10:15 PM
Delighted all who turned up got what they deserved. Hail hail!

12-04-2015, 10:25 PM
...and it cost £28, was on the telly, and people were sick of not enjoying games against them. So maybe not terribly surprising, all said and done. Maybe board needs to think seriously about price structure for these tv games.

12-04-2015, 10:29 PM
All these excuses are fair enough but are the conditions not the same for the Hearts supporters who have turned out in big numbers.

Not really. I suppose it's easier to part with the cash when you're the champions and have the kind of derby record they enjoy against us.

How many would have been in the Dunbar end if the tables were turned?

ABHibs
12-04-2015, 10:34 PM
Indeed. The worst derby turn out I can remember, and I've been going to them for 20 years.

But, those that were there did the club proud. Just hope not to many of those not going are not lost forever

There were fewer than 14000 at the 6-2 game, if memory serves. However, poor Hearts turnout that night as they knew we were gonna gub them. Glad I was there!

13-04-2015, 01:16 AM

13,550. Terrible crowd.

13-04-2015, 01:27 AM

Walk up prices are cheaper for Tynecastle making the choice that little bit easier for them if that's what you mean.

We have a big day out next week and the £28/£17 pricing policy makes a Sunday TV game all the more missable.

I can see bigger crowds from here on in though. Winnable league games and big play off games.

13-04-2015, 04:46 AM
Walk up prices are cheaper for Tynecastle making the choice that little bit easier for them if that's what you mean.

We have a big day out next week and the £28/£17 pricing policy makes a Sunday TV game all the more missable.

I can see bigger crowds from here on in though. Winnable league games and big play off games.

I can't - except for play off , I know that prices are a factor - but frankly people who can afford it are still not making an effort to go along - many seem to have lost the habit - it will be a tough gig to get them back ...poor crowd , which is a shame as we have the best team for a number of years ...

13-04-2015, 06:04 AM
For years we have had threads like this with people upset at the size of the crowd. Started around the time the Gunts invented the big team, wee team comparison.

Its the middle of the Easter holidays in many parts of Scotland. Many of the 40% of fans who travel from outside Edinburgh no longer have an ST. So for me this makes it a £100 round trip. It is also a lunchtime kickoff when I socialise in church.

Football is a Saturday or Wednesday evening game. Sunday is a church and family day. The football authorities change games for telly and the crowds suffer.

13-04-2015, 06:35 AM
Its pathetic the amount of so called fans who cant make the effort to go to games these days.

13-04-2015, 06:47 AM
Can folk come off their high horses and read the thread before disparaging folk who didn't turn up. Recent pish poor form, the worst derby record in senior football ( that is a guess, but not far off the mark), 28 quid, Sunday game ( which I hate) and so on. Poor crowd? Maybe, but entirely predictable. A result like that will help get fans back, here's hoping.

Stokesy's on fire
13-04-2015, 06:56 AM
The crowd that went are the best of support we have. There are too many Hibs fans using piss poor excuses for not going. The missing fans are the same fans who will scramble for cup final tickets should we make the final.

13-04-2015, 06:58 AM
Can folk come off their high horses and read the thread before disparaging folk who didn't turn up. Recent pish poor form, the worst derby record in senior football ( that is a guess, but not far off the mark), 28 quid, Sunday game ( which I hate) and so on. Poor crowd? Maybe, but entirely predictable. A result like that will help get fans back, here's hoping.

That's all good and well but maybe the folk that don't turn up unless it's a cup game at Hampden, there's no EPL game on the TV, we're flying high or there are no clouds in the sky should accept that the ones who stick by Hibs irrespective of trivia will call them out for it?

13-04-2015, 06:58 AM

Barring 3 games our recent form has been excellent. I reckon the Rangers game put some off as we were poor that day and also with the semi final coming up next weekend some with kids may have decided to give it a miss however there is no getting away from it this was a very poor crowd especially given the kick off time was actually ok.

I think it highlights also how huge Saturdays game at Hampden is in terms of revenue and season ticket sales for next season.

13-04-2015, 06:59 AM
For years we have had threads like this with people upset at the size of the crowd. Started around the time the Gunts invented the big team, wee team comparison.

Its the middle of the Easter holidays in many parts of Scotland. Many of the 40% of fans who travel from outside Edinburgh no longer have an ST. So for me this makes it a £100 round trip. It is also a lunchtime kickoff when I socialise in church.

Football is a Saturday or Wednesday evening game. Sunday is a church and family day. The football authorities change games for telly and the crowds suffer.

Hibs is my Church, and when the Bell Tolls ,it should draw the Faithfull to thier need .yes there were lots of reasons people didn't go yesterday ,and was in two minds myself during the week ,but for those that thought I am not going cause they had written us off and didn't want to watch the Hearts having a party I can tell you it went off like a damp squib and those of us that we're there sung our Heartts out backing the team and you could hardly hear the Hearts fans our Football silenced them .Glad I went :greengrin

13-04-2015, 07:05 AM
Had we beaten The Rangers, Raith and QOTS the crowd would have been bigger. Long standing issues about Sunday footie, TV coverage, kick-offs times and also price, cannot be ignored either.

All this...but I think not wanting to watch them celebrate was the biggest factor.

TowerHibs
13-04-2015, 07:05 AM
Why is it the people that go continue to slag off the people who don't go??? Piss poor excuse??? Maybe, just maybe, Hibs are not the number one priority when it comes to their life. Piss poor excuse or not but coming outside Edinburgh with 3 young ones represents a £100 cost for me or over.

Yes people come out the woodwork for big games and yes will be scrambling for tickets. Those with ST know you will get one so settle down with all the part time supporters use lame excuses.

Hibs are not the be all an end all of everyone's life's. It's the same all the time. We are where we are.....pathetic posts from fully grown adults

13-04-2015, 07:08 AM

It doesn't have to be like that. Sunday can be a football and family day for the majority of us who don't bother with church. If the game wants to start a real solid growth in attendances over the next few decades then they are going to have to fully embrace the family market. Times have changed.

13-04-2015, 07:17 AM
All this...but I think not wanting to watch them celebrate was the biggest factor.

Really? this game was a huge game for Hibs, couldnt care less about what the opposition fans would be doing. As it was it was us that were celebrating.

13-04-2015, 07:21 AM

No way. Surely their aren't that many wimps amongst our support.

13-04-2015, 07:29 AM
The derby after we lost to them in the cup final was an even lower crowd. I suspect it was for the same reason as yesterday.

