View Full Version : Deeks to livi or maybe East Fife ?

16-02-2015, 12:45 PM
Heard he scored 2 in a bounce game last week and Burchills keen to sort him a deal.

Hope he can get back playing and scoring regularly. Except against us of course..

16-02-2015, 12:57 PM
Heard he scored 2 in a bounce game last week and Burchills keen to sort him a deal.

Hope he can get back playing and scoring regularly. Except against us of course..

Can't see that being a success as he's not played regularly for too long.

If, and it's a massive if, he could get fully fit he would still do a job for lower league teams. But then we said that when he went to Bristol Rovers, and then Alloa and then Brechin City...

Hibs legend though, so I hope he proves me wrong.

16-02-2015, 01:15 PM
OK. Who's going to be the first to suggest it?
I'm steering clear of the backlash tee-hee :greengrin

16-02-2015, 01:17 PM
Hope he destroys the huns next season in the championship :-) LEGEND

16-02-2015, 02:04 PM
He was too good to be lost to the game so young. I hope it works out. Nobody can dispute his scoring contribution for us.

16-02-2015, 03:21 PM
Would love to be able to welcome him back to Easter Road when Livi next come. As long as he doesn't score a winner or equaliser against us that is.

16-02-2015, 04:17 PM
Would love to be able to welcome him back to Easter Road when Livi next come. As long as he doesn't score a winner or equaliser against us that is.

That's a foregone conclusion :greengrin

16-02-2015, 04:24 PM
Can't see that being a success as he's not played regularly for too long.

If, and it's a massive if, he could get fully fit he would still do a job for lower league teams. But then we said that when he went to Bristol Rovers, and then Alloa and then Brechin City...

Hibs legend though, so I hope he proves me wrong.

I hope he proves us wrong as well, but I made a right tit of myself talking him up and telling a bunch of Bristol Rovers fans I know that he would score goals for fun for them and that he was a fantastic signing..three months later..12 appearances later and no goals later I looked a bit of an idiot.

16-02-2015, 04:28 PM

At least you didn't ask if he could still do a job for us.:whistle:

16-02-2015, 05:08 PM
Deek is unfit and uninterested

16-02-2015, 05:12 PM
Unfit and uninterested

Aye, but what are your thoughts on Deek?

16-02-2015, 05:17 PM

Love the guy to bits mate . Give anything to see him back home and back to his best .

16-02-2015, 05:27 PM

16-02-2015, 06:00 PM

Reckon he could still do a job for us....

:greengrin:greengrin

16-02-2015, 06:05 PM
I'd love to see Deek get another go at full time football ! Good luck to him

16-02-2015, 06:35 PM

16-02-2015, 06:39 PM
But only o.g.'s against us, please.

17-02-2015, 07:59 AM
Good luck to him. Nap to score against us. :greengrin

17-02-2015, 08:28 AM
Its a shame he never had the career he should have had. A fantastic talent that wasted his potential warming the bench for celtic. Hopefully he can get himself back fit again and playing regular football.

17-02-2015, 09:06 AM
Hibs Legend and always will be in my eyes.

Hope it works out for him.

17-02-2015, 09:26 AM
Legend😪💚

http://youtu.be/3ACdH__eWRc

Northern Hibby
17-02-2015, 11:52 AM
Legend

loved that, so many times he didn't even take a touch just hit it 1st time, absolute legend, in future there will be the inevitable legends team playing and I'll crawl over broken glass to see Deeks kiss the Badge just 1 more time

17-02-2015, 12:02 PM
Legend😪💚

I could watch that chip over Forster for hours on end.

17-02-2015, 12:47 PM
I could watch that chip over Forster for hours on end.

The left footed half volley into the bottom right against Celtic a couple back from that one is such a good goal as well.

He should still be here. 😞

17-02-2015, 02:11 PM
Good luck to Deek. Given the length of time he hasn't played, I doubt he will get back into football, but I hope for his sake that he can.

18-02-2015, 06:00 AM
god I miss him.

18-02-2015, 06:38 AM
What a talented boy he was.

I wish it weren't so but I just can't see him playing football at this level again.

rosco-hibee
18-02-2015, 08:51 AM
That montage gave me goosebumps, love watching Riordan doing what he does best. I was in the Celtic end for that finish over Forster, and it took all my will power not to jump about like a lunatic.

Riordan isn't finished yet, but what he needs is to get the head down, work hard on fitness, but I think most of all to get the love of the game back. Natural talent like he has doesn't just disappear...

18-02-2015, 09:03 AM
What a montage. Incredible. His free kicks were a thing of beauty. Such a legend. Just a shame that at 31 he should be leading our line still and scoring for fun in this league we're in

Dan Sarf
18-02-2015, 09:26 AM
Legend

What a game! Why did the opposition keep changing their shirts? :flag:

18-02-2015, 09:58 AM
Legend

God,THAT is an absolute joy to watch - 100% pure-class !!

And yet it's also so heart-wrenching that he never quite reached the levels his God-given talent deserved - tragic that his head could never cope with what his feet had !!. And as for Septic - yet again, they stole another young Scottish-talent and snuffed it out in case another team (and at that time, it was US !!) actually DID provide the 'competition' they constantly moan our game doesn't give them !!

23-02-2015, 11:20 PM
He is set to play for east fife tomorrow

24-02-2015, 09:17 AM
He is set to play for east fife tomorrow

Is it not East Stirling?

24-02-2015, 09:34 AM
Is it not East Stirling?

No East Fife, but it's against East Stirling

WillowbraeHibby
24-02-2015, 09:52 AM
Another talented laddie who was well appreciated at Easter Road, and looking back, would probably have wished he had never left.

What a player though, just a joy to watch.... :agree:

24-02-2015, 10:05 AM
Another talented laddie who was well appreciated at Easter Road, and looking back, would probably have wished he had never left.

I listened to Tam McManus say the same thing

24-02-2015, 10:15 AM

I'm sure he wishes he hadn't gone for the "big money" and opted for a long career instead.

