View Full Version : Should Drug Addicts Be Chemically Sterilized?
28-01-2015, 08:16 PM
Given the torture suffered by children born to addicts?
28-01-2015, 08:42 PM
What if the drug addict has no children and doesn't plan to? Should they be sterilised just in case?
Drinkers, smokers, overeaters, people not cut out for parenting, the disabled, skint folks, people with genetic diseases - all might possibly pose a risk to kids safety in various ways, inadvertently or otherwise.
Mental idea - Pyongyangesque.
28-01-2015, 08:42 PM
Only if they sterilise the women in Africa as well and prevent the born to die cycle.
28-01-2015, 08:43 PM
Only if they sterilise the women in Africa as well and prevent the born to die cycle.
Whit?!?!?
28-01-2015, 08:45 PM
Well he started it!
Boooooom!!!!!
your a brave guy!!!
28-01-2015, 08:46 PM
Well he started it!
Haha!
28-01-2015, 10:08 PM
You're on the windup surely?
Long term contraceptive implants amy be more humane and may be accepted willingly.
Given the torture suffered by children born to jambos?
Sterilise them all I say. Forcibly. :agree:
29-01-2015, 08:39 AM
Good grief
29-01-2015, 08:51 AM
You're including tobacco and alcohol addiction in there, I take it.....
29-01-2015, 09:17 AM
Aye it's the way forward, take the choice away from those not capable.
29-01-2015, 10:12 AM
You're including tobacco and alcohol addiction in there, I take it.....
Has there ever been a case of a baby being born and suffering withdrawal frm either cigarettes or alcohol? I only ask because I know there have been plenty born suffering the withdrawal of drugs. Genuine question by the way, I agree that all can be damaging during pregnancy.
29-01-2015, 10:14 AM
Has there ever been a case of a baby being born and suffering withdrawal frm either cigarettes or alcohol? I only ask because I know there have been plenty born suffering the withdrawal of drugs. Genuine question by the way, I agree that all can be damaging during pregnancy.
I have no idea.
I was trying to clarify what the OP meant.
29-01-2015, 10:15 AM
Okay thanks.
Mothers do not share blood with the baby and IIRC babies don't breath air.
Babies pick up the nutrients they need from the placenta so it would depend on what nutrients these were. Good question.
Your post made me laugh. I immediately got a vision of the baby coming out and saying to the midwife "'Ave you gotta light?"
29-01-2015, 10:53 AM
Mothers do not share blood with the baby and IIRC babies don't breath air.
Babies pick up the nutrients they need from the placenta so it would depend on what nutrients these were. Good question.
Your post made me laugh. I immediately got a vision of the baby coming out and saying to the midwife "'Ave you gotta light?"
Haha I was thinking that too as I typed it. :-)
29-01-2015, 11:22 AM
You're on the windup surely?
Chucks a wee grenade in here every now and again.
29-01-2015, 11:37 AM
I'm sure the thread question was also suggested by the Nazis at some point, alongside the disabled and more. Hitler will have been happy that the idea didn't die with him.
Sergio sledge
29-01-2015, 12:11 PM
Foetal Alcohol Syndrome is a known thing. There was a debate recently about whether it should be made illegal for pregnant women to drink during pregnancy, I'm not sure how that came about or turned out.
My parents used to do foster care and there were a large number of children who came to their care who were suffering developmentally because of their alcoholic or drug addict parent.
I don't advocate sterilisation however.
29-01-2015, 12:12 PM
Foetal Alcohol Syndrome is a known thing. There was a debate recently about whether it should be made illegal for pregnant women to drink during pregnancy, I'm not sure how that came about or turned out.
My parents used to do foster care and there were a large number of children who came to their care who were suffering developmentally because of their alcoholic or drug addict parent.
I don't advocate sterilisation however.
You're right. A friend of mine is one of the foremost researchers in the UK.
29-01-2015, 12:12 PM
Sterilise them all I say. Forcibly. :agree:
:agree: they should do it in the same clinic that they cut off thieves hands. It just makes sense.
29-01-2015, 01:20 PM
:agree: they should do it in the same clinic that they cut off thieves hands. It just makes sense.