13-04-2015, 07:34 AM
The crowd was pathetic but I'm not surprised considering the amount of kicks we've took over the years. Getting things right on the park comes first but pricing and binning the TV deal needs looked at as well.

capitals_finest
13-04-2015, 07:42 AM
Less bitching and more solutions to encourage supporters back would be a more worthwhile debate.

bobbyhibs1983
13-04-2015, 09:21 AM
Very poor turnout...it must be worrying for the club that we are not generating more regulars...

I dont think the club are worried at all,Im sure the club said they were delighted with the amount of people whom have bought season tickets for next season already.
Prehaps the club could send out letters,emails to find out why some fans are not going?

sometimes for ME i see things as black or white in the sense if the club dont do anything then they are happy about how things are going.
the only way for the club to find out how things are is to ask,imo.

as someone else has mentioned on the thread we seem to have this motion of crowd and how big it is and what not, why?

If people wanna go to the game great, if not fine.
fourntely we live in a western soceity where people can choose what to do(within reason of course)

13-04-2015, 09:28 AM
Less bitching and more solutions to encourage supporters back would be a more worthwhile debate.

I didnt want to see the yams celebrating is the most common answer and if folk are being honest they will tell you that....its pathetic.

13-04-2015, 09:31 AM
Has anybody considered that maybe we have a smaller level of attendees than we think. I am a supporter, and I support the club financially through the club store, but have no interest in attending matches anymore. It's not really down to money, as I could afford to go to 5 or 6 home games per season. I was offered a free ticket for the derby, but politely declined, as I have no desire to go to a live match anymore. I'm only 32, I have a son who is 4 and went to his first ever game this season. He enjoyed it, so I will take him to a few next season, but apart from that I doubt I will ever get back in to the habit if attending. Between the ages of 20 and about 26 or 27, I never missed and home game and went to more than half the aways with the same group of mates. The thought of missing a home game was obscene to me, and I lived for my weekends at the match. I love hibs as much now as I did during that period, but have no desire to go to Easter Road anymore. I have no explanation to give as to why, but if I did, I don't need to justify not going to games. What can hibs do to encourage me to start going to matches again? It has nothing to do with the standard or quality of the teams on the pitch, as I have enjoyed going to watch Musselburgh this season. It's not the ticket price, as I could afford 1 match per month or an early bird season ticket. It's not the food prices, as I can manage to go 2 hours without a pie and a cup of tea, and their are enough chippys around stadiums in Scotland to fill your face before or after a match. For some, going to the match is a family tradition, for others an addiction. For some, it is an obligation as their kids or a disabled relative or friend relies on them to take them. The reasons people go are as varied as the reasons people don't. Not everyone who goes wants to be there, just like everyone who doesn't go are lazy or dispassionate of hibs. You can call me lapsed, lazy, plastic, disgraceful, it doesn't bother me in the slightest. I know that if hibs ever win the cup my heart will swell like the next person, and I will cry like a child, I just know I will not be in the stadium at the time, and that's they way I prefer it.

13-04-2015, 09:34 AM
The crowd was pathetic but I'm not surprised considering the amount of kicks we've took over the years. Getting things right on the park comes first but pricing and binning the TV deal needs looked at as well.

With the season tickets on sale already the pricing has been confirmed and it's a hell of a lot better, regardless of which league we play in.

Some people will always find an excuse not to come back but for those that do go it's days like yesterday that makes it all worthwhile, with hopefully more to come. Is it worth missing out on a semi final possible win cause you hold a grudge? If you think it is then hopefully you'll miss out on another great win

13-04-2015, 09:45 AM
The cost is a killer for me. My ticket plus three kids tickets is a lot of money and I just can't do that every week.
I like many have to pick and chose my games, I chose next week at h ampden as they don't come round very often.

If Hibs introduced a family pricing area I, along with numerous others would go to more games
From the late seventies through the eighties and ninetys I barely missed a home game

Well done to the fan's that went today, they done the team proud

Season tickets in the FF lower are priced not too bad for families - £25 for an under 12 and £85 for 12+. Adult ticket is slightly lower than an adult ticket in the rest of the ground as well.

13-04-2015, 09:48 AM

FFS!

And they no doubt have the cheek to say the team have no courage or call the players weak mentally.

13-04-2015, 09:51 AM
Why is it the people that go continue to slag off the people who don't go??? Piss poor excuse??? Maybe, just maybe, Hibs are not the number one priority when it comes to their life. Piss poor excuse or not but coming outside Edinburgh with 3 young ones represents a £100 cost for me or over.

Yes people come out the woodwork for big games and yes will be scrambling for tickets. Those with ST know you will get one so settle down with all the part time supporters use lame excuses.

Hibs are not the be all an end all of everyone's life's. It's the same all the time. We are where we are.....pathetic posts from fully grown adults

Well said sir. Been to four games this season which doesnt make me a bad hibs fan. I wont be moaning if i miss out on a cup final ticket. The st holders and those who hardly miss a game are indeed more deserving. I didnt get a ticket in2007 even though i hardly missed a game that season.were all hibs fans and desperately want the club to do well. Letsnot slag though who dont/cant go. Im sure those that were there had a great time. Not until we are at the top end of the spl will crowds get back to the level of a few years ago. There has been a lot of let downs for the fans to deal with.

13-04-2015, 09:53 AM
It doesn't have to be like that. Sunday can be a football and family day for the majority of us who don't bother with church. If the game wants to start a real solid growth in attendances over the next few decades then they are going to have to fully embrace the family market. Times have changed.

Good point. Free child ticket with full price adult one? That would fill seats and make games way more manageable for families.

13-04-2015, 09:59 AM
It was a really poor crowd but, instead of trying to aportion blame, I think the Clubs need to do more to encourage people to attend.

I realise this was only one of many reasons people could have given for not attending but they really need to start looking at the pricing of games that are being shown live on TV.

This is an issue for the SPFL, but they ARE the Clubs. The TV deal could be done in such a a way that the home team could be compensated with extra revenue, which could then be passed on to supporters in the way of lower prices for that game. Surely this would benefit them in the long run, as it's hardly a great advert for Scottish Football to watch games on TV with half-empty stadiums

13-04-2015, 10:00 AM
I cant stand any moaning at non attendees just like I cant stand the criticism of those who do go and let slip the odd groan while at a game.

There are many reasons why attendances are not picking up, but that dies not mean those who don't or cannot go are less passionate. Get a winning team on and off the pitch and they will return.

The Gorf
13-04-2015, 10:02 AM
Managed to go yesterday and never really like sitting on my own with strangers either side of me, but as soon as Isat down people starting talking to me and continued throughout the game. Hibs supporters are always a family.:agree:

patlowe
13-04-2015, 10:07 AM
I think the fans will potentially be back in force next season, particularly if we make the cup final (ST incentive) and of course if we get promoted. I reckon Malmo and the play-off really solidified the post 5-1 view among the less hardcore support that Hibs are just not worth trusting when it comes to the big crowd/occasion. Hopefully this view is now being changed but it's a long, hard process and there have been several bumps in the road so far this season that has knocked the sense of recovery back a few steps.

