View Full Version : Media The Promo Video

09-03-2015, 01:35 PM
This is definitely worth a thread of its own. Stick it on full screen and turn the sound up full :greengrin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CNDN1JUCvqc

09-03-2015, 01:42 PM
Absolutely stunning video.:thumbsup:

09-03-2015, 01:49 PM
I like it! Anyone else think the keeper saves the penalty so they changed angle to make it look like it went in?

09-03-2015, 01:56 PM
Had a sneak preview on Saturday & liked it ...like it even more now ...:gwa:

09-03-2015, 02:30 PM
Absolutely love it. Great effort!

09-03-2015, 02:36 PM
It's superb.

Produced and edited locally, local soundtrack, young local lad doing the photgraphy for the brouchure.

Seems the club are actually serious about engaging with the community.

09-03-2015, 02:42 PM
The Chip Balancer is a local lad too :agree:

09-03-2015, 02:52 PM
The Chip Balancer is a local lad too :agree:

:faf:Yes I thought he did well to keep those chips on the tray! Great video

09-03-2015, 04:29 PM
Brilliant effort :thumbsup:

What's the plan for this? Advert on STV Edinburgh?

09-03-2015, 04:36 PM
Great effort by the club, keeping the local theme going - actually quite proud of that whereas Terry Butchers Green and White Army effort I preferred to ignore.

09-03-2015, 04:43 PM
I'd give Fontaine a 10 year contract based on his reaction when Malonga scores against the filth.

09-03-2015, 04:46 PM
Absolutely brilliant video. Well done to everyone involved.

ST renewal is a certainty for moi.

09-03-2015, 04:48 PM
That is superb

Could we be finally getting things right off the pitch and on?

09-03-2015, 04:49 PM
Watched that at work at lunchtime. Tears of utter pride, only wished I'd had a balcony to sit at when I was greeting :devil:

09-03-2015, 06:12 PM
Fantastic video..have made my whole family watch it…well done HIBS:thumbsup:

EastCalderHibby
09-03-2015, 06:25 PM
Absolutely brilliant video. Well done to everyone involved.

ST renewal is a certainty for moi.

ditto for me and the son :flag::flag::flag::flag:

09-03-2015, 06:31 PM
Quite simply superb. :thumbsup:

09-03-2015, 06:35 PM
Top quality for a top quality club :thumbsup:

Ricky Bobby
09-03-2015, 06:39 PM
Very impressive

09-03-2015, 06:47 PM
Absolutely brilliant!! That video does more in 2 and a half minutes to unite the fans than the past 6 or 7 seasons combined (with a little help from the coaching staff and the players bringing a bit of pride back). It's cool as ****!! Well done to all involved and fantastic to hear the production was kept within the local area, top marks all round :not worth

09-03-2015, 07:35 PM
Gave me goosebumps :not worth Brilliant :scarf:

09-03-2015, 07:39 PM
Absolute beauty

09-03-2015, 07:41 PM
Oxley should have done better at the end. Booooooooooo.

This might be the year I finally get a season ticket.

PiemanP
09-03-2015, 07:41 PM
Great video, well done Hibs' marketing team and whoever directed it.

09-03-2015, 07:44 PM
good effort by the club, i renewed today :thumbsup:

MurrayfieldHibs
09-03-2015, 07:50 PM
Just splendid :thumbsup:

We are finally getting some really good, high impact marketing. Keep up the good work!!!

:gwa::gwa::gwa:

jane_says
09-03-2015, 08:48 PM
I'd give Fontaine a 10 year contract based on his reaction when Malonga scores against the filth.

Ditto, fantastic reaction.

Bronson
09-03-2015, 08:57 PM
This is class. Shiver down the spine stuff.

OsloHibs
09-03-2015, 09:04 PM
#Tingles :flag::gwa:

09-03-2015, 09:07 PM
Ace.

09-03-2015, 09:17 PM
Times are changing for the better and our club is growing in confidence each week, we will go through hard times, but I can see mostly great times ahead. Well done at everyone at Hibernian fc for this video. :flag:

09-03-2015, 09:42 PM
I'd go as far to say... That is the best hibs promo video I've ever watched.

