View Full Version : Quarter final draw - Hibs v Spartans or Berwick Rangers
09-02-2015, 06:07 PM
Well we've sunk to a low if we think Spartans are competition.
Every fan they have is one less for us? You're on the wind up aren't you? You don't think that any of our pink chums, or rugby loving chums are going along the Ainslie Park, do you?
And stop all this guff about Hibs always being a community club - it's a commercial organisation, that has shown some social conscience over the years. Spartans ethos is to give something to the community through a love of the game, they are about developing self esteem, and giving people in North Edinburgh something to be proud of.
No reason Edinburgh can't support both.
I was at Ainslie Park on Saturday, but will go back to Easter Road as well. It was refreshing to be free of mentalist thinking like yours.
Sorry PDR but does this not support the argument others are making. If you are a ST holder with a cup top up then fair play to you, but if not then you chose Spartans over Hibs, meaning that Hibs were £15 down on the deal and had one less supporter behind them. That sounds like Hibs being adversely affected by Spartans to me.
McIntosh
09-02-2015, 06:12 PM
I also reckon that this team we have now are better than the ones that reached the finals in 2012 and 2013.
Could not agree more. God willing we can break this curse.
09-02-2015, 06:17 PM
Sorry PDR but does this not support the argument others are making. If you are a ST holder with a cup top up then fair play to you, but if not then you chose Spartans over Hibs, meaning that Hibs were £15 down on the deal and had one less supporter behind them.
I thought Hibs would be able to live with my non - attendance, whereas I thought my local community might get a massive boost from a decent crowd at Ainslie Park. If Hibs had been in more danger in their tie, I might have seen things differently.
In fact they can probably carry the (?) 500 or so Hibs fans at the match who are a bit disillusioned by how mental professional football has become. We're supposed to enjoy going to the football, not see it as a duty or task that needs to be done.
09-02-2015, 06:18 PM
Sorry to disappoint all you Spartans fans as its odds on we'll be playing Berwick in the next round.
09-02-2015, 06:19 PM
Could not agree more. God willing we can break this curse.
You'll be quoting Kierkegaard next Mr. Renton.
09-02-2015, 06:20 PM
Sorry to disappoint all you Spartans fans as its odds on we'll be playing Berwick in the next round.
You seen Berwick play? No great shakes and a tad unfit.
TrinityHibs
09-02-2015, 06:22 PM
Can someone tell me where exactly is Spartan's ground?
Next to Ainslie Park
09-02-2015, 06:26 PM
You seen Berwick play? No great shakes and a tad unfit.
On paper they're still a class above a Lowland league team and with home advantage I fully expect them to progress to the next round.
09-02-2015, 06:27 PM
Ahhhhhhh this is it. It's happening. :hyper
WillowbraeHibby
09-02-2015, 06:30 PM
As much as I wish the Spartans well, my support will always be 100% Hibernian. If they get by Berwick Rangers, they will just be another team to defeat in my mind.
:flag::flag::flag::flag: GGTTH :scarf:
McIntosh
09-02-2015, 06:30 PM
You'll be quoting Kierkegaard next Mr. Renton. I will save Soren for the final if we get there and win. I don't want to spoil you it is not good for your health.
09-02-2015, 06:32 PM
I didn't realise until the weekend that Colin Cameron is player/manager at Berwick and was on the bench against Spartans.
09-02-2015, 06:33 PM
On paper they're still a class above a Lowland league team and with home advantage I fully expect them to progress to the next round.
Yes, home advantage will count for a lot, but it will also depend on who each team has available.
I will save Soren for the final if we get there and win. I don't want to spoil you it is not good for your health.
Thanks, I'll get right onto Wiki now, to work out if you're insulting me or not. I know Focault about philosophy anyway. :greengrin
09-02-2015, 06:37 PM
Just a wee reminder that Spartans played a then Premier League Livingston a few years back and lost 0-4. They held them until 5 minutes into the 2nd half and were a toe length away from taking the lead.
A couple of years later they held a then 1st division St Mirren 0-0 at home and earned a replay.
It's a good draw and I wouldn't suggest otherwise but we need to be professional about it. The chat about Hampden attendance etc is well premature and either Spartans or Berwick will need to be afforded the utmost respect.