On a personal level, after a year off I've got a season ticket again, based on the progress made by Stubbs et al in the games I've attended. However, I can completely understand how, for many, the passion had gone and it is very difficult to regain the motivation to attend and enjoy watching Hibs when you just associate it with dread and disappointment. There's no doubt though, the crowds have been very poor at times this season, considering the improvement in personnel and quality of play on show.

13-04-2015, 10:17 AM
With the season tickets on sale already the pricing has been confirmed and it's a hell of a lot better, regardless of which league we play in.

Some people will always find an excuse not to come back but for those that do go it's days like yesterday that makes it all worthwhile, with hopefully more to come. Is it worth missing out on a semi final possible win cause you hold a grudge? If you think it is then hopefully you'll miss out on another great win

Has it been confirmed if the lower season ticket price will be reflected in next seasons walk up prices?

13-04-2015, 10:22 AM
I wondered how long it would take before folk started asking for free tickets. I buy 2 kids season tickets at over £200 yet some folk think their kids should get in for free......how does that work?

13-04-2015, 10:23 AM
I was at the QOTS game last weekend and the Grimsby Town game last weekend, some brutal stuff! I know which one I'd rather have gone to!

13-04-2015, 10:27 AM
I think the fans will potentially be back in force next season, particularly if we make the cup final (ST incentive) and of course if we get promoted. I reckon Malmo and the play-off really solidified the post 5-1 view among the less hardcore support that Hibs are just not worth trusting when it comes to the big crowd/occasion. Hopefully this view is now being changed but it's a long, hard process and there have been several bumps in the road so far this season that has knocked the sense of recovery back a few steps.

On a personal level, after a year off I've got a season ticket again, based on the progress made by Stubbs et al in the games I've attended. However, I can completely understand how, for many, the passion had gone and it is very difficult to regain the motivation to attend and enjoy watching Hibs when you just associate it with dread and disappointment. There's no doubt though, the crowds have been very poor at times this season, considering the improvement in personnel and quality of play on show.

Yes, the cup final, Malmo and then relegation weren't just sudden catalysts for people to turn away. They were the final straw for some, IMO; evidence of a sustained and significant decline. Then there was the disillusionment with Petrie/Farmer/board.

To win people back there are basics which fans feel need to be in place:
A decent team to watch
Attractive prices
A belief the club is in good hands

Something that gets fans feeling optimistic; a feeling we're on the up and have direction. This is a long term process, just like the gradual sense of disillusionment was.

13-04-2015, 10:35 AM
Money wise I had to choose between this and the semi-final and chose the semi-final, I'll make exceptions in other areas for attending the play-offs but it will probably be at the cost of attending regular season games.

13-04-2015, 10:39 AM
Money wise I had to choose between this and the semi-final and chose the semi-final, I'll make exceptions in other areas for attending the play-offs but it will probably be at the cost of attending regular season games.

And it's a sad state of affairs when many fans have to consider the financial cost of watching second tier Scottish football. There are empty seats, with some people wanting to fill them, but who can't. There needs to be a re-think.

13-04-2015, 10:46 AM
And it's a sad state of affairs when many fans have to consider the financial cost of watching second tier Scottish football. There are empty seats, with some people wanting to fill them, but who can't. There needs to be a re-think.

Aye, I agree the pricing is poor for me it was a no brainer of a decision. The game is on TV so I know I won't miss watching it, for me and my parents to go it would cost £84, if we choose the semi-final it was £45, almost half the price. It probably leaves me free to attend another game between now and the end of the season too.

I understand why hibs kept the pricing as it is but it doesn't mean I have to agree with it.

Away games this season have been a bit better value at around £18 a ticket, which still feels like a lot for sitting in a tent at Alloa.

13-04-2015, 10:52 AM
Horrendous crowd but they will be the people regretting not going today, currently in the office on Easter road still looking for "the party".

Post match in The Office was bouncing, great day/night.

13-04-2015, 10:57 AM
It's not just about being an uber fan etc, all that nonsense aside it's about out club having a healthy suppoort and one that backs the team to help the club financially and vocally at the game. IMO at 13.5k attendance v Hearts isn't healthy for our club. This team deserves a better support than it's currently getting.

13-04-2015, 10:58 AM
I wondered how long it would take before folk started asking for free tickets. I buy 2 kids season tickets at over £200 yet some folk think their kids should get in for free......how does that work?

It works around me thinking it would be quite good if you didn't have to spend 200 quid and we had a much fuller stadium and more kids getting the bug for watching hibs. Thats all.

13-04-2015, 11:13 AM
Hibs got the pricing wrong at the start of the season. I paid £380 for my ST but Hibs got kids tickets spot on £25 for under 12 and £85 for over 12s. The walk up prices for Cat A games is a joke FFS £28 for a second tier game. Leeann has not made many wrong calls but she did get this totally wrong

Jay
13-04-2015, 11:18 AM
Hibs got the pricing wrong at the start of the season. I paid £380 for my ST but Hibs got kids tickets spot on £25 for under 12 and £85 for over 12s. The walk up prices for Cat A games is a joke FFS £28 for a second tier game. Leeann has not made many wrong calls but she did get this totally wrong

Were the season tickets not priced and sold before LD arrived? Pretty sure she was in the position of making a decision on refunds/lowering prices after relegation. Them returning money would have been madness IMO.

13-04-2015, 11:22 AM
Were the season tickets not priced and sold before LD arrived? Pretty sure she was in the position of making a decision on refunds/lowering prices after relegation. Them returning money would have been madness IMO.

She did say that she would think about it but, IMO, ended up taking the easy option of leaving things as they were. That meant there was no leeway on the PATG prices, as it would have de-valued the STs even more.

13-04-2015, 12:20 PM
She did say that she would think about it but, IMO, ended up taking the easy option of leaving things as they were. That meant there was no leeway on the PATG prices, as it would have de-valued the STs even more.

Given that the answer to all our ills on here by so many is to lower prices how was that the easy option? It was a tough call to make.

13-04-2015, 12:44 PM
There is only one home game left, I don't think season ticket holder would complain if the club dropped prices for that game to try and bring people back to the club.
Play off games should also be made as cheap as possible.

13-04-2015, 12:46 PM
There is only one home game left, I don't think season ticket holder would complain if the club dropped prices for that game to try and bring people back to the club.

