View Full Version : What age?

18-02-2015, 04:22 PM
What age did you first go to see Hibs? What age would you take your child?

I first went when I was 6, considering taking my 4 year old daughter this Saturday. Good/bad idea?

18-02-2015, 04:26 PM
I was about 3, it was the Original Rangers at Ibrox and we won! :agree:

Don't remember it though! :greengrin

Edit: PS that was 46 or 47 or so years ago

WillowbraeHibby
18-02-2015, 04:36 PM
6 years auld, taken by my auld man and uncle... A Hibby family, so it was a no brainer really. A case of this is who ye support.... Finished!!!! :greengrin

ACLeith
18-02-2015, 04:36 PM
Was told I was 2, obviously only way my dad was allowed to go to the game! Slept through it, so can't give player ratings!

Took my son age 7. Granddaughter now getting towards 4 so beginning to think about it for next season in premiership!

18-02-2015, 04:37 PM
I took my boys from age of 3. Bad idea if I am being honest. I would say 5 or 6 is a better age. They actually watch the football then whereas at 3.....

bongo'd
18-02-2015, 04:37 PM
4, I think. Andy Goram scored in a 3-0 win over Morton circa 1987?

I remember in games that followed to being bemused as to why the goalie didn't always shoot!!!!

18-02-2015, 04:42 PM
First game was dunfermline final 1991 I was 5

hibsfan7
18-02-2015, 04:46 PM
I was 13 it was the last game of the season against AIRDRIE we lost 2-0

18-02-2015, 04:52 PM
I was about 4. Playing on the steps of the North stand (the FF end of the main stand), while the Famous Five were strutting their stuff on the park :confused:

18-02-2015, 04:53 PM
I was about 3. Best to get them in early.

18-02-2015, 04:59 PM
4, I think. Andy Goram scored in a 3-0 win over Morton circa 1987?

I remember in games that followed to being bemused as to why the goalie didn't always shoot!!!!

I was a special guest that day! Morton went one up and Hibs just let the Morton fans in with Hibs fans as there was only about 50 of them and it was a meaningless match I think. Morton scored first and it finished 3-1 I think.

My first game was against Dunbarton, we won 3-0 and it was a midweek game. I was 8.

18-02-2015, 05:00 PM
Think I was 5, was when we were last in a promotion push.

18-02-2015, 05:01 PM
I was a special guest that day! Morton went one up and Hibs just let the Morton fans in with Hibs fans as there was only about 50 of them and it was a meaningless match I think. Morton scored first and it finished 3-1 I think.

I had comp tickets that day. Sure Neil Orr made his debut and score.

Gorman scored Doon the slope with one almighty hoof!!

davidw
18-02-2015, 05:04 PM
What age did you first go to see Hibs? What age would you take your child?

I first went when I was 6, considering taking my 4 year old daughter this Saturday. Good/bad idea?

I was 5 - but that was when you could wander around vast, empty terracing, if bored. With all-seater stadia, it's a different matter. So unless she is mentally into football at the age of four, I would be tempted to leave it a few years, if I were you. That or take a comic...

18-02-2015, 05:05 PM
I take my daughter who's 4. It was only £25 for her season ticket, she enjoys the day out but doesn't show much interest in the game. I'm hoping that she'll eventually start taking an interest in the game.

18-02-2015, 05:05 PM
15 ..... my mates dad took us, one of the most exciting days of my life. Before that going to the football was an impossible dream for me. Even then I didn't get along on anything like a regular basis until I started work at 18 and then it was home and away. I still appreciate being able to go to games 40 odd years later and I often think that kids who can go along from a very early age lose the thrill quicker.

Shetland_Hibby
18-02-2015, 05:07 PM
I was 8, and it was the Hibs v Berwick Rangers Scottish Cup game in 1967.

18-02-2015, 05:10 PM
Think I'd have been about eight, took my son when he was three.

18-02-2015, 05:11 PM
I'm not sure if it was my first game, but I have a vague memory of it being QOS.

From the stats boards, that makes me either 4 or 6.

My old man was 4, in 1935..... that all came out when he had a conversation/competition with Lawrie Reilly a few years ago. Think my Dad just won that one.

18-02-2015, 05:14 PM
I was about 5 I think. I took my lad 2 weeks before his 5th birthday. If I'm honest it's too young as they have very little interest in the match. But Alex loved the behind the goals bar as they have stuff for the kids to play with, and he enjoyed his pizza at half time. It's good to get them in the habit Tho and from 5yrs old he called himself a Hibs supporter. I'd would only say it's been the last year that he's REALLY got into it. And he's just turned 10.