WillowbraeHibby
24-02-2015, 10:51 AM
I listened to Tam McManus say the same thing

Aye, he was honest enough to admit it.... Another good laddie was Tam.

WillowbraeHibby
24-02-2015, 10:54 AM
I'm sure he wishes he hadn't gone for the "big money" and opted for a long career instead.

I have no doubts he would still have been "Banging them in" had he stayed with us... (Maybe no for the 90 mins though) :greengrin

Robinho08
24-02-2015, 11:18 AM

What age is he now, 31/32? Must be another couple seasons in him.

24-02-2015, 11:43 AM
Legend😪💚

Brilliant BMD . Be hard to pick a favourite out of that montage ,
Total LEGEND .thanks for the memory's Deek

24-02-2015, 11:56 AM

Hmm, didnt have anything to do with Saint Tony of Mowbray did it?

After all, he needed time to "evaluate" our top scorer and best player, putting the contract offer on hold and the rest is history.

I wish Riordan all the best. You will struggle to find a better goalscorer who is also a Hibs fan AND who despises the yams playing today.:aok:

24-02-2015, 01:01 PM
I wish Riordan all the best. You will struggle to find a better goalscorer who is also a Hibs fan AND who despises the yams playing today.:aok:

Leigh?

24-02-2015, 01:03 PM
Leigh?

Riordan for me.

24-02-2015, 01:08 PM
Riordan for me.

I agree. Deek always #1 on all 3.
Just suggesting Leigh as an alternative. Think he passes on all 3 counts :greengrin

24-02-2015, 01:14 PM
Just suggesting Leigh as an alternative. Think he passes on all 3 counts :greengrin

For sure :agree::greengrin

Derek Riordan has always been my favourite ever hibs player. Sheer class.

24-02-2015, 04:24 PM

Don't disagree with Riordan as far as favourite ever GOAL SCORER but you've opened a whole new can of worms when it comes to favourite EVER player. :wink:

Pat Stanton gets my vote all day on that one. :greengrin

24-02-2015, 04:29 PM
Hmm, didnt have anything to do with Saint Tony of Mowbray did it?

After all, he needed time to "evaluate" our top scorer and best player, putting the contract offer on hold and the rest is history.

Mowbray was just in the door and quite rightly wanted to evaluate the squad before his budget was used.
He then decided he did want the player but said player decided against it.

24-02-2015, 04:30 PM

:agree: the guy was sublime at times.

24-02-2015, 04:32 PM
Heard G'OC has been transfer listed by Selkirk. Anyone able to confirm or is it just bollocks?

24-02-2015, 04:34 PM
Don't disagree with Riordan as far as favourite ever GOAL SCORER but you've opened a whole new can of worms when it comes to favourite EVER player. :wink:

Pat Stanton gets my vote all day on that one. :greengrin

But i'm only 38:wink:

Left foot , Right foot it didn't matter to Riordan..2 yards or 30 yards it was so easy for him.

One particular goal that will stand out for me apart from every other goal was against Hearts at Easter rd where he burst it from FULLY 30 yards against Hearts at the away end where 11 million goalkeeper Craig Gordon got NOWHERE near it. Pick it out!

Over 100 goals for Hibs in my lifetime? Has to go down as the best ever hibs player in MY lifetime.

WillowbraeHibby
24-02-2015, 05:00 PM
Heard G'OC has been transfer listed by Selkirk. Anyone able to confirm or is it just bollocks?

Appears to be true, I noticed it on twitter...

hibeesboii
24-02-2015, 06:17 PM
Is he in the team tonight can't find any team news for the game?

24-02-2015, 07:04 PM

Really sad if true.

24-02-2015, 07:20 PM

After recent posite stories about how he was doing a lot better the most recent incident when he ran into the back of a Hearse with his car made me wonder how he was doing . If true there is no where else for him to go you would think , really is a waste of talent

24-02-2015, 07:23 PM
Is he in the team tonight can't find any team news for the game?

On the bench

24-02-2015, 07:45 PM
Legend😪💚

Absolutely loved that video. We were truly privileged.

24-02-2015, 08:54 PM
He got half an hour

GordonR
24-02-2015, 09:41 PM
GOC transfer rumour:http://m.selkirkweekendadvertiser.co.uk/sport/football/move-afoot-for-garry-1-3695395

No mention of a comedy collision with a hearse, alas.

hibeemikey21
24-02-2015, 09:54 PM

As a goalscorer, Leigh is surely ahead of Deeks, no? Scored more in one season than Riordan did and will definitely out-score him in his career and will play/has played at a higher level (champs league, more international recognition)

Not a dig at Riordan, just Leigh is undeniably a better player/goalscorer in my eyes

24-02-2015, 11:20 PM
He got half an hour

He did, got a assist for the second goal, looked sharp and was hacked down as he was through on goal and clear red card but ref showed yellow.

Seemingly left the ground straight after the game to rush home.

https://twitter.com/ScottInglisEFM/status/570347888292671488

25-02-2015, 01:21 AM
He did, got a assist for the second goal, looked sharp and was hacked down as he was through on goal and clear red card but ref showed yellow.

Congratulations to him! :greengrin

25-02-2015, 06:31 AM
Well in Deek

TowerHibs
25-02-2015, 07:52 AM
Yes Deek. Good friend growing up and hero player as a supporter. Truely some great moments in that video.

What a player

25-02-2015, 08:04 AM
Glad he's doing well. Great great player.

Deek01
25-02-2015, 08:33 AM
@Selkirk5: Selkirk FC would like to confirm that Garry OConnor is not on the transfer list and is staying at the club.

25-02-2015, 10:55 AM
@Selkirk5: Selkirk FC would like to confirm that Garry OConnor is not on the transfer list and is staying at the club.
Good news.
Whoever started the rumour in the Advertiser must have been talking oot their hearse.

25-02-2015, 11:41 AM
Good news.
Whoever started the rumour in the Advertiser must have been talking oot their hearse.

Yep. That rumour is now dead, as is the man who created throat lozenges. There's to be no coffin at his funeral.