Personally I couldn't care less if the club made it free admission and free pies and bovril for everyone.

13-04-2015, 12:52 PM
It's not just about being an uber fan etc, all that nonsense aside it's about out club having a healthy suppoort and one that backs the team to help the club financially and vocally at the game. IMO at 13.5k attendance v Hearts isn't healthy for our club. This team deserves a better support than it's currently getting.

Very well put.

13-04-2015, 01:13 PM
Social media full of hibees going nuts about today and declarations of supporting us evermore. Just wish more of these guys went to the games.

This is a team worth watching and more need to start making an effort to come along.

13-04-2015, 01:15 PM

shouldn't drop the prices they should however sell cup final tickets (if were there) inside the ground during the game forcing punters to attend the game

13-04-2015, 01:31 PM
Given that the answer to all our ills on here by so many is to lower prices how was that the easy option? It was a tough call to make.

It was the option that required no effort or thought, therefore the easy option.

Lots of people that had already bought STs at full price had said (on here at least) that they would be happy for the Club to reduce ST prices but keep the extra they had already paid. So, one option would have been to reduce the price and make it optional for those that had already bought a ticket to accept a refund for the difference (a kind of opt-in, as opposed to an opt-out for a refund). That would have made it possible to encourage more people to buy STs, at Championship prices, and also to reduce PATG accordingly.

As I say, that was one possible option, but there was no evidence whatsoever that any other alternative was even considered.

Nutmegged
13-04-2015, 01:32 PM
I was really disappointed in the crowd today, everyone to a man (or woman) knows the club has been through the mill in recent years but the last 6 months have been a breath of fresh air - we have a good young manager with an exciting albeit sometimes frustrsting team and we are trying to achieve something here, not often in our Football supporting lives have we been trying to finish about Rangers (in any of their guises) and we are one very winnable (and loseable) game away from yet another Scottish Cup Final - apart from a bit more consistency at Easter Road there really isn't much more I think we could have hoped for this Season.

Last January with a pish poor team and pish poor Manager we managed to get 20k inside Easter Road for this Derby - just because we are in a lower league means nothing, Hibs/Hearts should mean the same whether we played it in the Premiership or played a friendly at 4am on a Tuesday morning - this wasn't a nothing much, it could have huge significance on the ending of our Season, I'm bitterly disappointed with such a shoddy turnout.

I feel it sends a message out that there is still a big section of Hibs fans that don't believe, I fear that can transend into the psyche of the players and manager

13-04-2015, 01:35 PM

:agree: Completely agree with this. Hibs are still on a fragile road to recovery and you never know what you're going to get; 4-0 v Huns or 0-1 v QOS. Just when you think there's something new and exciting going on at ER, they slap you on the face and "do a Hibs". Trust is the key. Until Hibs start to win the games you'd expect them to, fans will stay away, unexpected defeats just reconfirming their decision.

13-04-2015, 01:35 PM
I was really disappointed in the crowd today, everyone to a man (or woman) knows the club has been through the mill in recent years but the last 6 months have been a breath of fresh air - we have a good young manager with an exciting albeit sometimes frustrsting team and we are trying to achieve something here, not often in our Football supporting lives have we been trying to finish about Rangers (in any of their guises) and we are one very winnable (and loseable) game away from yet another Scottish Cup Final - apart from a bit more consistency at Easter Road there really isn't much more I think we could have hoped for this Season.

Last January with a pish poor team and pish poor Manager we managed to get 20k inside Easter Road for this Derby - just because we are in a lower league means nothing, Hibs/Hearts should mean the same whether we played it in the Premiership or played a friendly at 4am on a Tuesday morning - this wasn't a nothing much, it could have huge significance on the ending of our Season, I'm bitterly disappointed with such a shoddy turnout.

I feel it sends a message out that there is still a big section of Hibs fans that don't believe, I fear that can transend into the psyche of the players and manager

There a lot of Hibs fans waiting to be shown that we have turned the corner rather than told we are turning the corner.
We just have to make sure it happens.

Persevere80
13-04-2015, 02:38 PM
I was there yesterday. First time in many months, for various reasons. Great to see two goals and keep a clean sheet at home. So glad I got to go.

13-04-2015, 02:46 PM
I enjoyed watching the game yesterday on the telly, do i wish i was there too right i do. Thems the breaks, i wont lose any sleep over it and enjoyed a few beers last night on that result.

13-04-2015, 02:47 PM
A lot of our fans are miserable sods. Get a grip and support your team, some people work etc, but that doesn't stop that lot from selling out most weeks.

13-04-2015, 02:57 PM
A lot of our fans are miserable sods. Get a grip and support your team, some people work etc, but that doesn't stop that lot from selling out most weeks.

Its posts like this that make me laugh, you do know their support has grown over the last 20 years because of their over spending.

If we'd had the kind of success they have had, our crowds would be very similar. There are some folk who go to that dump who have been brought up with Europe every season and cup wins not to mention big money signings compared to the rest of us.

Where we have had that clown Petrie running the club into the ground with his mismanagement, and his smug face looking down at us from the directors box each week.

Its no wonder folk have left and not returned, promotion and results like yesterday will help get them back but i believe that man has been responsible for where we are now and why our crowds are what they are.

13-04-2015, 03:05 PM
Its posts like this that make me laugh, you do know their support has grown over the last 20 years because of their over spending.

If we'd had the kind of success they have had, our crowds would be very similar. There are some folk who go to that dump who have been brought up with Europe every season and cup wins not to mention big money signings compared to the rest of us.

Where we have had that clown Petrie running the club into the ground with his mismanagement, and his smug face looking down at us from the directors box each week.

Its no wonder folk have left and not returned, promotion and results like yesterday will help get them back but i believe that man has been responsible for where we are now and why our crowds are what they are.

Not only that but they were pretty much blackmailed into buying season tickets the last couple of seasons just to help them survive.

Nutmegged
13-04-2015, 03:50 PM
There a lot of Hibs fans waiting to be shown that we have turned the corner rather than told we are turning the corner.
We just have to make sure it happens.
I think you are right in thats what some people will say but I don't buy it at all

13-04-2015, 04:05 PM

Why did they bring beach balls to the party, someone has told them that winning this league doesn't get them in to Europe, strange bunch, but what a party they had. :yw:

13-04-2015, 04:06 PM

Yip.

13-04-2015, 04:09 PM
I didnt want to see the yams celebrating is the most common answer and if folk are being honest they will tell you that....its pathetic.

Hibs win, accy up, good game to watch, and can't remember much else after that. :thumbsup:

13-04-2015, 04:10 PM
Why did they bring beach balls to the party, someone has told them that winning this league doesn't get them in to Europe, strange bunch, but what a party they had. :yw:

I wondered that as well. Then I remembered how thick they are.

