View Full Version : Match Updates Scotland 6 v Gibraltar 1

29-03-2015, 03:34 PM
5pm kick off.

A draw in Ireland would be good too, or a home win. Poland winning wouldn't be helpful!

29-03-2015, 03:36 PM
What channel is this on?

29-03-2015, 03:36 PM
what channel is this on?

ss1.

29-03-2015, 03:40 PM
Does goal difference count?

29-03-2015, 03:42 PM
Does goal difference count?

Unlikely. Goals against the bottom team are not counted.

29-03-2015, 04:02 PM
A few Aberdeen fans I know getting their knickers in a twist because Greer is starting ahead of Reynolds and Goodwillie isn't in the squad. Strachan hates Aberdeen apparently.

29-03-2015, 04:05 PM
A few Aberdeen fans I know getting their knickers in a twist because Greer is starting ahead of Reynolds and Goodwillie isn't in the squad. Strachan hates Aberdeen apparently.

Ah, I see. That will be why he was a brilliant player for them then. :confused:

29-03-2015, 04:05 PM
Griffiths is not even in the squad is he? He woukd be there before Goodwillie surely?

29-03-2015, 04:07 PM
Griffiths is not even in the squad is he? He woukd be there before Goodwillie surely?

Griffiths was sitting in the same row as me about ten seats away at Starks park yesterday. Didn't think he was in the squad after seeing him.

29-03-2015, 04:07 PM
Ah, I see. That will be why he was a brilliant player for them then. :confused:

Indeed. Strange, but then they are Aberdeen fans.

29-03-2015, 04:08 PM
Griffiths was sitting in the same row as me about ten seats away at Starks park yesterday. Didn't think he was in the squad after seeing him.

Hope he got his loyalty points so he can get a cup final ticket :tee hee:

29-03-2015, 04:10 PM
Indeed. Strange, but then they are Aberdeen fans.

Pesants!

29-03-2015, 04:10 PM
Are Hutton and Robertson playing in a back 3?!

29-03-2015, 04:11 PM
Hope he got his loyalty points so he can get a cup final ticket :tee hee:

He won't need the loyalty points as he's likely to be playing in it! :greengrin

29-03-2015, 04:12 PM
Any streams for this? American TV has no interest in the Euros....

29-03-2015, 04:15 PM
Any streams for this? American TV has no interest in the Euros....

No streams will be posted on here. I'm sure it's against the rules. :rules:

Are Hutton and Robertson playing in a back 3?!

Yep

No streams will be posted on here. I'm sure it's against the rules. :rules:
OK PM then...... :wink:

Dr Jimmy
29-03-2015, 04:17 PM

Everyone should hate Aberdeen. Bunch of inbred sheep ****ging, banjo playing ****s!

He's no good enough

OK PM then...... :wink:

Not from me, I don't have any.

29-03-2015, 04:18 PM
1-0 pen.

29-03-2015, 04:19 PM
1-0 pen.

Bit dodgy award, ball was out of play when Maloney was clattered

Thank F 1-0 maloney pen FFS 1-1

1-1

Gibraltar have just equalised hahahaaaaaa

29-03-2015, 04:20 PM
Gibraltar have just equalised hahahaaaaaa
Lol.....

SJNB Hibby
29-03-2015, 04:20 PM
Typical bloody scotland

29-03-2015, 04:21 PM
Dreary dreary me

Only ****ing Scotland!

typical scotland, whether football or rugby as soon as we score a goal/points we concede...amateur hour, that will be gibraltars last goal for 3 years or somit :greengrin

ffs naismith that was gash man

29-03-2015, 04:22 PM
Naismith misses a 1 on 1

29-03-2015, 04:22 PM
Truly shocking defending. Scotland shape makes no sense.

29-03-2015, 04:23 PM
Truly shocking defending. Scotland shape makes no sense.

Exactly. STrachan trying to be a smart arse.

29-03-2015, 04:24 PM
This is a joke, only scotland could muck up this game

WillowbraeHibby
29-03-2015, 04:25 PM

Spot on.... :agree:

Scotland will still win comfortably. It is comical stuff though.

