View Full Version : Movies you loved as a kid...

18-02-2015, 10:03 PM
What was everyones favourite movie when they were growing up??
Im gonna go for a real cheese fest of a film which I loved and is still fantastic today.....

FLASH GORDON!!! Starring Sam Jones and Max Von Sydow. :thumbsup:

18-02-2015, 10:16 PM
The goonies.

19-02-2015, 12:16 AM
Back to the future.

Mind-blowing at the time:thumbsup:

19-02-2015, 12:43 AM
Terminator.

19-02-2015, 06:57 AM
Anything from Laurel and Hardy. Was gob smacked the other day when the subject came up at work and a couple of younger colleagues had never heard of them.

19-02-2015, 07:42 AM
Anything from Laurel and Hardy. Was gob smacked the other day when the subject came up at work and a couple of younger colleagues had never heard of them.

Bob Monkhouse used to have a show presenting all the silent movie greats, used to love watching them -
I've always hated the German name for Laurel and Hardy: Dick & Doof, it's so crass...

My favourite movies as a child: Dr Who and the Daleks / Invasion Earth - The Italian Job - Connery's Bond movies ....

19-02-2015, 07:57 AM
As a young teenager, I loved Animal House, Life of Brian and the Blues Brothers.

I preferred Abbott and Costello to Laurel and Hardy. Jerry Lewis and Dean Martin were a great double act too.

19-02-2015, 07:58 AM
Chitty chitty

Willy Wonka

Star Wars

19-02-2015, 08:05 AM
It was all about Star Wars for me.

19-02-2015, 08:12 AM
Cannae be arsed checking the chronological order

Watership Down
Bugsy Malone
Star Wars trilogy
Jaws
WW2 Epics

and on TV

Space 1999
Flash Gordon (original show)

19-02-2015, 08:20 AM
Bob Monkhouse used to have a show presenting all the silent movie greats, used to love watching them -
I've always hated the German name for Laurel and Hardy: Dick & Doof, it's so crass...

My favourite movies as a child: Dr Who and the Daleks / Invasion Earth - The Italian Job - Connery's Bond movies ....

Aye I know, it's typical German, says what it is.

19-02-2015, 08:43 AM
Hook for me - used to watch it religiously at weekends and it's where my love of Robin Williams came from! :agree:

19-02-2015, 08:43 AM
Santa clause the movie(dudley moore version), the goonies, grease! Top gun

speedy_gonzales
19-02-2015, 09:27 AM
As a kid I loved the 1930's/40's Charlie Chan series of movies that was shown on BBC2 during the school holidays,,,the honourable chinese detective and his bumbling son that,,,classic!

19-02-2015, 09:42 AM

Watership Down
Bugsy Malone
Star Wars trilogy
Jaws
WW2 Epics

and on TV

Space 1999

if you're going for TV then the one that sticks out for me was Buck Rogers with Gil Gerard and Erin Gray!! The original Star Trek series, Land of the Giants and one I never admitted to watching but loved...... The Waltons!!

19-02-2015, 10:19 AM

Watership Down
Bugsy Malone
Star Wars trilogy
Jaws
WW2 Epics

and on TV

Space 1999

Oh aye, Battle of the Planets as well.

19-02-2015, 10:31 AM
Flickin through the telly box for the weekend and just spied that Ch5 are having an 80's Movie marathon on Sunday! And am working... :rolleyes:. Starts at 1pm with Innerspace starring Dennis Quaid (my claim to fame being I caddied for him at Muirfield in the mid 90's!!) Then it's Stand By Me at 3.20pm, an absolute classic of a film! 4.55pm it's onto Honey I Shrunk The Kids.... Loving it!! Followed at 6.45 by Wargames, (will be honest and say I've not seen it.) Top Gun at 9pm!! "Talk to me Goose." And last but not least Young Guns at 11.15pm. Think the only one I would change is Wargames for Bill and Teds Excellent Adventure and I'd be in heaven!!! If I wasn't working till 5.30!!

Stranraer
19-02-2015, 11:42 AM
MATILDA :greengrin

19-02-2015, 11:58 AM
The ones that come to mind are:

The Goonies
Neverending Story
Batteries Not Included
Honey I Shrunk the Kids
Turner and Hooch
Innerspace
Home Alone 1 & 2
Ferris Buellers Day Off
Raiders of the Lost Ark
Stand By Me
Labyrinth
Mrs Doubtfire
Back to the Future 1, 2 & 3
The Witches
Ghostbusters 1 & 2
Flight of the Navigator
War Games
Beetlejuice

Then latterly anything with Arnie in it (Total Recall, Predator etc) and Bruce Willis (Die Hard!). I'll think of dozens more later!

