View Full Version : Golf 2015

Gaz
20-03-2015, 11:11 AM
Not seen a thread for this as yet so lets get it started.

Whats everyone hopes and plans for the coming year??

I am hoping to get down to a cat 1 golfer only 0.4 from it just now and to try and get out and play a bit more

I will be playing the turnhouse 7 day open again its a great week and playing the old course in 2 weeks with a couple of friends from work and might get my trip to woburn again this year.

ACLeith
21-03-2015, 08:57 AM

Same as it's always been - to get a hole in one, only been trying for 55+ years!

21-03-2015, 06:26 PM
I'm just back playing after a very bad ankle break in October. The swing and striking the ball is fine but walking 18 holes is a bit tiring. I don't want to rely on taking a buggy and so far I think I'll be ok. My target for the season is to hold on to my 12 handicap.

21-03-2015, 07:00 PM

I am hoping to get down to a cat 1 golfer only 0.4 from it just now and to try and get out and play a bit more

I will be playing the turnhouse 7 day open again its a great week and playing the old course in 2 weeks with a couple of friends from work and might get my trip to woburn again this year.

I was hoping to bring my handicap down by a couple like last season but after today I'm not as hopeful. :greengrin

Perfect sunny day and I couldn't hit a decent approach all day.

Hopefully just a blip as I've played pretty consistently all winter.

I'll be playing the open as well Gaz. One of these days I'll qualify for the matchplay.

21-03-2015, 07:58 PM
Same as it's always been - to get a hole in one, only been trying for 55+ years!

You can have one of mine - I've been a lucky bassa 10 times - so far. Now that I've reached the "mature" stage as a golfer I suppose my aim is not to deteriorate too quickly and hold on to my current handicap of 3.5.

ACLeith
23-03-2015, 07:21 AM
You can have one of mine - I've been a lucky bassa 10 times - so far. Now that I've reached the "mature" stage as a golfer I suppose my aim is not to deteriorate too quickly and hold on to my current handicap of 3.5.

TEN!!! That's either greed or talent, probably more like the latter if you're 3.5 :not worth

I'm currently 9.5 (OK then double figures), have hit the hole and spun out and when I was 18 I was about a foot away on the 8th at the Old Course. A good friend plays about 4 rounds a year in total and he's had one, a thinned shot that rolled through a bunker :bitchy: But he's a Jambo, so jammy in all his sporting life :rolleyes:

But I'll gladly go through life without one if I am allowed to see us lift the SC - how's that for magnanimity?

28-03-2015, 09:28 AM
I had to wait until I was 42 to get my first "ace", and picked a fine place to do so - Royal Aberdeen's 11th in their Amatuer Open. Next visit to golf course, I had another on my home course of Peebles' 7th! Not had yin since though :panic:
Looking forward to our seasons official start tomorrow, a relaxed and fun fourball format in a Captain v Vice Captain shotgun start team match. Dozen Pro V 1's and new glove purchased and raring to go. Handicap 3.2 I think so realistic target is to still be playing to 3 at seasons end. With young family it could be a challenge, but if I do sneak up to 4, I might just be able to give Golden Bear a game.. :greengrin
Here's to a positive 2015 on the course for all Hibs.net golfers :aok:

28-03-2015, 11:00 AM
I had to wait until I was 42 to get my first "ace", and picked a fine place to do so - Royal Aberdeen's 11th in their Amatuer Open. Next visit to golf course, I had another on my home course of Peebles' 7th! Not had yin since though :panic:
Looking forward to our seasons official start tomorrow, a relaxed and fun fourball format in a Captain v Vice Captain shotgun start team match. Dozen Pro V 1's and new glove purchased and raring to go. Handicap 3.2 I think so realistic target is to still be playing to 3 at seasons end. With young family it could be a challenge, but if I do sneak up to 4, I might just be able to give Golden Bear a game.. :greengrin
Here's to a positive 2015 on the course for all Hibs.net golfers :aok:

Aye maybe, just maybe! We shall, of course, debate the aforementioned remark in the Bar tomorrow afternoon.

Gaz
29-03-2015, 09:41 PM
Well I won my first voucher of the year last week £20 for nearest the pin at the 3rd at Burntisland would love to say it was a great high floating cut into the wind, but it came right off the heel went no higher than 4 feet off the ground and ran on to about a foot😎

southfieldhibby
30-03-2015, 11:10 AM
I've taken a sabatical from golf.My inability to get to single figures was beginning to make me a grumpy golfer, something that I hate seeing.

Play occasionally now, maybe 6 times a year and play bogey golf and enjoy it.

Only play 'decent' courses..Castle Course last week, which I really enjoyed.The greens are a wee bit silly but that aside, it's a beautiful course.

30-03-2015, 08:46 PM
Played in a scramble today, and one of our 4 had a hole in one at the 12th hole.:top marksFirst time i have seen one live apart from on the telly.:not worth

14-04-2015, 12:46 PM
I treated myself to a half hour lesson with a PGA pro today and hopefully he's managed to solve the puzzle of my current golf swing.

I'm normally quite consistent, but this season every swing seems to be a different adventure and I've been struggling to play to a standard which is even remotely close to my handicap. It transpires that radical swing surgery is not required, a few tweeks here and there, a bit more patience, and things should be on the up again.

What a bloody frustrating game this can be - but I dare say that is part of the attraction.

15-04-2015, 01:33 PM
Managed to get 3 rounds in over the Easter Break. Hit the ball much better than expected. First 2 rounds were at Nairn Dunbar and my driving of the ball was great, was smashing it down the fairway every time. Sadly the rest of my game wasn't up to scratch but it was the first rounds I'd played in months. Shot 6 over on the second day which I was delighted with being off of 11 just now.

Bit frustrating though cos I'm back in Dundee for exam time and I probably won't get out to play again for over a month. Aim for the year is to get back down to single figures, since starting Uni the handicap has gone up and up so far. Time for a change!

15-04-2015, 04:01 PM
Managed to get 3 rounds in over the Easter Break. Hit the ball much better than expected. First 2 rounds were at Nairn Dunbar and my driving of the ball was great, was smashing it down the fairway every time. Sadly the rest of my game wasn't up to scratch but it was the first rounds I'd played in months. Shot 6 over on the second day which I was delighted with being off of 11 just now.

Bit frustrating though cos I'm back in Dundee for exam time and I probably won't get out to play again for over a month. Aim for the year is to get back down to single figures, since starting Uni the handicap has gone up and up so far. Time for a change!

Aye the bevvy leads to shaky hands which in turn leads to many missed putts.

16-04-2015, 04:32 AM
I'm up and running. Not great but haven't played since September so it'll take a few weeks to bash it into shape and flake off the rust.

17-04-2015, 03:16 PM
I played in a Seniors Texas Scramble Open event at Harburn yesterday and the course was in pretty good nick for the time of year. The greens were excellent but we found them very, very difficult to read. I was reading a lot of putts as having a right to left break when in fact the wee buggers broke left to right. Needless to say we didn't win!

18-04-2015, 03:11 PM
Hoping to get back down to 6 this season - currently 8.2 (I think). Gonna hit some balls at 6pm tonight, and just familiarising myself with my new Mizuno irons.

Played Elderslie Park, Paisley recently - greens like they'd been raked with heavy lined tining. Made me appreciate the glorious Links at Monifieth!

Wee sweepie tomorrow, and comp subs paid for 3 main singles and 2 two-ball comps made. Draws should be up tomorrow :thumbsup:

21-04-2015, 01:17 AM
Managed my first buffer on Sunday.

21-04-2015, 06:43 AM
Having my first round of golf since moving down to the south of England today - If I can keep it under 100, I'll be happy :greengrin

21-04-2015, 03:14 PM
Having my first round of golf since moving down to the south of England today - If I can keep it under 100, I'll be happy :greengrin

How did it go EL BANDITO :bandit::bandit:

21-04-2015, 03:21 PM
How did it go EL BANDITO :bandit::bandit:

It's a post-work hit so I'm just finishing up here and getting ready to leave :greengrin

If it's under 80, I won't be replying to this thread for fear of validation :greengrin

Godsahibby
21-04-2015, 07:44 PM
After leaving Kingsknowe and letting my handicap lapse I'm needing to get my handicap sorted since joining Baberton. 2 rounds down so far 92 and 90 need one more card as am heading up to Dornoch in a couple of weeks for a 3 man competition up there.

Been playing well, still the occasional holocaust of a hole normally 2 or 3 a round where im hitting 7's or 8's which is really affecting the card. Was delighted with my card at the weekend out in 40 probably my lowest ever 9 holes. Need to hit a very high final card, give myself a chance of a big handicap for going up the road!

21-04-2015, 07:57 PM
After leaving Kingsknowe and letting my handicap lapse I'm needing to get my handicap sorted since joining Baberton. 2 rounds down so far 92 and 90 need one more card as am heading up to Dornoch in a couple of weeks for a 3 man competition up there.

