View Full Version : Is this the ultimate fair weather fan ?

17-02-2015, 12:17 PM
My bro was born in Manchester but has lived all his life in Scotland. For so long as I can remember he has been Man Utd daft, DVDs, books, strips, scarves, Man Utd cheque book and credit card, Man Utd TV subscription, full SKY package of course. He even got me to drive him from Edinburgh to Carlisle at one point in the 90s so that he could watch the FA cup final because it wasn't on Scottish telly. He has never been to a match at Old Trafford, but has taken the stadium tour.

On the premise that he became Man Utd aware at age 10, in the years from then ( 1968 ) till now here is a list of Man Utd honours:

Ist Division / Premiership winners: 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2013.

FA Cup winners: 1977, 1983, 1985, 1990, 1994, 1996, 1999, 2004.

League Cup winners: 1992, 2006, 2009, 2010.

European Cup / Champions League winners: 1968, 1999, 2008.

Cup Winners Cup winners: 1991.

European Super Cup winners: 1991.

FIFA Club World Cup winners: 2008.

FA Charity Shield winners: 15 times.

To be fair Utd have been relegated once in those years :greengrin

He was never very forgiving of Utd's failings even in the best of the glory years, but in the months since Ferguson quit its been relentless. David Moys was given about 6 weeks before he became a "clueless ****ing ******** who is way out of his depth". Now Van Gaal is an idiot who "has no idea how to manage in English football"

He watches about 15 minutes of Utd matches on telly and if they fall behind he goes away to do his ironing or clean the kitchen etc. He has even said he is on the verge of giving up watching them altogether. At half time last night he informed me that he wasn't watching the 2nd half and not to text him if Utd score.

There is no question here of him seeing himself as anything other than a die hard Red for life Man Utd fan.

The question is, what would other Utd fans think of him?

P.S. ..... I tried to post this on a Utd forum, but couldn't get on ... computer issues.

PPS ..... In the extremely slight chance that anybody recognises my bro from this post, please don't tell him about it.

17-02-2015, 12:26 PM
My bro was born in Manchester but has lived all his life in Scotland. For so long as I can remember he has been Man Utd daft, DVDs, books, strips, scarves, Man Utd cheque book and credit card, Man Utd TV subscription, full SKY package of course. He even got me to drive him from Edinburgh to Carlisle at one point in the 90s so that he could watch the FA cup final because it wasn't on Scottish telly. He has never been to a match at Old Trafford, but has taken the stadium tour.

On the premise that he became Man Utd aware at age 10, in the years from then ( 1968 ) till now here is a list of Man Utd honours:

Ist Division / Premiership winners: 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2013.

He was never very forgiving of Utd's failings even in the best of the glory years, but in the months since Ferguson quit its been relentless. David Moys was given about 6 weeks before he became a "clueless ****ing ******** who is way out of his depth". Now Van Gaal is an idiot who "has no idea how to manage in English football"

He watches about 15 minutes of Utd matches on telly and if they fall behind he goes away to do his ironing or clean the kitchen etc. He has even said he is on the verge of giving up watching them altogether. At half time last night he informed me that he wasn't watching the 2nd half and not to text him if Utd score.

There is no question here of him seeing himself as anything other than a die hard Red for life Man Utd fan.

P.S. ..... I tried to post this on a Utd forum, but couldn't get on ... computer issues.

PPS ..... In the extremely slight chance that anybody recognises my bro from this post, please don't tell him about it.

Re the part in bold, I really don't understand his thinking.....

Ross4356
17-02-2015, 12:39 PM
Pretty similar to my brother, has the Shirts, watches all the game inc. reserves but has been once to OT once in his life even though one his best mates has a season ticket and he could go to pretty much any game he likes. He was a the CL Final at Wembley though

17-02-2015, 12:44 PM
Can't wait to show this to Andy

17-02-2015, 12:44 PM
Glory hunters :rolleyes: (well maybe not now)

Ross4356
17-02-2015, 12:47 PM
Glory hunters :rolleyes: (well maybe not now)

Once a glory hunter always a glory hunter

17-02-2015, 12:52 PM
My bro cant be called a glory hunter. He has a right to follow Man Utd being born there.

17-02-2015, 12:55 PM
Real United fans 'hate' guys like that as much as non Utd fans do.

I've got a couple of mates from Manchester and they are ST holder at Old Trafford and pay a small fortune for the privilege. They really hate all the 'we support our local team' stuff aimed at them, it was in evidence at Preston last night again.