19-02-2015, 12:07 PM
Toy Story. One of the greatest movies ever made.

19-02-2015, 12:19 PM
I'm gonna add....

ET
The Lost Boys
Aliens
The Karate Kid
Beverly Hills Cop

Stranraer
19-02-2015, 12:23 PM
Ace Ventura: when nature calls. I had it on VHS.

19-02-2015, 01:06 PM
Goonies
Beavis and butthead do America haha
toy story
men in black
drop dead fred
all the herbie movies
flipper
and I will need to say the king and I, as it was that or sound of music at my grannys every weekend

19-02-2015, 01:07 PM
Flickin through the telly box for the weekend and just spied that Ch5 are having an 80's Movie marathon on Sunday! And am working... :rolleyes:. Starts at 1pm with Innerspace starring Dennis Quaid (my claim to fame being I caddied for him at Muirfield in the mid 90's!!) Then it's Stand By Me at 3.20pm, an absolute classic of a film! 4.55pm it's onto Honey I Shrunk The Kids.... Loving it!! Followed at 6.45 by Wargames, (will be honest and say I've not seen it.) Top Gun at 9pm!! "Talk to me Goose." And last but not least Young Guns at 11.15pm. Think the only one I would change is Wargames for Bill and Teds Excellent Adventure and I'd be in heaven!!! If I wasn't working till 5.30!!

Wargames is a great film

patch1875
19-02-2015, 01:07 PM
The Poseidon Adventure

19-02-2015, 03:47 PM
Just remembered, Weird Science! Classic, especially the bit at the end with the motorbike gang :greengrin

The Laurel and Hardy short "Towed in a Hole" is probably the best piece of television and acting I've ever seen:

Stanley (http://www.hibs.net/name/nm0491048/?ref_=tt_trv_qu): You know, Ollie, I been thinkin'! Oliver (http://www.hibs.net/name/nm0001316/?ref_=tt_trv_qu): What about?
Stanley (http://www.hibs.net/name/nm0491048/?ref_=tt_trv_qu): Well, if we caught our own fish, then we wouldn't have to pay for it and whoever we sold it to, it would be clear profit.
Oliver (http://www.hibs.net/name/nm0001316/?ref_=tt_trv_qu): Tell me that again!
Stanley (http://www.hibs.net/name/nm0491048/?ref_=tt_trv_qu): Well, if we caught our own fish, then the people we sold it to wouldn't have to pay for it, the profit would go to the fish...
Oliver (http://www.hibs.net/name/nm0001316/?ref_=tt_trv_qu): That's a pretty smart thought!

:not worth

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=koNQJ3iMTf0

Matty_Jack04
19-02-2015, 05:01 PM
Just remembered, Weird Science! Classic, especially the bit at the end with the motorbike gang :greengrin

The Laurel and Hardy short "Towed in a Hole" is probably the best piece of television and acting I've ever seen:

Stanley (http://www.hibs.net/name/nm0491048/?ref_=tt_trv_qu): You know, Ollie, I been thinkin'! Oliver (http://www.hibs.net/name/nm0001316/?ref_=tt_trv_qu): What about?
Stanley (http://www.hibs.net/name/nm0491048/?ref_=tt_trv_qu): Well, if we caught our own fish, then we wouldn't have to pay for it and whoever we sold it to, it would be clear profit.
Oliver (http://www.hibs.net/name/nm0001316/?ref_=tt_trv_qu): Tell me that again!
Stanley (http://www.hibs.net/name/nm0491048/?ref_=tt_trv_qu): Well, if we caught our own fish, then the people we sold it to wouldn't have to pay for it, the profit would go to the fish...
Oliver (http://www.hibs.net/name/nm0001316/?ref_=tt_trv_qu): That's a pretty smart thought!

My old boy absolutely loves laurel & hardy used to sit and watch them dailly as a kid, classic comedy and a talented duo...still to this day if it's fish for tea the big man can be heard making a honking noise shouting "Fresh Fiiish"

19-02-2015, 05:11 PM
My old boy absolutely loves laurel & hardy used to sit and watch them dailly as a kid, classic comedy and a talented duo...still to this day if it's fish for tea the big man can be heard making a honking noise shouting "Fresh Fiiish"

:greengrin Brilliant, I do the same!!!