Been playing well, still the occasional holocaust of a hole normally 2 or 3 a round where im hitting 7's or 8's which is really affecting the card. Was delighted with my card at the weekend out in 40 probably my lowest ever 9 holes. Need to hit a very high final card, give myself a chance of a big handicap for going up the road!

The "damage" may already be done! Your handicap will be based on your best card including the Stableford adjustments ( your holocaust holes will be adjusted to 2 over par for handicap purposes )

21-04-2015, 08:20 PM
:whistle:

23-04-2015, 05:35 PM
:whistle:

Telt ya :bandit:

Godsahibby
27-04-2015, 04:50 PM
Got my handicap back an 88 to go with my other two rotunds gave me an 18. Happy enough with that just now been very inconsistent so probably far. Heading up to Dornoch this weekend for a competition on Saturday and a hopefully get a few other rounds in when I'm up. Definitely one of my favourite courses. Golf porn for me!

liamh2202
16-05-2015, 04:49 PM
First under par round of the season for me at the new club. coincided with digin out the old driver from retirement

16-05-2015, 09:57 PM
First buffer of the season in extremely tough conditions. I'm putting like some sort of demented octopus but I'll get there one day. Well maybe.
There was a guy at my Club had 2 holes in one in the same round last Thursday. That's some feat and some saddo had calculated the odds of this happening as being 167 million to 1. And of course the guy just had to be a yam!

24-05-2015, 03:10 AM
Off to The Kittiocks at Fairmont St Andrews today.

24-05-2015, 07:26 PM
Anyone looking for a golf trip this year - forget Spain, Turkey, Portugal or the likes, The North Korea Amateur Open is where you want to be heading. Whether or not you will manage to better Kim Jong il`s 11 holes in one as he stormed to a 38 under par round the course on his one and only shot at golf, it`s worth a try at least.

http://www.golf.com/tour-and-news/north-korean-open-josh-sens-explores-golf-secretive-country

25-05-2015, 10:51 AM
Off to The Kittiocks at Fairmont St Andrews today.

Tough old day. 12 through to 17 were as tough a run as I've played in that wind. I had 7 doubles all in throughout the round and was sitting 7th when I left!!!!! A 340 yard wind assisted drive at the last eased the pain. No a bad dig for an auld boy. 😄

liamh2202
26-05-2015, 01:50 PM
I have a forces competition on the two Kinross courses,, has anyone played them!?

01-06-2015, 07:35 AM
Yes have played them both, they are fine.

Buy yourself course planners and pay attention to them, there are a few sneaky bits of trouble not visible to the naked eye.

Good luck

02-06-2015, 02:00 AM
A we £50 voucher from Uphalls Cameron Bowll on Sunday despite 3 putting five times!!!!!!!! Pleasing.😎⛳️

02-06-2015, 09:55 PM
I have been playing pretty regularly since taking the game up again last year. So much so i have bought a new driver and 5 wood.

I bought the Ping G30 range, and what a difference they have made to my game. I'm getting 30-40 yards further with the driver, and the 5 wood is the best club i have ever owned.

Off the fairways the 5 wood is so easy to hit, and goes miles further than my previous one. Handicap has come down from 21 to 16 in 6 months, and a couple of rounds i have had recently just with my mate, i have shot 79 and 80 on the par 72 Herons reach devere course.

Loving the golf these days. :thumbsup:

liamh2202
03-06-2015, 09:24 AM
I have been playing pretty regularly since taking the game up again last year. So much so i have bought a new driver and 5 wood.

I bought the Ping G30 range, and what a difference they have made to my game. I'm getting 30-40 yards further with the driver, and the 5 wood is the best club i have ever owned.

Off the fairways the 5 wood is so easy to hit, and goes miles further than my previous one. Handicap has come down from 21 to 16 in 6 months, and a couple of rounds i have had recently just with my mate, i have shot 79 and 80 on the par 72 Herons reach devere course.

Loving the golf these days. :thumbsup:

Good to hear mate... I think I might treat myself to one of those 5 woods as I need to fill the gap between my 5 iron and 3 wood

05-06-2015, 06:24 PM
Good to hear mate... I think I might treat myself to one of those 5 woods as I need to fill the gap between my 5 iron and 3 wood

:aok: Scored 39 points today, that's so consistent for me. 39 39 37 38 and 39 my last 5 posted scores in the seniors comps.

06-06-2015, 04:08 PM
Roll on winter!

Absolutely brutal conditions today. Gale force winds and driving rain made respectable scoring absolutely impossible. Having said that I contributed to my own downfall when I discovered on the 16th tee that I was carrying 15 clubs. What an erse!

:doh:

liamh2202
06-06-2015, 04:34 PM
:aok: Scored 39 points today, that's so consistent for me. 39 39 37 38 and 39 my last 5 posted scores in the seniors comps.

That's good going mate ,, our medal got canceled today because weather was brutal.. Looking forward to the Tuesday eclectic already hopefully it clears up by then

06-06-2015, 08:59 PM
Roll on winter!

Absolutely brutal conditions today. Gale force winds and driving rain made respectable scoring absolutely impossible. Having said that I contributed to my own downfall when I discovered on the 16th tee that I was carrying 15 clubs. What an erse!

:doh:

:grr: When I left Harburn NR was in second place in our Open.

06-06-2015, 09:22 PM
When I left Harburn NR was in second place in our Open.

Laughing smiley absent from phone but that IS funny!

liamh2202
06-06-2015, 10:14 PM

Pmsl

08-06-2015, 09:36 AM

Very good :greengrin

Saturday was probably the worst wind I have ever played in.

There were a couple of tee shots that were blown nearly 100 yards right by the wind.

08-06-2015, 09:18 PM
That's good going mate ,, our medal got canceled today because weather was brutal.. Looking forward to the Tuesday eclectic already hopefully it clears up by then

Piss poor today, lot less wind but i couldn't swing a club. It was the club medal today and i shot a 78 off my 16 handicap.

:confused: No idea what i was doing differently to the last few weeks. :grr:

08-06-2015, 09:45 PM
Piss poor today, lot less wind but i couldn't swing a club. It was the club medal today and i shot a 78 off my 17 handicap.

Net 61????????

And you're complaining????????

08-06-2015, 09:49 PM
Net 61????????

And you're complaining????????

Naw, net 78. :greengrin

liamh2202
09-06-2015, 06:20 AM
Piss poor today, lot less wind but i couldn't swing a club. It was the club medal today and i shot a 78 off my 17 handicap.

I have written a few notes on a post it and keep it in my bag as it saves me using the first six holes figuring out what I'm doing wrong. I'm hitting it well just now so hopefully it stays that way for the club championship qualifier on Saturday

09-06-2015, 07:41 AM
If any of you guys are Members of a James Braid designed golf course then here's a useful link. There are some great offers on green fees. Just click on the link within the link.

http://www.oldcolwyngolfclub.com/about-us/the-association-of-james-braid-courses-2014-2/

liamh2202
09-06-2015, 08:20 AM
If any of you guys are Members of a James Braid designed golf course then here's a useful link. There are some great offers on green fees. Just click on the link within the link.

http://www.oldcolwyngolfclub.com/about-us/the-association-of-james-braid-courses-2014-2/

Yeh my course is too .. Helensburgh golf club

09-06-2015, 11:36 AM

Next Friday, I'm looking forward to a day's golf at Rosemount/Lansdowne which will be heavily subsidised under the auspices of the James Braid scheme. My own golf club is not in the Association but all of my playing companions courses are included. They've very generously offered to split the costs so I best let them win now.

13-06-2015, 05:41 AM
Championship today and tomorrow and I've been playing terribly. Saying that I had a net par on Wednesday with 2 x 7's (1 at a par 3) and 3 x 6's!!

13-06-2015, 02:41 PM
Bought a new set of irons today, tried the Ping G30 and the G25s and was getting 5 yards longer with the 30s but more accuracy with the 25s. So the 25s it was and they are in the bag ready for Monday. :thumbsup:

13-06-2015, 03:30 PM

Then you're able to play turnhouse for free.

Played Helensburgh a couple of times with the reciprocal deal.

liamh2202
13-06-2015, 03:47 PM
Then you're able to play turnhouse for free.

Played Helensburgh a couple of times with the reciprocal deal.

Yeh I'm going to play turn house at some point. Today's qualifier was a disaster so heading out again in the morning to try and sort it out

13-06-2015, 08:25 PM
Bought a new set of irons today, tried the Ping G30 and the G25s and was getting 5 yards longer with the 30s but more accuracy with the 25s. So the 25s it was and they are in the bag ready for Monday. :thumbsup:

Can't go far wrong with Ping, I've got G20 woods and the G25 irons. And when you eventually decide to change there is a website called usedping.com where they'll give you a decent price.

