View Full Version : Match Updates Bairns v The Rangers

27-02-2015, 06:42 PM
'Mon the Bairns

27-02-2015, 06:43 PM
A draw would be splendid :greengrin

Although I have a fiver on Falkirk to score in both halves so 2-2 would be perfect.......

Fishwicke
27-02-2015, 06:44 PM
Draw for me would be ideal. Both teams losing points.

27-02-2015, 06:48 PM
Moshni back in for The Rangers, Wallace and Zal out injured/ill

WillowbraeHibby
27-02-2015, 06:50 PM

Agree... But If sevco get beat I'll no shed any tears... :greengrin

27-02-2015, 06:53 PM
mon the draw

27-02-2015, 06:58 PM
There's a St Andrews cross, flag in the Rangers end?

27-02-2015, 07:00 PM
watched the last 5 mins and apart from a song about some guy that died 34 years ago i've not heard a sectarian song, what on earth is going on ? have the mics been switched off at the away end ?

oops, they are rangers and no one likes them...they certainly got that right, i'm 110% positive normality shall be resumed shortly...FACT

27-02-2015, 07:05 PM
0-1 currents

27-02-2015, 07:05 PM
game over :wink: keystone cops in defence

or maybe naw :) 1-1

27-02-2015, 07:06 PM
1-0 Sevco.

Terrible defending.

27-02-2015, 07:07 PM
1-1

27-02-2015, 07:07 PM
Those 17th century walls being guarded again Go on bairns 1-1

27-02-2015, 07:08 PM
Yaaaas!!!

Come on ye Bairns!!

27-02-2015, 07:08 PM
Great defending by Moshni :greengrin

27-02-2015, 07:18 PM

He really is a donkey.

Weststandwanab
27-02-2015, 07:21 PM
He really is a donkey.

That is a bit harsh on donkeys !

McKenzie
27-02-2015, 07:22 PM

Baffles me how he became a pro footballer. Makes Mcgivern look like Maldini

27-02-2015, 07:27 PM
I cannot wait until we play Sevco on 22nd March.

They are humpty.

27-02-2015, 07:28 PM
Falkirk knocking the ball about far better than Rangers here.

And there's more atmospehere on the moon than at this game.

27-02-2015, 07:28 PM
Falkirk do play some very neat and tidy stuff at times.

Mark79
27-02-2015, 07:30 PM
The boy sibbald has impressed me whenever i have seen him.

Stax
27-02-2015, 07:33 PM
I can't believe how unfit Boyd looks..

27-02-2015, 07:35 PM
The boy sibbald has impressed me whenever i have seen him.

Is he being linked with any bigger clubs?

27-02-2015, 07:38 PM
Every time I watch The Rangers I think they won't be as bad in the second half. They always are. Hope that continues tonight. We really need them to drop points.

27-02-2015, 07:40 PM

This is what you get if you pay £5k plus per week of money you don't have - all big teams do it.

27-02-2015, 07:41 PM
I've just had a swift two pints and a bottle of wine in my local brasserie, and a couple of lads I know had £100 on Huns to be leading at the 20th minute and Bayern to be leading at the 20th minute. The odds were seemingly 9/1.

They were jumping about when the Sevco goal went in thinking they scored in the 19th minute - but it's showing 20' on my goal checker thingy.

Here's hoping it was 19' as there's another bottle of vino behind the ramp with my name on it :rolleyes:

27-02-2015, 07:47 PM
I've just had a swift two pints and a bottle of wine in my local brasserie, and a couple of lads I know had £100 on Huns to be leading at the 20th minute and Bayern to be leading at the 20th minute. The odds were seemingly 9/1.

They were jumping about when the Sevco goal went in thinking they scored in the 19th minute - but it's showing 20' on my goal checker thingy.

Here's hoping it was 19' as there's another bottle of vino behind the ramp with my name on it :rolleyes:

BBC has it as '20.05

27-02-2015, 07:50 PM

Nah. We will be clear of Falkirk over the course points wise. We need Rangers to drop as many points as possible.

27-02-2015, 07:54 PM
Nah. We will be clear of Falkirk over the course points wise. We need Rangers to drop as many points as possible.

Rangers dropping 3 negates 1 of their games in hand which is what we need more than Falkirk dropping points. We're 7 points clear off Falkirk, that should be more than enough.

27-02-2015, 07:54 PM

27-02-2015, 07:55 PM

I can,because he's looked like that the whole season

sidjames
27-02-2015, 07:58 PM

What's a brass eyrie!?

Stuarty27
27-02-2015, 07:59 PM

Have they paid out?

It was defo into 20mins

27-02-2015, 08:00 PM
Truly awful game. Both side just lumping the ball forward to no one

Stax
27-02-2015, 08:00 PM
I can,because he's looked like that the whole season
Exactly, you'd have thought he'd have lost a bit of timber by now.

WillowbraeHibby
27-02-2015, 08:01 PM
That Moshni is a disaster area ...

27-02-2015, 08:03 PM

Exactly. Great to see him back.

Stax
27-02-2015, 08:03 PM
Just injured his own player :greengrin

27-02-2015, 08:06 PM
Ouch that looked sore

27-02-2015, 08:07 PM
Ouch.

That looked a sore one for Taiwo. Thought he was out cold but looks ok thankfully.

27-02-2015, 08:09 PM
Both those players should be substituted. Dull yin.

27-02-2015, 08:09 PM
Thought Taiwo was unconscious there for a second as he looked motionless for a few moments.

Fortunately he's ok.

27-02-2015, 08:14 PM
Cmon Falkirk

27-02-2015, 08:14 PM
Huns fans are going nuts!

27-02-2015, 08:15 PM
Rangers are absolutely brutal

27-02-2015, 08:15 PM
How was that not a booking for moshni?

27-02-2015, 08:16 PM
Ref lost his cards?

27-02-2015, 08:18 PM
Kick to the head and then a high tackle that would have been penalised in an egg chasing game. Not a card to be seen for The Rangers

27-02-2015, 08:18 PM
Cannot believe the game is 1-1. Huns are awful.

27-02-2015, 08:19 PM
How was that not a booking for moshni?

Quite right. Can't have him getting suspended. Moshni must play.

27-02-2015, 08:19 PM
we can see yi gogs

http://ichef.bbci.co.uk/live-experience/cps/512/mcs/media/images/81301000/jpg/_81301857_strachan.jpg

27-02-2015, 08:22 PM
Weather is horrendous. Hope it's not like this tomorrow at alloa.

27-02-2015, 08:23 PM
Falkirk only have themselves to blame if they drop 2 points against this pish. Not ruthless enough when the chances and half chances have come, a bit like Hibs earlier in the season.

27-02-2015, 08:24 PM
Weather is horrendous. Hope it's not like this tomorrow at alloa.

It's to be raining heavy from around 1pm

27-02-2015, 08:24 PM
Heavy rain forecast for Alloa tomorrow...starting at 3pm as well then throughout the game,take yer brollies

27-02-2015, 08:28 PM
It's to be raining heavy from around 1pm

Heavy rain forecast for Alloa tomorrow...starting at 3pm as well then throughout the game,take yer brollies

Baws.

27-02-2015, 08:29 PM
Great shot by Boyd there, unlucky not to score :rolleyes:

27-02-2015, 08:30 PM
Great shot by Boyd there, unlucky not to score :rolleyes:

Sign him up.

27-02-2015, 08:32 PM
That was a pen.

27-02-2015, 08:33 PM
Pen for Falkirk - not given.

27-02-2015, 08:33 PM
That was a pen.

They go on about diving but if refs won't give penalties when a player stays on his feet it's easy to see why it happens.

27-02-2015, 08:34 PM
Defo a pen. No advantage so bring it back and give the pen.

27-02-2015, 08:35 PM
They go on about diving but if refs won't give penalties when a player stays on his feet it's easy to see why it happens.

Shot away or not that was a penalty kick.

27-02-2015, 08:35 PM
That was a pen.

:agree::agree::agree:

1-1 is a great result for us though :greengrin

27-02-2015, 08:36 PM
:agree::agree::agree:

1-1 is a great result for us though :greengrin

Not as good as it would have been if Falkirk won though.

27-02-2015, 08:36 PM
Defo a pen. No advantage so bring it back and give the pen.

There was an advantage to be fair.

27-02-2015, 08:37 PM
'Rangers have underperformed tonight'.

Wrong. This is pretty standard for then. They're just not very good.

27-02-2015, 08:38 PM
Perfect result for us!

27-02-2015, 08:38 PM
Ft 1-1.

27-02-2015, 08:39 PM
Brutal second 45 mins if football. I'll take a draw.

27-02-2015, 08:39 PM
mon the draw

ask and ye shall receive :agree: now, 3 points for the cabbage tomorrow ta muchly

27-02-2015, 08:40 PM
Best result :thumbsup: Win tomorrow would be massive for Hibs

Falkirk got dragged down to Rangers level in the 2nd half.

Win tomorrow and that's a nice wee gap opening up. Points on the board are worth more than games in hand.

PiemanP
Good result for us but we need to do the business tomorrow - no excuses. Going to be very close between second and third methinks.

Perfect for us .... gotta win tomorrow to capitalise. C'mon http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/thumbs%20up.gif

Cool_Hand_Luke
Was Boyd not playing (and scoring)for Standard Leige tonight?

Standard Liege 1 - 0 Cercle Brugge Result
26' Booking S.Buyl
51' Booking J.Kabananga
J.De Sart Booking 55'
75'Booking M.Maertens

R.Faty Goal 89'

27-02-2015, 08:41 PM
No movement2
Hibernian (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/hibernian)

No movement3
Rangers (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/rangers)

Moving up4
Falkirk (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/falkirk)

Moving down5
Queen of Sth (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/queen-of-the-south)

No movement6
Raith Rovers (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/raith-rovers)

Brutal second 45 mins if football. I'll take a draw.

Thon numpty on BT Sport blaming the weather for the crap game

That'll do. Win tomorrow now.

Feeling more confident about getting second after that. They still have Falkirk at ibrox. Hearts and Qots both home and away. And come to us.

27-02-2015, 08:42 PM
Booooo!!

27-02-2015, 08:43 PM

Win tomorrow and that's a nice wee gap opening up. Points on the board are worth more than games in hand.

100% agreed, let them play catch up. Mentally it is tough when your rivals start pulling away regardless of games in hand.

27-02-2015, 08:44 PM
I would have preferred a Falkirk win tonight to be honest.

I don't fear them overtaking us and it would mean we could have gone 5 points clear of Sevco by tomorrow night.

A draw's not bad though and it means we can open up a 4 points gap tomorrow.

27-02-2015, 08:47 PM
http://i58.tinypic.com/1zgucxs.jpg

Corstorphine Hibby
27-02-2015, 08:47 PM
Good result for us but we need to do the business tomorrow - no excuses. Going to be very close between second and third methinks.

6 mins injury time......:rolleyes:

Maybe the 4th official should have letters like etc or tbc on the board they hold up instead of numbers when the Rangers are not ahead after 90 mins.

27-02-2015, 08:49 PM
Brilliant result for us. Need to do the business tomorrow now. No excuses.

27-02-2015, 08:49 PM
Scotland 45 Italy 0 in the six nations U20's...good night all round :greengrin

Stuarty27
27-02-2015, 08:50 PM
Might add a few thru the gate tomorrow with a chance to go 4 clear in 2nd

27-02-2015, 08:52 PM
Stats on the game favoured Falkirk.

Edged the possession, shot count 12 - 6, corner count 10 - 2.

27-02-2015, 08:54 PM
KM, you don't get to Rangers if your a bad player, oh dear, I'll kick off with Moshni

Joe's ice cream
27-02-2015, 08:57 PM
KM, you don't get to Rangers if your a bad player, oh dear, I'll kick off with Moshni

Stuart McAll doesn't half talk some pish

27-02-2015, 08:57 PM
I would have preferred a Falkirk win tonight to be honest.

I don't fear them overtaking us and it would mean we could have gone 5 points clear of Sevco by tomorrow night.

A draw's not bad though and it means we can open up a 4 points gap tomorrow.

Yep. No idea why people are happier with Rangers getting a point. Doubt Falkirk will be a threat.

27-02-2015, 09:01 PM

I'll raise you Kyle Hutton

27-02-2015, 09:02 PM
Yep. No idea why people are happier with Rangers getting a point. Doubt Falkirk will be a threat.

A draw isn't that much worse for us than a defeat. One of their games is against hearts and I can only see them dropping more silly points. We, on the other hand...

I can actually visualise finishing second now.

27-02-2015, 09:02 PM
Our results against Rangers this season have been much better than our results against Falkirk. I would much sooner we played Rangers but who knows, we may have to play both.

27-02-2015, 09:03 PM

True, but I still find it hard to get my head around the fact that a Rangers are so bad.

27-02-2015, 09:04 PM

Trying to blur the lines between old and new club again.

Frank Sidebottom would get a game for this lot.

27-02-2015, 09:05 PM
True, but I still find it hard to get my head around the fact that a Rangers are so bad.

You see the badge and reckon they have to come good as it's happened so many times in the past. I'm still waiting.

27-02-2015, 09:05 PM
Pains me to be positive about Hearts but I don't see any result other than an away win in their rearranged game. With us still to play The Rangers again it's as good as in our own hands now whether we finish second or third. After the way we started the season there's a lot of credit due to Hibs for hanging around and getting ourselves back to here. Now let's finish the job.

27-02-2015, 09:17 PM
No movement2

Hibernian (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/hibernian)

No movement3

Rangers (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/rangers)

Moving up4

Falkirk (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/falkirk)

Moving down5

Queen of Sth (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/queen-of-the-south)

No movement6

Raith Rovers (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/raith-rovers)

I fancy Queen of the South making a charge and pipping The Rangers for third spot. I know you could say that The Rangers are effectively 9 points ahead but they must be dropping the most points of the teams in the top five.

27-02-2015, 09:19 PM
I fancy Queen of the South making a charge and pipping The Rangers for third spot. I know you could say that The Rangers are effectively 9 points ahead but they must be dropping the most points of the teams in the top five.

Queens have got a tough run in

27-02-2015, 09:23 PM
I personally think that Falkirk and Queen of the South will be fighting it out for the last play off place and us and Sevco will finish 2nd and 3rd (hopefully in that order!).

I would love to think that one or both of Falkirk and Queen of the South could finish above Sevco but I think they'll do enough to finish no lower than 3rd.

27-02-2015, 09:24 PM
Rangers are a poor team but I still think they'll pip us for the second spot. However I'm confident we'll beat them in the play offs simply because man for man, we're better than they are.

27-02-2015, 09:31 PM
Great result for Hibs. Win tomorrow and we gain 2 points on both.

27-02-2015, 09:31 PM
I personally think that Falkirk and Queen of the South will be fighting it out for the last play off place and us and Sevco will finish 2nd and 3rd (hopefully in that order!).

I would love to think that one or both of Falkirk and Queen of the South could finish above Sevco but I think they'll do enough to finish no lower than 3rd.

Finishing second is important as the third/fourth place tie will be a tricky, bruising encounter for anyone. I'd be confident of progressing regardless but I'd rather lay in wait for an opponent who had already been softened up.

I'm still not convinced that there won't be a Masonic decision or two come the play offs. The suits are desperate for them to "get back" into the top flight.

27-02-2015, 09:34 PM
Rangers are a poor team but I still think they'll pip us for the second spot. However I'm confident we'll beat them in the play offs simply because man for man, we're better than they are.

I still think they're the favourites for second place right now, simply because they're only one point behind us at the moment and have two games in hand.

Each time they drop points like tonight though gives me greater confidence of being able to finish above them.

They also still need to play Hearts and Queen of the South twice and us and Falkirk once.

I'm hoping that they won't get too many points from those six games and that's almost half of their remaining matches.

27-02-2015, 09:38 PM
Finishing second is important as the third/fourth place tie will be a tricky, bruising encounter for anyone. I'd be confident of progressing regardless but I'd rather lay in wait for an opponent who had already be softened up.

I'm still not convinced that there won't be a Masonic decision or two come the play offs. The suits are desperate for them to "get back" into the top flight.

I don't know why because, apart from the fanbase, going by their performances any time I've seen them this season, they'll add very little to the top flight.

This current Sevco side would struggle to get into the top six of the Premiership.

27-02-2015, 09:40 PM
Moshni!! :faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:

He's gotta be up there with some of the worst defenders to play in Scotland. How the mighty have fallen eh??! :faf::faf::faf::faf:

portycabbage
27-02-2015, 09:55 PM

Points dropped in last 10 games-

Yams - 5pts
Hibs - 6pts
The Rangers - 14pts
Falkirk - 13pts
QOS - 16pts

Albeit QOS still have The Rangers to play twice - and although they've only 4 wins in their last 10, one of those was against The Rangers.

