View Full Version : The Official Snack Based Transfer Deadline Day Thread:

02-02-2015, 08:45 AM
Morning all.

I've had an absolute Terry Butcher of a morning. Left everything to the last minute and ultimately failed. Blew my load at the races yesterday, drank on an empty stomach until midnight and I'm now sat staring at the wallpaper in silence.

However, it's how we react to adversity that defines us as people. I'm here now.

Snack list to follow. Right now I need an Eartha Kitt and a strong coffee.

Over to you booing lot.

02-02-2015, 08:53 AM
Morning ablutions complete, settling down to SSN with a large tub of twiglets and box of maltesers:cb

02-02-2015, 08:58 AM
Ablutions.

Congratulations. You have just won the internet. Fantastic word.

02-02-2015, 09:00 AM
Does half a dozen pints of real ale at lunchtime get me into this select group this time round? :greengrin In case it helps we will probably have the left over roast potatoes that chef throws out to us after the kitchen shuts at two.

Expecting us to pay Heff to walkand maybe a few loans out but no other activity. The big team will make the last minute big money signings.

02-02-2015, 09:00 AM
Ablutions.

Congratulations. You have just won the internet. Fantastic word.

:cup:

02-02-2015, 09:01 AM
Kleenex by the side awaiting on the arrival of Natalie big chebs Sawyer.

ManBearPig
02-02-2015, 09:03 AM
Leftovers from super bowl party and a new bottle of decent whisky should do it!!

Don't expect any Hibs business but hopefully Sissoko stays at Newcastle..

02-02-2015, 09:03 AM
Terry Butcher of a morning..:tee hee: :top marks

Whats worse, a Terry Butcher, or Maurice Malpas? :greengrin

02-02-2015, 09:07 AM
Morning all.

I've had an absolute Terry Butcher of a morning. Left everything to the last minute and ultimately failed. Blew my load at the races yesterday, drank on an empty stomach until midnight and I'm now sat staring at the wallpaper in silence.

However, it's how we react to adversity that defines us as people. I'm here now.

Snack list to follow. Right now I need an Eartha Kitt and a strong coffee.

Over to you booing lot.

:clapper: :top marks

02-02-2015, 09:58 AM
Update - I'm hanging by a tack.

02-02-2015, 09:59 AM
Gutted, I'm going to miss all the fun. Working at 3.

02-02-2015, 09:59 AM
Update - I'm hanging by a tack.

Snip it. :agree:

02-02-2015, 10:03 AM
My completed snack list:

Dry Goods

1 x Multipack of McCoys (Sizzling King Prawn, Mexican Chilli & Thai Sweet Chicken)
1 x Large bag of Randoms
1 X Bag of Squidgee Love Hearts
1 x Packet of Fig Rolls
1 X 4 pack of Toffee Crisp's

Wet Goods

8 x Stella
8 x Diet Coke
1 x Bottle of Jack Daniels

Should get me through the day !

Don Giovanni
02-02-2015, 10:14 AM
Leftovers from super bowl party and a new bottle of decent whisky should do it!!

Don't expect any Hibs business but hopefully Sissoko stays at Newcastle..

Amazed your up, mate. Good effort!

Think it'll be a quiet yin on the Hibs front.
Maybe Gateshead will loan a couple more Toon youngsters.

02-02-2015, 10:26 AM

Unlikely to be much Hibs interest today, but perhaps a fire sale at Ibrox will reduce Jim White to unstoppable fits of blubbing before the night is out?

Could be the last 'Arry Redknapp TDD too, so I hope his chat about bodies through car windows is up to the task.

02-02-2015, 10:28 AM
2x Quavers
3x Frazzles
1x Fish and Chips (crisps)
1x box of Cadburys fingers.
1x can of coke.

This is breakfast. My trip to the shops has been delayed as I'm absolutely buckled right now.

02-02-2015, 10:40 AM
Unsurprisingly hard to get really excited about January deadline day this year, especially as it's February .