I was at the Livvi game too. Fully expect Berwick to progress, but anything can happen in the cup. Berwick got a few Ex Hibees in the squad, who will raise their game against us
McIntosh
09-02-2015, 06:39 PM
Thanks, I'll get right onto Wiki now, to work out if you're insulting me or not. I know Focault about philosophy anyway. :greengrin
No insult there my friend I thought you were being light hearted. :greengrin
09-02-2015, 06:42 PM
No insult there my friend I thought you were being light hearted. :greengrin
I was indeed, but my knowledge of Kierkegaard doesn't go any further than Trainspotting. :blushie:
09-02-2015, 07:05 PM
I thought Hibs would be able to live with my non - attendance, whereas I thought my local community might get a massive boost from a decent crowd at Ainslie Park. If Hibs had been in more danger in their tie, I might have seen things differently.
In fact they can probably carry the (?) 500 or so Hibs fans at the match who are a bit disillusioned by how mental professional football has become. We're supposed to enjoy going to the football, not see it as a duty or task that needs to be done.
Totally with you. Spartans are a club that are very much involved in the local community. I think Hibs are big enough nit to have to worry about their crowd sizes- ridiculous and petty nonsense from some. Christ, I thought I was a moaning old fud, there's hope yet.
09-02-2015, 07:13 PM
Just a wee reminder that Spartans played a then Premier League Livingston a few years back and lost 0-4. They held them until 5 minutes into the 2nd half and were a toe length away from taking the lead.
A couple of years later they held a then 1st division St Mirren 0-0 at home and earned a replay.
It's a good draw and I wouldn't suggest otherwise but we need to be professional about it. The chat about Hampden attendance etc is well premature and either Spartans or Berwick will need to be afforded the utmost respect.
A comparable game would probably be when we played that junior outfit a few years back. I think we ended up pretty comfortable winners but they made life difficult for a while and they possibly even hit the post at nil nil?
Irvine meadow was it?
09-02-2015, 07:15 PM
Great draw! :aok:
09-02-2015, 07:23 PM
Best chance we could have got for a trip to hampden but lets not get carried away and think all we need to do is simply show up on the day. I've supported hibs long enough to know that many a time when we have gotten too ahead of ourselves its ended up blowing up in our faces. We need to give Spartans/Berwick every bit of respect, they will be right up for it as well and be looking to cause an upset.
Lets sell as many tickets as possible and try make it a special occasion. A large crowd getting right behind the team! :flag:
09-02-2015, 07:26 PM
Best chance we could have got for a trip to hampden but lets not get carried away and think all we need to do is simply show up on the day. I've supported hibs long enough to know that many a time when we have gotten too ahead of ourselves its ended up blowing up in our faces. We need to give Spartans/Berwick every bit of respect, they will be right up for it as well and be looking to cause an upset.
Lets sell as many tickets as possible and try make it a special occasion. A large crowd getting right behind the team! :flag:
:agree:. Stirling Albion, Ayr Utd, Ross County or even Livingston anyone??
09-02-2015, 07:32 PM
Exactly. Some fans already seem to be making plans for hampden. I'm all for being confident and up for it but lets just not get too carried away. If anything it will only make Spartans/Berwick more hungry and more motivated to beat us as its a bit disrespectful to simply write them off and put ourselves into the semi-finals before a ball has even been kicked.
East Fife ?
09-02-2015, 07:37 PM
Exactly. Some fans already seem to be making plans for hampden. I'm all for being confident and up for it but lets just not get too carried away. If anything it will only make Spartans/Berwick more hungry and more motivated to beat us as its a bit disrespectful to simply write them off and put ourselves into the semi-finals before a ball has even been kicked.
I 100% agree with this post mate i have however disagreed with one of your posts on another thread :wink: :greengrin
09-02-2015, 07:37 PM
East Fife ?
Before my time mate, only been alive since 84
09-02-2015, 07:43 PM
Cheer up.
09-02-2015, 07:59 PM
Meadowbank Thistle anyone . A certain Arthur Duncan coming back to haunt us .
09-02-2015, 08:12 PM
Cheer up.
Perfectly cheerful, i'm delighted with the draw, I'm simply making the point that we shouldn't get ourselves too carried away and basically assume the game is already won otherwise we risk looking very very stupid. Like I say, by writing Spartans/Berwick off we are just giving them more motivation to beat us. We SHOULD beat either one of those teams comfortably but doesn't always work like that especially in the cup.
09-02-2015, 08:12 PM
Probably thought we were soft touches as our sphincters were twitching at the prospect of losing to them.
I cannae be arsed with that, I'm looking forward to the semi, if we arnae in it it won't be my fault.
