View Full Version : FA Cup draw

16-02-2015, 07:44 PM
I thought Scottish football had the ownership on silly scheduling of cup draws but the FA Cup quarter final draw has just been made two minutes before the start of Preston v Manchester Utd!

I don't think I've ever seen that before!

Anyway, the draw is;

Liverpool v Blackburn
Bradford v Reading
Preston/Manchester Utd v Arsenal
Aston Villa v West Brom

Exciting tie awaits if Manchester Utd can beat Preston this evening.

16-02-2015, 07:54 PM
Pleasing.

16-02-2015, 08:18 PM
I thought Scottish football had the ownership on silly scheduling of cup draws but the FA Cup quarter final draw has just been made two minutes before the start of Preston v Manchester Utd!

I don't think I've ever seen that before!

Anyway, the draw is;

Liverpool v Blackburn
Bradford v Reading
Preston/Manchester Utd v Arsenal
Aston Villa v West Brom

Exciting tie awaits if Manchester Utd can beat Preston this evening.

Why is it silly? It's on Council telly, before a live match, and the fans of both teams in the ground, got to see it on tv screens, sounds fair enough to me.

16-02-2015, 08:21 PM
Why is it silly? It's on Council telly, before a live match, and the fans of both teams in the ground, got to see it on tv screens, sounds fair enough to me.

A cup draw should always take place after all ties have been played in my opinion.

If any ties go to replays or are postponed then fair enough but to hold the draw a couple of minutes before a match is just daft.

16-02-2015, 08:23 PM
A cup draw should always take place after all ties have been played in my opinion.

If any ties go to replays or are postponed then fair enough but to hold the draw a couple of minutes before a match is just daft.

Strangely enough I agree with you :greengrin

If the draw is to be held over until the Monday then at least do it after the remaining tie of the round, that would be the obvious progression of a cup draw to me.

16-02-2015, 08:23 PM
Man Utd are so dull to watch these days. Predictable and unimaginative build-up. The presence of Fellaini in the team sums it up.

16-02-2015, 08:25 PM
Is Prestons strip the same as our away top?

16-02-2015, 08:26 PM

Looks like it. It's Nike so probably from same template PB!

16-02-2015, 08:27 PM
Strangely enough I agree with you :greengrin

If the draw is to be held over until the Monday then at least do it after the remaining tie of the round, that would be the obvious progression of a cup draw to me.

Now I think about it, maybe holding the draw earlier wasn't such a bad idea after all! :greengrin

16-02-2015, 08:28 PM
Man Utd are so dull to watch these days. Predictable and unimaginative build-up. The presence of Fellaini in the team sums it up.

Come on Preston!

16-02-2015, 08:28 PM

Probably from the exact same sweat-shop where the workers are on a $1 a day and costs 40c to produce.

16-02-2015, 08:29 PM
Now I think about it, maybe holding the draw earlier wasn't such a bad idea after all! :greengrin

:take that

16-02-2015, 08:29 PM

One of the first times I have watched Man Utd properly this season, no imagination or energy at all. Its funny as they are playing a very similar system to us with the fullbacks pushing right up, somehow though they dont have the players to do it effectively.

Fellaini is just a big lump.

Rather have Lewis than Shaw ;)

16-02-2015, 08:31 PM
Wayne Rooney has been brutal all season. No different tonight.

16-02-2015, 08:34 PM
How are they 3rd in the EPL? They arnt very good at all.

Luke Shaw....what a waste of money.

16-02-2015, 08:36 PM

It must be the manager.

A team with Rooney, Di Maria, Hererra, Falcao shouldn't be this poor.

When was the last time Van Gaal left a job where he was considered a success? Barcelona fans were indifferent about him 1st time and hated him 2nd time, flopped with The Netherlands in 2002 when they failed to qualify for the WC, sacked by Bayern although he did win a league and bring in/through some good players, indifferent 2nd spell as Netherlands boss. It's probably as far back as AZ Alkmaar in 2009 and before that probably Ajax in the 90s.

