View Full Version : Missing fans

Pages : 1 [2]

22-02-2015, 02:48 PM
The biggest problem is the league we are in IMO. No matter what the score is in games outside of Rangers or Hearts I am finding myself incredibly bored at the games. I came in to this season looking for the title and or promotion via play-offs, I know it's not a foregone conclusion but it just feels like there is nothing to play for until the play-offs.

We have everthing still to play for .After the cup game against Berwick we will have a Scottish Cup Semi Final to look forward to ,and I think we have have Livi at home sometime soon then we have in no particular order games against Raith ,Hearts Rangers Queen of the South and must be due Falkirk away We really need to keep winning to have a chance od second .
So Fans should be getting right behind the team for these games as that cluster of games could keep us in contention for second depending how Rangers results go .

22-02-2015, 02:53 PM
In what way? People staying away can't claim to be supporting the club in the way that people who have kept going have.

Waiting until we are fully recovered then coming back is not supporting.

If that hurts any feelings then tough, some fans are actually better fans than others.

I agree.

For a whole host of reasons, different people do give different levels of support to the club.

If folk want to congratulate themselves for going to games, then they should fill their boots. They have literally helped to keep the club going recently.

Along with STF's generous bail outs of course. :wink:

22-02-2015, 02:54 PM
Not actually read every post, but has someone said they dont go because the pies are too expensive?

I thought it was the wine gums?

22-02-2015, 02:57 PM
What, like the last time we went down. Crowds went up!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1998%E2%80%9399_Hibernian_F.C._season

Average home league attendance 10433 (down 1592)

22-02-2015, 02:59 PM
For about the tenth time on this thread. NO THEY DIDN'T. THE AVERAGE WAS ABOUT 1600 DOWN ON THE PREVIOUS SEASON. THAT'S A FACT.

Are you Collymore in disguise:wink:

22-02-2015, 03:03 PM
This thread is hilarious.

Are prices justified? For me no. But I do understand why they are so high. If we fail to gain promotion should we drop them including food etc YES. If not the fans will just keep dropping! That's why getting up first time is so important!

Another season down here will kill us! Don't blame Stubbs at all and I have faith he will take us up!

22-02-2015, 03:05 PM
It goes a lot deeper than that, the 5-1 against Them, the Malmo debacle, Calderwood ??? Butcher butchering the minds of the players last season to make them the worst team in the league, it's been a long slow death that fans have just gave up, they need enticed back again.

Enticed back?? They are meant to be supporter's.......

22-02-2015, 03:09 PM
****** Petrie,he aint going to stop me watching my Hibs,ggtth.

Good for you.

I don't hate Rod. I find him honest, sincere with a good dry sense of humour. He is in my book every inch a Hibby. Not by birthright but by the amount of his life he has dedicated to the club. Until he recruited Leeann it was very much a 7 day a week: eat, breathe, sleep passion.

But for the last five years his performance as club chairman and sometime CEO was disastrous. We lurched from one crisis to another. His man management and recruitment strategies were his worst legacy. How many managers failed under Rod who arrived with good CV's?

The other poor legacy was to run Hibs like a corporate identity rather than a football club. Board members drawn from the legal, consulting, communications and energy businesses might do well if you are recruiting board members for a bank or manufacturing company. But not for a community club where values, family, tradition, identity, communication, sporting performance and entertainment drive the business. Leeann recognised this within a few weeks in the job.

I understand completely why Rod doesn't want to walk away. Hibs are his life as are his SFA and SPL roles. He's only 58/59 and isn't ready for retirement.

So for now we are stuck with the Petrie business first approach but with Leeann taking more and more responsibility and doing things her way. I can't see us ever moving to community ownership though until he leaves Hibs. The 51% is a bit of a red herring as they keep bringing in their own people to run their share schemes. But at least the ball is starting to roll.

Once we shed ourselves of the bland, outsourced business model and replace it with a club run for and by the local fan and business community I think the lost fans will return.

22-02-2015, 03:14 PM
We have everthing still to play for .After the cup game against Berwick we will have a Scottish Cup Semi Final to look forward to ,and I think we have have Livi at home sometime soon then we have in no particular order games against Raith ,Hearts Rangers Queen of the South and must be due Falkirk away We really need to keep winning to have a chance od second .
So Fans should be getting right behind the team for these games as that cluster of games could keep us in contention for second depending how Rangers results go .
I think we should show Berwick a bit more respect. After the cup game we will be looking forward to the semi only IF we win. Being a Hibby you should know by now there are no guarantees. ;-)

22-02-2015, 03:33 PM
I think we should show Berwick a bit more respect. After the cup game we will be looking forward to the semi only IF we win. Being a Hibby you should know by now there are no guarantees. ;-)

I understand what you are saying ,and I am by nature a glass half empty person .But we are now a better team under Stubbs and if we play to form I really can't see an upset . Stubbs will have the Team prepared that's all the respect they need .

22-02-2015, 03:39 PM
Three reasons to go back

Allan, McGeoch, Fyvie

Another three

Stubbs, Fontaine, Malonga.

22-02-2015, 03:41 PM

Disillusioned supporters though, many years of abject misery has led them to stray away and do other things on a game day, should we not try at least to get them back or are you happy with 10,000 crowds at ER.

22-02-2015, 03:41 PM
This uber fan nonsense is laughable guys.

As I said before I live in Aberdeen and work weekends. I can only get to a game every now and then. I still love my team. I have hibs TV so I can still watch the games a few days later when they go up. I've been to 2 games this season. Dundee utd and raith and it took a lot of effort to get shifts covered and traveling down to see hibs. To the people who suggest this is an excuse and can't wait to see people like me moan if we can't get tickets to cup games, really what's wrong with you? What makes you think you are a bigger hibee than me? When my father died we carried his coffin down to sunshine on leith. How dare anyone on here claim that people who don't go to every game are lesser fans. If I could I would be at every game home and away!

Hells bells mate...... anybody who doesn't respect your efforts as a fan is having a laugh mate. The problems some of us are having is that there aren't more fans like you.

22-02-2015, 03:56 PM
Disillusioned supporters though, many years of abject misery has led them to stray away and do other things on a game day, should we not try at least to get them back or are you happy with 10,000 crowds at ER.

Yes I'm delirious with our crowds, I can't wait to read the threads on here, should we get to Final, about how many people deserve tickets, even though they stopped going.....

22-02-2015, 04:04 PM

Aye but some of the more delicate and precious wee souls amongst us want wooed back. Maybe chocolate and flowers would do the trick. :greengrin

22-02-2015, 04:09 PM
Aye but some of the more delicate and precious wee souls amongst us want wooed back. Maybe chocolate and flowers would do the trick. :greengrin

I'm not going back until Petrie's gone...to buy me a pint at the bar on the concourse next to the standing area.

22-02-2015, 04:10 PM
Have a wee look at the crowd today at Celtic, jeezo if we think we have a problem.

I didn't know until a few weeks ago that around 28/30% of Celtic ST holders live without Scotalnd
Could that be the reason for poor attendances on a Sunday at Parkhead ?

22-02-2015, 04:12 PM
I didn't know until a few weeks ago that around 28/30% of Celtic ST holders live without Scotalnd
Could that be the reason for poor attendances on a Sunday at Parkhead ?

I dont know what the official crowd that's been declared for today's game, but from the TV pics it cant be anymore than 20-25k at most?

PS where has Scotland gone for these folk? :wink:

22-02-2015, 04:16 PM
I thought it was the wine gums?

I'd go more often if they sold wine gums. It's a hell of a job carrying them all the way from Tesco on Leith Walk to the ground. I'd be prepared upwards of £1.50 a pack, just to save me the bother of lugging them all that way.

22-02-2015, 04:18 PM

Flowers and chocolates was last weekend, so they may have missed a trick there

22-02-2015, 04:19 PM
I had expectd to see an upturn in attendance once we started to perform well and get more points on the board; it obviously hasn't happened.

Sadly, I think a few years of awful performances has turned off 2-3,000 people from attending and I don't think they'll be back until we're in the Premier again.

22-02-2015, 04:20 PM
I'd go more often if they sold wine gums. It's a hell of a job carrying them all the way from Tesco on Leith Walk to the ground. I'd be prepared upwards of £1.50 a pack, just to save me the bother of lugging them all that way.

I dont think its safe to shop in that establishment these days.

22-02-2015, 04:24 PM
I had expectd to see an upturn in attendance once we started to perform well and get more points on the board; it obviously hasn't happened.

Sadly, I think a few years of awful performances has turned off 2-3,000 people from attending and I don't think they'll be back until we're in the Premier again.

I think those 2 - 3000 are taking it in turns to check up on Hibs at the moment. Something will click soon, and all 3,000 will be back at once.

22-02-2015, 04:27 PM
Reading through the thread there are lots of reasons the fans staying away.
The important thing for the club are to take care of the ones they have control over, like team performance, prices, which Leaugue we play in, the poor standard of catering and most of all Rod Petrie.
Let's stop giving people excuses to not come.

22-02-2015, 04:35 PM
I think those 2 - 3000 are taking it in turns to check up on Hibs at the moment. Something will click soon, and all 3,000 will be back at once.

I think that's probably right.

I think there will be a bigger than average crowd for the Berwick game and, if we win, the trend will be upwards

22-02-2015, 04:38 PM
Reading through the thread there are lots of reasons the fans staying away.
The important thing for the club are to take care of the ones they have control over, like team performance, prices, which Leaugue we play in, the poor standard of catering and most of all Rod Petrie.
Let's stop giving people excuses to not come.

Least of all Rod Petrie.

I don't believe anyone stays away because of him.

22-02-2015, 04:45 PM
Least of all Rod Petrie.

In fairness, I haven't seen many gorillas at Easter Road, the last couple of times I've been there. That's an important market that we should be trying to get back to games.

22-02-2015, 04:57 PM
I'm sure we can all agree, if LD can bring these two to Easter Road crowds would flood back.

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=608138452601965&fref=nf

22-02-2015, 05:03 PM
I'm sure we can all agree, if LD can bring these two to Easter Road crowds would flood back.

FFS that's just wrong on so many levels:greengrin

22-02-2015, 05:05 PM

:greengrin I'm in if you are ? :wink:

That was the last game of the season, the day the trophy was to be presented.

Saturday Boy
FFS that's just wrong on so many levels:greengrin

Do you not mean "so many layers" :agree:

22-02-2015, 05:20 PM

You should be barred for at least a week for posting that. :-)

22-02-2015, 05:21 PM
Least of all Rod Petrie.

I know lots of people who say they do. Now whether that's just an excuse or not, it would be better to take away people's excuses. No?

