View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian 3 - 0 Dumbarton (Djedje, Malonga x2) [FT]

21-02-2015, 01:09 PM
3rd Match thread in a row and after last week i'm starting match threads from now on until end of the season :cb

the weather will be sunny spells and showers over Dumfries and Galloway, these occasionally wintry with snow accumulating on higher ground. Eastern areas mainly sunny and dry. Fresh northwesterly winds in west, lighter in east. Temperatures dropping quickly during the evening.

Any team news?

21-02-2015, 01:13 PM
So Hibs take on Ian Murray's struggling Dumbarton today at ER, can only see this game going one way and us moving back in to 2nd place in this league with a comfortable win over Murray's team, if he parks the bus again then we take our time to break them down and get the win we need, whether it is a scrappy 1-0 or a rampant 5-0 it doesn't matter as long as we come away with the 3 points today.

Conditions are looking good just now for the players to get the ball down and pass it about on the nice surface at ER, could possibly get cold later on so for the auld yins get the thermals on and make sure the hip flask is filled up to keep you warm, anyone asks just say it is a trial period and you are seeing if you need a drink during the game. :greengrin

So, any team news yet, think we picked up a few injuries at Ibrox last week so maybe see a couple of forced changes today by Mr Stubbs.

C'mon the Hibs..

Please use http://www.hibs.net/vaispy.php and keep Mikey happy.

:flag: :gwa: :flag:

21-02-2015, 01:32 PM
:hyper

You can add your weather update to my thread if you want Steve. :thumbsup:

21-02-2015, 01:38 PM
Are Matchday Fashions discussions allowed or do I need to go back to my own thread for that?

21-02-2015, 01:41 PM
Anyone know why Scott Allan isn't playing today?

Paloschi
21-02-2015, 01:48 PM

What's the team?

21-02-2015, 02:36 PM
Team is:

Oxley

Watson
Hanlon
Fontaine
Stevenson

Fyvie
Robertson
Mcgeough
Handling

Malonga
Djedje

On topic please.

21-02-2015, 02:39 PM
It was on Twitter that he was ill. I think Sam Stanton is the same.....

21-02-2015, 02:39 PM
Hope he isn't taking Dumbarton for granted today with a slightly weakened team

21-02-2015, 02:41 PM
Keen to see djedje and Malonga up front, should be good!

21-02-2015, 02:46 PM
Today's programme will be worth a fortune in a few years time.

Green Man
21-02-2015, 02:46 PM
It was on Twitter that he was ill. I think Sam Stanton is the same.....

Reported in the EEN that Stanton has mumps.

21-02-2015, 02:49 PM
C'mon the Hibs, let's back up a brilliant result at Ibrox with a win

ManBearPig
21-02-2015, 02:50 PM
No Scott Allan or David gray?! Hope there is good reasons for this?!

Off the bar
21-02-2015, 02:51 PM

Illness and injury

21-02-2015, 02:51 PM

Allan is ill and gray needs to recover from his surgery, nothing sinister

21-02-2015, 02:52 PM

Liam Craig gave them the flu.

21-02-2015, 02:52 PM
C'mon the Hibs, let's back up a brilliant result at Ibrox with a win

Freshened up starting xI

21-02-2015, 02:56 PM
Hope he isn't taking Dumbarton for granted today with a slightly weakened team

it's only weakened because allan is ill and gray isnt quite fully fit

21-02-2015, 02:58 PM
Hibs crowd looking a wee bit better again. Slowly starting to creep back up.

50-100 from Dumbarton.

21-02-2015, 03:01 PM
Few of the lads have been ill. No shock that there is changes in the squad today!

Stubbs isn't taking anything for granted believe me!

21-02-2015, 03:05 PM
It's live on Forth 2 for anyone not there.

http://radioplayer.forth2.com/live/

21-02-2015, 03:06 PM
it's only weakened because allan is ill and gray isnt quite fully fit

Never knew about a bug glad we have quality to come in

21-02-2015, 03:08 PM
Bright start. Malonga should have scored.

21-02-2015, 03:09 PM
Cross from Stevenson, Malonga close

21-02-2015, 03:13 PM
By the By, who is El Capitan ? Hanlon ?

How's the midfield / attack combo working? Will be interesting to see how Fyvie gets on today.

Busy Bear
It's live on Forth 2 for anyone not there.

MileHighBees

Fontaine

WillowbraeHibby

Liam Fontaine

21-02-2015, 03:16 PM
Liam Fontaine

Nice ! As he should be !

Off the bar
21-02-2015, 03:17 PM
Falkirk 1-0 v Livvy

Hanlon stings keepers hands with a shot

Falkirk 1-0 v Livvy
2 . 0

21-02-2015, 03:22 PM
Hibs crowd looking a wee bit better again. Slowly starting to creep back up.

50-100 from Dumbarton.

Loads of freebies judging by sect 43

21-02-2015, 03:24 PM
Lot of half chances. Need to get one taken.

21-02-2015, 03:24 PM
1-0 qots

West hamBERNIAN
21-02-2015, 03:25 PM
1-0 qots

Brilliant

WillowbraeHibby
21-02-2015, 03:26 PM
Is Malonga on his game?... Seems he is not according to the commentators.. :rolleyes:

21-02-2015, 03:26 PM
Brilliant

Not really ideal for us.

21-02-2015, 03:27 PM
Brilliant
If stays that way they are only 2 points behind with game in hand. Cant afford to lose today or draw.