Roxyhibee
18-02-2015, 05:16 PM
3 year old.

1963/64 - Hibs v St Mirren, a midweek fixture with my dad and couple of uncles in the Dunbar end.

Willie Wilson, our goalie got a kick in the head and had to go off. There were no subs in those days so we were down to 10 men with Peter Cormack (found this out a few years later obviously) in goals. 0-0 half time.

But Wilson was allowed to come on in the second half and play on the wing (with a huge bandage on his head which I can still see dazzling along with our white sleeves under the floodlights). We won 1 nil and I can also still 'hear' my dad and uncles laughing (all great men now sadly gone) as Willie made foraging runs down the left wing. Hooked from that night and never stopped going.

18-02-2015, 05:21 PM
Was 4, only lasted until HT, but still remember a lot about it. Think 4 or 5 is a good age to start taking to quieter games (not Yam/OF matches).

Showed a mum and baby (no more than 2 or 3 months old) at the England rugby match at the w/e. Lot of crowd thought it was cute. I thought.... completely bonkers. Be surprised if social services are not trying to track her down.

18-02-2015, 05:25 PM
I was 6 against Partick in 1969 with my dad, brothers and grandad.

Don't know what went wrong - my brothers are all arabs due to my grandad coming from Lochee. Surely Hibs have been better to watch over the last 46 years? (God that made me feel old!)

Took my eldest son when he was 2 and I couldn't get a babysitter though he was a season ticket holder from 6 months, other 3 children were all "into Hibs" by age of 5

BTW love these threads

18-02-2015, 05:25 PM
My daughter has had a season ticket from 2 and a bit.

People will tell you its a bad idea and I agree that they won't watch the game and you can be up and down to the loo but keep them amused with snacks, books, whatever and its fine. At some stage they will become a bit more interested in what is going on and they are just used to going.

It depends what your expectations are - taking my daughter was a simple way of making sure I could still go myself.

Much as I hate mascots she actually loves seeing Sunshine and gets quite excited about meeting him and getting the face painted and so on that do at the kids games. She also likes the middle section in Behind the Goals where she can get a hot dog or something and play games.

18-02-2015, 05:58 PM
Here's my first game.............

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=36029

So I was 4 years, 11 months and 3 days :greengrin

18-02-2015, 06:12 PM
I was about 7-8, my uncle John used to take me to the games.

18-02-2015, 06:29 PM
I was 6.

Every child's different but I would personally wait until a child's reached school age before taking them to a football match.

Newcastlehibby
18-02-2015, 06:33 PM
1965 aged 11 years. My friend's Dad offered to take me with them and I was hooked. I have no idea who we played but he liked to go to the shed end. My abiding memory of that first game was when we got a corner, the assembled masses shouting, 'Big John, Big John. And Mr McNamee duly obliged.

I was hooked and hardly missed a home game for the next 10 years until I left Edinburgh

18-02-2015, 06:39 PM
I was in P7. A workmate of my dad had a season ticket at Tynecastle and I went to a derby and came away liking the team in green: saying loudly on the way out that Hearts were rubbish but that Hibs were good.

Until that point, I'd liked Celtic and clearly remember asking my Mum for a Celtic strip after the 1988 cup final - she wisely said I should pick another team!

Should I ever end up signing for Celtic (at 36 and unable to run the length of myself, it's unlikely), let me here put it on record that I wouldn't consider them my boyhood heroes. DR journos, you have been warned.

18-02-2015, 06:41 PM
Although I considered myself a Hibby for as long as I can remember, I only got to my first match at 12.

I always wanted to go but had nobody to take me :boo hoo:

Anyway, self-pitying over :wink:

Yuillsy
18-02-2015, 06:44 PM
I was 9, January 87. We beat St Mirren 1-0 Graeme Mitchell scored!
I took both my daughters when they were 2. They actually enjoyed it for a while but got bored after half-time.

WillowbraeHibby
18-02-2015, 06:44 PM
Although I considered myself a Hibby for as long as I can remember, I only got to my first match at 12.

I always wanted to go but had nobody to take me :boo hoo:

Anyway, self-pitying over :wink:

I was enjoying this thread until you posted... Now I've got the Kleenex oot... :boo hoo:

18-02-2015, 06:45 PM
About 11. 1967 at Easter Road and we thrashed Stirling Albion. Allan, Duncan, Davis, Stanton, MacNamee, McGraw etc etc.

