28-03-2015, 03:45 PM
A fight for 3rd spot it is then :confused:

We aren't going up mate.

McIntosh
When it rains it pours - any extra games at the play offices will be a killer

Think we have burnt out to early. Huge ask now for us to go up and win a cup.

Come on Hibs keep battling!

HibeeSince82
Unreal!

We had to show today that we had the bottle and as per we have blown it!

Again as usual we are gonna to more than likely have do things the hard way and play in the 3rd v 4th game

28-03-2015, 03:46 PM
The more hibs change, the more things stay the same........been a hibee long enough to have seen these ups and downs....still mighty sickening to see the same record being played...missing chances, getting punished...
The hibs way is the hard way

delbert
**** off Hibs. We shouldn't be losing these games.

All over social media last week and on other fans forums, we were described as bottle merchants and there is a reason for that - we are ! Historically soft touches and once again imploding when it gets to the business end of things, just pathetic !

If we're going to drop points here them also dropping points could be hugely significant.
Could of been ,but they have gone on to score while we go on to concede .

This has been a season long problem.

If we continue to fail to take our chances we deserve everything we (don't) get.

28-03-2015, 03:47 PM
We aren't going up mate.

Correct. We don't have the remotest chance of promotion via the playoffs.

Never fancied us today tbh. I have a feeling we peaked too early. Need Hearts to do us a favour next week.

oldbiker
loads of pressure and we just cannae convert it

A fight for 3rd spot it is then :confused:

Settle down, we're 8 points clear of 4th.

The second half of today's games has all but settled the Huns in second and us in third.

bigots 3 cowdenbeath 1

28-03-2015, 03:48 PM
Final ball has been pish!

Off the bar
C'mon hibs

Think we have burnt out to early. Huge ask now for us to go up and win a cup.

Come on Hibs keep battling!

Wonderful. So were were rubbish for the first quarter, OK for the second, impressive the third, now folding in the fourth. In the Championship.
Im going to sleep for a 10 years. Maybe by then we'll have sorted this football lark out.

_hucks_
28-03-2015, 03:49 PM

The second half of today's games has all but settled the Huns in second and us in third.

Has it?!

McIntosh
Always worry when we are not taking chances

Too busy patting ourselves on the back recently.

Wonderful. So were were rubbish for the first quarter, OK for the second, impressive the third, now folding in the fourth. In the Championship.
Im going to sleep for a 10 years. Maybe by then we'll have sorted this football lark out.

😄

28-03-2015, 03:50 PM
stream turned off, we couldnt score in a brothel.

Bottled it. Two weeks on the trot.

thank you dumbarton

bigots 4 cowdenbeath1....buns on a roll now tata 2nd place

bigstu
28-03-2015, 03:51 PM

Spot on. Stubbs being the best manager in our history & all that

Don't think anything is settled, yet. Fans in knee jerk shocker. Still a few twists and turns yet I think.

We aren't going up mate.
Sadly the last two results have certainly dented our chances big style :confused:

Correct. We don't have the remotest chance of promotion via the playoffs.

FFS. We're still second and if hearts beat the huns then we will remain there.

Some serious bed wetting going on.

Constantly dropping points to teams like this is shocking. So much for all this mental toughness we supposedly had.

exHIBition
The change in performance of the team is just as bad as the change in attitude of some of the fans on here. Singing a few weeks ago and now the 'they can go and ***** off' etc is the chant. Pathetic.

PiemanP
Strikers need to have a good look at themselves...again! Goal to chance ratio is shocking.

Greenblood70
Only Hibs could contrive to present Raith with two goals in a game we've mostly dominated - should have been a comfortable victory. Unprofessional

Stubbsy has his work cut out now to turn this around....and fast! !

Pish result. A draw would have been bad but a defeat is awful.

Spot on. Stubbs being the best manager in our history & all that

Aw here we go :hilarious

Gutted. Not there cos working but we are too soft!

28-03-2015, 03:52 PM
att:32,682 at the bigot dome, another chick young full house

oldbiker
bad result and pressure on again, not a good day Hibs

Agree. Best team in the league according to many. Im paying my cash to keep the club going, but until we actually do something worthy of congratulations this football club has a lot of work yet to do.

Just **** off Hibs

hibbymick
stream turned off, we couldnt score in a brothel.

Come on mate were used to this, too many folk build their hopes up only to get knocked back doon when its least expected. Am away to get pished .:greengrin

Terrible Terrible Result.

We really need to get our act together in the final 3rd.

Its great playing fancy football and having lots of the ball but we need to be clinical infront of goal.

Momentum firmly in the hands of the current buns

Strikers need to have a good look at themselves...again! Goal to chance ratio is shocking.

Same for the defence though, we let in far too many goals for the number of chances we give away.

Its been a major problem all year in us not putting games to bed

we were pretty good 1st half....hit post, bar, missed sitters

I dont think we are the unluckiest team in the league

I think we lack bottle

For that reason I dont think we will go up

Not unless Farid can come back in with a bang

Raith

6 shots, 4 on target - 2 goals

Hibs

20 shots, 5 on target - 1 goal

fishybeaver
28-03-2015, 03:53 PM
Gutted. Not there cos working but we are too soft!

Same old Hibs

Can't ****ing believe it

Bedwetters incorporated will be out in force tonight.

This place is more depressing than losing the last two games.

We've got folk pissing themselves about winning the cup and getting promoted before writing off the season entirely because we're only second. Mass hysteria.

So still 2nd but dual on points and they still have a game in hand.

Hibs should have been 3 up at half time and squandered easy chances.
How frustrating is this?

att:32,682 at the bigot dome, another chick young full house

They won 4-1....no sure I'll be pointing and laughing for only having 32k at thier game.

This has been a season long problem.

If we continue to fail to take our chances we deserve everything we (don't) get.

Exactly, we don't have that killer touch........hearts have rampaged thru the league...we've stuttered along.....dropping a mass of points because we don't take our chances.

Fear for them now...and Stubbs needs to get their **** together for a massive last 2 months of the season.

28-03-2015, 03:54 PM
So what's the excuses Stubbs comes out with this week, good players maybe they are but still soft in the middle and zero killer winning instict.

20 shots and 1 goal says it all really

When it all comes down to must win games, well we all know how that works out. FFS Hibs you just dont do things easy. :rolleyes:

We've got folk pissing themselves about winning the cup and getting promoted before writing off the season entirely because we're only second. Mass hysteria.

sh00byd00
28-03-2015, 03:55 PM
I think sevco will give Hearts a good game next week. I would even go as far to say that with the Yams having won the league, Rangers are slight favourites because they have something to play for.

SneakersO'Toole

Is it? Some serious warning signs are there IMO.

