View Full Version : Match Updates AGM - 28th January 2015 (Updates and Report) - Merged

Pages : 1 [2] 3

28-01-2015, 08:29 PM
Mike Riley being interviewed outside with Pia and Co waiting on their turn - that's going to be balanced... mood in the room very clearly and firmly on the side of Sir Tom and the board. Must say I felt LD was superb when she was arguing with the various numpties. I do feel we would have been better staying on another 15 minutes and having her deal with the questions Pia and Kane etc wanted to ask. I think she'd have wiped the floor with them.

Glad Leeann came across well. But when you say "numpties" do you mean genuine fans asking serious questions? Or just shouting random rubbish? I'm far from convinced with HSL but I wouldn't go near the others.

Mike Riley being interviewed outside with Pia and Co waiting on their turn - that's going to be balanced... mood in the room very clearly and firmly on the side of Sir Tom and the board. Must say I felt LD was superb when she was arguing with the various numpties. I do feel we would have been better staying on another 15 minutes and having her deal with the questions Pia and Kane etc wanted to ask. I think she'd have wiped the floor with them.

Not more media attention for Mike Riley FFS

Zondervan
I'm not sure. He says Sir Tom Farmer got a standing ovation after his speech but not by all. Some were shouting stuff, then at the end people were angry that there was little time for questions.

This is where the Hibs board don't help themselves.

Shareholders are quite right to be angry. What organisation restricts questions at an AGM?

What have they got to hide?

Benny Brazil

This is getting my goat - all the journos seem to speak to is these HOH muppets and give the view that the majority of the support are behind them.

28-01-2015, 08:30 PM
Promotion has to be the priority. Another season in this league would be a nightmare. At the moment I would make us slight favs to win the playoffs but we need to make sure we do.
Whilst it wouldn't be wished for I don't think it would actually be a nightmare. We would win the league with a but of style I reckon.

28-01-2015, 08:30 PM

If only Riley knew what an arse he was making of himself - hope HSA call an emergengy AGM an vote him off

Pia and Kane - its simply 5 minutes of TV they know that STF is the best and only option for Hibs to preserve our long term future.

28-01-2015, 08:31 PM
I'm really pleased with how professional a setup we appear to have. Won't be many other clubs in Scotland quite the same.

28-01-2015, 08:33 PM

Shareholders are quite right to be angry. What organisation restricts questions at an AGM?

Many big organisations restrict questions at their AGMs. I've been at ones lasting 3-4 hours and they've still had to stop the questions.

28-01-2015, 08:34 PM
Transition Academy = http://www.spartansfc.com/2014/06/13/spartans-hibernian-unveil-pioneering-transition-academy-partnership/

I was going off the quote from here earlier. Unless it was a typo and meant Scotland - saying the world is just not true. I know Newcastle for a starter do something very similar.

I am all for positivity but in context.

so you've just posted the press release, which calls it a pioneering partnership....Perhaps it is unique? The fact that some clubs have something similar, doesn't means it has all the same elements...anyway, my point is why call it a lie? why not ask what makes them think it may be unique?

Paul Kane was on the radio earlier saying the reason we have £5m debt is down to the mismanagement of petrie and farmer so we shouldn't have to pay them back. He made the point we've made enough from player sales and sale of land to cover what we've spent on infrastructure and the fans have already dug deep enough so shouldn't have to pay off any more debt.

Paul Kane is a moron.

Quite common actually if it is degenerating away from the business of the AGM. When similar questions have been addressed or there are a small number being repetitively disruptive.

Looks like the Chair asked for a vote on whether that was it done.

28-01-2015, 08:35 PM

If I understood PB's updates correctly then Petrie put this to the floor and the vote was to pack it in. If true, then it was the shareholders rather than the board who took that decision.

I do think they should have given more time, as not doing so just leaves the door open for people to grumble.

Many big organisations restrict questions at their AGMs. I've been at ones lasting 3-4 hours and they've still had to stop the questions.

Hush you and your facts

Sack the board :grr:

If only Riley knew what an arse he was making of himself - hope HSA call an emergengy AGM an vote him off

Pia and Kane - its simply 5 minutes of TV they know that STF is the best and only option for Hibs to preserve our long term future.

He's a massive throbbing rolling rock that boy.

Whilst it wouldn't be wished for I don't think it would actually be a nightmare. We would win the league with a but of style I reckon.

It's bad enough being in the league one season. No guarantee we would win the league. Would Scott Allan stay if we stay down etc??

HOH and Kane really don't seem to know what they actually want. I'm not convinced about HSL but at least it appears to have some strategy about it.

The one bit I am a bit disappointed with is Petrie seems to have got a bit of an easy ride at this AGM. More questions should have been asked about his position at the club and why he's still here.

28-01-2015, 08:36 PM
I predict thread lock in 10 - 9 - 8.....

barcahibs
28-01-2015, 08:36 PM
Glad Leeann came across well. But when you say "numpties" do you mean genuine fans asking serious questions? Or just shouting random rubbish? I'm far from convinced with HSL but I wouldn't go near the others.

Numpties may be harsh on some of those who have genuine concerns. But if you fly with the crows.. Based on the nonsensical questions they are asking, some of those inside (and outside) tonight need to do more thinking and less shouting.

28-01-2015, 08:37 PM

Indeed.

Thanks to Sir Tom and Petrie for their bank deal ironically.

SneakersO'Toole
Oh the irony of Buy Hibs wanting the ear of Leanne and the board when only a few weeks ago they rejected that opportunity out of hand.

Buy Hibs utterly decimated the minimal credibility they had into a million pieces. The last 20mins turned into a circus show.

Thankfully it would appear the vast majority of the shareholders can see past their weak and destructive agenda.

STF says he has taken 23 years of abuse from Simon Pia. Contends he has given his very best to Hibs for that time.

In 1990 STF loaned Hibs £240 000 to acquire the club that was in negative value. We now have £19M of assets. Sick of accusations that he has ripped off the club. If fans want the club they can have it, why should he keep it if that is what he has to face? He is keeping it because he believes in the club. The club owe him £5M and he is allowing that to be paid at zero interest for 10 years. He gifted the shares to people that they now hold because he wanted to.

He seems furious.

He has every right to be furious.

Agree completely, the way he has been spoken about is utterly disgraceful. It's been going on for years but the recent stuff from HoH and the boy that runs the Holyrood Gym is particularly offensive.

28-01-2015, 08:38 PM
It's bad enough being in the league one season. No guarantee we would win the league. Would Scott Allan stay if we stay down etc??

HOH and Kane really don't seem to know what they actually want. I'm not convinced about HSL but at least it appears to have some strategy about it.

What do you mean by not convinced with HSL? They say all they are there for is to administer the money and buy shares. They aren't claiming to be offering anything much above that.

28-01-2015, 08:38 PM
so you've just posted the press release, which calls it a pioneering partnership....Perhaps it is unique? The fact that some clubs have something similar, doesn't means it has all the same elements...anyway, my point is why call it a lie? why not ask what makes them think it may be unique?

Ok explain to me how it's the only one in the world ?

What facts have you got?

I quoted the press release as you asked what it is / my understanding of it was.

28-01-2015, 08:39 PM
What do you mean by not convinced with HSL? They say all they are there for is to administer the money and buy shares. They aren't claiming to be offering anything much above that.

I'm not convinced fan ownership is a great idea. But since I don't have anything else, it seems to be the only/best option on the table.

28-01-2015, 08:40 PM

Absolutely.

I'm behind Hibs, the board, LD and the share issue. They have answered the questions I had.

But I'm behind the right of Kano et al to ask questions and I'm interested to hear what they have to say. I want to hear whether it is (as it seems) a bunch of bitter individuals acting on long held grudges or whether they actually have any points. They're well enough "connected" to maybe be onto something. Silencing them, cutting the event short does nobody any favours.

That was the board's chance to end it and instead it invites the trash talking to continue.

andy1875
28-01-2015, 08:40 PM
Just back and as others have said, very interesting night.

1) I liked Leanne Dempster before tonight but even more after listening to her at the meeting. She seems honest, genuine and has a fight in her belly which is important for a leader. She won't take any nonsense and that should and will filter right through the club.

2) George Craig came across as an interesting character, full of charisma :greengrin Liked what he is trying to improve the whole player infrastructure.

