View Full Version : Nessie

17-03-2015, 05:11 PM
Loch Ness Monster: Could this amazing new footage captured by a tourist be Nessie?

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/weird-news/loch-ness-monster-could-amazing-5348410

Link fixed

Stranraer
17-03-2015, 09:58 PM
Myth / fantasy / someone on acid / photoshop Take your pic.

Nessie doesn't exist.

17-03-2015, 10:25 PM
Myth / fantasy / someone on acid / photoshop Take your pic.

Nessie doesn't exist.

You are a really really boring person.

18-03-2015, 07:03 AM

Perhaps, but he's right.

18-03-2015, 07:25 AM
Perhaps, but he's right.

Nope. He's boringly wrong.

Nessie lives. :agree:

18-03-2015, 07:44 AM

I'm not sure about his views on other things but I've never equated belief in a mythical monster with being an interesting person.

18-03-2015, 07:53 AM
I'm not sure about his views on other things but I've never equated belief in a mythical monster with being an interesting person.
That's because you've never met a true believer :greengrin

18-03-2015, 12:39 PM
All boring and take life too seriously :greengrin

18-03-2015, 04:38 PM
Does the monster exist? Yes, I married it.

18-03-2015, 04:54 PM
I'm remaining open minded until I see a link that works.

Stranraer
18-03-2015, 06:14 PM

Thank you.

I' don't mind being called boring for not believing in a myth

18-03-2015, 07:10 PM
Nessie doesn't exist but Santa does FACT END OF

18-03-2015, 07:55 PM
Nessie doesn't exist but Santa does FACT END OF

Nessie ate Santa, ya radge.

18-03-2015, 07:57 PM
Nessie ate Santa, ya radge.

We'll soon see come 25th December!

18-03-2015, 09:14 PM
Thank you.

I' don't mind being called boring for not believing in a myth

Haha. Some folk just don't get it.

18-03-2015, 09:23 PM
We'll soon see come 25th December!

You'll sheite yourself when a sea monster comes down your chimney!

18-03-2015, 10:24 PM
Perhaps, but he's right.

Prove it.

18-03-2015, 11:00 PM
Only way to settle this is to drain the lake and if at the bottom we find a diplodocus flailing around in the mud, then we know what's been happening.

19-03-2015, 07:27 AM
Only way to settle this is to drain the lake and if at the bottom we find a diplodocus flailing around in the mud, then we know what's been happening.

Total pendant twat alert....

...it's not a lake it's a loch.

19-03-2015, 07:29 AM
Yay for Nessie, she lives !

19-03-2015, 08:45 AM
I'm remaining open minded until I see a link that works.

Link fixed Peter

What do you think:cb

19-03-2015, 09:40 AM

And supposing the thing DID exist, it wouldn't be a diplodocus (land animal) - it would be something like a plesiosaur.

Diplodocus (not Nessie):

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ3gwF-BmhjM_ao9ZlPTRzG6G1LyBT9rBDfjxThbILhzulrKU5r

Plesiosaur (not Nessie either because there ain't no Nessie and never has been but if there were a Nessie this is probably what it would look like):

https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQQcQXtMAfMZhnT9ew5cBziTh_Wi6TSh EV_4t-FP0v_m1Rj4lWgVQ

People should get their delusions sorted out.

And as you say - there's only one 'lake' in Scotland - the Lake of Menteith. All the rest are lochs.

I thought all Scots knew that. :devil:

19-03-2015, 02:26 PM
And the difference between a lake and a loch is what? Mere semantics I assume?

19-03-2015, 02:32 PM
And the difference between a lake and a loch is what? Mere semantics I assume?

In Scotland all but the Lake of Menteith are lochs. That's what they're called in the original language - Gaelic. And that's what they're called in English, too. Check the OS maps.

Loch Ness isn't a lake - it's a loch. Always has been.#

And that's loch, not 'lock' the way most English pronounce it. Applied to a body of water, a 'lock' is a section of a canal.

Get used to it.

Stranraer
19-03-2015, 03:13 PM
The burden of proof is on those who believes that a monster exists in Loch Ness, there is no evidence therefore I do not believe it.

Bloody hell what a bore I am :wink:

19-03-2015, 03:20 PM
Link fixed Peter

What do you think:cb

I believe.

19-03-2015, 06:00 PM
The burden of proof is on those who believes that a monster exists in Loch Ness, there is no evidence therefore I do not believe it.