19-02-2015, 05:24 PM
Star Wars

Back to the Future

ET

Jaws

Indiana Jones

19-02-2015, 09:02 PM
Mines was the video I phoned in my dads wardrobe when I was looking for Christmas presents:wink:

19-02-2015, 09:12 PM
Ace Ventura, absolutely loved it and to this day i still say "aaaalrighty then" to people :greengrin

20-02-2015, 11:40 AM

Though born in Ulverston (Cumbria), Stan Laurel grew up in Glasgow and went to school in Rutherglen.

20-02-2015, 11:44 AM
Grease :greengrin

20-02-2015, 11:51 AM
Home Alone 1 & 2.... Still love them.

20-02-2015, 11:57 AM
Old Yeller
Peter Pan

20-02-2015, 11:58 AM
Weekend at Bernie's
Caddyshack
Preditor
True Lies
Under Seige
Transformers Cartoon Movie
Ferris Beuller's Day off
Cool Runnings
Major League
The Mighty Ducks
Space Jam
Who framed Radger Rabbit

I could on forever.

20-02-2015, 02:00 PM
Anyone else used to watch the silent Harold Lloyd movies at 5pm on BBC2 in the late 70swhen they got back from school? Loved em, Lloyd hanging from a clockface, dodging trains, rescuing beautiful women from drowning? Brilliant.

20-02-2015, 03:20 PM
Lots of good ones there but the Princess Bride hasn't been mentioned yet, inconceivable!!

20-02-2015, 07:00 PM
Lots of good ones there but the Princess Bride hasn't been mentioned yet, inconceivable!!

Christ I forgot about that. I think I was 16 when I first saw it. One of the few genuinely 'all ages' films.

20-02-2015, 11:19 PM
Anyone else used to watch the silent Harold Lloyd movies at 5pm on BBC2 in the late 70swhen they got back from school? Loved em, Lloyd hanging from a clockface, dodging trains, rescuing beautiful women from drowning? Brilliant.

Yep!!! Think it was on after Grange Hill... Another brilliant kids show. Harold Lloyd was just brilliant. An absolute genius like San and Ollie.... :thumbsup:

SmithyHibee
21-02-2015, 12:03 AM
Karate Kid
Gremlins

21-02-2015, 12:07 AM
Mines was the video I phoned in my dads wardrobe when I was looking for Christmas presents:wink:

Sounds familiar. What was the name of it again?

Mixu62
21-02-2015, 04:48 AM
Indiana Jones trilogy, dragnet with Tom Hanks and Dan Ackroyd, star trek movies (wrath of khan springs to mind)

21-02-2015, 07:41 AM
Muppets Christmas Carol

21-02-2015, 09:53 AM
Muppets Christmas Carol

Good shout.

Still watch it 1st weekend in December every year as a ritual.

21-02-2015, 06:22 PM
The Red Balloon. The Magnificent Seven. 101 Dalmatians.

Loopz
24-02-2015, 11:36 PM
Tron. We used to get the bus from Wester Hailes to Portobello to play the arcade game. :greengrin

Mixu62
25-02-2015, 05:41 AM
Remembered another couple.
Guns of navarone
Butch cassidy and the sundance kid. (Auto correct wanted to change that to Sudanese kid. That would have been a very different movie)

25-02-2015, 09:31 AM
Ok. Let's ramp this up a bit!! Kinda on the same theme but growing up what was your favourite theme tune to a show you watched?? Here's a few of mine.... Been on you tube for an hour as you forget so many!!

Grange Hill
diff'rent strokes
The Littlest Hobo

there are hundreds more but better leave some for others!! :greengrin

25-02-2015, 09:37 AM
Ok. Let's ramp this up a bit!! Kinda on the same theme but growing up what was your favourite theme tune to a show you watched?? Here's a few of mine.... Been on you tube for an hour as you forget so many!!

Grange Hill
diff'rent strokes
The Littlest Hobo

Banana Splits
The Monkees

25-02-2015, 09:38 AM
Classic

http://youtu.be/7pvnAVcRwYY

25-02-2015, 09:49 AM
Classic

http://youtu.be/7pvnAVcRwYY

:faf::faf::faf:.... Talk about stereotyping the fat kid!! Naming him Doughnut!!