WillowbraeHibby
Yams getting beat 1-0 :greengrin

I'd get Cummings on for malonga now

InterviewLoI
Is the game on radio?

1-0 qots

Pleasing 😂😂

21-02-2015, 03:28 PM
Another chance goes begging.

WillowbraeHibby
21-02-2015, 03:29 PM
Is the game on radio?

WillowbraeHibby
21-02-2015, 03:30 PM

Agreed... Not happening with Malonga and Dje Dje..

21-02-2015, 03:30 PM
Malonga puts one almost inconcievably far over the bar.

21-02-2015, 03:32 PM
This has got frustrating 0v0 draw written all over it.

WillowbraeHibby
Yesssssssssssssss .... :flag::flag::flag:

1-0 Djedje. Good finish from a good counter attack.

On ye go Frank :flag:

21-02-2015, 03:33 PM

Keep the predictions coming :greengrin

7-Heaven

1 - nil Hibs :)

Djedje scores

21-02-2015, 03:34 PM
Great work from Djédjé - brilliant stream on Hibs TV too. :thumbsup:

21-02-2015, 03:34 PM
He's a good wee player is Djedje

WillowbraeHibby
21-02-2015, 03:35 PM
Yams equalised.... :(

WillowbraeHibby
Yesssssssssssssssss :flag::flag::flag:

:greengrin:thumbsup::greengrin:flag:

Malonga. 2-0 superb header

Get him off for Cummings.

big Dom:thumbsup:

7-Heaven

2 - Nil Hibs :)

:not worth

Woooosh... Keep it up Hibs ! :flag:

21-02-2015, 03:36 PM
Keep the predictions coming :greengrin

This has got a somewhat underwhelming 1v0 Hibs win written all over it.

2-0 Malonga :aok:

Can you please say this a few times again 😊😊😊😊

Great header, Malonga scores.:flag:

Humo
This has got a bore 2-0 written all over it

21-02-2015, 03:37 PM

You're on fire Ped :thumbsup:

This has got a comfortable, yet somewhat underwhelming, 2v0 Hibs win written all over it.

Humo
Come on hibs give is another 9 goal thriller

Should have been 3. Great ball by Fyvie to Malonga. Wide.

I know it's tongue in cheek but it makes me laugh 😂😂😉😂😂😂😂

WillowbraeHibby
Agreed... Not happening with Malonga and Dje Dje.. (Note to me.... Keep yer thoughts tae yerself') :rolleyes:

21-02-2015, 03:38 PM

You must have spurred them on :>)

HibeeDave
21-02-2015, 03:38 PM

More of this please :not worth

21-02-2015, 03:39 PM
Another winning match thread for myself

WillowbraeHibby
21-02-2015, 03:39 PM
You must have spurred them on :>)

:aok:... Aye mibee... Dinnae feel so bad noo.. :greengrin

21-02-2015, 03:40 PM
Agreed... Not happening with Malonga and Dje Dje.. (Note to me.... Keep yer thoughts tae yerself') :rolleyes:

🐂

21-02-2015, 03:40 PM
Come on hibs give is another 9 goal thriller

F*** the thriller part, I'll settle for a 9 goal stroll in the park :greengrin

WillowbraeHibby
21-02-2015, 03:41 PM
More of this please :not worth

:tin hat: Aye, I deserve it.... :taxi peep peep....

21-02-2015, 03:43 PM
Kevin Harper saying that looked like a passback :tee hee:

Saint Hibee
21-02-2015, 03:43 PM
Fraser Fyvie's on fire!
(Not literally)

21-02-2015, 03:44 PM
Kevin Harper saying that looked like a passback :tee hee:
It wasn't a passback. Ball was played in too quickly for the defender to control it properly.

21-02-2015, 03:44 PM
This has got 2-2 written all over it.

WillowbraeHibby
21-02-2015, 03:48 PM
Very happy that we are pressurising Dumbarton, and making opportunities... Another goal would have been good though!

21-02-2015, 03:49 PM
Half time. Some lovely football and definitely more goals in this for us. Dumbarton are really poor and look likely to start sticking the boot in as well.

21-02-2015, 03:50 PM
It wasn't a passback. Ball was played in too quickly for the defender to control it properly.

I know - it looked more likely to finish in the net than the keeper's hands.

Steady, have you not seen Hibs before?

MileHighBees
HT 2-0
Gray might struggle to get his place back because Watson is playing really well
Probably MOTM so far

21-02-2015, 03:52 PM

Winning Derby threads are in particular need.

21-02-2015, 03:52 PM
We can still lose this. Even 5-1 up at Hampden with minutes to go I was still nervous.

StarMan10
21-02-2015, 03:53 PM
Waited years for a decent right back and now we have 2!! This is too much for me.

SteveHFC for our next manager

Oh....is it not? ;)

21-02-2015, 03:55 PM
Half time. Some lovely football and definitely more goals in this for us. Dumbarton are really poor and look likely to start sticking the boot in as well.

:agree: surprised at how poor they are tbh

I predicted 2-0. Happy to be proved wrong as long as they are scored by Hibs players.

Good crowd?

Steady, have you not seen Hibs before?

Fair enough

Matty_Jack04
HT 2-0
Gray might struggle to get his place back because Watson is playing really well
Probably MOTM so far

Watsons done well since coming in but Gray has been signing of the season, Gray everytime for me, I'd like us to keep Watson on however passed his loan deal he's been impressive and can play central as well stubbsy's signings have been great all round

21-02-2015, 03:57 PM
I loved Kevin Harper as a player but listening to that Glasgow accent is as charming as listening to chalk being scraped down a blackboard.......