09-02-2015, 08:29 PM
FFS we will beat either of them if not hammer them. We are as good as in the semi final. Hibs are going to Hampden but whether it's twice or not we shall see. I think we are stick on for the cup final against the wee greens and praying we get it right
09-02-2015, 08:35 PM
None of those defeats were at Easter Road. Last seasons defeat to raith is the only time I can remember us being knocked out of the scottish cup to a lower league team at home.
09-02-2015, 08:38 PM
Great draw and as neither team is as good as Arbroath it would take something calamitous even by our standards for us not to be in the semi draw. Any opponent there will be a different kettle of fish.
Nice earner for the club at worst.
09-02-2015, 08:38 PM
Nothing wrong with us supporters getting excited and looking ahead to potential Hampden days out. More important that the players and management approach the game in a professional manner, and I have every confidence they will. I can taste the early morning tattie scone rolls in The Iron Horse already.....
09-02-2015, 08:50 PM
None of those defeats were at Easter Road. Last seasons defeat to raith is the only time I can remember us being knocked out of the scottish cup to a lower league team at home.
We lost at home to Montrose, I think.
Arbroath too, maybe.
09-02-2015, 08:52 PM
Nothing wrong with us supporters getting excited and looking ahead to potential Hampden days out. More important that the players and management approach the game in a professional manner, and I have every confidence they will. I can taste the early morning tattie scone rolls in The Iron Horse already.....
IF we get through i can't wait to see the fallout when the club announce that it will be 6 tickets per season ticket holder because they've backed the club constantly through a tough spell.
Let the scramble commence, especially if it was the celtic we were drawn against.
09-02-2015, 08:55 PM
Can't see us not winning though Berwick have played Arbroath twice this season and only lost by 1 and 2 goals so every chance it could be tight.
09-02-2015, 08:55 PM
IF we get through i can't wait to see the fallout when the club announce that it will be 6 tickets per season ticket holder because they've backed the club constantly through a tough spell.
Let the scramble commence, especially if it was the celtic we were drawn against.
Would we get 42.000 tickets?
09-02-2015, 08:56 PM
And quite right too......
The day trippers won't be happy mate :greengrin
Would we get 42.000 tickets?
General sale should only be for tickets behind the goals miles away. ST holders get the sides :greengrin
09-02-2015, 08:57 PM
We lost at home to Montrose, I think.
Arbroath too, maybe.
Montrose was the LC.
Raith Rovers have trousered us twice at ER as I recall. Keith doing us some damage the first time.
East Fife away in a replay.
Stirling Albion in a replay.
Ross County when still a league below us.in a replay.
Ayr United.
Christ its hellish.
And quite right too......
The day trippers won't be happy mate :greengrin
Tough titties.
General sale should only be for tickets behind the goals miles away. ST holders the the sides :greengrin
Is this like 1st and std class on the choo choo's
09-02-2015, 08:58 PM
Montrose was the LC.
Raith Rovers have trousered us twice at ER as I recall. Keith doing us some damage the first time.
East Fife away in a replay.
Stirling Albion in a replay.
Ross County when still a league below us.in a replay.
Ayr United.
Christ its hellish.
Do you know who played and scored for Raith in that game? Also plays for Berwick!!!'
09-02-2015, 08:59 PM
Is this like 1st and std class on the choo choo's
Correct, fans that have been miles away get tickets that are miles away. :agree:
09-02-2015, 09:00 PM
Do you know who played and scored for Raith in that game? Also plays for Berwick!!!'
CC?
09-02-2015, 09:00 PM
Craig Dargo.
09-02-2015, 09:02 PM
Craig Dargo.
Cameron.
09-02-2015, 09:06 PM
Cameron.
I'm sure Colin Cameron was at Hertz then.
09-02-2015, 09:07 PM
Jesus did Dargo and Cameron both score?
We're doomed
09-02-2015, 09:15 PM
General sale should only be for tickets behind the goals miles away. ST holders get the sides :greengrin
Tbh I won't need my 6 tickets but I'll probably buy them anyway just so I have a bit room either side of me.
I've become accustomed to having plenty room to spread out at ER the last few seasons so don't see why that should change at Hampden just because the stay aways decide they fancy it again......
09-02-2015, 09:17 PM
Tbh I won't need my 6 tickets but I'll probably buy them anyway just so I have a bit room either side of me.
I've become accustomed to having plenty room to spread out at ER the last few seasons so don't see why that should change at Hampden just because the stay aways decide they fancy it again......
Yip. The fewer fans we take the better.
