View Full Version : Hibs GIRUY to Celtic on Twitter re St. Patrick's Day

17-03-2015, 02:31 PM
Well done @HibsOfficial!

@HibsOfficial: Happy #StPatricksDay from the club formed by the congregants of St Patrick's Church, Cowgate, Edinburgh in 1875. Irish name, Scottish club

17-03-2015, 02:35 PM
Well said. I heard the castle was going to be bathed in green lights today/this evening. Any pics ?

17-03-2015, 02:36 PM
Well done @HibsOfficial!

@HibsOfficial: Happy #StPatricksDay from the club formed by the congregants of St Patrick's Church, Cowgate, Edinburgh in 1875. Irish name, Scottish club

Celtic Fans are ****ing seething mate :faf:

17-03-2015, 02:39 PM
Celtic Fans are ****ing seething mate :faf:

In what way? Any examples?

17-03-2015, 02:42 PM
In what way? Any examples?

https://twitter.com/HibsOfficial/status/577784976961331200

Check out the replies.

17-03-2015, 02:54 PM
Well done @HibsOfficial!

What have they said that's wrong:confused:

17-03-2015, 02:54 PM
Why would Celtic fans even pay any attention?

17-03-2015, 03:00 PM

Who knows?
They're an utterly detestable mob.
And I am happy Hibs have wound them up

17-03-2015, 03:05 PM
Hibs tweeted this on Sunday before the League Cup Final

@HibsOfficial: Good luck to two clubs, whose formation was inspired by #Hibs in today's #LeagueCupFinal Remember #Hibs are back at Hampden in April!

17-03-2015, 03:06 PM
Sold out, soup takers, forgotten your roots.....

Nope, just not obsessed with awaeped view of history to suit a commercial agenda.

17-03-2015, 03:12 PM
Is this the Club actually saying these things?

If so, am I alone in thinking that such stuff should be beneath us? It seems a bit petty to me.

17-03-2015, 03:24 PM

If so, am I alone in thinking that such stuff should be beneath us? It seems a bit petty to me.

It's the right side of the line for me. Slightly tongue-in-cheek but no more.

17-03-2015, 03:31 PM
Pretty good Hibs ... not a word of a lie in any of their post. If it winds up the sellik then good.

17-03-2015, 04:15 PM
If it wisnae for the Hibees you'd be huns...

Guaranteed seethe :na na:

17-03-2015, 04:36 PM

Don't see the club is doing anything wrong. If Celtic fans feel it's somehow aimed at them then that's there own mentality showing through. It's a matter of fact, Hibs Scottish club formed by Irishmen and have an Irish name.

17-03-2015, 04:39 PM
Surely celtc can't be getting their knickers in a twist over the correct use and application of a name.

Hibs History
17-03-2015, 05:02 PM
Sold out, soup takers, forgotten your roots.....

Nope, just not obsessed with awaeped view of history to suit a commercial agenda.

What the frig is a soup taker?

Apologies if this is offensive but it's a new one on me!

17-03-2015, 05:09 PM

I totally agree.

We need 100% commitment to the football side of the business and let's leave it at that.

hibbybrian
17-03-2015, 05:18 PM

I think it's a reference to the famine time when apparently there were soup kitchens set up by the "British Establishment" for the local populace - but only if they dropped the O' from their surname i.e. O'Neill to Neill, hence an Anglicisation of the Irish Identity.

hibbytam
17-03-2015, 05:22 PM

As everything that comes from both sides of Glasgow, it comes from a skewed religious nonsense. In this case it's from poor, starving Catholics who were encouraged to convert to Protestantism in return for soup.

17-03-2015, 05:30 PM

because they are obsessed, it's like they think they own some kind of copyright that means that only THEY can claim irish roots and celebrate, bunch of unwashed munters

17-03-2015, 05:37 PM

I totally agree.

We need 100% commitment to the football side of the business and let's leave it at that.

Yes why is the Twitter account poster not training the players?!?!?!

17-03-2015, 05:39 PM

It's a term used to describe Catholics who took meals from Protestant soup kitchens during the Irish famine. Many were encouraged to, and did, convert when receiving soup and bread.

Edit: Just noticed this was already answered.

17-03-2015, 05:40 PM
Yes why is the Twitter account poster not training the players?!?!?!

Haha I was thinking something similar.

Chill out a bit

17-03-2015, 05:40 PM
I don't actually see anything in the comment that is a dig at Celtc

17-03-2015, 05:57 PM
because they are obsessed, it's like they think they own some kind of copyright that means that only THEY can claim irish roots and celebrate, bunch of unwashed munters

Thought it might something like that - rhetorical question.