Of the 67K fans who attend Old Trafford weekly the vast majority are real fans and from Manchester and surrounding areas. A lot is made of Man Citys crowds in the 3rd tier, which were mightily impressive, but people tend to forget United regularly posted the highest crowd in Britain after relegation in 74.

17-02-2015, 01:40 PM
Strange how some United fans have never seen them.I saw them play Hibs in the 80's at Easter Road.
A lot are glory hunters but the genuine ones I obviously have no issue
more Chelsea tops going around these days on kids in the local park😂

17-02-2015, 01:52 PM
For me, its all about good parenting.

I grew up in Bath, and when I moved down aged 8 in May 1989 I was asked who do I support? Liverpool or Everton (1989 FA Cup final).

When I replied Hibs,the looked at me as if I had horns on my head.

However all these Liverpool and Everton fans (soon to be replaced with Man Utd, Tottenham and Chelsea fans) had never been close to their respective clubs.

I was a regulkar at ER as a small kid, and every school holiday when we went up to Edinburgh to see family we went to watch the Hibs. When my dad was away and we went up with my Mum, one of my uncles would take me to the game. Seeing the family also meant seeing the Hibs.

I'm bringing my 6 year old up in March to continue the process. We are going to Raith v Hibs on the Saturday then Scotland v Gibraltar on the Sunday. We will also be meeting up with family. Its all part of passing on the legacy and becoming a real fan.

He will eventually have been to more games than his friends, and hopefully have the same passion for his club, country and family as I have.

For every Man U/Liverpool fan in his class, I will make sure he has the latest Hibs or Scotland shirt.

17-02-2015, 02:20 PM
Never been to a match:cool2:

17-02-2015, 02:25 PM

I grew up in Bath, and when I moved down aged 8 in May 1989 I was asked who do I support? Liverpool or Everton (1989 FA Cup final).

When I replied Hibs,the looked at me as if I had horns on my head.

However all these Liverpool and Everton fans (soon to be replaced with Man Utd, Tottenham and Chelsea fans) had never been close to their respective clubs.

I was a regulkar at ER as a small kid, and every school holiday when we went up to Edinburgh to see family we went to watch the Hibs. When my dad was away and we went up with my Mum, one of my uncles would take me to the game. Seeing the family also meant seeing the Hibs.

I'm bringing my 6 year old up in March to continue the process. We are going to Raith v Hibs on the Saturday then Scotland v Gibraltar on the Sunday. We will also be meeting up with family. Its all part of passing on the legacy and becoming a real fan.

He will eventually have been to more games than his friends, and hopefully have the same passion for his club, country and family as I have.

For every Man U/Liverpool fan in his class, I will make sure he has the latest Hibs or Scotland shirt.

Very similar to me. I moved down to Crewe when I was 9. My dad had taken me fairly regularly from around the age of 6. I remember all my school friends suporting Liverpool or Man U, or a few at least supported Crewe Alex. I have memories of watching hours of ceefax as a 10/11 year old, and remember waiting with baited breathe for the TV companies to say whether or not they were going to show the 1991 skol cup semi. At first they were, then they announced they weren't, so off my dad went to do his nightshift (he was originally taking the night off), then at the last minute they decided to show it. I also remember sitting in a Crewe pub on my own (as in, the ONLY person in the pub) as a 19yr old watching the 6-2 game. By the 6th, I was hammered, and was running around the pub celebrating.
We also regularly came up for games, and in fact, in 02/03 (I think - it was during the SUABC campaign) me and my dad bought ST's and came up at least once a month. It was actually a great experience as we met so many random football fans while doing the train journeys. I remember speaking to 1 guy who was a Man U season ticket holder who decided that when Utd were away from home, he was just going to stick a pin in a map of scotland and follow the team closest. I seem to remember that it was QOS that he picked, so bought a ST for them.
We eventually moved back to scotland in 2004. I was 22 at that point, so when my folks asked me if I wanted to move back, it was on the proviso that we moved somewhere close enough to attend ER every week, so Rosyth it was. Have had my ST every year since, and have been taking my lad since he was 5. He likes Barca, PSG, Bayern, etc as thats who all the best players play for on FIFA ultimate team :aok: but he is 100% a Hibee now, and still talks about the 4-3 Falkirk semi. :flag:

17-02-2015, 03:50 PM

You're not exactly the model of a good parent, if you plan to do the following. In fact, I'm going to contact Childline

Jamesconnolly
17-02-2015, 04:46 PM
Lol if your brother sees that he will kill u :thumbsup::cb QUOTE=NAE NOOKIE;4305507]My bro was born in Manchester but has lived all his life in Scotland. For so long as I can remember he has been Man Utd daft, DVDs, books, strips, scarves, Man Utd cheque book and credit card, Man Utd TV subscription, full SKY package of course. He even got me to drive him from Edinburgh to Carlisle at one point in the 90s so that he could watch the FA cup final because it wasn't on Scottish telly. He has never been to a match at Old Trafford, but has taken the stadium tour.

