View Full Version : The Union Jack
01-03-2015, 07:16 PM
I used to respect and actual quite like the union jack however, this latest move to plaster it all over Scotland as a brainwashing icon has destroyed any 'affection' I had for it. They might just as well fly the Jolly Roger. It would be more appropriate.
To be honest I haven't seen it flying about any more than usual.
Where are all these atrocities happening? ;-)
01-03-2015, 07:44 PM
Ibrox?
01-03-2015, 07:50 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-31683970
01-03-2015, 08:18 PM
How do you display a plaque on "broadband in Caithness". We really are governed by morons.
01-03-2015, 09:24 PM
Maybe it's just me (probably is!) but I don't mind the idea...I think people do forget how much the government does provide and reminders of that is no bad thing I would say. Gimmicky? Well maybe but then don't forget the SNP was quick enough to rebrand the Scottish Executive the Scottish Government so maybe these things do work.
Ibrox?
I wouldn't know :-)
Don't see anything wrong with that, or the European thing. In fact the Scottish Government are being a wee bit hypocritical here I think (in the article). Projects and research funded by the SG have to have an acknowledgement plastered all over them, down to the power point presentations, not sure about capital projects - I'm sure the new bridge will have a few SG signs up!
01-03-2015, 11:26 PM
Anything with the name Danny Alexander attached to it can go right in box 101 as far as I'm concerned.
BTW, apologies to anyone who is unlucky enough to have the same name as the above DA <-----double entendre :wink:
xyz23jc
02-03-2015, 11:48 AM
Anything with the name Danny Alexander attached to it can go right in box 101 as far as I'm concerned.
BTW, apologies to anyone who is unlucky enough to have the same name as the above DA <-----double entendre :wink:
Haha. That's magic. Never thought of that! Class! The same destination...box101...for anything with the Union Jack on it!
02-03-2015, 11:54 AM
Don't you you mean Room 101?
02-03-2015, 12:55 PM
Not against it per se however would be more meaningful if they also posted one where projects have been cancelled just to let us know.
Stranraer
02-03-2015, 03:21 PM
It's a blood stained flag, a symbol of empire built on occupation, greed and cocaine. Unfortunately most people who like to wrap themselves in this flag either don't know or don't care.
02-03-2015, 04:58 PM
Don't you you mean Room 101?
Aye yer right, H R, it is Room 101.
Confusion with 'Box' 13 - :doh:
03-03-2015, 08:13 PM
It's a pathetic gesture. All this government have left is gestures.
Stranraer
03-03-2015, 08:25 PM
:agree: my worry is that Dave is going to remain PM on May 8th but I hope SNP can wipe out Labour in Scotland.
03-03-2015, 10:55 PM
:agree: my worry is that Dave is going to remain PM on May 8th but I hope SNP can wipe out Labour in Scotland.
Who is going to vote for the Tory reserve team?
Stranraer
04-03-2015, 10:06 AM
Who is going to vote for the Tory reserve team?
:greengrin not very many Scots by the sounds of things, my old constituency is showing a massive swing to the SNP that would place the Red Tories in 3rd place.
04-03-2015, 11:04 AM
I'd see it as a more fitting gesture if they removed all the current Union Jacks in our country!
That flag makes me think of three things; England, Rangers, and the NO-Vote.
Get them tae ****** :greengrin
04-03-2015, 12:39 PM
Aye yer right, H R, it is Room 101.
Confusion with 'Box' 13 - :doh:
What's Box 13? :confused:
04-03-2015, 01:08 PM
What's Box 13? :confused:
In the office, when you're told to file something in box 13 it means bin it.
(At least I hope that's what the boss meant :worried:)
04-03-2015, 03:07 PM
It's a blood stained flag, a symbol of empire built on occupation, greed and cocaine. Unfortunately most people who like to wrap themselves in this flag either don't know or don't care.
Think the same could be said about a heck of a lot of country's flags. Germany, France, Holland all had pretty big overseas "colononies" that they exploited. Personally I am proud of the fact I sailed under it for 28 years.
Stranraer
04-03-2015, 05:10 PM
Think the same could be said about a heck of a lot of country's flags. Germany, France, Holland all had pretty big overseas "colononies" that they exploited. Personally I am proud of the fact I sailed under it for 28 years.
I'm not saying the British flag is the only blood stained flag on the planet but by God we have some apologising to do, not least to my friends in Ireland. As the saying goes "The sun never set on the British empire because God wouldn't trust the British in the dark".