25-02-2015, 12:35 PM

Good to see them both back in the game. If they had both made better decisions they would have gone much further but what happened happened, just nice to see them back doing what they love and what they are good at. O'Conner should perhaps take up a role advising young players to stay away from drugs, using himself as an example of how getting caught up in drugs can be so damaging. If one good thing can come out of his story its that it can be used to keep another young talent from wasting his career.

25-02-2015, 04:48 PM

Said after the game he wants to play at a higher level

25-02-2015, 04:53 PM

Whilst I would love to see him play at a higher level, he would be better playing at any level than sitting on his arse.

At least doing so would get him fit and prove he had something still to offer.

25-02-2015, 05:46 PM

He never spoke to anyone after the game, straight in to the car after the game finished, he did smell a bit though.

Was it Naismith that said something about this, could alert other clubs, Livi manager still wants to sign him but the problem is the owner, that would be a higher level. :greengrin

Highlights of game and interview with East Fife manager.

https://twitter.com/eastfifefc

25-02-2015, 05:54 PM
He never spoke to anyone after the game, straight in to the car after the game finished, he did smell a bit though.

Was it Naismith that said something about this, could alert other clubs, Livi manager still wants to sign him but the problem is the owner, that would be a higher level. :greengrin

Highlights of game and interview with East Fife manager.

He said he would help EF out but wants fulltime football . It was before the game

25-02-2015, 06:30 PM
He never spoke to anyone after the game, straight in to the car after the game finished, he did smell a bit though. Was it Naismith that said something about this, could alert other clubs, Livi manager still wants to sign him but the problem is the owner, that would be a higher level. :greengrin Highlights of game and interview with East Fife manager. https://twitter.com/eastfifefc

Might have to venture down and see if I can see the legend!! Live ten mins walk from New Bayview!

Better watch I don't get done for stalking him?? ;-)

I'll just do a bit of name dropping?? :-)

25-02-2015, 06:57 PM
Might have to venture down and see if I can see the legend!! Live ten mins walk from New Bayview!

Better watch I don't get done for stalking him?? ;-)

I'll just do a bit of name dropping?? :-)

Let me know when you're going Aldo ill get you in for nowt

25-02-2015, 06:59 PM

Ah a man ITK. I know a few down there masel including the official photographer.

Aye would be great Ta.

25-02-2015, 07:24 PM
Ah a man ITK. I know a few down there masel including the official photographer.

Aye would be great Ta.

My uncle had a free season ticket as was in his 80 s was a regular till he died last year Even had his name on his seat . When did you change avatar ,that's how I knew it was you posting

25-02-2015, 07:30 PM
My uncle had a free season ticket as was in his 80 s was a regular till he died last year Even had his name on his seat . When did you change avatar ,that's how I knew it was you posting

That's brilliant Ronnie. Had been to the old view quite a few times (Hospitality tent/lean too) with wife's Grandad as he knew the then chairman. Pal of mine used to play for them as well .... Stevie Hutcheon.

Changed it last week as there are another couple of posters (or there were anyway) with Peter as Avatars do decided to change it.

You no like it??

25-02-2015, 07:32 PM
That's brilliant Ronnie. Had been to the old view quite a few times (Hospitality tent/lean too) with wife's Grandad as he knew the then chairman. Pal of mine used to play for them as well .... Stevie Hutcheon.

Changed it last week as there are another couple of posters (or there were anyway) with Peter as Avatars do decided to change it.

You no like it??
Reminds me of you at the Livingston game before we scored:agree:

25-02-2015, 07:42 PM
Reminds me of you at the Livingston game before we scored:agree:

What the Peter one or the Incredible Hulk Minion. ;-) (or a bit of both)

Ps wasn't that scary I hope. Lol!!

25-02-2015, 07:48 PM

Whit aboot me neebs. :greengrin

25-02-2015, 07:49 PM
Whit aboot me neebs. :greengrin

Could we no get in the father and son gate?? ;-)

25-02-2015, 07:58 PM
Could we no get in the father and son gate?? ;-)

Who is who though. :greengrin

25-02-2015, 08:02 PM
Who is who though. :greengrin

Tough wan. No much in it tho but you win Paw by default only COs of 2 years older I believe??

We could always make it Grandad and lad?? :-)

25-02-2015, 08:07 PM
Tough wan. No much in it tho but you win Paw by default only COs of 2 years older I believe??

We could always make it Grandad and lad?? :-)

Will get the flat cap and pipe dug out. :greengrin

25-02-2015, 08:09 PM
Will get the flat cap and pipe dug out. :greengrin

That's the spirit! Whit about yur Baffies?? ;-)

25-02-2015, 08:14 PM
http://www.newwaveinstruments.com/humor/misc/computer_grief_images/computer_grief.gif

Would Silver and Aldo please take their chat elsewhere? :greengrin

25-02-2015, 08:16 PM

Mmmmm!! What you saying Gif boy!! Respect your elders sonny!! ;-)

25-02-2015, 08:32 PM
http://www.newwaveinstruments.com/humor/misc/computer_grief_images/computer_grief.gif

Gif boy, here you go, just for you.

https://kidfromthe6ix.files.wordpress.com/2014/10/boy-dark-depressed-sad-favim-com-232539.gif

25-02-2015, 08:42 PM

https://kidfromthe6ix.files.wordpress.com/2014/10/boy-dark-depressed-sad-favim-com-232539.gif

Harsh but fair

IrnBru22
25-02-2015, 10:13 PM
Notice Deek is still wearing the same total90 boots he had about 10 years ago

Deek01
25-02-2015, 10:20 PM

I love all models of they boots !!

25-02-2015, 10:43 PM

I believe he bought a few pairs of they boots many years ago, buy yeah they were the ones he wore when he played for Hibs.

25-02-2015, 11:53 PM
I believe he bought a few pairs of they boots many years ago, buy yeah they were the ones he wore when he played for Hibs.

What size boots is he? Been looking for a pair of them for years. :greengrin

IrnBru22
26-02-2015, 01:08 AM

8 :aok:

26-02-2015, 06:18 AM

Brilliant Silver, Brilliant!