The bed wetters are having a field day now...back to back defeats and they are all gonna be out in force 2nite...bye bye hibs.net till at least next Friday I think!!

No one to blame but ourselves. Once again we are all over them in the first half yet fail to take our chances!! Story of our season to an extent IMHO!!

You mean 'Mass Hibsteria'

28-03-2015, 03:56 PM
from +10 GD two games ago now down to +2 over the buns

You're probably right but that's not the problem. The problem is that, if we dominate play-off games but don't win them (as we've done far too often already), we won't even get as far as playing Rangers........ :bitchy:

As always with us we fall flat on our erses, we have never had the killer instinct, never, serves us right for all those silly points lost earlier in the season, especially today, just not got the bottle.

Watch out for the "look at me" catchphrases sticking the boot in.

"The hibs way", "only hibs' and a good old kickback favourite "oh hibs".

Who cares that we're still second?

Hannah_hfc
I don't understand with the players we have, why they struggle to score?

20 shots suggests we're doing everything right so what's happening at the end of it?

Gutted by today's result.

28-03-2015, 03:57 PM
Pish result. A draw would have been bad but a defeat is awful.

I always thought we'd finish 3rd (like many) but to have had such a chance to put 2nd to bed the last two games and fail, is what we, as a club have done for decades!!

Hi-Bees till I die.

Im fed up with Hibs and have been for years, but Falkirk and QOS both losing today helps, and we're still in with a shout. Another thing Im pleased about is that if we don't go up, Im getting more confident that Rangers will. A season in the championship next season with a good chance of winning automatic promotion might allow us to rebuild confidence.

Our Standards are slipping. Majorly

delbert
Constantly dropping points to teams like this is shocking. So much for all this mental toughness we supposedly had.

Since we drew with them 0-0 in a friendly at the start of last season, we have played them in total 5 times and failed to beat them once ! Says it all, average and inferior teams who are prepared to battle us and get in our faces will always have a chance against better teams who don't seem capable of showing the same guts and determination. What a day, goal difference blown away and we also help the party along in Gorgie, a few home truths need to be told to this lot, we are not as good as we think we are, not even close.

maybe the "bedwetters" can see a pattern to Hibs that could be our downfall

how many games have we had 15+shots...missed countless chances by being 'unlucky' and came away with dropped points

How many times has the same happened to Hearts?

hibbymick
Dont complain about the scoreline folks or you will get tagged a bedwetter. :rolleyes:

The Tubs
The first Raith goal was a cracker, but we probably should've defended the second better.

I thought we played no bad. Allan's passing hasn't been the same over the last few weeks, Stanton didn't take his opportunity and Malonga doesn't seem to see enough of the ball - probably due to Allan's form. That aside, Robertson and McGeoch in midfield were brilliant.

I would almost play Craig ahead of Stanton until El-Alagui's fit to be able to play two up front.

The Tubs
28-03-2015, 03:59 PM
Since we drew with them 0-0 in a friendly at the start of last season, we have played them in total 5 times and failed to beat them once ! Says it all, average and inferior teams who are prepared to battle us and get in our faces will always have a chance against better teams who don't seem capable of showing the same guts and determination. What a day, goal difference blown away and we also help the party along in Gorgie, a few home truths need to be told to this lot, we are not as good as we think we are, not even close.

Does our 3-1 win last December not count?

darwenhibby
Come on mate were used to this, too many folk build their hopes up only to get knocked back doon when its least expected. Am away to get pished .:greengrin

Yeh but how many times have we to be kicked in the nads?
Think we are all getting a wee bit tired of looking for positives and the bottleing it as per usual

20 shots suggests we're doing everything right so what's happening at the end of it?

Its called bottle Hannah

H18S NX
We had a chance to put last weeks result to bed,but we bottled it.Until we learn to turn chances into goals,we are going to stay in this division.

So what's the excuses Stubbs comes out with this week, good players maybe they are but still soft in the middle and zero killer winning instict.

Pretty much sums us up since 2007/8. Stubbs will get it right over the summer though.

I was gutted last week but struggling to find a word re how I feel just now .

28-03-2015, 04:00 PM
Is it? Some serious warning signs are there IMO.

We need to work on our finishing. That's it.

28-03-2015, 04:00 PM
You've got to laugh all the bed wetter comments etc, take a look at the league table, 2nd place has gone from achievable to unlikely in 2 games. We have dropped more points against mid table pish like Raith and missing a barrel load of chances. Rangers are on the up and we are on the down, I'm starting to doubt our ability for the play offs.

28-03-2015, 04:01 PM
Dont complain about the scoreline folks or you will get tagged a bedwetter. :rolleyes:

Adult pampers on and plastic sheet fitted.

Oh dear, looks like we're about go into meltdown. It's the Hibs way.

Not really though, huh? The result was pish. What's even pisher is overreacting to a defeat by claiming how it's all ****, we've no chance of being promoted etc etc etc.

28-03-2015, 04:02 PM
The first Raith goal was a cracker, but we probably should've defended the second better.

I thought we played no bad. Allan's passing hasn't been the same over the last few weeks, Stanton didn't take his opportunity and Malonga doesn't seem to see enough of the ball - probably due to Allan's form. That aside, Robertson and McGeoch in midfield were brilliant.

I would almost play Craig ahead of Stanton until El-Alagui's fit to be able to play two up front.

Then maybe Stubbs needs to grow a pair and drop the messiah Allan from the team, we have enough midfielders to tinker with, he mentioned he was at times a luxury that can turn games but he isn't turning games anymore and we're starting to now lose, drop Allan and lets shake this tam up a bit( oh and drop Malonga too )

SneakersO'Toole

how many games have we had 15+shots...missed countless chances by being 'unlucky' and came away with dropped points

Far too much realism for the uber positive on here.

oh dear, looks like this board about go into meltdown. It's the hibs.net way.

ftfy

28-03-2015, 04:03 PM
Inept second half performance - don't see how we can win any play-offs playing the way we are: this is the time of season when it counts.
We had lots of possession and lots of "shots at goal" (well, in the general direction) but our "finishing" is a joke - and let's face it, the defending isn't much better. The 2nd goal was laughable defending -no organisation at all.

The Tubs

For some reason, we haven't been able to get the ball to Malonga's feet in positions were he can shoot, or last least work himself an opportunity. It appears to me that the reason for this is that Allan's been off form. It could also be that he hasn't been finding the same space that he did a few months ago.

Well, ALMOST everything! :boo hoo:

I said after last weeks loss to the Rangers that this game would tell us just how mentally strong Hibs were, unfortunately we've seen this type of form loss during the end of season run in. Doesn't bode well.