3) Alan Stubbs continues to impress. Not sure how else to put it other than Im glad we have him in charge and long may it continue.

4) and last but not least, Sir Tom Farmer. A quite emotive for want of a better word? speech. He saved this club in the early 90's and I for one have trust and faith after listening tonight.

28-01-2015, 08:41 PM
Ok explain to me how it's the only one in the world ?

What facts have you got?

I quoted the press release as you asked what it is / my understanding of it was.

it wasn't me who said it... I'm not that bothered with this point...just felt you were being a bit aggressive on the "lie"point...Anyway, I'm away to create posters of Pia, Kano and Brad Welsh and stick them on some lampposts...

barcahibs
28-01-2015, 08:42 PM
If I understood PB's updates correctly then Petrie put this to the floor and the vote was to pack it in. If true, then it was the shareholders rather than the board who took that decision.

I do think they should have given more time, as not doing so just leaves the door open for people to grumble.

Oh it absolutely was the majority decision to call it a day - and it was one of Pias supporters who asked that it go to a vote. I just think they should have stayed and fought it out. The guy who proposed it looked furious that he lost, I can't understand how someone could so badly misjudge the mood of a room. The vast majority of those there were backing Sir Tom.

28-01-2015, 08:43 PM
Absolutely.

I'm behind Hibs, the board, LD and the share issue. They have answered the questions I had.

But I'm behind the right of Kano et al to ask questions and I'm interested to hear what they have to say. I want to hear whether it is (as it seems) a bunch of bitter individuals acting on long held grudges or whether they actually have any points. They're well enough "connected" to maybe be onto something. Silencing them, cutting the event short does nobody any favours.

That was the board's chance to end it and instead it invites the trash talking to continue.

See the posts above - It would appear to be the shareholders who voted to end the meeting rather than the board.

Exactly.

lEXO
Shouts that this needs further discussion

Rod puts it to a vote and a majority shout to call it a day.

That's us. It all got a bit heated so I'll try and tidy that last bit up later and report it better.

Thanks for the updates dude. Appreciate it..........

28-01-2015, 08:44 PM
Absolutely.

Every question they ask has been answered with cold hard facts, but they dont like the answers so carry on slinging mud and accusations that they say they will reveal with the truth, but up til now have done nothing of the sort?

If they had anything to say, why don't they reveal it?

They are all bloody fantasists.

28-01-2015, 08:45 PM

1) I liked Leanne Dempster before tonight but even more after listening to her at the meeting. She seems honest, genuine and has a fight in her belly which is important for a leader. She won't take any nonsense and that should and will filter right through the club.

2) George Craig came across as an interesting character, full of charisma :greengrin Liked what he is trying to improve the whole player infrastructure.

3) Alan Stubbs continues to impress. Not sure how else to put it other than Im glad we have him in charge and long may it continue.

4) and last but not least, Sir Tom Farmer. A quite emotive for want of a better word? speech. He saved this club in the early 90's and I for one have trust and faith after listening tonight.

Things have changed dramatically since 1990 though. Always be grateful but they are far from trustworthy imo.

28-01-2015, 08:47 PM
Every question they ask has been answered with cold hard facts, but they dont like the answers so carry on slinging mud and accusations that they say they will reveal with the truth, but up til now have done nothing of the sort?

If they had anything to say, why don't they reveal it?

They are all bloody fantasists.

That's how they are coming across! Shame as it's taken heat off the board with them acting his way. Some saying genuine fans who are shareholders wanted to ask more questions but weren't allowed or ran out of time. This will only anger them more surely?

Edit.. The ones not with Kano just the ones who wanted more answers from the board without the slagging.

28-01-2015, 08:47 PM
Pretty sure throwing the "shall we end there?" question to the floor was a show of strength and unity against HoH folk, Kane, Pia etc. Almost like a "you are weak, nobody stands with you" type of vibe. Pleasing.

28-01-2015, 08:48 PM
He has every right to be furious.

He should ban every single member of HoH.

28-01-2015, 08:48 PM
So is everyone back to loving Rod Petrie ? Seems like some short term memories

28-01-2015, 08:49 PM
Need to think in terms of performance sport and athletes not a game and players.

Love that comment. Professionalism at long last!

Any new thoughts on Petrie? How did he handle himself?

Looks like he's still a big part of what goes on.

No, but there is a bigger picture here that's far more important than 1 man.

w pilton hibby
28-01-2015, 08:50 PM
Things have changed dramatically since 1990 though. Always be grateful but they are far from trustworthy imo.

I get you your consuming dislike of Rod Petrie but in what way do you think that Sir Tom Farmer and Mr Petrie are untrustworthy?

Not me. I can't stand him still being here.

Eh naw!

But some are prepared to accept where we are now and try to move on.

I'd be delighted if he left tomorrow, but he isn't so what's the point of stewing over it?

So RP was asked about resigning after relegation, he replied and it appears that most in the room were comfortable with the answer.

Maybe he's not as hated as some on here would make out?

Maybe LD and AS see him as being a major asset and couldn't have moved things on so far without his help?

If he was as useless as some on here make out then maybe the board would have voted him out?

Hopefully this can be put to bed now and we can move forward in a more positive light.

On a separate note did either of the 2 new guys say anything?

SneakersO'Toole
28-01-2015, 08:51 PM
Absolutely.

They has the chance to ask questions a few weeks ago but rejected the advances of the board for a meeting. But now they have questions? I just think they like the sound of their own voice and all they accomplished tonight was to dig themselves into an even bigger black hole of conspiracy theories and un-proven conjecture.

I literally wouldn't donate a pack of smarties to Buy Hibs, never mind my haed earned cash.

28-01-2015, 08:51 PM

Not sure about that but it seems the majority, certainly at the meeting, are back in love with the club and perhaps realise that Petrie is not the club and therefore not the important issue. Some people get on a soap box and can't get off. Some see the bigger picture

andy1875
28-01-2015, 08:52 PM

My trust and faith as I put it is regarding the share issue/loan from STF.

He lends us £5million, we pay back £500k for 10 years. No interest to STF.

We have an opportunity to buy 51% of shares for £2.5million. The fans will then effectively own a majority shareholding. The £2.5m is then reinvested to the playing side of the club.

Now I don't fully understand all the counter arguments here, maybe Im being naive but I can't see what's suspicious with these deals. Surely nothing but beneficial to both club and support.

I do agree that it may have been beneficial to hold questions for another 15 mins or so but I suspect we would be there till next week and not find an agreement. Who knows!

Not me. I can't stand him still being here.

I still want him out.

Ridicolous that he's still at the club.

28-01-2015, 08:53 PM

He has addmitted his mistakes in public and tonight.

He realised he needed a dynamic CEO to connect with the fans.

As far as I know he recieves little or no reimbursment.

Are you the on;y person I know who hasn't made mistakes

28-01-2015, 08:54 PM

Don't think anyone has said as much. Are you not convinced that the club is moving in the right direction now ?

28-01-2015, 08:56 PM
Just to try and tidy up the end of the meeting a bit as I was typing quickly and was conscious my phone was low on battery.

A fan asked for the share issue to be postponed for a few weeks so discussions could take place.

LD correctly or incorrectly thought this person had links to BuyHibs and challeneged him to tell her what was different between BuyHibs and HSL. She asked why BuyHibs was ready to go but HSL wasn't when the structured were similar.

Paul Kane stood up and contended LD was running HSL. She denied this and said she was on the board but wasn't running the show. He suggested the support was split 50/50 but this was roundly jeered.

Simon Pia was next to have a go. Contended Hibs fans were being asked to pay off £10M of mismanagement, questioned where money from property deals had gone, said thw share issue was a donation to STF etc. Amanda Jones asked if he had a question or was just rantinG. Pia continued in tje same vein and was shouted down.

LD said STF had been asked for money to settle the bank deal and had agreed. How much? Was shouted by a few. She replied along the lines of 'significant' but this was drowned out a bit. At this point
STF stood up at the side of the room and said he would answer.