26-02-2015, 10:10 AM
Brilliant Silver, Brilliant!

Gif boy needs to be put in his place every now and then bud, last night was one of these times. :greengrin

26-02-2015, 10:11 AM

I'll go a size 7. :thumbsup:

26-02-2015, 10:38 AM
He should let me make a donation to a charity of his choice when he retires so I can put them in a glass display case :wink::greengrin

He must've scored the majority of his goals for Hibs wearing those bad boys :agree:

26-02-2015, 11:26 AM
Gif boy needs to be put in his place every now and then bud, last night was one of these times. :greengrin

I must admit it did make me laugh!! ;-)

26-02-2015, 09:30 PM

Aw the time :greengrin

4 Front Teeth
28-02-2015, 04:10 PM
Was it him that scored today? I think there were two trialists last week....

28-02-2015, 04:18 PM
Sure was

28-02-2015, 04:24 PM
Sure was

Superb!

28-02-2015, 04:27 PM
Superb!

It's been a good week for him, nice wee flick to get last minute winner.

28-02-2015, 04:32 PM

Excellent Silver.

28-02-2015, 05:31 PM

Superb!

28-02-2015, 05:46 PM

Is the baby here yet? :greengrin

28-02-2015, 05:50 PM

Yes. Called it 3pm.

28-02-2015, 05:51 PM
Yes. Called it 3pm.

Cool :tee hee:

28-02-2015, 05:59 PM

Yes. Called it Casper.

28-02-2015, 06:15 PM
Delighted to hear deeks is back on the goal trail. Hope he gets somewhere permanent fixed up.

28-02-2015, 07:47 PM

I guess he won't be turning out for me then!

28-02-2015, 07:48 PM

Have you tried Leigh?

28-02-2015, 07:51 PM
Have you tried Leigh?

Leigh? :hyper

28-02-2015, 08:12 PM
Have you tried Leigh?

Was Griffiths left out of the Celtc squad against Milan. ?

28-02-2015, 08:14 PM

Got injured in training at the San Siro the day before the game.

28-02-2015, 08:14 PM

Injured his ankle in training the day before

28-02-2015, 08:15 PM

Sadly not Hay, but as you know football is a funny old game so anything could happen. :thumbsup:

28-02-2015, 08:16 PM
Sure was

Were you at the game by any chance. ?

28-02-2015, 08:16 PM
Sadly not Hay, but as you know football is a funny old game so anything could happen. :thumbsup:

Well I ****ing need him! :greengrin

28-02-2015, 09:03 PM
Got injured in training at the San Siro the day before the game.

Wondered why i never heard him involved in the game. :aok:

28-02-2015, 09:08 PM
Well I ****ing need him! :greengrin

The Don will have the final say. :wink: :agree: :greengrin

28-02-2015, 09:15 PM

And The Dons word is final. :greengrin

28-02-2015, 09:16 PM

He tried like f... the day , really enjoyed his goal a great guy tae . That was the text i just got . Naismith desperate to sign him

andrew70
28-02-2015, 09:20 PM

Heard Bitton tackled him and he has fractured his foot. Hope not for his sake as he was just beginning to take his chance.

28-02-2015, 09:33 PM
He tried like f... the day , really enjoyed his goal a great guy tae . That was the text i just got . Naismith desperate to sign him

https://vimeo.com/120893567

:agree: He is.

28-02-2015, 09:40 PM

And a nice wee touch at the end from the folk at East Fife with a present for Deeks new born baby.

Fans were great with him today and when he got his goal the whole team went and celebrated with him which showed a togetherness from the players, and you could see how much he enjoyed that goal today, he speaks very highly of Naismith. :aok:

28-02-2015, 09:43 PM
Heard Bitton tackled him and he has fractured his foot. Hope not for his sake as he was just beginning to take his chance.

Not good to hear, hope he recovers from it and is back soon.

28-02-2015, 09:44 PM
And a nice wee touch at the end from the folk at East Fife with a present for Deeks new born baby.

Fans were great with him today and when he got his goal the whole team went and celebrated with him which showed a togetherness from the players, and you could see how much he enjoyed that goal today, he speaks very highly of Naismith. :aok:

Chuffed to bits for him P :thumbsup:

28-02-2015, 09:58 PM

Cheers J. :aok:

andrew70
28-02-2015, 10:05 PM

I echo this. Delighted to hear Deek is back doing what he does best.

28-02-2015, 11:19 PM
I echo this. Delighted to hear Deek is back doing what he does best.

Isn't it great, a natural goalscorer doing what he does best - who knows where it might take him to if he sticks at it? Mon the trialist..............:thumbsup:

28-02-2015, 11:27 PM
Well done to Deek. Some might consider it Mickey Mouse but clearly a former internationalist and guy with more than 100 top flight goals, takes it seriously enough to have the hunger to be out there doing it. Keep it up ya legend.

28-02-2015, 11:51 PM

My mates laddie's a Hibee . It's like a dream come true for him sitting and playing beside his hero :greengrin

andrew70
01-03-2015, 10:31 AM

Well this clearly never happened seeing as he starts today

01-03-2015, 04:35 PM
https://vimeo.com/120937361

01-03-2015, 04:53 PM
As a goalscorer, Leigh is surely ahead of Deeks, no? Scored more in one season than Riordan did and will definitely out-score him in his career and will play/has played at a higher level (champs league, more international recognition)

Not a dig at Riordan, just Leigh is undeniably a better player/goalscorer in my eyes

One of them was signed for Hibs and played for several seasons, scoring over 100 goals. One of them had two (?) loan spells, when his career was stalling elsewhere, during which he had one good season. Both great talents and both Hibs fans, but if you're comparing who gave more to Hibs, then there's no comparison. Riordan for me. If LG ever actually signs for Hibs as a Hibs player and not on loan, then I'm sure he will have a decent crack at emulating what Riordan gave us.