WillowbraeHibby
21-02-2015, 03:59 PM
Oh....is it not? ;)

I've apologised.... Tin hat... Taxi etc... I ken when I'm beat... :greengrin

HiBremian
21-02-2015, 04:03 PM
I loved Kevin Harper as a player but listening to that Glasgow accent is as charming as listening to chalk being scraped down a blackboard.......

"Charming", hasn't been the aim of fitba' commentators since Kenneth Wolstenholme :greengrin

21-02-2015, 04:07 PM
We can still lose this. Even 5-1 up at Hampden with minutes to go I was still nervous.

Funny, I didn't relax until the 5th. I finally believed we had it won when the 5th went in.

21-02-2015, 04:09 PM
Absolute stonewall penalty turned down.

Dumbarton playing the rarely seen 10-0-0 formation this half.

WillowbraeHibby
21-02-2015, 04:10 PM
Penalty denied....

21-02-2015, 04:14 PM
3-0 Malonga

WillowbraeHibby
Yesssssssss... :flag::flag::flag:

Sounds like Watson is having a stormer.

3–0!

3-0 Malonga again. Him and Handling seemed to want to leave it to each other.

No more than we deserve.

21-02-2015, 04:15 PM
Woohoo

21-02-2015, 04:15 PM
Malonga again - lazy bassa :greengrin

21-02-2015, 04:16 PM
Do do do 😂😂😂😂😂

We really should be looking to rack up the goals here. Goal difference could be crucial come the end of the season.

Off the bar
Yesssss! C'mon the hibs!

21-02-2015, 04:17 PM
Just need a Queens goal to make this a good weekend😊

21-02-2015, 04:18 PM
Just need a Queens goal to make this a good weekend

Would a draw not suit us better?

I love big Dom Malonga!!

Great to see both strikers on the goal sheet again. Both have impressive goals to games ratios thus far! :thumbsup:

21-02-2015, 04:19 PM
Guys on the radio ripping into Dunbarton. Taking nothing away from Hibs but they are saying every one behind the ball, no tackling getting done.

Surely to god if you come to park the bus after losing a goal at least have a go? Murray doesn't seem to know when to change it it seems.

Just need a Queens goal to make this a good weekend

QOTS are still right on our tail so I'd prefer it to stay a draw.

Would a draw not suit us better?

Not really. Excuse my arrogance but we will finish above QOTS regardless. Hearts on the other hand, well it's always fun when they get beat!

21-02-2015, 04:21 PM
Not really. Excuse my arrogance but we will finish above QOTS regardless. Hearts on the other hand, well it's always fun when they get beat!
my thoughts

21-02-2015, 04:22 PM
Fontaine seems to be putting a marker down for inclusion as an attacking midfielder the way he's getting forward today.

Bang on. We should be worrying about Sevco, not QOTS, and Hertz getting beat always​ suits me.

Humo
Fontaine seems to be putting a marker down for inclusion as an attacking midfielder the way he's getting forward today.
As long as it's not the signature James McPake suicide run then I'm happy

21-02-2015, 04:23 PM
Guys on the radio ripping into Dunbarton. Taking nothing away from Hibs but they are saying every one behind the ball, no tackling getting done.

Surely to god if you come to park the bus after losing a goal at least have a go? Murray doesn't seem to know when to change it it seems.

They are utterly pathetic.

No excuse either as Arbroath came and had a go and weren't disgraced by an stretch of the imagination.

21-02-2015, 04:24 PM

Not difficult getting forward when the opposition's lining up between their goalposts :greengrin

21-02-2015, 04:24 PM
They are utterly pathetic.

No excuse either as Arbroath came and had a go and weren't disgraced by an stretch of the imagination.

Exactly, they done very well and to take the lead showed character.

21-02-2015, 04:25 PM

I agree, You don't win a race looking over your shoulder. We should be aiming to get after the Yams as long as we have even the faintest chance to overtake them, and if we don't manage that, get as close to them as we can by the end of the season.

We're Hibernian Football Club, and that should be what moulds our ambition. Premiership, silverware, European nights. Been a joke club too long now.

21-02-2015, 04:26 PM
Djedje with a great touch then a woeful attempt at a shot.

21-02-2015, 04:27 PM
Everyone should just let me start match threads from now on.

21-02-2015, 04:29 PM
Everyone should just let me start match threads from now on.

Surely the pattern needs to be parallel match day threads now - official and unofficial?

21-02-2015, 04:30 PM
Great header from Gomez :greengrin to make it Swansea 2 Mancs 1

21-02-2015, 04:32 PM
Danny Handings time at hibs is done, a truly terrible footballer.

Hibs now looking pretty good. Very professional win.

"A friend of mine once said he liked his women like his parmesan: strong smelling and shaved"

21-02-2015, 04:34 PM
Surely the pattern needs to be parallel match day threads now - official and unofficial?

I'll leave the unofficial threads to the others.

21-02-2015, 04:35 PM

"A friend of mine once said he liked his women like his parmesan: strong smelling and shaved"
thats harsh

21-02-2015, 04:38 PM
thats harsh
It's not just harsh - it's garbage. Funnily enough I was thinking that he had put in a good shift and then the commentators said exactly the same thing.

HappyHibby93
21-02-2015, 04:38 PM

Totally over the top. Away and take a deep breath...

Sent from my GT-S5830i using Tapatalk 2

21-02-2015, 04:39 PM

He's got a 4 yr contract, so unlikely he is 'done'.