Like someone going Real Madrid on FIFA when you're Oxford utd and you get an equaliser. :tee hee: They then button bash to try and save the embarrassment. :greengrin

Ma sides, they hurt. :rotflmao:

29-03-2015, 04:26 PM
Just like watching Hibs at the mo :agree:

29-03-2015, 04:27 PM

Hutton and Robertson in a back 3?! At Hampden Park? !

29-03-2015, 04:28 PM
Any of these gibralter players good enough for hibs? :duck:

29-03-2015, 04:29 PM

When did scotland ever play 3 at the back? and expect Anya to cover????

2-1 fletcher.

2-1.

fletch 2-1 what a team we are :greengrin

2-1 how did the keeper not save that!!

Any of these gibralter players good enough for hibs? :duck:

Didn't we beat them in a pre season friendly??

29-03-2015, 04:30 PM
he needs the change that defence sharp... clueless.

29-03-2015, 04:31 PM
Former Hibs striker who didn't sell his soul scores.

29-03-2015, 04:33 PM
penalty scotland

maloney scores 3-1, we want 7 just like poland got :)

2-1 how did the keeper not save that!!
Cause he was daydreaming The Ox wouldn't have let that get past him .

Another pen.

29-03-2015, 04:34 PM
Goal 3-1.

29-03-2015, 04:35 PM
1-0 Northern Ireland. Lafferty the hun.

How are they doing so well in qualifying? They looked utter garbage on Wednesday.

29-03-2015, 04:37 PM
Goal 3-1.

I'll be disappointed if we don't get at least a draw from the match now,

29-03-2015, 04:37 PM
We are at home to a team we should be beating comfortably. strachan has decided to entertain the fans ,and just out gun them ,as we have the players to do that . Good for him ,have a go and it's paying off .

29-03-2015, 04:38 PM
1-0 Northern Ireland. Lafferty the hun.

How are they doing so well in qualifying? They looked utter garbage on Wednesday.

Were they not missing 4-5 players

29-03-2015, 04:38 PM
4-1 ding dong

Forever_Green93
29-03-2015, 04:39 PM
4-1

I went for a piss and missed the second pen. Was it clear cut ?

SJNB Hibby
29-03-2015, 04:41 PM
Damn - Germany just gone ahead

29-03-2015, 04:41 PM
you're not singing anymore :greengrin guid humour

29-03-2015, 04:43 PM
mon fletch get shot o that chin fungus, it's affecting yer balance

29-03-2015, 04:43 PM
you're not singing anymore :greengrin guid humour
Looks like they have brought a good support over with them considering how wee the island is. :aok:

29-03-2015, 04:44 PM
Looks like they have brought a good support over with them considering how wee the island is. :aok:

Geography lesson coming up....:greengrin

29-03-2015, 04:46 PM
:agree: :greengrin

29-03-2015, 04:47 PM

Hahahaha

Island?? :confused:

if we score a 5th hopefully we score a quick-fire 6th, don't want Gib being killed as a country/city/nation/holiday destination etc etc

29-03-2015, 04:56 PM
if we score a 5th hopefully we score a quick-fire 6th, don't want Gib being killed as a country/city/nation/holiday destination etc etc

Ffs. Can we not leave them out it for once? :rolleyes:

29-03-2015, 05:03 PM
Defender on.. at least Strachan can see when he fecks up.

29-03-2015, 05:04 PM
Defender on.. at least Strachan can see when he fecks up.

Yeah, an ageing Greer.

29-03-2015, 05:10 PM
Ffs. Can we not leave them out it for once? :rolleyes:

ffs can u not stop greetin for once :rolleyes: go out and get a girlfriend, even just for a night

29-03-2015, 05:13 PM
ffs can u not stop greetin for once :rolleyes: go out and get a girlfriend, even just for a night

Everyone chip in a tenner.

AK86
I went for a piss and missed the second pen. Was it clear cut ?
Only if your fully hydrated. Otherwise it's yellow/ orange and smelly. :na na:

Yeah, an ageing Greer.

Its Gordon - Not Germaine.