17-03-2015, 06:01 PM
It's a term used to describe Catholics who took meals from Protestant soup kitchens during the Irish famine. Many were encouraged to, and did, convert when receiving soup and bread.

Thought it was just yet another celtc spelling mistake and it had something to do with soap and the lack of it on their side of the divide.

hibbytam
17-03-2015, 06:06 PM

It's not.

But that doesn't stop them being annoyed by it.

17-03-2015, 06:17 PM
There's nothing wrong with factual correctness. What is funny is the people from Glasgae tryin tae type aw propa oan twitta !!

17-03-2015, 06:20 PM

That's the subtleness of it. It is a matter of face. The Celtic fans on Twitter are getting all hot and bothered. Professional Mopers that they are.

17-03-2015, 06:20 PM
I think it's a reference to the famine time when apparently there were soup kitchens set up by the "British Establishment" for the local populace - but only if they dropped the O' from their surname i.e. O'Neill to Neill, hence an Anglicisation of the Irish Identity.

Did that sort of thing still go on even in the early 20th century?

I always wondered why some of my Ma's family had slight variations of the surname. My Ma just used to tell me that it was probably because her Dad was drunk when he registered the births :greengrin (although there was maybe some truth in that too!)

Her family name went from an O' to dropping the O, and then gaining an S in about the space of 5 kids but that was in the 1920's and 30's.

17-03-2015, 06:50 PM

It's not an issue for me but if we meet them in the Final and we have noises them up it could come back at us in a way we won't like

17-03-2015, 06:59 PM

It's history, nothing they have said is incorrect..........

17-03-2015, 07:00 PM
It's history, nothing they have said is incorrect..........

Indeed and the celtic fans biting are just showing how insecure about their own history they are.

17-03-2015, 07:20 PM
Surely if there is a "St Paddy"- then the rangers & hearts will get beat today....

17-03-2015, 09:18 PM
It's not an issue for me but if we meet them in the Final and we have noises them up it could come back at us in a way we won't like

Really?

The tweet has zero to do with Celtc except in the minds of some their most fevered fans. If Celtic FC made any reference to it themselves they'd look extremely foolish.

17-03-2015, 10:29 PM

Why would that be? If we meet them in the final and they beat us it will be because they're a better team not because of some cryptic tweet.

17-03-2015, 10:33 PM

I don't think a post on Twitter, that doesn't even mention Celtic in any way, will have any bearing on the outcome of any Scottish Cup final.

17-03-2015, 10:35 PM
They were at it on Facebook as well. "Watch our tribute to Pat Stanton(Irish name, Edinburgh accent, proud Scot). From the Scottish team with the Irish name.

I personally enjoyed their wee fishing trip. Caught some good bait as well

Glorious St Pat
17-03-2015, 10:58 PM
It's a great touch by the club and another appreciative nod (and slight wind up too) to our proud roots. Been impressed with a number of things coming out from Hibs on social media. A new professionalism and slickness...about time too.

Glorious St Pat
17-03-2015, 11:02 PM
Talking of St Paddy's day and reading about the sterling work done by the Bounce in raising over £700 for a 24ft Lewis Stevenson flag - where has the wonderful Canon Hannan flag gone?

I last saw it a few seasons back in the South Stand and originally at the Falkirk semi. We have some quality flags and they should be permanently on display - ideally at the back of stands or on the inner gable wings.

hibernia_inn
17-03-2015, 11:25 PM
Talking of St Paddy's day and reading about the sterling work done by the Bounce in raising over £700 for a 24ft Lewis Stevenson flag - where has the wonderful Canon Hannan flag gone?

I last saw it a few seasons back in the South Stand and originally at the Falkirk semi. We have some quality flags and they should be permanently on display - ideally at the back of stands or on the inner gable wings.

James Connolly was a Hibby would be a great flag.

18-03-2015, 06:09 AM
I like soup 😳

18-03-2015, 06:52 AM

Aye, and not really appropriate, is it?

18-03-2015, 08:09 AM
Aye, and not really appropriate, is it?

They're just lowlifes trough there mate.
People tend to forget how horrible a club that is as well as the Rangers.
They cling on to the irishness in a commercial bid, and their fans are too thick to even realise that.

They'd definitely argue celtic was an Irish club.
They tend to forget they stemmed from us. And we know the score.
They annoy me a lot.