22-02-2015, 05:22 PM

WTF. :shocked:

22-02-2015, 05:24 PM
I'd be interested in how many we can entice back. I'd say about 2K is realistic.

After that you get to the people who will turn up for derbies, semi finals, final, other big games etc. I think a lot have probably dropped into this stage at some time.

Then you get the people who always find the next excuse. Petrie, the weather, not dealing with Rangers properly, the seats not being comfortable.

Frankly I don't understand anyone who can afford and is able to go not doing so at the moment. We are playing some lovely football.

I do, It's the first Division, And for many the prices that remain the same from being in the SPL is a massive factor IMO..We could go unbeaten now till the end of the season and still not get in excess of 12K at home apart from the bigots and wee huns.

We simply have to get out this league at the first attempt.

22-02-2015, 05:26 PM

You've just given a BIG insight into the kind of stuff you look at on the Internet

22-02-2015, 05:42 PM
You should be barred for at least a week for posting that. :-)

Should be barred for ....king life :confused:

Potty78
22-02-2015, 06:33 PM
I went yesterday,only my third home game this season. I was like most left devastated after last season and found it hard to motivate myself to get back in to it. I have seen a massive improvement since Stubbs came in and the players look as though they are buying into what he wants. I can't afford to go every week so I pick and choose when I go. I do like most though afford the big games when they come around. I run a bus from Peebles on semi and final days and have no problem filling it, however out of the people on that bus only maybe 10 or so make games now and then. I think getting back into the spl with this team then adding to it in the summer would defo help. I also think brining the pricing down would help, £15 for adults and a £5 for kids.

Islington Hibs
22-02-2015, 07:14 PM
Yesterday was just my third game too- but that is mainly because I live in London. Great day out, very impressed with the standard of Hibs play, albeit against very weak opposition and at last the management, team and support seem at one. East looked pretty busy so surprised only 8k there. Ok atmosphere - supportive but not loud.

I suspect if we can keep this team crowds will slowy drift back but it will take a long time given a) the number of let downs over the years b) dreadful home form, until recently c) it ain't that cheap and as others have said the overall package needs improving (food etc etc ). I am sure there are creative ways of helping those who genuinely want to go but can't afford it.

Bottom line your best customer is the one that goes now and keep them happy and it will gradually grow.

22-02-2015, 07:25 PM
I think that our prices need to be dropped but only in line with the Yams.

22-02-2015, 08:08 PM
I can't believe some of the dross I'm reading on this thread! Too cold, hate Petrie, crisps too bloody expensive..

:bitchy:

22-02-2015, 08:42 PM
I honestly don't believe that our product is overpriced. I would have made an argument that it was the last few seasons but our style of football has become much more entertaining this season.

22-02-2015, 08:53 PM

Jeez G, a bit of a warning before you post things like that, I nearly threw up all over the keyboard there.

bookert
22-02-2015, 09:17 PM
I can't believe some of the dross I'm reading on this thread! Too cold, hate Petrie, crisps too bloody expensive..

:bitchy:Kinda agree with this, was really disappointed with the size of the crowd yesterday. Hibs are playing the best football they have for seasons, the club have invested in players like Scotty Allan, Fraser Fyvie etc and compared to last year the football played is on a different plane. I am aware that it is not always easy to go along to ER for everyone . However the Hearts had 15000 when playing Livingston last week, that to me is supporting your team, not complaining about the fact we are in the second tier, what really infuriates me is the same people who complain now will complain louder when the club cant afford to renew Allan or Fyvies contract. Get back in there it really is good fun.

22-02-2015, 09:26 PM
Hearts get 15,000. Numbers we can only dream of getting.

Too many folk been let down too many times. I've got 2 STs & me my lad have taken to sitting in different parts of the West Stand there are that many spaces.

Crowds will take years to come back & the only thing that will do that is winning football IMHO.

majorhibs
22-02-2015, 09:33 PM
Kinda agree with this, was really disappointed with the size of the crowd yesterday. Hibs are playing the best football they have for seasons, the club have invested in players like Scotty Allan, Fraser Fyvie etc and compared to last year the football played is on a different plane. I am aware that it is not always easy to go along to ER for everyone . However the Hearts had 15000 when playing Livingston last week, that to me is supporting your team, not complaining about the fact we are in the second tier, what really infuriates me is the same people who complain now will complain louder when the club cant afford to renew Allan or Fyvies contract. Get back in there it really is good fun.

The poppy thieves have 20 points more! I don't really care about anyone else, but that de-motivates me, & I mainly blame Petrie for that. If he had done HIS job, with no huns or thieves -15 last season, we wouldnt be in the division that we are now chasing 2nd place in. Sorry, but this situation & how far behind we are, means I dont feel anything similar to the last 2 times in the lower division, when I would not miss a game. But you lot crack on. I just pick & choose now, because of Petrie & because my team is so far behind that shower.

23-02-2015, 06:17 AM
Least of all Rod Petrie.

I know quite a few people who won't be back until Petrie is gone. Maybe a few are using that as an excuse but there are a few of them I know are telling the truth and would be at the next game should Rod Petrie leave today. And I can totally understand why they're doing it. Petrie has done his best to make a complete joke of our club and it'll take more than a few wins over part timers to prove that we are back.

I know the cheerleading fans who won't hear a word said against Petrie won't like that, but it's the truth.

23-02-2015, 06:27 AM
I know quite a few people who won't be back until Petrie is gone. Maybe a few are using that as an excuse but there are a few of them I know are telling the truth and would be at the next game should Rod Petrie leave today. And I can totally understand why they're doing it. Petrie has done his best to make a complete joke of our club and it'll take more than a few wins over part timers to prove that we are back.

I know the cheerleading fans who won't hear a word said against Petrie won't like that, but it's the truth.

Who are these cheerleaders then? The vast majority of us on here think he should leave the club.

I find it hard to believe that there are a huge number of fans who hate one man more than they love our club. Up to them though, the last thing I think about on match day is who is sitting in the Directors seats, it's all about the team. And this team deserves support.

23-02-2015, 06:49 AM
Who are these cheerleaders then? The vast majority of us on here think he should leave the club.

I find it hard to believe that there are a huge number of fans who hate one man more than they love our club. Up to them though, the last thing I think about on match day is who is sitting in the Directors seats, it's all about the team. And this team deserves support.

:agree: I bet if Petrie was gone tomorrow there would be no noticeable increase in attendance, it's all pish just like the some of the excuses used in the past that are already addressed by the club.

23-02-2015, 07:03 AM

:agree: I bet if Petrie was gone tomorrow there would be no noticeable increase in attendance, it's all pish just like the some of the excuses used in the past that are already addressed by the club.

23-02-2015, 07:19 AM
We have too many fans and not enough supporters.

Islington Hibs
23-02-2015, 07:23 AM

While I am no fan of Petrie I think that is correct.

It takes years to build a club and years to destroy it. We have broadly been average, at best, for 30+ years which has taken its toll. However our base support is pretty intact. Hearts are reaping the benefits of cheating for 30 years and have got away with it, like it or not. 30 years of relative success has seen their gates creep up to the highest I can ever remember, while ours are towards a low.

The reality is while pricing, food and experience are all important it is about the team. When we have had good teams we have regularly got 13/14k. Stating the obvious the last 7-8 years have not been good and it will simply take time to grow it again. However for the first time in many years we are starting to play very well and with genuine skill. If that continues it will grow. I would guess we have 7k seasons (probably around 5-6k of those turn up each week) another 1-2k who turn up most weeks at the gate and perhaps another 10k people who could be encouraged to come quite regularly, if it was good. It is this last chunk who make the call is it worth it or not and I suspect they will take some convincing given the many let-downs but in all probability they will slowly drift back if this good run is sustained especially in the top division.

So the football is key, but the club can also help with the other bits - pricing, food and we can help with atmosphere - which can be pretty quiet.....

Islington Hibs
23-02-2015, 07:23 AM

Quote of the year!:greengrin

Islington Hibs
23-02-2015, 07:34 AM
On pricing the club surely cannot make a call until we know what division we are in? If it is in the Championship while we would be red hot favourite's for next season it will be without Hearts and probably Rangers. Prices would need to be cut and I would suggest to the level hearts charge this season.

If we are in the SPL leave it the same but there are things that could be done. Firstly out of the £400 20% is lost to the Government in VAT and I believe for those paying monthly the finance house takes another 20% (is that right?) so the club is getting perhaps just £240 ie not a lot. Perhaps there is a deal to be done with a discount of say 10% for paying up front? win-win for both parties.

Also the slightly cheaper FF prices are a good idea- I would have no problem extending a price cut for those in genuine hardship who want to come. How you define that is quite another question.

A radical idea, and one that theatres or the arts does is to have a base price with a suggested donation (heavily encouraged on top). The benefit of that is the donation is entirely tax deductible and non VATable. Perhaps with some clever accounting that could got to youth development/training centre/ community (which benefits the club anyway) It could a) help those who can't afford the full price, b) I suspect most would happily pay the full with donation c) it is very tax efficient so the overall take may actually rise even if the donation take up was not 100%. I am not a tax expert but perhaps the club should ask someone who is?

23-02-2015, 12:18 PM
Prices should stay the same apart from renewals who should receive a substantial discount for their loyalty.

23-02-2015, 12:35 PM

http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/top%20marks.gif

If the Hibs badge ever had a motto on it this should be it ... can you translate it into Latin?

23-02-2015, 12:41 PM
We are playing lower league teams in a league we have absolutely no chance of winning not exactly a recipe for huge crowds. Imagine the crowds if we were breathing down Hears' neck at the moment.

Yes we are improving in our style of play and crowds will slowly drift up because of this but come the play offs or any cup games at Hampden the crowds will be back because these games matter.

23-02-2015, 01:05 PM
We are playing lower league teams in a league we have absolutely no chance of winning not exactly a recipe for huge crowds. Imagine the crowds if we were breathing down Hears' neck at the moment.

Yes we are improving in our style of play and crowds will slowly drift up because of this but come the play offs or any cup games at Hampden the crowds will be back because these games matter.

All of our games matter

23-02-2015, 01:15 PM
http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/top%20marks.gif

If the Hibs badge ever had a motto on it this should be it ... can you translate it into Latin?

Troppus Fandani, Nullius Uberi.

23-02-2015, 01:19 PM
Well according to a poll in yesterday's Sunday Post it's only a matter of time before summer football is introduced.

If that happens, then the Club really will have to rethink its options.

Ice cream instead of an overpriced greasy lukewarm pie anyone?

23-02-2015, 01:23 PM
All of our games matter

Very few occasions where our games have mattered more, pushing to sneak 2nd place from Rangers is more than enough to keep me interested.