He took to the stage to a round of applause. Pia tried to shout him down and STF replied 'I didn't interupt you so give me the same respect'. He then said he had put up with 23 years of hurtful abuse from Pia and had taken it but said he's had enough. He said in that time he accepted he's made mistakes but had always done his very best for Hibs. He explained about the money he had loaned Hibs to take control and how he had built us from a club with negative value to having £19M worth of assets. He asked why he should give the club away for nothing but said he was sick and tired of being personally abused and if the fans wanted the club as far as he was concerned they could have it. He said thay in 23 years not one person or group had made a credible offer for the club. He said Hibs owed him that £5M and as a club we paid our debts. He questioned where else a club could get £5M to be paid over 10 years with no interest and he assured us that money will not come out the share money. He said he won't tolerate the hurtful slagging and slander he is facing in the media and he urged fans to embrace the changes and acknowledge the difficult but positive changes being made.

He recieved a standing ovation from a vast majority of the room at this point. He made a few closing remarks and was applauded again as he left the stage.

RP then spoke and a few people shouted about more questions needed and so on. A few others shouted this down. Someone suggested a vote whether to carry on for a further half hour, RP accepted this and asked the question. A majority shouted approval to end the evening there and that was that

JimmyJazz1875
28-01-2015, 08:56 PM

Do you really think we can afford to lose 30 fans? :wink:

28-01-2015, 08:57 PM
That's how they are coming across! Shame as it's taken heat off the board with them acting his way. Some saying genuine fans who are shareholders wanted to ask more questions but weren't allowed or ran out of time. This will only anger them more surely?

Couldnae give a toss now if it angers them, lets hear what they want to say tomorrow in the papers and watch EVERY accusation they make eaten up chewed and spat out as the drivel it is.

If ever there were a bunch of folk who have made a right hash of making a takeover bid its this lot, we had the most hated man on earth in Petrie and an owner who was never there and they have actually made them more popular than they were at the final whistle against Hamilton?

Farmers ownership in my opinion plays a huge part in where we are today, but there are no viable others out there who i'd want to replace him from those who have shown an interest so far.

The new share scheme again in my opinion gives us ALL a chance to change us for the better in the future, and remember any of these buyhibs/HOH/Hibileaks/Pia/Kano/Riley lot can purchase shares like you and me, but they want the club for nothing, that's the upshot of their moans.

28-01-2015, 08:57 PM

Shouldn't take long...

28-01-2015, 08:59 PM
Encouraging to hear but we apparently missed out on a great talent from St Mary's primary Leith who I believe is tied up with Celtic I think.

Who was that and when?

28-01-2015, 09:00 PM

Absolutely not.

He is still the most divisive figure at the club but equally I accept he is now far less involved day to day than he was.

He won't be here forever but it's time to accept he's here for now and get on with backing the club.

28-01-2015, 09:01 PM
Not sure about that but it seems the majority, certainly at the meeting, are back in love with the club and perhaps realise that Petrie is not the club and therefore not the important issue. Some people get on a soap box and can't get off. Some see the bigger picture

I think the club would really get fans back on board if he did leave.

I still know many who haven't returned as they just can't trust what he says and are hurt after several previous mistakes.

WillowbraeHibby
28-01-2015, 09:01 PM
Just to try and tidy up the end of the meeting a bit as I was typing quickly and was conscious my phone was low on battery.

A fan asked for the share issue to be postponed for a few weeks so discussions could take place.

LD correctly or incorrectly thought this person had links to BuyHibs and challeneged him to tell her what was different between BuyHibs and HSL. She asked why BuyHibs was ready to go but HSL wasn't when the structured were similar.

Paul Kane stood up and contended LD was running HSL. She denied this and said she was on the board but wasn't running the show. He suggested the support was split 50/50 but this was roundly jeered.

Simon Pia was next to have a go. Contended Hibs fans were being asked to pay off £10M of mismanagement, questioned where money from property deals had gone, said thw share issue was a donation to STF etc. Amanda Jones asked if he had a question or was just rantinG. Pia continued in tje same vein and was shouted down.

LD said STF had been asked for money to settle the bank deal and had agreed. How much? Was shouted by a few. She replied along the lines of 'significant' but this was drowned out a bit. At this point
STF stood up at the side of the room and said he would answer.

He took to the stage to a round of applause. Pia tried to shout him down and STF replied 'I didn't interupt you so give me the same respect'. He then said he had put up with 23 years of hurtful abuse from Pia and had taken it but said he's had enough. He said in that time he accepted he's made mistakes but had always done his very best for Hibs. He explained about the money he had loaned Hibs to take control and how he had built us from a club with negative value to having £19M worth of assets. He asked why he should give the club away for nothing but said he was sick and tired of being personally abused and if the fans wanted the club as far as he was concerned they could have it. He said thay in 23 years not one person or group had made a credible offer for the club. He said Hibs owed him that £5M and as a club we paid our debts. He questioned where else a club could get £5M to be paid over 10 years with no interest and he assured us that money will not come out the share money. He said he won't tolerate the hurtful slagging and slander he is facing in the media and he urged fans to embrace the changes and acknowledge the difficult but positive changes being made.

He recieved a standing ovation from a vast majority of the room at this point. He made a few closing remarks and was applauded again as he left the stage.

RP then spoke and a few people shouted about more questions needed and so on. A few others shouted this down. Someone suggested a vote whether to carry on for a further half hour, RP accepted this and asked the question. A majority shouted approval to end the evening there and that was that

Another thanks PB.... :applause:

28-01-2015, 09:02 PM

I still know many who haven't returned as they just can't trust what he says and are hurt after several previous mistakes.

How many :greengrin and they would all return right away when Petrie leaves?

Sorry, but I've heard that before.

A winning team, playing decent football will bring fans back IMHO.

28-01-2015, 09:03 PM
At the end of last season about 1/99. I'd have guessed it would have been about 50/50 in roughly November. I'd say it's probably now about 80/20 but there's no way of judging really.

I think Kano's right to point out that the fans are split. He's (probably wrongly) employed a bit of hyperbole to emphasise his point.

I don't think this make him a fantasist.

When he asked the question "where is the money coming from to repay the loan", I unchecked the box next to his name that said "businessman".

Might put a pencil cross in the one that says "fantasist" for that, though.

28-01-2015, 09:03 PM
Absolutely.

I agree with this - a chance for the board and others present to end things. Instead many people left with questions unanswered.

How many questions were actually asked ?

28-01-2015, 09:04 PM
Absolutely not.

He is still the most divisive figure at the club but equally I accept he is now far less involved day to day than he was.

He won't be here forever but it's time to accept he's here for now and get on with backing the club.

Ffs when will he just go?!!! Telling fans to back the club while still here and him being the issue many haven't come back is rich.

That's not against you btw PB.

Hibeewilly
28-01-2015, 09:04 PM

That sounds good to me Andy

28-01-2015, 09:06 PM

A winning team helps - 100%

But for the full revitalisation of this club to happen he has to move on and I am then sure the club will continue to take a new direction.

It's a shame fans didn't do more after relegation as seemed to be some momentum at that rally that was organised.

I know quite a few that would return on Saturday if Petrie was to leave tomorrow. Nothing to do with anything else. I fully respect that stance as its his constant mistakes that led to years of dire football and the humiliation of relegation.

Edit.. The ones not with Kano just the ones who wanted more answers from the board without the slagging.

The shareholders themselves called the meeting to an end.

Another thanks PB.... :applause:

Brilliant updates all night PB...much appreciated pal :)

28-01-2015, 09:07 PM
Couldnae give a toss now if it angers them, lets hear what they want to say tomorrow in the papers and watch EVERY accusation they make eaten up chewed and spat out as the drivel it is.

If ever there were a bunch of folk who have made a right hash of making a takeover bid its this lot, we had the most hated man on earth in Petrie and an owner who was never there and they have actually made them more popular than they were at the final whistle against Hamilton?

Farmers ownership in my opinion plays a huge part in where we are today, but there are no viable others out there who i'd want to replace him from those who have shown an interest so far.

The new share scheme again in my opinion gives us ALL a chance to change us for the better in the future, and remember any of these buyhibs/HOH/Hibileaks/Pia/Kano/Riley lot can purchase shares like you and me, but they want the club for nothing, that's the upshot of their moans.

Sorry BH I should have been clearer I was meaning the genuine guys who just wanted straight forward answers from Petire, Farmer etc. Because most of this was spent arguing with Kane and the other idiots they didn't get to ask their own stuff. Leeann Dempster seems to have came across well though which I'm very pleased about.