18-03-2015, 08:17 AM
Bottom tweet here is informative as to Celtc's rebel status.

https://twitter.com/callum_kane/status/577804059526230016

18-03-2015, 08:51 AM
They're just lowlifes trough there mate.
People tend to forget how horrible a club that is as well as the Rangers.
They cling on to the irishness in a commercial bid, and their fans are too thick to even realise that.

They'd definitely argue celtic was an Irish club.
They tend to forget they stemmed from us. And we know the score.
They annoy me a lot.

Two cheeks, same erse.

Inconvenient truths and all that, the efforts Hibs made in helping them in the early days isn't really something their modern day fans have ever appreciated - it requires a fair bit of reading mind:wink:

18-03-2015, 10:35 AM

http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/a%20gone%20fishin%20smiley.gif

18-03-2015, 10:46 AM
Did that sort of thing still go on even in the early 20th century?

I always wondered why some of my Ma's family had slight variations of the surname. My Ma just used to tell me that it was probably because her Dad was drunk when he registered the births :greengrin (although there was maybe some truth in that too!)

Her family name went from an O' to dropping the O, and then gaining an S in about the space of 5 kids but that was in the 1920's and 30's.

We went from O'Nae Nookie tae just Nae Nookie in the 20s :greengrin

Seriously though, my mum's maiden name was McGowan which apparently is the Irish equivalent of Smith and apparently a few McGowans became Smiths about that time.

Northern Hibby
18-03-2015, 11:53 AM
We went from O'Nae Nookie tae just Nae Nookie in the 20s :greengrin

Seriously though, my mum's maiden name was McGowan which apparently is the Irish equivalent of Smith and apparently a few McGowans became Smiths about that time.

Every day is a school day, I'm a Smith and that is somthing I didn't know :confused:

18-03-2015, 12:11 PM
Every day is a school day, I'm a Smith and that is somthing I didn't know :confused:

In actual fact that may have started happening in N Ireland way before the 20s. My granddad was from Armagh, he died when my mum was Just small and according to her never spoke about religion. He did talk about "the hated Black & Tans" and called his daughter Patricia so my guess is he was Catholic, all be it a lapsed one :greengrin

18-03-2015, 12:26 PM
The anglicisation of surnames was very common, not just among Irish immigrants. Remember the early through mid 20th century saw the 'No Black, No Irish, No Dogs' sigms on many accomodation windows.

In the early days of Irish immigration work was plentiful as navvies etc as they would do the work for less than Brits. As time passed and there was a return of many of the planted Ulster Scots sectarianism creeped into many workplaces, notably shipyards and foundries and 'No Irish' again became a not uncommon sight. The Ulstermen never had the same severity of problems as they could chart their heritage back to Scotland and the rule of James VI and I. They also shared a key cultural trait with their host, Protestantism. Remember this was a time when the term 'North British' was far more likely to be one of aspiration as opposed to derogatory.

A simple way for immigrants to ensure a better life for their children was to adopt an anglicised version of their surname. McGowans became Smiths, O'Bruachian became Banks, Mac Conraoi became King, O'Duibhdiorma became McDermott (my grans maiddn name), O'Niadh became Neville and so on. It wasn't exclusively an Irish trait. Many Jews in London and the south East also anglicised their names. Greenbergs simply dropped the berg and became Green, Portnoy became Taylor, Cohen became Cahill etc. This became more common when they served during WWII as a captured Jewish servicemen face almost certain death.

18-03-2015, 12:50 PM
Whats in a name mind you.

There was a happy birthday post on facebook for Scotland ladies team player Ifeoma Dieke. You had folk commenting "how can she be Scottish with a name like that" ... not to mention the folk saying "how can she be Scottish, she's black" .... seriously !!!

Aye the lassie came to Scotland when she was 3, but I bet she is proud as punch to play for her county.

Look at me .. my surname ( its not really Nae Nookie :greengrin) is as English as you can get ... definitely pre Norman conquest .... but cut me open and your carpet will be covered in tartan blood.

There are many things that make you Irish or Scottish or whatever ..... your name is the least of them. Just ask proud English forward from the 70s Malcolm MacDonald.

18-03-2015, 01:01 PM

I don't know who JC is?

But just been on their forum looking around and seen this as a signature.

"The british govt has no right in Ireland, never had any right in Ireland ,never can have any right in Ireland " James Connolly.

This tells you all you need about some of these guys.

On a football forum this is his sig. Waw

18-03-2015, 01:37 PM
I don't know who JC is?

"The british govt has no right in Ireland, never had any right in Ireland ,never can have any right in Ireland " James Connolly.