23-02-2015, 01:39 PM
Troppus Fandani, Nullius Uberi.

alternatively....

Nil Illegitimus Carborundum :cool2:

23-02-2015, 01:58 PM
alternatively....

Nil Illegitimus Carborundum :cool2:

Sigh.....

IllegitimI, boy.

GreensesArab
23-02-2015, 02:00 PM
In what way? People staying away can't claim to be supporting the club in the way that people who have kept going have.

Waiting until we are fully recovered then coming back is not supporting.

If that hurts any feelings then tough, some fans are actually better fans than others.

Agree, 100%. I fell out of love with Hibs having endured their spectacular capitulation last season. But I renewed my ST and got back into it. And I'm enjoying being part of the revival.

23-02-2015, 02:10 PM
The poppy thieves have 20 points more! I don't really care about anyone else, but that de-motivates me, & I mainly blame Petrie for that. If he had done HIS job, with no huns or thieves -15 last season, we wouldnt be in the division that we are now chasing 2nd place in. Sorry, but this situation & how far behind we are, means I dont feel anything similar to the last 2 times in the lower division, when I would not miss a game. But you lot crack on. I just pick & choose now, because of Petrie & because my team is so far behind that shower. So you wont go because Hearts are 20 points ahead of us? You don't care about anyone else?What a ****ing joke. I reckon you would find some other excuse pretty quick. What if we had scraped staying in the top league with the chuckle Brothers in charge and were fighting to stave of relegation again this season? You be in then? Doubt it. there will always be an excuse wont there?

23-02-2015, 02:16 PM
So you wont go because Hearts are 20 points ahead of us? You don't care about anyone else?What a ****ing joke. I reckon you would find some other excuse pretty quick. What if we had scraped staying in the top league with the chuckle Brothers in charge and were fighting to stave of relegation again this season? You be in then? Doubt it. there will always be an excuse wont there?

Looks like some on here will always find an excuse...id be willing to bet if Petrie resigned tomoro those who say they won't return till he is gone still wont return...

23-02-2015, 02:23 PM
You will always get those who choose to stay away for whatever reason and those who continue to attend no matter what. I don't see why folk get that worked up about it,let the fans stay at home and the supporters attend the matches you won't change them!

23-02-2015, 02:23 PM
I'd be interested in how many we can entice back. I'd say about 2K is realistic.

After that you get to the people who will turn up for derbies, semi finals, final, other big games etc. I think a lot have probably dropped into this stage at some time.

Then you get the people who always find the next excuse. Petrie, the weather, not dealing with Rangers properly, the seats not being comfortable.

Frankly I don't understand anyone who can afford and is able to go not doing so at the moment. We are playing some lovely football.

I can afford to go but choose not to as there is something more important/enjoyable for me to do on a Saturday..

I imagine this is the case for a lot of people

23-02-2015, 02:24 PM
Well according to a poll in yesterday's Sunday Post it's only a matter of time before summer football is introduced.

Strawberry Mivvi please.

23-02-2015, 02:41 PM
Prices should stay the same apart from renewals who should receive a substantial discount for their loyalty.

It's time Hibs started operating like successful businesses do.

Blind loyalty should be taken advantage of. New and returning customers should be woed with offers and discounts.

23-02-2015, 02:44 PM
I can afford to go but choose not to as there is something more important/enjoyable for me to do on a Saturday..

I'd imagine so, but if watching Hibs isn't all that important then they aren't really Hibs supporters in the sense that those that choose to go at the expense of other things are, are they?

23-02-2015, 02:45 PM

Blind loyalty should be taken advantage of. New and returning customers should be woed with offers and discounts.

:devil:

23-02-2015, 02:46 PM

That said a lot of business are looking at this type of model now and saying that its no longer right that new customers get better deals.

In our current situation the folk who walked away and might come back if we are more succesful should not be getting better deals or offers than those who have supported the club financially and in person through a bad period.

23-02-2015, 02:51 PM

Imagine you will be wanting ticket for Final should we progress that far?

23-02-2015, 02:52 PM
That said a lot of business are looking at this type of model now and saying that its no longer right that new customers get better deals.

In our current situation the folk who walked away and might come back if we are more succesful should not be getting better deals or offers than those who have supported the club financially and in person through a bad period.

People who have walked away should pay double to get back in:greengrin

23-02-2015, 03:28 PM
On pricing the club surely cannot make a call until we know what division we are in? If it is in the Championship while we would be red hot favourite's for next season it will be without Hearts and probably Rangers. Prices would need to be cut and I would suggest to the level hearts charge this season.

If we are in the SPL leave it the same but there are things that could be done. Firstly out of the £400 20% is lost to the Government in VAT and I believe for those paying monthly the finance house takes another 20% (is that right?) so the club is getting perhaps just £240 ie not a lot. Perhaps there is a deal to be done with a discount of say 10% for paying up front? win-win for both parties.

Also the slightly cheaper FF prices are a good idea- I would have no problem extending a price cut for those in genuine hardship who want to come. How you define that is quite another question.

A radical idea, and one that theatres or the arts does is to have a base price with a suggested donation (heavily encouraged on top). The benefit of that is the donation is entirely tax deductible and non VATable. Perhaps with some clever accounting that could got to youth development/training centre/ community (which benefits the club anyway) It could a) help those who can't afford the full price, b) I suspect most would happily pay the full with donation c) it is very tax efficient so the overall take may actually rise even if the donation take up was not 100%. I am not a tax expert but perhaps the club should ask someone who is?

Sounds a bit "sevco-esque" to me.

23-02-2015, 03:47 PM
People will start to come back, I am probably one of those people.

I can't afford a season ticket so that is out of the question. I spent a fair whack towards the end of last season going to home and away games because "the team needed us" behind them for every game, and every game was a total letdown/meltdown.

I went to two games right at the start of the season, the only bright spot was Farid at that point and he got injured in one of those games.

I will admit I was probably at my all time low as a hibs supporter then, we were 2nd bottom of the championship and the game I had just watched was as turgid as last season.

I have still bought my usual few bits of hibs training kit from the shop and other bits and bobsthough but I needed a break as I was becoming increasingly negative when attending games.

Thankfully we are playing better, I am going to this weeks game and hopefully we play well and I will be encouraged to go back again multiple times before the end of the season.

23-02-2015, 03:54 PM
What do Hibs fans do best?..........Walking Away.

23-02-2015, 04:15 PM
After 18 years of having a season ticket I gave mine up this year, nothing to do with Petrie, leagues but purely down to the fact I wasn't having fun, thought I would miss it much more than I have to be honest but it's been pretty easy, I've only been to two games this season and really really enjoyed it.

The fun is back and so will I be next year, the trial separation is over, Hibs are more addictive than crack

23-02-2015, 04:28 PM

IIRC, "donations" that go towards the trading of a commercial company are VATable. We would need to have charitable status before we could claim otherwise. Many companies in the Arts are registered charities for that reason.

As for Corporation Tax, we don't pay it, so there is no benefit there.

Finally, I'm not sure you're right in saying that "most would happily pay the full with donation". Most of us moan about the cost of football, and I suspect many of us would take advantage of the opportunity to pay less. It would also discourage ST holders from renewing.

23-02-2015, 05:03 PM

the sooner the better imo :agree:

23-02-2015, 06:25 PM

Only thing certain is that the Yams will get promoted. Beyond that, it's just assumed that Hibs or Sevco will go up with them - and that Falkirk/QOS will make up the numbers in the POs.

Given state of Sevco, and perhaps Hibs match schedules (SC final ?) its quite conceivable that Falkirk/QOS could take 2nd promo place and bringing Well or Patrick down. In that case, Hibs will be up against a more determined Sevco and half-decent ex-Prem outfit next season.

23-02-2015, 06:38 PM
To be frank many many people who have stopped going to ER over the last few years for what ever reason, and most have been touched on, will never be back, irrespective of any changes implemented. They have got out of the habit

23-02-2015, 06:56 PM
To be frank many many people who have stopped going to ER over the last few years for what ever reason, and most have been touched on, will never be back, irrespective of any changes implemented. They have got out of the habit

This. Habit shouldn't be underestimated.

23-02-2015, 07:15 PM
There are existing schemes which enable fans to donate money on a regular basis eg Leith Links (http://leithlinks4kids.com/) supports Kicks For Kids to help the next generation of fans attend games or Hibernians to support youth development.

23-02-2015, 07:20 PM
This. Habit shouldn't be underestimated.

All the more reason for Hibs to invest in a new generation, as they have been doing.

I think a lot of people just don't fancy lower division fitba. Hibs need to get out of this division.

inglisavhibs
23-02-2015, 07:32 PM

A lot of posts for someone who has called time on Hibs and is no longer a supporter!

23-02-2015, 07:51 PM
The poppy thieves have 20 points more! I don't really care about anyone else, but that de-motivates me, & I mainly blame Petrie for that. If he had done HIS job, with no huns or thieves -15 last season, we wouldnt be in the division that we are now chasing 2nd place in. Sorry, but this situation & how far behind we are, means I dont feel anything similar to the last 2 times in the lower division, when I would not miss a game. But you lot crack on. I just pick & choose now, because of Petrie & because my team is so far behind that shower.

Surely not ......

Certain others on here were saying that it wasn't true that people stayed away because of Petrie

I still go but can 100% see people's rationale when it comes to Petrie

majorhibs
23-02-2015, 08:42 PM
Surely not ......

Certain others on here were saying that it wasn't true that people stayed away because of Petrie

I still go but can 100% see people's rationale when it comes to Petrie

Aye, certain others have plenty hot air on the subject, check out Greenlex on the previous page, reckons what I say is an effing joke cos he sees different! I still go as well when in the country, random games anywhere, couple of pre-seasons, but cos Petries there, I know MY interest is not what it was. But the sages on here ken better, cos they are there every week so that makes them more enlightened better supporters, & these ever presents all know EXACTLY why some people are not as regular as before. Well, thats what they are shouting about here anyways...:not worth

hibbytam
23-02-2015, 08:59 PM
Only thing certain is that the Yams will get promoted. Beyond that, it's just assumed that Hibs or Sevco will go up with them - and that Falkirk/QOS will make up the numbers in the POs.

Given state of Sevco, and perhaps Hibs match schedules (SC final ?) its quite conceivable that Falkirk/QOS could take 2nd promo place and bringing Well or Patrick down. In that case, Hibs will be up against a more determined Sevco and half-decent ex-Prem outfit next season.

I would have thought Sevco would be in significant trouble, if they fail to go up this year. Unless whoever's in charge writes them a blank cheque.

23-02-2015, 09:01 PM
Just listened to Tam McManus podcast, talking about Final against livingston, when we took 37,000.....

Where did they all go?