WillowbraeHibby
Nearly there by Hanlon...

Hanlon header cleared off the line.

21-02-2015, 04:40 PM
Stevenson and Malonga off for Gray and Boyle.

WillowbraeHibby
21-02-2015, 04:40 PM
Great by the supporters there... giving the lads a good hand when going off... Pleasing. :agree:

21-02-2015, 04:42 PM
Great by the supporters there... giving the lads a good hand when going off... Pleasing. :agree:

I'd have just applauded them.

21-02-2015, 04:43 PM
Another penalty denied. Handball.

WillowbraeHibby
21-02-2015, 04:43 PM
I'd have just applauded them.

Ye ken what I mean.... :wink:

21-02-2015, 04:44 PM
Fyvie MOTM.

21-02-2015, 04:44 PM
Handling off. Duthie on.

21-02-2015, 04:45 PM
2-1 Hearts
1-1 Chelsea

Good thing Stubbs thinks differently

8330 attandance.

21-02-2015, 04:46 PM
Totally over the top. Away and take a deep breath...

Done that thanks and he's still rotten.

When we are full strength he'll be nowhere near.

21-02-2015, 04:46 PM
8330 attandance.
Not that great.

21-02-2015, 04:47 PM
Not that great.

Hibs crowd is probably slightly up on the last game. Dumbarton only have 100ish. No wonder either if this is how they play.

21-02-2015, 04:48 PM

I agree regarding Handling. Just doesn't have it

21-02-2015, 04:50 PM
I agree regarding Handling. Just doesn't have it

Hibs have been excellent btw. Just Danny has not been involved at all.

21-02-2015, 04:50 PM
3-0 full time. could have been more but welcome 3 points.

WillowbraeHibby
21-02-2015, 04:51 PM
Well done the Hibs.... 3 points on the board... :greengrin :flag:

MileHighBees
FT 3-0
Another 3 points
Good goals
Dominant performance
Perfect HTV stream too :greengrin

Should have been 6 or more for Hibs. Good performance though.:flag:

21-02-2015, 04:52 PM

And yet AS left him on until just a few minutes before the end. You have no idea of what to look for.

21-02-2015, 04:52 PM

Yep, I agree with you bud, we've been superb today, a lot of stand outs, but Danny wasn't one of them.....and rarely is, unfortunately.

21-02-2015, 04:55 PM
Something not quite right here. Another weekend with nowt to moan about :greengrin

21-02-2015, 04:56 PM
Well done Hibs, delighted

21-02-2015, 04:56 PM
1 defeat in the last 23 games in a row, outstanding form! We simply just don't do getting beat these days!

WillowbraeHibby
21-02-2015, 04:57 PM
Something not quite right here. Another weekend with nowt to moan about :greengrin

Got to be happy with that JH.. :aok:

21-02-2015, 05:03 PM

Did the Fans leave early?

Was it a cr*p atmosphere?

How were the Pies?

MileHighBees
21-02-2015, 05:06 PM
1 defeat in the last 23 games in a row, outstanding form! We simply just don't do getting beat these days!

We've played 10 league games since that defeat at Falkirk.
7 wins & 3 draws, plus we had the lead in all of those drawn games.
So could have been 10 wins in a row but still really good form as is.

Sioux
21-02-2015, 05:10 PM

Pay attention now:greengrin

Danny Handling's getting slaughtered. Mind you he's not had that for a wee while:wink:

JJP
21-02-2015, 05:11 PM
Not forgetting what league we are in but Alan Stubbs and his team have really made Saturday afternoons a much better time to be a Hibby. I really like this squad he's assembled, just a shame I can't get to more games.

21-02-2015, 05:13 PM
3-0 full time. could have been more but welcome 3 points.

If we were playing the Huns instead of the Sons it would have been.

21-02-2015, 05:14 PM

Wouldn't agree. We've had some truly terrible footballers at ER over the years - far too many in recent years - but in my judgement Danny Handling isn't one of them.

And since he has 4 years of his contract (4 years?) to run, I would imagine that Alan Stubbs must have some sort of plan for him?

Well done the team, anyway, and a wee 'thank you' to Dom and JayJay for the goals.

WillowbraeHibby
21-02-2015, 05:16 PM
Not forgetting what league we are in but Alan Stubbs and his team have really made Saturday afternoons a much better time to be a Hibby. I really like this squad he's assembled, just a shame I can't get to more games.

Going to be very honest here, This squad would hack it in the Premier league I believe. The more they are playing together, the more the understanding is, and it can only get better... The problem is, can Hibs offer contracts to the players we want to keep? I guess time will tell.

Mind you, what a difference it is being confident again in your team... :greengrin

21-02-2015, 05:17 PM
The BBC is saying 66% possession - it looked more to me....

21-02-2015, 05:18 PM
Pay attention now:greengrin

Danny Handling's getting slaughtered. Mind you he's not had that for a wee while:wink:

It's all about succession planning. With Stevenson in his testimonial year, we need to groom somebody for the 'never a footballer/take a bow son' role that he's been fulfilling selflessly for a decade. Handling, already on a four year contract, must to be thinking paranoid moaner's choice.

21-02-2015, 05:18 PM
Going to be very honest here, This squad would hack it in the Premier league I believe. The more they are playing together, the more the understanding is, and it can only get better... The problem is, can Hibs keep them?

Mind you, what a difference it is being confident again in your team... :greengrin
Whether we keep them or not, there is nothing to suggest that AS and his staff won't find more gems to add/replace them....

