View Full Version : SPFL Development League Derby

muthillhibee
05-04-2015, 11:16 AM
Anyone going to the Wee Derby on Thursday afternoon? Wasnt overly thrilled about it being on a Thursday afternoon but now realised it was during the holiday week.

Should be a good game if the previous fixture is anything to go by

05-04-2015, 11:17 AM
Where is it?

muthillhibee
05-04-2015, 11:17 AM
Newtongrange 2pm

05-04-2015, 11:21 AM
Newtongrange 2pm

Thank you.

05-04-2015, 11:28 AM
Nice one. Will make that.

SmashinGlass
05-04-2015, 08:28 PM
Is this at Newtongrange Star's ground?

05-04-2015, 08:40 PM
Is this at Newtongrange Star's ground?

Sure is. Expect to be young Hibs and Hearts teams, unlike the last time, when Hearts played a stack of 1st team players

SmashinGlass
05-04-2015, 10:01 PM
Sure is. Expect to be young Hibs and Hearts teams, unlike the last time, when Hearts played a stack of 1st team players

Great stuff. Think I'll bring the young lad along, given he's on his school holidays

05-04-2015, 10:33 PM
Great stuff. Think I'll bring the young lad along, given he's on his school holidays

Should be a good crowd because of the holidays.

06-04-2015, 12:08 PM
I'm hoping to go along with my oldest. Any idea how much it is to get in?

andrew70
06-04-2015, 12:13 PM
I'm hoping to go along with my oldest. Any idea how much it is to get in?

£3/£1 I believe

08-04-2015, 11:07 PM
Bump

08-04-2015, 11:18 PM
Anyone know what buses you can get up there from town?

08-04-2015, 11:22 PM
Anyone know what buses you can get up there from town?

The 29 but make sure it says gorebridge as the destination

08-04-2015, 11:44 PM
The 29 but make sure it says gorebridge as the destination

GGTTH07
09-04-2015, 12:01 PM
Looking forward to it. Any odds?

09-04-2015, 12:03 PM
Perntreou, Stirling, Crane, Waugh, McGregor, Scott, Watson, Duthie, Allan, Hendry and Sinclair

andrew70
09-04-2015, 12:22 PM
Perntreou, Stirling, Crane, Waugh, McGregor, Scott, Watson, Duthie, Allan, Hendry and Sinclair

Interesting that Dunsmore is missing from the squad altogether. Think Stubbs would have liked another goal or two last night to be able to give him some game time.

09-04-2015, 12:40 PM
On way up just now.

09-04-2015, 12:52 PM
Liam Craig carrying the cones.

09-04-2015, 12:54 PM
Dunsmore training with first team this morning, martin suspended for today

09-04-2015, 01:00 PM
Hibs look a lot bigger side than them.

09-04-2015, 01:05 PM
0-1. Hertz.

09-04-2015, 01:05 PM
1-0 hearts from a free kick.

Pish defending that led to the free kick.

andrew70
09-04-2015, 01:14 PM
Anyone get a teamsheet, I've just arrived. What's their team?

09-04-2015, 01:24 PM
Hibs probably shading posession but not creating chances. Thought Perntreou just stood by as the free kick went in. It was a decent hit, nothing more, and pretty central as well.

09-04-2015, 01:25 PM
Hibs probably shading posession but not creating chances. Thought Perntreou just stood by as the free kick went in. It was a decent hit, nothing more, and pretty central as well.
:agree: he didn't move at all.

09-04-2015, 01:25 PM
Anyone get a teamsheet, I've just arrived. What's their team?
No team sheets mate

09-04-2015, 01:31 PM
Duthie starting to look good.

09-04-2015, 01:40 PM
1-1. Deserved.

09-04-2015, 01:40 PM
1-1 header from a corner, number 5.

09-04-2015, 01:46 PM
Good save from a Hibs free kick just before ht. 1-1 half time

09-04-2015, 01:47 PM
Jordan Mcgregor our scorer with a scramble in the box from a duthie corner

09-04-2015, 01:49 PM
Better side for me. Apart from the save Danderhall mentioned, the goalies haven't really been involved.

Stubbs is here.

09-04-2015, 01:50 PM
Jordan Mcgregor our scorer with a scramble in the box from a duthie corner

Who are generally perceived as the rising stars? Duties got a run for the first team but who else?

09-04-2015, 01:52 PM
Who are generally perceived as the rising stars? Duties got a run for the first team but who else?

We are playing young team today. From it the rising stars are Lewis Allan, conor duthie, Calum crane, jordan Mcgregor and jordan sinclair

09-04-2015, 01:53 PM
From the first half I think Crane has been excellent.