Saying that I do not wish to disrespect you personally.
04-03-2015, 05:30 PM
I'm not saying the British flag is the only blood stained flag on the planet but by God we have some apologising to do, not least to my friends in Ireland. As the saying goes "The sun never set on the British empire because God wouldn't trust the British in the dark".
Saying that I do not wish to disrespect you personally.
Personally think the English hurt Scotland as much as they did Ireland so cannot get over excited till we get an apology. Also not sure apologies for what happened hunners of years ago should come from current incumbents
Stranraer
04-03-2015, 06:19 PM
Personally think the English hurt Scotland as much as they did Ireland so cannot get over excited till we get an apology. Also not sure apologies for what happened hunners of years ago should come from current incumbents
What's the cut off line then? David Cameron apologised for Bloody Sunday (although that wasn't hundreds of years ago) and it was mainly Scots settlers that occupied the north of Ireland, hence the term "Ulster Scots"
04-03-2015, 09:58 PM
What's the cut off line then? David Cameron apologised for Bloody Sunday (although that wasn't hundreds of years ago) and it was mainly Scots settlers that occupied the north of Ireland, hence the term "Ulster Scots"
I don't know,I'm not a politician but I don't think an unrelated person should be apologising for some now perceived atrocity that happened hundreds of years ago. You do seem a bit stuck on the Irish aspect of it though. ;-)
Stranraer
05-03-2015, 10:23 AM
I don't know,I'm not a politician but I don't think an unrelated person should be apologising for some now perceived atrocity that happened hundreds of years ago. You do seem a bit stuck on the Irish aspect of it though. ;-)
Aye sorry about that, spend a lot of time in Armagh :wink:
05-03-2015, 02:22 PM
Aye sorry about that, spend a lot of time in Armagh :wink:
I spend a lot of time in Antrim/Derry but don't fixate on it :wink:
05-03-2015, 03:01 PM
I think to wade in here, how far back do you take it? Should a country apologise for everything it has done wrong?
I used to take quite an active interest in Irish politics, finding myself as I do, with republican sympathies. However, I think to hold out the demands as some in the radical republican movement do, for some kind of apology for things that have gone on in the distant past is not real politics. The apology for Bloody Sunday was very important and I think, far more important than anything else you'd want the UK government to say on most matters, especially since the Good Friday Agreement.
More widely: putting the badge on things to claim who paid for what - it's kind of like the scorned partner reminding the lover that nearly left him that he/she never had it so good - and don't you forget it! It's a bit of a gimmick. The Scottish Exec/Scottish Gov logo has been going on stuff for years, even before there was an SNP government.
Scottish Government or Scottish Executive: Scottish Executive was a mealy mouthed term for the Scottish Government. "Executive" makes it sound like some kind of department of a company. It distances a lot of people from what it actually is. We have "local government", used as a common phrase without that being an issue or confusion that local government is somehow bigger than national government. I think the rebrand of it made sense on all kinds of levels. "Executive" is what the men in suits wanted to call it because they don't have the stomach to call it what it actually is.
Stranraer
05-03-2015, 08:08 PM
I spend a lot of time in Antrim/Derry but don't fixate on it :wink:
I do, it's a republican thing :wink:
I think the idea is to be clear who is paying for projects.
08-03-2015, 02:57 PM
Not really as we're paying for them regardless. The flags business is more about who's spending our money.
08-03-2015, 04:14 PM
Indeed. Given the EU and Scottish Government already do it, I can't work out why it's only when the UK Government join in that it causes offence.
08-03-2015, 04:44 PM
Indeed. Given the EU and Scottish Government already do it, I can't work out why it's only when the UK Government join in that it causes offence.
I don't get the fuss either.
08-03-2015, 05:33 PM
I don't get the fuss either.
The fuss for me is the waste of money that could be better spent elsewhere. And I mean that for all brandings, not just the latest one, which has to be a Job Creation scheme for Danny Alexander, no?
16-03-2015, 07:47 PM
Jeez, is it just me? Every item on the news these days is backdropped by a union jack.
:hmmm: I wonder why
16-03-2015, 07:56 PM
Jeez, is it just me? Every item on the news these days is backdropped by a union jack.
:hmmm: I wonder why
is the UJ more prominent than usual? Can't say I've noticed. The saltire has been everywhere though.