01-03-2015, 08:19 PM
https://vimeo.com/120937361

Cheers Fraz :thumbsup:

Elgin on Tuesday night for him. :greengrin

Anyone know best way to get up there, A9 or Aberdeen way. :thumbsup: :aok:

01-03-2015, 08:24 PM

The few times I've been up there on business, I've gone up the A9, just after Aviemore, take the A95. Not the greatest way in the dark though. Might be worth coming back the Aberdeen rd in the dark

01-03-2015, 09:08 PM
The few times I've been up there on business, I've gone up the A9, just after Aviemore, take the A95. Not the greatest way in the dark though. Might be worth coming back the Aberdeen rd in the dark

That was my thoughts as well, cheers for the advice Billy. :aok:

hibeesboii
01-03-2015, 09:12 PM
I live just 10 mins outside Elgin will deeks definitely be playing? Might go and watch if he is.

01-03-2015, 09:29 PM

A9 , pick me up on the way :greengrin

01-03-2015, 10:08 PM
I live just 10 mins outside Elgin will deeks definitely be playing? Might go and watch if he is.

He will play, East Fife striker took a knock in the last ten minutes on Saturday and looked a sore one, so good chance Deek may even start the game.

01-03-2015, 10:10 PM
A9 , pick me up on the way :greengrin

At the big hoose. :greengrin

01-03-2015, 10:37 PM
Legend

Thanks for sharing. The Mowbray era was a great time to be a hibee.

DR always had amazing ability to place the ball and the majority of his goals from distance weren't pile drivers. I also can't remember him scoring so many penalties. Hope he does well at his new club.

hibeesboii
01-03-2015, 10:38 PM
He will play, East Fife striker took a knock in the last ten minutes on Saturday and looked a sore one, so good chance Deek may even start the game.

Cheers think I will try go to the game and see how he does

01-03-2015, 10:49 PM
Cheers think I will try go to the game and see how he does

Good stuff.

01-03-2015, 11:21 PM
Good luck Deeks. Hibs legend.

01-03-2015, 11:36 PM
Thanks for sharing. The Mowbray era was a great time to be a hibee.

DR always had amazing ability to place the ball and the majority of his goals from distance weren't pile drivers. I also can't remember him scoring so many penalties. Hope he does well at his new club.

4 YPOTM awards in one season as well, 2004, eight seasons with the club and he finished top goal scorer in six of them and scored 17 goals from midfield when Stokes finished top goal scorer as striker that season, he got 3 in his first season, and of course 104 goals for the club he was brought up supporting, dreams do come true, stick in kids.

01-03-2015, 11:44 PM
4 YPOTM awards in one season as well, 2004, eight seasons with the club and he finished top goal scorer in six of them and scored 17 goals from midfield when Stokes finished top goal scorer as striker that season, he got 3 in his first season, and of course 104 goals for the club he was brought up supporting, dreams do come true, stick in kids.

Currently 104 goals Silver. Currently.

Next season he will add to that. :greengrin

01-03-2015, 11:48 PM
4 YPOTM awards in one season as well, 2004, eight seasons with the club and he finished top goal scorer in six of them and scored 17 goals from midfield when Stokes finished top goal scorer as striker that season, he got 3 in his first season, and of course 104 goals for the club he was brought up supporting, dreams do come true, stick in kids.Wasted talent according to some though!

02-03-2015, 12:12 AM
At the big hoose. :greengrin

Front gate :greengrin

02-03-2015, 06:45 AM
great to see Deeks doing what he has always done best.

02-03-2015, 07:46 AM
Delighted to see Deek back

I would be very surprised if I ever saw someone score as many goals for Hibs again and whilst there were some screamers, there were lots of different types of finishes amongst them. That's the mark of a true goal scorer

What's got him back into football this time after such a long break Silver?

Is it the realisation that he has got to start again somewhere or that he has lowered his sights, even if temporarily?

He looks in pretty good shape from the little you can make out of him on East Fife TV.

hibeesboii
02-03-2015, 03:19 PM
Seen on twitter he's been offered a deal by east fife.

02-03-2015, 07:33 PM
Absolutely delighted he seems to be getting some semblance if a footballing career back.

By an absolute mile my favourite ever Hibs player and I've been going regularly for 22 years, and he'll take some beating. Love the man. Pass on my best wishes P :aok:

02-03-2015, 09:21 PM
Absolutely delighted he seems to be getting some semblance if a footballing career back.

By an absolute mile my favourite ever Hibs player and I've been going regularly for 22 years, and he'll take some beating. Love the man. Pass on my best wishes P :aok:

Will do Sean. Ta. :aok:

https://twitter.com/spfl/status/572443774607073280

02-03-2015, 09:29 PM
Really hope it works out for derek and he gets back into football for good. Fingers crossed :aok:

02-03-2015, 09:42 PM
His talent is undeniable, the power he got on the shot which went across the goalkeeper to his far post is technically the most difficult thing to do on a football pitch (yes more difficult than an overhead bicycle kick that luckily hits the top corner) and he done it countless times, it was just fantastic to watch. Long live the king!

02-03-2015, 09:58 PM
His talent is undeniable, the power he got on the shot which went across the goalkeeper to his far post is technically the most difficult thing to do on a football pitch (yes more difficult than an overhead bicycle kick that luckily hits the top corner) and he done it countless times, it was just fantastic to watch. Long live the king!

I know it wasn't for Hibs but his 1st goal in this game is a peach.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eIDsMAq2YPw

02-03-2015, 10:09 PM
I know it wasn't for Hibs but his 1st goal in this game is a peach.