Not really though, huh? The result was pish. What's even pisher is overreacting to a defeat by claiming how it's all ****, we've no chance of being promoted etc etc etc.

Why?

Its more dropped points with the same pattern

We cant afford to be so toothless/wasteful in the play off games

Ive watched us do the same too many times this year for it to just be bad luck

Benny Brazil
28-03-2015, 04:05 PM
You've got to laugh all the bed wetter comments etc, take a look at the league table, 2nd place has gone from achievable to unlikely in 2 games. We have dropped more points against mid table pish like Raith and missing a barrel load of chances. Rangers are on the up and we are on the down, I'm starting to doubt our ability for the play offs.

Not laughing at the bed wetter comments - laughing at ridiculous comments like the one above.

28-03-2015, 04:05 PM

Correct. There's a big difference between creating chances, or shooting at goal, and scoring goals. We really lack that from midfield and aren't exactly lethal with our front men. El Alagui could be the difference in a few weeks should he recapture early season form. nae Pressure big man!! :greengrin

28-03-2015, 04:06 PM
Why?

28-03-2015, 04:07 PM
Inept second half performance - don't see how we can win any play-offs playing the way we are: this is the time of season when it counts.
We had lots of possession and lots of "shots at goal" (well, in the general direction) but our "finishing" is a joke - and let's face it, the defending isn't much better. The 2nd goal was laughable defending -no organisation at all.

…. Stubbs… Please….. Attend….. To…… This……. Recurrent…….Problem

28-03-2015, 04:07 PM
Why?

Are you deliberately ignoring the way we were playing for months before the Rangers game?

Two bad results and we're suddenly reverting to the way we were at the start of the season.

We've come too far.

28-03-2015, 04:08 PM
Not laughing at the bed wetter comments - laughing at ridiculous comments like the one above.
Why? If we can't go to Starks and get points what makes you think we could go to Palmerston, ibrox or Dingwall/fir park? Unless there is a big change I think we will struggle to go up via the play offs.

Rangers will ill be a different beast to the one we beat earlier this season and QOS away is never an easy trip.

28-03-2015, 04:08 PM
Once again we've dropped points in a game we should have had killed off. We MUST MUST MUST take our chances, it's cost us so much this season.

We are in a worse position for 2nd than we were this time last week but the fight is still on, we must not let our heads drop.

SneakersO'Toole
28-03-2015, 04:09 PM
We need to work on our finishing. That's it.

Hmm, naive I'm afraid. We are conceding too many soft, poor goals. We are also conceding too many in the last 10mins of games. How many of points have been lost to silly late goals this season.

I've supported Hibs too long to understand what is going on here. As I say, the signs are there for all to see IMO.

28-03-2015, 04:10 PM
Bad result but it aint over yet, next week is huge now as it seems to be with all of our games all of a sudden. I have utterly no doubt the Yams wont do us a favour so we simply must win to have any chance of making 2nd, even then it might not be enough.

I cant believe Hibs are reverting to type again .... when will we ever get a break :bitchy:

Why? If we can't go to Starks and get points what makes you think we could go to Palmerston, ibrox or Dingwall/fir park? Unless there is a big change I think we will struggle to go up via the play offs.

Rangers will ill be a different beast to the one we beat earlier this season and QOS away is never an easy trip.

How about the fact that we've been to three of the places you mentioned already and won. Comfortably.

Did you forget about that?

Sorry for being "uber positive".

Nor Falkirk, home OR away (yet to beat them this season).

28-03-2015, 04:11 PM
The bed wetters are having a field day now...back to back defeats and they are all gonna be out in force 2nite...bye bye hibs.net till at least next Friday I think!!

Huge game last week and we didn't turn up. Had to bounce back today and our season long problem of not putting the ball in the net reared it's head again.

Folk have every right to be pissed off imo.

Are you deliberately ignoring the way we were playing for months before the Rangers game?

Two bad results and we're suddenly reverting to the way we were at the start of the season.

We've come too far.

we were still missing a ridiculous amount of chances, even when we were on a winning run

3 points and no one cares though

we've had this problem nigh on all season

Different manager, different team\players - same old 'Passion' from a Hibs-team !!. There might be changes behind-the-scenes but there's going to have to be an almighty change to remove the damage of years of 'BUSINESS 1st - FOOTBALL 2nd' !!.

At least our semi final opponents had a worse result than us today.

ftfy

delbert
28-03-2015, 04:12 PM
Does our 3-1 win last December not count?

Yes apologies, I forgot about that highlight, one win in five against Raith, not really much to celebrate as far as I'm concerned, we are better than them no question, but that type of form against teams like this compared to Hearts regularly and professionally blowing these teams out of the water is just so totally frustrating and that's putting it mildly.

28-03-2015, 04:14 PM
Hmm, naive I'm afraid. We are conceding too many soft, poor goals. We are also looking too many in the last 10mins of games. How many of points have been lost to silly late goals this season.

I've supported Hibs too long to understand what is going on here. As I say, the signs are there for all to see IMO.

The signs of improvement are also there to see and I think you're letting past disappointments cloud your judgement. In fact, you've admitted that you take that into consideration.

A minor blip is a more realistic way of looking at this situation than predicting a melt down.

28-03-2015, 04:14 PM
Huge game last week and we didn't turn up. Had to bounce back today and our season long problem of not putting the ball in the net reared it's head again.

Folk have every right to be pissed off imo.

Folk will be pissed off with the last two results, but for me its not really about feeling pissed off, its that nagging doubt of we've all been here before and when the results really matter we nearly always come up short.

We should not look back at previous years, but can we really blame folk for doing so?

28-03-2015, 04:15 PM
Once again we've dropped points in a game we should have had killed off. We MUST MUST MUST take our chances, it's cost us so much this season.

We are in a worse position for 2nd than we were this time last week but the fight is still on, we must not let our heads drop.

We simply don't have a Riordan, a Stokes or a Griffiths in the team anymore and it's killing us.

How about the fact that we've been to three of the places you mentioned already and won. Comfortably.

Did you forget about that?

Sorry for being "uber positive".
rangers who cuffed us last week? QOS we only beat 1 out of 3, hardly convincing is it? And Falkirk? We'll see below. Our record against the teams around us in general is poor. The only one we have a decent record against is Rangers and we had no answer for them last week.

Be be positive if you want, I prefer to be but the way I'm looking at things just now is that there's another season in this league on the cards.

Nor Falkirk, home OR away (yet to beat them this season).

Your right, QoS next week followed by Dumbarton, who just beat Falkirk, so anyone thinking everthing will be hungy dory in the next week or twomay well be in for a disappointment.

28-03-2015, 04:16 PM

It was always coming to this. Don't let's kid ourselves. If you want to play at the top end of any league, cup or whatever, you have to be strong :agree: That includes us, the fans. Too many chucking in the towel way too early.