This ridiculous sensible early signings policy that Dempster and Stubbs have brought in may be good for the football on the park, but why has no one considered the wider cultural implications ?? It never would have happened when Petrie was in charge !

Anyway..trying my best to muster up a typical exiled Scots parochial and clichéd tableful of consumables:

Tunnocks teacakes (only 5 in box as son nicked one last night)
M&S All Butter Shortbread Tin 650g - Stags in Mist artwork on tin (left over Christmas present from Mother in Law)
4 cans Crabbies
4 Cans Irn Bru
1 bottle Innis & Gunn Hand Crafted Ale
depressingly crap amount of Highland Park in bottle that lost it's lid at New Years party and now has tin foil covering
10 pack of Space Raiders (ok not made in in Scotland, but if Leith ever get's it's own NFL Franchise that's what I want the team to be called)

I'll never last on that lot without a bacon roll or six

02-02-2015, 10:54 AM
Unsurprisingly hard to get really excited about January deadline day this year, especially as it's February .

This ridiculous sensible early signings policy that Dempster and Stubbs have brought in may be good for the football on the park, but why has no one considered the wider cultural implications ?? It never would have happened when Petrie was in charge !

Anyway..trying my best to muster up a typical exiled Scots parochial and clichéd tableful of consumables:

Tunnocks teacakes (only 5 in box as son nicked one last night)
M&S All Butter Shortbread Tin 650g - Stags in Mist artwork on tin (left over Christmas present from Mother in Law)
4 cans Crabbies
4 Cans Irn Bru
1 bottle Innis & Gunn Hand Crafted Ale
depressingly crap amount of Highland Park in bottle that lost it's lid at New Years party and now has tin foil covering
10 pack of Space Raiders (ok not made in in Scotland, but if Leith ever get's it's own NFL Franchise that's what I want the team to be called)

I'll never last on that lot without a bacon roll or six

Pretty decent flag-waving there, I'd say. Make sure you go for classic white morning rolls for that authentic Scottish flavour, and stick a slice or three in with the bacon if you can find them. Or maybe a white pudding?

KingFranck
02-02-2015, 11:47 AM
Keep them coming lads I love this day/night

Newcastle better not flog anyone tonight

Need to stock up on some snacks on the way home but will take my pick from what all you guys are having. Dry roasted peanuts to finish off :thumbsup:

02-02-2015, 11:50 AM
Am away tae the Post office to top up on my Gas and ill make sure i swing by Greggs for a Chicken tandoori Baguette on the way hame, Might get a Vanilla slice tae then over the road to Lidl's for 4 cans of Fosters.

02-02-2015, 11:58 AM
Just about to visit the local Asian grocers to invest in a cornucopia of Bobby's Snacks, a tub of Mrs Unis' chicken pakora and a couple of cans of Barr's American Cream Soda.

02-02-2015, 12:01 PM
Im on a diet ..just gonna nibble on a carrot for the next umpteen hours ..

ManBearPig
02-02-2015, 12:03 PM

Yeah yesterday consisted of currie star v Spartans 2002s then Andy Murray then the infirm (less said about that the better) an afternoon of madden ps4 then Super Bowl and quick sleep and now TDD on sky sports. Still got case of bud, bottle of whisky, skittles, recces pieces and dortitos. May the chaos commence

02-02-2015, 12:07 PM
This falls on a hellish day - rough after the Superbowl celebrations last night so snackage has been either consumed or in limited remaining supply...

I.V. coffee required to combat the sleep deprivation!

Incidentally, what's this?! The Sawyer/White dream-team has been broken up?!

02-02-2015, 12:09 PM
And natalie in blue. WTF

ManBearPig
02-02-2015, 12:12 PM
Keep them coming lads I love this day/night

Newcastle better not flog anyone tonight

Need to stock up on some snacks on the way home but will take my pick from what all you guys are having. Dry roasted peanuts to finish off :thumbsup:

Keeping sissoko is paramount

02-02-2015, 12:13 PM
And natalie in blue. WTF

http://www.gifbin.com/bin/4007g6675.gif

02-02-2015, 12:20 PM
We aren't expecting to make any signings today according to someone at the Daily Record but Heffernan is on his way to Dundee for talks

http://1.media.todaysbigthing.cvcdn.com/80/70/a2f5910d5457b92d821236d02d6c3d85.gifhttp://1.media.todaysbigthing.cvcdn.com/57/40/38ad86db1ad5da023862f0307e9151d2.gif

02-02-2015, 12:31 PM
I've just nipped home at lunch for an hour.

