View Full Version : Semi Final TV Coverage - Saturday 18th April, 12.15 KO

Pages : 1 [2]

20-03-2015, 09:07 AM
:top marksSpot on - here in Germany we do not have any 12:00 kick-offs or 13:00 or any stupid times/dates like that ... the guys who go to the grounds here still count for something, unlike all of you in the UK ...

Really? Then how come 1860 games are almost always on Friday or Monday evening? It's a real bummer for me, cos I can hardly ever make it.

20-03-2015, 09:20 AM
Really? Then how come 1860 games are almost always on Friday or Monday evening? It's a real bummer for me, cos I can hardly ever make it.

Yeah, fair point, but I was mainly getting at the 12:00 or 13:00 kick-offs, the only point of going to see 1860 is to see what THEIR stadium looks like, surely?:greengrin

20-03-2015, 10:50 AM
Yeah, fair point, but I was mainly getting at the 12:00 or 13:00 kick-offs, the only point of going to see 1860 is to see what THEIR stadium looks like, surely?:greengrin

Genau.....

20-03-2015, 10:59 AM
I'll have about a 180 mile round trip for the semi, early start but I couldn't care if it was played at 9am. More time on the bus for a sneaky wee refreshment and a good sing song!!:)

20-03-2015, 11:33 AM
Dunno how many times it has to be said that's its nothing to do with the travelling 'time' or 'distance'

You laugh all you want Keekaboo ........ you can join the SFA in laughing Scottish football all the way down the pan. This is just the sort of attitude Barry Hearn was lambasting the SFA / SPFL about to thunderous applause from all and sundry a few weeks ago.

When you run a business, especially one that depends on the goodwill of the public, you do everything possible not to inconvenience them if you want it to survive. You go out of the way to enhance the experience, not dilute it.

I give up :bitchy:

If it's to do with the KO time, but nothing to do with travelling or distance... then what is it about the KO time that annoys you so much?

I get your point about putting paying-fans before TV-watchers, but this is the way it will always be - short of not having any of our games on TV at all (and no TV deals etc). A 2/3pm KO would be ideal for me, but if you're saying the time or distance makes no ends to you - I can't understand the huge issue?

20-03-2015, 11:52 AM
I dont think ANYONE is shocked at the time of the game, what most folk are is PISSED OFF at how the fans are the last people who are considered.

Inverness fans CANT get a train to the game that gets them there for the start of the game. The time and dates of these games were made after Celtic had got through, just so the TV could decide which games they wanted.

The very people who actually go to the games are the ones who are the most inconvenienced, while those who sit on their arse indoors watching on their telly are the ones that are being looked after as the lifeblood of the game.

Just because this has been happening for 20 years does not make it right. Having a full stadium or as near a full stadium as possible has to be the aim, but that's not the case is it?

I agree blackpoolhibs, the fans, who are the lifeblood of the game and make football what it is are always an after thought.

20-03-2015, 04:24 PM
I can't believe folk are shocked by this, I'm 24 and we've been '****ed' over and dictated to be tele companies for as long as I've been going to the games. Get over it and get in with it.

It's a lunchtime kick off and Glasgow is within 2 hours of the very vast majority of us. We're spoiled by central belt fixtures in Scotland, early starts and 3/4 hour journeys to away games are the norm for English supporters and followers of teams on the continent. You'd think we're has done by, we're really not.

Fwiw if I'd been offered this at the start of the season, I'd do a Thomson and walk to Hampden bearfoot, as would thousands of other Hibby's.

Good thing about the serial moaners Sean is they will all be back next season if we miss out on promotion.

All games on Saturdays with 3pm kick offs and lower prices.

The ground will be rocking.

20-03-2015, 05:19 PM

You should also have mentioned that every game in that division is either 1300, 1330, Friday at 1830 or even a Monday night so let's not make out the German fans are treated marvellously compared to us.

Having got on a bus around midnight to travel to Rostock for a Saturday afternoon game or regular 6.30 departures for Bremen and Hamburg away I'll never moan about lunchtime kick offs in Scotland for an hours journey to Glasgow.

Aberdeen fans did less moaning than Hibs fans and had a bigger support a few years back!!!

20-03-2015, 05:29 PM
If it's to do with the KO time, but nothing to do with travelling or distance... then what is it about the KO time that annoys you so much?

I get your point about putting paying-fans before TV-watchers, but this is the way it will always be - short of not having any of our games on TV at all (and no TV deals etc). A 2/3pm KO would be ideal for me, but if you're saying the time or distance makes no ends to you - I can't understand the huge issue?

I presume that's a rhetorical question seeing as how my previous half dozen posts say why.