21-02-2015, 05:21 PM

Speak for yourself, I'm just trying to think of something and I'll be back on later. :-)

21-02-2015, 05:22 PM
It's all about succession planning. With Stevenson in his testimonial year, we need to groom somebody for the 'never a footballer/take a bow son' role that he's been fulfilling selflessly for a decade. Handling, already on a four year contract, must to be thinking paranoid moaner's choice.

Sad but true I am afraid.

It probably happens at most clubs but an element of our support definitely seem to need a whipping boy, having a choice of candidates seems a good option for them.

WillowbraeHibby
21-02-2015, 05:22 PM
Whether we keep them or not, there is nothing to suggest that AS and his staff won't find more gems to add/replace them....

Very true, good comment. :aok:

21-02-2015, 05:24 PM
And yet AS left him on until just a few minutes before the end. You have no idea of what to look for.

Neither do you pal.

There was nobody else to play today. Like i said, when everyone is fit he will be lucky to be in bench.

Don't want to focus on negatives. Watson, fyvie, mcgeoch and Malonga were excellent

21-02-2015, 05:27 PM
Neither do you pal.

There was nobody else to play today. Like i said, when everyone is fit he will be lucky to be in bench.

Don't want to focus on negatives. Watson, fyvie, mcgeoch and Malonga were excellent

Then why bring it up at all then? Pal.

21-02-2015, 05:28 PM
Easy win. Should have scored more.

andrew70
21-02-2015, 05:31 PM
Win 3-0, as comfortable a performance as you could get but yet some of our support come on and slag off one of our finest young players. Unbelievable.

If Danny is that bad why did Stubbs give him a 4 year deal? He's a young intelligent football player who with the proper coaching will go far in the game. It is raw talent just now but he's certainly talented enough to deserve his contract.

Well done Hibs today btw.

21-02-2015, 05:34 PM
Totally dominated that game today, well on top from start to finish and really could have won by a lot more.

I really enjoyed it, we played some great stuff at times today and there wasn't a bad performance in the side.

21-02-2015, 05:38 PM
Neither do you pal.

There was nobody else to play today. Like I said, when everyone is fit he will be lucky to be in bench.

Don't want to focus on negatives. Watson, Fyvie, McGeouch and Malonga were excellent.

Just as well Alan Stubbs kept him on the books, then, isn't it?

Or we'd have had a great big hole in the middle of the team and no one to fill it.

21-02-2015, 05:41 PM
Totally dominated that game today, well on top from start to finish and really could have won by a lot more.

I really enjoyed it, we played some great stuff at times today and there wasn't a bad performance in the side.

Come on matty - there must have been.

You have to work harder at finding fault or you'll never grow up to be a proper moanin git. :greengrin

21-02-2015, 05:50 PM
Just as well Alan Stubbs kept him on the books, then, isn't it?

Or we'd have had a great big hole in the middle of the team and no one to fill it.
Every one of his midfielders score a hat-trick every week on his FIFA video game and Danny isn't living up to that. Don't be too hard on him......... :greengrin

21-02-2015, 05:54 PM
I think we overpassed it at times but can't complain about the performance of the team today. Dumbarton were never at the races and it's one of the easiest Hibs victories I've witnessed in recent years.

:flag: :flag: :flag:

HappyHibby93
21-02-2015, 05:56 PM
Done that thanks and he's still rotten.

When we are full strength he'll be nowhere near.

To be fair, I do agree that he needs to do more. Doesn't play well consistently enough. Just thought you were harsh

21-02-2015, 06:00 PM

A disgusting post from a disgusting poster.

Nomeancity
21-02-2015, 06:06 PM
Really pleased with Watson today thought he was MOTM. Wasn't sure about him after is debut but was really good today.

21-02-2015, 06:15 PM
In terms of entertainment I'd rank that just behind the 4-0 v Rangers this season. An excellent performance.

21-02-2015, 06:18 PM

Away and chase yourself.

I'll post my opinion and I think by the rules of a forum I'm entitled to do that.

'Disgusting?' Have a word with yourself. To try and put it simply, I would like hibs to grow and become a great club again. Sadly, I don't think Danny has what it takes to make it at a high level. He just didn't do enough today or any day for that matter.

Maybe my original post was a tad harsh. In my opinion Danny was the standout poor player today in an otherwise professional performance today and that only goes to show how far we've come.

To go back though, disgusting? Give it a rest. I'm not that bad looking!!!

21-02-2015, 06:18 PM
Away and chase yourself.

I'll post my opinion and I think by the rules of a forum I'm entitled to do that.

'Disgusting?' Have a word with yourself. To try and put it simply, I would like hibs to grow and become a great club again. Sadly, I don't think Danny has what it takes to make it at a high level. He just didn't do enough today or any day for that matter.

Maybe my original post was a tad harsh. In my opinion Danny was the standout poor player today in an otherwise professional performance today and that only goes to show how far we've come.

Capt Mainwaring
21-02-2015, 06:19 PM
Very impressive performance today - totally dominant from first to last. Good passing and build up play against a team that were only interested in keeping the score down.

Terrific performances from Watson, Fontaine, McGeough, Fyvie but overall good team play with the Strikers tucking their goals away well.

Referee wasn't for giving any penalties today was he?!? The trip on Watson was a stonewaller!

21-02-2015, 06:22 PM
Away and chase yourself.

Then you won't mind me saying that I think you're a complete balloon.