25-02-2015, 09:55 AM

That was my nickname when I were a lad - I certainly wasn't fat then, but I think it must have subliminally shaped my future!

25-02-2015, 09:55 AM

Political correctness hadn't been invented :greengrin

25-02-2015, 11:40 AM

Grange Hill
diff'rent strokes
The Littlest Hobo

I do like The Littlest Hobo theme, but for me

Duck Tales - best by a mile, great song, love it.

Honourable mentions to The Family Ness, Penny Crayon and Charlie Chalk.

25-02-2015, 11:41 AM
Any western.

25-02-2015, 11:54 AM
Any western.

Come on Scouse.... Get in the spirit and narrow it down a wee bit eh?!!! :greengrin

25-02-2015, 12:44 PM
Or the Magpie theme?

One for sorrow
Two for Joy
Three for a girl
and 4 for a boy

Ma-a-a-agpieieieieieieieee..

Most depressing had to be Monday night, 8:30, Hammond organ ...

World in Action.

25-02-2015, 02:23 PM
Come on Scouse.... Get in the spirit and narrow it down a wee bit eh?!!! :greengrin

Okay fair enough, any western that involved a gun fight.
I used to practice my draw in front of the mirror, lightning fast I was :-)

25-02-2015, 02:29 PM
Pardon my Genie with Roy Barraclough and the magic watering can.

25-02-2015, 05:45 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b8wFBUF1ZWY

what! no Top Gun?

Wargames, the princess bride.

25-02-2015, 11:59 PM
Jossie's Giants had a great theme tune.

Films - all about Star Wars and Indiana Jones for me, then Ghostbusters, Back to the Future, Karate Kid, Gremlins, Terminator, Alien(s), The Lost Boys, Ferris Beuller, the Last Starfighter, some of the Arnie films like Commando or the JCVD ones like Kickboxer were good when I was too wee to know they were bad!!

26-02-2015, 12:00 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b8wFBUF1ZWY

what! no Top Gun?

Wargames, the princess bride.

wargames was class.

Forgot about the Superman films as well. Ace!

Barman Stanton
26-02-2015, 08:10 AM
Most mentioned already:

Goonies
Ferris Bueller
Star Wars trilogy
Indiana Jones trilogy
Karate Kid
Rocky (first 4)
Rollerball
Stand by Me
Scrooged
Holly Grail

Still love them all now as well.

26-02-2015, 08:16 AM

Films - all about Star Wars and Indiana Jones for me, then Ghostbusters, Back to the Future, Karate Kid, Gremlins, Terminator, Alien(s), The Lost Boys, Ferris Beuller, the Last Starfighter, some of the Arnie films like Commando or the JCVD ones like Kickboxer were good when I was too wee to know they were bad!!

Back to the Future trilogy is still a favourite even though I wasn't a kid when they were first released.

26-02-2015, 09:18 AM
Back to the Future trilogy is still a favourite even though I wasn't a kid when they were first released.

I watched the trilogy for the first time a few weeks ago and really enjoyed it. The second one they went to 2015! :greengrin

26-02-2015, 09:38 AM

Grange Hill
diff'rent strokes
The Littlest Hobo

Grange Hill was the mutt's, also on my childhood must see TV would be:

Randall and Hopkirk
The Goodies
The Young Ones

26-02-2015, 01:19 PM

Jesus!!! Cannae believe I forgot that one!!! Been trying to hunt down a copy on DVD but can never get it. Absolute fantastic film... :thumbsup:

over the line
26-02-2015, 11:09 PM
Convoy.

10/4 good buddies, catch you on the flip side!

I became obsessed with trucks and CB radio for about 2 years after watching Convoy. Who remembers saying 10/4 for a "coffee" (instead of 10/4 for a copy), then when someone replied you'd say, milk and two sugars please. Hilarious when you were 10!

27-02-2015, 08:18 AM
When I was around 10 or so, me and my mum used to watch all the Norman Wisdom movies, loved them all.
I have memories of going with the school to see Bednobbs and broomsticks as well

bobbyhibs1983
03-03-2015, 09:07 AM
Convoy.

10/4 good buddies, catch you on the flip side!

I became obsessed with trucks and CB radio for about 2 years after watching Convoy. Who remembers saying 10/4 for a "coffee" (instead of 10/4 for a copy), then when someone replied you'd say, milk and two sugars please. Hilarious when you were 10!

