View Full Version : Legalise Cannabis

07-04-2015, 11:38 PM
I just took that questionnaire designed to decipher who I should vote for, suggested on another thread, and one of the questions I was asked was where I stood on this subject.

I answered that I think it should be legalised, as I am sure is expected seen as I started this thread haha, I have a few reasons why I think it should be legalised.

I am wondering what others think of this subject?

I will ill post my reasons in the morning.

08-04-2015, 02:24 AM
Should be legalised or decriminalised. Ridiculous that it's not. Bottom line.

08-04-2015, 05:40 AM
I'd legalise/decriminalise all drugs so cannabis on its own is a no-brainer.

08-04-2015, 07:10 AM

Id agree with this point of view but I know that many most definitely would not.

08-04-2015, 07:31 AM
Long had this view.

See the other thread on this....decent debate going on.

08-04-2015, 07:35 AM
At a time when regulations on tobacco and alcohol are being tightened all time, especially tobacco, it's wishful thinking to hope or expect a sensible, open debate on drug policy any time soon.

There's certainly merit in discussing decrimilisation of drugs, with restrictions and support networks in place of course, but I can't see anything other than the failed 'war on drugs' continuing for the forseeable.

A change in laws on cannabis would also put the ruling party umder immense pressure from various retail and business groups. Could you imagine the outcry from tobacco and retail lobby groups if at the same time as they are forced to hide their products from view, banned from advertising and having to package their goods in plain packets with graphic pictures of throat tumours and smokers lungs etc a process was started to legalise another plant based smoking product with carcinogenic properties?

08-04-2015, 08:55 AM

I'd agree with this but only if all employers were then allowed to drug test applicants and deny them jobs based on the results.

08-04-2015, 08:56 AM
I'd agree with this but only if all employers were then allowed to drug test applicants and deny them jobs based on the results.

Would you extend that test to nicotine, alcohol and prescription drugs?

08-04-2015, 09:21 AM
I'd decriminalise all drugs and treat addiction as a public health issue. Occassional recreational drug use I don't have an issue with but when that becomes a binge, or taken with any regularity - especially with stronger drugs - it can and does have an affect on how you can carry out 'normal' tasks for a period of time after use. People should be educated on recreational drug use, warned of the dangers specific to using each drug and how to minimise the amount of 'hangover' time afterwards. Employers should be allowed, following decriminalisation, to have a transparent policy on recreational drug use (I'd include alcohol in that) and be allowed to test their employees on the occassional Monday morning - or following a holiday - to determine what degree of mind altering chemicals are still in their system. You want to take drugs at the weekend then that's fine, just don't expect to work long for a company with a zero tolerance policy.

liamh2202
08-04-2015, 09:38 AM
I'd decriminalise all drugs and treat addiction as a public health issue. Occassional recreational drug use I don't have an issue with but when that becomes a binge, or taken with any regularity - especially with stronger drugs - it can and does have an affect on how you can carry out 'normal' tasks for a period of time after use. People should be educated on recreational drug use, warned of the dangers specific to using each drug and how to minimise the amount of 'hangover' time afterwards. Employers should be allowed, following decriminalisation, to have a transparent policy on recreational drug use (I'd include alcohol in that) and be allowed to test their employees on the occassional Monday morning - or following a holiday - to determine what degree of mind altering chemicals are still in their system. You want to take drugs at the weekend then that's fine, just don't expect to work long for a company with a zero tolerance policy.

I can't argue with any of that

08-04-2015, 09:55 AM
Would you extend that test to nicotine, alcohol and prescription drugs?

Alcohol definitely, at present I'm subjected to random tests. I do enjoy a drink but never whilst working. Nicotine is a hard one, it's already legal so to criminalize it would be difficult. Prescription drugs would have been prescribed by a Dr who would be aware of possible side effects and dangers, if it's prescribed for medicinal purposes and deemed safe by a Dr then why not?

08-04-2015, 09:59 AM
I'm in 2 minds to be honest, the crackdown smoking has had the last 25-30 odd years I think it would be hypocritical right legalise another product such as this. Not to mention some of the long term affects of this and the possible add to the already strained NHS.

On the other hand it would stop money flowing into the hands of criminals and raise some much needed tax for the country. I also think it's got to the stage where it's so easily available, then why not. It would be interesting to see how the states in America who already legalised it are getting on.

I'm not sure but I'm also not that bothered either way.

