View Full Version : Match Updates SC replay Berwick v Spartans

16-02-2015, 10:03 AM
Given Sky/BBC get a shot at one of the replays, any chance this will be on TV?

andrew70
16-02-2015, 10:13 AM
Given Sky/BBC get a shot at one of the replays, any chance this will be on TV?

No wouldn't have thought so. They play tomorrow night and the Champions League is on the Tele.

I am going to go to the game, looking forward to it.

Spartans taking over 550 supporters apparently.

16-02-2015, 10:52 AM
No wouldn't have thought so. They play tomorrow night and the Champions League is on the Tele.

I am going to go to the game, looking forward to it.

Spartans taking over 550 supporters apparently.

:agree: Buses subsidised by club. £2 return.

16-02-2015, 10:53 AM
I'm going to the game so will post updates.

16-02-2015, 11:10 AM
:agree: Buses subsidised by club. £2 return.

Any idea where they are leaving from?

16-02-2015, 11:25 AM
Spartans keeper Kevin Swain taken off on sat with an injury. However it will have to be something pretty bad to keep him out of the game. He hurt himself playing for us last season and wouldn't come off. Continued the game and made some fantastic saves. Turned out he had fractured his shoulder blade. Fingers crossed for him. Wee Grinchy as well. He'll have something to prove having been at Berwick and getting treated like crap. Good luck to them... :thumbsup:

16-02-2015, 11:25 AM
Any idea where they are leaving from?

They leave from Morrisons at Ainslie Park. I think you need to book in advance.

16-02-2015, 11:47 AM
Hopefully Spartans can do the business.

However, having been at the first game, I'd be very surprised.

16-02-2015, 04:31 PM
They leave from Morrisons at Ainslie Park. I think you need to book in advance.

Thanks, I'll check that out, but I think I'm going to drive.:aok:

17-02-2015, 04:17 PM
Just on the road now.

11 full 56 seaters on the road from Spartans. Pretty impressive imo.

17-02-2015, 04:19 PM
Just on the road now.

Should outnumber the home support, judging by their turn out in the first leg. Fingers crossed.

17-02-2015, 04:45 PM
Just on the road now.

The fans might just make a difference . 11/2 Spartans
Worth a £10 imo .

17-02-2015, 04:51 PM
The fans might just make a difference . 11/2 Spartans
Worth a £10 imo .

Can't see it, Berwick to win by 3 or more

17-02-2015, 04:59 PM
Can't see it, Berwick to win by 3 or more

Nor can I. But I hope for it

WillowbraeHibby
17-02-2015, 05:17 PM
I'm going to the game so will post updates.

17-02-2015, 05:34 PM
Spartans keeper Kevin Swain taken off on sat with an injury. However it will have to be something pretty bad to keep him out of the game. He hurt himself playing for us last season and wouldn't come off. Continued the game and made some fantastic saves. Turned out he had fractured his shoulder blade. Fingers crossed for him. Wee Grinchy as well. He'll have something to prove having been at Berwick and getting treated like crap. Good luck to them... :thumbsup:

He's out

17-02-2015, 05:37 PM
Because of their association with Hibs, are Spartans the preferred team to win tonight?

17-02-2015, 05:38 PM
Because of their association with Hibs, are Spartans the preferred team to win tonight?

:agree: Won't be making the Hearts game on 12th April so this is my only shot at another Edinburgh derby this season.

17-02-2015, 05:56 PM
Spartans have Maro*n in their strip....mon the Berwick

having said that, Spartans(and incognito jamboids) will fill more of the south stand= more dosh for both clubs....mon the Spartans

17-02-2015, 06:11 PM

No Berwick in my coupon.

17-02-2015, 06:11 PM
Didn't realise that Gary Smith is Spartans assistant manager.

17-02-2015, 06:13 PM

Me too, just saw him on Sky Sports

17-02-2015, 06:29 PM
Both teams will be on a good win bonus, there's a big financial prize for the winners, cmon Spartans

17-02-2015, 06:31 PM
Spartans starting with their under 20s keeper in goal. Regular keeper out with an eye injury.

