View Full Version : Weather warning for tomorrow afternoon

27-03-2015, 08:17 PM
There is a weather warning for tomorrow afternoon and the forth road bridge might be closed to all vehicles except cars, so be prepared for diversions and maybe some queues on the a90/m90

27-03-2015, 08:19 PM
What about us that are heading over by train?

27-03-2015, 08:24 PM

You'll get a nice view of the new bridge towers, unobstructed by any pesky high sided vehicles on the road bridge :greengrin

27-03-2015, 08:40 PM

The bridge will be closed to double decker trains.

27-03-2015, 08:57 PM
don't know why they did not do a tunnel ! would be no issues with wind,snaw, etc. seriously though, 35 years ago, miners from Kinneil (bo'ness) linked up under the forth with miners from Valleyfield pit.(Fife) we have the technology. they can go from Dover tae Calais, why not in spitting distance under the Firth o' Forth?:confused:

portycabbage
27-03-2015, 09:08 PM
Looks like no buses allowed over the bridge tomorrow afternoon-

http://www.forthroadbridge.org/news/very-strong-winds-forecast-expect-disruption

27-03-2015, 09:11 PM

Unless the winds reach 100mph then you are fine

27-03-2015, 09:23 PM
Delays at Kincardine Bridge due to road works as well.

27-03-2015, 09:39 PM

That's very true, thanks for the reminder! :aok:

28-03-2015, 07:49 AM

The roadworks have finished, unless they are only doing them at the weekend?

28-03-2015, 08:05 AM
What's the conditions like for anybody going over by fishing boat?

portycabbage
28-03-2015, 08:10 AM

Windy.

28-03-2015, 08:11 AM

Personally I'll be taking my pedalo so hope it's not too choppy ;)

Kavinho
28-03-2015, 08:42 AM
If only they'd carried through with the hovercraft ferry crossing from leith to Kirkcaldy that was trialled a few years back..

that'd be some commute to the game....
Guaranteed to arrive at the ground with your legs feeling like you've had 10 pints

28-03-2015, 08:49 AM
Personally I'll be taking my pedalo so hope it's not too choppy ;)

We'll get our Fishing Net ready, in case you get into trouble.

28-03-2015, 08:58 AM
The roadworks have finished, unless they are only doing them at the weekend?

Only at weekends now. We had to use the new bridge last weekend.

28-03-2015, 09:04 AM
Looks like no buses allowed over the bridge tomorrow afternoon-

http://www.forthroadbridge.org/news/very-strong-winds-forecast-expect-disruption

Looks like buses are still getting over at the moment. Hopefully they'll at least be able to get there!

28-03-2015, 09:26 AM

Fine but take a plastic bag!

28-03-2015, 09:58 AM
Only at weekends now. We had to use the new bridge last weekend.

Shows how much i pay attention, i only drive the other bridge every day!!

28-03-2015, 10:27 AM
If I hadn't read this thread I wouldn't even have considered the Forth Road being closed to high sided vehicles.

Beautiful morning in Musselburgh.

28-03-2015, 10:34 AM
No work on kincardine bridge, im on it just now

Just_Jimmy
28-03-2015, 10:37 AM
Wind is pretty wild in Fife. If the rain comes on in Kirkcaldy it'll be another Cowden.

28-03-2015, 10:43 AM
It's a fine spring morning in Musselburgh, just about to leave for the kingdom and torrential conditions it would seem!

28-03-2015, 10:43 AM
From forth bridge Twitter

@forthroadbridge: High winds - Bridge closed to high sided vehicles, cars with trailers, caravans, motorcycles, bicycles and pedestri...

28-03-2015, 10:47 AM
don't know why they did not do a tunnel ! would be no issues with wind,snaw, etc. seriously though, 35 years ago, miners from Kinneil (bo'ness) linked up under the forth with miners from Valleyfield pit.(Fife) we have the technology. they can go from Dover tae Calais, why not in spitting distance under the Firth o' Forth?:confused:

IIRC it was claimed, by the SNP, that a tunnel would have cost many times more than a bridge.

28-03-2015, 10:54 AM
From forth bridge Twitter

@forthroadbridge: High winds - Bridge closed to high sided vehicles, cars with trailers, caravans, motorcycles, bicycles and pedestri...