14-06-2015, 10:29 AM
Can't go far wrong with Ping, I've got G20 woods and the G25 irons. And when you eventually decide to change there is a website called usedping.com where they'll give you a decent price.

Cheers bud. :top marks

14-06-2015, 12:14 PM
The course is excellent and the greens are fantastic.

A minimum of 2 rounds of golf for £20. Get in there guys.

http://www.turnhousegolfclub.com/pdf/The%20Turnhouse%20Open%202015%20Entry%20Form.pdf

derekHFC
15-06-2015, 09:48 AM
Playing Peebles Cardrona this weekend, any tips?

15-06-2015, 12:01 PM
Playing Peebles Cardrona this weekend, any tips?

Hit it long, hit it high and hit it straight. Elementary really!

The course is in pretty good nick right now and the greens are surprisingly quick. I find it a tough track to crack and when you look at the competition results on HDID you'll see that the CSS regularly exceeds the SSS of 74. It's very easy to take 3 putts due to the size of the greens but there are some real cracking holes and I'm sure you'll enjoy it.

PS If you're playing more than 1 round then you should consider making use of a buggy as the course is not only long but also has some long walks between the holes. A mate of mine insists that its 367 yards between the eight green and the 9th tee but personally I find that hard to believe.

15-06-2015, 04:27 PM
New clubs were good but my lengths were quite a bit out :faf:, only scored 33 points today but my accuracy in terms of going straight was much better.

Need a trip to the range to write down my distances with each club, as they are hitting much longer than my Taylormades. :thumbsup:

16-06-2015, 02:39 AM

http://www.turnhousegolfclub.com/pdf/The%20Turnhouse%20Open%202015%20Entry%20Form.pdf
I'll be in I think.⛳️

16-06-2015, 09:37 AM
I'm too lazy to start a separate thread so I'll tag on the US Open to this one. By all accounts, the Chambers Bay venue looks to be of the "quirky" nature and will undoubtedly meet with some criticism from disgruntled players.

It's different from the normal US Open courses and not many of the players will be familiar with the lay out. As always, it's difficult to pick a winner. Jordan Spieth won the US Amateur over Chambers Bay and his caddy was briefly a member of the same course.

I've backed:-

Spieth to win at (8/1)

Justin Rose (20/1) each way

Shane Lowrie (150/1) each way

Brandt Snedeker (66/1) each way.

liamh2202
16-06-2015, 02:00 PM
I'm too lazy to start a separate thread so I'll tag on the US Open to this one. By all accounts, the Chambers Bay venue looks to be of the "quirky" nature and will undoubtedly meet with some criticism from disgruntled players.

It's different from the normal US Open courses and not many of the players will be familiar with the lay out. As always, it's difficult to pick a winner. Jordan Spieth won the US Amateur over Chambers Bay and his caddy was briefly a member of the same course.

Spieth to win at (8/1)

I got un? In the golf club sweep ( the guy that won at Wentworth the other week) and Cameron smith as an outsider

16-06-2015, 02:14 PM
I got un? In the golf club sweep ( the guy that won at Wentworth the other week) and Cameron smith as an outsider

Byeong Hun An - he'll not be popular on this site.

liamh2202
16-06-2015, 02:28 PM
Byeong Hun An - he'll not be popular on this site.

That's the one. Only time I'll shout on a hun ;)

16-06-2015, 04:10 PM

Spieth to win at (8/1)

Spieth has struggled since the masters.

I don't think you can discount Rory and I'd love someone like Sergio or Rickie to win.

Godsahibby
17-06-2015, 11:42 AM
A boy I know Jimmy has just been called up at the last minute for the US Open. He was a reserve after he missed out in qualifying. He's a proper dirty hun but a good lad. You can get odds between 1000/1 and 1500/1, not a chance for overall win (still worth a £1!)but he's born and bred in Dornoch so a links course especially one as tough as that is his bread and butter. Great chance to make the cut. Ladbrokes only offering 4/1 on that. Trying to find better odds for it.

Hank Schrader
17-06-2015, 05:28 PM
£5 e/w on Lefty @ 16/1 and £5 e/w on Brooks Koepka @ 50/1

17-06-2015, 10:30 PM
Spieth @ 9s

Fowler @ 20s

Byeong Hun An @ 80s

19-06-2015, 03:29 PM
A boy I know Jimmy has just been called up at the last minute for the US Open. He was a reserve after he missed out in qualifying. He's a proper dirty hun but a good lad. You can get odds between 1000/1 and 1500/1, not a chance for overall win (still worth a £1!)but he's born and bred in Dornoch so a links course especially one as tough as that is his bread and butter. Great chance to make the cut. Ladbrokes only offering 4/1 on that. Trying to find better odds for it.

Good opening round, same again should see him through. Did you get a bet on him?

Godsahibby
19-06-2015, 07:36 PM
Cracking opening round was exciting last night with his opening round getting coverage going 2 under.

Good finish currently 4 over for the day. I think he is going to be close to the cut at 4 or 5 over.

I got him at 4/1 to make the cut. Won a bit last night in his 3 ball.

It's amazing the difference at that level with the quality. You get top amateurs winning club championships. But the step up to professional and then to European or uspga pro is something else got another mate on the champions tour and **** me he is a player. That step to be in the top 100 in the world is something else.

20-06-2015, 11:23 AM
I'm up in Carnoustie for the British Amateur final. French guy leading Grant Forrest from Craigielaw after the first 18. Course in magnificent condition. It's all to play for this afternoon.

liamh2202
20-06-2015, 11:54 AM
Shot a 32 stableford today at captains day. Started with two blobs followed by two 1 pointers as well .

Godsahibby
20-06-2015, 12:37 PM
Finally decided to give up my manhood and invest in a trolley. Oooft life changing played 9 this morning amazing the difference why would anyone carry their clubs.

Also helps the one I went for had a cool bag attached so was able to keep my 3 bottles of lucozade cold to get me through my hangover!

liamh2202
20-06-2015, 12:46 PM
Finally decided to give up my manhood and invest in a trolley. Oooft life changing played 9 this morning amazing the difference why would anyone carry their clubs.

Also helps the one I went for had a cool bag attached so was able to keep my 3 bottles of lucozade cold to get me through my hangover!

I bought a second hand electric one. Still to pick it up tho

21-06-2015, 10:03 PM
Spieth @ 9s

Fowler @ 20s

Byeong Hun An @ 80s

Spieth must be the bet based on this jammy ******* backing him!

22-06-2015, 05:47 AM

Unbelievable!

woodythehibee
22-06-2015, 08:22 AM
Incredible back 9. Worth staying up for

liamh2202
22-06-2015, 09:40 AM
I was going to stay up but got so annoyed with the way the coverage was going I switched off around 11. Too many breaks, novelty pieces and that stupid sky pad

22-06-2015, 10:06 AM
Only saw glimpses of it at my Club. From what I saw I wasn't impressed with the course/greens.....

22-06-2015, 10:20 AM

Spieth to win at (9/1)

:cb

Happy Smiles this morning. And I narrowly missed out on both Lowrie - ( 6 up the last) & Snedeker.

Godsahibby
22-06-2015, 11:29 AM
My betting account looking nice this morning after a decent weekend. Jimmy Gunn making the cut at 4/1 and him as top Scot on Friday morning at 25/1, shared that with warren but half odds still good. Also took him 3 out of the 4 days to win his group.

22-06-2015, 02:48 PM

Entered this morning. Looking forward to it kicking off a couple of weeks off work. :thumbsup::thumbsup:

22-06-2015, 04:34 PM

Happy Smiles this morning. And I narrowly missed out on both Lowrie - ( 6 up the last) & Snedeker.

Had Grace and Johnson. And Snedeker.

22-06-2015, 04:39 PM
Entered this morning. Looking forward to it kicking off a couple of weeks off work. :thumbsup::thumbsup:

Nice one! :thumbsup:

01-07-2015, 03:39 PM

Had Spieth for the US Masters also @ 12s :greengrin

All in all I have taken the bookies for over £1,500 PROFIT on Jordan :cb over the last year+

Off to the Algarve for 5 nights, 5* All Inc, 3 games of golf, flights, transfers, club hire in September and Mr Spieth's Major wins have paid for this :thumbsup:

03-07-2015, 08:03 PM
Seeing real improvement in my accuracy with my new clubs. Dropped another stroke to 16 now, and won a comp today with 40 points.

And that was with one blob too, hitting more greens in regulation and hitting more fairways off the green. Now only if i could get my putting right? :greengrin

liamh2202
03-07-2015, 08:44 PM
Seeing real improvement in my accuracy with my new clubs. Dropped another stroke to 16 now, and won a comp today with 40 points.