On a health kick at the moment (lost a stone already) so no beer, only food cooked from scratch and absolutely no junk.

Deadline day when we have done our business early and with a bowl of home made minestrone soup isn't really the same. I blame Petrie.

Paloschi
02-02-2015, 12:38 PM
I'm hearing of a very important and controversial transfer for the 8pm shift at Sky Sports News HQ.

Natalie Sawyer OUT
Kate Abdo IN

02-02-2015, 12:52 PM
I'm hearing of a very important and controversial transfer for the 8pm shift at Sky Sports News HQ.

Natalie Sawyer OUT
Kate Abdo IN

:no way: :shocked:

02-02-2015, 12:53 PM

Natalie Sawyer OUT
Kate Abdo IN

So Natalie's yellow dress on a shoogly peg

02-02-2015, 12:57 PM

Natalie Sawyer OUT
Kate Abdo IN

Yep. NS on the afternoon shift.

Also big guns Saturday Gillette crew on tonight.

02-02-2015, 12:58 PM

Natalie Sawyer OUT
Kate Abdo IN

I'm utterly in love with Kate 😍

Paloschi
02-02-2015, 01:00 PM
I'm utterly in love with Kate 

Think it's a good move myself! :greengrin she's unbelievable

02-02-2015, 01:05 PM
Think it's a good move myself! :greengrin she's unbelievable

Out with the old, in with the new

#teamkate

02-02-2015, 01:44 PM
Charlie Nicholas. "Financh"

Marvellous.

02-02-2015, 03:50 PM
http://cdn.ebaumsworld.com/mediaFiles/picture/2049329/81712159.gif

02-02-2015, 03:58 PM
Not got time to go to Tesco so will be last night's chilli and loads of mini chedders that I got for the bairns school snack this week. She'll just have to take fruit.

02-02-2015, 04:26 PM
http://cdn.ebaumsworld.com/mediaFiles/picture/2049329/81712159.gif

What does this signify?

02-02-2015, 04:29 PM
What does this signify?

It signifies my performance today. Lifeless.

02-02-2015, 04:32 PM
Anyone else like that Kenco ad?

02-02-2015, 06:36 PM
Had to google Kate Abdo.

Factor in that all I can find is half a tube of Pringles and this is going to be a very disappointing transfer deadline day.

02-02-2015, 06:48 PM
£2m for Allan and not a penny less.

heidtheba
02-02-2015, 07:26 PM
THIS is my favourite Hibs.net moment (ok ok one of two) of the year. I don't in any way mean to offend anyone but I temporarily discombobulated and couldn't find this thread, only the more sensible/official one. I thought that was it for this TDD. A little part of me died and a big part of me almost cried.
SO glad to find the snacks chat - controversy though but that lady in SSN? Nah, doesn't do it for me.
He giveth with one hand and taketh away with the other.

EDIT - she just stood up...that's some frock...

02-02-2015, 07:35 PM
Apologies heidtheba, I've had a stinker today. Lazy hangover.

I also had a big dinner as well so snacks are finished for the day. A can of cider and a cigarette to prepare me for the final push.

heidtheba
02-02-2015, 07:40 PM
Nothing to apologise for Pedantic. Ty for setting it up and what a starting comment!
Is Brownies on tonight? Will we get transfer goss from Brown Owl? -

02-02-2015, 07:48 PM
Transfer deadline day dilemma...do I switch over and watch the Undateables or do I stay faithful to SSN, despite the disappointing exit of Natalie "Chebtastic" Sawyer?

02-02-2015, 07:49 PM
"Pass me the remote, this is s*it".