PPS ..... In the extremely slight chance that anybody recognises my bro from this post, please don't tell him about it.[/QUOTE]

17-02-2015, 05:03 PM
[QUOTE=SouterHibby;4305673]Lol if your brother sees that he will kill u :thumbsup::cb

I know mate ... last nights rant was one too many, its hard for a Hibby to listen to a Man Utd fan bleat on about how tough it is to watch his team :bitchy:

17-02-2015, 05:18 PM

That post is the football equivalent of revenge porn. :hilarious

Got any pics?

17-02-2015, 05:30 PM

Never been to to a game...... Die hard you say...... Ma hoop, I've been to old Trafford twice. Once in the city end for the derby last season and once the season before on a freebie v Norwich. That's make me more of a die hard and I hate utd. :greengrin Sorry :na na:

17-02-2015, 05:38 PM
Die Hard! I've been to Old Trafford numerous times and I have a strong dislike for them :-)

AK86
17-02-2015, 06:24 PM
" if they fall behind he goes away and does his ironing" :confused:

This is is the king of wind ups.
If it's not, I would say he isn't even a fan he has an interest in them. Never been to old Trafford but got a ticket for the CL final? This says all that is wrong with football now

17-02-2015, 07:01 PM
It was funny we talked about this last night at work one guy i work with is uzbeki and supports man utd. Ive seen them live more than he has twice. Another guy is there and hes swedish and supports gais who remind me of hibs a bit. Havent won the league in 60 odd years. However the uzbeki guy was livid that they hadnt won a competition in 2 years. Me and the swede laughed and the uzbeki guy couldnt fathom why!

17-02-2015, 07:07 PM
My bro cant be called a glory hunter. He has a right to follow Man Utd being born there.

Arf!
I've been to Old Trafford more than you say he has and I can't stand them.

One visit there would give you the answer to your question. Day trippers the half of them.

17-02-2015, 07:56 PM
I have been to old trafford on several occasions but never while man u have played. Would never want to either.

17-02-2015, 08:05 PM
I have bought Liverpool Shirts in the past but wouldn't class myself as a fan.

The Pointer
17-02-2015, 09:48 PM
I also remember sitting in a Crewe pub on my own (as in, the ONLY person in the pub) as a 19yr old watching the 6-2 game. By the 6th, I was hammered, and was running around the pub celebrating.

Exactly the same for me, running about the village pub like a radgie with only the barman for company.

17-02-2015, 10:20 PM
Like the OP's brother, I too was bitten with the MUFC bug aged 10 in 1968 when they won European Cup. Not ashamed to admit it.

BUT - I have seen them 6 times - 4x at OT, 1x at Maine Road (FA Cup SF replay) and most importantly at ER for Gordon Rae's testimonial (still have vivid memories of Joe Tortolano's tackle on Gordon Strachan :greengrin)

If the OP's brother is a die hard, don't know what that makes me. :confused::wink:

seanshow
17-02-2015, 10:42 PM
Ive created a quick table for my own amusement, and I'd say the OP's bro is a merch fan + :greengrin

DieHard (Club shares,pre season friendly's,euro trips all home/away,club helper, supporter bus organiser.Club curtains, underpants)
Uberfan
Fanatic
Supporter
Part-timer
Cup final fan
Merchandise Fan
Fan
Associate (You have fondness for a club of whom you will back to the hilt in a pub argument)

17-02-2015, 10:42 PM

PPS ..... In the extremely slight chance that anybody recognises my bro from this post, please don't tell him about it. Born in Manchester, never lived ALL his life in Scotland. Glory hunter, and I have met 3 groups of Manc. glory hunters abroad at different times, and all of them trying to be mair abnoxious than the others. this was all happening, while me and my wife were escorting our youngsters. still to meet a nice bunch o' young Man U. fans, just out for a day, a laugh, or try and mix with opposing fans. not going to happen. too much like you know who:wink:

17-02-2015, 10:47 PM
Ive created a quick table for my own amusement, and I'd say the OP's bro is a merch fan + :greengrin

DieHard (Club shares,pre season friendly's,euro trips all home/away,club helper, supporter bus organiser.Club curtains, underpants)
Uberfan
Fanatic
Supporter
Part-timer
Cup final fan
Merchandise Fan
Fan
Associate (You have fondness for a club of whom you will back to the hilt in a pub argument)

I'm in the diehard category :hyper

Mixu62
17-02-2015, 10:50 PM
There's a "die hard" Man U fan at my work.....in Auckland.....New Zealand. Never even been to England let alone Manchester.

17-02-2015, 10:52 PM
I'm not sure how you can really consider yourself to be a diehard of a club, if you turn to ironing the minute they fall behind in a match!

17-02-2015, 10:58 PM
There's a "die hard" Man U fan at my work.....in Auckland.....New Zealand. Never even been to England let alone Manchester.best just to give him the bullet at the back o' his ear, when they lose the final this year. frees up a job for a Kiwi.:wink:

18-02-2015, 12:15 AM
He was never very forgiving of Utd's failings even in the best of the glory years, but in the months since Ferguson quit its been relentless. David Moyes was given about 6 weeks before he became a "clueless ****ing ******** who is way out of his depth". Now Van Gaal is an idiot who "has no idea how to manage in English football"

Whatever he is, he certainly was on the mark with Moyes and also with Van Gaal.

18-02-2015, 12:24 AM
I'm not sure how you can really consider yourself to be a diehard of a club, if you turn to ironing the minute they fall behind in a match!

Us Hibees would all have the best looking shirts this side of New Zealand if we had all started ironing every time we fell behind in recent years

Dobosz83
18-02-2015, 07:04 AM
I find it quite common that a lot of United fans I know over the past 12 months don't appear as passionate or interested. This after 20 years of hearing nothing but how amazing they are.

I was born East Edinburgh, and raised a Hibby on the premise that they were my local team and a 'sleeping giant'. My old man to this day talks about the great moments of the 70's! I'm waiting on them waking up!

Throughout the 80's, Liverpool were THE team and had a big Scottish influence. My uncle loved them and pushed their glory on around this time when I was a kid, so I've got a lot of love for them and go and see them now and again. However, if liverpool lose, it doesn't bother me, if they win, I smile... With Hibs, my entire weekend is either joyous or a write off!

18-02-2015, 07:11 AM
I'll never understand Scottish people 'supporting' an English team or having a 'second' team. It's glory hunting, pure and simple.

18-02-2015, 09:41 AM
I dont get folks moaning about kids in man u or chelsea shirts. Just as many if not more walk about in barcelona or real madrid shirts and I'll bet that most of them have never been to a game.

When was the FA cup final not on scottish TV?

18-02-2015, 09:49 AM
I'll never understand Scottish people 'supporting' an English team or having a 'second' team. It's glory hunting, pure and simple.

Ach ... I'm 54 and even when I was a kid most people had their favourite English team, for me it was Torquay Utd and even now I have a soft spot for Everton because my nephews in Liverpool are Toffees and as a result I've been to Goodison a couple of times.

The big problem we face now is kids growing up supporting English clubs as their first club .... a disgusting practice which can only be eradicated through harsh discipline in the home. Seriously though kids are being brainwashed by the telly much more so than in my day and we face a battle to win them over.

Having said that, there are a few criteria which in my opinion entitle you to follow a club and top of that list for me is place of birth. None of my parents or siblings were an influence in what club I support. I chose Hibs because I was born in Edinburgh, and bloody proud of it. The reason for starting this thread was annoyance at my brother's failure to stick by his team while they are in the doldrums after decades of success .... it was not to question his right to support them which as far as I'm concerned is beyond question.

18-02-2015, 09:57 AM
I dont get folks moaning about kids in man u or chelsea shirts. Just as many if not more walk about in barcelona or real madrid shirts and I'll bet that most of them have never been to a game.

It was either the 94 or 95 final .... That is why I ended up driving my brother to Carlisle to watch it in the pub, because he couldn't see it in Edinburgh for some reason.

tartanhibee
18-02-2015, 10:40 AM

As I remember it the FA cup and scottish cup used to played on the same day at 3 o'clock and would be shown on BBC 1.