28-01-2015, 09:07 PM
I agree with this - a chance for the board and others present to end things. Instead many people left with questions unanswered.

At the end of PB's summary it states that the question regarding a vote as to whether the meeting be continued came from the floor, not from RP or the board

28-01-2015, 09:08 PM

Its about time they put that behind them and got back behind the club, just my opinion of course, but Hibs are more than just Rod Petrie and the club are doing a lot to reunite with the fans and we have recovery and hope on and off the pitch now :agree:

Sorry BH I should have been clearer I was meaning the genuine guys who just wanted straight forward answers from Petire, Farmer etc. Because most of this was spent arguing with Kane and the other idiots they didn't get to ask their own stuff. Leeann Dempster seems to have came across well though which I'm very pleased about.

No problem matey. :greengrin

iainm1875
IMO HOH have had their democratic right to ask a question, they have had a response from the owner.

Any more negative PR will only affect Hibs in the long term.

I also hope STF takes legal action on any more slurs on him.

Sums it up for me.

28-01-2015, 09:10 PM
Can't be sure which club - would have to ask but surely promising youngsters like this on our door step should be snapped up.

You have a very simplistic and romanticised outlook on life don't you?

*apologies for late replies but just catching up on thread now and replying to posts that just can't wait as I come across them.

iainm1875
28-01-2015, 09:12 PM

Nope, just back loving Hibs :aok:

28-01-2015, 09:12 PM
Don't think anyone has said as much. Are you not convinced that the club is moving in the right direction now ?

Well long over due and being in the 1st div and relegated without rangers and hearts shows what a mess we got into.

A 2nd relegation saw more serious action taken but I get frustrated why it has taken so many mistakes and we have wasted so much money along the way. Stubbs and LD have done more in 6 months then previous people in years.

Butcher rightly went but RP stayed around - getting away with hiring another numpty manager and causing huge embarrassment to the club. I am all for being positive but 100 % the club would be galvanised if he moved on also.

Auckland Hibs
28-01-2015, 09:13 PM
Brilliant updates all night PB...much appreciated pal :)

PB, another thank you for the updates.

Cheers.

28-01-2015, 09:15 PM
I'm really glad to hear that sir Tom put Pia in his place.

I would go further and let them find out that the law doesn't care who has the biggest mouth or the hardest punch when it comes to defamation.

28-01-2015, 09:15 PM
The shareholders themselves called the meeting to an end.

How many questions were asked ?

Also it's strange the shareholders did this - surely they would want to hear answers and like others said possibly have questions to ask ?

28-01-2015, 09:17 PM
I know quite a few that would return on Saturday if Petrie was to leave tomorrow. Nothing to do with anything else. I fully respect that stance as its his constant mistakes that led to years of dire football and the humiliation of relegation.

Fair enough.

I'd love him to leave ASAP, but he's not and I'm not going to stop supporting my team or live in past bitterness because of it. Helps no-one.

28-01-2015, 09:17 PM
Its about time they put that behind them and got back behind the club, just my opinion of course, but Hibs are more than just Rod Petrie and the club are doing a lot to reunite with the fans and we have recovery and hope on and off the pitch now :agree:

Hibs are more than Rod Petrie. It's time for us all to look forward again and get behind the people running the club now, LD and AS. We've picked over the scabs of what went wrong in the past for far too long.

JimmyJazz1875
28-01-2015, 09:19 PM
I'm really glad to hear that sir Tom put Pia in his place.

I would go further and let them find out that the law doesn't care who has the biggest mouth or the hardest punch when it comes to defamation.

This. :agree:

Aubenas
28-01-2015, 09:19 PM
Amanda Jones (incidentally a far better MC than D Forsyth): Will we end it now?
Majority of crowd: Yes.
Amanda: OK - but we'll all be downstairs to answer any of your questions for as long as you like.
The Opposition: Boo! Where's the transparency? We've got questions to ask. You're stopping us from asking questions.

All I learned about them tonight is:
They don't know how to ask questions
They don't listen
They're pretty abusive

I thought Craig, Dempster and Stubbs were very impressive by any standards and I enjoyed Stubbsy's reply to the questioner who complained about Rod "selling off a team"

AS: That's what football clubs do - that's what Everton do.
Q: Aye - but they reinvest it in the team.
AS: Er - no they don't, they really don't. Trust me!

And I've still - after 23 years of folk digging - to be given any evidence of why one of Scotland's most successful businessmen would have chosen an ailing football club as a way of making personal gain. So it's either not there, or it's crap journalism.

Mind you, one 'investigator' said he didn't know who Amanda Jones was - an hour after she'd been introduced to the audience and four or five years after she joined the club..

There were a lot of impressive people communicating a clear vision for the club tonight.
And a few who weren't.

GGTTH.

28-01-2015, 09:20 PM

Also it's strange the shareholders did this - surely they would want to hear answers and like others said possibly have questions to ask ?

There were questions after each segment of the meeting. One on the accounts, 3 or 4 on the football side, and then things got feisty after the share issue section.

I think there were only about 3. Problem was, Pia and Kane went on so long that people were intimidated or prevented (by time) from asking more questions. Amanda did say that the Board would still be around to ask questions after the meeting.

It seems they did. Are you suggesting that all the shareholders are in cahoots with Petrie and called an end to things just to hack you off :greengrin

See other responses

28-01-2015, 09:21 PM

Part of the issue was that 1 or 2 people chose to use the time allocated for questions to rant with the same stuff they have been going on about for years. Pia tried to bring up the sale of the car park ffs!

Truth be told I would have liked a bit time for sensible questions but it had descended into a bit of a rabble with a very vocal minority shouting accusations and others jeering them. Had some of the 'questions' been a bit more eloquent I think more people would have wanted to continue. As it was the share issue was explained pretty clearly and the in and outs of it will be released publicly now that shareholders have been informed. All the info will be there for people to make an informed decision.

Personally I had no desire to listen to another half hour of shouting with minimal substance.

SneakersO'Toole
28-01-2015, 09:21 PM

It had descended into a farce. Pia and co continually interrupted and talked louder than anyone else to try make a point.

They couldn't discuss things in an adult and respectful fashion so calling a halt to proceedings wad the best call.

28-01-2015, 09:22 PM

Good question, from what I've heard it was a Pia supporter that forced the issue in to a vote in a room where they were clearly outnumbered, maybe they wanted it stopped as they thought their questions would make them look even worse? ...... Or it could just be who ever it was didn't have a clue? :dunno:

28-01-2015, 09:22 PM
Fair enough.

I'd love him to leave ASAP, but he's not and I'm not going to stop supporting my team or live in past bitterness because of it. Helps no-one.

Benny Brazil
28-01-2015, 09:24 PM

Maybe the shareholders were hacked off listening to the rubbish from Pia and co and had had enough

28-01-2015, 09:25 PM

Why did they leave. Every one of the club representatives remained behind after the meeting prepared to talk to anyone and did with many. That included STF. and RP.
Before everyone left RP and AS were standing chatting to each other because nobody was approaching them with questions. So who were these people with unanswered questions and why didn't they take the opportunity?

Eaststand
28-01-2015, 09:26 PM

excellent post and I agree with every word that you've written

28-01-2015, 09:27 PM
There were questions after each segment of the meeting. One on the accounts, 3 or 4 on the football side, and then things got feisty after the share issue section.

I think there were only about 3. Problem was, Pia and Kane went on so long that people were intimidated or prevented (by time) from asking more questions. Amanda did say that the Board would still be around to ask questions after the meeting.

Thanks for update.

Would have just been interested to hear more questions and answers.

Agreed a shouting match wasn't required.

I think also whether you agree or disagree with Pia and Kane they are getting action / responses from those above at ER and then can only be a good thing for the future of the club. If the club becomes tougher and take less crap then I am all for it - for too long we have been soft. I don't like to see the personal abuse of individuals either - fans can have differing options and so called Hibs fans should respect that-discussion and transparency is healthy especially if you want someone to be part of your vision and future (especially when fans are being asked to give £ to clear the built up debt - anyone else remember stand up and be counted campaign).

hibbymick
28-01-2015, 09:27 PM
Cant stand Kano, an absolute idiot of a man.