09-02-2015, 09:23 PM
Nonsense. The trophy is in the bag. Say it like you mean it and be proud; 'this is our year biscuits you little sniveling yam welt':flag::gwa2::hibees
09-02-2015, 09:23 PM
:agree:, then use the 6 stubs to get 6 briefs for the final so you've plenty room again.......
09-02-2015, 09:40 PM
:agree:, then use the 6 stubs to get 6 briefs for the final so you've plenty room again.......
:gwa: Stubbsy Stubbsy ...... :wink:
10-02-2015, 12:30 AM
Fair enough FDR .... But that's a different argument. The question was, would the rise of another professional club in north Edinburgh affect Hibs? Its no secret that Spartans goal is to become part of the "mental" professional game is it not?
If of your estimated 500 Hibs fans at Ainslie Park on Saturday 400 of them see Spartans as an alternative to giving up football altogether then fine I suppose. But if the remaining 100 have switched allegiance from Hibs to Spartans for whatever reason then the case is made for Spartans being a bad thing for Hibs in the long run.
Nobody has a duty to go to football or even follow a particular team if they don't want to. But its the very essence of being a fan that if you have chosen to follow a club your loyalty is to that club above all others, no matter what. That's the thing that stops us being just another punter like customers at TESCO ..... I know clubs take the piss out of fans by using that loyalty by the way I'm not that daft.
Hibs as far as I can see cant afford to be losing fans to anybody, especially a potential rival on our own doorstep. If Hibs average this season is 9,000 over 18 games that means that 9,000 folk watched Hibs 18 times ..... not that Hibs have 162,000 fans. In view of that, if Spartans aim is to go pro ( and it is ) which by definition means they will be competing with Hibs for support, then I don't care if they are run by Mother Theresa and use their gate money to feed orphans and rescue puppies, I want them to fail.
Sorry to rant, but that's my view of it.
10-02-2015, 04:32 AM
Fair enough FDR .... But that's a different argument. The question was, would the rise of another professional club in north Edinburgh affect Hibs? Its no secret that Spartans goal is to become part of the "mental" professional game is it not?
If of your estimated 500 Hibs fans at Ainslie Park on Saturday 400 of them see Spartans as an alternative to giving up football altogether then fine I suppose. But if the remaining 100 have switched allegiance from Hibs to Spartans for whatever reason then the case is made for Spartans being a bad thing for Hibs in the long run.
Nobody has a duty to go to football or even follow a particular team if they don't want to. But its the very essence of being a fan that if you have chosen to follow a club your loyalty is to that club above all others, no matter what. That's the thing that stops us being just another punter like customers at TESCO ..... I know clubs take the piss out of fans by using that loyalty by the way I'm not that daft.
Hibs as far as I can see cant afford to be losing fans to anybody, especially a potential rival on our own doorstep. If Hibs average this season is 9,000 over 18 games that means that 9,000 folk watched Hibs 18 times ..... not that Hibs have 162,000 fans. In view of that, if Spartans aim is to go pro ( and it is ) which by definition means they will be competing with Hibs for support, then I don't care if they are run by Mother Theresa and use their gate money to feed orphans and rescue puppies, I want them to fail.
10-02-2015, 06:12 AM
10/10
10-02-2015, 07:16 AM
OK then, I won't go again. :greengrin
Islington Hibs
10-02-2015, 07:21 AM
Spartans are creating a niche for themselves however Meadowbank used to be down the road and it made no difference to us. The choice in Edinburgh is between Hibs and Hearts and they are the real competition. Dundee Utd are probably bigger than Dundee these days because they have performed so much better than Dundee over the last 30 years. Glory hunters :wink:
We have held on to our support, despite some pretty lean years, but ultimately it is about success on the park and if we achieve that we won't need to worry about Hearts, let alone Spartans.
By the by lets hope it is Spartan's in the next round. Much more exciting and better attended than a game v Berwick?
10-02-2015, 07:28 AM
Does anybody know what's happening re the Hibs kids day scheduled for mar7th. We were meant to be playing livi that day but it seems someone forgot about it being scottish quarter final day.
10-02-2015, 09:19 AM
Does anybody know what's happening re the Hibs kids day scheduled for mar7th. We were meant to be playing livi that day but it seems someone forgot about it being scottish quarter final day.
Surely leave it as a Hibs Kids Day, pretty good opportunity for a big crowd.
10-02-2015, 09:26 AM
They should do that definatly :agree:
Hopefully a big crowd and big atmosphere. Big chance o get ourselves back to hampden so lets make it an occassion :thumbsup:
10-02-2015, 09:50 AM
They can't as not all families will have the cup top up.