The stadium floodlight, the lads hard at work in the training centre, the celebrations at the goals and the catchy song all give me a feeling of wanting more. so much so I think I've watched it a dozen times :greengrin

Very well done to all concerned.

Onwards and Upwards. :gwa:

09-03-2015, 09:53 PM
Just watched it. Excellent work. Well done to all involved.

09-03-2015, 09:55 PM
Really love it, and introduced me to a new Edinburgh band too.

Thanks Hibs.

JJP
09-03-2015, 10:29 PM
Top quality promo. Excellent job from all involved :top marks

09-03-2015, 10:34 PM
A superb effort from the team behind it. Some fantastic footage and a really emotive piece. Best I have seen by some distance. :top marks

(Just wish I was in a position to become a ticket holder)

09-03-2015, 10:46 PM
Nice to see the club wasted time making this clip

Hibby Gav
09-03-2015, 11:00 PM
Fantastic video..have made my whole family watch it…well done HIBS:thumbsup:

I did exactly the same thing :)

Hibeesforever
09-03-2015, 11:03 PM
Wow, inspirational stuff.
The potential and scale of our club is evident in the three main locations.
Impressive stadium, dramatic city backdrop and first class training facilities for the elite of the elite.
Tremendous work, definitely engaged and supporting the club with confidence.

09-03-2015, 11:18 PM
Superb video! :greengrin:thumbsup::hibees:thumbsup::thumbsup:

10-03-2015, 12:02 AM
Great video :thumbsup:

10-03-2015, 12:09 AM
Great promo video from the club! Such a refreshing change at Hibs this season under Alan Stubbs and Leeann Dempster, both on and off the pitch, a complete revamp from previous seasons. 1 defeat in the last 26 games in a row. Semi Final of the Scottish Cup, potentially could get to the final and into the Europa League for next season, 2nd in the league and heading for possible promotion via the Play-Offs. Could it all go pear shaped results wise and we end up with nothing? Course it could. However, doesn't change the fact that things are just so much more encouraging at Hibernian! Get yourselves down to Easter Road and snap up your favorite seat(s) for next next Season. We have something special going on right now under Alan Stubbs!

DAVE1875
10-03-2015, 12:37 AM
Makes me wish I wasn't stuck up here even more now :boo hoo:

marti1875
10-03-2015, 05:18 AM
Brilliant, and hope this goes on TV, as it's that good! I'm lying on the beach here in scorching Thailand and after watching the video about 4/5 times i thought i'd show it to the Mrs (who is Thai).She watched it with that bored look and when it finished just lay there and looked at me with a glaikit blank expression as if to say wtf am i watching...and i said it's great eh? as she knows my team is Hibs but still all i got was some sort of grunt or huh, that was it, ha ha....some people just don't quite understand i guess, huh, :-)

10-03-2015, 09:22 AM
After Malonga scored against Hearts how that guy managed to not drop a single chip I'll never know, well done sir. :aok:

Brilliant Video, I think I have watched it 4 or 5 times now.

10-03-2015, 11:21 AM
After Malonga scored against Hearts how that guy managed to not drop a single chip I'll never know, well done sir. :aok:

Brilliant Video, I think I have watched it 4 or 5 times now.

I said this to my girlfriend last night. If it was me I'd have lost the chips

10-03-2015, 11:21 AM
Decent enough video, glad it's having it's intended effect.

10-03-2015, 11:34 AM
Decent enough video, glad it's having it's intended effect.

Damned by faint praise .... :rolleyes:

10-03-2015, 11:36 AM
Does anyone else, when scanning ispy fpr example, keep reading this thread title as "the porno video"?

10-03-2015, 11:39 AM
Loved it ...... what a difference in less than a year. Even if things do go TU this season we are on the right track and things will come good in the end. Never thought I would ever be thinking that way less than a season after last years debacle and with the Yams 20 points in front in the league too.

That's some feat Hibernian ... well done !!!

10-03-2015, 11:48 AM
Damned by faint praise .... :rolleyes:

It's nowhere near as good as people are making out :rolleyes:

It's the kind of thing we should be expecting from Hibs all the time. Green-tinted specs are rife on this one.