17-02-2015, 06:34 PM
Spartans starting with their under 20s keeper in goal. Regular keeper out with an eye injury.

How many ex Hibees in the Berwick squad PB?

17-02-2015, 06:42 PM
Kick off delayed until 8 to let the crowd in.

Not joking.

17-02-2015, 06:44 PM

Team is:

1 Carswell
2 Nixon
5 MacKinnon
4 Malone
3 Cennerazzo
6 Brown
8 Grant
9 Bremner
11 Motion
7 Beesley
10 Sludden

17-02-2015, 06:46 PM
Team is:

1 Carswell
2 Nixon
5 MacKinnon
4 Malone
3 Cennerazzo
6 Brown
8 Grant
9 Bremner
11 Motion
7 Beesley
10 Sludden

Goalie is an ex-Yam.

Weststandwanab
17-02-2015, 06:57 PM
Goalie is an ex-Yam.

No such thing as an "Ex" Yam !

andrew70
17-02-2015, 06:59 PM
Any idea why the Spartans supporters have the Gorgie Rules Union Jack with them?

Iceman1875
17-02-2015, 07:02 PM

The only two I recognise are Notman and Currie

At Easter Road we play...

17-02-2015, 07:04 PM
Who would have thought that Spartans would have been in the Scottish Cup two months longer than Hertz.

17-02-2015, 07:07 PM
The only two I recognise are Notman and Currie

At Easter Road we play...

David Gold is there too I'm sure.

17-02-2015, 07:09 PM
Any idea why the Spartans supporters have the Gorgie Rules Union Jack with them?

Where did you see that?

Spartans with 1st half chance. Shot wide.

No such thing as an "Ex" Yam !

Ralph Callachan and Jason Cummings.

17-02-2015, 07:11 PM
Spartans denied a penalty. Looked a clear handball.

17-02-2015, 07:12 PM
Where did you see that?

There's a Berwick UJ just behind where most Spartans fans are, maybe that?

17-02-2015, 07:17 PM
Free kick wide from Spartans. Lively start by both teams.

17-02-2015, 07:19 PM
Deek playing for livi reserves just now

andrew70
17-02-2015, 07:20 PM
There's a Berwick UJ just behind where most Spartans fans are, maybe that?

Apologies if I am wrong it certainly looks like the GR flag from the opposite side.

17-02-2015, 07:21 PM
Deek playing for livi reserves just now

Just kicked off. Wasn't delayed to let the fans in. :greengrin

Weststandwanab
17-02-2015, 07:28 PM
Ralph Callachan and Jason Cummings.

I will stand corrected on the latter !

17-02-2015, 07:31 PM
Just kicked off. Wasn't delayed to let the fans in. :greengrin

You there silv?

17-02-2015, 07:31 PM
1-0 Berwick. Corner not dealt with and an easy finish.

17-02-2015, 07:32 PM
Can anyone remind me what each club gets for a Live Scottish cup game on Sky?

17-02-2015, 07:33 PM

£85K each I believe

Shame, I wonder if stubbs has sent anyone or indeed went along himself to watch the two teams?

andrew70

Not the greatest of games PB? Spartans playing the better football for me though.

We should win comfortably against either.

Anyone spotted who from Hibs is watching the game?

17-02-2015, 07:34 PM

Think its around £85k IIRC

WillowbraeHibby
17-02-2015, 07:35 PM
Anyone spotted who from Hibs is watching the game?

Believe AS is there...

The Spartans FC ‏@spartansfc (https://twitter.com/spartansfc) 28m28 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/spartansfc/status/567779629721980928)
"Bring on the Hibees" sing the Spartans crowd. @HibsOfficial (https://twitter.com/HibsOfficial) Manager Alan Stubbs an interested spectator in the Director's box.

17-02-2015, 07:38 PM
Not the greatest of games PB? Spartans playing the better football for me though.

We should win comfortably against either.

When Spartans get the ball down they look likely. Too many long balls trying to turn the defence in the wind though.

