View Full Version : Deeks to livi or maybe East Fife ?

Pages : 1 [2]

05-03-2015, 03:35 PM
I presume it's a deal until the end of the season?

Yes it is.

hibeesboii
05-03-2015, 04:36 PM
Hope it works out well for him, and hopefully can restart his career from there.

05-03-2015, 10:37 PM
Good luck Derek.

You going Saturday ?

portyhibernian
05-03-2015, 10:59 PM
Good luck to him, would love to see him make a success of it!

05-03-2015, 11:44 PM
You going Saturday ?

Yeah, i think. :greengrin

06-03-2015, 12:06 PM
Good luck Deek son. Hammer in plenty...:aok:

Leith Mo
06-03-2015, 12:12 PM
Good Luck Derek and congratulations on the birth of your son Rio

06-03-2015, 04:21 PM

You're on the tea . Nae sugar :greengrin

Argylehibby
06-03-2015, 04:28 PM

Fingers crossed for 3 trips to Hampden before the end of the season then Silver!

06-03-2015, 07:11 PM
Even a Yam like Naysmith can recognise Derek is a good footballer.

16-03-2015, 11:19 PM
What I want to know, is why hasn't he been playing football for the last few years? Has he been injured?

Maybe this will answer a few of your questions Billy. :aok:

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl-lower-divisions/scoring-goals-still-gives-derek-riordan-a-thrill-1-3719143

He was out most of the time with a injury at Alloa, he didn't give up and was offered a contract at Brechin witch he explains why he never signed with them, he also had spells at Bristol Rovers and St Johnstone in the last few years, but yes he has been out of the game for a while as he struggled to get a club to take a chance on him, a example would be him training at Livingston for 6 weeks and Burchill wanted to sign him but the Board weren't so keen, that was something that happened a few times in the last year or so, Royal Antwerp were another example where Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink had got in touch with him to sign for them, JFH had spoke to Deek a few times on the phone and wanted him to come over on the Sunday and he would get signed up, but a few days later the Owner of the club gave a statement to the press about Deek and that was the end of that, sure JFK was sacked a few weeks later.

But he is just glad to be back playing football again with East Fife and can hopefully help them to get in to the play-offs at the end of the season, and he will see what happens after that. :aok:

16-03-2015, 11:40 PM
Glad to hear he's signed for EF.
Good luck, Derek.

17-03-2015, 07:06 AM
Ta, Silver

4 Front Teeth
21-03-2015, 03:37 PM
Another goal.....!!

21-03-2015, 04:14 PM
Another goal.....!!

Form (good or bad) is usually temporary. Class is always permanent!! :thumbsup: :agree:

21-03-2015, 04:25 PM
Form (good or bad) is usually temporary. Class is always permanent!! :thumbsup: :agree:

:agree::not worth well done Derek.

4 Front Teeth
21-03-2015, 05:02 PM
There doesn't seem to be an East Fife forum to have a nose at to see how he's doing...... and seems impossible to get more than a half paragraph match report..

21-03-2015, 05:20 PM
There doesn't seem to be an East Fife forum to have a nose at to see how he's doing...... and seems impossible to get more than a half paragraph match report..

I lived in leven most of my life. Most of the match reports are done by the paper the East Fife mail. Recently they have been doing really good work with interview and highlights for East Fife tv. If you follow them on Twitter they post all the highlights

21-03-2015, 05:33 PM
Great to see him back in football and scoring goals! It's a shame his career wasn't as successful and as big as it should have been but no point reflecting on poor choices now, whats done is done, just glad to see him back doing what he loves.

Well done Deek! A hibs hero that will always receive a warm welcome down ER way!