28-01-2015, 09:28 PM
A winning team helps - 100%

But for the full revitalisation of this club to happen he has to move on and I am then sure the club will continue to take a new direction.

It's a shame fans didn't do more after relegation as seemed to be some momentum at that rally that was organised.

The 'Petrie Out' was in a large part a call for change. We've got change.

I'm much happier with Petrie still at the helm but the club as it is now, than a new Chairman but no lessons learnt.

EVENTUALLY
28-01-2015, 09:29 PM
hh
This. :agree:

Is Pia a drunk? He certainly sounded like one tonight. Looked bevied too.

What struck me tonight was the togetherness between LD,AS and GC. They each referred to each other when they spoke about all sorts and never mentioned RP or any other directors by name simply stating the support they receive from the Board in general.

Benny Brazil
28-01-2015, 09:30 PM
Thanks for update.

I think also whether you agree or disagree with Pia and Kane they are getting action / responses from those above at ER and then can only be a good thing for the future of the club. If the club becomes tougher and take less crap then I am all for it - for too long we have been soft. I don't like to see the personal abuse of individuals either - fans can have differing options and so called Hibs fans should respect that-discussion and transparency is healthy especially if you want someone to be part of your vision and future (especially when fans are being asked to give £ to clear the built up debt - anyone else remember stand up and be counted campaign).

Disagree - am sure most of the changes were already in the pipeline before Kano Pia etc started throwing their toys out the pram

28-01-2015, 09:31 PM
LD challenges why is this different from BuyHibs. Challenges that she isn't running HSL.

Kano suggests the support is split 50/50. Is jeered and shouted down by a few.

What evidence does he have for that suggestion? He's just making it up now and picking numbers out of nowhere. Once people start doing that, their credibility vanishes completely. Time to give it a rest Kano.

28-01-2015, 09:32 PM

I'm much happier with Petrie still at the helm but the club as it is now, than a new Chairman but no lessons learnt.

There was definitely an air of "old school/new school" about the meeting tonight. LD and GC were bright and cheery; RP, never good at public speaking, was old and grey. In fact, at times I thought he was quite emotional.

I don't think it will be long before he does go, but it will be on his terms.

NYHibby
28-01-2015, 09:33 PM

I struggle to see why that guy in the back thought that a pause would be helpful. If he/his group honestly thought most fans agreed with them, wouldn't they think the share issue would fail? Ok HSL would then own a small percentage of the club, but the situation wouldn't be that different from the status quo. Surely their level of support would increase if the share issue failed making it more likely they get their way

That leaves me to wonder if their real concern is with the fans who would participant in the issue. Do they only want certain types of fans owning the club? Are they actually opposed to broad based fan ownership? Do they not want a large, diverse group of fans owning the club because it would limit their potential future influence?

If I was them, I'd be promoting everyone contributing to HSL. Surely the easiest way for them to take control is for other fans to buy the club through HSL, as opposed to using their own money, and then for them to try to seize control of the HSL board in an election in a couple years. If 50 percent of fans actually agreed with them, then surely they wouldn't have a problem getting their candidates elected to the HSL board and thus be in a position to control the club's board.

NYHibby
28-01-2015, 09:36 PM
Maybe the shareholders were hacked off listening to the rubbish from Pia and co and had had enough

Not going to try to guess a percentage, but I heard numerous people saying things along those lines at the end.

28-01-2015, 09:37 PM
Thanks for update.

It can only be a good thing if those people are asking useful questions. Kane has done nothing but talk garbage and some fans have only accepted that as he is an ex player. Pia doesn't care two shiyites about Hibs and his only concern is hunting down STF. Its personal and nothing to do with the football club. I really hope STF does get his lawyers involved in this. T

28-01-2015, 09:37 PM
Not going to try to guess a percentage, but I heard numerous people saying things along those lines at the end.

Yep, and the common question "what is it they actually want?"

28-01-2015, 09:40 PM
Ta PB :aok:

Petrie Out.

28-01-2015, 09:41 PM

If STF paid off the £5M, underwrote the share issue, and stuck a few million a year in, it still wouldnt be enough.

It's all about Pia and Kano - nothing else.

Hopefully Reilly and the other followers will soon wise up - doubt it though, surely an ex-player wouldn't have an agenda ?

hibbydad
28-01-2015, 09:43 PM
I don't even think Kano or Pia were really asking relevant questions they were merely making statements which I believe does not represent the opinions of the majority of the Hibs support and the personal stuff is totally disgusting.

28-01-2015, 09:44 PM
Thanks for update.

This 👍

Gerard
28-01-2015, 09:44 PM
If the Hibs.net visit to East Mains in November is anything to go by, this could take some time :greengrin

Bring your tea with you when you attend:wink::greengrin

28-01-2015, 09:45 PM
Thanks very much PB. Appreciate knowing what occurred whilst not being able to attend.

I, myself, have had a few bad things to say about STF and I've always fluctuated between him being our saviour and feeling grateful, to questioning the mismanagement and feeling angry.
Ultimately though, when I seriously think about it, let's be honest, it's the mismanagement that has been an issue rather than underhandedness. We all make mistakes at work, all of us. The problem we had was due to our aggressive, passionate views each time we failed, I think we did force the hand of Petrie and STF to fix the problem (aka sack the manager, and bring whole new team in of journeymen). By no means does this mean I like Petrie and want him to stay for ever more, it does however mean that I respect him. I also find vile attempts to attack STF and Petrie in a personal way is a disgrace.

Failed attempts to fix a problem is better than making no attempts at all. Thankfully, a better solution seems to be in motion now. I think we have recognition of this being a football club where once it was run simply as a business.

Never liked what I heard of Pia's contributions in years gone by and certainly seems shameful tonight. In terms of Kano, no offense to the man but this is bigger than any single individual. Too many ill-advised people being exuberant whilst blowing their own trumpets me thinks...

I will support Hibs until I die and will do everything I can to make sure I can still support them until that day comes. Hence, I'll definitely be supporting HSL and buying my ST as usual.

Thanks once again - great to hear the characters on board at the club now and great to hear that STF told some people where to go (good on the man!).

28-01-2015, 09:45 PM

The Petrie out rally showed good initial support with around 3000+ in attendance. But objective wasn't met.

Change had to happen or their would have been a riot! Butcher lost the dressing and fans. LD was coming in anyway to take flak away from RP.

Back room staff were long over due as dinosaur Malpas and co weren't doing a good enough job behind the scenes.

I am fully behind Stubbs and the players we have just now plus the type of football we play but for the jigsaw to be nearly complete that white elephant still needs to move on and fans need to maintain the pressure to get our club back.

28-01-2015, 09:46 PM
Attention is my guess.

28-01-2015, 09:52 PM

"Someone suggested a vote whether to carry on for a further half hour, RP accepted this and asked the question. A majority shouted approval to end the evening there and that was that"

28-01-2015, 09:54 PM
Forgive me if this has been answered - Is this share issue really fan ownership though?

Even if fans reach the 51% they won't have full control?

Also what's stopping someone like RP or STF purchasing part of the 51% ? Is that possible ?

Also if the debt increases - say we stay in championship and debt rises due to lower income again what happens then ?

Also how will fans see where the money they have been provided is being spent ? A detailed breakdown would be useful.

Finally 10 year repayment .. What happens if something happens to STF and he is no longer with us ? Obviously wouldn't wish this to happen !!

The Petrie out rally showed good initial support with around 3000+ in attendance. But objective wasn't met.

Change had to happen or their would have been a riot! Butcher lost the dressing and fans. LD was coming in anyway to take flak away from RP.

Back room staff were long over due as dinosaur Malpas and co weren't doing a good enough job behind the scenes.

I am fully behind Stubbs and the players we have just now plus the type of football we play but for the jigsaw to be nearly complete that white elephant still needs to move on and fans need to maintain the pressure to get our club back.

Only contention against "maintain the pressure" is that our current owner has had enough and has always had a good working relationship with Petrie, and whilst I agree Petrie needs to go, he must be near retiring and I think it is important to keep STF (and Petrie) on board whilst we transition. I think a 'in, out' scenario would be a catastrophe and from what I can hear, some fan representatives and ex-players would be much much much worse than STF and Petrie.

Lets not jump into a leaky dingy to get away from a sinking ship...