Mrs Pedantic.

02-02-2015, 08:23 PM
What happened to shiny?

02-02-2015, 08:30 PM
Im on a diet ..just gonna nibble on a carrot for the next umpteen hours ..

I'm much the same only I'm munching on a whole chorizo sausage :greengrin

02-02-2015, 08:40 PM

Is that a euphemism?

02-02-2015, 08:44 PM
THIS is my favourite Hibs.net moment (ok ok one of two) of the year. I don't in any way mean to offend anyone but I temporarily discombobulated and couldn't find this thread, only the more sensible/official one. I thought that was it for this TDD. A little part of me died and a big part of me almost cried.
SO glad to find the snacks chat - controversy though but that lady in SSN? Nah, doesn't do it for me.
He giveth with one hand and taketh away with the other.

EDIT - she just stood up...that's some frock...

Great shame that 'proper' business is taking place elsewhere... snacks and transfer gossip should all be in one place IMO.

Gonna do my bit by mixing things up - seems the Arabs have thrown in the (head?) towel on a move for our Scott Allan.

02-02-2015, 08:51 PM
Is that a euphemism?

Nope. It's from Lidl :greengrin

02-02-2015, 09:02 PM
Had 3 Warbuton's crumpets with Butter, marmite and Dairylea spread.... Mmmmmmmm

pontius pilate
02-02-2015, 09:05 PM
Mint aero mousse and jumbo kp salted peanuts

02-02-2015, 09:10 PM
A wee vodka and soda to settle the nerves after all the Scott Allan chat. Some giant salted peanuts to accompany.

02-02-2015, 09:12 PM

Not much better in life than a whole chorizo sausage

02-02-2015, 09:13 PM
What happened to shiny?

Sorry folks, there are certain things that I just will not countenance, and this is one of them: http://www.theguardian.com/football/2015/jan/27/sky-spare-reporters-sex-toy-humiliation-deadline-day

It's not deadline day without a genetically challenged mob terrorising a reporter outside the Britannia.

So I'll catch up with all the transfer news tomorrow; tonight I'm kicking back with a family size battenburg and watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

02-02-2015, 09:14 PM
On a diet and friggin starving, not enjoying reading these fantastic menus!

02-02-2015, 09:16 PM
Sorry folks, there are certain things that I just will not countenance, and this is one of them: http://www.theguardian.com/football/2015/jan/27/sky-spare-reporters-sex-toy-humiliation-deadline-day

It's not deadline day without a genetically challenged mob terrorising a reporter outside the Britannia.

So I'll catch up with all the transfer news tomorrow; tonight I'm kicking back with a family size battenburg and watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

:agree: If the dildo and blow-up doll wont make it to skysports, then its your duty to DIY. Enjoy Mr Fish and we'll see you on the other side.....

02-02-2015, 09:17 PM
On a diet and friggin starving, not enjoying reading these fantastic menus!

bbq spare ribs, beef curry and stir fried onions.
Sprite (Sugar free, naturally) and Freddos to keep me going.

02-02-2015, 10:12 PM
bbq spare ribs, beef curry and stir fried onions.
Sprite (Sugar free, naturally) and Freddos to keep me going.

You fatherless child.

Think I will eat the laptop, any idea how many calories?

02-02-2015, 11:26 PM
You fatherless child.

Think I will eat the laptop, any idea how many calories?

Make sure you remove the cookies since you are dieting.

03-02-2015, 06:34 AM
Really looking forward to the January TDD thread. I turned fifty last year and I'm getting a bit forgetful.

03-02-2015, 09:39 AM
Is that a euphemism?

No, it's not a musical instrument (that's a euphonium)

03-02-2015, 02:06 PM
Natalie putting up a good effort today after being dropped to the bench last night.

03-02-2015, 06:22 PM
Typical, some bloody do-gooders are trying to take the fun out of binge eating: http://www.fiercepharma.com/story/shires-adhd-star-vyvanse-scores-fdas-first-binge-eating-approval/2015-02-02