29-03-2015, 05:14 PM
Everyone chip in a tenner.

ok, set up a link for paypal :agree:

p.s. tell him he won't get any loyalty points

29-03-2015, 05:14 PM

Aye very good. That's funny. Hibs forum, Scotland match updates thread and a reference to them gets mentioned.

29-03-2015, 05:16 PM
He should bring on Bannan and Rhodes.

29-03-2015, 05:16 PM
Aye very good. That's funny. Hibs forum, Scotland match updates thread and a reference to them gets mentioned.

No one else is that bothered..

29-03-2015, 05:18 PM
No one else is that bothered..

Thats ok then.

29-03-2015, 05:19 PM
What a shocking miss from Fletch

29-03-2015, 05:19 PM
use that damn right foot fletch

29-03-2015, 05:20 PM
Glad to see he's got that right foot thing sorted after all these years

29-03-2015, 05:21 PM
What a shocking miss from Fletch

use that damn right foot fletch

Glad to see he's got that right foot thing sorted after all these years

He's never had a right foot.

29-03-2015, 05:23 PM
He should bring on Bannan and Rhodes.

Yep, I'd bring on another striker too. Should try rack up the goals!

SJNB Hibby
29-03-2015, 05:27 PM
It's not the fact they've scored a goal that bugs me, its the periods where they've played some decent football and had us penned in for 2-3 minutes, and looking shaky at the back

29-03-2015, 05:27 PM
He's never had a right foot.

Naver done Messi any harm only playing with one foot, or Maradonna :greengrin

29-03-2015, 05:35 PM
Fletch with the 5th.

Forever_Green93
29-03-2015, 05:35 PM
5-1 fletcher

hibsfan7
29-03-2015, 05:36 PM
Just like in the VIS CUP FINAL

29-03-2015, 05:37 PM

Was going to say. Good memories.

29-03-2015, 05:37 PM

Or even the CIS cup final

29-03-2015, 05:38 PM
Or even the CIS cup final

The league cup final sounds better.

hibsfan7
29-03-2015, 05:38 PM
That is what I meant a typo

29-03-2015, 05:39 PM
That is what I meant a typo

Ok, thought we'd won another trophy that I'd missed😄

29-03-2015, 05:41 PM
Would love to see Fletch grab a hat trick

29-03-2015, 05:42 PM
Naver done Messi any harm only playing with one foot, or Maradonna :greengrin

Given that Messi's right foot is not his stronger but he has scored more goals with it than Fletcher has with his left.

29-03-2015, 05:45 PM
Fletch with the 5th.

Which foot?

29-03-2015, 05:46 PM
Would love to see Fletcher score a third especially as the last Scot to score a hat trick was also an ex Hibby.

29-03-2015, 05:46 PM
Gibraltar in real danger of being killed as a team here. A shame so soon after scoring their first goal

HiBremian
29-03-2015, 05:47 PM
Would love to se Fletcher score a third especially as the last Scot to score a hat trick was also an ex Hibby.

Bingo! :flag:

6-1

well done fletch....

SJNB Hibby
YESSSSS Fletch!!!!

Gibraltar in real danger of being killed as a team here. A shame so soon after scoring their first goal

Fletch to the rescue! They live to fight another day.
Left foot

29-03-2015, 05:48 PM
Fantastic work Fletch :thumbsup:

29-03-2015, 05:49 PM
well done Fletch show that wŁ$%^& Harry Potter what he is all about.

29-03-2015, 05:49 PM
Well done Fletch!!

Think he should go buy a new Lambo now as a well deserved treat :wink:

29-03-2015, 05:53 PM
Rhodes just ruined many Scotland -5 bets :greengrin. Still a minute to go though.

29-03-2015, 06:08 PM
Those taking great delight when it went to 1-1 with be gutted that we smashed them 6-1 in the end! :greengrin

A good professional performance from Scotland, 6 wins in the last 9 competitive games. Our national team has turned for the better under Strachan and results are showing this!

:saltireflag

29-03-2015, 06:13 PM
That'll do 🙌

29-03-2015, 06:13 PM
Yep, I'd bring on another striker too. Should try rack up the goals!