16-02-2015, 08:36 PM
How are they 3rd in the EPL? They arnt very good at all.

Luke Shaw....what a waste of money.

Poor man's Lewis Stevenson

16-02-2015, 08:39 PM
As far as I can see the only guy on the bench to liven their side up is Mata. They used to have a bench of household names.

They'll probably get a late winner once PNE start to tire but I can't see Arsenal having much trouble with this lot.

16-02-2015, 08:46 PM
It must be the manager.

A team with Rooney, Di Maria, Hererra, Falcao shouldn't be this poor.

When was the last time Van Gaal left a job where he was considered a success? Barcelona fans were indifferent about him 1st time and hated him 2nd time, flopped with The Netherlands in 2002 when they failed to qualify for the WC, sacked by Bayern although he did win a league and bring in/through some good players, indifferent 2nd spell as Netherlands boss. It's probably as far back as AZ Alkmaar in 2009 and before that probably Ajax in the 90s.

Sounds like a certain gardener we know

16-02-2015, 08:50 PM
1-0 Preston and not undeserved.

Good goal, keeper should do better.

16-02-2015, 08:51 PM

1-0 Preston

semaj64
16-02-2015, 08:52 PM
1-0 Preston and not undeserved.

Good goal, keeper should do better.

Yes Man U playing their usual crap, cannot see who will bring them back into the game

16-02-2015, 08:53 PM
1-0 Preston

16-02-2015, 08:54 PM
How bad was Fellainis first touch just there? What was it they paid for him? £28M?

16-02-2015, 08:58 PM
How bad was Fellainis first touch just there? What was it they paid for him? £28M?

Everton did good business getting rid of him.

Oldies will remember a boxer called Joe Bugner. Fantastic physique, opponents cowering in the corner but somehow he just could not put them away!

16-02-2015, 08:58 PM
Man Utd are guff.

16-02-2015, 09:01 PM
Everton did good business getting rid of him.

Oldies will remember a boxer called Joe Bugner. Fantastic physique, opponents cowering in the corner but somehow he just could not put them away!

I'm only 47!

16-02-2015, 09:02 PM
Liverpool v Arsenal final. :tin hat:

16-02-2015, 09:03 PM
Fellaini and Rooney up top. Has Terry Butcher invested in a Van Gaal mask?

Hoooooooooooooooffffff

16-02-2015, 09:06 PM
I'm only 47!

That's not old at all!

Not at all. :wink:

16-02-2015, 09:07 PM
1-1, Herrera. :thumbsup:

Sioux
16-02-2015, 09:09 PM
Glad I punted a daft tenner at 3/1

16-02-2015, 09:11 PM
How can that not be offside? Rules make no sense.

If Rooney isn't there the keeper can dive early and save that, with Rooney there he has to stand up until it passes him in case he touches it.

16-02-2015, 09:14 PM
And how is that not a 2nd booking? That's a yellow card any day of the week. Refs bottled it.

16-02-2015, 09:14 PM

If Rooney isn't there the keeper can dive early and save that, with Rooney there he has to stand up until it passes him in case he touches it.

You're either offside or not. Rooney was off simple as that.

16-02-2015, 09:15 PM
2-1 United, Fellaini. :thumbsup:

Who's the summariser? Keeps banging on about "he didn't touch it so the goal has to stand." That's pish. Rooney is clearly interfering by standing right in front of the keeper. The summariser is ignorant. Bugger 2-1 now.

That would not be a goal in my book. So you can have guys standing like sentries around the goal area and that is okay? If Mr Rooney was right there next to my goalie I'd say he was a distraction at least, no?

I think we had a similar goal v Hearts some years ago at ER.

1-2 game over

2-1

16-02-2015, 09:19 PM
Linesman is a cheat!

16-02-2015, 09:24 PM
I backed Man U HT-FT, someone should've told them the game kicked off at 1945 not the back of 9! :-)

16-02-2015, 09:26 PM
Was Deepdale rebuilt about the same time as Tynecastle by any chance? Looks quite bus shelteresque.