21-02-2015, 06:24 PM
:thumbsup: :greengrin

21-02-2015, 06:36 PM
Haven't seen such a one sided match at ER for a while. Dumbarton have got to be one of the worse teams I've seen for a while, Arbroath a fortnight ago were much better. Just had a look at the stats on the bbc website

Possession
Hibs 66%
Shots/ On target
Hibs 21/9. Dumbarton 2/1
Corners
Hibs 10 Dumbarton 1

21-02-2015, 06:37 PM
One of the most one sided games I've seen for quite a while. How was it only 3-0? Dumbarton were woeful, and were not interested in making a game of it. They were only trying to keep the score down.

Hibs done what was required - a clean sheet (Oxley hardly touched the ball all game), 3 goals and 3 points so all is well there.

Match stats:
Possession 66/34
Shots 21/2 (lol)
On target 9/1
Corners 10/1

21-02-2015, 06:42 PM

Snap.

21-02-2015, 06:49 PM
the possession stats for the 2nd half would be interesting reading, i think dumbarton were in our half just 4 or 5 times, they obviously came to keep the score down and they more or less achieved that, remember how much they frustrated us with they tactics back in october (0-0) at least we got the goals today that our play deserved

21-02-2015, 06:55 PM
Should have doubled the score, nice easy game. Roll on next week.

21-02-2015, 07:18 PM

A bit harsh, that one.

His views may be one I don't agree with, but your post is a bit harsh.

Think we all need to chill, take it easy.

We won against a poor side, but we did the business. Our players played well for most of the game, they all did. But, if a player did a few things wrong it was Handling. He did a lot of good things, but he also had a few poor passes, then reverted into the 'Liam Craig' "I'll do the easy 3 yard pass" thing. NorthNorfolkHFC maybe extreme in his views, but he is just pointing out that Handling was the poorest Hibs player on show.

Handling is still young. He needs games. If he doesn't improve under Stubbs, he'll never do it. Now is the time for Danny Handling to step up to the plate and show us what he is made of.

21-02-2015, 07:20 PM
How good were Fyvie, McGeoch and Watson today? Very impressed by all three. It would be great if we could get them signed for next season.

21-02-2015, 07:24 PM
took me 30 mins to realise it was fyfie and not scott allan :embarrass

21-02-2015, 07:27 PM
took me 30 mins to realise it was fyfie and not scott allan :embarrass

http://www.skibbereeneagle.ie/web/wp-content/uploads/blogger/-mrkCe2I7q2g/TZuoPQXiPNI/AAAAAAAAMkc/lOoqCsLT_qE/s400/Shepherds.jpg

21-02-2015, 07:29 PM
A bit harsh, that one.

His views may be one I don't agree with, but your post is a bit harsh.

Think we all need to chill, take it easy.

We won against a poor side, but we did the business. Our players played well for most of the game, they all did. But, if a player did a few things wrong it was Handling. He did a lot of good things, but he also had a few poor passes, then reverted into the 'Liam Craig' "I'll do the easy 3 yard pass" thing. NorthNorfolkHFC maybe extreme in his views, but he is just pointing out that Handling was the poorest Hibs player on show.

Handling is still young. He needs games. If he doesn't improve under Stubbs, he'll never do it. Now is the time for Danny Handling to step up to the plate and show us what he is made of.

This is what was said... "Danny Handings time at hibs is done, a truly terrible footballer."

Its garbage, its not an opinion is utter garbage from someone who refuses to accept what a player like that gives to the team. He had two poor passes today...he retained the ball, he tracked back and made excellent tackles. He's not there to bang in a dozen goals.
Simply put if he was playing poorly he'd have been taken off. Dylan could have played behind the strikers no problem. Or we could easily have went 433 and played boyle up with the strikers. But Stubbs thought Handling was best to play and best to continue for most of the match.....

No I'm sure this guy is right "Danny Handings time at hibs is done, a truly terrible footballer." :rolleyes:

21-02-2015, 07:35 PM
This is what was said... "Danny Handings time at hibs is done, a truly terrible footballer."

Its garbage, its not an opinion is utter garbage from someone who refuses to accept what a player like that gives to the team. He had two poor passes today...he retained the ball, he tracked back and made excellent tackles. He's not there to bang in a dozen goals.
Simply put if he was playing poorly he'd have been taken off. Dylan could have played behind the strikers no problem. Or we could easily have went 433 and played boyle up with the strikers. But Stubbs thought Handling was best to play and best to continue for most of the match.....

No I'm sure this guy is right "Danny Handings time at hibs is done, a truly terrible footballer." :rolleyes:

Yes...........he might have an opinion that we both don't agree with, but "disgusting"!!!!

Isn't that a bit OTT:dunno:

21-02-2015, 07:35 PM
Mon the Hibs

21-02-2015, 07:38 PM

So what is handling there to do? His passing isnt great, his tackling isnt great and he very rarely scores. I wouldnt say he is a terrible player but he isnt really that good. But as long as he is playing then ill back him on the day but these are the places for folk to have an opinion and you were a bit out of order with your reply to the poster

21-02-2015, 07:48 PM
A very good performance from Hibs. Apart from a decent spell at the start of the match Dumbarton were woeful and I would go as far as to say a bloody disgrace in the second half where they made no attempt to get something from the game.

Hibs poked and prodded really well against a 10 man defence I thought, and were unlucky not to score more. The handball with about 10 minutes to go was as clear a penalty as you will ever see and no question of accidental hand ball. I know the ref saw it and I'm convinced didn't give it because Dumbarton were already 3 down, that's not a decision which is in his gift and he should be hammered for it !!!