18-02-2015, 06:51 PM
Think i was 14, an away game in aberdeen, a boring 0-0 but good day out. Took my wee boy last year when he was 5, was bored after 10 mins

18-02-2015, 06:55 PM
I honestly can't remember. I didn't live in Edinburgh until I was 16. Remember watching them more away from home when I was 7/8.
Took my girls when the youngest was 5, and the oldest was 7. They've both had season tickets since 1997

Newcastlehibby
18-02-2015, 06:59 PM
About 11. 1967 at Easter Road and we thrashed Stirling Albion. Allan, Duncan, Davis, Stanton, MacNamee, McGraw etc etc.

3rd December 1966. 6-0 Cousin was no 6. Forward line was Scott, O'Rourke, Stein, Cormack and Stevenson. Oddly, while I read your post, I had the programme sitting in front of me!!!

18-02-2015, 07:06 PM
I was 8 but I've been taking my boy since before he was 2. He's 4 now and he loves it. Sometimes he gets a bit bored, he watched the snowman on my phone twice during the 2nd half of the 2013 cup final but overall he loves it and he'd be gutted if I left him at home and went to a game. He's starting to get a lot more interested in the rules and the players names. Malonga craig and stevenson are his favourites after he met them at the hibs kids panto.

18-02-2015, 07:22 PM
I was 12....maybe 13.....mates dad took me.....hooked after that..

18-02-2015, 07:26 PM
My Ma took me the my first game , think i was 10 or 11 . Celtic at Easter Road . But my mum just followed the green scarfs and we ended up in the old South stand ( in with the Celtic fans ) we lost 2-0 but my abiding memory was my mum telling me to stand up and clap when they scored or id be grounded . Never stood up or clapped . She didnt ground me but we still laugh about it to this day .
Took my own laddie ( to the right end ) when he was 5 but he didnt get it till he was about 8 . Ive been taking the grand bairns since they were about 3 ( nightmare ) they are 5 , 8 and 9 now ( and still a nightmare . Lol )

weedgiehibbie
18-02-2015, 07:28 PM
I was 7, first game v Partick Thistle in Scottish cup 3rd round 91-92 season - saw the highlights are/were floating around on youtube - made happy viewing seeing my 1st game again :greengrin

18-02-2015, 07:28 PM
I was enjoying this thread until you posted... Now I've got the Kleenex oot... :boo hoo:

Aw, thanks for the symapthy

18-02-2015, 07:31 PM
3rd December 1966. 6-0 Cousin was no 6. Forward line was Scott, O'Rourke, Stein, Cormack and Stevenson. Oddly, while I read your post, I had the programme sitting in front of me!!!

Spooky. Not a bad forward line. No wonder we scored 6.

18-02-2015, 07:32 PM
Was 6 at home v Dundee UTD. Can barely remember the game! 2001 SC Final aged 7 was my first time at hampden and i couldn't see a thing for the chap in front (probably for the best)

18-02-2015, 07:41 PM
About 6 months old, or so I'm told.

My father was a season ticket holder in the old north Stand and had been left in charge of me one Saturday afternoon so wrapped me up and took me to the game with him. Must have been early in 1950, I don't think my mother ever knew and I only found out when I was in my 20's but was told not to let your mother know. :greengrin

First game I really remember Hibs v Barcelona in 1960

Forgot the children bit. I have 3 daughters and they were all indoctrinated at Easter Road before they were 8.

WillowbraeHibby
18-02-2015, 07:42 PM
Aw, thanks for the symapthy

Your welcome, but I believe you should think of what you post in the future, some of us can be affected by such tales of woe... :violin: :greengrin

Whalemeister
18-02-2015, 08:01 PM
8 years old, and a whopping 9-2 victory against St Johnstone in the League Cup (28th August 1976). I chose wisely.

18-02-2015, 08:06 PM
I was 9. ER Vs Hearts Sept 1970. 0-0. Next game was same season Vs Malmo.

Took my 2 girls plus one step child to Hampden 2004 for the LCF. Ages 4,6, 11. Not lot of interest shown since but the youngest still occasionally joins me in the West for a game. 5-0 Cowdenbeath being the last one.

Newcastlehibby
18-02-2015, 08:15 PM
Spooky. Not a bad forward line. No wonder we scored 6.

We won the enxt two games then got beaten 5-2 by St Johnstone at home. Frustrating team.

I will do you a copy of it for you if you like.

18-02-2015, 08:18 PM
Gordon Rae testimonial was the first game i can remember in full going too had been at a few other 0-0 in the season before so I have been to more Man U games than most their fans :greengrin

18-02-2015, 08:20 PM
Did some digging after asking my dad.....