Tinribs
27-02-2015, 10:05 PM
Baffles me how he became a pro footballer. Makes Mcgivern look like Maldini

That reminds me of a bit from Only an Excuse, back when it was good..."Tonight on Sportscene, we compare Paulo Maldini with Yogi hughes...just for badness." :greengrin

plhibs
27-02-2015, 10:08 PM
I don't know why because, apart from the fanbase, going by their performances any time I've seen them this season, they'll add very little to the top flight.

This current Sevco side would struggle to get into the top six of the Premiership.

Simple the SFA or whatever they are called want 4 derbies each year, the most famous rivalry in football. BS as usual from the Glasgow F A.

I really worry about having to meet them in a playoff because we are better than them but imagine who could be the Ref.

27-02-2015, 10:17 PM
I'll raise you Kyle Hutton

Does Black still play/warm the bench for them ?

27-02-2015, 10:27 PM

He's only played twice since his nightmare against us at Christmas time.

Hopefully they're keeping him fit for 22nd March. :greengrin

28-02-2015, 07:34 AM

Apparently he had "flu" so didn't even make the bench.

28-02-2015, 08:14 AM
Watched a bit of the 2nd half and Der Hun didn't like the Falkirk players getting stuck in.

Woeful at the back, with little or no creativity in the middle (Vukic was poor) and tubby tubberson up top.

One or 2 of the younger players Hutton in particular ran about moaning and was happy to out the boot in but dust like it back.

Yeah they might have games in hand but tell you what we just need to go about our business in a professional manner (get these stupid draws at home sorted) and keep the pressure on.

28-02-2015, 10:06 AM
Apparently he had "flu" so didn't even make the bench.

He really should give Beechams powders a try.

Other powders are available but apparently he knew that.

28-02-2015, 10:20 AM
Out of the three possible teams we could meet in the Play Offs, The Rangers really are our best bet for progressing.

We've struggled against both QOTS and Falkirk this season.

28-02-2015, 10:43 AM
Out of the three possible teams we could meet in the Play Offs, The Rangers really are our best bet for progressing.

No danger.

28-02-2015, 10:50 AM
No danger.

Our combined record against QOTS and Falkirk this season is: W-1, D-2, L3.

I'd say that's 'struggled'

28-02-2015, 11:07 AM

Simple - it'll help Doncaster do what he hasn't bothered his a*rse to do and that's getting our game a sponsor. The sad thing is, 'Septic v Sevco' DOES sell - but not for football reasons. The GFA and the 'Old Grime' labour under the illusion it's for the football whereas in fact, SKY package it around the world as a 'Wild-life' programme with David Attenborough commentating.

28-02-2015, 11:10 AM

IF we beat the relevant Championship teams in the playoffs, we still have to beat an SPL team.
That fact is often overlooked.

28-02-2015, 11:23 AM
IF we beat the relevant Championship teams in the playoffs, we still have to beat an SPL team.
That fact is often overlooked.

Very true. Thing is that it will be a team devoid of confidence and quality which works in our favour. Just like we were v Hamilton. May be playing an SPL team but I think we definitely have a spl quality side ourselves

28-02-2015, 11:39 AM
Very true. Thing is that it will be a team devoid of confidence and quality which works in our favour. Just like we were v Hamilton. May be playing an SPL team but I think we definitely have a spl quality side ourselves

I would expect us to deal with the second bottom SPL side based on how we've done this season. We are definitely good enough, IMHO.

Prof. Shaggy
28-02-2015, 11:47 AM
I would expect us to deal with the second bottom SPL side based on how we've done this season. We are definitely good enough, IMHO.

I'd like to think so too.
It depends a bit on how the second placed team got there. Last year we were in free-fall and there was an inevitability (with a little bit of hind-sight) of our dropping into the play-off position.
On the other hand if there's a team in last place for a period who manage to scrap their way up into the play-offs, they might have a bit more belief that they can survive.

28-02-2015, 01:00 PM
I'd like to think so too.
It depends a bit on how the second placed team got there. Last year we were in free-fall and there was an inevitability (with a little bit of hind-sight) of our dropping into the play-off position.
On the other hand if there's a team in last place for a period who manage to scrap their way up into the play-offs, they might have a bit more belief that they can survive.

That's a fair point - you'd maybe expect a team that's moved off the bottom spot into the play-off to get a lift from it. That said, we've had a season where we've won the majority of our games comfortably, we'll go in with confidence and players who are good enough for the SPL - the team in the play-offs will have doubts over whether they are good enough.