The man is an important part of Irish and Edinburgh history mate. Plenty of anecdotal evidence that he was a Hibs supporter .... but so is Dougray Scott and I don't see the need to have a big banner with his pus on it at Hibs games either. :worms:

Glorious St Pat
18-03-2015, 04:34 PM
I don't know who JC is?

A great and true quote from Connolly who actively supported Hibernian home and abroad through the YMCA. A great socialist, trade unionist and internationalist. Agree poster is fishing but making a flag for to parade at a Hibs game will be too far for many.

I've a Hibs green saltire with Che Guevara on it mind - can I bring that?

18-03-2015, 05:01 PM
A great and true quote from Connolly who actively supported Hibernian home and abroad through the YMCA. A great socialist, trade unionist and internationalist. Agree poster is fishing but making a flag for to parade at a Hibs game will be too far for many.

Was he a Hibby as well?

18-03-2015, 05:02 PM
Was he a Hibby as well?

Yup.

Hasta la Leith Victoria Siempre.

18-03-2015, 05:08 PM

I never said that they should make a flag?

I often chuckle at posts like this.
How pedantic people can be at times is, in my opinion- of course- ridiculous.

The point of my post was to express the ridiculousness of some of the celtic support and their constant need to bring politics/religion -whatever controversial subject of their choosing- into football.
Especially their burning desire to affiliate themselves as a club with Ireland.

Glorious St Pat
18-03-2015, 05:14 PM
Yup.

Hasta la Leith Victoria Siempre.

I like that - very clever! It's coming on Sunday then. Pin it at the empty wee bottom corner of the East....sure to wind up the marauding Hun hordes in the South!

18-03-2015, 05:18 PM

Now yer talkin' :greengrin

18-03-2015, 05:21 PM

Just a minor point but donations were also asked for and made on this site as well for the Stevenson flag. As you say it is a superb effort, hopefully the organisers will be on here with an update as to progress soon. :flag:

18-03-2015, 05:25 PM
The man is an important part of Irish and Edinburgh history mate. Plenty of anecdotal evidence that he was a Hibs supporter .... but so is Dougray Scott and I don't see the need to have a big banner with his pus on it at Hibs games either. :worms:
NN spot on with the first sentence and they're entwined. The rest of your post is irrelevant. If sections of our support want to celebrate the man and his surroundings, his background, his politics, his Parish Church, (birthplace of our club, no question), then surely they should be allowed to do so. Its a crying shame it somehow degrades into ***** about Celtic. And if you need to get the Dougray thing going then get on with it.

Margaret Sinclair was a good Hibby too. That might be a better campaign than Dougeay Scott...

harpo
18-03-2015, 06:18 PM
Was he a Hibby as well?

Che Guevaras father was half Irish. Che's Grandmother surname was Lynch and was born in County Galway. County Galways local team are Galway Hibernians so Che indeed may have been a Hibby.

18-03-2015, 06:19 PM
Che Guevaras father was half Irish. Che's Grandmother surname was Lynch and was born in County Galway. County Galways local team are Galway Hibernians so Che indeed may have been a Hibby.
Che Given played for Newcastle, no?

18-03-2015, 06:27 PM
First to wear the Green
First to wear the Hoops

END OF....

I know its a wasted emotion and I know I should know better but Glasgow Celtic or whatever they call themselves these days are the one thing in this whole wide world I hate - and with a vengeance.

18-03-2015, 06:32 PM
Bottom tweet here is informative as to Celtc's rebel status.

https://twitter.com/callum_kane/status/577804059526230016

That's posted by Kano, from these parts, though not lately AFAIK

18-03-2015, 06:39 PM
NN spot on with the first sentence and they're entwined. The rest of your post is irrelevant. If sections of our support want to celebrate the man and his surroundings, his background, his politics, his Parish Church, (birthplace of our club, no question), then surely they should be allowed to do so. Its a crying shame it somehow degrades into ***** about Celtic. And if you need to get the Dougray thing going then get on with it.

Margaret Sinclair was a good Hibby too. That might be a better campaign than Dougeay Scott...

Well ... I would rather folk celebrated Hibs if we're gonna do banners, Canon Hannan or a big picture of St Patrick's church would look great. From my point of view this has got nowt to do with celtic and I'm not sure where you got that from, what they get up to is their business.

If sections of our support want to celebrate James Connolly I have no problem with that ... there's a whole parade for the guy every year in Edinburgh they can go on. If they want to celebrate Margaret Sinclair they can join the campaign to have her canonised. My Dougray Scott bit was tongue in cheek, but I guess you know that. My point being that I'm a Hibs supporter I'm all for banners etc celebrating the clubs founders or famous / current players. I cant think of a single club whose fans display banners of notable supporters.