10-03-2015, 11:55 AM

It's the kind of thing we should be expecting from Hibs all the time. Green-tinted specs are rife on this one.

I get what you mean Nando ..... Someone ITK told me that Steven Spielberg was off on another project and Lady Gaga was on tour so they had to make do with what they had. There's going to be a full page apology in the Hibs v Livingston programme :aok:

10-03-2015, 11:57 AM
I get what you mean Nando ..... Someone ITK told me that Steven Spielberg was off on another project and Lady Gaga was on tour so they had to make do with what they had. There's going to be a full page apology in the Livingston programme :aok:

Glad the club are remedying the shambolic way it's being run. Dempster in for this.

But Dempster oot for being shambolic.

Or something.

10-03-2015, 05:44 PM

Is it?

At this time of year I normally get a letter from <insert manager here> asking me for dough. This year I got the letter (albeit from LD) and this catchy wee video clip which I was pretty impressed with. It connects the club with the community and makes me a happy Hibee, so as far as I'm concerned it hit the spot.

No green specs on - just giving credit for a job well done.

10-03-2015, 05:50 PM
Is it?

At this time of year I normally get a letter from <insert manager here> asking me for dough. This year I got the letter (albeit from LD) and this catchy wee video clip which I was pretty impressed with. It connects the club with the community and makes me a happy Hibee, so as far as I'm concerned it hit the spot.

No green specs on - just giving credit for a job well done.

Exactly, it's usually the same boring old "marketing" that the club has been churning out for years. This video is a vast improvement on previous years and is having the desired effect, which delights me.

This, however, doesn't change the fact that the video is pretty average when looked at objectively. It just seems brilliant because of the years of garbage promotion of season tickets and empty rhetoric from Petrie.

10-03-2015, 05:54 PM
Exactly, it's usually the same boring old "marketing" that the club has been churning out for years. This video is a vast improvement on previous years and is having the desired effect, which delights me.

This, however, doesn't change the fact that the video is pretty average when looked at objectively. It just seems brilliant because of the years of garbage promotion of season tickets and empty rhetoric from Petrie.

Your opinion but one I completely disagree with.

I think it's a very good effort. Not flashy, no gimmicks and reaches out well to it's target audience.

TheEastTerrace
10-03-2015, 06:12 PM
It's refreshing change from previous seasons' tired efforts.

That video will inspire people to get involved with the club far more than the spin that landed on people's doormats this time for the last however many years.

Credit where credit is due and it appears change in personnel has breathed some new life into the club's communications.

But they are still behind the curve so hopefully they keep investing in this sort of material.

10-03-2015, 06:17 PM
It's refreshing change from previous seasons' tired efforts.

That video will inspire people to get involved with the club far more than the spin that landed on people's doormats this time for the last however many years.

Credit where credit is due and it appears change in personnel has breathed some new life into the club's communications.

But they are still behind the curve so hopefully they keep investing in this sort of material.

I'm assuming you mean that we lag behind other clubs in terms of marketing ST's and the like? Can you point out some examples of what we should be looking to produce?

Genuinely interested in seeing some stuff.

Ta.

10-03-2015, 06:22 PM
Absolutely wonderful. :top marks

10-03-2015, 06:26 PM
Found this one from Everton, which is is good.

http://www.evertonfc.com/chosen

10-03-2015, 06:41 PM

I'll give you that, but our's is better :greengrin

TowerHibs
10-03-2015, 06:43 PM

Yeah good stuff from Everton. From a club that sell out no matter what. No doubt they spent at least the average hibs players salary on that.

Some people are severely lacking a good ride on this place, only way I can explain such negativity.

Sooner people stop comparing our game to the English game the better

10-03-2015, 06:47 PM
Yeah good stuff from Everton. No doubt they spent at least the average hibs players salary on that.

Some people are severely lacking a good ride on this place, only way I can explain such negativity

I think there are 2 out of about 50 people who have had a mini gripe of some sort, so I wouldn't go wetting the bed just yet.

I only posted up Everton as some guy said we had something still to improve so I went looking for other video's. Everton was the only one I found and yes, I agree they probably spent a good whack on producing it.

10-03-2015, 06:52 PM
Yeah good stuff from Everton. From a club that sell out no matter what. No doubt they spent at least the average hibs players salary on that.