I can't remember watching an FA cup final live till about the mid 90s

18-02-2015, 10:42 AM
Your brother is definitely not alone. Plenty of plastic fans who only see the team they 'support' on TV. I know of one Jambo who used to have a ST who gave up in the Romanov era and now bleats on "wouldnae open the curtains to watch Scottish football" etc and sticks to CL, EPL and American Football!

When my kids were in Co Durham I told them they could choose Sunderland, Newcastle or Middlesborough as their local team but Hibs would come first. It was that or sleep in the shed :green grin All 3 are Hibees although due to working at weekends and other clubs etc their attendance is sporadic. The older two have suddenly become interested as our cup run continues and will no doubt be looking for a paid trip to Hampdump should we get to the semi-final.

18-02-2015, 11:26 AM
Strange how some United fans have never seen them.I saw them play Hibs in the 80's at Easter Road.
A lot are glory hunters but the genuine ones I obviously have no issue
more Chelsea tops going around these days on kids in the local park

Only because there The Rangers top is on the washing line.

18-02-2015, 11:52 AM
I find it quite common that a lot of United fans I know over the past 12 months don't appear as passionate or interested. This after 20 years of hearing nothing but how amazing they are.

Same goes for Hearts fans; last season i couldn't get into a discussion with them about football, now they're going every week!

As I remember it the FA cup and scottish cup used to played on the same day at 3 o'clock and would be shown on BBC 1.

I can't remember watching an FA cup final live till about the mid 90s

Yeah - back in the good old days. Had to get the highlights after the Scottish Cup Final.

It was the same with the 6 Nations (or the 5 Nations as it was) - you'd get the live game based on where you were in the country and get a shortened highlights of the other match at FT of the live match.

18-02-2015, 01:11 PM
Must admit I don't have an "English team" other than Gillingham because my brother lived near there. I don't even watch out for their results nowadays.

Definitely have no interest in Premiership, FA Cup, Champions League or Europa League (what a farce that is letting teams knocked out of other tournaments come in half way through.) as there is far too much football on the telly now. Even got rid of Sky as I wasn't watching the matches.

It was much better back in the day when the only football on the telly was highlights on a Saturday night, the cup final and some away or sold out international matches. It made it an event. Everyone down the pub to watch the big match. Nowadays you could watch games whenever you want.

In short I am not really interested unless Hibs are playing or the result will affect Hibs.

Does that make me sad or a fanatic.

hfc-1875
18-02-2015, 01:27 PM
Don't buy into all this English team crap. Fair enough if you have family from down south and you keep an eye out for results or whatever but I've got no time for glory hunters who have never been to a game.

Northern Hibby
18-02-2015, 02:14 PM
When I moved to Inverness I went a few times to se Caley but thankfully never took to them, I have 2 daughters both born in Edinburgh, both Hibees

Daughter No1:
she was being courted by a Jambo she told him it wouldn't work out because he's a jambo and she's a Hibby, "we can get over that" he says, "yeah but my Dad couldn't". :greengrin
Daughter No2:
Through Friends at school had grown a fondness for Caley (she was young) when Caly moved up the the SPL she came and spoke to me,
"Dad Caley will be in same league has Hibs next year won't they"
"yes"
"I can only support 1 team can't I"
"yes"
"I should support my home team shouldn't I"
"Yes"
"After all I was born in Edinburgh" :greengrin

Both stories will be said loud and proud at any future weddings :greengrin

p.s.
Mum was a Geordie so soft spot for Newcastle

18-02-2015, 02:41 PM
When I moved to Inverness I went a few times to se Caley but thankfully never took to them, I have 2 daughters both born in Edinburgh, both Hibees

Daughter No1:
she was being courted by a Jambo she told him it wouldn't work out because he's a jambo and she's a Hibby, "we can get over that" he says, "yeah but my Dad couldn't". :greengrin
Daughter No2:
Through Friends at school had grown a fondness for Caley (she was young) when Caly moved up the the SPL she came and spoke to me,
"Dad Caley will be in same league has Hibs next year won't they"
"yes"
"I can only support 1 team can't I"
"yes"
"I should support my home team shouldn't I"
"Yes"
"After all I was born in Edinburgh" :greengrin

Both stories will be said loud and proud at any future weddings :greengrin

p.s.
Mum was a Geordie so soft spot for Newcastle

My uncle's a Geordie.

18-02-2015, 03:25 PM

Utter nonsense, just because you don't understand it you label it glory hunting what a load of pish. If people want to take an interest in a particular team for what ever reason that's up to them!