17-02-2015, 07:45 PM
You there silv?

No, couldn't make it.

17-02-2015, 07:45 PM
When Spartans get the ball down they look likely. Too many long balls trying to turn the defence in the wind though.

Whats your est of attendance tonight PB?

andrew70
17-02-2015, 07:47 PM

Berwick starting to control things now

17-02-2015, 07:49 PM
1-0 half time.

Pretty even game. Still wide open. Hibs should comfortably beat either.

17-02-2015, 07:49 PM
That must be ht now?

17-02-2015, 07:50 PM
I may be in a minority but I hope Berwick hump them.

17-02-2015, 07:50 PM
Whats your est of attendance tonight PB?

At least 800 I'd say, maybe more.

17-02-2015, 07:51 PM
1-0 half time.

Pretty even game. Still wide open. Hibs should comfortably beat either.

How big is the crowd?

17-02-2015, 07:53 PM
At least 800 I'd say, maybe more.

So only 250/300 or so from Berwick?
Unlikely they'll bring much more to ER if they win tonight

17-02-2015, 07:55 PM
Kick off delayed for 800? Doesn't seem like a lot to delay the start of a match.

17-02-2015, 07:59 PM
Kick off delayed for 800? Doesn't seem like a lot to delay the start of a match.

Could be like the classic East end park situation

They have no idea how many are turning up to watch and they only have 1 or 2 turn styles open

17-02-2015, 08:00 PM
It does if you only have two turnstiles working.

17-02-2015, 08:01 PM
Could be like the classic East end park situation

They have no idea how many are turning up to watch and they only have 1 or 2 turn styles openaye, that was a classic right enough. they knew awrite, just did not carry out their obligations

Canongatehibs
17-02-2015, 08:01 PM

seen him down Porty a couple of times.

Canongatehibs
17-02-2015, 08:02 PM
So only 250/300 or so from Berwick?
Unlikely they'll bring much more to ER if they win tonight

Berwick's usual gate is around 350. Pathetic.

17-02-2015, 08:05 PM

Not bad for a small town where most support newcastle.

17-02-2015, 08:07 PM

You'll be lucky if 200 berwick fans travel up for the match if they get through

17-02-2015, 08:07 PM
It's a wee town, what do you expect?

17-02-2015, 08:08 PM
Not bad for a small town where most support newcastle.

12000 population

HTD1875
17-02-2015, 08:09 PM
Attendence is 2,003

17-02-2015, 08:10 PM
12000 population

Aye, not all 12,000 like football though.

17-02-2015, 08:14 PM
No, couldn't make it.

My mates there. Says he's his usual moany self.. :greengrin

Maybe not, but it is usual for locals to come out to support the team on a big night like tonight. Did Ross County not take three times Dingwall's population to the cup final?

omg they do like to live in the past eh :faf: tw@ts then and still tw@ts

17-02-2015, 08:16 PM
Attendence is 2,003

So about 1200 Berwick fans there. 10% of the town's entire population. Not too shabby.

17-02-2015, 08:18 PM
Maybe not, but it is usual for locals to come out to support the team on a big night like tonight. Did Ross County not take three times Dingwall's population to the cup final?aye, but half o' them were sheep dressed as wummin:wink:

17-02-2015, 08:18 PM
latest result from a much lesser competition

PSG 1 Chelski 1

17-02-2015, 08:20 PM
Attendence is 2,003

That's a huge crowd for Berwick

17-02-2015, 08:20 PM
My mates there. Says he's his usual moany self.. :greengrin

Livi just scored, any idea who got it, he will always moan, makes him happy :greengrin

17-02-2015, 08:27 PM
Any signs of a comeback from Spartans?

17-02-2015, 08:38 PM
Any signs of a comeback from Spartans?

Hope not. :greengrin

17-02-2015, 08:41 PM
They are the Newcastle fans!

17-02-2015, 08:42 PM
Hope not. :greengrin

This!!

No smiley

Come on the strollers!!

