View Full Version : Who would you want to play in a friendly?

06-02-2015, 02:07 AM
If we could arrange a friendly against any current team in the world, who would it be and Why?

06-02-2015, 02:56 AM
Sporting KC. I live in Kansas City and hopefully wee Jorge would be playing too... would be wonderful to see the wee man again even of he was playing against us.....

06-02-2015, 05:18 AM
A pre season tour in Spain would be class. Not even bothered about who the opposition is.

06-02-2015, 05:56 AM
Get them out here to the States! (California) preferably to play Sacramento Republic, and can include San Jose Earthquakes, and LA Galaxy. I'd be there in a heartbeat!

06-02-2015, 06:47 AM
Werder Bremen.

There are many similarities between both clubs and there's great potential for a sort of club partnership.

Also Bremen is a great wee town on the razz!

chinaman
06-02-2015, 06:54 AM
Millwall up here.

Berwickhibby
06-02-2015, 06:58 AM
Malta Hibernians :flag:

06-02-2015, 07:02 AM
Kispest Honvéd FC (Budapest) ....preferably in the summer ..:greengrin

xyz23jc
06-02-2015, 07:05 AM
A pre season tour in Spain would be class. Not even bothered about who the opposition is.

100% agree with this!

Werder Bremen.

There are many similarities between both clubs and there's great potential for a sort of club partnership.

Good shout with this one!

Fiorentina.

06-02-2015, 07:13 AM
Liverpool and Tranmere would be good, if really desperate could always ask the Blue ****** too!

06-02-2015, 07:21 AM
Liverpool and Tranmere would be good, if really desperate could always ask the Blue ****** too!

I was actually wondering if stubbs would use is everton connection to arrange a pre season game this year

06-02-2015, 07:33 AM
I'm still advocating a pre season tour of Yorkshire. I know I'll get a few agreeing.

York, Huddersfield and Hull or something like that.

I wouldn't be interested in watching another 'glamour' gane against the likes of Barcelona where the players are banned from tackling properly

06-02-2015, 07:46 AM
Or another "jolly" tae Blackpool ...:party:

06-02-2015, 07:55 AM
Arsenal at Easter Road.

06-02-2015, 07:57 AM
Hearts in Malaga

06-02-2015, 08:00 AM
I'm still advocating a pre season tour of Yorkshire. I know I'll get a few agreeing.

I wouldn't be interested in watching another 'glamour' gane against the likes of Barcelona where the players are banned from tackling properly

This is exactly it for me. Every year this thread comes about I always post that I'd love a tour of Yorkshire. :agree:

06-02-2015, 08:35 AM
Fleetwood away

06-02-2015, 08:45 AM
Anywhere but Yorkshire !! :wink:

Ajax away would be a great trip and flights are cheap as chips.

If it was at ER it would be great to get Mixu to bring a Finnish National 11

I would love a friendly against Bolton (my wife's side of the family all support the Trotters) and Stubbs might have good contacts.

First person to say ireland get the "lack of imagination" award !:na na:

06-02-2015, 09:04 AM
Berwick Rangers would be class:wink:

06-02-2015, 09:06 AM
Fleetwood away

Good shout, just down the road for me:greengrin Were you one of the 'McCods Edinburgh Cod Army' at the Crawley match?

06-02-2015, 09:07 AM
Elgin City.
Bring back the highland tours, they were good enough for the Tornadoes.:flag:

06-02-2015, 09:53 AM
Werder Bremen.

My chosen Bundesliga team. Sure they play 500 miles at games too. Them or Everton / Liverpool coz I get free digs at my brothers in Crosby:greengrin

06-02-2015, 10:04 AM
Werder Bremen.

Fischkopf!

Actually, I'd go if we could play them in a pre-season. Though I'd prefer it if Hibs had a pre-season tour of Bayern........

06-02-2015, 11:01 AM
Tenerife away, preferably in June when I'm there.