Who's the summariser? Keeps banging on about "he didn't touch it so the goal has to stand." That's pish. Rooney is clearly interfering by standing right in front of the keeper. The summariser is ignorant. Bugger 2-1 now.

Been shouting at my TV!! Who is he and how can he not know the basic rules?! You don't have to touch the ball to be considered offside. Unbelievable that the BBC have someone summarising that doesn't know simple rules. Really bad!

I dunno who the pundit is with the commentator but he's really bigging up the United guys. Who is he?

16-02-2015, 09:27 PM
That would not be a goal in my book. So you can have guys standing like sentries around the goal area and that is okay? If Mr Rooney was right there next to my goalie I'd say he was a distraction at least, no?

I think we had a similar goal v Hearts some years ago at ER.

We did :agree:

A riordan strike that almost hit Fletcher on its way past Gordon. It was even more blatantly offside than tonight's.

16-02-2015, 09:28 PM
Martin Keown

Pundit is Martin Keown......and yes he doesn't have a scooby

I dunno who the pundit is with the commentator but he's really bigging up the United guys. Who is he?

Martin Keown

Ex Gunner Martin Keown:rolleyes:

16-02-2015, 09:29 PM
Been shouting at my TV!! Who is he and how can he not know the basic rules?! You don't have to touch the ball to be considered offside. Unbelievable that the BBC have someone summarising that doesn't know simple rules. Really bad!

Keeper could see the ball and it was there to be saved. Rooney was on his outside and wasn't impeding him or in the way of the ball.

Goals shouldn't be disallowed for simple technicalities. He wasn't actually interfering in a way that changed whether the ball went in or not.

16-02-2015, 09:29 PM
What the **** is the keeper thinking? Rush of blood to the head and then some.

16-02-2015, 09:30 PM
3-1 United, Rooney penalty.

16-02-2015, 09:30 PM
1-3. Game, set and match.

16-02-2015, 09:31 PM
Apparently Rooney's first shot on target in 2015!

It wasn't a penalty. No contact.

Old Big Ears can sure take a pen.

16-02-2015, 09:32 PM
Keeper could see the ball and it was there to be saved. Rooney was on his outside and wasn't impeding him or in the way of the ball.

Goals shouldn't be disallowed for simple technicalities. He wasn't actually interfering in a way that changed whether the ball went in or not.

That's not what I'm saying though! The summariser categorically stated-three times-that a goal CANNOT be disallowed for offside unless it hits the player in the offside position. That is utter balony!!

16-02-2015, 09:33 PM
What the **** is the keeper thinking? Rush of blood to the head and then some.

Mental decision

16-02-2015, 09:34 PM

You're right but why do players insist on giving refs decision like that to make? Balls going wide, 2 covering defenders and it's 70/30 against the keeper and he comes flying out and get's nowhere near the ball. Crazy decision making.

16-02-2015, 09:35 PM
Still fancy Arsenal to win the .fa cup

16-02-2015, 09:36 PM

I fancy arsenal to tuck this shower away that's for sure.

16-02-2015, 09:36 PM

That's where my money would be going.

16-02-2015, 09:37 PM
Hope Liverpool win it. Think Rodgers style and approach deserves a trophy.

Them or Bradford :)

If I was a ref it would have to be absolutely stick on before I gave a penalty. All the players are at it and expert in diving.

There was no contact there and Rooney just "decided" to throw himself to the ground. Come to think of it PNE have been hard done by tonight.

It can still be a penalty. The player had to take action to get out the way. The challenge wasn't getting the ball.

Preston fans have been incredible, hats off to them.

16-02-2015, 09:38 PM
Full time, Preston 1-3 Manchester Utd.