And that was with one blob too, hitting more greens in regulation and hitting more fairways off the green. Now only if i could get my putting right? :greengrin

Bandit lol ;)

03-07-2015, 09:14 PM
Bandit lol ;)

I know. :greengrin These new clubs are working, i'm definitely getting more consistent and hitting the ball much straighter. :thumbsup: I would love to get down to single figures, but realistically i feel 14 maybe 13 is within my reach this year with a bit of luck and perseverance. :pray:

liamh2202
04-07-2015, 07:25 AM
I know. :greengrin These new clubs are working, i'm definitely getting more consistent and hitting the ball much straighter. :thumbsup: I would love to get down to single figures, but realistically i feel 14 maybe 13 is within my reach this year with a bit of luck and perseverance. :pray:

No its good mate. I'm in a similar situation after fixing my driving. 18 just now but on the verge I feel of o e of 'those' rounds. If I put one together I think I might have to attend a meeting with the captain and match and handicap lol

04-07-2015, 08:55 AM
Rained off today I've just been told.

Open Tournament at Peebles tomorrow then another at The Roxburghe on Monday. Life sure is a bitch these days.

liamh2202
04-07-2015, 10:07 AM

Open Tournament at Peebles tomorrow then another at The Roxburghe on Monday. Life sure is a bitch these days.

Yeh rained off here too, open greensomes tomorrow but with a lightning warning in force I don't hold out much hope

04-07-2015, 12:20 PM
Turnhouse Open reduced to 18 holes after this mornings downpour.

Everyone in this mornings draw now playing tomorrow.

I'm out in about 2 hours and the sun is trying it's hardest to appear :greengrin

04-07-2015, 06:31 PM
No its good mate. I'm in a similar situation after fixing my driving. 18 just now but on the verge I feel one of of 'those' rounds. If I put one together I think I might have to attend a meeting with the captain and match and handicap lol

Those rounds don't happen very often, but my mate Steve who plays off 16, scored 47 points the other week. :greengrin I played against him yesterday and he scored 30.

Bloody stupid game. :faf:

04-07-2015, 07:47 PM
Tried to play in our texas scramble this morning (7:37) at Kingsacre (course is in excellent condition ) but we were called in after 2 holes soaked to the skin, greens and fairways flooded, we started 3,4 so 2 under :grr:

hibbyhabit
04-07-2015, 11:48 PM
s:fibber::fibber:
Those rounds don't happen very often, but my mate Steve who plays off 16, scored 47 points the other week. :greengrin I played against him yesterday and he scored 30.

Bloody stupid game. :faf:

06-07-2015, 10:35 PM

:cb How was The Roxburghe GB? Its usual self? I usually play their Open and its this Friday. Toying with the idea of going down.

07-07-2015, 08:34 AM
How was The Roxburghe GB? Its usual self? I usually play their Open and its this Friday. Toying with the idea of going down.

In magnificent condition as usual, it's well worth a visit. The last time I looked at their website, they still have places available for Friday.

The greens were running at I'd say moderate pace and certainly couldn't be blamed for yet another dismal putting performance.

derekHFC
07-07-2015, 10:08 AM
Played Newbattle GC last night and thoroughly enjoyed it. The greens were a joy to play on and I was very impressed for my first time.

Hit the turn at +2 and whilst I never done as well back nine (+9), It was enjoyable and I would definitely play again.

07-07-2015, 10:08 AM
Anyone fancy a week's golf holiday in Turkey next May?

Saturday 7/5/16 to Sunday 15/5/16 8 nights

Flying from Edinburgh Turkish Air 1150 out and 0830 return getting back into Edinburgh 1530

Staying Gloria Golf resort - Ultra All Inclusive

Great bunch of guys. Well organised, Ryder Cup style golf competition.

Golf – 5 rounds

Gloria Old
Gloria New
Pasha
Lykia Links
Nobilis

Total cost £1080

07-07-2015, 07:31 PM
In magnificent condition as usual, it's well worth a visit. The last time I looked at their website, they still have places available for Friday.

The greens were running at I'd say moderate pace and certainly couldn't be blamed for yet another dismal putting performance. Ta GB. Its either a competitive round there or a bounce at Craigielaw with an old pal. decisions decisions.

Godsahibby
07-07-2015, 07:52 PM
Been playing a lot recently still very very inconsistent, really starting to get to me. Tempted by a few lessons to see if that might help. That aside its a great week for golf, going to the open on Friday for the day and got a game at Babby tomorrow and delighted to have been invited to play the Renaissance on Thursday. Perfect way to finish off before 2 weeks off work!!

08-07-2015, 08:44 AM
Been playing a lot recently still very very inconsistent, really starting to get to me. Tempted by a few lessons to see if that might help. That aside its a great week for golf, going to the open on Friday for the day and got a game at Babby tomorrow and delighted to have been invited to play the Renaissance on Thursday. Perfect way to finish off before 2 weeks off work!!

It is fabulous! First time or you played it before?

I was round Montrose yesterday .. beautiful condition. +5 after 7 then -5 for the remainder for net par. Missed two from inside 3 feet, and a 8-footer for birdies or it would've been much better :rolleyes:

Scotscraig on Friday. Monifieth Saturday and Sunday. Then twa hospitality days at St Andrews next week :cheers:

Godsahibby
08-07-2015, 06:51 PM
It is fabulous! First time or you played it before?

I was round Montrose yesterday .. beautiful condition. +5 after 7 then -5 for the remainder for net par. Missed two from inside 3 feet, and a 8-footer for birdies or it would've been much better :rolleyes:

Scotscraig on Friday. Monifieth Saturday and Sunday. Then twa hospitality days at St Andrews next week :cheers:

First time round the track looking forward to it. It's going to be a nightmare to get to with golf traffic!

08-07-2015, 07:35 PM
First time round the track looking forward to it. It's going to be a nightmare to get to with golf traffic!

Track?, I mean TRACK!

I'll not tell ----------- honest!

08-07-2015, 09:21 PM
http://www.golfcentraldaily.com/2015/05/video-two-minute-lesson-from-ben-hogan.html?m=0

Godsahibby
09-07-2015, 07:25 AM
Track?, I mean TRACK!

Not sure if this is a wooosh moment for me but don't get it.

Godsahibby
09-07-2015, 04:54 PM
Track?, I mean TRACK!

Think I get you now. After pkaying today track certainly does not do that any justice place is unreal good. Great course but looks wise it is unbelievable. I've played Skibo before and that certainly came close to that for being pristine.

10-07-2015, 09:09 AM
Think I get you now. After pkaying today track certainly does not do that any justice place is unreal good. Great course but looks wise it is unbelievable. I've played Skibo before and that certainly came close to that for being pristine.

Jealous or what!

I've had a couple of games at nearby Archerfield but as yet I've not managed to fix up a game at The Renaissance, which by all accounts, is meant to be fantastic.

24-07-2015, 07:39 PM
Anyone played Mar Hall? Off there tomorrow.

26-07-2015, 07:20 PM
Anyone played Mar Hall? Off there tomorrow.

For the record I was a wee bit disappointed. Decent enough track bar the third but thought it was in poor condition compared to other courses I've played this year. Greens were ok but a lot of the fairways could only be described as Scabby with big areas of really tight lies with little or no grass on them and weeds growing amongst the bare patches. Most areas of trimmed rough more chewed than cut. Not an overly long course so would be really scoreable for a low handicapper. The 1st looks tight but take driver and either draw it or hit it down the left hand side or even over the trees at the left. Don't be caught out in 18 either. There is miles of room down the left over the bunkers so don't try and go between the trees that look like they are in the middle of the fairway. They aren't. Refreshments cost an absolute fortune too. £3 for a wee dumpy glass bottle of coke!!!!! I'm glad I dinnae drink.

liamh2202
26-07-2015, 08:39 PM
For the record I was a wee bit disappointed. Decent enough track bar the third but thought it was in poor condition compared to other courses I've played this year. Greens were ok but a lot of the fairways could only be described as Scabby with big areas of really tight lies with little or no grass on them and weeds growing amongst the bare patches. Most areas of trimmed rough more chewed than cut. Not an overly long course so would be really scoreable for a low handicapper. The 1st looks tight but take driver and either draw it or hit it down the left hand side or even over the trees at the left. Don't be caught out in 18 either. There is miles of room down the left over the bunkers so don't try and go between the trees that look like they are in the middle of the fairway. They aren't. Refreshments cost an absolute fortune too. £3 for a wee dumpy glass bottle of coke!!!!! I'm glad I dinnae drink.

Should have popped ten mins north and played my course. In great nick just now although a bit wet. Greens are lightening ;) . thanks for the write up though was thinking of playing marhall tied in with a hotel stay

26-07-2015, 09:26 PM
Should have popped ten mins north and played my course. In great nick just now although a bit wet. Greens are lightening ;) . thanks for the write up though was thinking of playing marhall tied in with a hotel stay

You should. It's a decent enough course but just not up to my standards😀 one other thing though. There are very few flat areas of green.😀😀

27-07-2015, 02:34 PM
For anyone thinking of exchanging their clubs for cash or looking to buy a good second hand set, then I suggest you give this place a visit. It's the original Aladdin's cave of golf equipment.

http://www.golfclubs4cash.co.uk/

Godsahibby
27-07-2015, 08:25 PM
For anyone thinking of exchanging their clubs for cash or looking to buy a good second hand set, then I suggest you give this place a visit. It's the original Aladdin's cave of golf equipment.

http://www.golfclubs4cash.co.uk/

I only just found out about this place recently. They are amazing loss of clubs and very friendly. Let me take a couple away to test them at the range before deciding.

28-07-2015, 12:12 PM
I only just found out about this place recently. They are amazing loss of clubs and very friendly. Let me take a couple away to test them at the range before deciding.

They did the same with me and I was happy with the deal which I was eventually offered.

I'll be back without a doubt.

28-07-2015, 01:48 PM
Had heard there was a place in Loanhead but didn't know where it was. Will have a look as mine are getting past it.

ACLeith
03-08-2015, 07:42 AM
Was at Turnberry yesterday for the Women's Open. By chance Charley Hull was going off the 1st when I arrived, so followed her. She bogeyed that hole, then birdied 5 of the next 6 - and it could even have been a couple of shots better than that! Birdied the 10th to go 5 under for the round, but faltered a bit against the wind and finished with "only" a 69.

Watched all the leaders in the afternoon, but Park was a very worthy winner, 7 birdies and an eagle in the wind and occasional showers.

One gripe is the BBC coverage - again. As far as I could see none of Hull's exploits were covered by the cameras as she was playing before their afternoon broadcast and have searched in vain for a highlights show. Their "best shots of the day" on their website should be renamed "The best shots of the day when we could be bothered switching on the cameras" as it showed Suzanne Petterson at the 6th, a great shot but Hull's was better, a soaring iron (looked like a 5) downwind to 3 feet.

03-08-2015, 04:36 PM
Was at Turnberry yesterday for the Women's Open. By chance Charley Hull was going off the 1st when I arrived, so followed her. She bogeyed that hole, then birdied 5 of the next 6 - and it could even have been a couple of shots better than that! Birdied the 10th to go 5 under for the round, but faltered a bit against the wind and finished with "only" a 69.

Watched all the leaders in the afternoon, but Park was a very worthy winner, 7 birdies and an eagle in the wind and occasional showers.

One gripe is the BBC coverage - again. As far as I could see none of Hull's exploits were covered by the cameras as she was playing before their afternoon broadcast and have searched in vain for a highlights show. Their "best shots of the day" on their website should be renamed "The best shots of the day when we could be bothered switching on the cameras" as it showed Suzanne Petterson at the 6th, a great shot but Hull's was better, a soaring iron (looked like a 5) downwind to 3 feet.

Impressive stuff. It would be interesting to see how the Ladies would fare on the same Championship course that the guys compete on.

The majority of the Ladies have brilliant putting strokes and I'm very, very jealous.

ACLeith
03-08-2015, 05:20 PM
Impressive stuff. It would be interesting to see how the Ladies would fare on the same Championship course that the guys compete on.

The majority of the Ladies have brilliant putting strokes and I'm very, very jealous.

They were mainly playing off the Men's medal tees, though the 3rd was from the "tiger" tee, I presume to make it a par 5 for them. They can't compete with their male counterparts off the tiger tees as I reckon their lack of distance would cost them at least 3-4 shots per round. As you say, their putting is excellent, so many putts yesterday just kept going and going at the same pace, a sign of a true strike - or so I'm told :wink:

What impresses me most though is the quality of their fairway woods, hybrids and long irons, so sweet and clean without appearing to hit it hard, I'm determined to follow their example next time I'm out, if I'm lucky it might last 6 holes :tee hee:

06-08-2015, 08:33 PM
Congratulations to the Scottish boys team on winning the Home International Championship after convincing victories over Ireland, Wales & England. The youngest member of the team comes from my own Club. Well done lads, it's great to see a Scottish success story for a change!

07-08-2015, 10:38 AM
Congratulations to the Scottish boys team on winning the Home International Championship after convincing victories over Ireland, Wales & England. The youngest member of the team comes from my own Club. Well done lads, it's great to see a Scottish success story for a change!

One of them from my club as well, nice laddie with his feet firmly on the ground. The wee feker also holds the the clubs record score!!!! 😀

ACLeith
09-08-2015, 07:29 AM
Going up next weekend to play Dornoch, my all-time favourite course. Not played it since late 1980s, green fee just slightly dearer now sadly!

09-08-2015, 08:41 AM
Going up next weekend to play Dornoch, my all-time favourite course. Not played it since late 1980s, green fee just slightly dearer now sadly!

It's a great course. A good test of golf but with reasonable weather it's possible to get round in a respectable score.

They have a week of golf about this time of year, I once played in the Carnegie Shield and it was fantastic value for money.

ACLeith
10-08-2015, 05:21 AM

It's a great course. A good test of golf but with reasonable weather it's possible to get round in a respectable score.

They have a week of golf about this time of year, I once played in the Carnegie Shield and it was fantastic value for money.

I played in the Carnegie Shield in the 1980s, it was £15 entry fee for 2 rounds!

10-08-2015, 05:55 PM
I played in the Carnegie Shield in the 1980s, it was £15 entry fee for 2 rounds!

I think I got 4 rounds for my money. A practice round, 2 qualifying rounds, 1 st round of the knockout - then I got a severe howkin from one of the local players!

ACLeith
11-08-2015, 06:33 AM
I think I got 4 rounds for my money. A practice round, 2 qualifying rounds, 1 st round of the knockout - then I got a severe howkin from one of the local players!

My result after the 2 medal rounds was DNQ! This gave me the chance to play other courses like Brora and we stopped off on the way down the road to play the championship course at Nairn - also magnificent. Highlight was a birdie 3 at the 5th, stroke index 1 at the time. Hope I can emulate that at the weekend!!

13-08-2015, 07:43 AM
One of them from my club as well, nice laddie with his feet firmly on the ground. The wee feker also holds the the clubs record score!!!!  One from mine too. :thumbsup:

15-08-2015, 10:56 AM
My latest wheeling & dealing of golf equipment involved me exchanging 2 Taylor Made hybrids for 1 Taylor Made "ghost" putter complete with a fat "superstroke" grip. It's my first attempt at using one these grips, the logic being that it can't possibly make things any worse!

This must be about my ninth putter of the season, it's difficult to come to terms with the fact that I'm really just a piss poor putter and it's absolutely nothing to do with the equipment.

I'll persevere however ---------------- one of these days, maybe, just maybe!

ACLeith
16-08-2015, 04:23 PM
Well, Dornoch is still my number 1 course ever. Played today in benign weather and it was still awesome. Greens like lightning, 4 3-putts going out, on each one the first putt looked okay until it just kept going and going! But managed 31 stableford points so happy with that.

Why is it so good? Every hole is interesting, challenging and makes you think about course management. Execution is another story altogether though!

17-08-2015, 12:31 PM
I played Rosemount for the first time last week. Simply a terrific, classic golf course that deserved better than our efforts.

17-08-2015, 01:36 PM
Played the Kittocks last Monday absolutely loved it will go back and prob play both course on the same day. Playing Machrihanish Dunes on friday

17-08-2015, 07:26 PM
Just back from Inverness. Played Fortrose, Nairn Dunbar & Inverness. 23 points to the turn at Nairn then sobered up so 12 points on back 9.

ACLeith
18-08-2015, 09:38 AM
I played Rosemount for the first time last week. Simply a terrific, classic golf course that deserved better than our efforts.

For me the best inland course I've played.

18-08-2015, 09:14 PM
I'm off to the Roxburghe on Thursday, a real cracking golf course and definately my favourite in the Borders.

05-09-2015, 10:02 PM
1st ever hole in one for me Today, surreal feeling......

05-09-2015, 10:11 PM

Many congratulations!! The drinks are on you. Hope you had a good golfers insurance policy!

05-09-2015, 10:18 PM
Many congratulations!! The drinks are on you. Hope you had a good golfers insurance policy!

Thanks....Never even got to see it go in hole, as uphill par 3.......

05-09-2015, 10:53 PM
Well done. Never managed it myself

ACLeith
06-09-2015, 04:27 AM

Congratulations. Still waiting for my first, still living in hope. Been inches away and also hit the hole and spun out!

ACLeith
06-09-2015, 04:34 AM
Thanks....Never even got to see it go in hole, as uphill par 3.......

You'll see it all the way next time! Personally if my first was a duff that ran through a bunker, hit an OOB post and rebounded into the hole I wouldn't care!!

06-09-2015, 10:49 AM
You'll see it all the way next time! Personally if my first was a duff that ran through a bunker, hit an OOB post and rebounded into the hole I wouldn't care!!

09-09-2015, 02:40 AM

👍 I take it the hole was on the left edge of the green. You told me you were looking for a cure for hooking it. Well done.

13-09-2015, 10:22 PM
Played Whitekirk today in their open. It's the first time ever I can remember the winning score being the same as CSS. It ended up reduction only. But breezy but nothing OTT. Really strange. As an aside the course and in oarticular the tees were very tired looking and in need of much TLC. I take it they are struggling.

14-09-2015, 01:11 PM
Played Whitekirk today in their open. It's the first time ever I can remember the winning score being the same as CSS. It ended up reduction only. But breezy but nothing OTT. Really strange. As an aside the course and in oarticular the tees were very tired looking and in need of much TLC. I take it they are struggling.

I've not played Whitekirk for two years but it's a hard course to score on.

The upturned greens are difficult to come to terms with as the contouring tends to throw the ball off the green. I reckon the first hole is about a par7!

I was under the impression that a new Hotel venture was in the pipeline and part of the development also involved a few major alterations to the course design. It all seems to be very quiet on this front though.

14-09-2015, 04:50 PM
I've not played Whitekirk for two years but it's a hard course to score on.

The upturned greens are difficult to come to terms with as the contouring tends to throw the ball off the green. I reckon the first hole is about a par7!

I was under the impression that a new Hotel venture was in the pipeline and part of the development also involved a few major alterations to the course design. It all seems to be very quiet on this front though.

Certainly something not right GB. Very tired looking. I actually NRd at the first. Two lost balls and lack of willingness to return back to play again. I reckon the best I could have done was about 9 so saw little point.👎

17-09-2015, 08:51 PM

This is the cake that any golfer who's thinking of getting married should have on that wedding day. :greengrin

ACLeith
18-09-2015, 07:21 PM
What a day in the Solheim cup. Ciganda holing a 140 yard 9 iron to take her match down the last, with the Americans then calling a halt due to bad light. Roll on tomorrow!

19-09-2015, 09:26 PM
Off to Glenrothes tomorrow. Last Open for me this year. Playing leven on the 25th of next month at a works outing but the clubs will be away after that.

20-09-2015, 08:36 AM
Officially seething after that ridiculous incident in the Solheim Cup. I've changed allegiance - 'Mon the USA

Suzanne Petersen should hide her head in shame.

20-09-2015, 08:54 AM
Officially seething after that ridiculous incident in the Solheim Cup. I've changed allegiance - 'Mon the USA

Just saw that, i presumed by the players walking away that they had conceded the putt?

20-09-2015, 10:19 AM
Just saw that, i presumed by the players walking away that they had conceded the putt?

That's the assumption that 99% of us would make. It's a four ball match so BOTH European players should take a long hard look at themselves. Our old friend sporting integrity rears its head again.

ACLeith
20-09-2015, 12:38 PM
That's the assumption that 99% of us would make. It's a four ball match so BOTH European players should take a long hard look at themselves. Our old friend sporting integrity rears its head again.
Don't think it's fair to blame Hull. She's 19 and playing with the leader of the team. Nigh on impossible for her to stand up to her. Even if the Europe captain had conceded the half Hull would still have had a putt on the last to take the point and the way she has been putting she would have been odds on to hole.

Petterson - no excuse, gone from hero to zero in my estimation. The European captain and her team did not have the guts to stand up to her so shame on them as well.

20-09-2015, 12:53 PM

The Americans are not exactly free of unsporting behaviour in Solheim Cup........

20-09-2015, 12:57 PM
Inkster needs to remember 2000 when they made Annika Sorensten replay a shot that she had holed, as allegedly played it out of turn (although the balls where in the same distance)......Selective memory syndrome from Inkster

ACLeith
20-09-2015, 12:59 PM
The Americans are not exactly free of unsporting behaviour in Solheim Cup........

That may be so but in my book nothing can justify what happened.

20-09-2015, 01:00 PM
Don't think it's fair to blame Hull. She's 19 and playing with the leader of the team. Nigh on impossible for her to stand up to her. Even if the Europe captain had conceded the half Hull would still have had a putt on the last to take the point and the way she has been putting she would have been odds on to hole.

Petterson - no excuse, gone from hero to zero in my estimation. The European captain and her team did not have the guts to stand up to her so shame on them as well.

I disagree. Hull should not have walked off the green when she did if the intention was not to concede her opponent the tap in putt. That action contributed to what followed. A 19 year old will know the etiquette of the game so she can't be excused.

ACLeith
20-09-2015, 01:06 PM
I disagree. Hull should not have walked off the green when she did if the intention was not to concede her opponent the tap in putt. That action contributed to what followed. A 19 year old will know the etiquette of the game so she can't be excused.

We'll just agree to disagree!

20-09-2015, 01:15 PM
We'll just agree to disagree!

But I do agree - she is quite fit.!

20-09-2015, 02:06 PM
USA stage fantastic comeback to win 14.5 to 13.5. Justice !

ACLeith
20-09-2015, 02:15 PM

Was intending to flick between that and the Aberdeen game but the latter was so enjoyable I just had to stick with it!

And i see the Hibbies are through to the Davis Cup final as well!

20-09-2015, 02:19 PM

Not really.....Let's not forget the US ain't whiter than white

22-09-2015, 11:10 AM
It took her a while, but better late than never.

http://www.lpga.com/news/2015-suzann-pettersen-issues-apology-solheim-cup

22-09-2015, 02:05 PM
It took her a while, but better late than never.

http://www.lpga.com/news/2015-suzann-pettersen-issues-apology-solheim-cup

Cant remember if the Americans apologised for their actions in 2000.

Well done to Pettersen, a heartfelt apology that took courage and bottle to write............

28-09-2015, 07:45 AM
Sick and tired of hitting buffer or missing by a shot with a couple of big numbers on the card on the card. Stupid bloody game.

28-09-2015, 08:38 AM
Sick and tired of hitting buffer or missing by a shot with a couple of big numbers on the card on the card. Stupid bloody game.

Such is the nature of the stupid bloody game that we all love. I've had the season from hell and my handicap has shot up by 1.1. It's not my inability of course but entirely the fault of the hellish weather we had up until the end of July :rolleyes:. Every Saturday was the same, strong winds, rain and sometimes a combination of both.

I've already written this season off and I've now set myself a target of trying to regain some element of fitness before the start of next season. Then just watch me go. Well maybe.

28-09-2015, 10:42 AM
I've gone from 6.2 in 2013 to 8.2 (as off Saturday). I got to 6.2 from 10+ in a matter of months with practice and warming up - eg range, putting and stretching etc before play.

A lack of practise/prep before taking to the tee is the issue now. Must remember that I cannot just turn up and do it, and it ain't gonna happen!! :rolleyes:

edit - 8.5 so now off 9 :rolleyes:

28-09-2015, 11:22 AM
I've got 4 maybe 5 medal rounds left. I'll finish lower than I started (started 8.7 currently 7.6) but I've hit the ball as well as I an remember since late July and not really capitalised. Same goal for me GB. Fitness work and weight loss starting end of season and come out the blocks flying next season. I don't play in the winter but have an outing to Leven late October and plan to hit the diving range once a week to keep it ticking over instead of taking about 6 weeks to get up to speed.

28-09-2015, 01:46 PM
I've called an end to my competitive season.

The Greenkeepers are due to commence their annual task of hollowtining, scarifying and top dressing the greens which will render them virtually unplayable for 3-4 weeks. It's a necessary evil I guess but try telling that to some of the members!

28-09-2015, 02:29 PM
Absolutely gutted, played the final of our seniors tournament today and was 3 up with 3 to play. Drew the match and have to do it all again next week. :grr:

28-09-2015, 02:36 PM
Absolutely gutted, played the final of our seniors tournament today and was 3 up with 3 to play. Drew the match and have to do it all again next week. :grr:

No sudden death play off then?

28-09-2015, 04:02 PM
I've called an end to my competitive season.

The Greenkeepers are due to commence their annual task of hollowtining, scarifying and top dressing the greens which will render them virtually unplayable for 3-4 weeks. It's a necessary evil I guess but try telling that to some of the members! Ours were done three weeks ago. Still awfy bumpy.

28-09-2015, 07:26 PM
No sudden death play off then?

No, we agreed to do it all again next week. To be honest I was glad, I'd collapsed and couldn't hit the ball straight at all.

01-10-2015, 10:13 AM
We do a 9 hole srableford competition every wed from mid August till mid October to replace our midweek medal as daylight shortens of an evening. 19 Pts yesterday saw a .2 cut and auld lex back to playing off 7. All over the place but putted like God with 12 putts. Bogeyd the last two into the bargain. Strange game.

01-10-2015, 10:39 AM
BBC have pulled out of televising the Open live in 2016. Sky takes over. Oh dear.

01-10-2015, 11:19 AM
BBC have pulled out of televising the Open live in 2016. Sky takes over. Oh dear.

The Open should be one of these flagship sporting events which are broadcast on terrestrial TV in order to appeal and be available to the widest possible audience. Having said that, in recent years the Beeb haven't exactly covered themselves in glory with their almost token coverage of golf tournaments. For example the coverage of the final day's play in this year's postponed last round of the Open was very poor.