10-02-2015, 11:14 AM
OK then, I won't go again. :greengrin
:greengrin .... Ach, that's not what I meant .... Before I had a partner who would cut my dangly bits off if I was at football every Saturday I used to pop down to watch the Fairydean when Hibs were away. My only concern is when folk choose to go elsewhere instead of Hibs.
10-02-2015, 11:22 AM
I know what you're saying here, but if Tesco treat their punters better than a football club treats the fans - and mostly they do - the question has to arise as to when and at what point a fan is justified in walking away? .... or going elsewhere? ... or even choosing to follow another sport entirely?
And wanting every potential or actual rival to 'fail' - lose games, get relegated, go into administration, cease to exist as if they never had been? - apply that to all Hibs' rivals and Hibs end up the only team in the league and then where are we?
Though I do agree that another League football team in Edinburgh could be seen as being one too many.
10-02-2015, 11:31 AM
Have the QF match date/times been announced yet ? If not, any idea when we'll know ?
10-02-2015, 11:36 AM
Have the QF match date/times been announced yet ? If not, any idea when we'll know ?
Once we know who we are playing so that's after the berwick spartans replay
10-02-2015, 11:40 AM
Spartans are creating a niche for themselves however Meadowbank used to be down the road and it made no difference to us. The choice in Edinburgh is between Hibs and Hearts and they are the real competition. Dundee Utd are probably bigger than Dundee these days because they have performed so much better than Dundee over the last 30 years. Glory hunters :wink:
We have held on to our support, despite some pretty lean years, but ultimately it is about success on the park and if we achieve that we won't need to worry about Hearts, let alone Spartans.
By the by lets hope it is Spartan's in the next round. Much more exciting and better attended than a game v Berwick?
I agree with all of that, but it has to be said that Spartans appear to be very well run and have a long range plan for steady growth, with a view to being a national leagues club. I have a lot of respect for the folk running them and that worries me. If in the next 10 years they attract 500 adults who take 500 kids with them who were, or could have been, Hibs supporters that at current FF lower prices would cost Hibs at £405 for an adult and £25 for a kid £215,000. If all the kids buy a strip at £30 and half the adults at £40 that's another £25,000. Chuck in sundries like food & drink and its more. That's why I cant see Spartans as just a cuddly distraction.
10-02-2015, 11:58 AM
Spartans are creating a niche for themselves however Meadowbank used to be down the road and it made no difference to us.
It is hardly surprising given that Meadowbank attracted crowds of under 200 towards the end. Of those fifty or sixty would be away fans, another 60 had comps and the remainder spent the match chanting 'Blobby Out'.
I don't think that Meadowbank dented the Hibs support even when they were in Division One.
10-02-2015, 12:02 PM
I know what you're saying here, but if Tesco treat their punters better than a football club treats the fans - and mostly they do - the question has to arise as to when and at what point a fan is justified in walking away? .... or going elsewhere? ... or even choosing to follow another sport entirely?
And wanting every potential or actual rival to 'fail' - lose games, get relegated, go into administration, cease to exist as if they never had been? - apply that to all Hibs' rivals and Hibs end up the only team in the league and then where are we?
Though I do agree that another League football team in Edinburgh could be seen as being one too many.
I hate the thought of any club going down the pan ( yes even those two ) and if you can find my comments on the Dundee situation a while back you will see I'm being truthful. I have no problem with new clubs either and wish ICT drew bigger crowds. But the potential Spartans situation is different ..... I doubt any club would be happy to see a new profession club setting up in their traditional catchment area. We have a hard enough time keeping kids out of the clutches of the Yams, the ugly sisters and the EPL without another spanner being thrown into the works.
10-02-2015, 12:02 PM
I agree with all of that, but it has to be said that Spartans appear to be very well run and have a long range plan for steady growth, with a view to being a national leagues club. I have a lot of respect for the folk running them and that worries me. If in the next 10 years they attract 500 adults who take 500 kids with them who were, or could have been, Hibs supporters that at current FF lower prices would cost Hibs at £405 for an adult and £25 for a kid £215,000. If all the kids buy a strip at £30 and half the adults at £40 that's another £25,000. Chuck in sundries like food & drink and its more. That's why I cant see Spartans as just a cuddly distraction.
You've clearly not seen the Spartans catering arrangements!
I take your point, and given the way that Spartans are involving the kids in the area, giving them something to belong to, I can see that they will attract more people to games in future.