The crowd was very flat today, but in all honesty with 100 away fans in the ground and a match which was practically Hibs shooting in for 75 minutes its hardly a surprise.

21-02-2015, 08:00 PM
Enjoyed the game today . 3 nil going on 6 or 7 .
How the first pen wasnt giving , ill never know .

21-02-2015, 09:03 PM
So what is handling there to do? His passing isnt great, his tackling isnt great and he very rarely scores. I wouldnt say he is a terrible player but he isnt really that good. But as long as he is playing then ill back him on the day but these are the places for folk to have an opinion and you were a bit out of order with your reply to the poster

Just for the record I supported 'the team' 100% today.

I never shouted abuse at Danny but he gave away countless passes and failed to retain possession. My thoughts are he just isn't good enough, he has little pace, his positioning is poor, no desire to get in box and is unwilling to take a man on.

Compare him to Dylan mcgeouh. He is all action, desire to go forward and always retains possesion plus he beats his man regularly.

As a hibs fan it only highlights the way we are heading as a club that guys like Danny handling aren't playing as regularly.

21-02-2015, 09:19 PM
Just watching Malonga today. He reminds me of Steve Archibald, looks disinterested then comes up with a jaw dropper. Fully paid up member of the lazy strikers club.

James Collins all action no goals, Malonga, languid loads of goals.

Great value for money.

21-02-2015, 09:49 PM
Just watching Malonga today. He reminds me of Steve Archibald, looks disinterested then comes up with a jaw dropper. Fully paid up member of the lazy strikers club.

James Collins all action no goals, Malonga, languid loads of goals.

Great value for money.
Not defending James Collins but he can hardly be compared to Malonga given the service he was getting last year. It's night and day....

Twiglet
21-02-2015, 10:19 PM
Just watched the post match interview with Stubbs. Apparently Allan out all week with a chest infection, should be back for next week hopefully. It's the worst chest infection ever though, which needed lots of cuddles and sympathy from his team mates (paraphrasing Stubbs :tee hee:)

21-02-2015, 10:59 PM
Just watched the post match interview with Stubbs. Apparently Allan out all week with a chest infection, should be back for next week hopefully. It's the worst chest infection ever though, which needed lots of cuddles and sympathy from his team mates (paraphrasing Stubbs :tee hee:)

Saw that :greengrin

21-02-2015, 11:55 PM
Saw that :greengrinaw, shame. maybe an aulder woman's touch required ? :greengrin

22-02-2015, 12:21 AM
Just for the record I supported 'the team' 100% today.

I never shouted abuse at Danny but he gave away countless passes and failed to retain possession. My thoughts are he just isn't good enough, he has little pace, his positioning is poor, no desire to get in box and is unwilling to take a man on.

Compare him to Dylan mcgeouh. He is all action, desire to go forward and always retains possesion plus he beats his man regularly.

As a hibs fan it only highlights the way we are heading as a club that guys like Danny handling aren't playing as regularly.

I wasn't at the game today - not unsurprisingly. And i'm glad you didn't boo Handling. But the rest of your post is bollocks. I've seen Handling play live and on TV on numerous occasions and your description of him makes absolutely no sense to how I've seen him perform.

Instead of saying " he gave away countless passes and failed to retain possession. My thoughts are he just isn't good enough, he has little pace, his positioning is poor, no desire to get in box and is unwilling to take a man on."
Why not say "in my view today he gave away possession, showed little pace, desire and didn't take the man on - unlike at Ibrox where he was man of the match - but if he is to compete with Stubb's signings he's going to have to up his game" You can make the same points if Handling didn't play particularly well today, without making it personal. It's the difference between telling the kids 'you are wrong' and 'you have done wrong'.

I would have thought anyone who saw how we collapsed last season - due to confidence - might have taken a leaf out of Stubb's book in trying to boost performance by focussing on what we do right rather than what we do wrong. And given we won three zip (going on six apparently) slagging off 9% of the team is frankly churlish.

22-02-2015, 12:37 AM
I wasn't at the game today - not unsurprisingly. And i'm glad you didn't boo Handling. But the rest of your post is bollocks. I've seen Handling play live and on TV on numerous occasions and your description of him makes absolutely no sense to how I've seen him perform.

Instead of saying " he gave away countless passes and failed to retain possession. My thoughts are he just isn't good enough, he has little pace, his positioning is poor, no desire to get in box and is unwilling to take a man on."
Why not say "in my view today he gave away possession, showed little pace, desire and didn't take the man on - unlike at Ibrox where he was man of the match - but if he is to compete with Stubb's signings he's going to have to up his game" You can make the same points if Handling didn't play particularly well today, without making it personal. It's the difference between telling the kids 'you are wrong' and 'you have done wrong'.

I would have thought anyone who saw how we collapsed last season - due to confidence - might have taken a leaf out of Stubb's book in trying to boost performance by focussing on what we do right rather than what we do wrong. And given we won three zip (going on six apparently) slagging off 9% of the team is frankly churlish.

Those at the game that said that sadly are lying......he gave the ball away I'd say 3 times........rest of the time he played simple passes, now and again was direct, had 3 shots off target..........actually had a great tackle when they broke from our set piece and won the ball (helped to feet by Fontaine and praised)........fans see what they want to see......he did not play badly at all, but could have played better !

22-02-2015, 01:56 AM
Not defending James Collins but he can hardly be compared to Malonga given the service he was getting last year. It's night and day....