Good, professional display.:agree:

16-02-2015, 09:38 PM

The keeper would argue he hasn't dived early because he was distracted waiting to see if Rooney attempts to divert the ball. Poor deicison by ref/lino

16-02-2015, 09:39 PM

The only reason there wasn't contact was that Rooney jumped over the keepers ridiculous attempt at getting the ball. Is he meant to stand and let the keeper wipe him out. It was a clear penalty.

16-02-2015, 09:40 PM
It can still be a penalty. The player had to take action to get out the way. The challenge wasn't getting the ball.

Nah, rooney knew what he was doing.

16-02-2015, 09:42 PM

Could have carried on after the jump. Drags his toes to go down.

16-02-2015, 09:42 PM
Even still, oor Lewie has scored more goals than Rooney this year :thumbsup:

16-02-2015, 09:47 PM

He did yeah. He was reacting to a daft challenge. Certain penalty.

16-02-2015, 09:48 PM
The keeper would argue he hasn't dived early because he was distracted waiting to see if Rooney attempts to divert the ball. Poor deicison by ref/lino

Preston manager having seen it also conceding he wasn't interfering. Keeper should have carried on and done better.

1987kev
16-02-2015, 09:50 PM
It was a clear dive. well done kevin kilbane for sayin it was dive Roy and Phil can get to ****

16-02-2015, 09:52 PM
Preston manager having seen it also conceding he wasn't interfering. Keeper should have carried on and done better.

No. He conceded he wasn't in the keeper's line of sight.

16-02-2015, 09:54 PM
No. He conceded he wasn't in the keeper's line of sight.

Which is what I've said.

His words were actually: Our players thought Wayne Rooney was in the way for their first goal but we can see that he wasn't.

StevieT
16-02-2015, 09:59 PM
If it was a game I was refereeing I'd give offside. If Rooney isn't there then the goalkeeper has a good chance of saving the shot. The fact that Rooney is there means that the keeper has to wait to see if Rooney touches the ball before he can dive. Therefore Rooney is interfering with an opponent and so offside.

16-02-2015, 10:03 PM
The only reason there wasn't contact was that Rooney jumped over the keepers ridiculous attempt at getting the ball. Is he meant to stand and let the keeper wipe him out. It was a clear penalty.

He didnt jump over anything, and the keeper didnt wipe him out. He got there first and threw himself down. If that was Di Maria or Fellaini, the chat in that studio would be going a whole lot differently.

16-02-2015, 10:05 PM

Surely by definition, going down, when you don't have to, is a dive. There was nae contact and he didnt lost his balance, he chose to go down. Its a dive.

16-02-2015, 10:07 PM
If it was a game I was refereeing I'd give offside. If Rooney isn't there then the goalkeeper has a good chance of saving the shot. The fact that Rooney is there means that the keeper has to wait to see if Rooney touches the ball before he can dive. Therefore Rooney is interfering with an opponent and so offside.

And you would be making the wrong decision, he wasn't in the keepers line of sight therefore he was not interfering with the play, it's not Rooney's fault the keeper didn't dive. Phil Dowd was I now realise 100% correct in his decision.

16-02-2015, 10:08 PM
rooney= dive, 110% FACT and end of, if he was heading in on goal outside the box he would have jumped over just the same and carried on towards goal, but the poor wee boy decided to collapse, shameful

16-02-2015, 10:09 PM
And you would be making the wrong decision, he wasn't in the keepers line of sight therefore he was not interfering with the play, it's not Rooney's fault the keeper didn't dive. Phil Dowd was I now realise 100% correct in his decision.

It's the same as saying "play the whistle". He should stop where the ball is going, if Rooney then puts out a foot and diverts it the other way then the flag would (probably) have gone up.

16-02-2015, 10:53 PM
Just watched it.

Dive. Absolutely.

16-02-2015, 11:08 PM
Just watched it.

Dive. Absolutely.

Doesn't stop it being a penalty and a booking.