Goals doesn't matter against Gibraltar..They wont count.

29-03-2015, 06:15 PM

They could count for the current table could they not?

29-03-2015, 06:17 PM

Goal difference against Gibraltar doesn't count.

29-03-2015, 06:18 PM

No it's head to head results that count not goal difference.

Comfortable result. Hoping for a draw or Ireland win this evening.

29-03-2015, 06:22 PM
No it's head to head results that count not goal difference.

Comfortable result. Hoping for a draw or Ireland win this evening.

But if head to head results come out 50/50 then I believe it reverts to goal difference.

29-03-2015, 06:30 PM
Goal difference against Gibraltar doesn't count.

I thought goal difference (and then goals scored) was a deciding factor if the points and head to head for first or second in the group was a tie? I thought the goals against Gibraltar (or points for that matter only become irrelevant if we finish third in the group?

29-03-2015, 07:05 PM

Really? I never knew that!

29-03-2015, 07:13 PM
oirland 0 polski 1

29-03-2015, 07:16 PM
Heading towards a good day for Scotland.

You would think Poland were the home team tonight, good effort from their fans so far.

29-03-2015, 07:24 PM
Heading towards a good day for Scotland.

You would think Poland were the home team tonight, good effort from their fans so far.

half the crowd appear to be polish

andrew70
29-03-2015, 07:24 PM
http://www.scotzine.com/2015/03/six-is-satisfying-for-scots/#more-28770

29-03-2015, 07:27 PM
A lot of Ireland's fans that attended the game at Parkhead must've decided not to travel over from Glasgow for this one.

29-03-2015, 07:42 PM
The Sfa need to make sure that the same number of Polish fans don't get tickets for our qualifier.

29-03-2015, 07:49 PM
oirland 0 polski 1

what is the best result for Scotland?

SJNB Hibby
29-03-2015, 08:11 PM

This i think-a result for us in ireland then
Puts them in deep trouble

29-03-2015, 08:15 PM
This i think-a result for us in ireland then
Puts them in deep trouble

I'd rather see Poles drop points - they are the chief threat to second place for me, assuming Germans go on to win the group (not a cert as it stands).

Draw possibly the best result - but would prefer anything but how it stands.

29-03-2015, 10:15 PM

although the game is finished i still would have said a draw would have been the best outcome for us :greengrin

http://img.uefa.com/imgml/flags/18x18/pol.png Poland (http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/qualifiers/season=2016/teams/team=109/index.html)

http://img.uefa.com/imgml/flags/18x18/ger.png Germany (http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/qualifiers/season=2016/teams/team=47/index.html)

http://img.uefa.com/imgml/flags/18x18/sco.png Scotland (http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/qualifiers/season=2016/teams/team=117/index.html)

http://img.uefa.com/imgml/flags/18x18/irl.png Republic of Ireland (http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/qualifiers/season=2016/teams/team=64/index.html)

http://img.uefa.com/imgml/flags/18x18/geo.png Georgia (http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/qualifiers/season=2016/teams/team=57157/index.html)

http://img.uefa.com/imgml/flags/18x18/gib.png Gibraltar (http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/qualifiers/season=2016/teams/team=94080/index.html)

29-03-2015, 10:27 PM
We are currently the best ranked 3rd place team so if the groups finished now we would qualify automatically. (Although some teams must have games in hand)

We really need to avoid the playoffs because Holland Belgium Ukraine and Russia are all possible opponents.

portycabbage
29-03-2015, 10:43 PM
although the game is finished i still would have said a draw would have been the best outcome for us :greengrin

http://img.uefa.com/imgml/flags/18x18/pol.png Poland (http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/qualifiers/season=2016/teams/team=109/index.html)

http://img.uefa.com/imgml/flags/18x18/ger.png Germany (http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/qualifiers/season=2016/teams/team=47/index.html)

http://img.uefa.com/imgml/flags/18x18/sco.png Scotland (http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/qualifiers/season=2016/teams/team=117/index.html)

http://img.uefa.com/imgml/flags/18x18/irl.png Republic of Ireland (http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/qualifiers/season=2016/teams/team=64/index.html)

http://img.uefa.com/imgml/flags/18x18/geo.png Georgia (http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/qualifiers/season=2016/teams/team=57157/index.html)

http://img.uefa.com/imgml/flags/18x18/gib.png Gibraltar (http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/qualifiers/season=2016/teams/team=94080/index.html)