It would be very interesting to see Collins in this team. He was very hard working, but dropped deep and wide a LOT to try and get in the game, meaning he wasn't in the box when required. Yes he missed a few sitters, but so has Malonga (who I'm a huge fan of)

22-02-2015, 02:00 AM
It would be very interesting to see Collins in this team. He was very hard working, but dropped deep and wide a LOT to try and get in the game, meaning he wasn't in the box when required. Yes he missed a few sitters, but so has Malonga (who I'm a huge fan of)

Collins was pish. End of.

22-02-2015, 02:29 AM

And there's the pish opinion of the evening.

I don't imagine you said that when he swivelled to put us in front of Hearts on New Year's day 2014.

Butcher was appropriately named - and he destroyed the confidence of the entire squad (who were decent under Fenlon and those that remain better under Stubbs) - but yes a 21 year old who scored 7 goals in not many more games is pish 'end of'. And the fact he's banging them in again this season suggests you're pish. End of.

22-02-2015, 02:30 AM
Hard to argue with such an intellectual evaluation. :rolleyes:

22-02-2015, 02:33 AM
And there's the pish opinion of the evening.

I don't imagine you said that when he swivelled to put us in front of Hearts on New Year's day 2014.

Butcher was appropriately named - and he destroyed the confidence of the entire squad (who were decent under Fenlon and those that remain better under Stubbs) - but yes a 21 year old who scored 7 goals in not many more games is pish 'end of'. And the fact he's banging them in again this season suggests you're pish. End of.
I assume you were cheering when he missed open goals in the other derbies?

22-02-2015, 02:35 AM

This. Collins was ****ing terrible.

22-02-2015, 02:46 AM
I assume you were cheering when he missed open goals in the other derbies?

Nope. But there you go again. It's Collins is pish. Someone comes along and points out he might not have been by producing evidence eg a goal (the strikers' currency). You then suggest I might like my Hibs forwards to miss.

Collins wasn't great for Hibs - but there was a player in there (as Shrewsbury are finding out). Butcher ruined him (like many others in the team) because he had an atitude like yours which was to abuse people when they got it wrong and not recognise any positives.

So given Collins is away - who's your current scapegoat?

22-02-2015, 02:56 AM
Nope. But there you go again. It's Collins is pish. Someone comes along and points out he might not have been by producing evidence eg a goal (the strikers' currency). You then suggest I might like my Hibs forwards to miss.

Collins wasn't great for Hibs - but there was a player in there (as Shrewsbury are finding out). Butcher ruined him (like many others in the team) because he had an atitude like yours which was to abuse people when they got it wrong and not recognise any positives.

So given Collins is away - who's your current scapegoat?
The same team Scott vernon plays for, no bother!!
No current scapegoat, I enjoy watching this team, a change having skill and ability instead of being a "workhorse"

22-02-2015, 03:45 AM
I love Malonga he's a big lovable guy that can score goals and give Handling a break he's a Hibs player and were all Hibs fans. Another win closer to promotion. I love Hibs

22-02-2015, 07:15 AM
Those at the game that said that sadly are lying......he gave the ball away I'd say 3 times........rest of the time he played simple passes, now and again was direct, had 3 shots off target..........actually had a great tackle when they broke from our set piece and won the ball (helped to feet by Fontaine and praised)........fans see what they want to see......he did not play badly at all, but could have played better !
100% correct.

22-02-2015, 12:12 PM
aw, shame. maybe an aulder woman's touch required ? :greengrin

:grr: :greengrin

22-02-2015, 01:05 PM
http://www.skibbereeneagle.ie/web/wp-content/uploads/blogger/-mrkCe2I7q2g/TZuoPQXiPNI/AAAAAAAAMkc/lOoqCsLT_qE/s400/Shepherds.jpg

any offers for the UNDER 60's :wink: and besides, i'm not the only one on here that thought it was Allan playing :) Fyfie is an Allan clone i'm sure of it

22-02-2015, 04:44 PM

A fair point, but Malonga actually makes things happen when he has the ball. Collins used to watch the ball bounce off him and then go chasing after it.

22-02-2015, 05:04 PM

Just lying? Yes, your correct.

What possible reason would I have for making up something untrue.

I don't dislike Danny as a guy as frankly, I don't know him. All I can do is judge him on what my opinions are of a particular standard.

If you were to name your first pick eleven, would Danny start?

22-02-2015, 09:08 PM
off topic a tad:greengrin but when did the Albion bar get turned in to a wee mini food store :dunno:, normally go via st.clair st but took a wee detour yesterday and noticed it...sad to see the closest boozer to ER fade away for ever :(

22-02-2015, 09:12 PM
off topic a tad:greengrin but when did the Albion bar get turned in to a wee mini food store :dunno:, normally go via st.clair st but took a wee detour yesterday and noticed it...sad to see the closest boozer to ER fade away for ever :(

I was suprised to see this as well :agree: :greengrin Mind you, the pub's been shut for ages.

22-02-2015, 09:24 PM
I was suprised to see this as well :agree: :greengrin Mind you, the pub's been shut for ages.

then re-opened, then closed, then re-opened, then closed etc etc :(

KSA Hibee
23-02-2015, 12:29 PM
interesting to see others opinions on Collins ... apart from trying to win a header, jump, trap a ball or win a tackle he has a great 2nd touch ... but then again he was in the same team as Vine so is bound to look a player :wink:

andrew70
23-02-2015, 09:56 PM
http://www.scotzine.com/2015/02/hard-work-is-paying-off-for-hibees/