Ibrox, Rangers 1 us 3

11th October 1969..... I was 2 months short of 5 :-)

PS apparently I was more interested in the girl and the pies she was selling in the wee shed thingy up the back of the terracing :-)

18-02-2015, 08:22 PM
My first game wasn't after I'd left uni, so I must have been 20.

18-02-2015, 08:25 PM
My laddies first game on his 7th birthday was his grandad's last game at Easter Road. His grandad was really to ill and frail to attend but wanted to attend this game with his grandson and hand over the baton so to speak. 14 years later and it's my son that keeps me going. :greengrin

NYHibby
18-02-2015, 08:27 PM
My first game wasn't until I was 20 so I guess I was the oldest here. Although I didn't set foot in Scotland until I was 20...

18-02-2015, 08:28 PM
Vaguely remember being around 7 for my first match, and vaguely think it was a 0-0 at ER against Rangers. What I remember more vividly was waiting outside the boozer for my dad before the game. It felt like hours and most likely was, thank god for kick the can.

18-02-2015, 08:44 PM
I was 6 months my firs son 6 months second son 8 months third son 1,they love get them used to the atmosphere and they'll want to go back more often

Stax
18-02-2015, 08:54 PM
Took my son when he was 4. We scored, he was sitting on my knee at the time. I jumped up like a daftie, crowd erupted and his wee face crumpled & he burst out crying as he didn't expect it :greengrin. Thought I'd scunnered him for life but he's 12 now and loves going to the games.

7-Heaven
18-02-2015, 09:06 PM
My Dad took me to reserve games when i was 3, in the old west stand. Took me a few times, but I remember nothing of the football, but I do remember all hanging around an old black phone after the game waiting on it ringing, and the guy who answered it getting the score of the first team. Must have been around 1959 - 1960

Hero76
18-02-2015, 09:17 PM
Cant remember two seasons ago never mind my first game.

18-02-2015, 09:21 PM
4 I think . I remember playing football with a tied up scarf on the dance floor in the Hibs club.

Halmyre Hibee
18-02-2015, 09:31 PM
My laddies first game on his 8th birthday was his grandad's last game at Easter Road. His grandad was really to ill and frail to attend but wanted to attend this game with his grandson and hand over the baton so to speak. 13 years later and it's my son that keeps me going. :greengrin

And he's convinced it's a Hibs & Liverpool double for the cups. Hope Liverpool don't let him down.

My first game 27/4/68 Hibs 3 Kilmarnock 3 with a Colin Stein hat trick. I was 8 years old.

18-02-2015, 09:34 PM

Pervert.

18-02-2015, 09:39 PM
Just went on Wiki to Check and find the Year.. :confused:

There is no mention of it.. but im convinced my First Game at ER.. Was Against Seville...

Was in the 80`s.. im sure of it..

18-02-2015, 09:52 PM
Christmas day 1965, my Christmas prezzie.....Hibs 2 v St Johnstone 5. I was 5. Chucking it then would have saved a whole lot of heartacre, inbetween the odd moment of joy. GGTTH

18-02-2015, 09:55 PM

There is no mention of it.. but im convinced my First Game at ER.. Was Against Seville...

How sure ?

DAVE1875
18-02-2015, 10:19 PM
I was 9. Growing up in Aberdeenshire I didn't really have that much interest in football. Dad supported Aberdeen but stopped going to games when Aberdeen sacked Alex Smith and then my sister was born not long after so he started working longer hours.

Anyway. Didn't support a team and didn't know who to support. Was leaning towards Aberdeen cause they were local and all my friends supported them. Then my cousin, who is 21 years older than me, came up to visit and took me and my sister to Pittodrie to see Hibs vs Aberdeen. 27th October 2002, we won 1-0 thanks to a Grant Brebner goal, absolutely baltic but I was hooked from then on.

Sadly haven't been able to get to as much games as I've wanted. Mainly gone to games when we've visited Pittodrie but I've been to Easter Road a fair few times and hoping to get down a lot more.When I eventually have children I'd probably prefer to take them when they're at least over 5.

18-02-2015, 10:21 PM
Sure I was told 3 so that would be 1974

18-02-2015, 10:31 PM
First went in 1966 I think and we won 2 - 1 against Dundee (possibly). Took my daughter along when she was 4 and she enjoyed it. Wouldn't watch any games on the telly though, but loved going to Easter Rd. Still goes now and she'll watch football on TV as long as it's Hibs.