20-03-2015, 05:30 PM
I dont think ANYONE is shocked at the time of the game, what most folk are is PISSED OFF at how the fans are the last people who are considered.

Inverness fans CANT get a train to the game that gets them there for the start of the game. The time and dates of these games were made after Celtic had got through, just so the TV could decide which games they wanted.

The very people who actually go to the games are the ones who are the most inconvenienced, while those who sit on their arse indoors watching on their telly are the ones that are being looked after as the lifeblood of the game.

Just because this has been happening for 20 years does not make it right. Having a full stadium or as near a full stadium as possible has to be the aim, but that's not the case is it?

Agree totally

20-03-2015, 05:31 PM
Good thing about the serial moaners Sean is they will all be back next season if we miss out on promotion.

All games on Saturdays with 3pm kick offs and lower prices.

The ground will be rocking.

:tee hee::tee hee::tee hee::tee hee:

20-03-2015, 05:43 PM

Have ye no heard Blackpool ...... this is the way it is now and out job is to bend over and part the auld cheeks in gratitude for the opportunity to take part in this televisual feast :aok:

20-03-2015, 05:45 PM
Have ye no heard Blackpool ...... this is the way it is now and out job is to bend over and part the auld cheeks in gratitude for the opportunity to take part in this televisual feast :aok:

What a totally OTT post that is. No need for that really is there?

20-03-2015, 05:47 PM
If only we'd been knocked out of the cup. Then we'd have been able to play Livingston on the day of the semi final. It would have kicked off at 3 o'clock and everyone would have been happy.

20-03-2015, 07:18 PM
What a totally OTT post that is. No need for that really is there?

Perhaps M59 ...... But I have to say that in nearly 8 years on this forum I cant remember being so annoyed and frustrated by a thread. Its bad enough seeing people who should be annoyed, and with good reason, giving the impression that they don't mind being treated as an inconvenient afterthought. Its even worse having to continually defend a point of view I have justified in nearly every post.

1)
A few hours in the boozer before big games meeting other Hibs fans and having a sing song is a time honoured tradition enjoyed by many, myself included and is part of what makes the day special ... not likely with a lunchtime kick off.
According to some on here that makes you an alcoholic who cant wait to spill out of the boozer and make trouble in the stadium.

2)
Its a shame for the ICT fans, having to head for Glasgow at daft o'clock in the morning, with even less chance of the pre match bonding experience on a Sunday:
Ach, they dinnae matter there's only 3 or 4 thousand of them.

3)
We shouldn't have to take second place to the TV schedule for big games like this:
Suck it up and stop moaning about it, its been like this for ages, there's nothing we can do about it by complaining.
Especially if you don't try eh.

4)
Its a pain in the backside for folk like me who will have to be out the house at about half 7 to make the supporters bus:
Ach ... folk in England have to do that and travel much further to games.
Were not in bloody England.

Scottish football has a TV deal which is a joke. The clubs and the SFA would be dead in the water without the supporters who pay at the gate for club and international matches ... as I have said, they should be treating us like gold dust and at the very least finding a way to schedule these games to ensure that the 'whole' big match experience is maximised and ( like the ICT fans ) travel isn't a problem. We should be treated with way more consideration than we are and I find the fact that those of us on here who support that point of view are being taken to task for it quite simply mind bogglingly astonishing.

20-03-2015, 07:19 PM
I'm a fan that's going to the game and I'm not inconvenienced by this, who do I complain to?

20-03-2015, 07:34 PM
I'm a fan that's going to the game and I'm not inconvenienced by this, who do I complain to?

Nobody, just hang your head in shame.

20-03-2015, 07:45 PM

Well done, but just wait until the thread where they announce pricing for the semi

20-03-2015, 07:57 PM
Well done, but just wait until the thread where they announce pricing for the semi

Sure it was £35 for North and South Stands and £28 for the rest. With family section as well.

Would think it'll be along those lines.

20-03-2015, 08:07 PM
Sure it was £35 for North and South Stands and £28 for the rest. With family section as well.

Would think it'll be along those lines.

Aldo, was £23 for South and North, with £15 and £5 child concessions in the east family section

Think you're quoting cup final pricing, not semi

20-03-2015, 08:18 PM
Aldo, was £23 for South and North, with £15 and £5 child concessions in the east family section Think you're quoting cup final pricing, not semi

Yeah getting mixed up. Your right Billy... £23 North and South and £15 for the rest.

Might see an increase but hoping it's about the same!!

21-03-2015, 09:24 AM
I presume that's a rhetorical question seeing as how my previous half dozen posts say why.

Yep - well noticed :aok:

21-03-2015, 10:48 AM
Yep - well noticed :aok:

http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/taunt%20smiley.gif