Bloody hell what a bore I am :wink:

A dinosaur-type monster living in Loch Ness has to be EITHER a survivor from the early Jurassic period and therefore about 200 million years old, or the offspring of a mummy monster and a daddy monster who in turn must have been the offspring of mummy and daddy monsters who in turn must have been the offspring ....

And so on.

So where are all those monster fore-bears? And their monster remains?

Maybe they breed secretly in the Northern Pacific Ocean, and the nasty Japanese whaler-people are harpooning them and turning them into monster-sushi?

I once met a man who saw the monster clearly, 20 feet away, in broad daylight.

Or so he said.

But nowadays he's very happy in his little rubber room.

HibsMax
19-03-2015, 06:30 PM
A dinosaur-type monster living in Loch Ness has to be EITHER a survivor from the early Jurassic period and therefore about 200 million years old, or the offspring of a mummy monster and a daddy monster who in turn must have been the offspring of mummy and daddy monsters who in turn must have been the offspring ....

And so on.

So where are all those monster fore-bears? And their monster remains?

Maybe they breed secretly in the Northern Pacific Ocean, and the nasty Japanese whaler-people are harpooning them and turning them into monster-sushi?

I once met a man who saw the monster clearly, 20 feet away, in broad daylight.

Or so he said.

But nowadays he's very happy in his little rubber room.
This. Thanks for saving me some typing. :)

Stranraer
19-03-2015, 08:17 PM
People really do believe some tripe when there is no evidence and there have been several half hearted attempts at hoaxes.

But if you have faith that he exists, keep telling yourselves that after all, what harm can it do?

19-03-2015, 08:53 PM
People really do believe some tripe when there is no evidence and there have been several half hearted attempts at hoaxes.

But if you have faith that he exists, keep telling yourselves that after all, what harm can it do?

Faith consists in believing when it is beyond the power of reason to believe.

19-03-2015, 10:52 PM
Couldn't get the bloody video to work but here's my take on it.

The legend has been around for XX amount of years and there's still no hard evidence to prove anything exists. Now I love all this stuff like legends, ufos, aliens, ghosts and spectors and so on but it's just a legend at the moment, that's what the Loch Ness monster is. It's widely believed to be a giant sturgeon that's in the loch but again there's no hard evidence to prove it.

Id love to see a ufo or alien just so I could say "I knew I was right" they do exist but what are the chances? :greengrin

19-03-2015, 11:34 PM
Couldn't get the bloody video to work but here's my take on it.

The legend has been around for XX amount of years and there's still no hard evidence to prove anything exists. Now I love all this stuff like legends, ufos, aliens, ghosts and spectors and so on but it's just a legend at the moment, that's what the Loch Ness monster is. It's widely believed to be a giant sturgeon that's in the loch but again there's no hard evidence to prove it.

Id love to see a ufo or alien just so I could say "I knew I was right" they do exist but what are the chances? :greengrin

Well it's convinced me. :agree:

20-03-2015, 12:47 AM
Bigfoot was ragin' that Nessie was getting the attention for being worlds top myth monster so came over and done him in that's why he's never seen any more...

In seriousness I also like to believe in myths, aliens etc. Whenever I'm home at my parents I always find myself on the Documentaries section watching programmes like Finding Bigfoot, UFO Files etc. Love to think it's true despite the fact they never find anything but I'll keep believing.

20-03-2015, 08:16 AM
The tourist boards don't want Nessie to be real. If she is then she's bound to die or be caught. If that happens there will be no monster in the loch and the tourists won't come anymore. If it's a myth then ironically Nessie will 'live' forever.
Similar situation with all other tourist attracting myths.

20-03-2015, 09:16 AM
Bigfoot was ragin' that Nessie was getting the attention for being worlds top myth monster so came over and done him in that's why he's never seen any more...

In seriousness I also like to believe in myths, aliens etc. Whenever I'm home at my parents I always find myself on the Documentaries section watching programmes like Finding Bigfoot, UFO Files etc. Love to think it's true despite the fact they never find anything but I'll keep believing.

I watch those as well. Always so near but so far when it comes to hard evidence.

Newry Hibs
20-03-2015, 10:10 AM

I hope answers Steakboch's post.

20-03-2015, 10:19 AM
The tourist boards don't want Nessie to be real. If she is then she's bound to die or be caught. If that happens there will be no monster in the loch and the tourists won't come anymore. If it's a myth then ironically Nessie will 'live' forever.
Similar situation with all other tourist attracting myths.