18-02-2015, 10:32 PM
Was 4.

First Game: Larsson's debut for Celtic and we know the rest :hyper

18-02-2015, 10:38 PM
When I was 5 my daddy took me down to Easter Road...

18-02-2015, 11:02 PM
I was 7, that was 44 years ago

Renfrew_Hibby
18-02-2015, 11:06 PM
I was 13 and it was a home game, Sommerset Park that was. 2-0 Hibs on our march to Skol Cup glory.
Grew up in Ayr and had decided on Hibs being my team from I was 9 or 10. When Hibs drew Ayr I knew this was my chance to finally see them in the flesh but none of my mates wanted to go and mum said I wasn't going on m own. I was a bit gutted as my dad wasn't really a big football man so never asked him incase he said no.
Having given up on going that night my dad got in from work at 6pm as usual and just said "get your coat, we're going to the game!"
I will always remember that night, the game, the goals from Pat and Keith and the amazing Hibs turn out and atmosphere. But I will alwy be greatful tomy dad for taking me and starting my Hibs career as it were.
After that I got my first season ticket for 1994/95 and bar for one year when I was skint, I was a continuous season ticket holder until 2013. I have recently moved house so my mortgage is bigger now and I also becamea dad in July 2013 so for the time being I am only an occasional visitor but I look forward to the day I become a season ticket holder again.

PS my dad was an older father and is now 82 years young (i'm only 36) and his health is not what it was but I will always remember the night he took me to the football, thanks Dad.

18-02-2015, 11:13 PM
When I was 5 my daddy took me down to Easter Road...

Me too. Let me guess...we lost? :greengrin

18-02-2015, 11:16 PM
I was 13 and it was a home game, Sommerset Park that was. 2-0 Hibs on our march to Skol Cup glory.
Grew up in Ayr and had decided on Hibs being my team from I was 9 or 10. When Hibs drew Ayr I knew this was my chance to finally see them in the flesh but none of my mates wanted to go and mum said I wasn't going on m own. I was a bit gutted as my dad wasn't really a big football man so never asked him incase he said no.
Having given up on going that night my dad got in from work at 6pm as usual and just said "get your coat, we're going to the game!"
I will always remember that night, the game, the goals from Pat and Keith and the amazing Hibs turn out and atmosphere. But I will alwy be greatful tomy dad for taking me and starting my Hibs career as it were.
After that I got my first season ticket for 1994/95 and bar for one year when I was skint, I was a continuous season ticket holder until 2013. I have recently moved house so my mortgage is bigger now and I also becamea dad in July 2013 so for the time being I am only an occasional visitor but I look forward to the day I become a season ticket holder again.

PS my dad was an older father and is now 82 years young (i'm only 36) and his health is not what it was but I will always remember the night he took me to the football, thanks Dad.

It's what dads are for ..... :not worth

18-02-2015, 11:32 PM
And he's convinced it's a Hibs & Liverpool double for the cups. Hope Liverpool don't let him down.

My first game 27/4/68 Hibs 3 Kilmarnock 3 with a Colin Stein hat trick. I was 8 years old.

Get your money on it :-)

19-02-2015, 12:06 AM
I must've been about 4. Can't remember it.

Hard to say when to take them along, would depend how keen they are in the house.

19-02-2015, 12:20 AM

We played Seville in the 80's in a friendly ( Jock Wallace was their manager ) but the game was in Seville.

You did'nt get the wrong bus by any chance :greengrin

The_Sauz
19-02-2015, 12:24 AM
I was 4/5 when my father and uncle to me and my big sis to tynecastle for the derby! I remember my uncle asking who I wanted to win (did not know they were hibs fans) and said the team in green ( as it looked class with green pitch) and the rest is history :greengrin

btw
myself and my father (82) and uncle (84) still go to all the home games, and never once left early :greengrin

19-02-2015, 12:33 AM

Oi .... I was 15 before I had anyone to take me, I deserve more sympathy than him http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/boo%20hoo.gifhttp://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/boo%20hoo.gif:greengrin

Prof. Shaggy
19-02-2015, 12:38 AM
I must have been 10 when I persuaded my dad to take me to a game at Easter Road. Stanton, Cormack, Stein in the team. We lost 2-4 to Dundee in the League Cup.
My eldest daughter would have been 6 when I took her to her first game, a 2 each drawn Derby.
Her younger sister joined the gang when she was about the same age - an event she's included, kind of anonymously, in a dramatic monologue she wrote while studying English at university. It's called "Casual" and I'm making no comment.
Prof. ****gy jnr started going when he was 5 wearing his "Calum 4" top though the resemblance with le Franck ended there. We had joint seasons together for years until he left to become something called a marine biologist. All I know is it's something to do with fish.

