View Full Version : The Woodwork

09-03-2015, 12:34 PM
Gray's header came off the post with what can only be described as a clang, yet it was immediately said to have hit the woodwork. Question is why after years of round metal goal frames does everyone still refer to the 'woodwork' answers on a post card, or here on .net.

09-03-2015, 12:51 PM
Gray's header came off the post with what can only be described as a clang, yet it was immediately said to have hit the woodwork. Question is why after years of round metal goal frames does everyone still refer to the 'woodwork' answers on a post card, or here on .net.

Because saying "it hit the tube" isn't specific enough on a football pitch, especially in matches involving Sevco.

09-03-2015, 01:46 PM
Because saying "it hit the tube" isn't specific enough on a football pitch, especially in matches involving Sevco.

09-03-2015, 02:11 PM

Because 'the ball rebounded from the frame of the goal' requires an IQ at least 10 times higher than that of the morons who pass for commentators these days on BBC Scotland?

It's at least 40 years since the goals at ER have been tubular metal frames.

Is it any wonder that there's no chance of the SFA/SPFL OK'ing goal-line technology this century?

"Cameras in the goalmouth? But where would the cameraman stand? He's just get in the way of the goalkeeper."

But it's a good point about the tubes - there are more tubes at the average SPFL game than in all the neon lights and fluorescents in all the casinos in Las Vegas.

09-03-2015, 02:48 PM
It's just one of those sayings that have their origin in history, that everyone continues to use.

I wouldn't let it bother you.

Briefs (as in tickets) is another one that confuses me.

"The last pair of in demand briefs are available through the Daily Records EXCLUSIVE Scottish Cup Final competition"

Touch wood is another one, was somthing to do with wooden ships I believe. Now "Hibs will hopefully got to the final, touch wood".

09-03-2015, 02:51 PM
They also talk about players having 'lost half a yard' even though we've been metric for decades and the legally correct phrase is 'misplaced 50% of a metre' ('lost' is considered perjorative).

Can we deport Alan Preston to a Luxembourg gaol?

09-03-2015, 03:13 PM
The old Hampden goalposts were good. Big chunks of white-painted timber with ties at two foot intervals.

I've always thought it funny that commentators go "Oh how unlucky!" when a player hits the post.

No it's not!

RoscoHibby
09-03-2015, 03:29 PM
The old Hampden goalposts were good. Big chunks of white-painted timber with ties at two foot intervals.

I've always thought it funny that commentators go "Oh how unlucky!" when a player hits the post.

No it's not!

How's it no? Especially with 'new' rounded posts, your talking about a matter of millimetres difference between it hitting the post and going in and hitting it and coming back out. If someone's taken a shot from 30yds and he's a few mm out, how's he not unlucky? Have you ever kicked a ball? Mental thing to say.

09-03-2015, 03:36 PM
How's it no? Especially with 'new' rounded posts, your talking about a matter of millimetres difference between it hitting the post and going in and hitting it and coming back out. If someone's taken a shot from 30yds and he's a few mm out, how's he not unlucky? Have you ever kicked a ball? Mental thing to say.

Kinda my thoughts too.

09-03-2015, 03:36 PM

I think what he was getting at was that the old Hampden posts were so muckle that you had as much chance of hitting them as anything else.

SonOfDavidFrancey
09-03-2015, 03:55 PM
'The linesman' is still the linesman, not the referee's assistant.

Is the 18 yard line actually at 18 yards onis it measured metrically?

09-03-2015, 04:16 PM
I was certain Gray's header was bound for the onion bag.

09-03-2015, 04:24 PM
I was certain Gray's header was bound for the onion bag.

Unlike Zaliuska's shot the other week that went out for a shy.

09-03-2015, 04:36 PM
Unlike Zaliuska's shot the other week that went out for a shy.

Before I go to the end of reading this thread I was planning on asking why its called a shy?

09-03-2015, 04:38 PM
Before I go to the end of reading this thread I was planning on asking why its called a shy?

Google will tell you.

However, I am guessing that "shy" is an archaic term for "throw", as in coconut-shy.

Do I win a coconut?

Or did my shy go out for a bye?

09-03-2015, 04:39 PM

To shy is(was) a verb meaning to throw quickly.

09-03-2015, 05:15 PM

Or as Shir Shean would say, "He was off-shied"

VivaHiberña
09-03-2015, 05:26 PM

Good to know. Still gets called that in shinty and I used to wonder if it came from gaelic.

09-03-2015, 05:39 PM

On a side issue I like the way the grass is cut in 6 yard squares. Refs have never seemed to click on that though. One look at the grass tells you his idea of 10 yards is nonsense.

09-03-2015, 05:47 PM

No it's not!

I remember Ibrox and Hampden being only getting rid of them in the mid eighties.