28-03-2015, 04:16 PM
Hmm, naive I'm afraid. We are conceding too many soft, poor goals. We are also looking too many in the last 10mins of games. How many of points have been lost to silly late goals this season.

Don't know but, by my reckoning, we've dropped 16 points so far in games we've largely dominated (I don't mean games that 'could have gone either way'), including Falkirk twice and Raith Rovers three times. The majority of these games have been at Easter Road, too.

28-03-2015, 04:18 PM
We'll be staying in this league now gents. Stubbs can't be expected to rid us of the near decade long malaise that's set in, never mind the historically longer lasting habit of being a soft touch when it comes to the crunch.

So very happy to be proven wrong, but we're stuttering at exactly the wrong moment right now

Folk will be pissed off with the last two results, but for me its not really about feeling pissed off, its that nagging doubt of we've all been here before and when the results really matter we nearly always come up short.

We should not look back at previous years, but can we really blame folk for doing so?

We have 3 very talented guys in midfield who are all far too similar, Allan/Fyvie/McGeouch, all good at passing, seeing the pass but none are really the real attacking mid we desperately need to score those 12-15 goals a season that makes a difference. It's all nice touchy till near the box and then long shot or corner.

rangers who cuffed us last week? QOS we only beat 1 out of 3, hardly convincing is it? And Falkirk? We'll see below. Our record against the teams around us in general is poor. The only one we have a decent record against is Rangers and we had no answer for them last week.

Be be positive if you want, I prefer to be but the way I'm looking at things just now is that there's another season in this league on the cards.

Rangers "cuffed us" did they?

That tells me everything about the way you are looking at things right now. Have a word.

28-03-2015, 04:19 PM
Gutted but hey ho, we weren't going to win all our games anyway, by all accounts chucked everything at them and lost
still very much in this fight

28-03-2015, 04:19 PM

We have already won at Palmerston, Ibrox twice, and Dingwall this season.

28-03-2015, 04:20 PM
We simply don't have a Riordan, a Stokes or a Griffiths in the team anymore and it's killing us.

We've relied on a good striker to pull mediocre teams out of the mire too often. In each case it covered up a multitude of dross players and tactics. We need a midfield that has punch and character. As well as decent strikers.

SneakersO'Toole
28-03-2015, 04:20 PM
The signs of improvement are also there to see and I think you're letting past disappointments cloud your judgement. In fact, you've admitted that you take that into consideration.

A minor blip is a more realistic way of looking at this situation than predicting a melt down.

We haven't played well the last few weeks at all. Not encouraging now that we are at the business end of the season.

Time will tell what happens but I've been down this road before so many times with Hibs.

28-03-2015, 04:21 PM
Gutted but hey ho, we weren't going to win all our games anyway, by all accounts chucked everything at them and lost

That's the reality. We do have some issues but we can still do it.

Shame on those getting their white flags out already. :thumbsup:

28-03-2015, 04:23 PM
It was always coming to this. Don't let's kid ourselves. If you want to play at the top end of any league, cup or whatever, you have to be strong :agree: That includes us, the fans. Too many chucking in the towel way too early.

I think you're confusing our responsibilities with those of the club management or playing staff.

Nobody's chucking in the towel, just expressing disappointment and concern about Hibs regular inablility to turn pressure into goals.

I'd rather those in charge at the club addressed these shortcomings - that's not chucking in the towel, it's doing everything to make sure we have a decent chance of going up through the play-offs.

28-03-2015, 04:23 PM
We haven't played well the last few weeks at all. Not encouraging now that we are at the business end of the season.

Time will tell what happens but I've been down this road before so many times with Hibs.

Time will tell and all we can do is hope we start winning again.

I'm away to buy a cat then I'm going to chase it round my living room. :greengrin

28-03-2015, 04:26 PM
We'll be staying in this league now gents. Stubbs can't be expected to rid us of the near decade long malaise that's set in, never mind the historically longer lasting habit of being a soft touch when it comes to the crunch.

So very happy to be proven wrong, but we're stuttering at exactly the wrong moment right now
Fear your right and if so it has to be Rangers that are promoted, them still in the league with the relegated team as will would put Hibs in a similar situation as this season.

We have already lost at Palmerston, Ibrox and Dingwall in the last year. :wink:

Same for the defence though, we let in far too many goals for the number of chances we give away.

Couldn't agree more

We will shortly be told we have one of the best defensive records in the league / UK

So we should, but if there is such a thing as a shots/ goals conceded ratio it won't be pretty.

28-03-2015, 04:27 PM
Rangers "cuffed us" did they?

That tells me everything about the way you are looking at things right now. Have a word.
i didn't think we matched up against them well at all last week, we hardly worried their defence all game.

True but 2 of those 3 teams will be a different contest completely should we come up against them. Is it really wrong to say I'm worried about our chances based on our form the last couple of games?

28-03-2015, 04:27 PM

Thats what we have to remember. Todays result was disappointing and yes we have lost an advantage we had on the huns but 2nd place is still achievable. By the way some people are talking on here you'd think that 2nd place and any hope of promotion was completely lost already!

The Tubs
28-03-2015, 04:28 PM

Well take responsibility as an individual. Although Hibs promotion bid 2014/15 and the rise of the Nazi party live on different scales of historical importance, it's the role of the individual to take responsibility to do what is right, irrespective of the crowd or history.

Don't abicate your responsibility as a Hibee.

SneakersO'Toole
28-03-2015, 04:29 PM
Time will tell and all we can do is hope we start winning again.

I'm away to buy a cat then I'm going to chase it round my living room. :greengrin

Want to buy mine? She's been driving me bananas with her scratching recently.

28-03-2015, 04:30 PM
Bugger. It's a real scrap for second.

28-03-2015, 04:31 PM

Actually, although I'm concerned at our failure to win games we dominate, I don't think anything substantial has changed. We're just as good (or as bad :wink:) as we've been since the turn of the year; just came up against a much better Rangers team last week and didn't get away with our profligacy in front of goal today. A number of us have been concerned about us not taking our chances for most of the season.

28-03-2015, 04:32 PM
To think I got hammered for my "Bottled it thread" I think Hibs have bottled it and now is the time to really dig deep because personally I can't see us going up now.

Today's result is a shocker!

28-03-2015, 04:32 PM
Im waiting for its all Pat Fenlons brigades fault to come on.

28-03-2015, 04:34 PM
Im waiting for its all Pat Fenlons brigades fault to come on.

No, that's ridiculous!