HiBremian
19-02-2015, 12:45 AM
Was about 4 or 5 when my dad took me to Easter Road. Hibs v Clyde, 5-5, 1950s. Strange, don't remember the game, but do know where we stood on the east terrace, half way up, south end. Joe Baker must have been playing!

19-02-2015, 01:21 AM
It's what dads are for ..... :not worth

This. Although i could have supported Hearts or Rangers when i was younger.:duck:

Andy Bee
19-02-2015, 03:36 AM
I was 3 when I tried to persuade my dad, uncle, grandpa and cousin to take me to the game on New Years day '73, they didn't, I haven't spoken to any of them since, I frequently spit in my dads coffee and when visiting my Uncle have been known to use his toothbrush to clean the toilet. :agree:

StokePogesHibs
19-02-2015, 03:47 AM
Hibs v Dumbarton 1972 age 4. Front of the old Centre Stand next to my Dad and Harry Connolly. Went to Dr Stewart's House in Northumberland Street after the game where they all dissected the game.

Cabbage Lad
19-02-2015, 07:06 AM
I'm taking my 2 year old toddler on Saturday. Apologies to those affected in advance. Ggtth

Bill Milne
19-02-2015, 09:01 AM
My granny stayed at Lochend Drive and we always visited on a Saturday. Me, my brother and cousins from Restalrig Crescent were taken to the Holy Ground as soon as we started shouting about Hibs. In my case, this was at 2, which was in 1957.

19-02-2015, 09:28 AM
We played Seville in the 80's in a friendly ( Jock Wallace was their manager ) but the game was in Seville.

You did'nt get the wrong bus by any chance :greengrin

We played Seville in 1986 at Easter Road in a friendly. I have the programme somewhere!

DTS
19-02-2015, 10:29 AM
The first game I remember going to was the 2001 cup final at the age of 4 and got my first season ticket when I was six

19-02-2015, 10:32 AM
I was 10 months. My mum picked me up at HT I believe as my dad ran to a pay phone to get her to pick me up. Screamed the whole first half apparently.

My second game was when Goram scored v Morton. Needless to say I can't remember either.

Ricky Bobby
19-02-2015, 10:33 AM
First game at Easter Road i was 9. 30th September 1978 a 1 each draw with Morton. I dont really remember too much about the game other than how vast the old east terracing seemed.
I had been to games before that but because my father is a jambo he would take me along to Tynie, or as i tell him now, he forced me along to Tynie. A form of child abuse i am sure you will agree.

WillowbraeHibby
19-02-2015, 10:59 AM
Oi .... I was 15 before I had anyone to take me, I deserve more sympathy than him http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/boo%20hoo.gifhttp://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/boo%20hoo.gif:greengrin

No another one..... :violin::boo hoo::boo hoo: ..... there yer are, happy noo???? Tell me, what did you pair do before you decided to saunter up to ER to watch the Hibs... :greengrin

WillowbraeHibby
19-02-2015, 11:01 AM
Pervert.

:faf: Class !!!!! :greengrin

19-02-2015, 11:44 AM
No another one..... :violin::boo hoo::boo hoo: ..... there yer are, happy noo???? Tell me, what did you pair do before you decided to saunter up to ER to watch the Hibs... :greengrin

Lived in poverty mate, widowed mother and 3 brothers ... I think I was about 14 before we had a proper telly. Edinburgh, which was 30 miles away might as well have been on the Moon. Please don't send money I'm OK now :greengrin

Dav1986
19-02-2015, 11:59 AM
8 years old, 10th December 1994 against Falkirk. 2 all. I remember watching the highlights on scotsport or whatever the next day and was confused why we were shooting the wrong way (sat in the west with tv cameras in the east 😂)
My dad never took me before that as he wasn't massively into football and I only started getting into it from the world cup that year.