08-04-2015, 10:04 AM
Alcohol definitely, at present I'm subjected to random tests. I do enjoy a drink but never whilst working. Nicotine is a hard one, it's already legal so to criminalize it would be difficult. Prescription drugs would have been prescribed by a Dr who would be aware of possible side effects and dangers, if it's prescribed for medicinal purposes and deemed safe by a Dr then why not?

On the prescription drugs issue, I was meaning those that are abused, and those that weren't actually prescribed by a GP.

My underlying point, not aimed at you, is that there is a lot of hypocrisy spoken about "drugs" when, in essence, we already tolerate some pretty lethal stuff.

08-04-2015, 10:11 AM
On the prescription drugs issue, I was meaning those that are abused, and those that weren't actually prescribed by a GP.

My underlying point, not aimed at you, is that there is a lot of hypocrisy spoken about "drugs" when, in essence, we already tolerate some pretty lethal stuff.

I really don't have a passionate opinion on recreational drug taking, people should be able to do what they want providing it doesn't harm others or cost the state financially. That last bit is probably the only issue that would concern me.

08-04-2015, 11:36 AM
Interesting view points about the whole drug war.

I thought I was alone, and could not be bothered to try defend myself, but I am very pleased and surprised to see that so many would also legalise all drugs.

(((Fergus)))
09-04-2015, 03:26 PM

Maybe if, for example, Germanwings had had drug testing?

09-04-2015, 03:29 PM
Maybe if, for example, Germanwings had had drug testing?

Am I picking you up right here?

Are you saying that, if the Germanwings pilot had tested positive for anti-depressants, the plane crash wouldn't have happened?

09-04-2015, 06:11 PM
It probably won't come as a surprise to many on here but it's something I would be against. The only reason I would ever support it would be if it was going to be used under the instruction of a GP as I believe that cannabis can have a medicinal purpose under certain circumstances.

In general though, I would not support legalisation as it does have some very harmful effects and will potentially add even more of a strain onto the NHS.

HibsMax
09-04-2015, 10:16 PM
It probably won't come as a surprise to many on here but it's something I would be against. The only reason I would ever support it would be if it was going to be used under the instruction of a GP as I believe that cannabis can have a medicinal purpose under certain circumstances.

In general though, I would not support legalisation as it does have some very harmful effects and will potentially add even more of a strain onto the NHS.
Serious question. How much strain is there on the NHS as a result of cannabis usage?

If what you predict is true then one of the concerns would be money. That money would / could come from multiple places e.g.,
1. taxation, if it was controlled by the government.
2. all the money saved by not hunting down, prosecuting and incarcerating all these "criminals". You might not think that is a lot, and maybe it's not in the UK, but it's a billion dollar industry over here. I don't have the facts at my fingertips but there is a large percentage of the US's prison population that are incarcerated because of marijuana. It costs a lot of time and money to look for and catch them. It costs a lot of time and money to try them. It costs a lot of time and money to keep them locked up. Every person who is in prison is a person who is not contributing to society i.e., working and paying taxes. Imagine if we filled out prisons with people who drank alcohol, wouldn't you find that a little preposterous?

09-04-2015, 10:22 PM
All the billions spent on health campaigns against tobacco have only now started to take effect. Last time I looked at a joint it contained a Regal king size along with the dope. Surely we are going to encourage folk to continue smoking tobacco if we legalise cannabis?

10-04-2015, 09:25 AM

What a lot of people fail to recognise or definitely admit is they are drug addicts in there own way. Here's my example if you can bare with me. About 10 years ago I was going through the worst period of my life due to un diagnosed Bipolar disorder. Had a great job as a cop, fantastic family. However... I started taking over the counter pain killers (Co-codamol) for something else. 2 tablets became 4... 4 became 8 and before I knew it i was taking so many basically to self medicate. Over a period of 7 years I quit my job, split from my wife and lived in a haze of pain killers. At it's worst I was taking 32 at a time (a packet) doing this 3 times a day. My GP said it should have killed me but I thank god it didn't. Now, some may read this and say "ach it's only over the counter pain killers". My point is I was given fantastic help to get off these for good, being treated as a person NOT A CRIMINAL. I honestly believe if we could treat other drug users in the same way (abstinence based recovery,) instead of jailing them we would see the recovery success rate go way up. Last thing.... Drugs like co-codamol should be taken off the shelves and only be prescribed. They are addictive and cause harm. But that won't happen as they make millions for pharmaceutical companies every year.

