View Full Version : Worst 1970/80's player pic

18-03-2015, 05:03 PM
Even at the age of 10 when I was buying Panini stickers in 1978 I realised that some of the mughsots they used were pretty uncomplimentary…so come on let's have a bit of an internet trawl and come up with the best two unflattering posed player pics from the 70' and 80's…post one Hibs player and one non-Hibs player…and they must be posed shots..not action shots…

then I want the coolest

here is my offering

Des Bremner looking like an utter nutter

http://files.stv.tv/imagebase/92/623x349/92321-des-bremner-was-a-hibs-star-before-going-on-to-lift-the-european-cup-with-aston-villa.jpg

Peter Boyle of Clyde
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-wqR3t_4mRek/UQKEmR9QsQI/AAAAAAAAiTg/v1frJc-vc9w/s1600/Peter+BOYLE+-+Clyde.png

and the coolest by far….

Gilber Gress…Coach of Strasbourg in the late 1970's

http://www.clear-signal.com/tumblr/GilberGress.jpg

18-03-2015, 07:05 PM
Oh Come on you boring lot that picture of Gilbert is awesome...

18-03-2015, 07:10 PM
There is an absoloute howler of a picture of David moyes out there when he was at possibly Dunfermline.

18-03-2015, 07:14 PM
I collected panini stickers in the early 80s, I have none of them left now. I seem to remember Mo Johnstons patrick thistle photo being rather unflattering.

I agree the photo of Gilbert is a classic, I think he may have been a Peter Sellers fan, as I have a photo of him somewhere with a similar jersey and glasses too :greengrin

18-03-2015, 07:16 PM
http://tapatalk.imageshack.com/v2/15/03/18/539b63f4f7d531ab3ac4367f3c6b0c21.jpg

Found it!

18-03-2015, 07:35 PM
http://tapatalk.imageshack.com/v2/15/03/18/539b63f4f7d531ab3ac4367f3c6b0c21.jpg

Found it!

Jeezo - he's definitely improved with age.

scuttle
18-03-2015, 07:40 PM
Jeezo - he's definitely improved with age.

Reminds me of a hammerhead shark

18-03-2015, 07:45 PM
Steve Fulton c1997

http://static1.squarespace.com/static/52875bf0e4b0b40559bc2145/53bc4abfe4b044938a07ce7c/53bc50c4e4b0f56535625772/1404850381274/sloth-goonies-actor-8axq9xgd-e1392502295660.jpg

18-03-2015, 07:55 PM
Willie pettigrew took some belting photos back in the day

18-03-2015, 08:15 PM
John Robertson (yaks)..1985 ....14559

18-03-2015, 08:20 PM
https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQIByvjXMO-0JTEd7ogdEi_tz9ikVGEaPeKIkZF90HXkmPbtRhzuw

18-03-2015, 08:29 PM
http://www.whoateallthepies.tv/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/wenger.jpg (http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&frm=1&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CAcQjRw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.whoateallthepies.tv%2Flists%2 F143079%2Fthe-friday-flashback-20-brilliant-vintage-panini-football-stickers-vol-6.html&ei=De4JVavjMYWU7QaA4oCQBg&psig=AFQjCNHGN8AKqPOsxT4a1GPyOlQtPId7hQ&ust=1426800488209579)

18-03-2015, 09:03 PM
Willie pettigrew took some belting photos back in the day

Yes you could put a whole Album together of classic Pettigrew stickers…not surprisingly the one he looks best in is when he ended up on a double sticker with Davie Dodds, but anyone would look normal next top him. Nice to see he saves the worst for when he was playing for Hearts.

http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/NTQ1WDQxNw==/z/6E4AAOxyo4lRlMY8/$T2eC16JHJH8E9qSEUgvDBRlMY8SuL!~~60_35.JPG http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/MTAyNFg3NDM=/$(KGrHqR,!pgE-vtFZev8BP4IlpWz0!~~60_35.JPG http://thumbs3.ebaystatic.com/d/l225/m/muk7kl3XKIU4sJCzqU1PDaA.jpg
http://www.londonhearts.com/images/ianc/images/Willie%20Pettigrew.jpg http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/NDI4WDU0Nw==/$T2eC16NHJG!E9nm3o)!uBQ8cb1Ho)w~~60_35.JPG

18-03-2015, 09:15 PM
Gilbert Gress wasn't a one pic wonder either, although perhaps nothing beats the sticker image, some of these are classic

http://bar-storys.ch/wp-content/uploads/GRESS-1979-Panini-Strasbourg.jpeg http://f.blick.ch/img/aktuell/origs1731059/5685565718-w644-h429/Gilbert-Gress.jpg
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/5/5e/Gilbert_Gress_and_Raymond_Domenech,_1980.jpg/1024px-Gilbert_Gress_and_Raymond_Domenech,_1980.jpg

18-03-2015, 09:17 PM
14561 ...Marinello ...

18-03-2015, 09:19 PM
14562 and 14563

7 Hills
18-03-2015, 09:20 PM
and the coolest by far….

Gilber Gress…Coach of Strasbourg in the late 1970's

http://www.clear-signal.com/tumblr/GilberGress.jpg[/QUOTE]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A8gO0Z818j4

Prof. Shaggy
18-03-2015, 09:21 PM
Yes you could put a whole Album together of classic Pettigrew stickers…not surprisingly the one he looks best in is when he ended up on a double sticker with Davie Dodds, but anyone would look normal next top him. Nice to see he saves the worst for when he was playing for Hearts.

That is the classic Hearts look, is it not?:greengrin

Tinribs
18-03-2015, 09:28 PM
Gilbert Gress wasn't a one pic wonder either, although perhaps nothing beats the sticker image, some of these are classic

http://bar-storys.ch/wp-content/uploads/GRESS-1979-Panini-Strasbourg.jpeg http://f.blick.ch/img/aktuell/origs1731059/5685565718-w644-h429/Gilbert-Gress.jpg
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/5/5e/Gilbert_Gress_and_Raymond_Domenech,_1980.jpg/1024px-Gilbert_Gress_and_Raymond_Domenech,_1980.jpg

That last one, in the fur coat? Even George Best could not have made it look better, proper class :top marks

18-03-2015, 09:51 PM
14562 and 14563

I think Doddy has a large framed photo of the one on the left above his bed.

18-03-2015, 10:00 PM

I was thinking much the same myself. Signed and sealed with a kiss. :greengrin

19-03-2015, 12:15 AM
14562 and 14563

I was thinking much the same myself. Signed and sealed with a kiss. :greengrin

TBH, guys, I was just thinking that I would have paid good money to see Terry Hurlock do the business on Fat Joe back in the day.

Still would, actually.

Or Norman Hunter.

Or Nobby Stiles.

Or Chopper Harris.

Or Ian Storey.

Or all five of them at the same time .... :devil:

19-03-2015, 12:28 AM
https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQIByvjXMO-0JTEd7ogdEi_tz9ikVGEaPeKIkZF90HXkmPbtRhzuw

Apparently they considered using BB's neb as an emergency ski jump in the Winter Olympics.

19-03-2015, 12:29 AM
If he doesn't I will personally frame a picture of wee Joe for over his bed. I mean oor Doddie is too old for pictures of Blondie now anyway...... :greengrin

19-03-2015, 12:34 AM
St Johnstone used to have a left back called Coburn in the sixties.

He was so ugly that when he embarked on a run down the wing - which thankfully wasn't often - the front row of the old North Enclosure would automatically sway back.