21-03-2015, 06:27 PM
Maybe this will answer a few of your questions Billy. :aok:

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl-lower-divisions/scoring-goals-still-gives-derek-riordan-a-thrill-1-3719143

He was out most of the time with a injury at Alloa, he didn't give up and was offered a contract at Brechin witch he explains why he never signed with them, he also had spells at Bristol Rovers and St Johnstone in the last few years, but yes he has been out of the game for a while as he struggled to get a club to take a chance on him, a example would be him training at Livingston for 6 weeks and Burchill wanted to sign him but the Board weren't so keen, that was something that happened a few times in the last year or so, Royal Antwerp were another example where Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink had got in touch with him to sign for them, JFH had spoke to Deek a few times on the phone and wanted him to come over on the Sunday and he would get signed up, but a few days later the Owner of the club gave a statement to the press about Deek and that was the end of that, sure JFK was sacked a few weeks later.

But he is just glad to be back playing football again with East Fife and can hopefully help them to get in to the play-offs at the end of the season, and he will see what happens after that. :aok:

JFK you say? Definitely a conspiracy. Predictive text is crop ;) here's hoping a purple patch there sees him strut his stuff at a higher level. It was a pleasure to have seen him play for us over the piece. Anyone else that thinks otherwise I can't get my head around personally speaking.

PiemanP
21-03-2015, 06:58 PM
East Fife are on a really good run of form and are now in the playoff position by a point with a game in hand. Would be great if Deeks could make a big contribution to getting them promoted to league one.

21-03-2015, 08:17 PM

http://pub10.bravenet.com/forum/static/show.php?usernum=849684916&frmid=8&msgid=0

21-03-2015, 08:25 PM
JFK you say? Definitely a conspiracy. Predictive text is crop ;) here's hoping a purple patch there sees him strut his stuff at a higher level. It was a pleasure to have seen him play for us over the piece. Anyone else that thinks otherwise I can't get my head around personally speaking.

No snipers in the stand today. :thumbsup:

He is enjoying himself again playing regular football with East Fife, that we spark is looking like it is coming back again, he had a good game today, infact he should have got himself the match ball, keeper saved his penalty, he then scored a nice free kick and the keeper again denied him with a wonder save from another free kick, all in all he had a good game and was rewarded with MOTM award from the sponsors at the game. :aok:

21-03-2015, 08:45 PM
No snipers in the stand today. :thumbsup:

He is enjoying himself again playing regular football with East Fife, that we spark is looking like it is coming back again, he had a good game today, infact he should have got himself the match ball, keeper saved his penalty, he then scored a nice free kick and the keeper again denied him with a wonder save from another free kick, all in all he had a good game and was rewarded with MOTM award from the sponsors at the game. :aok:

Thats great to hear Silver . I can see Deek back in the top flight no problem ( just a pity that its not going to be with us)

21-03-2015, 08:47 PM
http://pub10.bravenet.com/forum/static/show.php?usernum=849684916&frmid=8&msgid=0

Silver, what position is he playing?

21-03-2015, 09:39 PM
Silver, what position is he playing?

Today he was upfront in a 4-4-2 but when playing away from home it is a 4-5-1 come 4-3-3 and he is pushed out to the left, but he hs had a few assists and a goal when played out there so 2 goals and a assist as striker and 1 goal and 2 assists when played out left, and he takes goal scoring free kick chances as well which he scored one today from, and a top save to prevent a 2nd from another free kick.

Naismith pulled him aside before the game today and just had a few words with Derek, told him he needed a big performance from him today as it was a big game for the club to keep there hopes up of getting in to the play off's, the manager was delighted with him after the game for the performance he put in, mind you the manager put in a great shift today as well, :greengrin he sets the standards with his work rate and tackling early in the game to let the players no that's what he wants from them as well, once Naismith hangs up his boots i think he could become a decent manager, puts in a power of work at the club and is a good man manager, Deek in the short time he has been there has been very impressed with the way the manager goes about things. :aok:

21-03-2015, 10:20 PM
P, I'm absolutely delighted he's back enjoying himself and playing on a Saturday. Pass him on my best :aok:

21-03-2015, 10:24 PM
Today he was upfront in a 4-4-2 but when playing away from home it is a 4-5-1 come 4-3-3 and he is pushed out to the left, but he hs had a few assists and a goal when played out there so 2 goals and a assist as striker and 1 goal and 2 assists when played out left, and he takes goal scoring free kick chances as well which he scored one today from, and a top save to prevent a 2nd from another free kick.