I blame Alex Miller. :greengrin

28-03-2015, 04:35 PM
we will be in the playoffs for sure, so its an extra couple of games right enough but its up to the players and management and the support of us right behind them, the loss to rangers really has hurt us at the wrong time but we have played well against them all season so no need to panic, and if we are down here for another year is it such a bad thing? the only concern to me is keeping players who might decide to go elsewhere in the summer, Allan, McGeauch, Fyvie, replacing all 3 would be troublesome at best but you never know!

28-03-2015, 04:35 PM
no, that's ridiculous!

I blame alex miller. :greengrin

lexo!!!!!

28-03-2015, 04:39 PM
To think I got hammered for my "Bottled it thread" I think Hibs have bottled it and now is the time to really dig deep because personally I can't see us going up now.

What a terrifying world you must live in.

28-03-2015, 04:39 PM
What a terrifying world you must live in.

It is.. You must know my wife!!!

28-03-2015, 04:40 PM
I still refuse to be negative regarding our chances of promotion. Two bad results in a row still won't change that view.
I have seen enough in the last year (compared to the last few years) to convince me that if we don't get promotion, it will be by the finest margin.

28-03-2015, 04:41 PM
Your right, QoS next week followed by Dumbarton, who just beat Falkirk, so anyone thinking everthing will be hungy dory in the next week or twomay well be in for a disappointment.

No disrespect but I don't care if Dumbarton just beat Falkirk we should be pumping teams like Dumbarton

28-03-2015, 04:43 PM
It is.. You must know my wife!!!

I hear ya!

28-03-2015, 04:43 PM
Stubbs changed to a 442 and we lost the midfield after that. Two raith attacks and two goals. Sums our game up today. Plenty possession and chances but failed to take them. That Boyle came on and I don't think he touched the ball!

high bee
28-03-2015, 04:45 PM
Pitch was awful. We were far too deliberate and slow in the final third, which gave them all the time they needed to get organised which meant we had no space.

We really needed to hit the target more often, it's the same story of wasted chances. Sadly you could see the result coming as the game wore on, the only surprise was it wasn't Nade that scored.

28-03-2015, 04:45 PM
I hear ya!

[emoji16]

Really hope we can get our act together. Losing two games at this crucial point is typical Hibs. If we lose the semi then I think we will collapse.

Win the semi and it could just be the lift we need going into these games.

28-03-2015, 04:46 PM
Pre Christmas I didn't think we had a prayer of promotion. Then our 2015 form had me believing we could do it, but it wouldn't be Hibs if we didn't make hard work of things. We don't do straightforward. Plenty of ups and downs on the Hibs rollercoaster still to come before the end of the season.

28-03-2015, 04:50 PM
Well take responsibility as an individual. Although Hibs promotion bid 2014/15 and the rise of the Nazi party live on different scales of historical importance, it's the role of the individual to take responsibility to do what is right, irrespective of the crowd or history.

Even tenuously linking the rise of the Nazi party to the fans role in our promotion from this ****heap of a league is the most magnificently absurd thing I've ever seen written on here, and that's saying something.

28-03-2015, 04:52 PM
Pitch was awful. We were far too deliberate and slow in the final third, which gave them all the time they needed to get organised which meant we had no space.

We really needed to hit the target more often, it's the same story of wasted chances. Sadly you could see the result coming as the game wore on, the only surprise was it wasn't Nade that scored.

5 shots on target, out of 20 shots total, according to the BBC.

Raith had 4 on target out of 6.

28-03-2015, 04:53 PM
Stuck 2 quid on Raith to score next when Nade came on, it was so obvious.

Won me 15 sheets!

We seemed to lack any penetration, content to shift play from left to right to left to right.

Flashed the ball across the goals numerous times but lack an out an out center forward to be in the box at the right time.

The Gray open goal was amazingly bad, how did he manage to place it right at the goalie?

We played well but lacked that killer edge. (Howany times have we heard that?)

28-03-2015, 04:54 PM

What the **** is this? Historical importance? Nazi party! You're no right mate.

28-03-2015, 04:55 PM
Even tenuously linking the rise of the Nazi party to the fans role in our promotion from this ****heap of a league is the most magnificently absurd thing I've ever seen written on here, and that's saying something.

Not absurd at all, IMO.

Hibs got promoted the same year the Nazis took power in Germany.

Coincidence? I think not............

28-03-2015, 04:55 PM
Kin we no give Grant Murray credit ??

:duck:

28-03-2015, 04:57 PM
Stuck 2 quid on Raith to score next when Nade came on, it was so obvious.

Won me 15 sheets!

We seemed to lack any penetration, content to shift play from left to right to left to right.

Flashed the ball across the goals numerous times but lack an out an out center forward to be in the box at the right time.

The Gray open goal was amazingly bad, how did he manage to place it right at the goalie?

We played well but lacked that killer edge. (Howany times have we heard that?)

Didn't see it, but how was it an 'open goal' if the goalie was there? :greengrin:wink:

28-03-2015, 04:58 PM
Kin we no give Grant Murray credit ??

:duck:

He looks racially pure. Good manager as well.

28-03-2015, 04:59 PM
He looks racially pure. Good manager as well.

Kills me to say it, But aye he's a good manager.

28-03-2015, 04:59 PM
Hibs should have had a penalty first half when Scott Allan was cleaned out too - just after Gray had hit the post.

Ref predictably was stopping the game a lot more than he had to.

Looked like 4-5-1 we played today with Fyvie of all players supporting Dom, and inter-changing with Stanton. I'm afraid Sam did nothing to suggest he's going to be a first pick this or next year - very weak looking.

28-03-2015, 05:00 PM
Didn't see it, but how was it an 'open goal' if the goalie was there? :greengrin:wink:

Figuratively speaking.

Right in front of us as we were pressing for the second.

28-03-2015, 05:04 PM
Figuratively speaking.

Right in front of us as we were pressing for the second.

I'll let you off, then. :wink:

28-03-2015, 05:07 PM
No disrespect but I don't care if Dumbarton just beat Falkirk we should be pumping teams like Dumbarton
Your right we should be pumping them and Raith, QoS, Falkirk, but we aren't pumping any of them, one nil wins draws etc.

Nitten Hibee
28-03-2015, 05:11 PM
Is it a coincidence that our downturn in form has pretty much coincided with Cummings being out?

28-03-2015, 05:11 PM
We passed and passed and passed but never really looked like scoring for most of the game. Playing 1 up front just did not work. How Gray missed from a yard out was unbelievable. As much as I love watching Scott Allen I just sometimes he would play the easy ball. Highlight of the game was Stevenson crunching tackle in the first half.

28-03-2015, 05:13 PM
Can someone explain how Raith charge £17 but Hibs charged £28 last week

28-03-2015, 05:15 PM

The clubs picked different prices for the games. Diet Coke is a wee bit cheaper in Asda than it is in Tesco as well.