Wow, just wow. Never expected STF to take the mike and defend himself so vehemently as he did. Highlight of the night, for me.

Part of the problem with Pia/Kano was they claimed to be speaking on behalf of others whilst aiming their verbal volleys at RP/STF and were roundly shouted down in a "you're not talking for me" way.

Even though I agree RP should go, I have to say that while some of us are happy to blame him for the failures of the club, it would be churlish not to congratulate him on the successes, notably the appointments of LD, GC and most importantly, AS. I genuinely feel we have found a diamond in AS and I hope he stays with us long enough to return us to our rightful place in Scottish football. He is a quiet, unassuming guy but he is the boss-make no mistake-but I also feel he's the right person to put his arm round players too and therefore get the best out of them.

STF came over afterwards and spoke to myself and my group and apologised for getting angry, FFS. The man has had people turning up at his door, slandering him and tearing his credibility/reputation to shreds. Bl00dy good on him I say :aok:

Oh and the appointment of the Sports Scientist (can't remember his name, sorry) sounds like a real coup. He's never committed to one club before but seemingly he's widely regarded as the best in the business.

28-01-2015, 09:55 PM
This wee crowd need to disappear for the good of the club.

I questioned one of them on Facebook the other day was abused because of where I stay and none of my questions answered. Says it all. Well done to STF for standing up for himself and hopefully he takes it futher as their 'campaign' is extremely slanderous.

28-01-2015, 09:57 PM
Forgive me if this has been answered - Is this share issue really fan ownership though?

Even if fans reach the 51% they won't have full control?

Also what's stopping someone like RP or STF purchasing part of the 51% ? Is that possible ?

Also if the debt increases - say we stay in championship and debt rises due to lower income again what happens then ?

Finally 10 year repayment .. What happens if something happens to STF and he is no longer with us ? Obviously wouldn't wish this to happen !!

1. yes, if they reach 51%

2. yes they will, for most decisions

3. yes, but why would they?

4. the debt won't rise. It may stay the same, if we ask for a repayment holiday. That apart, we spend what we take in.

5. it's repayable to the Holding Company, not him. His successors take over the shares of that company, but the agreement remains in place.

28-01-2015, 10:02 PM
Wow, just wow. Never expected STF to take the mike and defend himself so vehemently as he did. Highlight of the night, for me.

Part of the problem with Pia/Kano was they claimed to be speaking on behalf of others whilst aiming their verbal volleys at RP/STF and were roundly shouted down in a "you're not talking for me" way.

Even though I agree RP should go, I have to say that while some of us are happy to blame him for the failures of the club, it would be churlish not to congratulate him on the successes, notably the appointments of LD, GC and most importantly, AS. I genuinely feel we have found a diamond in AS and I hope he stays with us long enough to return us to our rightful place in Scottish football. He is a quiet, unassuming guy but he is the boss-make no mistake-but I also feel he's the right person to put his arm round players too and therefore get the best out of them.

STF came over afterwards and spoke to myself and my group and apologised for getting angry, FFS. The man has had people turning up at his door, slandering him and tearing his credibility/reputation to shreds. Bl00dy good on him I say :aok:

Oh and the appointment of the Sports Scientist (can't remember his name, sorry) sounds like a real coup. He's never committed to one club before but seemingly he's widely regarded as the best in the business.

Craig Flannigan

28-01-2015, 10:03 PM

Craig Flanagan and you're right, he is regarded highly by many

28-01-2015, 10:04 PM
Who is Simon Pia? When did he become important or of any relevance as far as Hibernian Football Club is concerned?

I just don't get it. Why does local media get taken in so easily by people like this, and give them so much exposure?

28-01-2015, 10:04 PM
1. yes, if they reach 51%

2. yes they will, for most decisions

3. yes, but why would they?

4. the debt won't rise. It may stay the same, if we ask for a repayment holiday. That apart, we spend what we take in.

5. it's repayable to the Holding Company, not him. His successors take over the shares of that company, but the agreement remains in place.

Thanks replies.

Regarding point 1 - But full control would mean decision making and running of club ?

Also surely the debt can still rise = less income (TV, hearts games, tickets etc)

28-01-2015, 10:05 PM
Craig Flannigan

Craig Flanagan and you're right, he is regarded highly by many

That's the felly :aok:

28-01-2015, 10:07 PM
That's the felly :aok:

Pay more attention in future:na na:

28-01-2015, 10:08 PM
Thanks replies.

Regarding point 1 - But full control would mean decision making and running of club ?

Also surely the debt can still rise = less income (TV, hearts games, tickets etc)

What do you suggest then, maybe go to STF and ask for a loan or should we just manage our finances better?

Also if buyhibs had managed to get control of the club, surely debt could still rise under their ownership?

28-01-2015, 10:09 PM

Nobody else was going to get the chance to ask any questions though apart from Pia and co, and to be fair we'd heard it all before. Even the birdie song was popular once!

28-01-2015, 10:12 PM
Pia doesn't care two shiyites about Hibs and his only concern is hunting down STF. Its personal and nothing to do with the football club.
What's the back story to this, please?

28-01-2015, 10:14 PM
Thanks replies.

1. if the fans are the major shareholders, they have control over the running of the club. Like it or not, that's the responsibility that comes with ownership.

2. the debt can't rise. We can only spend what we have. We have no overdraft facility, and no means of credit other than on normal trading terms.

28-01-2015, 10:16 PM
Thanks very much PB. Appreciate knowing what occurred whilst not being able to attend.

I, myself, have had a few bad things to say about STF and I've always fluctuated between him being our saviour and feeling grateful, to questioning the mismanagement and feeling angry.
Ultimately though, when I seriously think about it, let's be honest, it's the mismanagement that has been an issue rather than underhandedness. We all make mistakes at work, all of us. The problem we had was due to our aggressive, passionate views each time we failed, I think we did force the hand of Petrie and STF to fix the problem (aka sack the manager, and bring whole new team in of journeymen). By no means does this mean I like Petrie and want him to stay for ever more, it does however mean that I respect him. I also find vile attempts to attack STF and Petrie in a personal way is a disgrace.

Failed attempts to fix a problem is better than making no attempts at all. Thankfully, a better solution seems to be in motion now. I think we have recognition of this being a football club where once it was run simply as a business.

Never liked what I heard of Pia's contributions in years gone by and certainly seems shameful tonight. In terms of Kano, no offense to the man but this is bigger than any single individual. Too many ill-advised people being exuberant whilst blowing their own trumpets me thinks...

I will support Hibs until I die and will do everything I can to make sure I can still support them until that day comes. Hence, I'll definitely be supporting HSL and buying my ST as usual.

Thanks once again - great to hear the characters on board at the club now and great to hear that STF told some people where to go (good on the man!).

I'll back anyone/anything that gets us back to being known for our Football-accomplishments instead of the 'Well-run financially' label we've acquired. Football should be the No.1 priority, NOT the balance-sheet !!.

28-01-2015, 10:18 PM
Thanks replies.

Being honest with yourself, would you trust Hibs fans to run the club without external (less passionate) people with their head screwed on the right way around? Even the most intellectual Hibs fan(s), I would not trust to run the club on their own. HSL is unlikely to get 51% as individuals can get shares as well but ultimately those shares will be made up of fans.

Debt will rise or fall depending on how finances are handled. Tickets are bought by fans, if fans do not go to games, debt may rise... TV funds are very minimal on a whole especially when you consider running costs will likely rise in Premiership anyway (increased security at games etc.). Why should we be relying on Hearts games with a view to being financially viable? We support the club or we don't. With right management and right support debt will not waver massively if we fail to gain promotion. If either falters, even if we had another ownership option, we are in trouble. This isn't "Sophie's choice" here, it is a question of supporting the club. Many other individuals are around to debate the viability of Hibs and if we will survive (etc.). It is up to us to prove them wrong.

NYHibby
28-01-2015, 10:19 PM

This was the first time I have heard George speak and I was impressed. Setting aside his speaking style, his presentation was the one thing which has excited me the most about the club's future. It's a shame his message will likely be drowned out by the stuff at the end.

While I want to be cynical (in a used car salesman kind of way), George made it seem like we have assembled a dream team to support the players and coaches.

eaststandfin
28-01-2015, 10:20 PM
Who is Simon Pia? When did he become important or of any relevance as far as Hibernian Football Club is concerned?