23-02-2015, 09:07 PM
Just listened to Tam McManus podcast, talking about Final against livingston, when we took 37,000.....

Where did they all go?

Most of them must have came back for the other cup final's since?

OsloHibs
23-02-2015, 09:08 PM

Where did they all go?

We'll see them again at the next cup final. Or hear them moaning on here about not getting a ticket easily... after all they're Hibs fans, riiiight.

23-02-2015, 09:09 PM
We'll see them again at the next cup final. Or hear them moaning on here about not getting a ticket easily... after all they're Hibs fans, riiiight.

lol

23-02-2015, 09:11 PM

Where did they all go?

i know loads of hibs fans who no longer go but if a final came along they will jump at the chance to go, and you probably the same know others too. we should just get on with what we have 9000 fans and live with it.

23-02-2015, 09:16 PM

Where did they all go?

Some of them liked Glasgow so much that they decided to stay.

23-02-2015, 09:17 PM
i know loads of hibs fans who no longer go but if a final came along they will jump at the chance to go, and you probably the same know others too. we should just get on with what we have 9000 fans and live with it.

When we recently had an average of 12,000 why would we just accept that we have 9000 now? Why should we not aim to grow? Should we just accept we are championship side now?

23-02-2015, 09:23 PM
When we recently had an average of 12,000 why would we just accept that we have 9000 now? Why should we not aim to grow? Should we just accept we are championship side now?
cant see us getting back to when we had 12000 thats why we should just accept that we will have crowds around about the 9000 mark and base the wages we pay out on this total and get on with it.
wish they would come back but it aint going to happen anytime soon.

23-02-2015, 09:31 PM
cant see us getting back to when we had 12000 thats why we should just accept that we will have crowds around about the 9000 mark and base the wages we pay out on this total and get on with it.
wish they would come back but it aint going to happen anytime soon.

Crowds will rise when we're doing well again in the top flight. We're lucky to have 9000 after last season.

23-02-2015, 09:35 PM
Crowds will rise when we're doing well again in the top flight. We're lucky to have 9000 after last season.

agree they will rise but not to the 12000 we had under mowbray, think these days are gone for now so we shouldnt get to uptight about it

23-02-2015, 09:42 PM
agree they will rise but not to the 12000 we had under mowbray, think these days are gone for now so we shouldnt get to uptight about it

Jings, it was a bit higher than that under Mowbray.

If we are where we should be next season (challenging for cups near the top of the league) then a 12000 average is probably not too far off what we might get.

24-02-2015, 12:09 AM
I'd imagine so, but if watching Hibs isn't all that important then they aren't really Hibs supporters in the sense that those that choose to go at the expense of other things are, are they?

Watching Hibs is important but to some, other things rank higher...

Imagine you will be wanting ticket for Final should we progress that far?

Yep :agree:

And I'll get one no bother :aok:

JJP
24-02-2015, 01:32 AM
I wish I could still attend more games but I work most Saturdays. Still catch a game every now and then when I can. I can relate to what people are saying about being out the habit. I could have attended a couple of games in December but now that I'm used to not being there, I didn't fancy sitting in freezing temperatures for 2 hours.

24-02-2015, 02:51 AM

Everone and their granny went that day to yet another let down. All of Scottish football is taking a hit just now but it will pick up again. I still have my ST and go every week but it pains me to say it, even tho I hate hearts and rangers we need all of us back in the top league. Hope its more of an even keel this time and Stubbs is building a good squad. We never seem to recover when it's dismantled as it will be, unlike the maroon cheats. They are still backing their team due to circumstances, our lot have long gone also due to circumstances. Hope it changes soon, at least we have a proper squad now unlike the Fenlon shambles.

24-02-2015, 08:52 AM

" Got it in one " :thumbsup:
The " Habit" comes up in many aspects of sport !
Remember about ten years ago a rugby club near Edinburgh were putting together a more than useful side when the weather shut the fixtures down for six weeks or so.
Outcome was that five of their players left - four to play basketball and one to volleyball - and never returned to play rugby
I drifted away in 2013 and watch rugby with just the odd visit to ER and cannot think of anything that would have me rushing to be a regular again
Still support the Hibs :greengrin

24-02-2015, 09:53 AM
" Got it in one " :thumbsup:
cannot think of anything that would have me rushing to be a regular again
Still support the Hibs :greengrin

A good team, playing attacking attractive football?

24-02-2015, 11:22 AM

For now yes. But I think with a team playing decent football in the top half of the league we are well capable of 12,000 and more. If we can get this team promoted and get a few more quality players in I could see us making a fist of it in the Premiership.

In spite of some of the more depressing and doom laden posts on here it has to be remembered that if everybody who had declared their undying love for Hibs over the last 50 years was still going to games every Saturday we would need a 50,000 capacity stadium. Folk come and go from football and the ones who stick by their team for years as 'active' supporters come what may are actually few and far between. That goes for any club. But most clubs just like us have a good number of fans who will come to watch if the team is doing well, so there is hope.

When I joined Hibs.Net in 2007 Hibs were on a high and I thought that anybody who could be bothered to join up to such a forum would be like me, the sort of fan who would only be put off actually turning up to Easter Road on a Saturday by outside pressures like finance, work, health or family. Over the years I have learned that this is not the case and I admit I was probably naïve to think that way.

But having said that what has surprised me over those 7 years are the number of people who are happy to stick around after they have given up going to watch the club and tell everybody in graphic detail why they don't feel in the least bad about it and in some cases seem determined to make you feel like a sucker for still going to watch the team.

If I ever get to the stage where I feel like giving up I will make one cheerio and thanks for everything post and you will never hear from me again.

24-02-2015, 11:47 AM
Ahhh, vintage...in lieu of no players to rip the pish out, no manager to witch hunt and some apathy towards getting Petrie or A.N.Other the situation returns to normal............fans turn on fans and question eachothers Hibbyness. Barry, vintage, braw :greengrin

It's no enough that lots of really auld auld boys have had their fill for a bit, may have lapsed but as we all know, its no for the riches or the glory being a Hibby so eventually, they'll come back. They ken it, so do we.

It's no enough the young whippersnappers are too busy getting a dose of adrenalin filled something elsewhere but they're the same....same rules apply.

And that leaves aw us in the middle...neither young nor old, all thining the same way as the old and young ones. Equallly pissed off and happy with the club all at once.

The only thing that unites us all is the fact when it comes on top, eventually, when all wounds are licked, we've all had oor wee dig at whoever and taken the huff for long enough/peltered Petrie/AN Other (or just Petrie :greengrin) we will, be back.

Its what we dae.

It's why we are still in business and ultimately why we never went bust.

It's why after being royally ****ed by celtc at Hampden, we still stood and sung. Not to applaud mediocrsy or defeat but to decide that whilst we wereny good enough, we still didny like them lot and loved oor ain team mair and thus took it on the chin.....Allez Allez.......nothing better than standing singing your nuts of for no other reason than its the right thing to do (well, maybe with the cup but thats a small point :greengrin)

Anyways, cast yer mind back. I remember (being an uber fan?) the first division the last time and the crowds. It'll ebb and flow just like the River Forth...folk will come and go. And uber fans will come and go (and did, and dont) and so do others. WE all do.

Apart from a select few. Well, in their ain minds anyway.

MON THE HIBS YA BASS :thumbsup:

ENDOF

24-02-2015, 12:36 PM
Ahhh, vintage...in lieu of no players to rip the pish out, no manager to witch hunt and some apathy towards getting Petrie or A.N.Other the situation returns to normal............fans turn on fans and question eachothers Hibbyness. Barry, vintage, braw :greengrin

It's no enough that lots of really auld auld boys have had their fill for a bit, may have lapsed but as we all know, its no for the riches or the glory being a Hibby so eventually, they'll come back. They ken it, so do we.

It's no enough the young whippersnappers are too busy getting a dose of adrenalin filled something elsewhere but they're the same....same rules apply.

And that leaves aw us in the middle...neither young nor old, all thining the same way as the old and young ones. Equallly pissed off and happy with the club all at once.

The only thing that unites us all is the fact when it comes on top, eventually, when all wounds are licked, we've all had oor wee dig at whoever and taken the huff for long enough/peltered Petrie/AN Other (or just Petrie :greengrin) we will, be back.

Its what we dae.

It's why after being royally ****ed by celtc at Hampden, we still stood and sung. Not to applaud mediocrsy or defeat but to decide that whilst we wereny good enough, we still didny like them lot and loved oor ain team mair and thus took it on the chin.....Allez Allez.......nothing better than standing singing your nuts of for no other reason than its the right thing to do (well, maybe with the cup but thats a small point :greengrin)

Anyways, cast yer mind back. I remember (being an uber fan?) the first division the last time and the crowds. It'll ebb and flow just like the River Forth...folk will come and go. And uber fans will come and go (and did, and dont) and so do others. WE all do.

ENDOF

:hibees:top marks

24-02-2015, 01:44 PM
http://terracepodcast.net/misc/2015/2/17/forget-the-english-premier-league-the-responsibility-is-ours

24-02-2015, 02:06 PM

Its what we dae.

ENDOF

One of the best posts I have ever read on here http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/not%20worthy.gif

24-02-2015, 02:17 PM
http://terracepodcast.net/misc/2015/2/17/forget-the-english-premier-league-the-responsibility-is-ours

Some good stuff .... especially about standing.

24-02-2015, 02:59 PM

Hmmm, encourage more away fans to come to your ground. Kind of makes a mockery of home advantage.

24-02-2015, 06:15 PM
A good team, playing attacking attractive football?

As they saying goes " If pigs could fly you would be a squadron leader !":greengrin takes me"
I have spent a small fortune in following Hibs on a regular basis over the 73 years up to 2013 and reserve the right to cut back to when " the mood takes me" Big:greengrin

Still am a Hibs supporter !!:flag:

zitelli62
25-02-2015, 08:49 PM
Top league football is all it will take to get a lot of missing fans back.

25-02-2015, 09:22 PM

Its what we dae.

ENDOF
:applause::applause::applause::applause:

25-02-2015, 10:16 PM
Prices should stay the same apart from renewals who should receive a substantial discount for their loyalty.pish.I was a ST holder, for 12 years, and always paid up front in full. I was discusted that there was no reduction at all this season, and not even a voucher for those who'd bought before relegation. the club shot itself in the foot with that one, imho.

25-02-2015, 10:22 PM
pish.I was a ST holder, for 12 years, and always paid up front in full. I was discusted that there was no reduction at all this season, and not even a voucher for those who'd bought before relegation. the club shot itself in the foot with that one, imho.

"I was" so IMHO you shouldn't be rewarded.