On a similar note noone i dont think has mentioned smokey and the bandit(first 2 movies for me) was a couple of fav movies for me, though i recall watching them as a kid, and still love the films today !!
As a kid i used to love the ninja turtles(the cartoons) and loved the couple of films that came out.
I agree with some of the posters so far with there surggestions though!

03-03-2015, 09:19 PM
On a similar note noone i dont think has mentioned smokey and the bandit(first 2 movies for me) was a couple of fav movies for me, though i recall watching them as a kid, and still love the films today !!
As a kid i used to love the ninja turtles(the cartoons) and loved the couple of films that came out.

The Cannonball run was a brilliant film as well :thumbsup:

patch1875
04-03-2015, 10:43 AM
The Adventure Game

Stranraer
04-03-2015, 03:06 PM
The Ace Ventura line with the helicopter "you know, you could poke someone's eye out with that thing" still cracks me up.

05-03-2015, 10:13 AM
The Adventure Game

Was that the one with the big lizard thing?!

05-03-2015, 10:53 AM
Cannae believe nobody's mentioned The Champ. Such a tearjerker. :greengrin

05-03-2015, 11:16 AM

The BIGGEST tearjerker of them all :agree:

... 'An American Tail' for me though :greengrin

patch1875
05-03-2015, 02:34 PM
Was that the one with the big lizard thing?!

That's the one! Sure they used to change into other things though, remember a talking plant.

Very weird

05-03-2015, 05:41 PM
Wizard of Oz anybody?

over the line
05-03-2015, 08:50 PM

If anybody didn't cry at that one, they are a robot! :)

over the line
05-03-2015, 08:52 PM
The Adventure Game

Wasn't that a weird game show type thing, with quivering plants and lizards? :confused:

over the line
05-03-2015, 08:54 PM

Yes Smokey and the bandit was cool too. I would still love to have a black and gold trans am!

05-03-2015, 09:00 PM

Watership Down
Bugsy Malone
Star Wars trilogy
Jaws
WW2 Epics

and on TV

Space 1999

Traumatising for the kids of today. General woundworth would frighten the life out of them. :greengrin

05-03-2015, 09:02 PM
Indiana Jones. Raiders of the lost ark. Just a brilliant film.

05-03-2015, 09:28 PM
Brewster's Millions

over the line
05-03-2015, 09:53 PM
Brewster's Millions

I watched it on Sky about a month ago. Still a great film! :)

You still occasionally hear some people using the phrase "brewstered", meaning flush for cash, or rich. :)

over the line
05-03-2015, 09:59 PM
Trading Places.

One scene in particular made a huge impact on me as a 13 year old boy! I think you all know which scene!?!?!? :eek::)

over the line
05-03-2015, 10:01 PM
Indiana Jones. Raiders of the lost ark. Just a brilliant film.

Great film, although I preferred the temple of doom. Um num Shiva! :)

05-03-2015, 10:03 PM
Trading Places.

One scene in particular made a huge impact on me as a 13 year old boy! I think you all know which scene!?!?!? :eek::)

Jamie Lee with her bristols out?

over the line
05-03-2015, 10:16 PM
Jamie Lee with her bristols out?

Oh yes!!! ;)

06-03-2015, 06:36 AM
Wizard of Oz anybody?

I like it more now than I did when I was a Kid.

06-03-2015, 07:17 AM
I like it more now than I did when I was a Kid.

It's come back to haunt me, most of my work colleagues spent their adolescence wishing they were Dorothy!

06-03-2015, 08:48 AM
It's come back to haunt me, most of my work colleagues spent their adolescence wishing they were Dorothy!

Do you work in Planet Out? :-o

06-03-2015, 12:37 PM
Great film, although I preferred the temple of doom. Um num Shiva! :)

nah, it's just that wifey screaming through the film. Last crusade is quality as well.

06-03-2015, 12:40 PM
Brewster's Millions

Mackennas gold
von ryans express. On most Xmases
the great escape.
Hamburger hill.

lugz
06-03-2015, 01:22 PM
Jurassic Park

08-03-2015, 03:22 PM
Hamburger hill.

Kids movie :eek::eek:

09-03-2015, 11:26 AM
Kids movie :eek::eek:

Yep, Channel 4 on a Friday night you usually got a war/nam film in the mid nineties.

over the line
29-03-2015, 12:09 AM
The Wilderness Family. I still kind of want to live in a log cabin in the middle of nowhere, with a racoon as a best mate! :)