18-02-2015, 03:39 PM
Utter nonsense, just because you don't understand it you label it glory hunting what a load of pish. If people want to take an interest in a particular team for what ever reason that's up to them!

How is it not glory hunting if someone just "chooses" a team they have nothing to do with? They all choose Liverpool, United etc..because they want to "support" a big time team.

What's wrong with it is that this attitude coupled with live TV games is killing the Scottish game. Slowly but surely fans of English teams will outnumber fans of their local team in their own city.

It's about time that people who basically choose a glory team over a Scottish team were made to feel like they were letting the game down.

18-02-2015, 04:01 PM
How is it not glory hunting if someone just "chooses" a team they have nothing to do with? They all choose Liverpool, United etc..because they want to "support" a big time team.

What's wrong with it is that this attitude coupled with live TV games is killing the Scottish game. Slowly but surely fans of English teams will outnumber fans of their local team in their own city.

It's about time that people who basically choose a glory team over a Scottish team were made to feel like they were letting the game down.

Letting the game down!!!!

18-02-2015, 04:55 PM
Letting the game down!!!!

By jove you've got it.

18-02-2015, 05:00 PM

I utterly, utterly, utterly couldn't agree more :aok:

This is my take on it and why I don't have a lot of time for the 'its my right to support who I want' argument. Here is a list, though not exhaustive, of clubs supported by a large percentage of the 'its my right to support who I want' adherents.

Celtic
The Rangers
Man Utd
Liverpool
Chelsea
Man City

Though now you can add a host of other EPL clubs to that list, who are 'followed' by kids and adults who have been seduced by the televised glitz and glamour of the EPL .... I think I have even more disdain for them than the old fashioned following the silverware types.

When bus loads of folk start leaving Motherwell or Hamilton or Greenock heading for Firhill, or buses start leaving Carlisle or Wrexham or Blackpool heading for Prenton Park then I'll have sympathy for the 'its my right to support who I want brigade' Until that happens to me they will continue to be what they always have been, a bunch of glory hunters.

18-02-2015, 06:30 PM
There is a load of crap posted on this thread. People support a club for a variety of reasons.

I support Manchester City, not because of their rise from mid-table sometimes relegation contenders to Champions League regulars. I have supported City since 1963 (when I was at school there and they were promptly relegated), some 25 years before moving up to Edinburgh.

You can't really blame people for turning their back on Scottish Football given the dire was it is administered and has been administered for the last thirty years. Left to themselves, the powers that be would have retained TheRangers in the Premiership. They have fallen over backwards to support the in firm to the detriment of the game. The TV deal with BSkyB was lost through greed and this accelerated the decline.

Jamesconnolly
18-02-2015, 07:00 PM
I travel to home games with the good man who started this thread .i see the frustration the conversations with the unnamed brother bring lol.seriously I do not think you can call yourself a supporter if you have never been to a game ,maybe a 'follower' but not supporter.if you are a uber fan you would move heaven and hell to get to a game.i think maybe the unnamed brother is feird to go to a game in case his dream is broken .and it turns out it is not all it is made out to be ( like watching Hibs) my two lads one likes Liverpool one likes Everton . I spend a lot of time dissing the epl to them because let's face it it is fantasy football and hopefully I can get that through to them.
give me a bovril and pie and Easter road any day that is not a dream or fantasy it's reality and as long as I can hitch a lift or crawl you won't find me and the rest anywhere else.
also I think if you leave Edinburgh,Dundee Aberdeen etc on a Saturday to watch Glasgow football you shouldn't be allowed back in. :taxi:taxi:taxi

18-02-2015, 07:17 PM

This is my take on it and why I don't have a lot of time for the 'its my right to support who I want' argument. Here is a list, though not exhaustive, of clubs supported by a large percentage of the 'its my right to support who I want' adherents.

Celtic
The Rangers
Man Utd
Liverpool
Chelsea
Man City

Though now you can add a host of other EPL clubs to that list, who are 'followed' by kids and adults who have been seduced by the televised glitz and glamour of the EPL .... I think I have even more disdain for them than the old fashioned following the silverware types.

When bus loads of folk start leaving Motherwell or Hamilton or Greenock heading for Firhill, or buses start leaving Carlisle or Wrexham or Blackpool heading for Prenton Park then I'll have sympathy for the 'its my right to support who I want brigade' Until that happens to me they will continue to be what they always have been, a bunch of glory hunters.