25-02-2015, 10:40 PM
"I was" so IMHO you shouldn't be rewarded. ? so , because I was/ or because you was? what is your point?

25-02-2015, 10:44 PM
"I was" so IMHO you shouldn't be rewarded.
my point was, that right up to the last minute , I was going to renew but found out that they decided to keep the same "premier" prices for this season. they did not announce this until very late on, iirc and this pissed off a lot more ST holders than just me. !

25-02-2015, 10:51 PM
my point was, that right up to the last minute , I was going to renew but found out that they decided to keep the same "premier" prices for this season. they did not announce this until very late on, iirc and this pissed off a lot more ST holders than just me. !

Yes I know, me included in being pissed off but I renewed. My point was made in my original post about rewarding loyalty. If you disagree fine.

26-02-2015, 08:58 AM
Top league football is all it will take to get a lot of missing fans back.

I see what you did there. :wink::greengrin

26-02-2015, 09:15 AM
A cup final is all it will take to get a lot of missing fans back.

I agree :wink:

26-02-2015, 10:53 AM
My tuppence worth, the sooner petrie is oot the door the better, it´s been a tough few seasons, fans have had enough, no discount on ST,s and alot more i could bang on about. Were playing good fitba with good players the results are coming, that in itself should be enough to get to ER, for too long we have been starved of this type of fitba, its good tae watch and IS WORTH THE ENTRANCE FEE. I would even go as far to say, if this team was in the top league I would pay more to watch the fitba (not alot) but a bit more.
I was also of the mind bugger Hibs they are not getting anymore of my hard earned cash but its just cutting yir nose of to spite yirsel, it´s in the blood and yi cannae dae anything to change it. People have to understand, (myself included) that petrie isnae goin anywhere. We can still voice our grievances, but surely tae god not to the detriment of the club or players.
I urge all Hibs fans not to get out of the habit of going, make another little bit of an effort to go along and watch YOUR club, you will see the changes you will see the improvement and most of all the passion is back and so is the enjoyment, were in for a big finish this year and you should all be part of (in my eyes) the new Hibs.
Onwards and upwards.

26-02-2015, 11:45 AM
If somebody can't afford it -fine.

If somebody can afford it but chooses not to go--also fine but don't call yourself a Hibs supporter because you're not supporting the club in any shape or form.

26-02-2015, 11:52 AM

If somebody can afford it but chooses not to go--also fine but don't call yourself a Hibs supporter because you're not supporting the club in any shape or form.

What if they don't go but buy things from the shop? :cb:greengrin

26-02-2015, 11:54 AM

Totally ridiculous statement. I didn't renew my ST. I feel sickened by events of the past years. I'll be back, just not sure when. I have had periods of my life where I didn't go to games, never stopped loving Hibs though.

This season, I did buy my youngest a new Hibs top, the other laddie wanted training kit, all from the shop. I'm going to invest the equivalent of my ST in HSL, is that OK?

There is more to supporting Hibs than going to games. I just accept that it's an each to their own and try not to judge other people, on the basis of who the **** am I to get on my high horse. So , auld or not, give it a rest uber Hibee

26-02-2015, 12:08 PM
What if they don't go but buy things from the shop? :cb:greengrin

Totally daft but that's what I have done for some reason. Bought more stuff from the shop than I have in any previous season but been to less games, makes no sense really.

26-02-2015, 12:10 PM
Totally daft but that's what I have done for some reason. Bought more stuff from the shop than I have in any previous season but been to less games, makes no sense really.

Prob a few fans have done the same! Just got fed up of what was on the pitch so instead started buying stuff from the shop and not bothering going on a sat!

EH54
26-02-2015, 12:15 PM
Prob a few fans have done the same! Just got fed up of what was on the pitch so instead started buying stuff from the shop and not bothering going on a sat!

although i would say that the stuff in the shop is more of a rip off than paying 22 quid to watch Hibs Livingston.

26-02-2015, 12:16 PM
although i would say that the stuff in the shop is more of a rip off than paying 22 quid to watch Hibs Livingston.

Agree, can't wait until we bin Nike or fake Nike as it's not really them.

26-02-2015, 12:46 PM
Totally ridiculous statement. I didn't renew my ST. I feel sickened by events of the past years. I'll be back, just not sure when. I have had periods of my life where I didn't go to games, never stopped loving Hibs though.

This season, I did buy my youngest a new Hibs top, the other laddie wanted training kit, all from the shop. I'm going to invest the equivalent of my ST in HSL, is that OK?

There is more to supporting Hibs than going to games. I just accept that it's an each to their own and try not to judge other people, on the basis of who the **** am I to get on my high horse. So , auld or not, give it a rest uber Hibee

I would agree and plenty of people who live too far away to go to games or who cant afford season tickets contribute a great deal by buying stuff from the shop or getting involved in HSL from overseas or down south. Nobody can deny their love for the cub.

But at 2:45pm on a Saturday can you imagine the scene:

Away dressing room:

Right lads listen up .... we're getting reports that this lot have sold 200 replica shirts and 30 fridge magnets this month. Try not to be intimidated, if we can stop them scoring in the first 20 minutes and that stops their fans buying training tops we have a real chance here.

Fans doon the pub 2 years from now:

I see we have drawn Galatasaray in the Europa Leage, dae ye fancy goin' tae the away leg. *** nae chance mate, their fans are mental. They are outside the club shop two hours before it opens. They are that bad they sold 50 sets o' car mats last year and some of them are so crazy they ask for tick. None o' oor players will have faced up tae receipts like that before, we've nae chance.

Sorry mate .... I'm with Ancient Hibee.

26-02-2015, 01:31 PM
I would agree and plenty of people who live too far away to go to games or who cant afford season tickets contribute a great deal by buying stuff from the shop or getting involved in HSL from overseas or down south. Nobody can deny their love for the cub.

But at 2:45pm on a Saturday can you imagine the scene:

Away dressing room:

Right lads listen up .... we're getting reports that this lot have sold 200 replica shirts and 30 fridge magnets this month. Try not to be intimidated, if we can stop them scoring in the first 20 minutes and that stops their fans buying training tops we have a real chance here.

Fans doon the pub 2 years from now:

I see we have drawn Galatasaray in the Europa Leage, dae ye fancy goin' tae the away leg. *** nae chance mate, their fans are mental. They are outside the club shop two hours before it opens. They are that bad they sold 50 sets o' car mats last year and some of them are so crazy they ask for tick. None o' oor players will have faced up tae receipts like that before, we've nae chance.

Sorry mate .... I'm with Ancient Hibee.

A rather narrow view then. So launching hefty sums of cash at the club is not support:confused:

Ell_Chrisso
26-02-2015, 01:44 PM
I agree with most on here, what your paying for isn't worth it half the time. I have family I go to watch Chelsea with the in the Premier League and we are only spending another £5 on top to get in. Price of football up here needs to replicate the quality in the leagues, which is below average.

Travelling from Perth means it's atleast a £50 day out. Which isn't as affordable as some think.

26-02-2015, 01:44 PM
A rather narrow view then. So launching hefty sums of cash at the club is not support:confused:

I suppose its supporting the club rather than the team. I mean, people don't go to away games so they can support the club financially, but so they can get behind the players on the park.

I certainly wouldn't doubt your love for the club on that basis, but that reeks of double standards on my behalf, as I'll quite happily slag a Fife-living Celtic fan for strolling around in the latest kit/training gear but never going to Parkhead.

26-02-2015, 01:47 PM
I agree with most on here, what your paying for isn't worth it half the time. I have family I go to watch Chelsea with the in the Premier League and we are only spending another £5 on top to get in. Price of football up here needs to replicate the quality in the leagues, which is below average.

Travelling from Perth means it's atleast a £50 day out. Which isn't as affordable as some think.

Thats a hard call tho. Our teams in Scotland strongly rely on gate reciepts to survive. English teams are worse for charging what they do considering the money they get in TV revenue (which is only going to get worse). They should be making it easier for their fans to attend games when they are so cash rich.

26-02-2015, 01:51 PM
I watch Hibs on TV. I believe they get money from the TV companies. Am I supporting Hibs by paying for cable and my TV licence?

Please answer soon, as my next Direct Debit is due to come off - it's now a choice between The Vampire Diaries and Hibs. :confused:

26-02-2015, 03:47 PM
I can see people's reasons for not going and they are fair. I am at "that age" where real life gets in the way from time to time and work commitments etc take priority. You can get away with making Hibs games sacrosanct when you're younger but it gets harder when other responsibilities come along.

I've still got my season ticket though and to be honest I don't think I've enjoyed the football as much as I do now since Miller went mental and started playing entertaining football with McAllister, Jackson, Michael O'Neill et al. That was my favourite Hibs team and I loved those days.

We've been in a brutal decline for years and I can understand why people have fallen away. Once the habit is broken it is hard to get back. But I honestly get "that feeling" that we're at the start of something pretty special again. It's a bit like when McLeish found the 3-5-s formation that played to the strengths of Sauzee and Latapy or when you realised that Mowbray was going to play to the strengths of the talented young lads rather than lump it up to O'Connor. Saturday afternoons are enjoyable. Hibs are playing the way I want to see Hibs play. It's not the finished article, it's at a level it should never be acceptable for Hibs to be playing at but we are where we are and I'm enjoying it. It's been years since I've cared enough to know our next month's fixtures well in advance, it's years since I've been devastated to miss a game.

There are few tangible rewards that you get as a Hibs fan. The trophies are few and far between and you cling to the odd good day out, derby win and European qualification as payback for what you put in. But other than Celtic, this year's Scottish Cup is wide open - we only need to beat Berwick Rangers at home to reach Hampden again. And promotion from a league including the 2 big financial cheats would be an almost miraculous achievement given where we were at full-time after last season's playoff.

I've seen old faces drifting back. Whilst some are lost/ less interested, there are people who haven't been interested for a while getting back into it. Football fandom is a strange beast, it's not all or nothing, there are many stages of apathy in between. People drift in and out and it's easy to focus on those who are drifting away. There are many factors that can coax people back into attending more regularly and I'm confident that as we improve on the park more people will be encouraged to re-engage.

My cup is half-full and I'd encourage any switherers to come along again. It feels good when a project reaches it's conclusion to have been part of it from an early stage.

WillowbraeHibby
26-02-2015, 03:51 PM
I can see people's reasons for not going and they are fair. I am at "that age" where real life gets in the way from time to time and work commitments etc take priority. You can get away with making Hibs games sacrosanct when you're younger but it gets harder when other responsibilities come along.

I've still got my season ticket though and to be honest I don't think I've enjoyed the football as much as I do now since Miller went mental and started playing entertaining football with McAllister, Jackson, Michael O'Neill et al. That was my favourite Hibs team and I loved those days.