I just don't see them as a long term competitor to the big clubs - what they will be is a conveyor belt of talent as they have a very good development programme. They are based in an area where a lot of kids don't have parents who can take them to the likes of East Mains, and they are to be applauded for promoting the game as a way to build self esteem and a sense of community.
It is the way ahead for Scottish football as the way our game is going we really need to see it as being the equivalent to the likes of the LoI, rather than a competitor to the likes of the Premiership or La Liga. Where that leaves Hibs in the long term, I don't know.
Just now, they are no more a threat to Hibs than junior teams - it's just that they operate in a city (albeit a part of the city that is "outside the city walls").
10-02-2015, 12:08 PM
You've clearly not seen the Spartans catering arrangements!
I take your point, and given the way that Spartans are involving the kids in the area, giving them something to belong to, I can see that they will attract more people to games in future.
I just don't see them as a long term competitor to the big clubs - what they will be is a conveyor belt of talent as they have a very good development programme. They are based in an area where a lot of kids don't have parents who can take them to the likes of East Mains, and they are to be applauded for promoting the game as a way to build self esteem and a sense of community.
It is the way ahead for Scottish football as the way our game is going we really need to see it as being the equivalent to the likes of the LoI, rather than a competitor to the likes of the Premiership or La Liga. Where that leaves Hibs in the long term, I don't know.
Just now, they are no more a threat to Hibs than junior teams - it's just that they operate in a city (albeit a part of the city that is "outside the city walls").
Time will tell I suppose .... I'm not worried by current Spartans, future Spartans could be another matter.
10-02-2015, 12:54 PM
Just imagine what state we'll be in if 300 Spartans descend on ER on 1/4 Final Day!
10-02-2015, 12:58 PM
Time will tell I suppose .... I'm not worried by current Spartans, future Spartans could be another matter.
Who knows what the future of football in this country is? We have the implosion of one ugly sister in front of us, the other one will find it hard to survive without them. Jambos operating on an unsustainable business model - without community support (meaning that they are hoping for the community to build them a new stadium). Meanwhile clubs from the smaller towns are sitting comfortably in the SPL.
Fast forward 10 years - Huns no more, Celtic in England. What then, further consolidation of cross border arrangements? I think that if Spartans ever compete with Hibs, it will be a result of a massive restructuring and rationalisation of our game.
So, it'll be a level playing field anyway.
Islington Hibs
10-02-2015, 01:27 PM
Who knows what the future of football in this country is? We have the implosion of one ugly sister in front of us, the other one will find it hard to survive without them. Jambos operating on an unsustainable business model - without community support (meaning that they are hoping for the community to build them a new stadium). Meanwhile clubs from the smaller towns are sitting comfortably in the SPL.
Fast forward 10 years - Huns no more, Celtic in England. What then, further consolidation of cross border arrangements? I think that if Spartans ever compete with Hibs, it will be a result of a massive restructuring and rationalisation of our game.
So, it'll be a level playing field anyway.
You raise some interesting points. It remains to be seen if The Rangers gates will return, or whether they are permanently damaged. It is certainly unsustainable to have just one club that can win everything - dull for them and tedious for everyone else.
The last 4 years without Rangers have not done the game much damage and to be honest if Celtic left I think it would not be a disaster. We would have a very competitive league with Hibs, Hearts, Aberdeen and Dundee Utd all pretty equally sized followed by another 6 sides or so all capable of challenging. Sure the TV money might be done, but so what- it would be an exciting competitive league rather than the one horse race it is now.
WestEndHibee
10-02-2015, 02:04 PM
You raise some interesting points. It remains to be seen if The Rangers gates will return, or whether they are permanently damaged. It is certainly unsustainable to have just one club that can win everything - dull for them and tedious for everyone else.
The last 4 years without Rangers have not done the game much damage and to be honest if Celtic left I think it would not be a disaster. We would have a very competitive league with Hibs, Hearts, Aberdeen and Dundee Utd all pretty equally sized followed by another 6 sides or so all capable of challenging. Sure the TV money might be done, but so what- it would be an exciting competitive league rather than the one horse race it is now.
Exactly my thoughts on the matter. I would love to see a competitive SPFL without the uglies where more than one team actually has a shot at winning a league. It's only when we reach that point that Scottish football will be able to grow again.
maturehibby
10-02-2015, 03:36 PM
Before my time mate, only been alive since 84
not counting the years in short trousers - you must have had a very busy paper run then