06-02-2015, 11:13 AM
The Rangers so we can get a confidence boosting win

06-02-2015, 11:15 AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sociedade_Esportiva_Palmeiras

06-02-2015, 11:21 AM
A wee tour of Brittany à la 2001/2002 wouldn't be too shabby. :greengrin

Shaggy
06-02-2015, 11:25 AM
Newcastle away,
Great stadium and convenient from Waverley.
... my only concern would be our supports behavior , after seeing the Bolton pre-season nonsense

06-02-2015, 11:28 AM
Club Bruges.
One of the nicest towns I've ever visited.
Very peaceful. No hordes of singing football fans.
Oh, wait a minute ......

06-02-2015, 11:39 AM
My chosen Bundesliga team. Sure they play 500 miles at games too. Them or Everton / Liverpool coz I get free digs at my brothers in Crosby:greengrin

Certainly did when I was there a couple of years back - quality stadium/crowd.. and agree with the town razz comment too:cb

Back on topic: Brazilian/Sweden National Women's side, or an amateur team that I could play with for the day!

06-02-2015, 11:44 AM
This is exactly it for me. Every year this thread comes about I always post that I'd love a tour of Yorkshire. :agree:

And every year the Police say, "no f***ing chance are that lot getting down here" :greengrin

06-02-2015, 11:47 AM
Oldham, Aston Villa and Millwall away :hyper

06-02-2015, 11:55 AM
Fancy a tour of somewhere where the beer is ruinous so you can really focus on the football?

Switzerland it is!

06-02-2015, 11:59 AM
Sunderland or Middlesboro away. Catch up with mates down there and the beer is cheap.

06-02-2015, 12:12 PM

Agree :thumbsup:

06-02-2015, 12:21 PM
Brighton & Hove

I bet they will be rubbish!! :greengrin

06-02-2015, 12:23 PM
Cardiff and Swansea away

06-02-2015, 12:37 PM
Agree :thumbsup:

Bits and pop all round J. :greengrin

06-02-2015, 12:38 PM
Real Majorca, a week in Santa Ponsa on the lash

06-02-2015, 12:46 PM
Good shout, just down the road for me:greengrin Were you one of the 'McCods Edinburgh Cod Army' at the Crawley match?

Yes mate

06-02-2015, 01:50 PM
Home - Millwall

Away - West Ham or any of the Prague teams

06-02-2015, 02:25 PM
Club Bruges.
One of the nicest towns I've ever visited.
Very peaceful. No hordes of singing football fans.
Oh, wait a minute ......

I would go for that, great wee town & the chips are great :greengrin

06-02-2015, 03:02 PM
Newcastle away would be superb.

Just a short hop on the train and a quality day/ night out.

I'd love to see Hibs play in Munich at some point too, brilliant city and brilliant ground for watching football. My mate went to see Aberdeen play there a few years ago and said it was class. To be honest I'd love to see Hibs play anywhere in Germany, I love the place and didn't go when we played there a couple of years ago.

06-02-2015, 03:10 PM
Guessing we will play Everton in pre season that would be a good trip

06-02-2015, 04:17 PM
LA Galaxy because I have 2 season tickets, Robbie Keane and Steven Gerrard could be poached by Stubbs and our fans could visit George Best's former bar in Hermosa Beach which was known as "Besties Beach Club". It was opened by George Best when he played for the Los Angeles Aztecs but now it is called "The Underground".

A bit of history by some guy here (http://dontstopliving.net/besties-bar-hermosa-avenue-los-angeles/)

06-02-2015, 04:20 PM
Bits and pop all round J. :greengrin

You would get the chance to give bits a go :agree:

gorgie greens
06-02-2015, 04:24 PM
Cardiff and Swansea away

Same for me,I know every watering hole around those grounds

scuttle
06-02-2015, 04:46 PM
Plymouth Argyle for me...a long journey, but a great night oot

MichelleHibs
06-02-2015, 05:21 PM
Liverpool!

06-02-2015, 06:11 PM
Millwall away. :take that

06-02-2015, 06:36 PM
Scarborough away. A day at the beach!

06-02-2015, 06:41 PM
Scarborough away. A day at the beach!

Went to their old ground, such a shame they folded.

06-02-2015, 07:00 PM
Millwall, Ajax or West Ham away would be good.

06-02-2015, 07:01 PM
Wouldn't mind another wee away trip to Malmo again

06-02-2015, 07:07 PM
Went to their old ground, such a shame they folded.