We've been in a brutal decline for years and I can understand why people have fallen away. Once the habit is broken it is hard to get back. But I honestly get "that feeling" that we're at the start of something pretty special again. It's a bit like when McLeish found the 3-5-s formation that played to the strengths of Sauzee and Latapy or when you realised that Mowbray was going to play to the strengths of the talented young lads rather than lump it up to O'Connor. Saturday afternoons are enjoyable. Hibs are playing the way I want to see Hibs play. It's not the finished article, it's at a level it should never be acceptable for Hibs to be playing at but we are where we are and I'm enjoying it. It's been years since I've cared enough to know our next month's fixtures well in advance, it's years since I've been devastated to miss a game.

There are few tangible rewards that you get as a Hibs fan. The trophies are few and far between and you cling to the odd good day out, derby win and European qualification as payback for what you put in. But other than Celtic, this year's Scottish Cup is wide open - we only need to beat Berwick Rangers at home to reach Hampden again. And promotion from a league including the 2 big financial cheats would be an almost miraculous achievement given where we were at full-time after last season's playoff.

I've seen old faces drifting back. Whilst some are lost/ less interested, there are people who haven't been interested for a while getting back into it. Football fandom is a strange beast, it's not all or nothing, there are many stages of apathy in between. People drift in and out and it's easy to focus on those who are drifting away. There are many factors that can coax people back into attending more regularly and I'm confident that as we improve on the park more people will be encouraged to re-engage.

My cup is half-full and I'd encourage any switherers to come along again. It feels good when a project reaches it's conclusion to have been part of it from an early stage.

26-02-2015, 04:01 PM
So have we found the missing fans yet?

26-02-2015, 04:20 PM

That's not what I meant as my first paragraph clearly shows. But how can anybody deny that the best way to support any football club is from the stands, as my rather tongue in cheek post alluded to. No its not the only way and I would never call myself a better supporter than folk who's only choice is to support the club by purchasing merchandise or shares.

But my definition of my support of Hibs is to back them by going to games no matter how bad they are, that's what being a supporter is to me. If you are calling yourself a Hibs supporter and you can afford to back the team from the stands but choose not to then you are not as good a supporter or as valuable to the club as those who do go to games, no matter how much money you might plough into the club shop. I know plenty of folk disagree with that point of view, that's fine, but don't hold your breath waiting for me to apologise for it.

26-02-2015, 07:05 PM
That's not what I meant as my first paragraph clearly shows. But how can anybody deny that the best way to support any football club is from the stands, as my rather tongue in cheek post alluded to. No its not the only way and I would never call myself a better supporter than folk who's only choice is to support the club by purchasing merchandise or shares.

But my definition of my support of Hibs is to back them by going to games no matter how bad they are, that's what being a supporter is to me. If you are calling yourself a Hibs supporter and you can afford to back the team from the stands but choose not to then you are not as good a supporter or as valuable to the club as those who do go to games, no matter how much money you might plough into the club shop. I know plenty of folk disagree with that point of view, that's fine, but don't hold your breath waiting for me to apologise for it.

I'm not that sensitive about it, no expecting any apology x

Was your last paragraph tongue in cheek too ? Subtlety is often lost on me, Anyway , in Hibs as in life, I do as I please- within the parameters of decency.

Now feeling all unworthy:not worth

26-02-2015, 08:21 PM

I certainly don't class myself as a supporter now, i'm still a fan but i don't actually support the club much on match days. It still does not stop me watching on the telly if its on, or listening to Hibs tv if its not.

I'm just at the stage in my life now where the time and effort does not seem worth it these days. I will make the semi and final if we should make it, and i will even go to the play offs.

I will get tickets to all of them too.

malcolm
26-02-2015, 08:44 PM
I certainly don't class myself as a supporter now, i'm still a fan but i don't actually support the club much on match days. It still does not stop me watching on the telly if its on, or listening to Hibs tv if its not.

I'm just at the stage in my life now where the time and effort does not seem worth it these days. I will make the semi and final if we should make it, and i will even go to the play offs.

Back to front!

A supporter is someone who has a soft spot for a club, maybe gets tickets for a final (in particular if it is not against a Glasgow team), might watch them on TV and will read the back pages of the paper but may not be able to name or recognise current players.

Fan is short for fanatic and so infers a greater emotional connection and commitment. Fans typically do things like buying season tickets, going to away games, spending all day on .net, buying match day programs, shares and each seasons new strip, donates to dnipro kids, buys happy hibbie tickets and can discuss the merits of the under 20's emerging players. If all that applies you have got it bad, if only some you are a still a fan just not so fanatical. Distance is of course a caveat and a different set of criteria applies like say getting up at 3 am and complaining about hibs TV:greengrin

Kaff
26-02-2015, 09:55 PM
I watch Hibs on TV. I believe they get money from the TV companies. Am I supporting Hibs by paying for cable and my TV licence?

Please answer soon, as my next Direct Debit is due to come off - it's now a choice between The Vampire Diaries and Hibs. :confused:

, one or two unfunny posts on a serious thread could be forgiven but you're on nearly every page and no-one has found you worth a comment (i know stupid me) give it a rest ffs.

I manage 5-6 games a season usually and fortune has it that i will get 4 games in a row starting with the Raith away game. Ticket cost isnt make or break for me as transport and accomodation means a game costs about £200-250 excluding tickets but now i'm taking two young kids (under 12) i am grumbling that paying £14 each of them is too much, looking at Hearts model £5 for Cat B is a good policy. Its not stopping me taking them but just a gripe.
Hoping the playoffs and Cup boost my attendance to double figures!

26-02-2015, 10:05 PM

Vampire Diaries is my guilty pleasure! Not sure how far you are into it but I'm actually that sad I download it fri mornings after it's shown in the states!! 😁

As for the other topic I'm not that interested 😉

26-02-2015, 10:12 PM

I believe they were last seen making their way home from Hamilton.

27-02-2015, 12:36 AM
Why was my post removed. It was cleary a joke. :confused:

27-02-2015, 12:40 AM
Why was my post removed. It was cleary a joke. :confused:Joke or not we don't need your gifs on just about every thread posted ....gif away in the dug oot ..that's what its for ..:aok:

TObeachesHibby
27-02-2015, 06:27 AM
Old guy here...I love my team .....it kills me I cannot see them on TV here in TO.
It is -30C here .

27-02-2015, 10:05 AM
Old guy here...I love my team .....it kills me I cannot see them on TV here in TO.
It is -30C here .

Have you tried Hibs TV?

-30 is nothing, try sitting in the east stand for 90 minutes :greengrin

bobbyhibs1983
27-02-2015, 11:13 AM

This is sorta like me in a sense that I got a season ticket this season(last minute descion) but have given it up(due to some reasons below)!

I consider myself a fan, like if someone asks who you support its hibs. no matter if we are doing well or badly i support hibs first and foremost.

Like you i dont feel like the time and effort is worth it for me.Though if i were to say what my top 3 *issues*(if you can call them issues) would be. 1time and effort, i dont feel it is worth it for me 2.cost, i feel the cost is high 3.connection with hibs.this is probably just me but i guess its like i dont feel i have that conenction with hibs as i used to., I looked forward to going to the games, i liked bieng a part of it, but now not much(guess this one ties in with number 1)

though if somehow we go to the semi and final i do NOT see myself going to either or trying for tickets.

27-02-2015, 02:46 PM
Must admit I will be renewing irrespective of price. Pay it on DD and don't really notice it.

To me buying a season ticket is the best way of supporting the club.

Wonder when they will release prices.

27-02-2015, 02:49 PM
Must admit I will be renewing irrespective of price. Pay it on DD and don't really notice it.

To me buying a season ticket is the best way of supporting the club.

Wonder when they will release prices.
It's normally early March. Just after the quarterfinals would be my guess

Shields Hibee
27-02-2015, 03:59 PM
I'd expect ST info for next season after Qtr Finals and the marketing campaign of it guarantees a ticket for Hampden! I'll be renewing regardless as it means we can all sit together at ER.

I wonder if we need to ask Lothian buses to advertise that the 1 & 35 go near Easter Road stadium and put stickers on bus stops:agree:

Ricky Bobby
27-02-2015, 04:00 PM
I have not had time to read though all of the previous pages so i apologise if repeating anyone.
I would encourage anyone who has the time and is in a position to be able to get along to games to do so. We are playing some pretty decent stuff at the moment with few players who are actually worth paying to see. You will still get frustrated at times and results wont always go our way but it really feels like a corner has been turned. Also hopefully the weather is starting to turn so you might get away with only 4 or 5 layers on.

27-02-2015, 07:02 PM
I manage 5-6 games a season usually and fortune has it that i will get 4 games in a row starting with the Raith away game. Ticket cost isnt make or break for me as transport and accomodation means a game costs about £200-250 excluding tickets but now i'm taking two young kids (under 12) i am grumbling that paying £14 each of them is too much, looking at Hearts model £5 for Cat B is a good policy. Its not stopping me taking them but just a gripe.
Hoping the playoffs and Cup boost my attendance to double figures!

Hibs did seriously cheap kids season tickets in the FF lower last season. And you can pay by DD, so the cost for all 3 of you would work out much cheaper.

28-02-2015, 08:16 AM
Hibs did seriously cheap kids season tickets in the FF lower last season. And you can pay by DD, so the cost for all 3 of you would work out much cheaper.

Not everyone wants to sit in the FF

28-02-2015, 09:41 AM
Not everyone wants to sit in the FF

Surely the ideal place to offer cheap kids tickets then if it fills up a part of the ground that might not look full otherwise.

28-02-2015, 01:20 PM
Surely the ideal place to offer cheap kids tickets then if it fills up a part of the ground that might not look full otherwise.

I should've added that not everyone has kids so cheap seats in the FF is no good to people who don't take kids.

Kaff
28-02-2015, 02:32 PM

Yes great deal and well done Hibs but i (possibly wrongly) thought i was told i had to have an adult season ticket in order to take up this offer?
Of my annual games away matches are mixed in there and i like getting to the cup games so just not able to justify a season for myself, it really is a good offer as Hibs Kids membership is £15 less and you get that thrown in too!
As i said its not make or break but regular supporters are generally walk ups first and even if they had a section in FF where a number of £5 U12 kids tickets were available on a one off basis might be a good idea?

28-02-2015, 03:05 PM
Supprised this thread is still on thr go, I ve already made some points but I'll expand a little.
1) fans have stopped going for a number of reasons, not one.
2) having stopped going to games many have got out of the habit of going and many will never be back.
3) instead of trying to get people back a effort has to be made to cultivate a new younger fan base, however this will be difficult because people are falling out of love with Scottish football in general and, Hibs are playing in a lower league with no guarantee of promotion.
As an aside I'll bring up summer football again, those brave souls currently standing on open cold, rain soaked terracing might have an opinion.