Stunning technique, and it's something you can't really coach considering the natural judgement of the angles and the split second decisions that have to be made all at once, therefore incredibly rare that you see the sheer consistency in striking a ball like that. The goal he scored v Hearts at Tynecastle in October 2004 was another example of how to do this, there's no goalie in the world that can stop it because of the angles and the power of the hit, he hit the side netting every time!!. :not worth

4:20 into this video.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U2lcK-Kjx88

02-03-2015, 10:27 PM
Stunning technique, and it's something you can't really coach considering the natural judgement of the angles and the split second decisions that have to be made all at once, therefore incredibly rare that you see the sheer consistency in striking a ball like that. The goal he scored v Hearts at Tynecastle in October 2004 was another example of how to do this, there's no goalie in the world that can stop it because of the angles and the power of the hit, he hit the side netting every time!!. :not worth

One of his many favourite goals against them. :thumbsup:

TowerHibs
03-03-2015, 01:32 AM
Sad it didn't work out at Celtic. I remember Strachan saying that Deek was easily the best finisher at the club but he couldn't get him in the team. Strange one

I always prefer ed him as centre forward too. Playing on shoulder but could drop wide and deep and leave space for the other striker. Top class player and glad majority on here and now getting right behind him

03-03-2015, 02:45 AM
Sad it didn't work out at Celtic. I remember Strachan saying that Deek was easily the best finisher at the club but he couldn't get him in the team. Strange one

I always prefer ed him as centre forward too. Playing on shoulder but could drop wide and deep and leave space for the other striker. Top class player and glad majority on here and now getting right behind him
I'm delighted it didn't work out for him at Celtic, he shouldn't have went there in the first place and made the right decision coming back. I also hope everyone who ever joins that club fails miserably.

03-03-2015, 06:43 PM
Deek starts for East Fife tonight. Bitterly cold. :greengrin

03-03-2015, 06:45 PM

Is he wearing gloves?

03-03-2015, 06:47 PM
Your right beside the sea there at new bay view ,always Baltic if cold ,and wind
blowing in off the sea

03-03-2015, 06:47 PM
Your right beside the sea there at new bay view ,always Baltic if cold ,and wind blowing in off the sea

He's up in Elgin Ronnie!! :-)

But can confirm it's Baltic in Leven!!

03-03-2015, 06:53 PM
He's up in Elgin Ronnie!! :-)
Cheers Aldo remember as a Teenager in the 70 s going up there for a pre season friendly was a neat wee ground then ,but was summer ,in the days when we had proper Summers

03-03-2015, 06:55 PM
Cheers Aldo remember as a Teenager in the 70 s going up there for a pre season friendly was a neat wee ground then ,but was summer ,in the days when we had proper Summers

Ah the 'good old days'. Remember them well!! :-)

It's a tropical 1 degrees in Elgin, pissing it doon and blawing a gale by the looks of the weather.

Hope Silver has his long johns on!!

03-03-2015, 06:56 PM
Your right beside the sea there at new bay view ,always Baltic if cold ,and wind
blowing in off the sea

Ronnie, get up to speed with things

03-03-2015, 07:10 PM
Ronnie, get up to speed with things

Tee hee!! ;-)

IrnBru22
03-03-2015, 07:16 PM
East fife 3-0 up nathan austin 10 min hattrick

03-03-2015, 07:28 PM
East Fife 3-0 up, two assists by Trialist. :wink:

03-03-2015, 07:29 PM
East Fife 3-0 up, two assists by Trialist. :wink:

Bring him back :hyper

03-03-2015, 07:34 PM
Bring him back :hyper

What I want to know, is why hasn't he been playing football for the last few years? Has he been injured?

03-03-2015, 07:34 PM
Is he wearing gloves?

No. 3-1 East Fife, hatrick for lad Austin, two assists from Deek make that 4-1 Riordan.

03-03-2015, 07:35 PM
someone get on to Jeff tell him its Deek

03-03-2015, 07:39 PM
HT. East Fife started well and the young lad took his goals took his 3 goals, two good assists from Deek and he added the 4th just before HT from outside the box.

No. 3-1 East Fife, hatrick for lad Austin, two assists from Deek make that 4-1 Riordan.

:thumbsup: great to hear he's getting back to it, 2 assists and 2 goals in 2 games is good going, especially given his lack of matches.

What I want to know, is why hasn't he been playing football for the last few years? Has he been injured?

He's been giving defences across the land a chance to prepare for his arrival.

03-03-2015, 07:42 PM

Luke Shanley would be worth tweeting. :thumbsup: very cold but no gloves Billy. :greengrin

03-03-2015, 07:47 PM
HT. East Fife started well and the young lad took his goals took his 3 goals, two good assists from Deek and he added the 4th just before HT from outside the box.

Superb Silver. Was speaking with a guy who has close ties to EF and he's saying Deek has been a revelation!

03-03-2015, 07:51 PM
4-2 now

03-03-2015, 07:57 PM

I'm friends with Jeff, he's closed his Twitter account but I'll email him tomorrow, I meant to do after Saturday!

03-03-2015, 07:58 PM
Luke Shanley would be worth tweeting. :thumbsup: very cold but no gloves Billy. :greengrin

Good lad

03-03-2015, 07:59 PM
5-2. Austin again.

ElginHibbie
03-03-2015, 08:05 PM
5-2. Austin again.

He's been something else, embarrassing the City defenders

03-03-2015, 08:10 PM
:thumbsup: great to hear he's getting back to it, 2 assists and 2 goals in 2 games is good going, especially given his lack of matches.

I'd like to echo this too. Too many on here with short memories.

03-03-2015, 08:13 PM
5-2. Austin again.

Did Deek get another assist or am I being greedy

03-03-2015, 08:18 PM
He's been something else, embarrassing the City defenders

Who, Deek or Austin? Great to see Derek back!

ElginHibbie
03-03-2015, 08:20 PM

Austin, but deeks balls for the assits and goal were excellent

NYHibby
03-03-2015, 08:21 PM

Austin

Crammond Hibee
03-03-2015, 08:30 PM
Austin

Is the boy Austin good ?

03-03-2015, 08:30 PM
Trialist subbed after 76 mins. I see Dennis Wyness is on for Elgin City. He'll be 39 later this month!

03-03-2015, 08:49 PM
Safe travels back Silver, what route are you taking?

JJP
03-03-2015, 08:57 PM
Great that Derek is back playing football and scoring goals. Hope he gets a deal somewhere.

03-03-2015, 08:57 PM
I'd like to echo this too. Too many on here with short memories.