I thought they were still kicking about. Looks like they play in Bridlington now which isn't ideal.

06-02-2015, 07:10 PM
Eintracht Frankfurt
Nottingham Forest
Millwall
West Ham
Bilbao

06-02-2015, 07:10 PM
Maybe a wee tour of the Ryman Premier clubs. Enfield Town at the Donkey Dome - then Wingate & Finchley at the Harry Abrahams, finishing with a kicking match against the Met Police at Imber Court.

I'd settle for 2 wins and a draw :thumbsup:

06-02-2015, 07:12 PM
East fife....

06-02-2015, 07:24 PM
Real Madrid, due to the great players they have on show and would be great to visit the Santiago Bernabeu.

Also wouldn't mind a wee trip to play Pafos FC. It would be by no means a glamour friendly but I went to Paphos a few months ago and the weather was fantastic. It would be nice to go for a few days around July or August.

Also on the list, for similar reasons, would be Orlando City and any Australian A-League side.

06-02-2015, 10:04 PM
Inter Milan, because I have spent most of the last 3 years working there and watching them (midweek games only), and in my humble opinion, we would have a decent chance of beating them !

07-02-2015, 07:59 AM
Everton away at Goodison would be great. Would love to go down and see Hibs play there. Saw Everton at ER with young Wayne Rooney and Tam McManus kick lumps out of each other

07-02-2015, 08:11 AM
Has to be Real Madrid at ER

07-02-2015, 08:13 AM
Inter Milan, because I have spent most of the last 3 years working there and watching them (midweek games only), and in my humble opinion, we would have a decent chance of beating them !

You're right. Based on current form, Celtc are going to knock them out of the EL.

07-02-2015, 08:22 AM
Arsenal

07-02-2015, 08:54 AM
I wouldn't go to an MK Dons friendly.

07-02-2015, 09:09 AM

That is one game I would really like to see.

07-02-2015, 09:14 AM

I wouldn't organise a bus for that one.

Nomeancity
07-02-2015, 09:21 AM
Bayern or 1860 Munich away in October.

07-02-2015, 10:08 AM

I'm definitely not in for that one.

I wouldn't organise a bus for that one.

Reserve me one seat to not use please.

SJNB Hibby
07-02-2015, 10:54 AM
Toronto FC or Montreal Impact(or both) on a pre-season tour please

07-02-2015, 11:15 AM
How about a trip down to Rio de Janeiro to play Flamengo. Handy for the Copacabana.

07-02-2015, 11:26 AM
Pre-season tour of Portugal. Home game against Real Madrid or Bayern Munich (someone in that calibre)

Canongatehibs
07-02-2015, 12:37 PM
I'd like to play a friendly team.

Humo
07-02-2015, 04:19 PM
Would quite like to go play malmo again (this time with an actual football team) would definitely be a closer affair

07-02-2015, 05:37 PM
Cologne away please. The only other team that matters to me and a great place to visit.

07-02-2015, 05:41 PM
Every pre season I wait for the West Country Tour.

Bristol City
Bristol Rovers
Swindon Town
Yeovil
Even Cardiff at a push.

07-02-2015, 05:54 PM
Every pre season I wait for the West Country Tour.

Bristol City
Bristol Rovers
Swindon Town
Yeovil
Even Cardiff at a push.

That would be good.

Green Man
07-02-2015, 06:22 PM
Someone in south Morocco.

07-02-2015, 06:40 PM
Would quite like to go play malmo again (this time with an actual football team) would definitely be a closer affair

Good shout!

08-02-2015, 07:05 AM
So its agreed Yeovil, Mk Dons than Malmo....

Bring it on!

08-02-2015, 09:24 AM
Bayern or 1860 Munich away in October.

Do you have any idea how much it costs for flights and accomodation during the Oktoberfest? How mobbed the city already is with tourists?

Nah, Hibs should come over in July or August and create our own version of the Oktoberfest.

I'd love a week of Sat - Wed - Sat:

Unterhaching (http://www.spvggunterhaching.de/) - Augsburg (http://www.fcaugsburg.de/) - TSV 1860 (http://www.tsv1860.de/)