28-02-2015, 09:03 PM
Supprised this thread is still on thr go, I ve already made some points but I'll expand a little.
1) fans have stopped going for a number of reasons, not one.
2) having stopped going to games many have got out of the habit of going and many will never be back.
3) instead of trying to get people back a effort has to be made to cultivate a new younger fan base, however this will be difficult because people are falling out of love with Scottish football in general and, Hibs are playing in a lower league with no guarantee of promotion.
As an aside I'll bring up summer football again, those brave souls currently standing on open cold, rain soaked terracing might have an opinion.

Aye you never see cold rain in Scotland between April and November right enough!

28-02-2015, 10:02 PM

Well, have we. ?

01-03-2015, 01:51 PM
Aye you never see cold rain in Scotland between April and November right enough!
Aye less than between August and April I would imagine, but then you probably no more about weather forecasting than I do.

01-03-2015, 02:17 PM
[QUOTE=Lago;4314994]Aye less than between August and April I would imagine, but then you probably no more about weather forecasting than I do.

We are into March now and folk are still harping on about Summer Football. Like it or not we can't play the whole season during June and July and August . It's a long enough winter here in Scotland and it would be a hell of a lot longer without the fitba.

01-03-2015, 03:00 PM
[QUOTE=Lago;4314994]Aye less than between August and April I would imagine, but then you probably no more about weather forecasting than I do.

We are into March now and folk are still harping on about Summer Football. Like it or not we can't play the whole season during June and July and August . It's a long enough winter here in Scotland and it would be a hell of a lot longer without the fitba.

I think the winters are even longer in Scandanavia. You have to wonder how they manage.

01-03-2015, 03:12 PM
[QUOTE=malcolm-bogie;4315015]

I think the winters are even longer in Scandanavia. You have to wonder how they manage.

Winter sports which they are all into. We're into football. I'd be gutted not having games to go to over the winter.

02-03-2015, 06:13 PM
If we were to win the double this year. Win the play-offs to get promoted back into the Premiership and finally get our hands on the Scottish Cup and that would also result in us qualifying for Europe next season.

Could that entice more fans to return?

02-03-2015, 06:36 PM
Well, have we. ?

Yes, they live in an underground tunnel system near Hampden.

Lee Marvin
02-03-2015, 07:21 PM
If we were to win the double this year. Win the play-offs to get promoted back into the Premiership and finally get our hands on the Scottish Cup and that would also result in us qualifying for Europe next season.

Could that entice more fans to return?

Na, think only a champions league win will do it...

02-03-2015, 10:30 PM
Yes, they live in an underground tunnel system near Hampden.

Ahh, the day trippers. :greengrin

Saturday Boy
02-03-2015, 10:34 PM
Maybe we should offer the missing fans some sort of dis-loyalty points, which they could exchange in a sort of v button meets Bitcoin way? The more games you don't go to, the more dis-loyalty points you earn.

I'm already good for 5 points for not going to the MK Dons game.

27-09-2018, 01:17 PM
I am in my bed feeling ill today and found myself looking through old threads around the time just after we were relegated.

Amazing how much the club has changed over the past few years.

Anyway this tread was after a crowd of 8,000 against Dumbarton. Thought it was relevant bearing in mind the two other threads on attendances.

Two things that jumped out at me.

Wonder if anyone doesn’t go because of Petrie any more?

I forecast we would win the cup, I was only one year out! If only I knew that day was on its way!

28-09-2018, 06:58 AM
I am in my bed feeling ill today and found myself looking through old threads around the time just after we were relegated.

Amazing how much the club has changed over the past few years.

Anyway this tread was after a crowd of 8,000 against Dumbarton. Thought it was relevant bearing in mind the two other threads on attendances.

Two things that jumped out at me.

Wonder if anyone doesn’t go because of Petrie any more?

I forecast we would win the cup, I was only one year out! If only I knew that day was on its way!

Yep, I know one former fairly high profile Hibs supporter who to this day says he won't be back at Easter road until both Petrie and Farmer are gone.

Not saying in the slightest that I agree with his stance, just answering your question.

28-09-2018, 07:40 AM
Yep, I know one former fairly high profile Hibs supporter who to this day says he won't be back at Easter road until both Petrie and Farmer are gone.

Not saying in the slightest that I agree with his stance, just answering your question.

Not necessarily the person you're speaking about, but there are some fairly high profile fans who have very publicly made ridiculous allegations about STF & RP and I couldn't care less if they never went near ER again.

28-09-2018, 07:45 AM
Either directly or indirectly Petrie was the reason our crowds were so low. Dempster is why they are now so high, it’s hard to overstate the fantastic job she has done.
Petrie seems to be concentrating his energies more towards the SFA these days. How are they doing now?

28-09-2018, 08:04 AM
Either directly or indirectly Petrie was the reason our crowds were so low. Dempster is why they are now so high, it’s hard to overstate the fantastic job she has done.

And who appointed Dempster and directs the board to back her?

Petrie seems to be concentrating his energies more towards the SFA these days. How are they doing now?

Is he? You're right, it must be RP's fault. He must be doing something wrong somewhere after all...:rolleyes:

28-09-2018, 08:22 AM
And who appointed Dempster and directs the board to back her?

Is he? You're right, it must be RP's fault. He must be doing something wrong somewhere after all...:rolleyes:

Credit to him to eventually realise how terrible he was at running Hibs and appoint Leeann Dempster. Shame it took him so long and cost us 3 years of lower league football but credit where it’s due.

28-09-2018, 08:50 AM

Dempster has been a good hire. And the football model we operate is making a difference. It is Petrie who shaped and implemented these changes..and he remains firmly part of the leadership team at the club ..

Doesn’t fit the Petrie is terrible narrative, but is true...he has many flaws, but at least he recognised his previous approach was not working (before we got relegated!) and created the change that we have now

The board still have a lot of work to do..but the good stuff is not all about Dempster ...and the bad stuff isn’t all about Petrie

hibeerealist
28-09-2018, 09:16 AM
Dempster has been a good hire. And the football model we operate is making a difference. It is Petrie who shaped and implemented these changes..and he remains firmly part of the leadership team at the club ..

Doesn’t fit the Petrie is terrible narrative, but is true...he has many flaws, but at least he recognised his previous approach was not working (before we got relegated!) and created the change that we have now

The board still have a lot of work to do..but the good stuff is not all about Dempster ...and the bad stuff isn’t all about Petrie

So he did not react to the “Petrie Out” demos behind the main stand and the general feeling of the Hibs support that he was failing the club? Yes, he probably meant well but the hiring and firing was principally down to him and he has to take responsibility for that.

When the family silver was sold and the ground developed with the proceeds we were told that this took priority for the time being and the increased revenue (better stadium etc) would then be invested on the pitch. That period, post completion of the stands, was when most fans began to feel a disconnect with the club as their patience and understanding (and support) was rewarded with same old same old on the pitch.

Petrie has done much good at Hibs but he has also screwed up here and there.

Him standing aside and appointing LD was probably forced upon him, absolutely necessary and has been one of his best decisions ever in terms of his tenure at Hibs. He himself probably wishes he had acted sooner on this appointment as it may well have saved him much grief.

Alls well that ends well!! GGTTH

28-09-2018, 09:18 AM

Why is Petrie to blame and not the man who employs him?

28-09-2018, 09:27 AM
we really need to move on from this "ahm no goin back til Petries oot" nonsense, folks, yir missin great fitba, the clubs moved on, the fans are coming back, Petries moved sideways, dinnae cut yir nose aff tae spite yirsel. Aye we can all be pissed but ffs we might never see this type of fitba for a long time if/when lennon leaves. get yir asses back ta ER.

28-09-2018, 09:34 AM
So he did not react to the “Petrie Out” demos behind the main stand and the general feeling of the Hibs support that he was failing the club? Yes, he probably meant well but the hiring and firing was principally down to him and he has to take responsibility for that.

No. Leeann Dempster's appointment was announced months before in a "wind of change" statement.

When the family silver was sold and the ground developed with the proceeds we were told that this took priority for the time being and the increased revenue (better stadium etc) would then be invested on the pitch. That period, post completion of the stands, was when most fans began to feel a disconnect with the club as their patience and understanding (and support) was rewarded with same old same old on the pitch.

Him standing aside and appointing LD was probably forced upon him, absolutely necessary and has been one of his best decisions ever in terms of his tenure at Hibs. He himself probably wishes he had acted sooner on this appointment as it may well have saved him much grief.

It wasn't the first time that Hibs had tried to change things. Fife Hyland was managing director and Scott Lindsay was chief executive. Were these good or bad appointments? Whatever the answer people seem to have airbrushed them from the club's recent history.

If things are going well then it's solely down to Leeann Dempster. If things are going badly (or if we're knocked out a cup on penalties) then all of a sudden Petrie's at fault again.

Have I got that right?

MKHIBEE
28-09-2018, 04:36 PM
Maybe we should offer the missing fans some sort of dis-loyalty points, which they could exchange in a sort of v button meets Bitcoin way? The more games you don't go to, the more dis-loyalty points you earn.

I'm already good for 5 points for not going to the MK Dons game.

Surely not going to MK Dons should get you loyalty points

Saturday Boy
28-09-2018, 05:31 PM
Surely not going to MK Dons should get you loyalty points

Mmh. Interesting. That’s what happens when a double negative meets a worn out joke 😄

28-09-2018, 08:56 PM

Just to clarify Leeann was appointed in March when we still did not expect to be relegated. At the time we were working with a very small staff. A lot of the work was supported by volunteers.

Since Leeann arrived the club has been run on a far more professional basis. This is not a slight on the previous staff who all worked their socks off but lacked leadership due to Petrie’s part time involvement.

The club is now run on a professional basis and is no longer run on the cheap. The difference is incredible.

28-09-2018, 10:00 PM

Did petrie inspire the rise in crowds under Mowbry/Collins and the entertaining football and league cup win?

I'm a massive Dempster fan, but if SDG doesn't score that header then 16-17 would have seen gates of about 5k and her leading us through our worst years as a club.

hibsfan7
28-09-2018, 10:26 PM
Just to clarify Leeann was appointed in March when we still did not expect to be relegated. At the time we were working with a very small staff. A lot of the work was supported by volunteers.

Since Leeann arrived the club has been run on a far more professional basis. This is not a slight on the previous staff who all worked their socks off but lacked leadership due to Petrie’s part time involvement.

The club is now run on a professional basis and is no longer run on the cheap. The difference is incredible.