09-04-2015, 01:54 PM
We are playing young team today. From it the rising stars are Lewis Allan, conor duthie, Calum crane, jordan Mcgregor and jordan sinclair

Allan is 9, Duthie is 8, mcgregor is 5.

What number is Sinclair and Crane?

09-04-2015, 01:54 PM

Is the Number 4 the same age as the other lads or he is a year or two younger?

09-04-2015, 01:56 PM
I said earlier their number 8 looked good (accidentally deleted that post) but I've changed my mind - he's went right off the boil.

09-04-2015, 01:57 PM
Our 7 looks decent too if s but slight but it's under 20s I suppose.

09-04-2015, 02:15 PM
Hibs bring on laddie who looks about 14.

09-04-2015, 02:19 PM
Hibs the much better side this half. Duthie looks the part.

09-04-2015, 02:23 PM
2-1. Lewis Allan. 20 to go.

09-04-2015, 02:23 PM
2-1 Hibs - Allan I think. Another header from a corner

09-04-2015, 02:24 PM
2-1 the cabbage. Another corner headed back across to Lewis Allan who stooped to head low at the left

09-04-2015, 02:24 PM
Are the cheats not playing half their first team just to get the win?

09-04-2015, 02:26 PM
Chance for hearts there from a cross - keeper rooted to the spot and McGee knocked it wide

09-04-2015, 02:29 PM
Sitter Hibs after good work down the left.

09-04-2015, 02:30 PM
Nearly scored again - number 3 (think it's Crane) is excellent down the left hand side.

Billy
09-04-2015, 02:34 PM
Hibs bring on laddie who looks about 14.

Jack Breen, 15 Dave

09-04-2015, 02:39 PM
Jack Breen, 15 Dave

He is a bit tenacious for his build Billy.👍

09-04-2015, 02:39 PM
Save from the hearts keeper from Allan. Again good work from Crane.

09-04-2015, 02:40 PM
Another save from a deflected Duthie free kick

09-04-2015, 02:45 PM
Wasteful - we should have this well out of sight by now.

09-04-2015, 02:47 PM
Full timeonly one team gonna win that.

09-04-2015, 02:47 PM
Full time - easy in the end

09-04-2015, 02:49 PM
http://farm9.static.flickr.com/8540/8647513641_860d9c007b_o.gif - Hopefully the first team do the same on sunday.

09-04-2015, 02:54 PM
Allan is 9, Duthie is 8, mcgregor is 5.

What number is Sinclair and Crane?

Sinclair 11 and crane 3

09-04-2015, 02:55 PM
Is the Number 4 the same age as the other lads or he is a year or two younger?

4 is kevin waugh who is just 17

09-04-2015, 02:56 PM

Also a jambo :wink:

09-04-2015, 02:59 PM
Well done boys, always good to beat them at any level.

09-04-2015, 03:15 PM

I thought he looked decent. He was a bit slow with the tackle that led to the free kick for the goal but that can be sorted.

They played well. Crane looks a prospect.

09-04-2015, 03:21 PM
I thought he looked decent. He was a bit slow with the tackle that led to the free kick for the goal but that can be sorted.

They played well. Crane looks a prospect.

I thought Crane was excellent.

Duthie looks good as well - overdoes it at times but that can be coached out of him. Thought th number 6 had a solid game as well.

09-04-2015, 03:22 PM
Sinclair 11 and crane 3

Cheers. I thought Sinclair looked good but got subbed early. Crane as I've said was really good - our best player.

09-04-2015, 03:45 PM
Crane absolutely strolled the game and is looking like someone who should be knocking on the 1st team door. Once Hibs took control (after about 20mins) they dominated the game and knocked it about pretty well st times in that 2nd half.

I'm no scout, but the hearts no4 looked more suited to rugby than football. He just didn't seem overly mobile to me.

However, good to see 2 young teams competing hard against each other in a fair spirit.

cameronw-hfc
09-04-2015, 03:53 PM
Crane absolutely strolled the game and is looking like someone who should be knocking on the 1st team door. Once Hibs took control (after about 20mins) they dominated the game and knocked it about pretty well st times in that 2nd half.

I'm no scout, but the hearts no4 looked more suited to rugby than football. He just didn't seem overly mobile to me.

However, good to see 2 young teams competing hard against each other in a fair spirit.

They had a 14 year old playing centre back. He is my little brothers friend, about 6ft1/2, giant for his age, not a great player and not overly mobile, fast as anything over 100m though.