18-03-2015, 06:52 PM
Well ... I would rather folk celebrated Hibs if we're gonna do banners, Canon Hannan or a big picture of St Patrick's church would look great. From my point of view this has got nowt to do with celtic and I'm not sure where you got that from, what they get up to is their business.

If sections of our support want to celebrate James Connolly I have no problem with that ... there's a whole parade for the guy every year in Edinburgh they can go on. If they want to celebrate Margaret Sinclair they can join the campaign to have her canonised. My Dougray Scott bit was tongue in cheek, but I guess you know that. My point being that I'm a Hibs supporter I'm all for banners etc celebrating the clubs founders or famous / current players. I cant think of a single club whose fans display banners of notable supporters.

I agree. I'm a great admirer of James Connolly and all he stood for. The over egging of his Hibbyness baffles me though. I've read several books about him and a lot of his writing and rather than complaining about the unseen work of our latest signing they seem to bang on more about Socialism. :greengrin

Jonny1875
18-03-2015, 07:38 PM
I had some fun winding up a lot of Celtic fans yesterday about how they aren't the real Irish club in Scotland. It's also awkward when they call you a soup-taker... Considering they don't know where it comes from.

18-03-2015, 08:44 PM
I agree. I'm a great admirer of James Connolly and all he stood for. The over egging of his Hibbyness baffles me though. I've read several books about him and a lot of his writing and rather than complaining about the unseen work of our latest signing they seem to bang on more about Socialism. :greengrin

There's a book/pamphlet out there which has extracts from interviews and diaries which he kept, a couple of mentions of Hibs. One which I remember was from when he lived/spent time in Paris - "Bad news from Edinburgh as Hibernian are knocked out the Cup by Hearts",

Bad news doesn't go out of fashion it seems.

I like Connolly as he is a world famous figure, who happened to support our team. The statue to him in Dublin is a thing of beauty.

18-03-2015, 10:04 PM
I had some fun winding up a lot of Celtic fans yesterday about how they aren't the real Irish club in Scotland. It's also awkward when they call you a soup-taker... Considering they don't know where it comes from.

Where soup comes from

You need to tell them that even the likes of them can manage it - you get a few vegetables, a knorr stock pot (other condensed animal fat products are available) chuck the whole lot in a blender with some water, heat it up and there you have it - hopefully they will realise you have to eat it.

7 Hills
18-03-2015, 10:09 PM
There's a book/pamphlet out there which has extracts from interviews and diaries which he kept, a couple of mentions of Hibs. One which I remember was from when he lived/spent time in Paris - "Bad news from Edinburgh as Hibernian are knocked out the Cup by Hearts",

Bad news doesn't go out of fashion it seems.

I like Connolly as he is a world famous figure, who happened to support our team. The statue to him in Dublin is a thing of beauty.

LIKE. :aok:

Glorious St Pat
18-03-2015, 10:52 PM
LIKE. :aok:

Agree and it is a crying shame and outrage that such a working class hero is not honoured in anyway other than a wee almost hidden plaque in the Cowgate. The powers that be in the city council has done nothing at all after all these years despite one Labour councillor years ago attempting to promote the idea.

His adopted country and city of political activism honour him with a statue and train station and Edinburgh, his city of birth, does nothing. Establishment forces in action once more.

portycabbage
18-03-2015, 10:58 PM
Where soup comes from

You need to tell them that even the likes of them can manage it - you get a few vegetables, a knorr stock pot (other condensed animal fat products are available) chuck the whole lot in a blender with some water, heat it up and there you have it - hopefully they will realise you have to eat it.

Soup-dodgers.

19-03-2015, 12:30 AM
Soup-dodgers.

Haha, that's actually catchy. ....and would annoy them a lot.

A few years back in an online discussion with some Celtc fans I insisted Hibs fans called theirs friends across the city in Glasgow "The Huns" whilst calling fans of Celtc "The Hhuns", they were apoplectic. I honestly thought they'd do themselves a damage.

Northern Hibby
19-03-2015, 10:44 AM
In actual fact that may have started happening in N Ireland way before the 20s. My granddad was from Armagh, he died when my mum was Just small and according to her never spoke about religion. He did talk about "the hated Black & Tans" and called his daughter Patricia so my guess is he was Catholic, all be it a lapsed one :greengrin

Dad lapsed Catholic from leith, never knew My grand parents but aparently Granny Smith was well known round Lochend as a bit of a charachter :agree: