View Full Version : Cockenzie Power Station

24-02-2015, 11:05 AM
Sad news to hear the chimneys come down next week. I have personal reasons for wanting to be there, and with it being a Tuesday I won't be able to go. My dad worked there for 17 years, before his death in 1986.

http://www.eastlothiannews.co.uk/news/local-news/end-is-nigh-for-cockenzie-coal-towers-1-3699703

Anybody else got personal memories of the station?

24-02-2015, 11:26 AM
Sad news to hear the chimneys come down next week. I have personal reasons for wanting to be there, and with it being a Tuesday I won't be able to go. My dad worked there for 17 years, before his death in 1986.

http://www.eastlothiannews.co.uk/news/local-news/end-is-nigh-for-cockenzie-coal-towers-1-3699703

Anybody else got personal memories of the station?

It's not the chimneys next week, think that is to happen later in the year so you may yet get to see them come down.

Will be sad to see them go when they do come down though. I was born and raised in Port Seton, and the power station was a big part of the community given how many locals had built and worked in it over the years. Will be sad to see the landmark go.

24-02-2015, 11:42 AM
Remember going on a day trip with the school, cannae say I enjoyed the see-through mesh flooring too much!

24-02-2015, 02:40 PM
Remember going on a day trip with the school, cannae say I enjoyed the see-through mesh flooring too much!

Were you frightened you might slip through pal? :wink:

24-02-2015, 03:11 PM
Were you frightened you might slip through pal? :wink:

There was mair meat on a butchers pencil in the pre-bevvy days.

24-02-2015, 04:21 PM
There was mair meat on a butchers pencil in the pre-bevvy days.

patch1875
24-02-2015, 04:36 PM
It's not the chimneys next week, think that is to happen later in the year so you may yet get to see them come down.

Will be sad to see them go when they do come down though. I was born and raised in Port Seton, and the power station was a big part of the community given how many locals had built and worked in it over the years. Will be sad to see the landmark go.

I was told the main chimneys will get dismantled not blown up.

24-02-2015, 07:02 PM
There's supposed to be a bigger monstrosity going up on the site in the future. Huge cranes (even taller than the chimneys) for the proposed wind turbine repair works.
Dearie me.

24-02-2015, 07:30 PM
I was told the main chimneys will get dismantled not blown up.

They're defo getting blown up, they're holding a raffle so one of the locals can press the button. Perhaps they're dismantling the top section before the big day?

24-02-2015, 08:47 PM
Used to go down there hooking bass. No bait needed just a treble hook and a sensitive finger.

24-02-2015, 09:23 PM
Its one of the better modern industrial buildings. i quite liked it.

25-02-2015, 11:20 AM
No personal memories of the power station but it's been a major part of the view from sunny Tranent so it's going to be strange when it all comes down.

25-02-2015, 11:27 AM
No personal memories of the power station but it's been a major part of the view from sunny Tranent so it's going to be strange when it all comes down.

When driving along the A1, I always thought the station looked like a giant riverboat.
Pity Proud Mary didn't keep on burnin'

25-02-2015, 10:46 PM
I won't miss getting held up behind the coal trains coming out of blindwells to then reverse into cockenzie yard. :grr:

26-02-2015, 07:09 AM
I won't miss getting held up behind the coal trains coming out of blindwells to then reverse into cockenzie yard. :grr:

HC, since cockenzie closed and the coal trains from leith docks stopped, do you know if there are ever any trains at all now on the leith branch or is it pretty much abandoned?

26-02-2015, 07:57 AM
Its one of the better modern industrial buildings. i quite liked it.

I'd agree, let's face it a power station is never going to be a thing of beauty, but Cockenzie does blend into its surroundings pretty well.

Don't get the brouhaha over the site being used for another industrial project. Before the station was there, there was a coal mine. The area has always been set aside for industrial use.

Mr Grieves
26-02-2015, 09:49 AM
HC, since cockenzie closed and the coal trains from leith docks stopped, do you know if there are ever any trains at all now on the leith branch or is it pretty much abandoned?
My work is beside the track in Leith and I haven't seen any trains in a long time.

26-02-2015, 10:16 AM
I'd agree, let's face it a power station is never going to be a thing of beauty, but Cockenzie does blend into its surroundings pretty well.

Don't get the brouhaha over the site being used for another industrial project. Before the station was there, there was a coal mine. The area has always been set aside for industrial use.

It's not the fact that it's industrial, FR, it's the scale of the planned works. The proposed footprint is much larger than the current area of the station & coal plant. The preliminary plans show the coast road between Prestonpans & Cockenzie being closed off. Also the site of the 1745 battle is part of the development + they are dredging the Forth to substantially extend the existing pier.

This is nothing like the 'new Marina' that the new home owners in the east Pans were promised by the developer. No wonder the natives are angry.

26-02-2015, 10:52 AM
It's not the fact that it's industrial, FR, it's the scale of the planned works. The proposed footprint is much larger than the current area of the station & coal plant. The preliminary plans show the coast road between Prestonpans & Cockenzie being closed off. Also the site of the 1745 battle is part of the development + they are dredging the Forth to substantially extend the existing pier. This is nothing like the 'new Marina' that the new home owners in the east Pans were promised by the developer. No wonder the natives are angry.

The plans have not went to planning yet have they? From what I have read it seems well over the top though...would seem a perfect opportunity to 'develop' the land to complement the rest of the coastline. I.e to extend the nature reserve and to remove the land from industrial or commercial use completely.

Councils bleat on about being green etc but when push comes to shove money talks and therefore we will see a gross over development one way or the other.

26-02-2015, 10:54 AM
I'd agree, let's face it a power station is never going to be a thing of beauty, but Cockenzie does blend into its surroundings pretty well. Don't get the brouhaha over the site being used for another industrial project. Before the station was there, there was a coal mine. The area has always been set aside for industrial use.

You think? The power station can be seen for tens of miles all around!

The fact that it's kind of impressive in terms of how humans can simply disregard the environment and force it's will on nature is beside the point...it's a friggin eyesore and apart from sentimental reasons won't be missed in terms of its impact on that part of the coastline I would say!

26-02-2015, 11:28 AM

The fact that it's kind of impressive in terms of how humans can simply disregard the environment and force it's will on nature is beside the point...it's a friggin eyesore and apart from sentimental reasons won't be missed in terms of its impact on that part of the coastline I would say!

The warm water it ejected into the Forth attracted lots of fish (so they say) :fishin: :cool2:

alexhibs
26-02-2015, 06:59 PM
Used to go down there hooking bass. No bait needed just a treble hook and a sensitive finger.

Grey Mullet if ah remember, used to come into warm water in shoals. Rod, reel, line, lead weights, treble hooks and a big carrier bag for the fish and walk back to Tranent. Things you did as a kid, great fun but looking back pretty cruel.

26-02-2015, 07:15 PM
It's not the fact that it's industrial, FR, it's the scale of the planned works. The proposed footprint is much larger than the current area of the station & coal plant. The preliminary plans show the coast road between Prestonpans & Cockenzie being closed off. Also the site of the 1745 battle is part of the development + they are dredging the Forth to substantially extend the existing pier.

This is nothing like the 'new Marina' that the new home owners in the east Pans were promised by the developer. No wonder the natives are angry.

My money is on a deep water port and ferry terminal. Definitely up to something there.

It's hard to disguise a power station. When it was designed the architects did so with a consideration for the environment. Much of the structure is below the level of the road, green glass was used for the bulk of the walls to match the colour of the sea, and the surrounding bings were landscaped to created a natural context for the building.

I know I'll be biased, having grown up beside it,but I never found it an intimidating structure, and when next to it, you weren't actually aware it was there. It received a lot of acclaim during its day, and was shortlisted in the Nationwide (TV) Best Power Station in Britain. (That was in the early 70s when there were only 3 TV channels, and the pubs shut at 10 - times were simpler).

There can be no doubt that it is held in esteem by a lot of people, as it has been a big part of our lives.

HibsMax
26-02-2015, 07:17 PM
Reminds me of when Portobello Power Station came down.

I don't know if I'm sentimental about the structures and what they mean to the community, or if it's just a case of things changing and a sign of getting older.

26-02-2015, 07:24 PM
Reminds me of when Portobello Power Station came down.

I don't know if I'm sentimental about the structures and what they mean to the community, or if it's just a case of things changing and a sign of getting older.

That was a beautiful building that would never have come down nowadays. People didn't understand the beauty of industrial buildings then.

26-02-2015, 07:35 PM
That was a beautiful building that would never have come down nowadays. People didn't understand the beauty of industrial buildings then.

:agree: It was superb. Makes me think of the time I first saw Battersea Power Station from the train. I was in awe.

The problem with these buildings however is finding a new use for them and, of course, the money to do it.

ps. I remember once when playing at the Albert Hall (as one does :greengrin), when standing outside one of the guys said that he preferred Portobello power station (the Albert Hall's just a big round red brick thing) - he wasn't joking, and he was right IMO.

HibsMax
26-02-2015, 07:41 PM
:agree: It was superb. Makes me think of the time I first saw Battersea Power Station from the train. I was in awe.

The problem with these buildings however is finding a new use for them and, of course, the money to do it.

Housing. Too late now for PPS.

26-02-2015, 07:50 PM
Housing. Too late now for PPS.

The construction costs for converting a power station are enormous compared to any other conversion or even newbuild for that matter. It might work for Battersea where luxury/London prices can be charged, but Portobello...?

27-02-2015, 07:06 AM
The construction costs for converting a power station are enormous compared to any other conversion or even newbuild for that matter. It might work for Battersea where luxury/London prices can be charged, but Portobello...?

It might have made a good parliament building, or even theatres.

27-02-2015, 08:36 AM
It might have made a good parliament building, or even theatres.
Malcolm Rifkind could have arranged it for us if he'd been around then. :wink:

27-02-2015, 06:00 PM

Afaik the only traffic to use that branch is the sporadic pipe train that ran to the far north and I've not seen it for ages. I pass it most days and the rails are all rusted over, not seen a train on it for months.

27-02-2015, 07:33 PM
Afaik the only traffic to use that branch is the sporadic pipe train that ran to the far north and I've not seen it for ages. I pass it most days and the rails are all rusted over, not seen a train on it for months.
:aok: cheers hc, yeah that's why I was wondering about it, the last time I passed it looked like a while since the track had seen any traffic.

NYHibby
28-02-2015, 08:12 AM

When I was in school we would go to visit Three Mile Island. They made us touch the outer wall of the reactor building where the nuclear accident took place. We also got to stand in the middle of the disused cooling tower.

28-02-2015, 08:51 AM
When I was in school we would go to visit Three Mile Island. They made us touch the outer wall of the reactor building where the nuclear accident took place. We also got to stand in the middle of the disused cooling tower.
Wow, we just got the belt when we were bad. :wink:

02-03-2015, 05:17 PM
Is the detonation of these chimneys definitely happening tomorrow?

02-03-2015, 05:57 PM
Is the detonation of these chimneys definitely happening tomorrow?

No mate, I got mixed up when I read the newspaper article. It was two towers in the old coal plant that came down last Tuesday. The chimneys are supposed to come down later in the year. Sorry for the confusion.

02-03-2015, 06:13 PM
Thanks. Was going to watch from Musselburgh Lagoons. Won't bother now!

HibsMax
02-03-2015, 08:26 PM
I was thinking of affordable housing as opposed to luxury apartments. I don't know the costs involved, just spit-balling an idea of what to do with empty buildings.

It's obscene to think that there are so many empty buildings and so many homeless - how can we have both of those problems? Simple answer. Money. I'm thinking of Detroit when I write this. Not the most glamourous place to live but, and I only learned this recently, some downtown buildings have been empty for decades. What a waste.

02-03-2015, 09:01 PM

We went on a day trip to Chernobyl when we were in Kiev for a Scotland game. Wandering around Pripyat where Chernobyl Diaries was filmed was an eerie experience.

NYHibby
03-03-2015, 08:11 PM

We went on a day trip to Chernobyl when we were in Kiev for a Scotland game. Wandering around Pripyat where Chernobyl Diaries was filmed was an eerie experience.

I'm actually going on a two day tour over Easter. I get to spend a night in the town of Chernobyl within the exclusion zone.

03-03-2015, 11:20 PM
Watch out for the massive catfish in the river that runs by reactor 4 that exploded, dinnae eat them though! ;-)

We got tested with geiger counters on the way in/out of the exclusion zone, to this day I'm not sure how much was a touristy gimmick and how much was for our own safety!