View Full Version : FAO ProGlide razor users

07-04-2015, 10:48 PM
ASDA Throwback price

£10.97 for 8 blades or £5.97 for 4 blades.

Thats a great deal.

07-04-2015, 11:00 PM
good deal, i'l maybe visit Asda tomorrow and finally use a xmas gift card with £30 on it

cheapest i could see on a quick visit to Ebay was £13.14p for 8

:)

07-04-2015, 11:18 PM
Is it a good razor?

07-04-2015, 11:45 PM
I shave 2 or 3 times a week and the first one I used lasted 3 months before I had to change it.

08-04-2015, 07:09 AM
I shave 2 or 3 times a week and the first one I used lasted 3 months before I had to change it.

Aye but what about when you used it on your face ;-)

08-04-2015, 07:19 AM
Ha ha! nae Dorian Gray Syndrome here. :-)

09-04-2015, 01:52 PM
Get a double edged razor and pay less than a tenner for 100 blades!

speedy_gonzales
09-04-2015, 04:43 PM
Get a double edged razor and pay less than a tenner for 100 blades!DE's are fine for the visage, unbeatable for value or closeness, especially when coupled with a nice lather from a badger hair shaving brush,,,,but I've yet to master shaving my head (for that Kojak look) with them. Cartridges always seem to be best for the bonce so Asda got hammered this morning,,,cheers HutchyHibby!

09-04-2015, 09:04 PM
Get a double edged razor and pay less than a tenner for 100 blades!

With the added bonus of getting a fantastic shave that a cartridge razor just can't match.

09-04-2015, 09:24 PM
PB told me about DE shaving and its the way forward. Get involved everyone. :thumbsup:

10-04-2015, 07:11 PM
offer didn't last long, Asda in livi have them at £10 for four fusion now, £12 for 4 fusion power

10-04-2015, 10:14 PM
offer didn't last long, Asda in livi have them at £10 for four fusion now, £12 for 4 fusion power

I ended up buying them direct from Gillette on Amazon for the same price I mentioned in the OP, might still be on offer there.

10-04-2015, 11:26 PM
I ended up buying them direct from Gillette on Amazon for the same price I mentioned in the OP, might still be on offer there.

saw this deal on Amazon
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Gillette-Fusion-ProGlide-Manual-Blades/dp/B008BH9C8A/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1428705292&sr=8-1&keywords=gillette+fusion+proglide#Ask you can subscribe to get them delivered every 1-6 months, i'm very lucky if i get one cartridge to last a full week, now i'm thinking i might just go back to the old DE safety razor :) £20-£30 for a good DE razor http://www.amazon.co.uk/Merkur-1904-Double-Safety-Razor/dp/B001EGN7KE then not that much for hunners of blades http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00CH3LUKM/ref=pd_lpo_sbs_dp_ss_3?pf_rd_p=569136327&pf_rd_s=lpo-top-stripe&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_i=B000QYCXSC&pf_rd_m=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE&pf_rd_r=1CKSSEE4F3PN5RGJQCZN and probably a few cuts along the way no doubt !

11-04-2015, 12:55 AM
DE's are fine for the visage, unbeatable for value or closeness, especially when coupled with a nice lather from a badger hair shaving brush,,,,but I've yet to master shaving my head (for that Kojak look) with them. Cartridges always seem to be best for the bonce so Asda got hammered this morning,,,cheers HutchyHibby!

Yeah I use cartridges for the napper too, just not confident enough with the DE up there, I'd end up looking like a cat had attacked me or summin. I've actually just recently bought a freshly honed straight razor but I'm terrified to try it out!

For cartridge users, apparently the thing linked below is supposed to make them last absolutely ages.

http://www.mankind.co.uk/razorpit-razor-blade-sharpener/10366474.html

Nazz
11-04-2015, 11:16 AM
I've always stuck with cartridges or electric. Never used a double-edged razor; that was sth my father would use. After reading this thread, I'm thinking maybe I could switch. I must be getting old, haha!

I'm not sure I could trust myself to use it and not look like I'd slashed myself 😱 how different is it from using cartridges? what's the best technique to get a smooth shave?

speedy_gonzales
12-04-2015, 01:42 PM
I've always stuck with cartridges or electric. Never used a double-edged razor; that was sth my father would use. After reading this thread, I'm thinking maybe I could switch. I must be getting old, haha!

I'm not sure I could trust myself to use it and not look like I'd slashed myself 😱 how different is it from using cartridges? what's the best technique to get a smooth shave?
The only tips I could give are buy a selection of blades,,,you'd be surprised at how they differ. Shave more often but in one direction only, I find DE's aren't as forgiving if you shave against the grain.
And let the blade do the work, a well balanced razor requires less pressure than a regular cartridge blade,,,I found that out quite early on!

There are plenty online shops out there but I get most of my stuff from shaving-shack.com