28-03-2015, 05:20 PM
I still refuse to be negative regarding our chances of promotion. Two bad results in a row still won't change that view.
I have seen enough in the last year (compared to the last few years) to convince me that if we don't get promotion, it will be by the finest margin.
That's your perogative , but just because you refuse to be negative doesn't change the fact we have lost two games back to back when it really mattered .it's about players ability to handle pressure ,and they have not responded today as far as I am concerned Alarm bells should be sounding ,as we are all midfield passing and movement but lack cutting edge in too many games this season .Yep there is time to get back on track but most of us would have liked to see the team get back on track today .
Not giving up on promotion but there has to be a doubt creeping in after today

28-03-2015, 05:22 PM
Is it a coincidence that our downturn in form has pretty much coincided with Cummings being out?

No I think it is since McGeough came back and Fyvie came in and Handling dropped out.We now have too many midfielders wanting to run with the ball.Easy to play against-you drop back and pack the area-earlier we were passing the ball more for strikers to run on to.

28-03-2015, 05:23 PM

:agree: I posted after The Rangers game that was a dreadful result, but later kind of calmed down a bit because when I posted that comment I was so angry at the manner of Hibs defeat - Collum's part in it especially.

Today's result though is without doubt a dreadful result. People can dress it up any way they like, it's not good. It's not just the actual result though. It's the manner in which Hibs have, yet again this season, contrived to lose (or draw) a game they should have won comfortably yet didn't. One win in four matches against Raith Rovers simply isn't good enough. Failure to turn overwhelming possession and take chances so often is inexcusable.

Personally, I'm just getting a bit sick and tired and frustrated by it, because like everyone else I want Hibs to do well and get out of this league. I wonder how many people would bet their lot on Hibs going up now? IMHO the odds are now stacking up against Hibs, and I'm factoring in the "Collum effect" here.

Please don't call me a "bedwetter". I'm not. I've never understood this "bed wetter" or "happy clapper" stuff TBH. This is a fans forum where fans express their opinions. Some people are naturally optimistic in their outlook, others pessimistic, and others all shades in between.

I will give Hibs credit where it's due and criticism (trying to be constructive) where it's due too.

28-03-2015, 05:24 PM

Because hibs got that wrong at the beginning of the season by keeping prices the same ask the spl. Seasons tickets next season have been reduced though so it's ok.

28-03-2015, 05:26 PM
:agree: I posted after The Rangers game that was a dreadful result, but later kind of calmed down a bit because when I posted that comment I was so angry at the manner of Hibs defeat - Collum's part in it especially.

Today' result though is without doubt a dreadful result. People can dress it up any way they like, it's not good. It's not just the actual result though. It's the manner in which Hibs have, yet again this season, contrived to lose (or draw) a game they should have won comfortably yet didn't. One win in four matches against Raith Rovers simply isn't good enough. Failure to turn overwhelming possession and take chances so often is inexcusable.

Personally, I'm just getting a bit sick and tired and frustrated by it, because like everyone else I want Hibs to do well and get out of this league. I wonder how many people would bet their lot on Hibs going up now? IMHO the odds are now stacking up against Hibs, and I'm factoring in the "Collum effect" here.

Please don't call me a "bedwetter". I'm not. I've never understood this "bed wetter" or "happy clapper" stuff TBH. This is a fans forum where fans express their opinions. Some people are naturally optimistic in their outlook, others pessimistic, and others all shades in between.

I will give Hibs credit where it's due and criticism (trying to be constructive) where it's due too.

You have just described exactly how I see it [emoji106]

28-03-2015, 05:27 PM

Because a ticket for Raith Rovers v Hibs was priced at £17, and a ticket for Hibs v Rangers was priced at £28 :aok:

Happy to help.

28-03-2015, 05:32 PM
That's your peroration but just because you refuse to be negative doesn't change the fact we have lost two games back to back when it really mattered it's about players ability to handle pressure and they have not responded today as far as I am concerned .alarm bells should be sounding as we are all midfield passing and movement but lack cutting edge in too many games this season .Yep there is time to get back on track but most of us would have liked to see the team get back on track today .
Not giving up on promotion but there has to be a doubt creeping in after today

One thing is certain, we are not going to get promotion without a fight. Today's disappointment is just another step on the way. Stubbs says it doesn't matter how we go up but the players will have to produce when the chips are down or it won't happen. I just have a fear that we may have too many nice footballers and not enough players with a bit of aggression.

28-03-2015, 05:35 PM
Ack well oanwards and upwards, Who we goat next week ?

28-03-2015, 05:40 PM
We passed and passed and passed but never really looked like scoring for most of the game. Playing 1 up front just did not work. How Gray missed from a yard out was unbelievable. As much as I love watching Scott Allen I just sometimes he would play the easy ball. Highlight of the game was Stevenson crunching tackle in the first half.
There's a parallel with the three little piggies .They huffed and puffed but couldn't blow the House down .

Nitten Hibee
28-03-2015, 05:41 PM
No I think it is since McGeough came back and Fyvie came in and Handling dropped out.We now have too many midfielders wanting to run with the ball.Easy to play against-you drop back and pack the area-earlier we were passing the ball more for strikers to run on to.

Fair one mate, but we are still making lots of chances feel we are just missing someone (Cummings) to bury them

28-03-2015, 05:42 PM
Today was not good enough at all. We were much better to watch at times and created far more chances than we have recently but still somehow failed to win a game that we should have won comfortably, yet again. Too many times this season we've been the dominant side in games and have come away with nothing to show for it. Once again we miss chance after chance after chance only for Mark Oxley to end up picking it out the net with their first attempt at the goal. Today summed our season up in a nutshell.

28-03-2015, 05:43 PM
Ack well oanwards and upwards, Who we goat next week ?
Herd that goat one before . w e have queen of the South at home ,Dumbarton away then Hearts at home .

28-03-2015, 05:46 PM
You have just described exactly how I see it [emoji106]

Great minds think alike cat. :greengrin :aok:

28-03-2015, 05:46 PM
Fair one mate, but we are still making lots of chances feel we ajust missing someone (Cummings) to bury them

I agree to a certain extent but as I'm sure you'll agree it's much easier to take a chance when you are moving onto a ball delivered quickly rather than when the passer has run a needless extra 25 yards before passing it.Cummings has got the knack of scoring even from mi****s(or hiding behind the goalie)and has been missed.I tend to think that good or bad results nearly always depend on the midfield performance/balance.

28-03-2015, 05:48 PM
Herd that goat one before . w e have queen of the South at home ,Dumbarton away then Hearts at home .

28-03-2015, 05:51 PM
Gosh I see mi****s has to be miss hits or mis-hits?