13-04-2015, 04:10 PM

So I'm a miserable sod for not going yesterday and I don't support my team because of it.

I go when I can as do others. Work/family/money and loads of other reasons folk don't every week.

I would suggest you keep comments like you've made to yourself.

If your not happy supporting Hibs you can go and watch their sell out every other week!

As for that lot I don't really give a flying **** what that lot do.

Nutmegged
13-04-2015, 04:14 PM

How about the team attempting to achieve something? Thats exactly whats happening right now, we started the day 2nd, above Sevco on goal difference with Play-Off positioning potentially vital - if that isn't "solutions" to encourage fans to come to an Edinburgh Derby God knows what it'll take.

if Sevco and the Yams had swapped positions in the League and we were just ahead of Hearts on goal difference in 2nd place Easter Road would have been absolutely packed out Yesterday

13-04-2015, 04:16 PM
Barring 3 games our recent form has been excellent. I reckon the Rangers game put some off as we were poor that day and also with the semi final coming up next weekend some with kids may have decided to give it a miss however there is no getting away from it this was a very poor crowd especially given the kick off time was actually ok.

I think it highlights also how huge Saturdays game at Hampden is in terms of revenue and season ticket sales for next season.

If we had still been flying and come through recent games better then the crowd would have been bigger, I don't there could be any doubt about it. As it was it appeared like we lost our bottle and the season was most likely to end in bitter disappointment.

As it is now, we've shown were able to battle and compete with a bigger, more powerful team and outplay them. The fans will respond, especially if we win on Saturday. Season ticket sales will definitely grow somewhat:agree:

Do agree the cost is also an issue. It's not a cheap day out

13-04-2015, 04:44 PM
How about the team attempting to achieve something? Thats exactly whats happening right now, we started the day 2nd, above Sevco on goal difference with Play-Off positioning potentially vital - if that isn't "solutions" to encourage fans to come to an Edinburgh Derby God knows what it'll take.

if Sevco and the Yams had swapped positions in the League and we were just ahead of Hearts on goal difference in 2nd place Easter Road would have been absolutely packed out Yesterday

Absolutely, but were not and it wasn't. I dont think some folk understand that this is not something thats just happened, and we are where we are crowd wise because most are fed up with the team letting us down.

And as much as some people are not going to like it, but 2nd place in the Championship is not a crowd drawing position for a lot of folk.

13-04-2015, 04:47 PM
Not only that but they were pretty much blackmailed into buying season tickets the last couple of seasons just to help them survive.

Same sort of thing when Petrie blackmailed fans into buying a season ticket to guarantee a cup final ticket though. :confused:

Lee Marvin
13-04-2015, 05:11 PM
Same sort of thing when Petrie blackmailed fans into buying a season ticket to guarantee a cup final ticket though. :confused:

Absolutely nothing wrong with season ticket holders (yes, even next season as they are arguably more important now anyway) getting first priority. Hardly blackmail.

I hope they do that again if we get there.

13-04-2015, 05:12 PM

blackmail?

Hardly.

13-04-2015, 05:17 PM

Wasn't blackmail. You either wanted to buy ST or you didn't

13-04-2015, 05:18 PM
Poor crowd in what was a massive match for us. Glad those who chose to go were rewarded with a fantastic win.

13-04-2015, 05:22 PM

Ozy, fingers crossed a few extra will turn up if there's a chance of a cup final ticket

13-04-2015, 05:28 PM

Nonsense, in a game that could see us clinch 2nd spot, you want Hibs to drop prices?

What about ST holder's who have paid their money in full, and in good faith.....Do we just let all in for a tenner?

13-04-2015, 05:39 PM
Absolutely nothing wrong with season ticket holders (yes, even next season as they are arguably more important now anyway) getting first priority. Hardly blackmail.

I hope they do that again if we get there.

blackmail?

Hardly.

Wasn't blackmail. You either wanted to buy ST or you didn't

Of course it could be classed as blackmail. It was a case of buy a season ticket or you won't be going to the cup final. Come on lads eh. There's a just a hint of blackmail in there glossed over by "good business" for the club.

13-04-2015, 05:40 PM
Nonsense, in a game that could see us clinch 2nd spot, you want Hibs to drop prices?

What about ST holder's who have paid their money in full, and in good faith.....Do we just let all in for a tenner?

I think they could drop the prices just a we bit in a bid to get a very big crowd in. £15 and £5 or £20 and £10. We need to rack up the goals as well.

13-04-2015, 05:41 PM
Of course it could be classed as blackmail. It was a case of buy a season ticket or you won't be going to the cup final. Come on lads eh. There's a just a hint of blackmail in there glossed over by "good business" for the club.

Not true, I know non ST holders who were at the final, so they never felt blackmailed into buying ST.......

13-04-2015, 05:41 PM
I think they could drop the prices just a we bit in a bid to get a very big crowd in. £15 and £5 or £20 and £10. We need to rack up the goals as well.

Don't agree

13-04-2015, 05:44 PM

We won't need too, if we beat Falkirk, as Cup Final tickets will be up for grabs. Probably raffle a few thousand

13-04-2015, 05:45 PM
Not true, I know non ST holders who were at the final, so they never felt blackmailed into buying ST.......

You're just being awkward now Mr B. You know fine well the angle I'm coming from.

13-04-2015, 05:45 PM
Don't agree

What's your main argument against it? I'd have thought having Easter road packed out for the last home game of the season would be a no brainer. And if slightly dropping ticket prices would help then I'm all for it. Being a ST holder it wouldn't bother me any. Would have bought a ST regardless of Hibs dropping ticket prices for the last home game.

13-04-2015, 05:46 PM
Don't agree

Ive paid for a ST too but I personally wouldn't mind if the prices were lowered for this game.

13-04-2015, 05:47 PM
You're just being awkward now Mr B. You know fine well the angle I'm coming from.

I don't, it wasn't blackmail........

13-04-2015, 05:47 PM
We won't need too, if we beat Falkirk, as Cup Final tickets will be up for grabs. Probably raffle a few thousand

Should give some to KFK.

13-04-2015, 05:49 PM
What's your main argument against it? I'd have thought having Easter road packed out for the last home game of the season would be a no brainer. And if slightly dropping ticket prices would help then I'm all for it. Being a ST holder it wouldn't bother me any. Would have bought a ST regardless of Hibs dropping ticket prices for the last home game.

Why should the club reduce prices? It is another massive match, but seriously will people only attend, if a few quid is knocked off the entrance fee?