To be fair if there wasn't a modicum of truth in what people (including myself) have been saying then he wouldn't be a trialist for a mid table league two side.

Great to see he might be able to have one final spell in the game though and might be able to add a few more goals to his tally. On yoursel' Deek.

03-03-2015, 09:04 PM
Great that Derek is back playing football and scoring goals. Hope he gets a deal somewhere.
Bring. Him. HAME.

portycabbage
03-03-2015, 09:40 PM
Wasted talent according to some though!

I'm in the "Hibs legend" camp rather than the "wasted talent" one, but I think some of the people who think he could have gone further are actually just talking up his ability, and wondering where he could have got to in the game if he'd been a "24hr athlete" to coin a phrase!

I kind of wish he'd been a fixture in the Scotland team and was playing for a top team down south, so that everyone could see how good he was (actually, I'd prefer him to have stayed at Hibs and continued scoring 25 rakers a season, and "everyone" could just watch that youtube all the goals video!).

I guess I'm saying I prefer to look at it as a compliment to him that people wonder where his ability may have taken him. Great to see him back playing, and playing well.

03-03-2015, 10:08 PM
Bring. Him. HAME.

03-03-2015, 10:16 PM
Two goals as a trialist for a league two side and the calls for signing him start? TBH I think the best thing to do is to look back at his time at Hibs as fondly as possible and let's not let our minds run away with themselves too much. Deek's a Hibs legend - I wouldn't want a poor final spell to ruin that for us.

04-03-2015, 01:54 AM
Safe travels back Silver, what route are you taking?

Just back Billy, came back the Aberdeen way, the A9 going up was bad with snow.

04-03-2015, 06:41 AM
Two goals as a trialist for a league two side and the calls for signing him start? TBH I think the best thing to do is to look back at his time at Hibs as fondly as possible and let's not let our minds run away with themselves too much. Deek's a Hibs legend - I wouldn't want a poor final spell to ruin that for us.

Eh, the "calls" you refer to are one person and I think it was one of the whoosh moment things.

Delighted for him that he's back playing and doing what he does best, scoring goals. The clips of his Hibs 100 hundred goals made me feel very sentimental about his spells at Hibs. I doubt very much that we'll see another100+ goal scorer at ER.

04-03-2015, 09:54 AM
Is the boy Austin good ?

Just turned 21, 'Fash' is like grease lightening. Saw a fair bit of him with Leven amateurs two seasons ago. Was a touch lightweight and didn't strike me as one for the top tier in Scotland. Not seen him this season, though.

04-03-2015, 11:09 AM
Wasted talent according to some though!

He was wasted talent.

Had he worked hard he could have been playing in the prem and been a regular international.

Not scoring goals in the spl

04-03-2015, 11:15 AM
Just turned 21, 'Fash' is like grease lightening. Saw a fair bit of him with Leven amateurs two seasons ago. Was a touch lightweight and didn't strike me as one for the top tier in Scotland. Not seen him this season, though.

Wouldn't surprise me if he moves on to better things in the summer, seemingly a local lad from Fife but his pace is to much for most defences in this league he plays in, he is defo worth a look.

04-03-2015, 11:15 AM
He was wasted talent.

Had he worked hard he could have been playing in the prem and been a regular international.

I honestly don't see how scoring 100+ goals for the club you supported as a boy can be seen as a waste. Just don't get it.

04-03-2015, 11:26 AM
He was wasted talent.

Not being funny here, but how do you know that was Derek's ambition? He moved to China and it didn't work out so perhaps that experience highlighted to him that he was happiest staying at home..?

Can't agree that he "was a wasted talent" either. Playing for the club he supports/loves and scoring 100+ goals suggests otherwise, IMHO.

04-03-2015, 11:32 AM
Not being funny here, but how do you know that was Derek's ambition? He moved to China and it didn't work out so perhaps that experience highlighted to him that he was happiest staying at home..?

Can't agree that he "was a wasted talent" either. Playing for the club he supports/loves and scoring 100+ goals suggests otherwise, IMHO.

This thing about "ambition" always puzzles me.

Everybody has a different view of life, and most are valid. Some people are driven by work, some by family, some by other things, and most of us by a combination. Why should a footballer be any different?

If a guy is happy enough to earn a decent wage, which will be enough to satisfy how own needs and wants, and as a bonus gets to stay where he is comfortable..... isn't that an "ambition" that has been satisfied?

I think many of us would accept that opportunity.

04-03-2015, 11:37 AM

Everybody has a different view of life, and most are valid. Some people are driven by work, some by family, some by other things, and most of us by a combination. Why should a footballer be any different?

If a guy is happy enough to earn a decent wage, which will be enough to satisfy how own needs and wants, and as a bonus gets to stay where he is comfortable..... isn't that an "ambition" that has been satisfied?

:agree: Absolutely. My ambition is just to wake up every morning so I'm happy :greengrin

04-03-2015, 11:38 AM

Jeff now knows! :wink: I'll be at Sandown on Saturday so won't see Jeff's show but hopefully Deek will score & get a mention.

04-03-2015, 11:39 AM
:agree: Absolutely. My ambition is just to wake up every morning so I'm happy :greengrin

Did you wake up this morning, or have you pulled an all-nighter?

It might be important....:greengrin

04-03-2015, 11:42 AM
Did you wake up this morning, or have you pulled an all-nighter?

It might be important....:greengrin

My ambition has once again been realised as I, thank the Baby Jesus, woke up today :greengrin Mind you, after returning late last night from Tenerife, I thought I was having a nightmare :tee hee:

04-03-2015, 11:43 AM

Derek scored an almost identical, but possibly even better goal against Dundee at ER. It would have put us 5-1 up but was wrongly disallowed for offside & game finished 4-4!

04-03-2015, 11:48 AM
I honestly don't see how scoring 100+ goals for the club you supported as a boy can be seen as a waste. Just don't get it.

Cos it should've been 200+?

04-03-2015, 11:53 AM
Derek scored an almost identical, but possibly even better goal against Dundee at ER. It would have put us 5-1 up but was wrongly disallowed for offside & game finished 4-4!

