View Full Version : Worst Case Scenario

12-03-2015, 06:32 PM
I don't want to sound defeatist and am certainly confident of going up via the plays offs' this season but last night I thought about this.

Neither us or Rangers get promoted this season and have to endure another season in the championship together. Then Rangers win the championship next season and once again we miss out on promotion by losing in the final to the SPL team :-(.

Three seasons in the championship.........it could happen.

But surely not?

12-03-2015, 06:34 PM
Yeah, wouldn't be good. Either Rangers or Hibs have to go up this season, much as I'd hate them too

12-03-2015, 06:35 PM
I reckon this scenario is as likely to happen as any other. At the end of the day, although I think we're the best out of ourselves, Rangers and Premiership 11th...playoffs are a lottery.

12-03-2015, 06:40 PM
Yeah, wouldn't be good. Either Rangers or Hibs have to go up this season, much as I'd hate them too

If its not us this season then i'd prefer Der Hun to go up for sure.

12-03-2015, 06:40 PM
It could happen, certainly. I don't think Rangers have a hope, and that we have a far better chance in the play offs, but, then again, it's Hibs, and we all know that the principle of what can go wrong will go wrong firmly applies. Expect the unexpected when Hibs are involved. The sooner we are back in the top flight the better. We shouldn't be in this division.

AjaxTreesdown
12-03-2015, 06:45 PM
I don't want to sound defeatist and am certainly confident of going up via the plays offs' this season but last night I thought about this.

Neither us or Rangers get promoted this season and have to endure another season in the championship together. Then Rangers win the championship next season and once again we miss out on promotion by losing in the final to the SPL team :-(.

But surely not?

Alternatively, we could get promoted, win the Scottish Cup and keep Rangers down next season. Optimist but not unachievable especially with the squad we have at the moment. Always going to believe! :flag:

12-03-2015, 06:52 PM
I'm very confident that we'll be playing Premiership football next season.

12-03-2015, 06:56 PM
If we don't go up we have to want Rangers to go up, as much as that goes against everything we would normally want.

WillowbraeHibby
12-03-2015, 06:57 PM
I'm very confident that we'll be playing Premiership football next season.

I'm with Trig on this one... In Stubbs I trust... And in the squad we have. Sod everybody else, let them worry about us!!! GGTTH :flag:

12-03-2015, 07:16 PM

But surely not?

Yes surely even we can't be that unlucky .We are burdened enough with our Scottish Cup Hoodo

12-03-2015, 07:35 PM

But surely not?

Yeh that's my worry too! Can't help it, thinking if we don't go up, say we lose to St.Mirren or somebody in the play off and Motherwell come down. We are then with the Mothers a stronger Huns as well as Falkirk etc..:dizzy: Just as well we're going up:cb

12-03-2015, 09:37 PM
My prediction : Rangers to finish 5th behind the four best teams in the division: Hibs hearts queens Falkirk

12-03-2015, 10:25 PM
Our luck has to change sometime and it would be a injustice if this team that AS has developed, didn't get some reward for their efforts. However, at 55, I know that Hibs ALWAYS seem to find a way to ..... make a mess of things !!. I really, really hope NOT this time !!

12-03-2015, 11:10 PM
We'll win the Europa League next season IMO, dinnae ken what everybody is so worried aboot.

12-03-2015, 11:16 PM

But surely not?

I've also thought this may happen. I also think the Scottish game is so fragile the SPFL were mad to relegate 2 teams from the Premiership. We may hate them but Scottish football really does need us, Hearts and erm Hunco in the top league, it just does.

12-03-2015, 11:22 PM
I've also thought this may happen. I also think the Scottish game is so fragile the SPFL were mad to relegate 2 teams from the Premiership. We may hate them but Scottish football really does need us, Hearts and erm Hunco in the top league, it just does.

Last season, two teams deserved to go down from the Premiership.

Hearts because they lost 15 points after going into administration due to their cheating over a number of years and us because we were so bad over the last four or five months of the season, that we actually ended up winning less points than Hearts over the course of the season.

13-03-2015, 02:41 AM
We are burdened enough with our Scottish Cup Hoodo

Speak for yourself.

Bloody hell. I'm starting to think that some people on here are that negative and reflective that they walk about with slouched posture in case others notice them. That's if they've actually managed to make it outside by overcoming their fear of falling down a hole.

Cheer up guys. It should be fun.:thumbsup:

13-03-2015, 02:56 AM

But surely not?

Could be much worse. After what you've outlined we could then finish runners up to the next relegated team, and lose the play-offs again to the second bottom Premiership one. In fact, we may never reach the giddy heights of the Scottish top tier again.

13-03-2015, 06:19 AM
Speak for yourself.

Bloody hell. I'm starting to think that some people on here are that negative and reflective that they walk about with slouched posture in case others notice them. That's if they've actually managed to make it outside by overcoming their fear of falling down a hole.

Cheer up guys. It should be fun.:thumbsup:

I was waiting for the first response like this, it didn't take too long well done!

13-03-2015, 06:49 AM
I think we will go up. Then next season we should target 11th to give us a chance of horsing Rangers again in the final play off for 2015/16 and keep them in the Championship until 2017.

13-03-2015, 07:13 AM
I think we will go up. Then next season we should target 11th to give us a chance of horsing Rangers again in the final play off for 2015/16 and keep them in the Championship until 2017.

Ha ha I like that plan:-)

13-03-2015, 07:28 AM
With Hibs it's the hope that kills you!

We always get ourselves in situations where the above is true. Cup games, playoffs, player signings...

13-03-2015, 07:30 AM
I'm more confident we will go up than not. Our record over the past few months is great and in confident that we would have the beating of any of the bottom 6 sides in the premier division at the moment.

BIGK
13-03-2015, 10:31 AM

That's pretty sadistic! I love it. :aok:

lugz
13-03-2015, 10:41 AM
I can't see us playing rangers in the playoffs. When we come 2nd they'll get beat by Falkirk or QOS.

13-03-2015, 10:46 AM
If we can keep everybody fit throughout the remainder of the season I believe we'll go up. Farid will be back fully match fit by the play offs and I think we'll have too much fire power for any team we could come up against.

13-03-2015, 10:54 AM

But surely not?

Then the crowds fall, Hibs sell all their best players and we get relegated to League One.

Tom Farmer then sells Easter Road to The Budge, they paint the seats maroon and throw Hibs out.

Hibs rent Ainslie Park and get relegated to the lower leagues.

In years to come, people will stand in the pubs in Easter Road, crying over their pints, boring everybody that cares to listen that, even though the highlight of our season is playing a local derby against Spartans in front of 500 Fans, we were once a big club that used to reach Cup Finals and play in Europe.

........it could happen.

But surely not?

13-03-2015, 02:07 PM
I was waiting for the first response like this, it didn't take too long well done!

So you were trolling? :hmmm:

13-03-2015, 02:27 PM
So you were trolling? :hmmm:

No but you are now!

13-03-2015, 02:35 PM
No but you are now!