He had - as one of the many wonderful terracing wags of the time put it - a face "only a mother could love". :wink:

19-03-2015, 05:32 AM
http://www.sportsworldcards.com/ekmps/shops/sportsworld/images/hibernian-kevin-mckee-iain-munro-512a-b-panini-football-86-rare-trading-sticker-35932-p.jpg

19-03-2015, 08:07 AM
http://www.whoateallthepies.tv/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/vanosenbruggen.jpghttp://www.whoateallthepies.tv/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/dempsey.jpg

19-03-2015, 08:14 AM
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQF9-Pk20cClGMJ0V0U66vTWpB4x67VzhayzmSzlpXcTf6to0Mx http://c3.thejournal.ie/media/2014/02/pellegrini-sticker-2-387x500.png

19-03-2015, 09:23 AM
If he doesn't I will personally frame a picture of wee Joe for over his bed. I mean oor Doddie is too old for pictures of Blondie now anyway...... :greengrin

Blondie? is that what passes for glamour these days? No thank you.

I'm auld, but I'm no deid.

But I have good taste.

19-03-2015, 09:47 AM
https://c1.staticflickr.com/9/8338/8216625745_61ed86868b.jpg

Conrad Gray
19-03-2015, 09:50 AM
W

19-03-2015, 09:53 AM

That used to be our BB strip.

19-03-2015, 10:07 AM

Conrad Gray
19-03-2015, 10:22 AM

Conrad Gray
19-03-2015, 10:28 AM
A few favourites from the archive...............

ATTACH=CONFIG]14571[/ATTACH]145721457314574

Conrad Gray
19-03-2015, 10:34 AM

19-03-2015, 12:21 PM

You'de think I'd be old enough to mind when 70s tennis playboy, Lithuanian/American Vitus Gerulaitis turned out for them - fair play, they clearly are the big team to be able to attract such a name while we had to make-do wi the likes of George Best!!!

19-03-2015, 03:15 PM

That looks like Richard Branson after one balloon flight too many

19-03-2015, 05:24 PM
Gorgeous Pat

19-03-2015, 05:40 PM
That's Sid from Iceage the movie 😁😁

Found it![/QUOTE]

19-03-2015, 06:12 PM

Wait a minute........we're all missing the real story here. When did Jocky Scott play alongside Gress?

Teckle

The Pointer
19-03-2015, 06:25 PM
Wait a minute........we're all missing the real story here. When did Jocky Scott play alongside Gress?

Teckle

Gress. Is he a Dundee boy, eh?

19-03-2015, 06:47 PM

Eric Carruthers, if I am not mistaken

19-03-2015, 06:49 PM

:agree: A first-class phanny.

19-03-2015, 06:52 PM
http://img40.imagevenue.com/loc73/th_529611691_10_122_73lo.jpg (http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&frm=1&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CAcQjRw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.wfcforums.com%2Fshowthread.ph p%3F49862-Panini-Stickers&ei=5igLVea-GuXD7gblo4CoBw&bvm=bv.88528373,d.ZGU&psig=AFQjCNH4qgkIDxzF8SKzMWcdDjKfjPjZbg&ust=1426881117115174)

19-03-2015, 06:53 PM
https://encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSs81DtPM0IbkzFBREITBAGNcKRFey_U wpi8og13rS1VMZ4ho-R

19-03-2015, 06:55 PM
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRuKHL18tLwzcomeX7tRmv1o4ofYLzjP kj9Y5Ua7t3WoFdo0nFXBg

19-03-2015, 06:55 PM
:agree: A first-class phanny.

Indeed :greengrin

19-03-2015, 06:56 PM
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQF9-Pk20cClGMJ0V0U66vTWpB4x67VzhayzmSzlpXcTf6to0Mx

19-03-2015, 06:56 PM
https://encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSs81DtPM0IbkzFBREITBAGNcKRFey_U wpi8og13rS1VMZ4ho-R

Holy **** ha ha. Looks like Callum Milne a wee bit.

19-03-2015, 06:59 PM
Another first class phanny

https://encrypted-tbn2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcR-M6kjKjjZkSw45gRZToIjlSGerClHoDsENAyrS_qHBoyBK5rF

19-03-2015, 07:01 PM
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcT7ZIST2SmIh8KCDlJoQchgGrppoK8T9 GH8TUmKg9otJpgwF5AQ

19-03-2015, 07:04 PM
Steve Fulton c1997 J

Ha ha. Here's one of him as a kid. No much better tbh. :-)

19-03-2015, 07:14 PM

19-03-2015, 07:20 PM
handsome guy.. :wink:

19-03-2015, 07:21 PM

19-03-2015, 07:37 PM

19-03-2015, 07:42 PM

That strip looks brown.