Petrie is anything but a leader tho. Part-time or otherwise. It's just not in his make up. He"s had the easiest gig in Scottish football for more than quarter of century. No matter what he does he"s backed to the hilt by Farmer. We've never had a situation as fans of knowing where the buck stops. It"s a horrible situation and it's not really changed.

Best thing about Leanne being there is that Petrie"s no longer the public face of the club and we don't have to suffer his weak, torturous radio and TV interviews. A sort of Alex Miller of the boardroom...

Tornadoes70
28-09-2018, 10:54 PM
we really need to move on from this "ahm no goin back til Petries oot" nonsense, folks, yir missin great fitba, the clubs moved on, the fans are coming back, Petries moved sideways, dinnae cut yir nose aff tae spite yirsel. Aye we can all be pissed but ffs we might never see this type of fitba for a long time if/when lennon leaves. get yir asses back ta ER.

Nonsense of the worst kind.

Watching Hibernian post Tornadoes in the late seventies and early eighties especially the Bertie Auld years was enough to drive anyone away but because my family are all Hibernian 'Supporters' we continued to attend virtually every single match home and away no matter what.

I'm sorry but anyone that stays away from Easter Road because of Rod who is part of the board who lifted the Holy Grail cannot call themselves 'true' supporters.

Mon the Cabbage!!!

29-09-2018, 04:44 AM

Watching Hibernian post Tornadoes in the late seventies and early eighties especially the Bertie Auld years was enough to drive anyone away but because my family are all Hibernian 'Supporters' we continued to attend virtually every single match home and away no matter what.

I'm sorry but anyone that stays away from Easter Road because of Rod who is part of the board who lifted the Holy Grail cannot call themselves 'true' supporters.

Mon the Cabbage!!!

I would NEVERstop following Hibs because I didn’t like someone on the board....I can go even further back and remember singing ‘we want Harry Swan wi’ a rope around his neck’...although I can’t remember exactly why...probably for selling Joe Baker.

It is almost normal that fans will be at odds with their board........

29-09-2018, 04:50 AM

Mon the Cabbage!!!

Remember games where crowds were 4000 to 5000 range in that era. Our core support is probably as high as its been at any time in my 50 odd years following Hibs. It used to be that ST holders were the minority and walk ups the majority. That's reversed in the last twenty to thirty years. Its the main factor why league attendances are high and also why when STs don't apply, crowds will be down to what I still thinks an acceptable level, given our overall attendance history.

29-09-2018, 06:21 AM
I would NEVERstop following Hibs because I didn’t like someone on the board....I can go even further back and remember singing ‘we want Harry Swan wi’ a rope around his neck’...although I can’t remember exactly why...probably for selling Joe Baker.

‘Interesting! To what tune?

29-09-2018, 08:37 AM
Petrie is anything but a leader tho. Part-time or otherwise. It's just not in his make up. He"s had the easiest gig in Scottish football for more than quarter of century. No matter what he does he"s backed to the hilt by Farmer. We've never had a situation as fans of knowing where the buck stops. It"s a horrible situation and it's not really changed.

Best thing about Leanne being there is that Petrie"s no longer the public face of the club and we don't have to suffer his weak, torturous radio and TV interviews. A sort of Alex Miller of the boardroom...

How do you know that RP is not a leader? Do you have inside information on what goes on at board level?

As for his interviews, when was he ever the public face of the club? He seems to avoid the limelight and has probably averaged about one interview per season.

29-09-2018, 08:39 AM
Did petrie inspire the rise in crowds under Mowbry/Collins and the entertaining football and league cup win?

I'm a massive Dempster fan, but if SDG doesn't score that header then 16-17 would have seen gates of about 5k and her leading us through our worst years as a club.

If we hadn't won the Scottish cup our average attendance would not have dropped to 5k. It certainly wouldn't be at the levels it's a time now but no chance it would have been as low as that.

29-09-2018, 08:56 AM
In the modern age with all seated stadiums and smaller capacities from the old terraced grounds, we have more season ticket holders, and the tremendous uptake from Hibs fans means we consistently have big crowds at Easter Road regardless of opposition. The Aberdeen cup tie was down somewhat for many reasons already covered, but it shouldn’t detract from what has been great backing and rallying from the fans since the dark days of Butcher and relegation. When we got 40,000 for a Rangers game at ER in the early 70’s you could then get 6,000 the next week for a home game against Ayr. Some would go every week and some picked and chose regarding on appeal - if we didn’t have so many ST’s that habit would be the same today, and and the ST is getting folk along to some games who might otherwise not have bothered had they paid at gate when attended.
For what we see on the pitch in return for our investment, I’d hope our ST numbers number continue to stay at what we have, and under Lennon, perhaps rise further.

29-09-2018, 09:15 AM
If we hadn't won the Scottish cup our average attendance would not have dropped to 5k. It certainly wouldn't be at the levels it's a time now but no chance it would have been as low as that.

I've maybe went a bit low with that, certainly if it's read as average/normal figure. We'd average about 7/8k which is probably our "core", but we'd likely have seen some games around the 5k mark, I think - we had at least one under 7k in the season we won the cup, I think another year down there without the SC would have seen us reach new lows.

Mute point anyway - we won the cup, and the fans have been backing the team since. Long may it continue. :aok:

29-09-2018, 09:25 AM

Luck plays an important part in all things. Petrie was lucky the golden generation came through and was lucky John Collins was the manager to help him get the kind of fees we did, certainly for Brown and Thomson. However he did well getting the fees he did and by all accounts the deals he got on the bricks and mortar projects. I would also argue that spending an unexpected windfall on a stand and training ground was the easy bit. What happens on the park is the raison d'être and he failed miserably on that score until Dpster came in.

Dempster came in at our lowest ebb in decades to as amateur a set up as there was around, with only a handful of players. She then brought in a manager at the first time of asking who got us moving forward, undoing the work of Butcher, Fenlon and Calderwood. We got to two cup finals just two seasons after the dark days of a slow march to relegation. Of course winning the cup galvanised the support, but Dempster has tapped into that and continued the upward curve. We were protesting outside the stands when she came in, 4 seasons later and the bond between club and fans is as strong as I’ve ever known it.

29-09-2018, 09:49 AM
Any chairman who presides over two relegations for a team the size of Hibs, has to be one of the worst in our history?

That kind of leadership we can do without.

29-09-2018, 09:55 AM
Any chairman who presides over two relegations for a team the size of Hibs, has to be one of the worst in our history?

Yeh true. He is still the leader now though ...I’m not suggesting he is therefore good or anything, just recognising that he remains very active and all that is done at a senior level (including manager choices etc) is not solely Dempster ...Petrie very involved

29-09-2018, 09:59 AM

Any chairman who presides over 20% of our major trophy wins has to be one of our best?

29-09-2018, 10:36 AM

That kind of leadership we can do without.He became chairman in 2004 and we have "only" been relegated once since. Doesn't make it excusable though.

hibsfan7
29-09-2018, 11:39 AM
How do you know that RP is not a leader? Do you have inside information on what goes on at board level?

As for his interviews, when was he ever the public face of the club? He seems to avoid the limelight and has probably averaged about one interview per season.

You've answered your own question there... As a chairman of a football club you would think HE WOULD put himself forward to talk up in the interests of the club. A fairly routine duty as a leader.

Has he ever said anything about how Edinburgh Council blatantly favours our city rivals? Even to the point when they criminally deprived us of the opertunity to redevelop the carpark and east stand(Butterfly Project)? That cost us millions and set us back years and not a peep from Petrie. That doesn't say leadership to me.

When Barcelona offered Hibs the chance of a mid-summer friendly a few years back - a cast iron garuntee of healthy pay day and massive kudos forever - what did he do? Handed it all to dear friends and neighbours. Thanks Rod! When he then accepted the invitation the following summer it was a busted flush(Hearts got over 60000 at their game we got 23000)cos it was always going to be a one off. How do you think the average deluded Hearts fan reacted to that? It confirmed in their stupid heads that they were indeed the big club(where in reality the majority of their crowd at Murrayfield for their game were neutrals) So he got the same thing wrong twice and got us laughed at twice.

So my impression is that he not only lacks basic leadership qualities but can be breathtakingly inept.

29-09-2018, 12:23 PM
Any chairman who presides over 20% of our major trophy wins has to be one of our best?

Ah the old boom bust strategy, way to go rod. :rolleyes:

He became chairman in 2004 and we have "only" been relegated once since. Doesn't make it excusable though.

STF put him in to run things when he took over, maybe not chairman but definitely pulling the strings/plugs :wink:

29-09-2018, 12:31 PM
‘Interesting! To what tune?

Dunno the name of the tune, but it’s a fairly well known ditty through the tears I think.......if it helps..it finished with the words........”0n a cold and frosty morning”

We want Harry Swan wi a rope around his neck, a rope around his neck
We want Harry Swan wi a rope around his neck
On a cold and frosty morning..

Bet he was petrified when he heard that😂

29-09-2018, 12:53 PM
Dunno the name of the tune, but it’s a fairly well known ditty through the tears I think.......if it helps..it finished with the words........”0n a cold and frosty morning”

I had another tune in ma heid but that scary version has knocked it oot! :greengrin

More likely sung it for giving the Gay Gordon a free and him going on to get himself back to fitness by paddling in the Forth and winning Championship badges with Hearts and Dundee :greengrin

29-09-2018, 06:15 PM

THIS (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=849gC2vUAAM) one perhaps?

29-09-2018, 06:38 PM
THIS (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=849gC2vUAAM) one perhaps?

Yip! Makes perfect sense now that Fred has provided us with the extra lines and tune.

I had to ask the question as I am genuinely interested.

I have never ever heard that song before but I am always interested in HIBS history as it was way before my time.

29-09-2018, 06:41 PM
Yip! Makes perfect sense now that Fred has provided us with the extra lines and tune.

I had to ask the question as I am genuinely interested.

I have never ever heard that song before but I am always interested in HIBS history as it was way before my time.

Mine too, Billy

29-09-2018, 06:51 PM

Swan was a pretty controversial figure at times - some interesting stuff on him here:

https://www.irishpost.com/sport/the-irish-gypsys-curse-on-hibernian-fc-has-finally-been-broken-90065

29-09-2018, 06:54 PM
Mine too, Billy

29-09-2018, 07:07 PM
Swan was a pretty controversial figure at times - some interesting stuff on him here:

https://www.irishpost.com/sport/the-irish-gypsys-curse-on-hibernian-fc-has-finally-been-broken-90065

Excellent article.

Just finished reading James Connollys biography : he was in the US doing speeches for the labor movement and his employers in Dublin : he went into a rage when someone handed him a piece of paper stating that Hearts had just knocked his beloved Hibernian out of the Scottish Cup.