I think I agree about the draw being the best result, but we would have been 2nd if Ireland had won 2-1 tonight! (due to it then being a 4-way head-to-head, and us being on 4 goals scored to Germany/Ireland's 3).

competition regulations (http://www.uefa.org/MultimediaFiles/Download/Regulations/uefaorg/Regulations/02/03/92/81/2039281_DOWNLOAD.pdf). (article 13)

1875Sean
29-03-2015, 10:45 PM
We are currently the best ranked 3rd place team so if the groups finished now we would qualify automatically. (Although some teams must have games in hand)

We really need to avoid the playoffs because Holland Belgium Ukraine and Russia are all possible opponents.

Got to take into account we are in a 6 team group, the extra games are taken into account at the end of the campaign

29-03-2015, 10:55 PM
I think I agree about the draw being the best result, but we would have been 2nd if Ireland had won 2-1 tonight! (due to it then being a 4-way head-to-head, and us being on 4 goals scored to Germany/Ireland's 3).

competition regulations (http://www.uefa.org/MultimediaFiles/Download/Regulations/uefaorg/Regulations/02/03/92/81/2039281_DOWNLOAD.pdf). (article 13)

full list here of fixtures/tables etc

http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/qualifiers/season=2016/matches/day=6/index.html

would be rather nice going in to the last game away to Gibraltar knowing that a win will see us qualify without being in the play-offs, nice wee jaunt for the TA and avg 68F in oct :)

actually having said that...will our result even count against Gibraltar :confused: too late at night to do the calculations

1875Sean
29-03-2015, 11:01 PM
full list here of fixtures/tables etc

http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/qualifiers/season=2016/matches/day=6/index.html

would be rather nice going in to the last game away to Gibraltar knowing that a win will see us qualify without being in the play-offs, nice wee jaunt for the TA and avg 68F in oct :)

actually having said that...will our result even count against Gibraltar :confused: too late at night to do the calculations

Correct the games against last place won't be taken into account

AK86
29-03-2015, 11:08 PM
Is their really an appetite to reach the finals , when we will no doubt get gubbed when we come up against any decent team?
scotland are a poor team, that really is the reality of the scenario.

portycabbage
29-03-2015, 11:09 PM
Got to take into account we are in a 6 team group, the extra games are taken into account at the end of the campaign

There's only one 5 team group, the others are all 6, so most 3rd placed teams will be in the same boat.

I reckon we are currently the best 3rd placed team, even when you disregard results against the bottom teams for the teams in 3rd at the moment. We'd be on 7 points and only Hungary would be matching that, but would have scored one goal less than us.

I'd much prefer being in the top 2 though obviously!

29-03-2015, 11:34 PM
Is their really an appetite to reach the finals , when we will no doubt get gubbed when we come up against any decent team?

For those of us that enjoy travelling to Scotland away games the appetite is indeed there, I doubt anyone would be expecting to finish the tournament as winners though.

29-03-2015, 11:39 PM

What a miserable outlook you have.

29-03-2015, 11:42 PM

We are still the best ranked third placed team.

29-03-2015, 11:44 PM

That's putting it politely !

29-03-2015, 11:44 PM
Correct the games against last place won't be taken into account

It will count if we need to win to secure 2nd place.

29-03-2015, 11:50 PM
That's putting it politely !

What is the point in anything if that is the thought process!

30-03-2015, 12:29 AM

Is there really an appetite for Hibs to aspire to play in European competition every season, when we will no doubt get gubbed when we come up against any decent team?

30-03-2015, 07:43 AM
We are still the best ranked third placed team.

There isn't much in it. Once you remove results against 6th placed teams, we're only above Hungary by virtue of having scored an extra goal.