19-03-2015, 07:52 PM

100% fake. Photoshopped.

19-03-2015, 07:53 PM
Gress. Is he a Dundee boy, eh?

I see what you did not there. :greengrin

19-03-2015, 08:03 PM
100% fake. Photoshopped.

:agree: Very well done though.

19-03-2015, 08:21 PM
:agree: Very well done though.

:agree: It's a cracker

19-03-2015, 08:41 PM

How do you make photos bigger?

Flanny boy
19-03-2015, 09:13 PM
Think our bb strip was this except blue instead of moroon

wpj
19-03-2015, 09:17 PM

Are you sure you want to?

19-03-2015, 09:36 PM
Are you sure you want to?

Haha...Henry is so handsome ;)

19-03-2015, 10:29 PM
Hearts 79/80 - Surely the most hackett squad ever. In the World.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/aberdeenfc/sets/72157608570681849/

Wont allow a direct pic upload...and don't worry about the word 'aberdeen' in the URL - it is Scotland's no1 Plug Club!

19-03-2015, 10:47 PM
Hearts 79/80 - Surely the most hackett squad ever. In the World.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/aberdeenfc/sets/72157608570681849/

Wont allow a direct pic upload...and don't worry about the word 'aberdeen' in the URL - it is Scotland's no1 Plug Club!

Willie Ormond as manager too...

Footballers all looked old in the 70s. Apart from 'Willie' Kidd who must've aged 10 years every 12 months judging by that pic and how he looked in their glorious '85-'86 'Mita' season...

19-03-2015, 11:08 PM

Footballers all looked old in the 70s. Apart from 'Willie' Kidd who must've aged 10 years every 12 months judging by that pic and how he looked in their glorious '85-'86 'Mita' season...

Being fair I think most folks looked old in the 70s...although that Willie Kidd character also manages to look very vacant as well.
Boabby The Apprentice has the look of someone quite special and let's no mention Willie Gibson and Cammy Fraser. Jesus, that's a real dull yin fur yer eyes!

19-03-2015, 11:10 PM
http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-JkFJuf3TODk/UHQV7934MqI/AAAAAAAAAG0/1es7EAu0YTE/s1600/albertkidd.bmp (http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&frm=1&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CAcQjRw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fthat1980ssportsblog.blogspot.com% 2F2012%2F10%2Ffamous-for-five-minutes-albert-kidd.html&ei=YGULVbHiBIPJPJ6RgdgB&bvm=bv.88528373,d.ZWU&psig=AFQjCNHzqCOvFLtmQMNu1Ro1uLBx4rKh3g&ust=1426896553708533)

19-03-2015, 11:10 PM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/webimage/1.3668800.1421919053!/image/2507180193.jpg (http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&frm=1&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CAcQjRw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.edinburghnews.scotsman.com%2F sport%2Ffootball%2Fhearts%2Fgary-mackay-hopes-hearts-break-his-record-1-3668801&ei=e2ULVYfUMInOOvbzgZgO&bvm=bv.88528373,d.ZWU&psig=AFQjCNHzqCOvFLtmQMNu1Ro1uLBx4rKh3g&ust=1426896553708533)

19-03-2015, 11:30 PM
Being fair I think most folks looked old in the 70s...although that Willie Kidd character also manages to look very vacant as well.
Boabby The Apprentice has the look of someone quite special and let's no mention Willie Gibson and Cammy Fraser. Jesus, that's a real dull yin fur yer eyes!

Yes. Diego Costa is a bit of a throwback to the '70s footballer. Looks about 45 and likes a tear up...

Mal Robertson in that rogues gallery looks like the sort youd see on a fancy dress stag do - wig and false 'tache.