Who needs your sympathy??? Support who you want as long as it's not a successful team or I'll call you a glory hunter :faf:

18-02-2015, 08:15 PM

Celtic
The Rangers
Man Utd
Liverpool
Chelsea
Man City

Indeed. However,it looks like further explanation might be required for the Mr Angry's who like English teams who are missing the point.

18-02-2015, 08:20 PM
Indeed. However,it looks like further explanation might be required for the Mr Angry's who like English teams who are missing the point.

You haven't made a valid point yet :na na:

18-02-2015, 08:27 PM

Who's your English team mate? Don't think you've ever told us;-)

18-02-2015, 08:45 PM
Who's your English team mate? Don't think you've ever told us;-)

My glory hunting team is Hibs, figure that one out :-)

18-02-2015, 08:56 PM
You haven't made a valid point yet :na na:

We have, it's just that you don't agree with them.

If you were called Gillingham hibee or Scarborough hibee you probably would. ;-)

18-02-2015, 08:57 PM
My glory hunting team is Hibs, figure that one out :-)

Glory glory...

18-02-2015, 09:05 PM
Don't buy into all this English team crap. Fair enough if you have family from down south and you keep an eye out for results or whatever but I've got no time for glory hunters who have never been to a game.

I find it strange when people assume other folk that follow an English team never go to the games.

There wasnae much sign of glory watching West Ham get turned over in places such as Rotherham etc.

18-02-2015, 09:07 PM
A lot of people are Utd fans for glory. It is a fact. A friend who lives in Margate is one because "otherwise it is Gillingham!"

However I have another mate who is a Surrey boy born and bred. He goes up to every united home game (league and cups) even if he only gets there for the 2nd half sometimes! He also goes to every England game. Proper dedication to his club and country despite being hundreds of miles from Manchester.

18-02-2015, 09:13 PM
We have, it's just that you don't agree with them.

If you were called Gillingham hibee or Scarborough hibee you probably would. ;-)

You're blinkered and make no valid points what so ever. You don't agree with something so have denounced it attempting to justify your own feelings.

18-02-2015, 09:18 PM
You're blinkered and make no valid points what so ever. You don't agree with something so have denounced it attempting to justify your own feelings.

If you can't see any valid points then you're the one that's blinkered my friend.

"Support who you like" suits your team. That's the bottom line.

18-02-2015, 09:54 PM
If you can't see any valid points then you're the one that's blinkered my friend.

"Support who you like" suits your team. That's the bottom line.

Well that's convinced me!! You have not made any valid points only displayed your lack of understanding and tunnel vision.

I love your "that's the bottom line" answer, total nonsense like the rest of your reasoning. Carry on though if it makes you happy!

18-02-2015, 10:03 PM
Well that's convinced me!! You have not made any valid points only displayed your lack of understanding and tunnel vision.

I love your "that's the bottom line" answer, total nonsense like the rest of your reasoning. Carry on though if it makes you happy!

You seem to be accusing people of a lack of understanding.

Young kids are shunning Scottish football completely and supporting TV teams. Do you not understand how this will be bad for the Scottish game in the long run? If it continues then the rich will get richer and the little clubs will become an insignificance.

What exactly is it that you don't think WE understand?

Edit: for the record, you are the exact opposite of the people who I consider to be the problem so this is nothing personal.

18-02-2015, 10:30 PM
Wait a minute now you've put a different slant on the whole thing if you're talking about the lack of interest in the Scottish game from children and the knock on effect for the future of the game.

I never for one minute thought of this conversation as a personal thing so no worries there.

18-02-2015, 10:42 PM
Who needs your sympathy??? Support who you want as long as it's not a successful team or I'll call you a glory hunter :faf:

Stop pretending you don't get the point Scouse, you know exactly what I mean. I don't want Scottish fans choosing to support any teams outwith Scotland to the exclusion of giving their support to their local Scottish team, be that teams from England, Germany, Spain or the bloomin' Moon. And you know full well that 90 odd percent of those who choose to do so attach themselves to already successful clubs.

18-02-2015, 10:53 PM
Wait a minute now you've put a different slant on the whole thing if you're talking about the lack of interest in the Scottish game from children and the knock on effect for the future of the game.

I never for one minute thought of this conversation as a personal thing so no worries there.

That's where I've been coming from all along. Apologies if I haven't been clearer as I've probably been referring to points I've made on previous threads. Silly me.