Anyway, with 5 games to play, it's far too early to be doing that sort of calculation.

30-03-2015, 07:46 AM
But if head to head results come out 50/50 then I believe it reverts to goal difference.

That's what I was thinking, e.g. say we beat Germany 2-1 and finish level with them.

AK86
30-03-2015, 07:49 AM
im sorry for asking an honest question.
i don't relish the thought of getting shown up for basic skill and fitness from some back water country who have only been around for 5 minutes

Is there really an appetite for Hibs to aspire to play in European competition every season, when we will no doubt get gubbed when we come up against any decent team?
Well, after our last adventure I was wishing we had never entered the competition.
and they weren't even that decent.

30-03-2015, 08:30 AM

Ahhh the sweet smell of the power of conditioning...

You're probably not alone in your point of view. But there really cannot be many countries in the world anywhere (even the backwater country that's only been around for 5 minutes), that they'd think that reaching the finals would be pointless because they'd struggle and so they'd rather not.

I reckon if you offered any country a place at Euro 2016 right this very minute, they'd bite your hand off. Funnily enough, I wouldn't put it past the beaks at the SFA to turn it down for some daft reason or other...

30-03-2015, 08:33 AM
i don't relish the thought of getting shown up for basic skill and fitness from some back water country who have only been around for 5 minutes

I was there yesterday for my first Scotland game in about 10 years.

There is no doubting that Strachan has a great collective team going as results against Germany, Poland and Ireland have shown. Hardly back water countries.

But I did think that guys like Martin, Ritchie, Maloney, Hutton were poor. Maloney in particular seemed to lack sharpness/fitness.

I think the team is on the up however and a few kids/younger players can be brought into the fold over the next 2-3 years which will improve overall quality. Playing at major tournaments can only help that development surely.

Gordy M
30-03-2015, 08:40 AM

Well, after our last adventure I was wishing we had never entered the competition.

Sorry, just to clarify, can you let me know who these backwater teams are that are going to beat us? Since strachan took over we have beaten croatia home and away, drawn in poland, beat republic of ire at home....and have been beaten by germany, and some would say we were unlucky in that game??
All teams who will prob be competing to be at the euro champs?

30-03-2015, 09:14 AM
I was there yesterday for my first Scotland game in about 10 years.

There is no doubting that Strachan has a great collective team going as results against Germany, Poland and Ireland have shown. Hardly back water countries.

But I did think that guys like Martin, Ritchie, Maloney, Hutton were poor. Maloney in particular seemed to lack sharpness/fitness.

I think the team is on the up however and a few kids/younger players can be brought into the fold over the next 2-3 years which will improve overall quality. Playing at major tournaments can only help that development surely.

You'd have to be anti-Hutton to say he was poor. He continues to be excellent for scotland when called upon. Him and Robertson should be first picks in that defence. CH options are wide open. Two players came on the 2nd half and I dont understand why they dont play every game. Bannon and Rhodes. For me two of the best players we have in scotland. (Maybe too much of a luxury... ;-) )

30-03-2015, 10:48 AM
You'd have to be anti-Hutton to say he was poor. He continues to be excellent for scotland when called upon. Him and Robertson should be first picks in that defence. CH options are wide open. Two players came on the 2nd half and I dont understand why they dont play every game. Bannon and Rhodes. For me two of the best players we have in scotland. (Maybe too much of a luxury... ;-) )

Apart from when he tripped over his own feet and landed on his face :) Didn't think he had a good game yesterday. Agree re Bannan in particular.

30-03-2015, 11:29 AM

They were just in the Champions League group stage...

30-03-2015, 11:34 AM

So that same thinking means there are probably half a dozen national teams and a similar number of club teams who should bother to compete, with abody else having nae chance, why bother?

Sorted. Nae mair fitba. Anywhere. :thumbsup:

30-03-2015, 12:48 PM
There isn't much in it. Once you remove results against 6th placed teams, we're only above Hungary by virtue of having scored an extra goal.

Anyway, with 5 games to play, it's far too early to be doing that sort of calculation.