17-02-2015, 08:43 PM
Hope not. :greengrinthought you might support yer wee local team, Silver?:wink:

17-02-2015, 08:45 PM
thought you might support yer wee local team, Silver?:wink:

He does. The pilton young team. :na na:

17-02-2015, 08:46 PM
They are the Newcastle fans! I never laugh at Newcastle fans. they are the Hibs of England, the biggest under achievers in the whole of England. much like us, only magnified by the support they still have:cb

17-02-2015, 08:48 PM
He does. The pilton young team. :na na: used to be the young pilton derry if I'm not mistaken:wink:

17-02-2015, 08:48 PM
Is it finished yet?

hibbymick
17-02-2015, 08:49 PM
spartans hit the bar on the 87th minute.

17-02-2015, 08:50 PM
Into injury time.

Spartans hit the bar with a couple of minutes to go.

17-02-2015, 08:52 PM
thought you might support yer wee local team, Silver?:wink:

Money on Berwick, if not i would be rooting for Spartans. :wink: :greengrin

17-02-2015, 08:52 PM
Ft 1-0 berwick.

17-02-2015, 08:53 PM
Full time, 1-0 Berwick.

He does. The pilton young team. :na na:

Pilton, no chance HC. :greengrin

1-0 ft .
Berwick it is . Bring on the real Rangers :)

17-02-2015, 08:54 PM
used to be the young pilton derry if I'm not mistaken:wink:

Correct.

YPD

17-02-2015, 08:54 PM
So it's the Battle of Britain
Scotland v England

Hope the pricing is sensible

TheReg!
17-02-2015, 08:55 PM
If I'm being honest I prefer BR, Spartans would have been a much tougher game.

17-02-2015, 08:59 PM

Got no idea what went on tonight, hope they got pumped though as their injury time goal cost me £160. Not that I'm bitter or anything!

SJNB Hibby
17-02-2015, 08:59 PM
If I'm being honest I prefer BR, Spartans would have been a much tougher game.

Agree--Spartans(Tonight notwithstanding) probably stroll Divi 2

17-02-2015, 09:00 PM
Correct.

YPD Terror ya bass:wink:

17-02-2015, 09:04 PM
Looking forward to it. £15 and £5 per ticket please Hibs.

17-02-2015, 09:06 PM
Looking forward to it. £15 and £5 per ticket please Hibs.

Need to ask Rangers to agree

17-02-2015, 09:10 PM
If I'm being honest I prefer BR, Spartans would have been a much tougher game. I tend to agree. the fact that they are very "local " would have been a potential banana skin for us. we still have to get rid of Berwick before we are back in Hampden, and we always remember what happened to the auld Rangers against them, but we are at home and hopefully will have a massive crowd ( in relation to what the Berwick lads are used to ) that can drive us on. there are a couple of auld connections between ex-Hibs players and their asst.manager, but we should be good enough to beat them. If we cant, we don't deserve to be in the hat for the next round.

17-02-2015, 09:14 PM
Terror ya bass:wink:

More of a YMD person. :wink: :greengrin

17-02-2015, 09:21 PM
I tend to agree. the fact that they are very "local " would have been a potential banana skin for us. we still have to get rid of Berwick before we are back in Hampden, and we always remember what happened to the auld Rangers against them, but we are at home and hopefully will have a massive crowd ( in relation to what the Berwick lads are used to ) that can drive us on. there are a couple of auld connections between ex-Hibs players and their asst.manager, but we should be good enough to beat them. If we cant, we don't deserve to be in the hat for the next round.

Do me a favour! Potential non league tie at home in the last 8 of The Scottish Cup. WTF else can you ask for? Its about time we grew a pair. That is all.

andrew70
17-02-2015, 09:33 PM
If we aren't in the semi finals come late afternoon on 8th March then there is something far wrong.

Absolutely dire from both teams. It really was a non event after around the 30th minute.

As PB said a lot of hopeful long balls in behind each defence but very little else.