I'm sure Sky will prove to be a very able deputy especially when the contract has restricted the number and length of the adverts which can be shown per hour. I feel genuinely sorry for the folk who can't afford Sky but maybe there will be a spin off benefit for pubs and Golf Clubs.

01-10-2015, 11:23 AM
We do a 9 hole srableford competition every wed from mid August till mid October to replace our midweek medal as daylight shortens of an evening. 19 Pts yesterday saw a .2 cut and auld lex back to playing off 7. All over the place but putted like God with 12 putts. Bogeyd the last two into the bargain. Strange game.

Well done.

I've yet to be convinced of the merits of 9 hole competitive golf although I can see why the legislative bodies like SGU are pushing for Clubs to make it ready available to its Members.

01-10-2015, 12:18 PM
The Open should be one of these flagship sporting events which are broadcast on terrestrial TV in order to appeal and be available to the widest possible audience. Having said that, in recent years the Beeb haven't exactly covered themselves in glory with their almost token coverage of golf tournaments. For example the coverage of the final day's play in this year's postponed last round of the Open was very poor.

I'm sure Sky will prove to be a very able deputy especially when the contract has restricted the number and length of the adverts which can be shown per hour. I feel genuinely sorry for the folk who can't afford Sky but maybe there will be a spin off benefit for pubs and Golf Clubs.

BBC's coverage has been shocking for a while don't think Sky can be any worse

01-10-2015, 01:23 PM
I played at Kilspindie yesterday and noticed in their on course dress code that 'trainer type' golf shoes were not permitted. Is this not a bit outdated, given the popularity of expensive spikeless soft shoes and trainet type shoes?

01-10-2015, 03:58 PM
I played at Kilspindie yesterday and noticed in their on course dress code that 'trainer type' golf shoes were not permitted. Is this not a bit outdated, given the popularity of expensive spikeless soft shoes and trainet type shoes?

I'd agree Jim. There's a fine line between trainers and the "street type" spikeless golf shoe.

Thankfully the number of Clubs enforcing strict dress codes both on and off the course are on the decline.

01-10-2015, 04:51 PM
BBC's coverage has been shocking for a while don't think Sky can be any worse

I agree that the BBC coverage has not been great recently. Personally, I think Alliss should have been retired years ago and some of the commentators like Mark James are tedious.

But the fact that it was on the national channel gave it a special atmosphere. Same with Wimbledon - something big and special.

Maybe I am sentimental but once the tennis eventually goes that's it. Apart from Strictly Come Dancing.

01-10-2015, 04:52 PM
Well done.

I've yet to be convinced of the merits of 9 hole competitive golf although I can see why the legislative bodies like SGU are pushing for Clubs to make it ready available to its Members.

I think it's perfect for through the week at this time of year. Keeps folk using the club and a competitive edge thru the week. Its basically a sweep with a chance to work at your handicap.

01-10-2015, 09:27 PM

Hmm......I'm a member there and didn't know that!

02-10-2015, 07:50 AM
I think it's perfect for through the week at this time of year. Keeps folk using the club and a competitive edge thru the week. Its basically a sweep with a chance to work at your handicap.

I can see the merits but it's a tad unfair that Category 1 golfers are excluded and thus not permitted to play for a score for handicap purposes. The system is also a bit "contrived" in so far as each competitor is awarded a neutral 18 points for the nine unplayed holes - I presume this will be to meet the requirements of the handicap computer software.

liamh2202
04-10-2015, 02:43 PM
I can see the merits but it's a tad unfair that Category 1 golfers are excluded and thus not permitted to play for a score for handicap purposes. The system is also a bit "contrived" in so far as each competitor is awarded a neutral 18 points for the nine unplayed holes - I presume this will be to meet the requirements of the handicap computer software.

We have a 11 hole eclectic at our club with 3/4 handicap.. ( not official comp) what I would say is that the cat1 guys have no chance. Just the nature of the competition. Maybe the same would apply here ? Just a thought.

05-10-2015, 02:52 PM
Didn't know about the cat one golfers being excluded for handicapping. Why do they do that? Doesn't make any sense for me. On the points thing at my club it's 18 points for par golf and the back nine ignored. We use v1 rather than club 2000 tho. A new nine hole course for the front nine has been graded by the SGU and certified for competition too. CSS etc for the new one produced too.

05-10-2015, 04:01 PM
Didn't know about the cat one golfers being excluded for handicapping. Why do they do that? Doesn't make any sense for me. On the points thing at my club it's 18 points for par golf and the back nine ignored. We use v1 rather than club 2000 tho. A new nine hole course for the front nine has been graded by the SGU and certified for competition too. CSS etc for the new one produced too.

Yes, all Clubs are required to obtain a certified 9 hole par and SSS rating from the SGU should they wish to hold 9 hole comps. The stroke index is also revised accordingly.

I've no idea why Category 1 golfers are excluded, they are similarly prevented from participating in the Supplementary Score system. Its victimisation I tell ye!

05-10-2015, 08:25 PM
Yes, all Clubs are required to obtain a certified 9 hole par and SSS rating from the SGU should they wish to hold 9 hole comps. The stroke index is also revised accordingly.

I've no idea why Category 1 golfers are excluded, they are similarly prevented from participating in the Supplementary Score system. Its victimisation I tell ye!
Madness GB. The name if the game is getting players out playing and getting improved.👎

13-10-2015, 06:26 AM
Well another crap season, apart from getting my record score last week by 5 shots!!!!! 47 stableford points, my mates weren't happy 😀

Funkydunc
20-10-2015, 12:51 PM

They can put scores in as of a couple of years ago, unless the system has been changed back again.

20-10-2015, 05:02 PM
They can put scores in as of a couple of years ago, unless the system has been changed back again.

The procedure for Supplementary Scores changed wef last season and did effect Category 1 golfers in so far as they can't participate between 1st March and 31st August. For the remainder of the year(s) the Handicap Authorities have graciously allowed them to submit supplementary scores (up to 3) but only if they've not managed to submit 3 scores for handicap purposes during the main golf season.

As for the 9 hole comps, then to my knowledge the poor category 1 guys have never been allowed to submit scores for handicap purposes.

Funkydunc
21-10-2015, 08:55 AM
That's poor like. I only managed 3 scores last year as my club only has Saturday medals and I can't really manage them during the summer. I don't see the problem with handing supplementary scores in, it's no different to many clubs that just have medals where you can pitch up with your mates and play.

21-10-2015, 09:07 AM
That's poor like. I only managed 3 scores last year as my club only has Saturday medals and I can't really manage them during the summer. I don't see the problem with handing supplementary scores in, it's no different to many clubs that just have medals where you can pitch up with your mates and play.

It's a mystery why Category 1 (5 handicap and under) are treated so differently to other golfers. I can, however, see a case for the elite who are scratch golfers and better as there's a huge difference between them and your average 5 handicap Club golfer.

Funkydunc
21-10-2015, 10:41 AM
Agreed. I'm lucky enough to just be in that "elite" bracket you mention but I'm not quite low enough to get into the 72 hole sgu events. Not that I would play in many to be honest. I think a lot of those guys have slightly artificial handicaps as they only play in these and the standard scratch is nearly always 2 or 3 over, which is understandable, but that means that one round in 4 under par keeps their handicap about even, whereas if they were playing most weeks in medals their h/c would begin to sneak up. Not really a gripe but more of an obersvation.

22-10-2015, 08:01 AM
Agreed. I'm lucky enough to just be in that "elite" bracket you mention but I'm not quite low enough to get into the 72 hole sgu events. Not that I would play in many to be honest. I think a lot of those guys have slightly artificial handicaps as they only play in these and the standard scratch is nearly always 2 or 3 over, which is understandable, but that means that one round in 4 under par keeps their handicap about even, whereas if they were playing most weeks in medals their h/c would begin to sneak up. Not really a gripe but more of an obersvation.
Unless your able to compete at the top end of the 72 hole events it really isn't worth it. Two 5 hour rounds on a Sat and scrape into the cut to play two 5 hr rounds on Sunday for basically nothing. Chuck in travelling and or accommodation too. If you are working that's your weekend gone and it's back to the grind. Most of the top end players don't work and are full time amateurs. Your not missing anything.

Funkydunc
22-10-2015, 02:14 PM
I know quite a few guys that do/ have done it. I know of one guy who is now 27 and hasn't done a days work in his life. All to maintain a +4 handicap at the expense of us, the guys that pay our sgu fees each year. The whole system needs looked at because I cannot think of one player who has done anything of note in the pro game since "graduating" from this sgu squad system that is supposed to prepare them for the professional game.