Does that hat include single decker busses? :confused:

28-03-2015, 10:57 AM
High winds effect the quality of the game more than any other factor. (excepting crap players of course.) It often allows teams with players of less ability to compete with the opposition - so lets hope we can give Raith a game today. :offski:

28-03-2015, 11:06 AM
Bridge website confirms gusts must exceed 80 mph before cars are banned.

http://www.forthroadbridge.org/weather

28-03-2015, 11:14 AM
Does that hat include single decker busses? :confused:

Don't know, tweeted them to ask but no reply yet

28-03-2015, 11:14 AM

So much for "I would walk 500 miles" :singing:

...on a more informative note, rain will clear before the game kicks off but it will remain windy. Keep smiling, spring can't be far away

28-03-2015, 11:20 AM

There is a trench called Millgans Deep which runs under the bridges. To create a tunnel at that location would have meant it would have to start at kinross and the barnton.

28-03-2015, 11:22 AM
IIRC it was claimed, by the SNP, that a tunnel would have cost many times more than a bridge.

They were right.

28-03-2015, 11:51 AM
There is a trench called Millgans Deep which runs under the bridges. To create a tunnel at that location would have meant it would have to start at kinross and the barnton.

I thought the deepest part of the forth was just off aberdour at 23 metres?? :confused:

28-03-2015, 12:08 PM
High winds effect the quality of the game more than any other factor. (excepting crap players of course.) It often allows teams with players of less ability to compete with the opposition - so lets hope we can give Raith a game today. :offski:

Summer Fitba ? :dunno:

28-03-2015, 12:27 PM

So much for "I would walk 500 miles" :singing:

...on a more informative note, rain will clear before the game kicks off but it will remain windy. Keep smiling, spring can't be far away

Never really got that song, to be honest. Imagine you're the wifey, you're sat watching Eastenders or TOWIE or some other pish, having a cup of tea and a neb at Facebook, you hear a knock at the door, you open it up and some gadgie collapses in a heap having walked to your house from another country.

There's a perfectly decent air, rail, and road network that I'd be expecting them to have used long before considering walking that sort of distance.

I'm sure some folk would be touched by the effort put in, but most would probably be thinking "That's a bit on the radge side for me, likes."

Also, if they're too tight to pay a bus fare, there's nae chance of getting to the pictures or the bowling or that. Unlikely to even get a Nandos.

I'm guessing the guy that walks a thousand miles to fall down at someone's door isnae getting his Nat King Cole that night. Or any night soon.
You'd find that a bit creepy, no?

28-03-2015, 12:46 PM
Never really got that song, to be honest. Imagine you're the wifey, you're sat watching Eastenders or TOWIE or some other pish, having a cup of tea and a neb at Facebook, you hear a knock at the door, you open it up and some gadgie collapses in a heap having walked to your house from another country.

There's a perfectly decent air, rail, and road network that I'd be expecting them to have used long before considering walking that sort of distance.

I'm sure some folk would be touched by the effort put in, but most would probably be thinking "That's a bit on the radge side for me, likes."

Also, if they're too tight to pay a bus fare, there's nae chance of getting to the pictures or the bowling or that. Unlikely to even get a Nandos.

I'm guessing the guy that walks a thousand miles to fall down at someone's door isnae getting his Nat King Cole that night. Or any night soon.
You'd find that a bit creepy, no?

TBH, I'm with you on this Matty. Most song lyrics are just pish poetry tarted up with a bit of music. Another song which gives me rolleyes syndrome is Oasis's 'Wonderwall'. Popular as it was, and sung along to by millions, Every time I heard it I was asking myself 'WTF is a Wonderwall'?...Anybody? :confused:

28-03-2015, 12:49 PM
Forth road bridge now closed to people on motor bikes with big noses.

28-03-2015, 12:50 PM

Congrats! My first LOL of the day :aok:

28-03-2015, 12:52 PM

That's the Hells Angels Hibernian/Barry Manilow Chapter listening to Cliff and Kevin then

28-03-2015, 12:54 PM
No work on kincardine bridge, im on it just now

Yip my apologies. Drove over it earlier on with no road works. Don't drive and text. :greengrin