Naismith pulled him aside before the game today and just had a few words with Derek, told him he needed a big performance from him today as it was a big game for the club to keep there hopes up of getting in to the play off's, the manager was delighted with him after the game for the performance he put in, mind you the manager put in a great shift today as well, :greengrin he sets the standards with his work rate and tackling early in the game to let the players no that's what he wants from them as well, once Naismith hangs up his boots i think he could become a decent manager, puts in a power of work at the club and is a good man manager, Deek in the short time he has been there has been very impressed with the way the manager goes about things. :aok:

Where the great ET saw him playing all day long :aok: Glad he is doing well SH and scoring goals - that's what he's good at :agree:

21-03-2015, 11:01 PM
P, I'm absolutely delighted he's back enjoying himself and playing on a Saturday. Pass him on my best :aok:

Will do Sean. :aok:

21-03-2015, 11:18 PM
Will do Sean. :aok:
If he's in attendance the morn I'll maybe even buy him a pint :greengrin

TowerHibs
22-03-2015, 12:17 AM
Mind the club fined him for having a go at the pitch.....silly season

Good on Deek. Good guy and always says hello and speaks to me and my dad as we grew up together.

22-03-2015, 09:48 PM
http://eastfifefc.info/component/content/article/1509-man-of-the-match-versus-arbroath#.VQ8jw8MIx0Q.twitter

22-03-2015, 09:52 PM
http://eastfifefc.info/component/content/article/1509-man-of-the-match-versus-arbroath#.VQ8jw8MIx0Q.twitter

Tops a bit of a tent mind you!

22-03-2015, 10:10 PM
Tops a bit of a tent mind you!

3pm would struggle to fit in to it mind you. :hilarious

22-03-2015, 10:51 PM

Haha silv, where you been mate? Not seen you at the games in a wee while.

23-03-2015, 02:45 PM
Haha silv, where you been mate? Not seen you at the games in a wee while.

Sent you a wee PM.

23-03-2015, 04:07 PM

Silver, he still looks like a wee boy!

23-03-2015, 06:13 PM
Thats great to hear Silver . I can see Deek back in the top flight no problem ( just a pity that its not going to be with us)

Why not us?

23-03-2015, 11:16 PM
East Fife are on a really good run of form and are now in the playoff position by a point with a game in hand. Would be great if Deeks could make a big contribution to getting them promoted to league one.

And they play that game in hand tomorrow night at home against Berwick Rangers and hoping to keep up there good form at home and get another 3 points to keep them in with a chance of the play off spots, and hopefully Deek can keep up the good work and help East Fife in to the play off's and possibly get them promotion but that is a big ask for the club but they are grinding out results just now, a wee blip in losing 2 games on the bounce could have seen the heads go down but they showed on Saturday that they are up for it and can grind out a result.

And for any locals in the East Fife area, if you have nothing planned then pop along as it is only £10 entrance fee which is pretty good. :thumbsup:

You can get the bus Hermit. :greengrin

23-03-2015, 11:21 PM
Silver, he still looks like a wee boy!

Doesn't help that the guy he is standing next to is the local huge farmer. :greengrin

24-03-2015, 07:37 AM
And they play that game in hand tomorrow night at home against Berwick Rangers and hoping to keep up there good form at home and get another 3 points to keep them in with a chance of the play off spots, and hopefully Deek can keep up the good work and help East Fife in to the play off's and possibly get them promotion but that is a big ask for the club but they are grinding out results just now, a wee blip in losing 2 games on the bounce could have seen the heads go down but they showed on Saturday that they are up for it and can grind out a result.

And for any locals in the East Fife area, if you have nothing planned then pop along as it is only £10 entrance fee which is pretty good. :thumbsup:

You can get the bus Hermit. :greengrin

Aldo has acquired a taste for Prawn Sannies. With his Football so what's the food like compared to Easter Road ? Ended up comfort eating during that second half against The Rangers nearly ate my Daughters packet of Randoms one after the other .
Will defo go and see them at some point just to see Deeks strut his stuff .Still got lots of bay view programmes from early seventies when Hibs played there as was closest ground to where I lived

24-03-2015, 10:55 AM
Aldo has acquired a taste for Prawn Sannies. With his Football so what's the food like compared to Easter Road ? Ended up comfort eating during that second half against The Rangers nearly ate my Daughters packet of Randoms one after the other . Will defo go and see them at some point just to see Deeks strut his stuff .Still got lots of bay view programmes from early seventies when Hibs played there as was closest ground to where I lived :-)

I'll just make and take my own Ronnie!!