WillowbraeHibby
19-02-2015, 12:04 PM
Lived in poverty mate, widowed mother and 3 brothers ... I think I was about 14 before we had a proper telly. Edinburgh, which was 30 miles away might as well have been on the Moon. Please don't send money I'm OK now :greengrin

:aok:... Glad you're no wanting money... The wife's purse is as secure as Fort Knox... :greengrin

19-02-2015, 12:21 PM
November 30th 1940 aged 8 years and six months Hibs beat Rangers 1-0 in front of 15000+ crowd
Anderson the scorer

23rd October 1971 took my son aged eight years and one month to Hibs 6 v Falkirk 0

19-02-2015, 12:28 PM
:aok:... Glad you're no wanting money... The wife's purse is as secure as Fort Knox... :greengrin

Is her maiden name Petrie :greengrin

19-02-2015, 12:38 PM
My dad took me to a reserve game against Aberdeen the season we got relegated 1979/80 when I was 8. He started taking me to first team games the next again season. First game a 2-2 draw with East Stirling I think. Started going regularly under my own steam at 12 and was a season ticket holder at 13...a steady descent into addiction!

WillowbraeHibby
19-02-2015, 12:42 PM
Is her maiden name Petrie :greengrin

Naw... The only thing she has in common is her same styled moustache as him... :tee hee:

19-02-2015, 12:48 PM

You can send me the money if you like :greengrin

Anyway, he doesn't deserve sympathy, he could easily have gone on his own well before he turned 15. From the age of 13, I went on my own regularly. I couldn't always afford the bus fare, so I sometimes walked the 8 miles to ER.....

For those interested, this (https://www.google.de/maps/dir/55.9628074,-3.1654275/21+Inchview+Crescent,+Wallyford,+Musselburgh+EH21+ 8LR,+UK/@55.954093,-3.0958349,13z/data=!4m19!4m18!1m10!3m4!1m2!1d-3.1485299!2d55.9550777!3s0x4887b84277cc8357:0x930c 437c9ede1c3d!3m4!1m2!1d-3.1237899!2d55.9428094!3s0x4887b855b999f4fd:0x656c 4b8dfd85c671!1m5!1m1!1s0x4887bbabfaddf73f:0x37d6e3 d22c29f50!2m2!1d-3.0077874!2d55.9387291!3e2?hl=en) was my route

WillowbraeHibby
19-02-2015, 01:11 PM
http://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/misc/quote_icon.png Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE http://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/buttons/viewpost-right.png (http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?p=4306696#post4306696)

http://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/misc/quote_icon.png Originally Posted by WillowbraeHibby http://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/buttons/viewpost-right.png (http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?p=4306700#post4306700)
:aok:... Glad you're no wanting money... The wife's purse is as secure as Fort Knox...

UOTE=keekaboo;4306728]You can send me the money if you like :greengrin

Anyway, he doesn't deserve sympathy, he could easily have gone on his own well before he turned 15. From the age of 13, I went on my own regularly. I couldn't always afford the bus fare, so I sometimes walked the 8 miles to ER.....

For those interested, this (https://www.google.de/maps/dir/55.9628074,-3.1654275/55.9386053,-3.0074801/@55.9526816,-3.1039234,13z/data=!4m14!4m13!1m10!3m4!1m2!1d-3.1492817!2d55.9551544!3s0x4887b869db8cf29b:0xc78c 3b4ec4a51aad!3m4!1m2!1d-3.1298165!2d55.9425306!3s0x4887b857b12508ff:0x33a1 47e26d98c6ca!1m0!3e2?hl=en) was my route

:wink:[/QUOTE]

Right you pair... Listen in.. Nae Nookie disnae need the money, Keekaboo wants it. There is no way that I am going to lose the tops of my fingers in trying to access the wife's purse, so Keekaboo, yer oot o' luck :greengrin

And for your info'... I saved jam jars when I wiz wee, I got told you could get intae the Tivoli picture hoose in Manse Road for 2...

I'm away tae have a look at Keekaboo's route... :wink:

19-02-2015, 01:17 PM
You can send me the money if you like :greengrin

For those interested, this (https://www.google.de/maps/dir/55.9628074,-3.1654275/21+Inchview+Crescent,+Wallyford,+Musselburgh+EH21+ 8LR,+UK/@55.954093,-3.0958349,13z/data=!4m19!4m18!1m10!3m4!1m2!1d-3.1485299!2d55.9550777!3s0x4887b84277cc8357:0x930c 437c9ede1c3d!3m4!1m2!1d-3.1237899!2d55.9428094!3s0x4887b855b999f4fd:0x656c 4b8dfd85c671!1m5!1m1!1s0x4887bbabfaddf73f:0x37d6e3 d22c29f50!2m2!1d-3.0077874!2d55.9387291!3e2?hl=en) was my route

If it had been 30 miles I would be impressed http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/taunt%20smiley.gif

Having said that I did walk most of the 30 miles after the 2nd replay of the 1979 cup final :greengrin

WillowbraeHibby
19-02-2015, 01:28 PM
If it had been 30 miles I would be impressed http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/taunt%20smiley.gif

Having said that I did walk most of the 30 miles after the 2nd replay of the 1979 cup final :greengrin

My legs are killing me just thinking aboot it!!!! :greengrin

OxoHibby
19-02-2015, 02:21 PM
I first went when I was about 5 - Paddy Stanton's testimonial in the old main stand enclosure

19-02-2015, 05:12 PM
First game for me was 13th Oct 1962 v Dundee. My dad took me and I had just turned 4 yrs old. Result was 2-2. Often wondered why that game?