As you know, kids have always chose English teams to be their "second" one. I grew up in the eighties and people mostly chose Liverpool, Everton or maybe United. It was fine as the only way you could watch a live match at the weekend was to actually go to a local team, thus strengthening your bond with them. We live in the digital age and the way we have watched football has changed...young kids are skipping the local outfit and getting their football fix from the big guns.

It's a depressing cycle as the rich will only get richer. It's probably too late but in an ideal world I'd like to have the majority of people from a certain area support their local team unless they have a sensible reason. I know it sounds dictatorial but football in Britain is lucky as it has so many clubs with so much tradition. Competition is also key to retaining interest and it's slowly being eroded by the imbalance of power.

The man city fan did make an excellent point earlier. Scottish football has done nothing to stop this and has preferred to concentrate their efforts on the big Glasgow clubs. Stifling competition in Scotland....that's the way to keep people interested. Not.

18-02-2015, 11:17 PM

Uberfan
Fanatic
Supporter
Part-timer
Cup final fan
Merchandise Fan
Fan

Not a bad list.

I'd put myself as part-timer for Hibs (not at as many games as I once was).

Probably merchandise fan for Sunderland (have a fondness due to family friends, buy the odd strip but don't really go to games).

18-02-2015, 11:25 PM
There is a load of crap posted on this thread. People support a club for a variety of reasons.

I support Manchester City, not because of their rise from mid-table sometimes relegation contenders to Champions League regulars. I have supported City since 1963 (when I was at school there and they were promptly relegated), some 25 years before moving up to Edinburgh.

You can't really blame people for turning their back on Scottish Football given the dire was it is administered and has been administered for the last thirty years. Left to themselves, the powers that be would have retained TheRangers in the Premiership. They have fallen over backwards to support the in firm to the detriment of the game. The TV deal with BSkyB was lost through greed and this accelerated the decline.

I can have a total lack of respect for them though. Who do you think consigned the Rangers to the outer limits in the end, yes fan pressure was a big factor, but the fact that that made a difference was a turning point. I love Hibs and for all its faults they play in Scottish football, if folk turn their backs on it then what happens to Hibs?

This is our football, so what do we do? Turn our backs on it. Turn our backs on a hundred odd years of history just because somebody else's grass is greener like a bunch of peasants with our noses pressed up against the rich mans window, all the time trying to justify what we have done by blaming the piss poor administration of the SFA / SPFL ...... Well screw that **** !!!

I love Hibs, I love Scottish football, and if that means I'm the last man standing at Easter Road 10 years from now after everybody else has buggered off to kiss the EPL arse then at least my conscience will be clear and I can walk away as they chain up the gates for the last time knowing I did my best to save them and Scottish football.

Like I said before ... I don't care if folk choose to pick a team from another country as a second team and take an interest in that teams fortunes. But when they are turning their backs on a Scottish team altogether to follow that club then they are not fit to call themselves football fans ..... because as far as I am concerned the phrase when attached to them loses all meaning.

1875STEVE
18-02-2015, 11:32 PM
I could flip this.

My mum was brought up in poppy thief household, all my uncle's, cousins etc are poppy thiefs.

Anyway, she met my dad, and now REALLY hates Hearts.

She has been to 3 Hibs games in her life.

Hibs 2-0 Dunfermline - Skol Cup Final
Hibs 6-2 Hearts
Hibs 5-1 Kilmarnock - CIS Cup Final

She surely has the best record ever?

I always try to get her a cup final ticket and drag her along.....

Nomeancity
19-02-2015, 06:58 AM

Im the opposite, if I'm watching hibs on the tv and they go in front I can't watch it. Switch it off and go away and do something else, usually the ironing!! Think my brain has been conditioned to think that more often than not hibs will lose a goal.

19-02-2015, 10:36 AM
Im the opposite, if I'm watching hibs on the tv and they go in front I can't watch it. Switch it off and go away and do something else, usually the ironing!! Think my brain has been conditioned to think that more often than not hibs will lose a goal.

Ha ha .... I'm a bit the same. I listen to a lot of games on the radio and if Hibs are one in front with a few minutes to go I have to fight the urge to turn it off coz if I stop listening we cant possibly lose a goal.

19-02-2015, 10:42 AM
At least the OP's brother doesn't leave early like the fair-weather tits at ER.

19-02-2015, 10:44 AM

He's right about LVG. The current football is slow, boring and not the way to win games in England.