24-03-2015, 11:51 AM
:-)

I'll just make and take my own Ronnie!!

Of course you can source them fresh locally still haven't got over Sunday you would think at my age it would get easier to take a defeat but yon was a like a sore smack in the puss to borrow a wee Fife saying

24-03-2015, 05:59 PM
Aldo has acquired a taste for Prawn Sannies. With his Football so what's the food like compared to Easter Road ? Ended up comfort eating during that second half against The Rangers nearly ate my Daughters packet of Randoms one after the other .
Will defo go and see them at some point just to see Deeks strut his stuff .Still got lots of bay view programmes from early seventies when Hibs played there as was closest ground to where I lived

Well they certainly don't do prawn sannies here, maybe Aldo will share his one game whe he can make it, cheeseburger at £1.60 is decent. Just had a chippie in Leven and the tummy is rumbling already, anyway, glad I brought the jacket as the rain clouds descend on Bayview, can't say the same about the locals though, only seen a hun in top with his devil dog. :greengrin

24-03-2015, 06:14 PM
Well they certainly don't do prawn sannies here, maybe Aldo will share his one game whe he can make it, cheeseburger at £1.60 is decent. Just had a chippie in Leven and the tummy is rumbling already, anyway, glad I brought the jacket as the rain clouds descend on Bayview, can't say the same about the locals though, only seen a hun in top with his devil dog. :greengrin

Ha. Will share no worries.

Couple of good chippies in Leven and Real spice is good for a pizza or Kebob.

Ronnie I source my seafood from Sainsburys! ;-)
Coasties are tight as about in comers !!

24-03-2015, 06:19 PM
Got them on my treble the night... Nae pressure Deeks :greengrin

24-03-2015, 06:38 PM
Got them on my treble the night... Nae pressure Deeks :greengrin

Got them to Sean, good price so they are. No. 19. Riordan starts. Away to see how he gets on. :thumbsup:

24-03-2015, 06:40 PM

Ha Ha Ha! :o)

24-03-2015, 07:07 PM
0-1 Berwick.

Tha Cabbage Kid
24-03-2015, 07:37 PM
Deek hits the bar

KdyHby
24-03-2015, 08:24 PM
0 - 3

KdyHby
24-03-2015, 08:36 PM
1 - 4 game over

BurghHibby
24-03-2015, 09:29 PM
Doesn't help that the guy he is standing next to is the local huge farmer. :greengrin

The guy in the picture wi Deek is a major tosspot, a dodgy builder and rip-off merchant!

25-03-2015, 12:12 AM
Pretty poor result for East Fife tonight, Berwick were just to strong for the EF defence, big lag Henderson battered them, could have been all different if the ref had gave a clear early penalty for EF and should have been red but ref waved it away, Deek came close with a free kick then hit the cross bar twice and had a good free kick saved by the Berwick goalie when it looked like it was hitting the back of the net, but fair play to BR as they deserved the win, still in the play off spot but need a result against Montrose this weekend to keep them in the top four.

KdyHby
25-03-2015, 10:16 PM
http://www.berwickrangers.com/berwick-rangers-4-1-east-fife-match-report-highlights/

25-03-2015, 11:12 PM
Why does everyone's highlights look so much better than ours :(.

26-03-2015, 10:30 AM
http://www.berwickrangers.com/berwick-rangers-4-1-east-fife-match-report-highlights/

Has the ground always been like that with only one side for spectators? The boy Willis looked decent for Berwick, can't remember if he played against us.

26-03-2015, 11:03 AM
Has the ground always been like that with only one side for spectators? The boy Willis looked decent for Berwick, can't remember if he played against us.