Luzern67
09-04-2015, 04:01 PM
Cheers. I thought Sinclair looked good but got subbed early. Crane as I've said was really good - our best player.
Sinclair has had a virus all week, surprised he played

09-04-2015, 04:01 PM
They had a 14 year old playing centre back. He is my little brothers friend, about 6ft1/2, giant for his age, not a great player and not overly mobile, fast as anything over 100m though.

Might have been him (Kyle was his name I think) and if he's only 14 then he's got plenty time to sort things out. He just looked a bit wooden and awkward compared to the others. Ad said, it was great to see so many young lads out there battling hard against each other.

09-04-2015, 04:32 PM
Might have been him (Kyle was his name I think) and if he's only 14 then he's got plenty time to sort things out. He just looked a bit wooden and awkward compared to the others. Ad said, it was great to see so many young lads out there battling hard against each other.

This is the best they could muster with team lines

09-04-2015, 04:36 PM
Really enjoyed the game. Hibs deserved winners, and like the big team last night, should have won more comfortably. Good to see a few younger boys getting a game, will be fed into next year's development team I hope.
Always think the refs at this level are good, you could hear the ref talking to the players throughout the game.
Nice day out, good win, and puts me into a good mood ahead of Sunday

cameronw-hfc
09-04-2015, 04:53 PM

Kyle Smith? That's him.

09-04-2015, 04:56 PM
Really enjoyed the game. Hibs deserved winners, and like the big team last night, should have won more comfortably. Good to see a few younger boys getting a game, will be fed into next year's development team I hope.
Always think the refs at this level are good, you could hear the ref talking to the players throughout the game.
Nice day out, good win, and puts me into a good mood ahead of Sunday

I forgot this was on today.

Given the choice between watching the fitba or painting the garden shed (green of course, ) I know which one I would have chosen.

09-04-2015, 05:11 PM
well done the young dudes

09-04-2015, 06:11 PM
Kyle Smith? That's him.

If he's 14 I'm claiming to be 25.

09-04-2015, 06:23 PM
If he's 14 I'm claiming to be 25.

He certainly didn't look 14 and I reckon he'd have no problem getting a pint in George St!

cameronw-hfc
09-04-2015, 06:29 PM
He certainly didn't look 14 and I reckon he'd have no problem getting a pint in George St!

Was he very tall? Runs around like he had sledgehammers for feet. Kyle definitely started, and he is a centre back/defensive mid.

09-04-2015, 06:35 PM
Was he very tall? Runs around like he had sledgehammers for feet. Kyle definitely started, and he is a centre back/defensive mid.

Aye, that's him alright. He's a hefty unit for a kid of 14!

cameronw-hfc
09-04-2015, 06:37 PM
Just checked. Definitely was him! Huge guy, didnt believe he was 14 when my brother told me!

David Mckay was on the bench for hibs today, not sure what number but he is a cracking player. Good friend of mines and was captain of our school team that won the lot! Defensive mid or centre back also, only a lot more skillful.

09-04-2015, 06:42 PM
Kyle is 15

09-04-2015, 06:45 PM
Kyle is 15

Who was our number 6?

09-04-2015, 06:45 PM
Who was our number 6?

Aaron Scott

09-04-2015, 06:49 PM
Aaron Scott

Cheers - I liked the look of him as well. Hard worker, seemed to enjoy a tackle.

09-04-2015, 06:57 PM
Cheers - I liked the look of him as well. Hard worker, seemed to enjoy a tackle.

He's the lad we got from Hearts a few months ago. Getting better every week, and with no Scott Martin today, took responsibility in the midfield area

09-04-2015, 07:38 PM
The SPFL website has an article on their home page about our win in the wee derby. Problem is the eejits have used the title 'Allan on target as Hibs win wee derby' but have included a picture of Scott Allan.

Anyone with twitter want to tweet them to give them the heads up? Lewis deserves the praise for his goal.

cameronw-hfc
09-04-2015, 07:44 PM
Kyle is 15

Must have turned 15 this year then.

09-04-2015, 08:58 PM
Must have turned 15 this year then.

Aye Stone

andrew70
09-04-2015, 09:58 PM
He's the lad we got from Hearts a few months ago. Getting better every week, and with no Scott Martin today, took responsibility in the midfield area

I'd think we'll offer him a further contract on the performances I've seen this season.

His is deal is only until the summer just now.

He was brilliant today.

09-04-2015, 10:16 PM
The SPFL website has an article on their home page about our win in the wee derby. Problem is the eejits have used the title 'Allan on target as Hibs win wee derby' but have included a picture of Scott Allan.

Anyone with twitter want to tweet them to give them the heads up? Lewis deserves the praise for his goal.

Changed now after I tweeted them. Thanks for the heads up