Some people are severely lacking a good ride on this place, only way I can explain such negativity.

Sooner people stop comparing our game to the English game the betterJeez ..over reaction or what ..think you need to read the thread again ..:aok:

10-03-2015, 06:55 PM

Sooner people stop comparing our game to the English game the better

Cant vouch for her, but i had a good night last night. :thumbsup:

10-03-2015, 08:22 PM

Tell me in what way you think it's average? Content? Production? Something else? And what would you have done differently?

I'm asking in the nicest possible way :-)

10-03-2015, 08:47 PM
Tell me in what way you think it's average? Content? Production? Something else? And what would you have done differently?

I'm asking in the nicest possible way :-)

Production in general, also I think a lack of fan action leaves it feeling a bit empty.

I'm not saying it's bad, it's positively quite good, but there are loads of other promotional videos from loads of industries that are far superior and are consistent in being so.

10-03-2015, 09:03 PM
Production in general, also I think a lack of fan action leaves it feeling a bit empty.

I'm not saying it's bad, it's positively quite good, but there are loads of other promotional videos from loads of industries that are far superior and are consistent in being so.

What about football though as that's our industry? There isn't any point in trying to compare our video to something Pepsi or Apple would produce.

10-03-2015, 09:08 PM
What about football though as that's our industry? There isn't any point in trying to compare our video to something Pepsi or Apple would produce.

It doesn't have to be just football, that's small-minded to simply compare it to what other clubs produce. Production values are universal.

10-03-2015, 09:13 PM
It doesn't have to be just football, that's small-minded to simply compare it to what other clubs produce. Production values are universal.

Producing something that compares (or better's) your competitors is small minded?

I'm sure you don't need reminding where we sit in the corporate video promotion world, so for something that is targeting around 10,000 people I think the club have done a great job.

I really don't see what's lacking and what you expect them to do.

10-03-2015, 09:18 PM
Producing something that compares (or better's) your competitors is small minded?

I'm sure you don't need reminding where we sit in the corporate video promotion world, so for something that is targeting around 10,000 people I think the club have done a great job.

I really don't see what's lacking and what you expect them to do.

Limiting yourself to other clubs when you could be looking further is small-minded.

I'm just not as impressed with it as others, it's not amazing, it feels a wee bit forced. But as I said, it's had it's intended effect, tipping people into buying season tickets and I'm happy about that.

TheEastTerrace
10-03-2015, 09:22 PM
I'm assuming you mean that we lag behind other clubs in terms of marketing ST's and the like? Can you point out some examples of what we should be looking to produce?

Genuinely interested in seeing some stuff.

Ta.

Hibs' marketing efforts over the last few years have bordered on emotional blackmail. It also used spin from club officials that basically held the fans to ransom. We were told that it was up to us to subsidise the continuing malaise that ended in the ultimate indignity of relegation.

I had no desire to subscribe to that kind of message and still don't.

Where I see a small sea change with this video is that it showcases a number of good aspects about the club as well as the moments we all cherish including goals against our biggest rivals. It tells a story that I am far more likely to subscribe to.

Want me to invest financially and emotionally again?

SHOW me, not TELL me why I should be proud to be a supporter of Hibernian Football Club and invest my money.

Showcase the work the players do in training, the community work, the youth development, the fan engagement, celebrations, events, etc. It's all about telling the story of why it's great to be a Hibby and a member of this football club.

What I meant in my post is that companies are doing this very successfully using digital and social media. Hibs can learn from them. Best content marketers - check out Red Bull, Lego, IKEA and others for great video and marketing content. Yes big companies with big budgets but the principle remains. They deliver content that engages audiences and ties them into what they do.

The video is a good start.

PerfectlyFranck
10-03-2015, 09:39 PM

The website, marketing and promotional side has been improving.
The promo isn't cheesy, cringeworthy or horrendously tacky and crap, like everything has been in the past.

I think our promo has much more of an impact than the (no doubt) infinitely more expensive Everton video, for instance.
It does the job; it injects you with some pride and is tasteful. Not to forget, it is apparently all made in the surrounding area and the music is even from a local group.