Nitten Hibee
28-03-2015, 05:51 PM
I agree to a certain extent but as I'm sure you'll agree it's much easier to take a chance when you are moving onto a ball delivered quickly rather than when the passer has run a needless extra 25 yards before passing it.Cummings has got the knack of scoring even from mi****s(or hiding behind the goalie)and has been missed.I tend to think that good or bad results nearly always depend on the midfield performance/balance.

Point taken bud

28-03-2015, 05:56 PM
Because a ticket for Raith Rovers v Hibs was priced at £17, and a ticket for Hibs v Rangers was priced at £28 :aok:

Happy to help.

Thanks for that. Is it hard been such a smart arse? Clearly you've missed the point that Hibs are ripping us of massively

28-03-2015, 05:57 PM
Over the course of the season, people on this board have speculated that we could get relegated again, that we wouldn't reach the play offs, that we couldn't finish second. We are in second after a superb run of form, followed by two disappointing results.

Rangers have a harder run in, let's see what happens. The bottle chat is bollocks though - we didn't play well last week but people were still brave enough to get on the ball and try things. Today it sounded like we dominated and created a stack or chances. Doesn't sound like bottling it to me.

If the culture of defeatism around the club is to change, it would be helpful if many on this board didn't make out that we've been plunged back into crisis after every bad result.

ScottM1875
28-03-2015, 06:20 PM
On a slightly more positive note... How did farid look when he got on?

28-03-2015, 06:24 PM
That game summed up our season. Missed chance after missed chance. You can only be unlucky so many times. Raith are crap and we've found a way to drop 7 points against them.

28-03-2015, 06:25 PM
On a slightly more positive note... How did farid look when he got on?

Looked ok but we were chasing the game then and our shape had gone. I don't think he's too far away from a start.

28-03-2015, 07:23 PM
Over the course of the season, people on this board have speculated that we could get relegated again, that we wouldn't reach the play offs, that we couldn't finish second. We are in second after a superb run of form, followed by two disappointing results.

Rangers have a harder run in, let's see what happens. The bottle chat is bollocks though - we didn't play well last week but people were still brave enough to get on the ball and try things. Today it sounded like we dominated and created a stack or chances. Doesn't sound like bottling it to me.

If the culture of defeatism around the club is to change, it would be helpful if many on this board didn't make out that we've been plunged back into crisis after every bad result.

Spot on mate. Stubbs said only a few weeks ago there would still be a couple of bumps on the road in the coming weeks. We were never going to go unbeaten in the league. Two disappointing results definitely. But still in a good place and prior to Xmas we would have been delighted to be where we are right now.

28-03-2015, 11:32 PM
Spot on mate. Stubbs said only a few weeks ago there would still be a couple of bumps on the road in the coming weeks. We were never going to go unbeaten in the league. Two disappointing results definitely. But still in a good place and prior to Xmas we would have been delighted to be where we are right now.

He also said this week that we have 7 cup finals left, well thats another cup final we have lost but this time the embarrassment is its to Raith Rovers.

28-03-2015, 11:44 PM

Excellent post.

29-03-2015, 08:20 AM

This is a job for us all, but people commenting on this board with concerns and frustrations isn't what needs to change. Look at Hearts in terms of what they have done with one clean sweep and well planned summer. Aberdeen made huge progress in the space of one managerial change and a summer. Many teams have gone from losers to winners on the back of one decisive close season of change. We have spectacularly failed in the last xxx years to do this, and people saw the signs years ago. They no doubt voiced their concerns on here. I suspect if you go back through the archives someone says on this board in 2009 'the club is heading in the wrong direction, and I question the ability of the people in charge to sort it out'. Bed wetting in the extreme. But it was a fair comment then, and the CLUB is responsible for failing time and time again at getting things right over the post season.

Frankly if people at the club read this forum, and get depressed by it, or feel they are being judged unfairly, they shouldn't read the forum, and might consider developing a thicker skin. If Aberdeen or Hearts had had the same run of results as us over the last 7 or 8 years, their respective fans forums would be an absolute joy to read.

Anyone from the club who reads this and is somehow upset at what they read should consider how supporters of other clubs of our size would be reeling from the extent of consistent failure we've witnessed. I would recommend anyone from the club to stay well clear of this forum unless they can handle it, and just focus on getting things right on the park.

loanheadhibby
29-03-2015, 08:39 AM
This is a job for us all, but people commenting on this board with concerns and frustrations isn't what needs to change. Look at Hearts in terms of what they have done with one clean sweep and well planned summer. Aberdeen made huge progress in the space of one managerial change and a summer. Many teams have gone from losers to winners on the back of one decisive close season of change. We have spectacularly failed in the last xxx years to do this, and people saw the signs years ago. They no doubt voiced their concerns on here. I suspect if you go back through the archives someone says on this board in 2009 'the club is heading in the wrong direction, and I question the ability of the people in charge to sort it out'. Bed wetting in the extreme. But it was a fair comment then, and the CLUB is responsible for failing time and time again at getting things right over the post season.

Frankly if people at the club read this forum, and get depressed by it, or feel they are being judged unfairly, they shouldn't read the forum, and might consider developing a thicker skin. If Aberdeen or Hearts had had the same run of results as us over the last 7 or 8 years, their respective fans forums would be an absolute joy to read.

Anyone from the club who reads this and is somehow upset at what they read should consider how supporters of other clubs of our size would be reeling from the extent of consistent failure we've witnessed. I would recommend anyone from the club to stay well clear of this forum unless they can handle it, and just focus on getting things right on the park.

i totally agree and to take it a step further, I am hugely surprised that our fans are accepting the current season as being some form of success and not being more negative. This is credit to the fans.

in the cold light of day, we are 26 points behind a joe average hearts team and playing in the championship. We continually under perform against teams around us like qos, raith and Falkirk.

I actually think Stubbs is a very lucky man to have the unconditional support of the vast majority of fans.

07BigD
29-03-2015, 08:46 AM
i totally agree and to take it a step further, I am hugely surprised that our fans are accepting the current season as being some form of success and not being more negative. This is credit to the fans.

in the cold light of day, we are 26 points behind a joe average hearts team and playing in the championship. We continually under perform against teams around us like qos, raith and Falkirk.

I actually think Stubbs is a very lucky man to have the unconditional support of the vast majority of fans.
In my opinion he has worked wonders since the start of the season

loanheadhibby
29-03-2015, 08:59 AM
In my opinion he has worked wonders since the start of the season

possibly but but it might be argued that Neilson has worked wonders this season with a team that was beaten for much of last season as well.

It could also be argued that Stubbs has under performed this season. I was expecting us to be fighting with hearts all the way and we have never been near them.