10-04-2015, 11:15 AM
All the billions spent on health campaigns against tobacco have only now started to take effect. Last time I looked at a joint it contained a Regal king size along with the dope. Surely we are going to encourage folk to continue smoking tobacco if we legalise cannabis?

Ach smoking is so last century...everything can be vapourised now and in the case of cannabis that removes any tobacco consideration from the equation.

10-04-2015, 11:29 AM
I'd certainly not decriminalise all drugs. Just because some people can take heroin and not be a raving loony junkie, like some others might be, doesn't make it ok to me. To me its like saying 'lets scrap speed limits, most people will be careful anyway'.

I know there's arguments about other things, alcohol for instance, being just as potentially damaging but, so what? Lifes not fair and everything isn't treated as equal.

HibsMax
10-04-2015, 03:02 PM
That's only one way it can be taken and it's a very European way. In the US it's practically unheard of. People either use apparatus with pure weed or they roll a joint with just weed. No tobacco anywhere in sight.

HibsMax
10-04-2015, 03:08 PM
What a lot of people fail to recognise or definitely admit is they are drug addicts in there own way. Here's my example if you can bare with me. About 10 years ago I was going through the worst period of my life due to un diagnosed Bipolar disorder. Had a great job as a cop, fantastic family. However... I started taking over the counter pain killers (Co-codamol) for something else. 2 tablets became 4... 4 became 8 and before I knew it i was taking so many basically to self medicate. Over a period of 7 years I quit my job, split from my wife and lived in a haze of pain killers. At it's worst I was taking 32 at a time (a packet) doing this 3 times a day. My GP said it should have killed me but I thank god it didn't. Now, some may read this and say "ach it's only over the counter pain killers". My point is I was given fantastic help to get off these for good, being treated as a person NOT A CRIMINAL. I honestly believe if we could treat other drug users in the same way (abstinence based recovery,) instead of jailing them we would see the recovery success rate go way up. Last thing.... Drugs like co-codamol should be taken off the shelves and only be prescribed. They are addictive and cause harm. But that won't happen as they make millions for pharmaceutical companies every year.
Sorry to hear of what you went through and lost. You raise a great point, it's not just the illegal drugs that cause problems. Over here it's Oxycontin (sp?).

10-04-2015, 04:12 PM

It's not great that you had problems with OTC painkillers. However, millions use them to alleviate pain without getting addicted to them. Withdrawing them (along with lots of cough medicines, antihistamines, sleeping aids etc) and making folk have to get a prescription would be a nightmare for folk in real need of a GP appt and the GPs themselves.

10-04-2015, 04:13 PM

Always a pleasant surprise to agree with you on something :greengrin

The things the medical establishment are finding out about the long term effects of weed on the brain are fairly frightening. And it definitely DOES have a cost in terms of the NHS and strains on mental health services. On that basis id oppose legalisation. I accept the fact its damn fine getting high, and friends of mine do so on a regular basis and I wouldn't and don't judge anyone for it.

10-04-2015, 06:20 PM

Mikey I have the upmost respect for you to come into a public forum and post what you have. I hope you are recovering or recovered and you realise that there are people out there that do care.

On a separate note... Methadone.... Methadone is a prescribed drug given free to heroin users which costs millions and millions every year of tax payers money. Self inflicted yet they are given what they want yet people with certain types of Cancer and other similar diseases might not get the treatment they need because it costs too much money. This I don't get.

10-04-2015, 08:07 PM
[QUOTE=HibsMax;4343844]Sorry to hear of what you went through and lost.[/

Worked my bawes off to get them back so it's all good.... :aok:

It's not great that you had problems with OTC painkillers. However, millions use them to alleviate pain without getting addicted to them. Withdrawing them (along with lots of cough medicines, antihistamines, sleeping aids etc) and making folk have to get a prescription would be a nightmare for folk in real need of a GP appt and the GPs themselves.

Agreed Beefster. I'm maybe being a bit bias towards taking them off the shelves. I'm sure they do help a lot of people but I would like to see something brought in to police, if you know what I mean, these drugs a bit more.

Mikey I have the upmost respect for you to come into a public forum and post what you have. I hope you are recovering or recovered and you realise that there are people out there that do care.

On a separate note... Methadone.... Methadone is a prescribed drug given free to heroin users which costs millions and millions every year of tax payers money. Self inflicted yet they are given what they want yet people with certain types of Cancer and other similar diseases might not get the treatment they need because it costs too much money. This I don't get.