I just don't get it. Why does local media get taken in so easily by people like this, and give them so much exposure?

Simon's an ex-Scotsman journalist and used to work in communications for Scottish Labour and, more recently in the referendum, was a talking head for Project Fear. Lectures on media law at Napier these days. He's also written a book about Pat Stanton.

28-01-2015, 10:25 PM
Pay more attention in future:na na:

I was too busy looking over my shoulder :agree: :tee hee:

28-01-2015, 10:26 PM
1. if the fans are the major shareholders, they have control over the running of the club. Like it or not, that's the responsibility that comes with ownership.

2. the debt can't rise. We can only spend what we have. We have no overdraft facility, and no means of credit other than on normal trading terms.

The aim is to obviously get to 51% - otherwise fans wouldn't support it.

What would then happen to the current board / fan reps etc if 51% was achieved ? They won't just surely disappear?

Also it's not really fan ownership if LD and co are encouraging fans to pledge - surely elected fans should have more control where the money raised would go ? Otherwise people would just end up paying Butchers gardening leave !

28-01-2015, 10:29 PM

What would happen to the current board / fan reps etc ? They won't just surely disappear?

Also it's not really fan ownership if LD and co are encouraging fans to pledge - surely elected fans should have more control where the money raised would go ? Otherwise people would just end up paying Butchers gardening leave !

1. that would be up to the shareholders. If they wanted to get rid of the current Board, that is what would happen.

2. I'm not sure what you mean. It is fan ownership, and fan control if the 51% is achieved. If the fans elect their own Board, then they would have financial control.

28-01-2015, 10:30 PM

What would happen to the current board / fan reps etc ? They won't just surely disappear?

what makes you think the club are still paying Butcher? I think you will find it is worth checking

28-01-2015, 10:32 PM

The part in bold is a dangerous notion. Control being the worrying part mainly. We've just elected 2 fan representatives on the board and I'm sure there would be input from them after consulting with the wider group but to suggest they have control...

Most fans would love to see Messi and Ronaldo upfront for us (including me), so being 100% honest, I wouldn't even trust myself to have control over how the raised funds be spent...

I'd like to have an input but control would be disastrous.

Also it's not really fan ownership if LD and co are encouraging fans to pledge - that is kind of like saying "I bought this car but I don't really own it because my mate encouraged me to buy it". Shares are shares. Where the drive comes from is of little concern.

28-01-2015, 10:33 PM

They are sad people then. I support Hibernian not Petrie. Our club needs everybody and I mean everybody pulling in the same direction to get us out of the hole we are in.

killie-hibby
28-01-2015, 10:34 PM

Before ER was upgraded he had a hut on the East terrace from which football programmes were sold. Round about the same time he wrote the football page for the Big Issue.

28-01-2015, 10:35 PM
what makes you think the club are still paying Butcher? I think you will find it is worth checking

I was using Butcher as a bad joke.

Can you direct me to where it says we stopped paying him ? I know it was for a good few months after he left us.

28-01-2015, 10:38 PM

Can you direct me to where it says we stopped paying him ? I know it was for a good few months after he left us.

Like most employee's he had a contract, which would include a termination clause, the details of which are confidential.

28-01-2015, 10:39 PM
They are sad people then. I support Hibernian not Petrie. Our club needs everybody and I mean everybody pulling in the same direction to get us out of the hole we are in.

:aok: Just hope most people realise the chance we have before it is too late.

I'd like to ask these people what they see happening if we squander this chance and STF and Petrie leave (the current ~1% of other shareholders become 100% owners?) or we get some type of Trotters Independent Traders (I'll leave the abbreviation out...) equivalent on board...
Both STF and Petrie aren't getting younger.

We have a chance. We either take it or leave it. We transition now or we have a likely calamity later.

Taking it seems to have some sort of end goal. Leaving it seems to have nothing but the same or worse on the horizon...

28-01-2015, 10:40 PM

Agree with you about supporting the club and not Petre...but disagree about the severity of our situation.

This is a fairly casual, no-pressure arrangement that is being proposed as we aren't in any financial danger. It will work if a lot of us pull in the same direction but the worst case scenario is that the process of buying shares will take a little longer.

We really are in good hands.

28-01-2015, 10:40 PM

I'm sure it will be in next year's accounts. It just illustrates how things move on and fans banging on about old news are very often getting the facts wrong. Just because posters on this and other forums said we were paying him for months does not make it a fact. I don'tknow if we were or not but I understand you will find we are certainly not now. Source? Banchoryhibs who took the opportunity to ask RP.

Saturday Boy
28-01-2015, 10:42 PM
Before ER was upgraded he had a hut on the East terrace from which football programmes were sold. Round about the same time he wrote the football page for the Big Issue.

I think you are mixing up your Scot's Italians: It was Rikki Raginia that had the programme hut. A good guy and still following the Hibees.

Bearders
28-01-2015, 10:43 PM
See the posts above - It would appear to be the shareholders who voted to end the meeting rather than the board.

From my seat there was no vote - the session degenerated into counter shouting between the various factions, including the Board member (Amanda), who in the role of "chair" for this part of the meeting, did not handle matters terribly well at all. She was as guilty as some others in shouting and having digs at speakers.

andrew70
28-01-2015, 10:43 PM
Hibernian Football Club

AGM – 28/01/2015

Attendees: Bruce Langham, Amanda Jones, Brian Houston, Colin McNeill, Leeann Dempster, Garry O’Hagan, Jamie Marwick, George Craig, Alan Stubbs.

Upbeat, positive, jovial and optimistic are rarely words you would relate to a Hibernian AGM however what we listened to this evening was, for the most part, exactly that.

Opening

Rod Petrie took to the floor as the clock ticked past five past seven. Thanked everyone for attending, welcomed everyone and apologised for the late start. There had to be more chairs brought in to the room to allow everyone a seat.

In his opening statement he stated: “the shareholders own the club” and told everyone that there was a full agenda for the evening.
1. Formalities
2. Football Matters
3. Share Issue and Hibernian Supporters Limited

Welcomed the attending board members (see above) and thanked Sir Tom Farmer for what he has done for “our community and our club”

Before proceeding to open the AGM and adopting the financial results he spoke over the last financial year and the effect that relegation had on everyone at the club.

Petrie: “I was responsible, I apologise to supporters”

Suggesting it would have been very easy to walk away he wanted to say that if he was offered the chance to resign it would always be “no”
He made a point of focussing on our poor performance last year saying “our proud club had failed to capitalise” on the park in the way that it should have.

“No one approached the club with a plan….to take the club forward” this was aimed at rumours and speculation relating to several different groups.
Now as we move towards the future “we have talented people” that we have recruited who are working hard. The current performance of the club is beginning to show the fruits of that hard work and is slowly starting to prove that we are “once again a quality premiership club” despite our position in the leagues as of now. Hibernian are on the road to becoming a team “worthy of your support”.

Rod Petrie then declared the AGM open.

Financial Results

Resolution 1: To adopt the Financial Statements

Jamie Marwick took us through the Annual accounts:

Briefly, as I think these are accessible in other places on here;
· “Disappointing” £815k operating loss
· Turnover down 28% (cut revenues, failure to get to latter stages in cup)
· Club store was out sourced which effectively increased club store profatibility
· Staff Costs down
· Wages to Turnover ratio up
· Revenues did not cover costs
· £1.2 million loss for the financial year.
· Club were valued by Jones Lang LaSelle. £14.9m up from £13.6
· Debt stands at £5mill to Holding Company
· No overdraft
· Any financial assistance comes direct from Holding Company

The motion to adopt the financial statement was carried.
Formal part of the AGM closed.

More to follow....

andrew70
28-01-2015, 10:45 PM
Football Matters

Bruce Langham spoke about the election for two supporter representatives on the the board of directors.

Frank and Amit’s election came after a process which had taken 9 months to put in place and was fully supported by Leeann Dempster upon her arrival.

Almost 4000 filled out an online survey aimed at what we wanted to see happen within the club, 75% voting for board representation.
3154 votes were cast in the elections.

Frank and Amit were congratulated and welcomed by Bruce.