I'm trying to imagine how a ball would behave if it struck one of the posts or the bar and if more or less goals would have been scored. Probably evens itself out.

09-03-2015, 05:57 PM
Without any scientific basis to my answer I would say that round posts and crossbar would allow more shots in as surely the lip of a square edge would just spit the ball back out?

I am sure someone far smarter than I will be able to prove / disprove that theory and I will be interested to know result!

09-03-2015, 06:03 PM
Without any scientific basis to my answer I would say that round posts and crossbar would allow more shots in as surely the lip of a square edge would just spit the ball back out?

I am sure someone far smarter than I will be able to prove / disprove that theory and I will be interested to know result!

Not necessarily..... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eB7_hI3eU4k :wink:

Prof. Shaggy
09-03-2015, 06:15 PM

It's a bit like the flute and the saxophone - woodwind.

09-03-2015, 06:33 PM
It's a bit like the flute and the saxophone - woodwind.

Golf- a five wood, but they've been metal since WW2.

I guess it's just tradition and some traditions are enduring, others not so. When I was a laddie a leather football was called a fully ( spelling). I'm assuming it mean't full size- weight? Not heard the expression for forty years.

HibeesLA
09-03-2015, 06:37 PM

The Laws of the Game has both sets of measurements, so yes, you can still call it the 18 yard line.

09-03-2015, 07:07 PM
Google will tell you.

However, I am guessing that "shy" is an archaic term for "throw", as in coconut-shy.

Do I win a coconut?

Brilliant! !

09-03-2015, 07:07 PM
"Football commentating" is Latin for "mangled-cliche" on repeat.

09-03-2015, 07:16 PM

Not goalposts, but there are a few net and stanchion anoraks to be found here.

https://thegroundhog.wordpress.com/2006/11/06/goal-nets-stanchions/

09-03-2015, 07:29 PM

I guess it's just tradition and some traditions are enduring, others not so. When I was a laddie a leather football was called a fully ( spelling). I'm assuming it mean't full size- weight? Not heard the expression for forty years.

filly was the term I grew up with.

Whalemeister
09-03-2015, 08:41 PM
When it comes to 'The Woodwork', surely we must hold a record at Easter Road...for scoring a goal having smacked the woodwork three times in the same attack before eventually scoring. Seem to remember it was against Motherwell, mid 90s. Never seen that again.

H18S NX
09-03-2015, 09:31 PM
filly was the term I grew up with......Yep.

09-03-2015, 10:42 PM

Or irons...

09-03-2015, 10:43 PM

It's always been bar or post for me. 'Woodwork' has always felt like an unnecessary buzzword.

Newry Hibs
10-03-2015, 09:55 AM
Nobody wins cups or trophies anymore. Everyone is up for a piece of silverware.

10-03-2015, 04:04 PM
Has the transfer window "slammed shut" yet?

10-03-2015, 04:26 PM
If we're extending this to football clichés in general, I'd like to propose my favourite misused word for some ridicule.

The word 'literally', when used by Football commentators, bears no relation to the meaning of the word in real-life.

e.g. Football commentator says "The defender's slide tackle literally cut the forward in two"

Can you even begin to imagine the effect that would have on the viewing public, if that 'literally' happened!!

Yeugh!

10-03-2015, 05:51 PM
If we're extending this to football clichés in general, I'd like to propose my favourite misused word for some ridicule.

The word 'literally', when used by Football commentators, bears no relation to the meaning of the word in real-life.

e.g. Football commentator says "The defender's slide tackle literally cut the forward in two"

Can you even begin to imagine the effect that would have on the viewing public, if that 'literally' happened!!

Yeugh!

VivaHiberña
10-03-2015, 06:21 PM
When was the last FA Cup match that wasn't "a proper old-fashioned cup tie"? That phrase does my head in.

Green Man
10-03-2015, 06:47 PM

Yeugh!

Jamie Redknapp is terrible for that. It literally makes my blood boil.

10-03-2015, 06:49 PM
Has a club ever actually paraded their mystery new signing in front of the cameras with a veil covering his face?

11-03-2015, 04:19 PM
And for a different sport, why are tennis games referred to as "rubbers" and has anyone ever seen a dead rubber.........

11-03-2015, 04:29 PM
Does anyone have a "form book" (as in a book detailing all sides past history of results with trend analysis), and does it "go out the window" when derbys come along?

Jim_in_Canada
11-03-2015, 04:41 PM
Google will tell you.

Do I win a coconut?

Apparently, it comes from an old game called "cock shy"! See attached

http://english.stackexchange.com/questions/56147/is-there-a-connection-between-shy-adj-and-shy-v-meaning-throw

SonOfDavidFrancey
11-03-2015, 05:21 PM
What about referring to the team as 'the football club' as Tony Pulis and others tend to do. Including, I think, AS.