The Everton one, with all of the fan participation, is just cheesy and lacks any impact. They've made the mistake we have done every year: coming up with an awful slogan and deciding to build a marketing campaign around it.

Everything about that promo is fantastic, even my dislike for the home kit doesn't put me off.
Another thing the club got right this season. They also didn't show the tunnel plaques, which was a bonus, instead showing the tremendous Famous Five steps:

http://i.imgur.com/bBXGTNs.png

For me, this promo is the cherry on top of the improvements made throughout the club. For some lapsed supporters, this ad can be all it takes to tip them over the edge into forking upfront again. It's all it took for me and I had absolutely no intention of buying a ST, whether we achieved promotion or not.

10-03-2015, 09:42 PM
How about an example of another football club, with a better promo ad than that?

The website, marketing and promotional side has been improving.
The promo isn't cheesy, cringeworthy or horrendously tacky and crap, like everything has been in the past.

I think our promo has much more of an impact than the (no doubt) infinitely more expensive Everton video.
It does the job; it injects you with some pride and is tasteful. Not to forget, it is apparently all made in the surrounding area and the music is even from a local group.

The Everton one, with all of the fan participation, is just cheesy and lacks any impact. They've made the mistake we have done every year: coming up with an awful slogan and deciding to build a marketing campaign around it.

Everything about that promo is fantastic, even my dislike for the home kit doesn't put me off.
Another thing the club got right this season. They also didn't show the tunnel plaques, which was a bonus, instead showing the tremendous Famous Five steps:

http://i.imgur.com/bBXGTNs.png

For me, this promo is the cherry on top of the improvements made throughout the club. For some lapsed supporters, this ad can be all it takes to tip them over the edge into forking upfront again. It's all it took for me and I had absolutely no intention of buying a ST whether we achieved promotion or not.

I agree.

Not looking for another video though as there will be plenty on YouTube, and I just can't be bothered.

PerfectlyFranck
10-03-2015, 10:10 PM
I agree.

Not looking for another video though as there will be plenty on YouTube, and I just can't be bothered.

:aok: Football ads from Pepsi, Nike & the like don't exactly count.

It may not have struck a chord with you; peddling claims that there's plenty of better club promos out there sounds more and more silly, the more and more you claim it, without backing it up with an example! I've never seen a better club promo from any club in Scotland and I'm confident in saying that there isn't one better.

I don't imagine many clubs even go through the effort of doing so.

Besides, who cares, our ad is top notch and it'll be of use if we have a bad game!

10-03-2015, 10:41 PM
Limiting yourself to other clubs when you could be looking further is small-minded.

I'm just not as impressed with it as others, it's not amazing, it feels a wee bit forced. But as I said, it's had it's intended effect, tipping people into buying season tickets and I'm happy about that.

Well I ****** loved it. Plucked ma strings.

11-03-2015, 04:11 AM
Just watched it again again and found a new favourite moment. Fontaine's leap of joy when Malonga pops it home v Hearts. That's utter jubilation there, great to see. Hanlon has a bit later too by the fans, just an almighty YAS!

11-03-2015, 07:04 AM

Right.

You should have just said at the start you were having a whinge just for the sake of it without any foundation or evidence to back up your point.

11-03-2015, 09:41 AM
:aok: Football ads from Pepsi, Nike & the like don't exactly count.

It may not have struck a chord with you; peddling claims that there's plenty of better club promos out there sounds more and more silly, the more and more you claim it, without backing it up with an example! I've never seen a better club promo from any club in Scotland and I'm confident in saying that there isn't one better.

I don't imagine many clubs even go through the effort of doing so.

Besides, who cares, our ad is top notch and it'll be of use if we have a bad game!
In Scotland it probably is.

Given how accessible media production is these days, I just expected a bit more. I know people at university who have created things almost on par with this for projects.

Right.

You should have just said at the start you were having a whinge just for the sake of it without any foundation or evidence to back up your point.

Not whinging about anything, I just said it was good, not amazing like most people seem to think.

My lack of evidence merely indicates my laziness.

11-03-2015, 11:41 AM
The rangers video for this year was class

17-03-2015, 01:49 AM
absolutley, mancrush alert but Fontaine can father my kids anyday :greengrin