Ex-Hibee David Gold was threatening for Berwick in spells but I honestly can't see how they could even cause us a problem. (Famous last words)

we we will give them every bit of respect I hope but a professional performance will see us through.

Canongatehibs
17-02-2015, 09:33 PM
Should be a fun day what with the barmy English Berwick Bandits.

Easy 3 or 4-0 win for the Hibs.

Hampden here we come :-)

17-02-2015, 09:35 PM
Should be a fun day what with the barmy English Berwick Bandits.

Easy 3 or 4-0 win for the Hibs.

Hampden here we come :-)

That's more like it! :-)

17-02-2015, 09:35 PM
More of a YMD person. :wink: :greengrin

YTF Ya bass :greengrin

17-02-2015, 09:58 PM
Phone data died on me mid way througg half time.

Pretty poor 2nd half, Spartans hit the bar late on and the Spartand keeper had a cracking save mid way through the half and that was about it. Lots of huffing and puffing but not a lot of quality even for the level. Weather probably didn't help as it was very windy.

I'd say Hibs, on form, should take 4 or 5 off Berwick but it's Hibs and the SC so who knows?

17-02-2015, 10:11 PM
I'm glad Berwick won. I would have been nervous at the thought of defeat by Spartans. We'll hammer BR.

17-02-2015, 10:15 PM
Phone data died on me mid way througg half time.

Pretty poor 2nd half, Spartans hit the bar late on and the Spartand keeper had a cracking save mid way through the half and that was about it. Lots of huffing and puffing but not a lot of quality even for the level. Weather probably didn't help as it was very windy.

I'd say Hibs, on form, should take 4 or 5 off Berwick but it's Hibs and the SC so who knows?have to admit, your match report data was pretty poor ,pretty boy:wink:

17-02-2015, 10:17 PM
More of a YMD person. :wink: :greengrin you's lot were aye' a bit mental. nothing to worry aboot though:greengrin YNT.

17-02-2015, 10:20 PM
Do me a favour! Potential non league tie at home in the last 8 of The Scottish Cup. WTF else can you ask for? Its about time we grew a pair. That is all.OK, love your super confident pose, although you are a bit younger:wink: I have seen quite a few scunners, in my day when it comes to Hibernian. PM me if you want a seat for Hampden :wink:

17-02-2015, 10:24 PM
YTF Ya bass :greengrin

Who

17-02-2015, 10:33 PM
Not long back from what was a very poor match. BR showed nothing, skills wise, to worry Hibs. The only thing that causes me slight concern was their apparent willingness just to stifle the game by booting the ball out of thje park at every opportunity! Hibs just need to keep possession and it'll be a done deal :wink:

17-02-2015, 10:51 PM
Not long back from what was a very poor match. BR showed nothing, skills wise, to worry Hibs. The only thing that causes me slight concern was their apparent willingness just to stifle the game by booting the ball out of thje park at every opportunity! Hibs just need to keep possession and it'll be a done deal :wink:

Would agree with that. The ball will be sore tonight. Absolutely blootered from one end to the other for 90 mins. Would expect Hibs to take 4 or 5 off Berwick.

Terrible football game.

hibeesboii
17-02-2015, 10:53 PM
If hibs don't make it to Hampden after this game then there is something wrong!!

17-02-2015, 11:04 PM
OK, love your super confident pose, although you are a bit younger:wink: I have seen quite a few scunners, in my day when it comes to Hibernian. PM me if you want a seat for Hampden :wink:

Patronising pish. Its Spartans you were talking about. I've witnessed numerous cup upsets but, when people are twitchy about a potential last 8 tie against a non league team they can do one. Nae smileys needed.

17-02-2015, 11:08 PM
Would agree with that. The ball will be sore tonight. Absolutely blootered from one end to the other for 90 mins. Would expect Hibs to take 4 or 5 off Berwick.

Terrible football game.I love your expression ,re-the ball being sore tonight. :aok: I walked into Willie Ormond's pub in Mussie (Hayweights) years ago and asked Ormond how the game went. he was manager of St. Johnstone at the time and his remark was: the ba's sair son.:greengrin