11-03-2015, 07:36 PM
As the thread appears to have expanded to non football matters let me ask , why are womens shoes referred to as heels, as in nude heels, red heels.

11-03-2015, 09:07 PM
As the thread appears to have expanded to non football matters let me ask , why are womens shoes referred to as heels, as in nude heels, red heels.

Or pumps? WTF are pumps?

The only shoe pumps I know about are Reebok Pumps, off of the 90's.

11-03-2015, 10:04 PM
And for a different sport, why are tennis games referred to as "rubbers" and has anyone ever seen a dead rubber.........

No, but i have seen a few in my younger days with plenty of life in them. :wink:

11-03-2015, 10:08 PM
Chelsea are on the way out!

11-03-2015, 10:46 PM
Or pumps? WTF are pumps?

The only shoe pumps I know about are Reebok Pumps, off of the 90's.

It comes from the French word for pump which is "pompe". Pompes signified flat shoes which weren't waterproof (slippers basically). If shoes are leaking the French say that they're "pumping water".

... not to be confused with a watery pump...

13-03-2015, 04:13 AM
Speaking of goal frame structures, surely when a goal is scored the ball makes contact with the front of the net. If we accept that 'the back of the goals' is the area behind the goal then the back of the net is the other side of surface of the net that the ball makes contact with when a goal is scored. :greengrin

13-03-2015, 04:26 AM
Speaking of goal frame structures, surely when a goal is scored the ball makes contact with the front of the net. If we accept that 'the back of the goals' is the area behind the goal then the back of the net is the other side of surface of the net that the ball makes contact with when a goal is scored. :greengrin

Interesting

Septimus
13-03-2015, 06:53 AM
Is the width of the goal with tubular posts measured from the inner circumference of the post or the centre of the circle? With the old square posts the width was from the inner face of the post. It would seem that the introduction of circular posts actually made the chances of scoring slightly better.....or did it?

13-03-2015, 07:21 AM
Playing a blinder, or Playing out his skin....don't get the analogy.

13-03-2015, 12:31 PM

Or the front of the net is where the "onion bag" ties on to the posts and cross bar. Using that logic, the "back of the net" is the part of the net furthest from the "woodwork". Logic restored.

You also have to think about the "roof of the net", as in 'a goal line "stramash" resulted in the ball being smashed into the "roof of the net"'.

Fishwicke
13-03-2015, 12:46 PM
Why do we sit in the stands?

Hillsidehibby
13-03-2015, 12:50 PM
filly was the term I grew up with.

Me too. Trying to kick a wet filly when you were a wee laddie was some task!

13-03-2015, 12:51 PM
When it comes to 'The Woodwork', surely we must hold a record at Easter Road...for scoring a goal having smacked the woodwork three times in the same attack before eventually scoring. Seem to remember it was against Motherwell, mid 90s. Never seen that again.I remember that. The cooshed was still there.

13-03-2015, 01:26 PM
Me too. Trying to kick a wet filly when you were a wee laddie was some task!

Ha ha that brought back memories....the paint used to get scrubbed off a new filly pretty quickly and it then essentially became a sponge not a football..a medicine ball would have been lighter!!

13-03-2015, 01:48 PM
The term 'industrial' football always intrigued me. What kind of industry did the commentator base his observation on, heavy or light industry?

13-03-2015, 02:01 PM
The term 'industrial' football always intrigued me. What kind of industry did the commentator base his observation on, heavy or light industry?

Or possibly the service industry which employs a lot of women?

I prefer the term agricultural.

13-03-2015, 02:20 PM
Or the front of the net is where the "onion bag" ties on to the posts and cross bar. Using that logic, the "back of the net" is the part of the net furthest from the "woodwork". Logic restored.

You also have to think about the "roof of the net", as in 'a goal line "stramash" resulted in the ball being smashed into the "roof of the net"'.

It's a complicated business right enough...made me think that the 'roof of the net' is really the ceiling.
Ocht, am away for a lie doon. :faint:

13-03-2015, 03:02 PM
We could always ask how it's possible for someone to kick a ball with anything other than the outside of their foot. And when a keeper stands up well to someone, what do they do the rest of the time? Does it relate to a problem with balance or is it a Bruce Grobbelaar comedy/wobbly thing?

13-03-2015, 03:07 PM
.. and then there's the player who's in space.

13-03-2015, 03:30 PM
Is it possible to front-heel the ball?

13-03-2015, 03:32 PM
.. and then there's the player who's in space.

Or the player who has to "make" space. How you do that?

13-03-2015, 04:20 PM
What do you need to do to become a die hard fan?

13-03-2015, 04:50 PM
Dribble ?

13-03-2015, 05:00 PM
What do you need to do to become a die hard fan?

And HTF do you play a square ball?