Paul Barnes ‏@STVPaul (https://twitter.com/STVPaul) 21m21 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/STVPaul/status/567454343390330882)
Re ManU pen, those who don't know th rules claiming it shouldnt have been given - Law 12 "Trips or attempts to trip" http://www.fifa.com/mm/document/afdeveloping/refereeing/law_12_fouls_misconduct_en_47379.pdf … (http://t.co/z4XjyvcQiM)

17-02-2015, 09:59 AM
One way or another Rooney seems to have been the MoM after a rotten first half!

17-02-2015, 10:32 AM
He didnt jump over anything, and the keeper didnt wipe him out. He got there first and threw himself down. If that was Di Maria or Fellaini, the chat in that studio would be going a whole lot differently.

Agreed, all this fawning over Hodgson by Lineker was embarrassing to say the least, just tell it like it was Gary it was a dive and he was offside in the goal incidents, stop treating Ronney like he is God's gift to England, cause he ain't!

17-02-2015, 10:49 AM

The keeper should know the rules too, so he should know that if Rooney touches it, he's offside, so he should just concentrate on saving the shot. IMHO it should only be given offside if the player is obstructing the line of vision or attempting to play the ball. Rooney very sensibly pulled in his arms and legs and made a show of being "neutral"..obviously had no intention of playing the ball.

pontius pilate
17-02-2015, 11:06 AM
My tuppence worth the first goal is correct and should have stood Rooney was not interfering with play and therefore the goal is good. However the penalty incident for me isn't a penalty it's a dive and if it had been Costa Adebayor or any other foreigner they would ha e said it was a dive and for Roy to say he took evasive action that's a joke in itself. Rooney dived and the keeper made a genuine attempt to play the ball

17-02-2015, 01:07 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/31036078

From evasive action through to a definite dive, Wayne Rooney's penalty incident against Preston on Monday night (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/31496410) has brought the issue of simulation back into the headlines

that michael owen dive always cracks me up, terrible acting, jurgen Klinsmann really should have got some kind of award for his cringeworthy dive

Former Crystal Palace striker Mark Bright: (https://twitter.com/Mark__Bright/status/567437748450385920) "Can't wait to hear what Rooney says as the captain of Man Utd about that penalty. #Dive all day long."

Ex-Southampton forward Matt Le Tissier: (https://twitter.com/mattletiss7/status/567438796925702147) "It was entirely feasible to have stayed on his feet and avoid the poor challenge from keeper. He chose to dive and conned the ref."

Trevor Sinclair, (https://twitter.com/trevor8sinclair/status/567436085945708544) former England, Manchester City and QPR winger: "Rooney dive but every right to #suicidalkeeping #gameover"

Former Aston Villa, Liverpool and England forward Stan Collymore: (https://twitter.com/StanCollymore)"Blatant dive. No contact whatsoever. Sad to see."

Keith Gillespie, (https://twitter.com/KeithGillespie7/status/567625344505499648) ex-Manchester United and Newcastle winger: "Let's be honest Rooney took advantage of the situation. He made an instant decision and had to stand by it. Happens every week."

17-02-2015, 01:11 PM
You're either offside or not. Rooney was off simple as that.

No he wasn't.

17-02-2015, 01:12 PM

He wasn't standing right in front of the goalkeeper though.

17-02-2015, 01:19 PM
If I was a ref it would have to be absolutely stick on before I gave a penalty. All the players are at it and expert in diving.

There was no contact there and Rooney just "decided" to throw himself to the ground. Come to think of it PNE have been hard done by tonight.

How do you come to that conclusion, they should have been down to 10 men but the ref bottled it by not sending off Kevin Davies for his second bookable offence.

17-02-2015, 01:22 PM
He did yeah. He was reacting to a daft challenge. Certain penalty.

If Rooney doesn't hurdle that challenge he gets his leg broken, stupid by the goalkeeeper and gave the ref a decision to make, penalty.

17-02-2015, 01:25 PM

The only way Rooney gets called offside is if he touches the ball, he never he let the ball go past him and the goalie was to slow to react, the rules say he isn't offside.