13-04-2015, 05:52 PM
Why should the club reduce prices? It is another massive match, but seriously will people only attend, if a few quid is knocked off the entrance fee?

Reduce prices to potentially get more bums on seats. If it helps I honestly don't see anything wrong with it. A few quid off tickets that are already quite pricey would, I'm sure, help a lot of people in attending.

13-04-2015, 05:54 PM
Reduce prices to potentially get more bums on seats. If it helps I honestly don't see anything wrong with it. A few quid off tickets that are already quite pricey would, I'm sure, help a lot of people in attending.

Really? we are at the Business end of the season, and surely people will want to attend the matches, without a price reduction....

13-04-2015, 06:00 PM
Absolutely, but were not and it wasn't. I dont think some folk understand that this is not something thats just happened, and we are where we are crowd wise because most are fed up with the team letting us down.

And as much as some people are not going to like it, but 2nd place in the Championship is not a crowd drawing position for a lot of folk.

Even worse when the neighbours who all most went to the wall last season are now 23 points in front of us and strolled this league, we could be the next Leeds G. :wink: and it seems to all be the fans fault for not turning up to games that we are in this mess.

Farmer & Petrie are playing a blinder so they are.

wpj
13-04-2015, 06:03 PM
For me, home and away in 80s early 90s denied a seat at the skol cup final (after attending all the lead up matches) due to shocking ticketing that year, now I can get a ticket through a season ticket holder even though I barely make an ER game I can honesty say I am happy to take it and not at all bothered what anyone thinks about it. ☺

13-04-2015, 06:06 PM
For me, home and away in 80s early 90s denied a seat at the skol cup final (after attending all the lead up matches) due to shocking ticketing that year, now I can get a ticket through a season ticket holder even though I barely make an ER game I can honesty say I am happy to take it and not at all bothered what anyone thinks about it. ☺

If you're talking about the Dunfermline final you were really done because it was pay at the gate.

13-04-2015, 06:15 PM
If you're talking about the Dunfermline final you were really done because it was pay at the gate.

Against Hibs wishes too.

13-04-2015, 07:30 PM

This is totally true. There are loads of things in life which are more important than football clubs, including the football club this forum is dedicated to. I have never seen a post from anybody on here encouraging people to put Hibs before their family or paying the bills and I have never seen a post congratulating anybody who would. I speak as a person who in spite of my enthusiasm for the club could only manage a few games a year for most of the 80s and 90s because I had a wife and kids to support and the cost of football was out of the question.

But, this is after all a forum for people who are supposed to be enthusiastic about Hibernian football club is it not? When people come on here saying they wont actively support the club because it's not performing well or its not in the league they would like or they don't like the chairman or they think the game its about to play in it will lose or ( pause for laughter ) the big bad Hearts fans are gonna revel in winning the league, or you are happy to tell everybody that 'the feeling has gone forever'. That is when your commitment to supporting Hibs is rightly and justifiably called into question.

I'm sure to all the folk posting stuff like that these are valid reasons. All I can say to that is this:

When Hibs finally do get back on track, when they do start performing to your satisfaction, when they have returned to a league you think its worth watching them in, when Rod Petrie has gone, when you feel sure you can 'rock up' to a derby fully confident Hibs can win it. Then whatever you do, don't forget to pass a mental thank you to those of us who were aware of all these 'reasons', who suffered just as much ( or more ) than you did, but still cared enough about Hibernian FC to pay our money and support the team from the stands so that you had a club to go back and watch.

If you are in the "its gone forever" category than why, oh why, do you feel the need to come on here and continually tell folk about it? You have nothing to contribute to this forum and less to contribute to Hibs than a Hearts away fan paying his £28.

13-04-2015, 07:35 PM
This is totally true. There are loads of things in life which are more important than football clubs, including the football club this forum is dedicated to. I have never seen a post from anybody on here encouraging people to put Hibs before their family or paying the bills and I have never seen a post congratulating anybody who would. I speak as a person who in spite of my enthusiasm for the club could only manage a few games a year for most of the 80s and 90s because I had a wife and kids to support and the cost of football was out of the question.

But, this is after all a forum for people who are supposed to be enthusiastic about Hibernian football club is it not? When people come on here saying they wont actively support the club because it's not performing well or its not in the league they would like or they don't like the chairman or they think the game its about to play in it will lose or ( pause for laughter ) the big bad Hearts fans are gonna revel in winning the league, or you are happy to tell everybody that 'the feeling has gone forever'. That is when your commitment to supporting Hibs is rightly and justifiably called into question.

I'm sure to all the folk posting stuff like that these are valid reasons. All I can say to that is this:

When Hibs finally do get back on track, when they do start performing to your satisfaction, when they have returned to a league you think its worth watching them in, when Rod Petrie has gone, when you feel sure you can 'rock up' to a derby fully confident Hibs can win it. Then whatever you do, don't forget to pass a mental thank you to those of us who were aware of all these 'reasons', who suffered just as much ( or more ) than you did, but still cared enough about Hibernian FC to pay our money and support the team from the stands so that you had a club to go back and watch.

If you are in the "its gone forever" category than why, oh why, do you feel the need to come on here and continually tell folk about it? You have nothing to contribute to this forum and less to contribute to Hibs than a Hearts away fan paying his £28.

:top marks:top marks:agree::agree:

13-04-2015, 07:52 PM

Against Hibs wishes too.

:agree: Quite a number of Hibs supporters were locked out of the ground IIRC. We got into Hampden just before they shut the gates.

Stories at the time were going around that police wouldn't let locked out Hibs supporters into Dunfermline end (which had room).

capitals_finest
13-04-2015, 07:54 PM

Yes, the only real solution is a winning team. Yes we have had a better season and yesterday's game was important but our supporters have taken a psychological battering over a long period of time. It has taken a sustained run of shocking performances at critical games to loose supporters so it seems as though it is going to take a sustained run of big wins like this one to win back the missing supporters.

Someone else mentioned trust. Following Hibs can come at a big emotional cost (as well as financial cost for many families) so it is understandable why some supporters have been staying at home. Let's not lambast these fans let's make Easter Road a fortress again with an intimidating atmosphere rather than a lame tendency to get on everyone's back when it's not going our way... and let Stubbs and the players do the talking on the park. Less bitching on forums and more encouragement to your fellow Hibby might just help a wee bit too...

13-04-2015, 08:12 PM
Yes, the only real solution is a winning team. Yes we have had a better season and yesterday's game was important but our supporters have taken a psychological battering over a long period of time. It has taken a sustained run of shocking performances at critical games to loose supporters so it seems as though it is going to take a sustained run of big wins like this one to win back the missing supporters.