He played a few minutes for us too if I'm not mistaken...

20-03-2015, 12:03 AM
How has it taken until page 3 for this bad boy to put in an appearance?

20-03-2015, 04:29 AM

I think you'll find it is Dr Zaius.

20-03-2015, 05:38 AM

This explains a lot, because there was a guy called Walter who looked exactly like him that I used to see standing at the upstairs bar in the Conan Doyle (on his todd) downing loads of pints nearly every Friday night during the late 80s.

20-03-2015, 06:52 AM
Great image of Levein below, desperately trying to persuade his team that 5-5-0 is the future and that they shouldn't be crossing the halfway line…whilst also imitating a tea pot.

http://thumbs3.ebaystatic.com/d/l225/m/mCkAA17ho61mK2OlOAs-14g.jpg

Don't think he's been mentioned yet, but Henry smith was no oil painting and that goalie top is bouffing

http://thumbs1.picclick.com/d/l400/pict/181387251760_/PANINI-FOOTBALL-90-399-HEART-OF-MIDLOTHIAN-HENRY-SMITH.jpg

Not scottish football related, but would you want to live next door to this man...

http://www.whoateallthepies.tv/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/holden.jpg

leithsansiro
20-03-2015, 09:04 AM
http://www.whoateallthepies.tv/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/dempsey.jpg

To be fair, Dempsey looks more like he should be in a rock band than starting up front. I'd be happy looking like that!

20-03-2015, 09:13 AM
There was an edition of Elf Freunde (german football magazine) on this very subject recently and they included a photo of our very own Des Bremner

20-03-2015, 09:53 AM

Like this http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/MTAyNFg3MzM=/z/-5QAAOxy63FS9PD7/$_35.JPG

Is that the most unhelpful answer possible ?

20-03-2015, 09:55 AM
http://www.whoateallthepies.tv/wp-content/uploads/2012/09/01-Gerry-GOW-panini-Bristol-City.png

http://www.whoateallthepies.tv/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/Kevin-Keelan.jpg

20-03-2015, 10:03 AM
Hibs Managers hall of fame..(and shame)

http://www.sportsworldcards.com/ekmps/shops/sportsworld/images/bolton-wanderers-alan-stubbs-511-merlin-premier-league-96-collectable-football-sticker-70741-p.jpg http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/NTY3WDQ2MQ==/z/0HoAAOSwqxdTqs9t/$_35.JPG http://thumbs2.ebaystatic.com/d/l225/m/mDMa9r8_7_r340IQRARLyfQ.jpg

http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/ODI4WDY5Ng==/$T2eC16VHJGYE9nooiL8dBQF6dbt8rw~~60_35.JPG http://www.sportsworldcards.com/ekmps/shops/sportsworld/images/hibernian-john-collins-419-panini-football-90-football-trading-sticker-28165-p.jpg
http://www.sportsworldcards.com/ekmps/shops/sportsworld/images/ipswich-town-terry-butcher-107-panini-football-86-rare-trading-sticker-36001-p.jpg http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/NTYxWDQ1Ng==/z/wakAAOxyi-ZTcQt5/$_35.JPG

20-03-2015, 11:55 AM
Can't get enough of this thread. And Butcher with Orwell on his strip is somehow surreally perfect.

20-03-2015, 11:58 AM
Like this http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/MTAyNFg3MzM=/z/-5QAAOxy63FS9PD7/$_35.JPG

Is that the most unhelpful answer possible ?

Yes!! That's even uglier by the way...scary!

20-03-2015, 12:45 PM
Not a football card photo..but I absolutely love this team pick of Blackpool in 1972.. Our very own Budgie Burridge at the start of his career..being the nutter we all know and love…just can't keep still for the photo !! :greengrin

http://i46.tinypic.com/macncn.jpg

20-03-2015, 07:21 PM
http://www.whoateallthepies.tv/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/dempsey.jpg https://encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSobMRChVF3oYpShJp31Q6DVicz-rMpqmvH8ZzCVzKH3ASMKAti He's not aged