Always recovering mate. Gotta stay on those toes!! The last bit of your quote I don't think anyone would argue with.... The only thing I would say is it's up to our Government to find funds to help everyone with health problems.

10-04-2015, 09:54 PM
That's only one way it can be taken and it's a very European way. In the US it's practically unheard of. People either use apparatus with pure weed or they roll a joint with just weed. No tobacco anywhere in sight.

But that is one of the problems we have over here, there is not a wide selections of stuff to smoke over here, skunk, soap bar and pollen, that's about it, now, in America you have a huge choice of green and oils for vapours, and not much solids which is hard to find a decent vapour to smoke it through back here.

If you can point me in the right direction for a vapour for solids like pollen that would be a big healthy help, :wink::greengrin smoking through wee pipes is a pest as they get clogged up with oil.

11-04-2015, 06:33 AM

11-04-2015, 07:20 AM
What would be the point in legalising cannabis when the the country is actively trying to stop people smoking and stop people start smoking. We live in a very anti smoking society now and legalising cannabis would defeat the purpose of the anti smoking campaigns and new tobacco laws etc.

11-04-2015, 07:22 AM
What would be the point in legalising cannabis when the the country is actively trying to stop people smoking and stop people start smoking. We live in a very anti smoking society now and legalising cannabis would defeat the purpose of the anti smoking campaigns and new tobacco laws etc.
As has been said, you don't need tobacco to take cannabis

11-04-2015, 08:23 AM
But that is one of the problems we have over here, there is not a wide selections of stuff to smoke over here, skunk, soap bar and pollen, that's about it, now, in America you have a huge choice of green and oils for vapours, and not much solids which is hard to find a decent vapour to smoke it through back here.

If you can point me in the right direction for a vapour for solids like pollen that would be a big healthy help, :wink::greengrin smoking through wee pipes is a pest as they get clogged up with oil.

Oh Id argue the opposite. I know that it's a lot harder to get your hands on any solids, people I know anyway, weed on the other hand..

11-04-2015, 09:03 AM
As has been said, you don't need tobacco to take cannabis

I wouldnt know! It's proven that cannabis slows your reactions to things and not to mention knackers your brain cells, it's bad enough we have folk that still take a drink then drive, you're just as likely to have an accident under the influence of drugs. Leave it as it is.

11-04-2015, 10:15 AM
I think some of us are slightly missing the point. The point of legalising drugs is to give people the option to recreationally partake if they so wish, and offer support to those who are addicted without treating them like a criminal. We could provide better education on drugs which might help to save lives and actually disencourage use.

Portugal is a good example

http://www.tdpf.org.uk/blog/drug-decriminalisation-portugal-setting-record-straight

11-04-2015, 10:34 AM
I think some of us are slightly missing the point. The point of legalising drugs is to give people the option to recreationally partake if they so wish, and offer support to those who are addicted without treating them like a criminal. We could provide better education on drugs which might help to save lives and actually disencourage use.

Portugal is a good example

http://www.tdpf.org.uk/blog/drug-decriminalisation-portugal-setting-record-straight

Say this happened. Would users then forfeit the right to free care on the NHS as a result of drug abuse??

11-04-2015, 10:37 AM
Say this happened. Would users then forfeit the right to free care on the NHS as a result of drug abuse??
Yes, potentially. If you don't 'get with the programme' so to speak, then I'm afraid you lose entitlement to healthcare to treat issues caused by the poisonous effects of the drugs you are taking.

11-04-2015, 11:28 AM

If drugs were legalised, users would be paying tax on the drugs they purchase. They'd be as entitled to NHS treatment of any related issues as alcoholics, smokers, the obese, a lot of type-2 diabetics etc.

11-04-2015, 12:05 PM
I'd legalise it, I'd rather bump into a group of half a dozen guys stoned on the streets than half a dozen guys tanked up on booze on the street. I'd likely get a cuddle off the stoners but chibbed off the jakeys.

11-04-2015, 05:10 PM
If drugs were legalised, users would be paying tax on the drugs they purchase. They'd be as entitled to NHS treatment of any related issues as alcoholics, smokers, the obese, a lot of type-2 diabetics etc.

Didn't think about it that way. Of course, if someone is paying tax on a product then they should be entitled to government funded support treating adverse effects of said product. The difficulty is that we need to be careful not to encourage addiction - the drugs are being legalised in order to decriminalise users and hopefully, reduce the number of addicts through better education and progressive treatment programmes - instead of just throwing them in jail.