22-10-2015, 04:41 PM
I know quite a few guys that do/ have done it. I know of one guy who is now 27 and hasn't done a days work in his life. All to maintain a +4 handicap at the expense of us, the guys that pay our sgu fees each year. The whole system needs looked at because I cannot think of one player who has done anything of note in the pro game since "graduating" from this sgu squad system that is supposed to prepare them for the professional game.

Couldn't agree more.

Scotland doesn't have one player under the age of thirty on the full European tour and for a nation with so many golf courses and so many golfers as us it's all very disappointing.

Having said that, I've no idea what the answer is but I'm totally against the policy of the SGU offering initial financial support to Amateurs who decide to try and making a livelihood as a professional golfer. Once these guys leave the Amateur ranks then that should be it, they're no different from a plumber, a doctor or whatever.

25-10-2015, 06:12 PM
Just back from leven. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Classic links. Not too long and a good mixture of thinking mans holes and the need for length on others, clever bunkering and good greens with subtle breaks. A poor 29 points but had my usual couple of stinkers in there. I'd like another shot of it to be honest. That's me done till March I think.

31-10-2015, 04:10 PM
Played 4 times this week, handicap is down to 14.5 so playing off 15 at the moment.Monday was a scramble, 37 points on wednesday, 38 points Thursday and a whopping 44 points Friday where i hit a drive at the 15th slightly to the right just off the fairway, but both of us couldn't find my ball in the semi rough which was covered in leaves?

Good job these 3 rounds were not in any competitions, and just games with my mates. :greengrin

31-10-2015, 04:56 PM
Played 4 times this week, handicap is down to 14.5 so playing off 15 at the moment.Monday was a scramble, 37 points on wednesday, 38 points Thursday and a whopping 44 points Friday where i hit a drive at the 15th slightly to the right just off the fairway, but both of us couldn't find my ball in the semi rough which was covered in leaves?

Good job these 3 rounds were not in any competitions, and just games with my mates. :greengrin
Bandit :agree:

31-10-2015, 06:23 PM
Just back from leven. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Classic links. Not too long and a good mixture of thinking mans holes and the need for length on others, clever bunkering and good greens with subtle breaks. A poor 29 puoints but had my usual couple of stinkers in there. I'd like another shot of it to be honest. That's me done till March I think.

Yip, Leven is what I would term an old fashioned golf course which doesn't make it any less enjoyable to play. Nearby Lundin Links is another cracking course.

03-11-2015, 06:41 AM
Bandit :agree:

:greengrin Played yesterday and scored 40 points, came 2nd. Expecting another cut, but to be fair i'm playing better than 15 on a more regular occurrence these days and that is why we all play the game.

11-11-2015, 09:24 PM
Yip, Leven is what I would term an old fashioned golf course which doesn't make it any less enjoyable to play. Nearby Lundin Links is another cracking course.

My only ever hole in one was on Lundin Links. I think my card for adjacent holes was 7-1-6 :)

Remember high fiving with fellow golfers on a tee over the dyke playing Leven. Magic.

19-11-2015, 04:44 PM
It's been another very sad day for Scottish Golf with not one of our players making it through Q School, the consequence of which is a failure to secure playing rights for next seasons full European Tour.

Andrew McArthur and Jamie Mcleary did manage to qualify via the route of the Challenge Tour but the shocking/embarrassing statistic is that Scotland (the home of golf) does not have one player under the age of 30 on the full European Tour.

There's something far wrong somewhere.

19-11-2015, 07:21 PM
It's been another very sad day for Scottish Golf with not one of our players making it through Q School, the consequence of which is a failure to secure playing rights for next seasons full European Tour.

Andrew McArthur and Jamie Mcleary did manage to qualify via the route of the Challenge Tour but the shocking/embarrassing statistic is that Scotland (the home of golf) does not have one player under the age of 30 on the full European Tour.

There's something far wrong somewhere.

Why is this happening? Any thoughts?

20-11-2015, 04:25 PM
Why is this happening? Any thoughts?

No idea, It's probably a combination of a number of factors. We seem to perform reasonably well in the Amateur game (at all levels) but there seems to be a real problem when it comes to the transition to the Professional tours.

It could be a lack of commercial sponsorship, not dedicated enough, poor weather, unwillingness to travel - to name but a few.

ACLeith
21-11-2015, 06:09 AM
No idea, It's probably a combination of a number of factors. We seem to perform reasonably well in the Amateur game (at all levels) but there seems to be a real problem when it comes to the transition to the Professional tours.

It could be a lack of commercial sponsorship, not dedicated enough, poor weather, unwillingness to travel - to name but a few.

If you compare major wins with size of population from say, 2000, then the best by far in the world is Northern Ireland. Maybe it's just a "golden generation" and won't last, though success can breed success. Or are they doing something significantly better than England, Wales and Scotland?

21-11-2015, 08:44 AM
If you compare major wins with size of population from say, 2000, then the best by far in the world is Northern Ireland. Maybe it's just a "golden generation" and won't last, though success can breed success. Or are they doing something significantly better than England, Wales and Scotland?

No idea really.

I have a regular "conversation" with a member of my own club who was previously on the SGU Executive. He maintains that Scotland, as a nation, do reasonably well on the European Tour when you consider the size of our population and the number of pros we have on the tour. For my part I argue that more relevant performance indicators would be based on the number of golf courses and the number of club members/golfers who are actually playing the game.

22-11-2015, 11:24 AM
Rory's got his mojo back. Tremendous.

22-11-2015, 11:43 AM
Rory's got his mojo back. Tremendous.

The outrageous bogey putt on 17 won it for him. The professionals play a totally different game from me. I can hit a good solid 6 iron 155 yards and that's 9 iron or even wedge distance for them. Sickening I tell ye!

Chip shop Joe
22-11-2015, 12:07 PM
The outrageous bogey putt on 17 won it for him. The professionals play a totally different game from me. I can hit a good solid 6 iron 155 yards and that's 9 iron or even wedge distance for them. Sickening I tell ye!

They certainly play a different game than most of us. A guy I know has a handicap of 3 and reckons there is a greater difference between him and a tour pro and him and an 18 handicapper!

22-11-2015, 12:21 PM
They certainly play a different game than most of us. A guy I know has a handicap of 3 and reckons there is a greater difference between him and a tour pro and him and an 18 handicapper!
Of that there is no doubt. I once played with Russel Weir in his heyday and what a ball striker and putter he was. Top of the Tartan Tour for years but couldnt cut it at the level of European tour. The game has gone up several level since then in terms of quality. (a fair bit of it down to equipment to be fair)

26-04-2016, 12:50 PM
The doctor has told me i need a new knee, so to continue playing golf i have a new toy. :thumbsup:

derekHFC
26-04-2016, 01:50 PM
The doctor has told me i need a new knee, so to continue playing golf i have a new toy. :thumbsup:

Where is the beer can holder?

26-04-2016, 06:21 PM
Where is the beer can holder?

Dont worry, a drinks holder will be fitted in the next few days. :wink:

14-10-2016, 07:07 AM
That is the summer season finished, and 2 mondays ago i hit 42 points which brought my handicap down to 11.5.

I had set a target of single figures this season, but failed. Still think i would have made it had i not been too busy at work.

The winter league started last monday and you would think i was a 24 handicap players, came in with 26 points??????

Monday hopefully will be better. :greengrin

14-10-2016, 06:02 PM
Played all season equally distributed between home and away. Finished with exactly the same actual handicap I started with. Only thing of note I did was a podium finish in the Lothians Senior Championship. Been out the last three weeks with injury. Gutted as I was due to peg it up at Archerfield tomorrow.

15-10-2016, 08:20 AM
Disappointing year for me. Didn't strike the ball well, putted poorly and generally my game was not as tight as it usually is. This all resulted in an increase of 0.8 in my handicap over the season. I played 23 competitive rounds which is low for me - maybe a sure sign I'm getting aulder.

I've recently had a couple of lessons so I now know exactly where my swing flaws are. I also plan to lose a stone over the winter and come next April I'll be raring to go again.

Bring it on!

15-10-2016, 09:09 AM
Didn't play many medals this year so handicap stays the same.

Overall game is not great. Keep finding trouble off the tee and putting has been poor. Investing in lessons is probably the next step for me.

Still winter doesn't stop me playing. Regular Saturday game in almost any weather is still a better option than being dragged round shops. :greengrin

15-10-2016, 12:23 PM
Didn't play many medals this year so handicap stays the same.

Overall game is not great. Keep finding trouble off the tee and putting has been poor. Investing in lessons is probably the next step for me.

Still winter doesn't stop me playing. Regular Saturday game in almost any weather is still a better option than being dragged round shops. :greengrin

I try to keep things ticking over by making a weekly visit to the driving range and the occasional trip down to the East Lothian courses. We had a good fourball at Dunbar yesterday, blustery at times but very enjoyable all the same.

16-10-2016, 06:16 AM
Played 3 comp rounds to keep my handicap and actually got cut. Don't work in winter so going to try and get out to Turnhouse couple times a week to keep the swing going