Remeber it well, I was sitting in the East with my old man and we turned to each other and said "ach the games won anyway" :rolleyes::greengrin

04-03-2015, 12:10 PM
He was wasted talent.

By that definition is Scott Brown wasted talent? Putting aside the international point.

wills
04-03-2015, 12:47 PM
No saying for one minute bring Deeks back, but the style of football we are playing under Stubbs would suit him well.

Good luck to him whoever he signs for

04-03-2015, 12:58 PM

:agree: e.g. Steve Bull

04-03-2015, 01:00 PM

This. The guy is a LEGEND in my eyes. Agree with you on this MWC!! :-)

04-03-2015, 01:34 PM
Highlights from last nights game.

https://vimeo.com/121201202

04-03-2015, 02:45 PM

https://vimeo.com/121201202

God, I miss lower league Scottish football :greengrin

04-03-2015, 03:09 PM

That is the best goal I've ever seen at ER.

I refuse to recognise the offside decision (which I agree was a nonsense anyway iirc).

He didn't half score some crackers.

04-03-2015, 03:11 PM

"Yes...get in there" :)

Quality assists.

04-03-2015, 03:24 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=spQ3ihnxWNU

The complete collection. What goals Deek has scored. The chip against celtic is just :not worth

04-03-2015, 04:10 PM
Just back Billy, came back the Aberdeen way, the A9 going up was bad with snow.

Hertz are efter Julen Etxabeguren Leanizbarrutia . Centre half any good ?

04-03-2015, 04:27 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=spQ3ihnxWNU

The complete collection. What goals Deek has scored. The chip against celtic is just :not worth

You can see he's lost none of his ability. The East Fife centre forward certainly benefitted from Deek's quality. Was he scoring much before Riordan went to East Fife?

04-03-2015, 05:48 PM

We watch it every week:greengrin

04-03-2015, 08:20 PM
Hertz are efter Julen Etxabeguren Leanizbarrutia . Centre half any good ?

Is this the Spanish lad, i would let the yams have him if i was being honest, the right back on loan from the yams looks okay but needs more confidence as when he gets forward he can get good crosses in but defence side of things need to be better, East Fife goalie has looked good in the few games i have seen him but the standout has been Austin & Riordan, Naismith still has a good football brain but the legs are going on him, really nice guy though.

04-03-2015, 08:24 PM
You can see he's lost none of his ability. The East Fife centre forward certainly benefitted from Deek's quality. Was he scoring much before Riordan went to East Fife?

Not to sure Billy but he certainly has picked his game up since Riordan started playing for East Fife, the lad has pace and Deek is good at picking him out with some decent deliveries to him.

04-03-2015, 08:29 PM
Not to sure Billy but he certainly has picked his game up since Riordan started playing for East Fife, the lad has pace and Deek is good at picking him out with some decent deliveries to him.

Eleven goals and three assists in twenty eight games aint too shabby!

http://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/nathan-austin/profil/spieler/281017

04-03-2015, 10:02 PM

That weather last night was worse than the Cowdenbeath game, take note Ronnie, you need to save the pennies for a good water/snow/sleet proof coat. :greengrin

04-03-2015, 10:08 PM

Equal on assists, and Deek is only 9 behind, Deek will be hoping to catch him on the goal front if he signs for East Fife. :thumbsup:

04-03-2015, 10:38 PM
That weather last night was worse than the Cowdenbeath game, take note Ronnie, you need to save the pennies for a good water/snow/sleet proof coat. :greengrin

Noted ,but not yet acrooned ,but still have the picture of your recommendation ..am already on record on another thread as saying if it's pishing it Doon am no going even the portaloos were leaking :wink: if I end up with Athritis in my shoulders am blaming it on that day .

04-03-2015, 11:04 PM

A player worth keeping a eye on J. :aok:

04-03-2015, 11:07 PM
Noted ,but not yet acrooned ,but still have the picture of your recommendation ..am already on record on another thread as saying if it's pishing it Doon am no going even the portaloos were leaking :wink: if I end up with Athritis in my shoulders am blaming it on that day .

Yip, got to agree, not putting my coat through that again when we go back to Beath, :greengrin

04-03-2015, 11:07 PM

04-03-2015, 11:50 PM

Looks a good player mate. Wouldn't mind us signing him in the summer.

Bay Area Hibees
05-03-2015, 03:54 AM
Great to see DR back playing.
I'd love him to have gone on to do better but he still had good career and hopefully not over.
In his first spell he was most exciting player Ive seen at ER.
On left channel he continually looked like scoring when he cut in whether he was 40 or 20 yards out.
Not sure if I'll see such an exciting young team again.
Hope so.
Wish him all best.

WillowbraeHibby
05-03-2015, 01:57 PM
Signed for East Fife ........... Paul Barnes ‏@STVPaul (https://twitter.com/STVPaul) 3m (https://twitter.com/STVPaul/status/573496627203342336)3 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/STVPaul/status/573496627203342336)
Former Hibernian, Celtic & Scotland forward Derek Riordan has signed for East Fife.

05-03-2015, 02:22 PM
Signed for East Fife ........... Paul Barnes ‏@STVPaul (https://twitter.com/STVPaul) 3m (https://twitter.com/STVPaul/status/573496627203342336)3 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/STVPaul/status/573496627203342336)
Former Hibernian, Celtic & Scotland forward Derek Riordan has signed for East Fife.

Good luck Derek.

05-03-2015, 02:23 PM
Good luck Derek.

hibbybob
05-03-2015, 02:32 PM
Good luck to him.

It'd be nice to see him back at ER one day - even if playing against us!

05-03-2015, 02:32 PM
Wish him well, a Hibs legend:thumbsup:

05-03-2015, 02:37 PM
Good luck Deek!

05-03-2015, 02:47 PM
I presume it's a deal until the end of the season?

05-03-2015, 02:54 PM
Get some goals you legend :thumbsup:

05-03-2015, 03:21 PM
Good luck Derek.

This. May have to pop down and watch one weekend!