Someone else mentioned trust. Following Hibs can come at a big emotional cost (as well as financial cost for many families) so it is understandable why some supporters have been staying at home. Let's not lambast these fans let's make Easter Road a fortress again with an intimidating atmosphere rather than a lame tendency to get on everyone's back when it's not going our way... and let Stubbs and the players do the talking on the park. Less bitching on forums and more encouragement to your fellow Hibby might just help a wee bit tooess ...

well said :applause: it's sickening the stick/snidey comments some stayaway fans on here are getting from the select band, even fans that were not interested themselves last season jumping on the 'oooh look at me, i'm now better than the stayaways' p@sh, still, another few added to the old ignore list, not my type of people at all :cb :greengrin

13-04-2015, 08:32 PM

Very well said sir. Hats off to you.

13-04-2015, 09:43 PM
well said :applause: it's sickening the stick/snidey comments some stayaway fans on here are getting from the select band, even fans that were not interested themselves last season jumping on the 'oooh look at me, i'm now better than the stayaways' p@sh, still, another few added to the old ignore list, not my type of people at all :cb :greengrin

The trouble is Cabbageandribs that some of these same people seem to love nothing more than to come on here and demoralise folk who are still sticking with the club. If by "select band" you mean the folk who are currently keeping the club going while the "stay aways" wait for better times then count me in.

I have said before that there is a place in any clubs support for people who will only be attracted back by a successful team or who follow the club to semis and finals .. by attracting these fans a club has a barometer to measure growth and progress, for sure they are valuable supporters. Without folk like the 8 or 9 thousand who have been regulars at games this season clubs die.

13-04-2015, 10:01 PM
The trouble is Cabbageandribs that some of these same people seem to love nothing more than to come on here and demoralise folk who are still sticking with the club. If by "select band" you mean the folk who are currently keeping the club going while the "stay aways" wait for better times then count me in.

I have said before that there is a place in any clubs support for people who will only be attracted back by a successful team or who follow the club to semis and finals .. by attracting these fans a club has a barometer to measure growth and progress, for sure they are valuable supporters. Without folk like the 8 or 9 thousand who have been regulars at games this season clubs die.

i've honestly not saw anyone trying to demoralise folk that do go, i'm not saying there's not, just that i've not read any poster do/say that :greengrin but the poster i quoted is spot on in regards to the disparaging comments made to fans that just simply cant go, how do you think people that would like to go more often but simply cant for whatever reason then to come on here and see all the 'yer not real hibs fans' crap ? it could be for numerous reasons...cost etc etc etc, i bet there's a few on here out of work with a young family to feed and just because they are commenting on a fans forum they get a load of grief from a few on here, they're not real hibs fans blah blah blah...it's just wrong, but i'l say one thing though, see all they fans that cant afford a season ticket but try to get to at least a couple of games a season, they are just as important to the club as the season ticket holders FACT..just less fortunate, and i bet my last dollar miss dempster and mr petrie will totally agree, what i hate seeing from some on here is more fortunate hibs fans telling less fortunate hibs fans that they're not really hibs fans, joking at whatever their excuse will be for not going etc etc, jeezo, talk about trying to isolate fans altogether from attending easter road because they are made to feel like second class citizens by some, they'll certainly never get a job in the clubs PR department that's for sure.

anyway.....phewwwwwww :greengrin

capitals_finest
13-04-2015, 10:16 PM

Well I know supporters that were among the 7/7 and a half thousand during the Bobby Williamson days that followed the team home and away without fail that are now part of the 'stay away fans'. Where were the 1/2 thousand folk in those days when we could hardly string a pass together :yawn:

Let's try to stick together. The in-fighting and bitching that goes on these forums are a joke and probably only make the situation worse. We are all part of the Hibs Family it is time to save the snidey comments for our rivals...

13-04-2015, 11:10 PM
i've honestly not saw anyone trying to demoralise folk that do go, i'm not saying there's not, just that i've not read any poster do/say that :greengrin but the poster i quoted is spot on in regards to the disparaging comments made to fans that just simply cant go, how do you think people that would like to go more often but simply cant for whatever reason then to come on here and see all the 'yer not real hibs fans' crap ? it could be for numerous reasons...cost etc etc etc, i bet there's a few on here out of work with a young family to feed and just because they are commenting on a fans forum they get a load of grief from a few on here, they're not real hibs fans blah blah blah...it's just wrong, but i'l say one thing though, see all they fans that cant afford a season ticket but try to get to at least a couple of games a season, they are just as important to the club as the season ticket holders FACT..just less fortunate, and i bet my last dollar miss dempster and mr petrie will totally agree, what i hate seeing from some on here is more fortunate hibs fans telling less fortunate hibs fans that they're not really hibs fans, joking at whatever their excuse will be for not going etc etc, jeezo, talk about trying to isolate fans altogether from attending easter road because they are made to feel like second class citizens by some, they'll certainly never get a job in the clubs PR department that's for sure.

anyway.....phewwwwwww :greengrin

If you are going to comment on stuff I post mate, please read what I post. I have never, ever said that folk who CANT go are letting the club down ... In fact I have said on countless threads that if you can only make one game because of work, family, money or any other of a host of other reasons that life throws up and you go to that game then you are every bit as good a supporter as me or anybody else. Feel free to castigate me for stuff you don't agree with me about .... but please, not for stuff I haven't said, and more importantly would never agree with

TowerHibs
14-04-2015, 03:36 AM

Well said and I agree with you on most points.

I never said I was a gone forever and I can't say I've seen many posts that have.

I do totally disagree with the comment though that those who are currently not going will have to mentally thank those who have never gave up. "Still cared enough" and that kind of language......I don't think I have to thank anyone for how they chose to spend their money and spend their time. Good for them but I disagree that I should be thankful to them and likewise I disagree that I should be called "pathetic" or "disgraceful" because I don't do what they do. No one has the right to call non attenders pathetic.(non football fans would think spending time and money on something that's has been nothing short of a nightmare for the past 6 years pathetic...)

I was a home and away guy in the late 90s & early 00s. Gradually over the past 10 years due to team performance,age, marriage, kids, cost it has gradually eroded the priority for me and I would say the majority of people who say they are Hibs fans. I never missed a game for 2 years during Blobby but if I go to have the chance AND will to return to that commitment I need to mentally thank people for keeping the club afloat???

I am on this board daily and very positive about hibs and encouraging as are others. I am buying shares, i dont mind Liam Craig and love Lewis Stephenson.