:agree: then we can have protests against IS and worry about the radical Islamification of society.
29-01-2015, 01:35 PM
Just shoot them, the softly softly approach has failed.
29-01-2015, 02:11 PM
I "listened" to some chap the other day prattling on about stopping Indians/Chinese people from breeding altogether as they were single-handedly responsible for the rise in global population and depletion of resources/harming of the environment...
Unbelievably, people who were with him were in total agreement.
29-01-2015, 02:57 PM
Interesting map showing population distribution in Asia and elsewhere:
http://twistedsifter.files.wordpress.com/2013/08/there-are-more-people-living-inside-this-circle-than-outside-of-it.jpg
Sorry for being slightly off topic.
29-01-2015, 02:59 PM
I "listened" to some chap the other day prattling on about stopping Indians/Chinese people from breeding altogether as they were single-handedly responsible for the rise in global population and depletion of resources/harming of the environment...
Unbelievably, people who were with him were in total agreement.
I hope that never happens, what would happen to our takeaways? ;-)
29-01-2015, 04:23 PM
What if an addict takes steps to turn their life around, kicks their habit and stays clean?
If they have already been sterilised what happens in that situation? Is permanent infertility an acceptable punishment for poor lifestyle choices?
Interesting map showing population distribution in Asia and elsewhere:
http://twistedsifter.files.wordpress.com/2013/08/there-are-more-people-living-inside-this-circle-than-outside-of-it.jpg
Sorry for being slightly off topic.
I'm thinking tactical nuclear strike.
29-01-2015, 07:18 PM
Mental thread :greengrin
29-01-2015, 07:21 PM
Mental thread :greengrin
No just Indians,Chinese and addicts we haven't got to mental yet!
29-01-2015, 07:24 PM
What if an addict takes steps to turn their life around, kicks their habit and stays clean?
If they have already been sterilised what happens in that situation? Is permanent infertility an acceptable punishment for poor lifestyle choices?
Yeah pretty much, can become champions for drug free campaigns, if you want to have children....... Don't end up like me stay drug free:-)
Stranraer
29-01-2015, 09:25 PM
Absolutely not. We aren't going to turn into a country that "sterilizes" anyone. FS.
HiBremian
29-01-2015, 10:06 PM
[QUOTE=
Might be a handy concept for Project Fear 2, perhaps?
30-01-2015, 04:31 AM
Chemically? What's wrong with good old fashioned Sheffield Steel? :confused:
30-01-2015, 09:13 AM
Chemically? What's wrong with good old fashioned Sheffield Steel? :confused:
Its not as environmentally friendly
30-01-2015, 12:37 PM
Yeah pretty much, can become champions for drug free campaigns, if you want to have children....... Don't end up like me stay drug free:-)
Just like Zammo and Danny Kendall.
30-01-2015, 02:08 PM
Zammo
It was a disgrace the way he treated Jackie, she deserved much better! :-)
07-02-2015, 02:33 PM
To be honest, I was thinking about the horrific suffering of babies when I made this post.
I also view drug addicts as victims.
But ultimately, a drug addict is unable to make rational choices and offspring, born with deformity and addiction are are destined to a life of disadvantage and failure.
It's a matter of human liberty; In this case, the basic right of a child to be born healthy.
07-02-2015, 05:05 PM
To be honest, I was thinking about the horrific suffering of babies when I made this post.
I also view drug addicts as victims.
But ultimately, a drug addict is unable to make rational choices and offspring, born with deformity and addiction are are destined to a life of disadvantage and failure.
It's a matter of human liberty; In this case, the basic right of a child to be born healthy.
Your concept of liberty is an interesting one. It's a thread that's ended up being mocked and rightly so IMO.
07-02-2015, 08:38 PM
Your concept of liberty is an interesting one. It's a thread that's ended up being mocked and rightly so IMO.
Perhaps. I simply feel we have a responsibility not only to the drug addict, but to the child also.
An agent could be administered as part of a methadone programme. This would have a temporary effect on reproduction and could be reviewed in line with any rehabilitation process.