Brog, this is a relatively new ground, used to play at old Bayview

26-03-2015, 06:26 PM
Brog, this is a relatively new ground, used to play at old Bayview

Thanks Billy, I didn't realise however that the new ground only had one side open.

04-05-2015, 12:49 PM
https://twitter.com/eastfifefc

http://www.fifetoday.co.uk/sport/football/no-sweat-as-3-1-win-sets-up-play-off-date-1-3762382

They play there first play off game at home against Stenhousemuir on Wednesday night.

04-05-2015, 12:51 PM
https://twitter.com/eastfifefc

http://www.fifetoday.co.uk/sport/football/no-sweat-as-3-1-win-sets-up-play-off-date-1-3762382

They play there first play off game at home against Stenhousemuir on Wednesday night.

Deeks still fit and playing?

04-05-2015, 12:57 PM
Deeks still fit and playing?

Listen to the announcer when he announces Deeks goal. :greengrin

04-05-2015, 01:03 PM
What a game! Why did the opposition keep changing their shirts? :flag:

To match the ref's of course. :wink:

04-05-2015, 01:11 PM
Listen to the announcer when he announces Deeks goal. :greengrin

Didn't realise there was highlights on there mate. Good goal! Is involved in everything.

The Magic part or the Ree - ordan pronunciation? Didnt he go mental at a reporter for that once? :greengrin

04-05-2015, 04:20 PM
Derek Riordan, He's one of our own.

04-05-2015, 05:08 PM
Why does everyone's highlights look so much better than ours :(.

Ask Petrie!!

high bee
04-05-2015, 06:32 PM
He looked pretty handy there. Cummings & Riordan up front for Hibs next year.

portycabbage
04-05-2015, 09:03 PM
He looked pretty handy there. Cummings & Riordan up front for Hibs next year.

I can't decide if you're opening a can of beans or a can of worms with that post.:worms::greengrin:wink:

04-05-2015, 09:20 PM
I can't decide if you're opening a can of beans or a can of worms with that post.:worms::greengrin:wink:

Magic beans. :wink: :greengrin

04-05-2015, 10:07 PM
You been watching. jack and the Beanstalk :wink:

portycabbage
04-05-2015, 10:20 PM

Bath of beans. :greengrin

05-05-2015, 08:51 PM
Deeks to come home this summer?

05-05-2015, 09:11 PM
Deeks to come home this summer?

Gooby pls

05-05-2015, 09:17 PM
Gooby pls

05-05-2015, 10:08 PM

:hyper

05-05-2015, 10:11 PM

No inside info sadly. Reckon he could do a job though, decent record at EF from LM.

05-05-2015, 10:11 PM
Forward line of Deek, Cummings and Griffiths. IQ of 12 between them but over 50 goals, BRING IT!!!! :greengrin

05-05-2015, 11:28 PM
Forward line of Deek, Cummings and Griffiths. IQ of 12 between them but over 50 goals, BRING IT!!!! :greengrin

4 Front Teeth
06-05-2015, 09:02 PM
So anyone know why he doesn't play every game? Seems to do well when he does play.....

06-05-2015, 09:20 PM
So anyone know why he doesn't play every game? Seems to do well when he does play.....

Trains and mostly plays on Astro. Not the best on the legs/knees/ankles

23-05-2015, 03:54 PM
Could signing for Cork in Ireland. Was told today before the game he's been over for talks. Good luck to him :-)

23-05-2015, 03:59 PM
Could signing for Cork in Ireland. Was told today before the game he's been over for talks. Good luck to him :-)

Aye good luck to him. Cork is a cracking city and the people there are brilliant. Once you get used to understanding what the **** they're saying... they speak pretty fast a lot of them :greengrin

Billie Jo
23-05-2015, 04:15 PM
Aye good luck to him. Cork is a cracking city and the people there are brilliant. Once you get used to understanding what the **** they're saying... they speak pretty fast a lot of them :greengrin

Haha, agree great place, love it :agree:

23-05-2015, 06:52 PM
I was thinking he might pop up at St Mirren next season