Now I've had a thought.

At the time Gordon Smith was playing for Dundee and my Dad had been lucky enough to live through the Famous Five years. He used to wax lyrical about the FF and I am now wondering if this was possibly in his mind that it might be the last time he would see him. My dad never said it was a game Gordon Smith played in. (I'd be too young at the time to appreciate it!!)

I've been searching around to see if the Dundee team for that day included the "great one". Can't find anything. The Hibs team is available on Fitbastats.com but the full Dundee team isn't listed.

After all these years did I actually have the pleasure of seeing one of the FF at ER (even if in a dark blue shirt)?

Could any if the Hibby stattos on herehelp or point me to somewhere I can find out?

Thanks guys

19-02-2015, 07:03 PM
We played Seville in 1986 at Easter Road in a friendly. I have the programme somewhere!

http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/thumbs%20up.gif Thanks for that.. Was Starting to Think I had dreamt it.... That was my First Game..

Does Anyone Remember the Score.. :confused:

19-02-2015, 10:00 PM
I was 8, bringing my eldest lad up next month. He is 6.

My first game was 1-1 v Aberdeen at ER, in the old coo shed.

SJNB Hibby
19-02-2015, 10:28 PM
August 16 1961 Hibs 2-2 Celtic League Cup Group Stages
5 Years 5 months

My mothers dad was a staunch Hearts fan, although we lived in Leith(Pirnefield Place at the bottom of Leith Links)
Mums sister married a Kafflick and he took me to the match--was in the East Terrace--absolutely packed. My abiding memory is bottles being thrown from the back, and one guy being taken away covered in blood
My uncles sister was married to Johnny McLeod who may have been playing for Hibs that day

19-02-2015, 11:21 PM
http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/thumbs%20up.gif Thanks for that.. Was Starting to Think I had dreamt it.... That was my First Game..

Does Anyone Remember the Score.. :confused:

Seville won 2-1 - some details here:

http://users.quista.net/fraserp/Season86-87/seville030886.htm

Hibs beat Chelsea 4-0 a couple of days later, then Souness's new look huns the week after!

McIntosh
19-02-2015, 11:46 PM
November 30th 1940 aged 8 years and six months Hibs beat Rangers 1-0 in front of 15000+ crowd
Anderson the scorer

23rd October 1971 took my son aged eight years and one month to Hibs 6 v Falkirk 0

:flag: very impressed

Aitcheffsee
20-02-2015, 04:20 AM
01/01/1973 The Hibs team that day was: Jim Herriot, John Brownlie, Erich Schaedler, Pat Stanton, Jim Black, John Blackley, Alex Edwards, Jimmy O’Rourke, Alan Gordon, Alex Cropley, Arthur Duncan. I was nae aware o why a'body wis gaun daft!! Ma auld man wis reekin and my ma gied him laldie cos ah lost ma jaiket!!! The bug bit that day that's for sure and I still have the silk scarf he bought me!!! Oh and I was 3

20-02-2015, 07:20 AM
In the 2007 final I took my 5 year old but decided not to take my other son who had just turned 3
He now hates me for that as the older one gives him it tight for not being at the final 😀

son of haggart
20-02-2015, 09:18 AM
About 8 years old, 1964, some European game

Failed attempt by my Uncle Freddie to convert me:wink:

20-02-2015, 11:43 AM
About 8 years old, 1964, some European game

Failed attempt by my Uncle Freddie to convert me:wink:

There's still hope for you yet :wink:

My first game was actually Hibs v Hearts at ER (2-1). That was in the days when we actually used to win derbies on a regular basis.

Here's a wee photo of some Hearts Fans (http://hiberniansaintpatricks.co.uk/?attachment_id=740) from said match.

nellio
20-02-2015, 11:53 AM
Late starter here! 28 for me, clearly not a glory hunter as we've been beaten in 2 cup finals and relegated since I started going!