It's the personal insults being dished about by those who go to those who don't I find pointless and counter productive. If I am pathetic and less than a supporter than you (I don't mean you nookie, just in general) then why do you want me there??? Life, unfortunately, moves on and has done for the majority of those who class themselves a Hibee. Modern life just means going to the football is no more number 1 in people's life.

14-04-2015, 10:15 AM

Its the middle of the Easter holidays in many parts of Scotland. Many of the 40% of fans who travel from outside Edinburgh no longer have an ST. So for me this makes it a £100 round trip. It is also a lunchtime kickoff when I socialise in church. Football is a Saturday or Wednesday evening game. Sunday is a church and family day. The football authorities change games for telly and the crowds suffer.

Agree. At our peak under Mowbray home crowds peaked at up to 14,000 Hibbies. The highest peak since the Tornadoes era? But that was when the wunderkids were playing, when we were playing fast-flowing football at the top end of the SPL. Now we are down around 10K home fans at a Derby. The difference is not down to one reason, it's an accumulation of several e.g.

Relegation to a lower league
The club having been shambolically run by Petrie & Co for years
People who have drifted off to take up other interests
Sunday lunchtime is one of fans less favorite kick off times
Sunday lunchtime effectively rules out most regular churchgoers
Sunday excludes some families who visit relatives or whose spouses don't follow football
Easter Holidays
Impending Hampden awayday
Those who play or whose kids play Sunday football
People outside Edinburgh who are walkups and can't afford the £80-£120 to take the family to a game
The crap derby record
The non family-friendly atmosphere
TV
etc

Football is a game to be enjoyed by those supporters who go to games. In the last 54 years of going to Hibs matches I've never once worried how many Hibs fans attended the game I was at. The Hearts have been obsessed with attendances since the 2006 semi where they had 191 more tickets sold. That's crept into Hibs messageboards and it does none of us any good at all. We all love our team - let's celebrate how well we are doing and keep the feelgood factor high!

However I agree that our club could and should do more to build a bigger support,bring back the lost fans and build a bigger player budget for Alan who is doing a fantastic job. Converting to a community club model with imaginative, ground up, capacity-building ticket strategies would be a start but that that will never happen as long as Petrie clings on to his dull, risk-averse, corporate ownership and management approach. Leeann's recruitment was in response to fan pressure but I can't help feeling that she would be a lot more creative reporting to a younger, more business-savvy board.

14-04-2015, 10:29 AM
Agree. At our peak under Mowbray home crowds peaked at up to 14,000 Hibbies. The highest peak since the Tornadoes era? But that was when the wunderkids were playing, when we were playing fast-flowing football at the top end of the SPL. Now we are down around 10K home fans at a Derby. The difference is not down to one reason, it's an accumulation of several e.g.

Relegation to a lower league
The club having been shambolically run by Petrie & Co for years
People who have drifted off to take up other interests
Sunday lunchtime is one of fans less favorite kick off times
Sunday lunchtime effectively rules out most regular churchgoers
Sunday excludes some families who visit relatives or whose spouses don't follow football
Easter Holidays
Impending Hampden awayday
Those who play or whose kids play Sunday football
People outside Edinburgh who are walkups and can't afford the £80-£120 to take the family to a game
The crap derby record
The non family-friendly atmosphere
TV
etc

Football is a game to be enjoyed by those supporters who go to games. In the last 54 years of going to Hibs matches I've never once worried how many Hibs fans attended the game I was at. The Hearts have been obsessed with attendances since the 2006 semi where they had 191 more tickets sold. That's crept into Hibs messageboards and it does none of us any good at all. We all love our team - let's celebrate how well we are doing and keep the feelgood factor high!

However I agree that our club could and should do more to build a bigger support,bring back the lost fans and build a bigger player budget for Alan who is doing a fantastic job. Converting to a community club model with imaginative, ground up, capacity-building ticket strategies would be a start but that that will never happen as long as Petrie clings on to his dull, risk-averse, corporate ownership and management approach. Leeann's recruitment was in response to fan pressure but I can't help feeling that she would be a lot more creative reporting to a younger, more business-savvy board.

A 2.15 kick off isnt really lunchtime though.

14-04-2015, 10:32 AM
A 2.15 kick off isnt really lunchtime though.

Lunchtime is any time between 12 and 3-30 for me. I try to fit as many lunches as I can into that time. :greengrin I still managed to make the game on Sunday though.

14-04-2015, 10:33 AM
Lunchtime is any time between 12 and 3-30 for me. I try to fit as many lunches as I can into that time. :greengrin I still managed to make the game on Sunday though.

Indeed. You can be finished lunch by 12.15 if you really wanted to. :greengrin

14-04-2015, 11:17 AM

Indeed. You can be finished lunch by 12.15 if you really wanted to. :greengrin

I recall when we beat them 6-2, was it not something like 5.35 or 6.05 ko times back then? I missed out on my tea :wink:

And, there was only 12,900 odds. Granted they decided they were in for a doing so didn't turn up :greengrin

14-04-2015, 11:28 AM

The sell out earlier in the season was £28. Even if it was a fiver to get in those that "can't be bothered" to go will not be going. Big problem with apathy at the moment. People will easily find £50 to go on the lash with their pals instead.

14-04-2015, 12:19 PM
The sell out earlier in the season was £28. Even if it was a fiver to get in those that "can't be bothered" to go will not be going. Big problem with apathy at the moment. People will easily find £50 to go on the lash with their pals instead.

You can't watch your pals getting pished on the telly though unless it ends up on Crimewatch.

14-04-2015, 12:53 PM
You can't watch your pals getting pished on the telly though unless it ends up on Crimewatch.

The thought of watching my mates get pished on TV is a frightening one. Might be one for the Horror Channel though 😀

No reason for church making you miss a game. Mass available for RCs on Saturday or Sunday night and not an obligation for other Christians although it may be inconvenient.

Win promotion and the cup and the home end at ER will be rammed for the next Derby.

14-04-2015, 03:18 PM
I go to the games because of 2 reasons. Firstly I'm lucky enough to be able to afford to and secondly. I am Hibs, just the same as is Baldy Foghorn, Blackpool Hibs, underscore and every other one of you's that I've not mentioned. If cut I bleed green. On match days and most other days I look for any information I can for my team.

I too have other priorities like most folk and I would never ridicule another fan for not attending, just as I have never seeked praise for attending. However if in 1990s I was offered 22 games against them without a win. All our players sold, relegation twice and a couple of cup wins and a stadium that's totally transformed and training centre to boot. I would except it without question. Because saving the club for future generations was paramount to every Hibs fan back then. As we know we did save it and now hopefully we can all pull in the same direction to make it a force once again.

We have had many a bad season, but we have so many positives that we can now push on and hopefully get back to where we belong in Scottish football.