It would be a bigger 'burden' on the NHS however, in theory, we'd have more money available to spend on it.

11-04-2015, 05:14 PM

That was my point and it's one I seldom hear broadcasted. It's all going down the smoky hole and into the lungs. That's bad. Anyway, we've got enough trouble with legal drugs causing problems. Do we need more?

I'm afraid I find the pro-cannabis lobby to be a bit desperate in prosecuting their case going on about tax revenue etc. I'm not convinced Come clean, guys. It's all about getting it down yer tubes and getting you oot yer heid!

11-04-2015, 05:50 PM
That was my point and it's one I seldom hear broadcasted. It's all going down the smoky hole and into the lungs. That's bad. Anyway, we've got enough trouble with legal drugs causing problems. Do we need more? I'm afraid I find the pro-cannabis lobby to be a bit desperate in prosecuting their case going on about tax revenue etc. I'm not convinced Come clean, guys. It's all about getting it down yer tubes and getting you oot yer heid!

But anyone who wants to already does...making it legal won't change that just as making it illegal hasn't.

The debate about where the revenue goes is a very valid one. As is the cost of the rather fruitless 'war on drugs'.

11-04-2015, 06:47 PM
I'm afraid I find the pro-cannabis lobby to be a bit desperate in prosecuting their case going on about tax revenue etc. I'm not convinced Come clean, guys. It's all about getting it down yer tubes and getting you oot yer heid!

I'd be for legalisation/decriminalisation of all drugs, irrespective of whether it was taxed or not. The tax and regulation of the drugs is just a pleasant side-effect of that.

PS I'm not a part of any lobby. I'm commenting on a thread that appeared and it's probably the first time I've discussed it in many years.

Stranraer
12-04-2015, 09:13 PM
The thought of stoned bus drivers and potheads walking around does not sound appealing.

13-04-2015, 01:45 AM
I'd legalise it, I'd rather bump into a group of half a dozen guys stoned on the streets than half a dozen guys tanked up on booze on the street. I'd likely get a cuddle off the stoners but chibbed off the jakeys.

Out and about in Edinburgh, 99 groups of guys out of 100 who have been bevvying all day are sound.

How many times have you read about the rapist/murderer who has been high on a cocktail of drugs including cannabis? What about someone who smokes enough weed to make them that introverted and paranoid that they either harm themselves or someone else?

There's no easy answer but nobody should attempt to paint weed as some cuddly, acceptable drug with no side effects whatsoever. It most certainly isn't.

13-04-2015, 05:42 AM
Out and about in Edinburgh, 99 groups of guys out of 100 who have been bevvying all day are sound.

If by "sound" you mean a pain in the hoop then I agree, especially for those who are sober.

How many times have you read about the rapist/murderer who has been high on a cocktail of drugs including cannabis?

I'm not sure about that, but I know that there is a huge amount of alcohol related crime.

What about someone who smokes enough weed to make them that introverted and paranoid that they either harm themselves or someone else?[/QUOTE

Ditto booze.

[QUOTE]There's no easy answer but nobody should attempt to paint weed as some cuddly, acceptable drug with no side effects whatsoever. It most certainly isn't.

Fair enough.

HibsMax
13-04-2015, 09:41 PM
Smoking is just one way to use it.

HibsMax
13-04-2015, 09:50 PM
I wouldnt know! It's proven that cannabis slows your reactions to things and not to mention knackers your brain cells, it's bad enough we have folk that still take a drink then drive, you're just as likely to have an accident under the influence of drugs. Leave it as it is.
Supporting the legalisation of marijuana usage does not go hand in hand with supporting driving while impaired. Those are two totally different topics and to suggest that people who want to take this drug also want to drive recklessly is quite a leap with no basis as far as I can tell. Now I know you didn't say that explicitly but you you're making some sort of connection there and I think that's unfair.

HibsMax
13-04-2015, 09:59 PM
That was my point and it's one I seldom hear broadcasted. It's all going down the smoky hole and into the lungs. That's bad. Anyway, we've got enough trouble with legal drugs causing problems. Do we need more?

If you are eating a chocolate brownie that has been baked using cannabis oil, how does that pollute your lungs?

"Do we need more?" - marijuana is not something new. It's been around for a loooooog time. People have been using it a lot longer than any prescription drug you care to mention.