07BigD
29-03-2015, 09:03 AM
possibly but but it might be argued that Neilson has worked wonders this season with a team that was beaten for much of last season as well.

It could also be argued that Stubbs has under performed this season. I was expecting us to be fighting with hearts all the way and we have never been near them.
I didn't think we would be anywhere near them, we had a shell of a team totally shot of confidence, Hearts were ready to go months ahead of us, if top spot hadn't been a stick on I'm pretty sure everyone would be desperate for second at least, as it stands we still have a very decent chance of doing that. Hopefully the last two weeks has just been a wee wobble

29-03-2015, 09:11 AM
I didn't think we would be anywhere near them, we had a shell of a team totally shot of confidence, Hearts were ready to go months ahead of us, if top spot hadn't been a stick on I'm pretty sure everyone would be desperate for second at least, as it stands we still have a very decent chance of doing that. Hopefully the last two weeks has just been a wee wobble

It's maybe unfair to rub the two games together; last week we were poor and outfought. Yesterday we played some lovely football, had no luck, and fought to the end - Oxley even came up for a freekick. Sometimes, you just don't get the breaks. We're not done yet.

29-03-2015, 09:20 AM

I agree they were in much better shape to make an impact. I believe Stubbs is doing a very decent job, but regardless of if we go up or not, Im expecting him to really go to town on things over the summer. Be it new players, tactical and formation rethinks, shooting practice (:roll eyes:), or whatever, if I am Alan Stubbs I am thinking, OK we are going in the right direction, but there is an awful lot of work to do before we can say we are where we can be as a club. Just hope that Rangers go up if we don't..

Hope your right but wee ones wobble but they don't fall off . No one is disputing the great job stubbs has done since he took over .However like it or not he has now raised expectations as he himself has talked about promotion and getting to the Scottish Cup Final . It's now entering the Business End of the Season ,and with The Rangers now potentially turning the corner under McCall ,it's not a great time to loose two in a row.
Our recent history probably means our confidence can be dented and teams will be well aware of this . But beat queen of the South in next game ,and that should put them out the running ,then Dumarton away where we have won with ease ,and Hearts at home ,and surely we have to beat them at some point . So simple win these three games with no wobble and confidence will be restored .:aok:

07BigD
It's maybe unfair to rub the two games together; last week we were poor and outfought. Yesterday we played some lovely football, had no luck, and fought to the end - Oxley even came up for a freekick. Sometimes, you just don't get the breaks. We're not done yet.
I meant a wobble results wise not in performance, they dominated yesterday

29-03-2015, 09:57 AM

This :agree:

29-03-2015, 05:22 PM

Absolutely bang on :agree:

If seems some supporters are concerned about how the players handle criticism on a fans forum. I'm more worried how they would deal with a 6 game schedule for promotion.

30-03-2015, 08:04 PM

I don't disagree with much that you say here. I probably didn't articulate myself very well, but I am in no way blaming our support for where we are right now - that is to do with a sequence of awful decisions taken over many years by people at all levels of the club.

I also have no issue whatsoever with people criticising performances and results on here, and care not one jot if anyone at the club reads this board - as you point out, thick skins are required in football (though this applies to supporters as well).

My point was really about supporters perpetuating things on here that have very little basis - the latest being that we are 'bottlers' after only our second defeat in ages. I have no issue with people criticising the performance in the Rangers game or being disappointed at the result on Saturday - but the bottler chat is bollocks, has no basis, and is unhelpful.

(A similar thing happened recently when Alex Harris returned from injury and didn't hit form - instead of him just being described as not playing well, there were many horrible threads on here with comments labelling him as being a '*****bag' and having 'the heart of a pea')

Criticism of performance is fair game, the accusations are unnecessary. I was disappointed in the performance last week and the result on Saturday, but I don't feel betrayed by the players - I have no reason to be.

It might be neglible how influential message boards are with the regards to a number of things in football, but they are most definitely influential amongst the actual support. I hope that the bottler chat doesn't become the latest thing that many lazily pick up on and run with.

Message boards are a great platform for debate and honest opinion, but I don't see the benefit in people exaggerating the extent of our current problems (i.e. two bad results) by constantly picking the scabs of recent years, and (as far as I'm concerned) just fabricating problems.

30-03-2015, 09:16 PM
I don't disagree with much that you say here. I probably didn't articulate myself very well, but I am in no way blaming our support for where we are right now - that is to do with a sequence of awful decisions taken over many years by people at all levels of the club.

I also have no issue whatsoever with people criticising performances and results on here, and care not one jot if anyone at the club reads this board - as you point out, thick skins are required in football (though this applies to supporters as well).

My point was really about supporters perpetuating things on here that have very little basis - the latest being that we are 'bottlers' after only our second defeat in ages. I have no issue with people criticising the performance in the Rangers game or being disappointed at the result on Saturday - but the bottler chat is bollocks, has no basis, and is unhelpful.

(A similar thing happened recently when Alex Harris returned from injury and didn't hit form - instead of him just being described as not playing well, there were many horrible threads on here with comments labelling him as being a '*****bag' and having 'the heart of a pea')

Criticism of performance is fair game, the accusations are unnecessary. I was disappointed in the performance last week and the result on Saturday, but I don't feel betrayed by the players - I have no reason to be.

It might be neglible how influential message boards are with the regards to a number of things in football, but they are most definitely influential amongst the actual support. I hope that the bottler chat doesn't become the latest thing that many lazily pick up on and run with.

Message boards are a great platform for debate and honest opinion, but I don't see the benefit in people exaggerating the extent of our current problems (i.e. two bad results) by constantly picking the scabs of recent years, and (as far as I'm concerned) just fabricating problems.

I pretty much agree with what you are saying here. Aggressive criticism of individual players in particular doesn't sit well with me. A good manager will work with players - and decide when they are ready for the first team. Harris suffered on coming back from injury, and similar happened with McPake, who seem to have been carrying an injury for a period where his form was poor. I don't think James helped his cause (or ours) by playing through this, but ultimately its the management team that should decide when players are ready.

I also wonder how a player that has been regularly destroyed individually (here or from the stands) responds should they come back into form. Are they likely to feel loyal to those that spouted bile at them?

However the last two results were disappointing, and not surprisingly raise concerns. People are pretty strung out by the last few years catalogue of ineptitude, and this doesn't just disappear after a decent run. We are a side that doesn't score enough goals given our typical possession stats. We also seem to be decent first half and worse most second halves. Out of interest our combined First half score in the league this season reads Hibs 33 Opponent 7. Our combined second half score in the league is Hibs 25 Opponent 22.

andrew70
31-03-2015, 08:19 AM
http://www.scotzine.com/2015/03/leaving-it-all-to-chance/