07-02-2015, 08:43 PM
This is interesting.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-london-11545519
07-02-2015, 08:51 PM
I had no idea this had been proposed before, at government level.
http://www.bluelight.org/vb/archive/index.php/t-261137.html
There I was, thinking my proposal was original.
08-02-2015, 09:01 AM
Sterilisation is too good for them.
Hang them. Hang them all.
And anyone who tries to steal our Christmas.
08-02-2015, 11:33 AM
Sterilisation is too good for them.
Hang them. Hang them all.
And anyone who tries to steal our Christmas.
How childish.
I agree about Christmas though.
Sound familiar. ;-)
08-02-2015, 12:41 PM
Babies born to addict mothers suffer horrendous withdrawal symptoms after about two weeks. Nobody wants this to happen.
However, as male addicts don't share their blood with unborn children, any solution based on pure concern for the child doesn't need to sterilise male addicts.
If you want to sterilise all addicts - then you should be honest and admit that it is a punishment for immorality.
You'll be OK though, because if there is one group in society who everybody is still allowed to despise - it's drug addicts. Stops us thinking about the suffering caused to children by the greed of our society for oil, and other commodities. Or the children suffering because their parents are working zero hours contracts so that bankers bonuses can be paid, and yet they still rely on foodbanks.
Regrettably they don't distract from paedophiles operating in the house of commons in the same way as, say, a faded 70s soap star, or pop star does - but they are a good fall back.
08-02-2015, 02:03 PM
Babies born to addict mothers suffer horrendous withdrawal symptoms after about two weeks. Nobody wants this to happen.
However, as male addicts don't share their blood with unborn children, any solution based on pure concern for the child doesn't need to sterilise male addicts.
If you want to sterilise all addicts - then you should be honest and admit that it is a punishment for immorality.
You'll be OK though, because if there is one group in society who everybody is still allowed to despise - it's drug addicts. Stops us thinking about the suffering caused to children by the greed of our society for oil, and other commodities. Or the children suffering because their parents are working zero hours contracts so that bankers bonuses can be paid, and yet they still rely on foodbanks.
Regrettably they don't distract from paedophiles operating in the house of commons in the same way as, say, a faded 70s soap star, or pop star does - but they are a good fall back.
The objective for me, would be to prevent foetal abuse. On that basis, I think one would have to focus on the child bearer firstly.
I agree with your other sentiments, but please don't presume that I am a poor basher. I'm acutely aware of the inequalities that exist in our society and lament the media obsession with easy targets.
But for me this could help to break a cycle.
08-02-2015, 03:07 PM
The objective for me, would be to prevent foetal abuse. On that basis, I think one would have to focus on the child bearer firstly.
I agree with your other sentiments, but please don't presume that I am a poor basher. I'm acutely aware of the inequalities that exist in our society and lament the media obsession with easy targets.
Stopping addicts becomiing addicted to drugs is the way to stop the cycle.
08-02-2015, 04:57 PM
Absolutely not - you've stimulated an interesting debate. I wasn't getting at you, merely commenting on how societal attitudes are shaped, and why. Much easier to target a paedo, or a jew, or a junkie as being responsible for the world's ills than to let people figure out where the real evil in society lies.
I think there are massive human rights issues though about who you chose to sterilise. For me it's getting back to the old concept of undesirables in society being classified as lunatics and having all their rights taken away.
Sterilising drug addicts would be similar to sterilising people with a family history or cystic fibrosis.
Stranraer
08-02-2015, 05:42 PM
Absolutely not - you've stimulated an interesting debate. I wasn't getting at you, merely commenting on how societal attitudes are shaped, and why. Much easier to target a paedo, or a jew, or a junkie as being responsible for the world's ills than to let people figure out where the real evil in society lies.
I think there are massive human rights issues though about who you chose to sterilise. For me it's getting back to the old concept of undesirables in society being classified as lunatics and having all their rights taken away.
Sterilising drug addicts would be similar to sterilising people with a family history or cystic fibrosis.
Cystic Fibrosis isn't a choice, taking drugs is. Still, they shouldn't be sterilized...