I personally am not using tax revenue as an excuse but it would certainly offset the increased burden on the health service that some people are predicting. Based on my experience, I'm not buying that though. The ER is not filled up on a Saturday night with stoners. I also don't know anyone who is hopelessly addicted to it. I'm not saying there aren't any, I'm saying I haven't met any. People with problems with alcohol? I see them often enough. I don't feel my stance is desperate. There are two reasons why people use cannabis - pleasure and relief. I have never heard anyone suggest that they would take cannabis to provide more money to the government.....BUT if it was legalised and taxed, that would be a beneficial side effect and there's no denying that. Even if people grew their own, there could be a tax on the seeds.

13-04-2015, 10:01 PM
There's no easy answer but nobody should attempt to paint weed as some cuddly, acceptable drug with no side effects whatsoever. It most certainly isn't.

Agree - side effects include psychosis, paranoia and it's linked to several psychological conditions.

That said, alcohol, tobacco, sugar etc all have downsides. I wouldn't think that too much bevvy is all cuddly and such. But strangely, it's much more socially acceptable.

HibsMax
13-04-2015, 10:03 PM
The thought of stoned bus drivers and potheads walking around does not sound appealing.
stoned bus drivers? Where did that come from? Are you suggesting, like some others are, that if the drug is legalised that people will start to break other laws too? Making marijuana legal does not make driving while impaired legal. A bus driver getting stoned now and working is in just as much trouble as if marijuana was legal. The only difference would be one more charge added to his / her sheet.

potheads walking around - you make it sound like an episode of The Walking Dead. Ever been to Amsterdam? If so, how terrible was your visit? I've been several times and would have to say that the whole experience was very positive (and No, I'm not walking around stoned all the time - there is more to do there than that).

HibsMax
13-04-2015, 10:13 PM

How many times have you read about the rapist/murderer who has been high on a cocktail of drugs including cannabis? What about someone who smokes enough weed to make them that introverted and paranoid that they either harm themselves or someone else?

The problem with the bit in bold is you say a cocktail of drugs including cannabis. If that person had fish and chips for dinner that night, should we consider that as being a contributing factor? I'm guessing not. Please provide links to any stories you have where someone got high and raped or murdered someone and it's been proven that the events happened as a result of their drug use. You said "How many times..." which, to me, implies that it is a frequent occurrence so it shouldn't be hard for you to find one good example. However, it's a difficult argument to win, for either side. If a guy kills someone and happened to be high, did they do it because they were high or was their being high just a coincidence? It's very possible that the crime would have happened one way or the other. Cannabis does not transform a person into a murderer or a rapist. To answer your question though, limited to cannabis because I'm not personally talking about a cocktail of drugs, none. I haven't read any story about a person who committed a violent crime because of smoking weed. I cannot say the same thing about alcohol.

HiBremian
17-04-2015, 08:06 PM
Well it certainly helped me get through some pretty dire Hibs performances, standing (cough) high on the olde East terracing. The Arabs' tangerine shirts were particularly engrossing :-)

17-04-2015, 09:31 PM
Well it certainly helped me get through some pretty dire Hibs performances, standing (cough) high on the olde East terracing. The Arabs' tangerine shirts were particularly engrossing :-)

It also explains the queues at the pie stand Richard.

HiBremian
18-04-2015, 10:19 AM
It also explains the queues at the pie stand Richard.

:yum yum:..........................:sick:

18-04-2015, 10:43 AM
The Arabs' tangerine shirts were particularly engrossing

23-04-2015, 07:00 PM
I suspect alcohol causes more harm and more burden on society than all illegal drugs combined. It is the ultimate gateway drug.

The laws of prohibition don't work. They also lead to many otherwise upstanding citizens having convictions. A good number of my pals have a possession conviction. Ducking disgusting really.

Interestingly, I am aware of a constant supply of Afghani pot, essentially linked to the improved communication with the part of the world . Black is the colour. No need to smoke soap bar or puff on the enhanced version of weed. Neither are great, for different reasons.

There is absolutely no need to smoke anything. A budgies eye of that black stuff is enough, just chew and swallow.

When I was a toker I managed to play amateur football at the highest level. Without fail I'd have a few hot knives before going off to the game. It increased my vision and never did anyone question my

mindset.

Rasta_Hibs
24-04-2015, 12:23 PM
Marijuana is the most wonderful substance on the planet!