Is that why we get so many ST renewals every year? Will they drop off once we regain the SC? :greengrin

20-03-2015, 03:00 PM
Faith consists in believing when it is beyond the power of reason to believe.

On this note, I'd like to make people aware that the church of nessie is extremely offended by some posts on this thread.

...and those cartoons of nessie doing gay things will be avenged.

20-03-2015, 03:56 PM
In Scotland all but the Lake of Menteith are lochs. That's what they're called in the original language - Gaelic. And that's what they're called in English, too. Check the OS maps. Loch Ness isn't a lake - it's a loch. Always has been.# And that's loch, not 'lock' the way most English pronounce it. Applied to a body of water, a 'lock' is a section of a canal. Get used to it.

So indeed there is no difference between a lake and a loch rather than the original language used to describe them.

I wonder why we have one lake though?

20-03-2015, 04:33 PM
So indeed there is no difference between a lake and a loch rather than the original language used to describe them.

I wonder why we have one lake though?

There's actually several bodies of water in Scotland called lakes. A few man made and a sea bay.

The name may come from a mistransaltion by Dutch cartographers in the 1500s. The Scots word 'laigh' which means low place was used and they transalted that as lake. Another theory is that it the name was changed after John Menteith betrayed William Wallace and the loch was renamed to isolate it due to it's association with a Scottish traitor. Even then it was known as the 'Loch of Monteath' well into the 19th century. Again the chnage is likely due to a Victorian mistranslation of the word 'laigh' which probably referred to the land around the loch as opposed to the water itself.

20-03-2015, 05:50 PM
From childhood holidays, I seem to remember a Lake Manxman in Kirkcudbrightshire.

20-03-2015, 05:52 PM

Nessie is a she my non believing friend :wink:

20-03-2015, 10:37 PM
There's actually several bodies of water in Scotland called lakes. A few man made and a sea bay. The name may come from a mistransaltion by Dutch cartographers in the 1500s. The Scots word 'laigh' which means low place was used and they transalted that as lake. Another theory is that it the name was changed after John Menteith betrayed William Wallace and the loch was renamed to isolate it due to it's association with a Scottish traitor. Even then it was known as the 'Loch of Monteath' well into the 19th century. Again the chnage is likely due to a Victorian mistranslation of the word 'laigh' which probably referred to the land around the loch as opposed to the water itself.

Interesting stuff, cheers PB!

So the lake was once a loch which may well once have been a laigh but not before it was a loch....;-)

21-03-2015, 12:46 AM
There's actually several bodies of water in Scotland called lakes. A few man made and a sea bay.

The name may come from a mistransaltion by Dutch cartographers in the 1500s. The Scots word 'laigh' which means low place was used and they transalted that as lake. Another theory is that it the name was changed after John Menteith betrayed William Wallace and the loch was renamed to isolate it due to it's association with a Scottish traitor. Even then it was known as the 'Loch of Monteath' well into the 19th century. Again the chnage is likely due to a Victorian mistranslation of the word 'laigh' which probably referred to the land around the loch as opposed to the water itself.

The lake of menteith is the only one I can can think of.

21-03-2015, 06:32 AM
The lake of menteith is the only one I can can think of.

Pressmennan Lake
Raith Lake
Manxmans Lake

That's the 3 I can remember but there are others. They are all small and man made but names lakes nonethless.

22-03-2015, 12:28 AM
Pressmennan Lake
Raith Lake
Manxmans Lake

That's the 3 I can remember but there are others. They are all small and man made but names lakes nonethless.

How did I forget Raith lake! I've fished it before. :greengrin

22-03-2015, 03:12 AM
So have I - it'd be good if they put some bloody fish in the place.

22-03-2015, 10:29 AM
So have I - it'd be good if they put some bloody fish in the place.

Yes I recall drawing a blank that day I was there!

22-03-2015, 10:32 AM
Loch Ness Monster: Could this amazing new footage captured by a tourist be Nessie?

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/weird-news/loch-ness-monster-could-amazing-5348410

Link fixed

Just watched it on pc, Proves nothing, loady pish.

23-03-2015, 07:35 PM

Pressmennan Lake
Raith Lake
Manxmans Lake

Very interesting. i didn't know any of that. One lives and learns. Thanks, guys.

Further information: http://www.rampantscotland.com/know/blknow_lakes.htm