Yi only need to look at the bloated red faces, big beer guts and tired hungover people to know to muchy bevy is bad news!

Weed on the other hand you wake up with a smile and not feeing poisoned.

Legalise it!

24-04-2015, 01:37 PM
If you've done any research whatsoever you see that legalising, or at least decriminalising it is the only way to go.

Huge numbers of people smoke it and I'd much rather that the money raised from that went into the hands of the government rather than that of organised gangs and criminals.

The drug itself does very little actual harm to the body, especially if it isn't smoked. If someone already has a mental health issue it can make it worse, but on the flip side it has also been proven to help alleviate anxiety and depression when used correctly.

28-04-2015, 09:50 PM
Having lived in Edinburgh and smoked weed since high school, I have to say that to legalise it would be the only way forward plus you wouldn't get shan gear from some dodgy bloke who tries to sell you an oxo cube or the clippings from his mums basil plant. Now that I live in Sweden their attitude is so different from the UK (at least where I live) if you say you smoke weed its the same as saying you like snorting two fat lines of coke off the back of an underage hooker.

30-04-2015, 10:12 AM
Having lived in Edinburgh and smoked weed since high school, I have to say that to legalise it would be the only way forward plus you wouldn't get shan gear from some dodgy bloke who tries to sell you an oxo cube or the clippings from his mums basil plant. Now that I live in Sweden their attitude is so different from the UK (at least where I live) if you say you smoke weed its the same as saying you like snorting two fat lines of coke off the back of an underage hooker.

I take it lines and underage hookers are commonplace there?

southfieldhibby
30-04-2015, 12:30 PM
Up until 16 years ago I smoked plenty solids, gave it up when my 1st kid came along and I accepted that being a full time stoner and full time dad was going to be a challenge.
Was 40 last year and wanted to have a wee smoke so go a couple of joints worth of grass from a pal.What a difference.As strong as LSD or decent pills from 20 years ago!

Suppose my point is that grass nowadays is significantly stronger and leads to alot of cannabis psychosis? I'm probably pro legalisation and taxation, but the levels of thc would need to be regulated I think?

30-04-2015, 12:32 PM
Weed is great for headaches, colds, viral infections.....sometimes if its a heavy viral i wont feel like it but the weed blocks out that miserable feeling and lifts your spirits.........ive used it for general aches and pains and of course recreational purposes.....in fact when i come home from a day in the office, i make the kids tea...bath or shower them and put them to bed then kick back an smoke a nice doob.....single skin is enough for me as im not a big smoker and once i feel the dunt i tend to stubb it out for later....i have smoked it for 20 years and its not addictive....if i dont have it then im not fussed and i can have it sitting in my cupboard for days without touching it.......i dont smoke fags by the way or do other drugs.

HibsMax
30-04-2015, 08:13 PM
Weed is great for headaches, colds, viral infections.....sometimes if its a heavy viral i wont feel like it but the weed blocks out that miserable feeling and lifts your spirits.........ive used it for general aches and pains and of course recreational purposes.....in fact when i come home from a day in the office, i make the kids tea...bath or shower them and put them to bed then kick back an smoke a nice doob.....single skin is enough for me as im not a big smoker and once i feel the dunt i tend to stubb it out for later....i have smoked it for 20 years and its not addictive....if i dont have it then im not fussed and i can have it sitting in my cupboard for days without touching it.......i dont smoke fags by the way or do other drugs.
To me, these anecdotes are more relevant than people talking about something they have no idea about e.g., those who think you HAVE to smoke it, those who have never smoked it but think they know everything there is to know about it, etc. I'm not suggesting that people who smoke weed are the MOST informed but at least they have a firsthand experience and can talk to it's effects.

I'm still waiting to hear about all the stories of stoners who rape and murder...

HiBremian
30-04-2015, 08:36 PM
Up until 16 years ago I smoked plenty solids, gave it up when my 1st kid came along and I accepted that being a full time stoner and full time dad was going to be a challenge.
Was 40 last year and wanted to have a wee smoke so go a couple of joints worth of grass from a pal.What a difference.As strong as LSD or decent pills from 20 years ago!

Suppose my point is that grass nowadays is significantly stronger and leads to alot of cannabis psychosis? I'm probably pro legalisation and taxation, but the levels of thc would need to be regulated I think?

Funnily enough had the same experience a few years back. The high THC content was excaserbated by the fact I was watching a programme about Einstein's theory of relativity just as it kicked in. Wicked.