Mr Langham made a point of saying that the other supporters have all to a man (and woman) showed their “willingness to help and contribute to the club in any way they can”

Leeann Dempster

She opened by congratulating the two board reps and stated she was “looking forward to working with them”

This is her first agm but she was confident and assured. Her honesty and integrity shone through and it was no surprise when she said that she is “committed to delivering” the plan which despite “adversity” and “inevitable changes” has not changed.

That is “what matters” to her. Everyone is entitled to their “opinion”. It’s been a “challenge”, it has been “difficult” and “stressful” but thanks everyone for their “patience” and says it is a “pleasure to lead this club”

Dempster went on to say it’s great to see the fans “enjoying their football again”

Everyone at the club is “determined to do more” and she asked for all of the support to “try and look forward” as we have in her opinion “a lot to look forward to”

On player recruitment she said the board have supported Alan Stubbs and “added to our squad”, adding quality “to get goals” especially after the injuries to Farid and then subsequently Dominique’s form taking him to the African Nations Cup. (Dja Djedje)

She spoke warmly about the squad and the general direction the players are going and advised us all that Farid is “getting better.”
She believes “we have hit our pace” and is “confident that we will finish season much stronger”

Plan

1.Football – Success
2.One Club One Community

Football – Success
· Day to Day
· Results on match day
· Development and Progression of young players

“Football and football performance is critical”

Leeann the introduced Head of Football Operations George Craig

TBC

28-01-2015, 10:46 PM
I'm sure it will be in next year's accounts. It just illustrates how things move on and fans banging on about old news are very often getting the facts wrong.

If you are sure it will be in accounts - we will find out next year how long we paid him after he left and hopefully we can see the facts of how much we wasted.

At the time we couldn't fully move on as we were paying 2 managers at the same time.

andrew70
28-01-2015, 10:47 PM
George Craig

George was humorous but even more so, perhaps unwittingly, informative to the extreme. This man knows what he is on about.
I have 10 pages of notes from what he delivered and I would love to write them all down here but I am going to try and abbreviate it slightly.

Football Structure and Strategy

1.Background
2.Opportunity
3.Challenge
4.Structure
5.Strategy
6.Critical Non Essentials
7.Percentage Gains

George spoke proudly of his background and his grounding at his hometown club Falkirk but says where he learned the most was when working for the SFA in “Elite Player Development”.

Under the instruction of Mark Wotte and as part of Club Academy Scotland” he went around clubs, stadiums and training grounds and discovered there was untapped potential within the Scottish game. This untapped potential is the chance to put the above structure together at a club and take it “beyond anywhere it’s been before.”

Accepting the challenge at Hibernian delighted George and he has enjoyed working with people who are “enthusiastic” and “passionate.”

His job is to help “identify, recruit and develop” players working under a “structure” and a “strategy”

He spoke about the influences of Sir Clive Woodward and Dave Brailsford when telling us football is a “performance sport” so “little advantages, small percentage gains” help us “to be better.”

The club have implemented a “continental structure” which encourages “partnership” and support. George and Alan help each other but George in particular is aware of his “roles and responsibilities.”

This structure was put in place “before relegation”

Not once did they think of walking away insisting they were “smarter than that” and the club now has “gifted and talented people” helping to maximise players ability and potential.

The club is being “creative” and leading in the way, once again, in this respect.

Sports Science: Craig Flannigan “best in the country,” “marvellous knowledge”

Player ID and Recruitment: Graeme Mathie “very organised,” “structured” and “reasoned”

Players now undergo a range of individual testing and have personal bests which they all want to better every day.
· Speed
· Endurance
· Strength

“Get Better Faster”

DIET

Team Breakfast

“Need to eat to win the race”

Partnerships

Queen Margaret University: Cutting Edge Rehab

Edinburgh University: Performance Analysis

Academy

Player development Eddie May and Joe McBride.

Eddie May said to G.C. that the players we have are “better than anything we’ve ever worked with at Falkirk.”

George did say that we are a “capital” club and that should be the case but it’s Eddie and Joes job to teach the boys and prepare them to develop in the best way possible.

Education and Welfare

· Young people
· Brutal Business
· Prepare Beyond Football

Transition Academy

The link up with Spartans is the only transition academy in the world.

They have methodically tried to work with local boys clubs and to help them take their players to another level and eventually in to our academy.
“building relationships” and hoping to find an edge with regards to the clubs.

Performance Match Analysis

· Opposition Match Analysis
· Player and Position Specific Analysis
· Recruitment Analysis

Thanked the supporters for helping to buy equipment.

From my seat there was no vote - the session degenerated into counter shouting between the various factions, including the Board member (Amanda), who in the role of "chair" for this part of the meeting, did not handle matters terribly well at all. She was as guilty as some others in shouting and having digs at speakers.

There was from mine :aok: And I think Amanda, under severe provocation, handled things as well as you could....under the circumstances. The "and who are you/what's your name?" inference was bang out of order, IMHO.

I accept the need to move on, but on this particular point - we are still paying Butcher aren't we? We paid him to go and unless informed otherwise it would reasonable to conclude we still are.

Like most employee's he had a contract, which would include a termination clause, the details of which are confidential

28-01-2015, 10:48 PM
I accept the need to move on, but on this particular point - we are still paying Butcher aren't we? We paid him to go and unless informed otherwise it would reasonable to conclude we still are.

See my amended post. it seems we're not

andrew70
28-01-2015, 10:48 PM
Alan Stubbs

Again I will try to keep this as brief as possible.

Everytime I hear Alan speak I can’t get enough of what he has to say. He said the project “excited” him and liked what was on offer in terms of being able to play football in his “style.”

The players are “most important” but he wants “to be the best” and I have no doubts in saying I think he will be.

Stating that it was a “brilliant opportunity” to manage a “great club” and it was a “privilege” that he didn’t “think he would get”

He admitted that “we weren’t ready” for the beginning of the season but made a point of saying that the players “shouldn’t have been in the condition they were” now he believes that they are the “fittest team in the league” and getting towards the “strongest”

He says he doesn’t “fear anyone” and will never “set out to draw” a game.

There is plenty room for improvement in style, Stubbs saying that we “should never stop improving”

The players accepted “responsibility” and never pointed “the finger” when questioned about last season but that it was time to try to forget and move on.

Whilst being “happy where we are” at this moment he said the bar “has been raised” and the pressure is on the team “at the top”

“Nothing is won or lost” yet and we must only “focus on ourselves”

The message was simple in its clarity “keep supporting the team” and take the club back where it belongs.

Leeann Dempster

“Excited about the future”

Reorganisation and the Operational Process:
· Communication – “Better” and “More interesting”
· Ticketing and Sales – “Relevant” and “Affordable”
· Share Issue

Leeann then spoke about the second part of the plan

One Club One Community

· Not just handing out freebies
· Support People who need it
· We are a “community asset”
· Motivate, Inspire and Educate People
· Community Football Teams
· Commercial, Hospitality and Training environment
· Use stadium and training centre better

Most importantly the ethos is:

“IT’S ABOUT FOOTBALL, IT’S ABOUT FOOTBALL, IT’S ABOUT FOOTBALL

​Almost there....

28-01-2015, 10:50 PM
Like most employee's he had a contract, which would include a termination clause, the details of which are confidential

Quite simple question that could have been asked tonight maybe ? Not the details of pay just when we stopped paying him or are still paying him.

andrew70
Share Issue and HSL

I don’t want to breach any laws here so will try to clarify the most important points.

WHY?
· World is changing
· More Supporter Influence
· Government Objective
· Leading the way
· Board Plan
· Support from Holding Company

WHAT?
· Create a club worthy of investment
· Operations are funded
· Share Issue will fund ONLY Sporting ambition

There are no barriers to meeting the 51% ownership mark and the date of 31st August 2015 can be extended should the club wish to do so.

Sir Tom Farmer

Once again I will keep this brief, more to avoid confrontation and my personal opinion, of what happened near to the end, getting in the way of my report.

Sir Tom acquired the club in 1991 when the club was £800k in the red. Now we have assets that are worth in excess of £19million.

He said he could walk away now and give the club to the supporters as he is sick of the “abuse” but he will keep it because he ‘believes in it.’

Whether we agree or disagree we need to “move forward as one” and “keep supporting the club in whatever way you can do”

That’s all from me.

Bearders
It had descended into a farce. It was certainly heading that way.

Pia and co continually interrupted and talked louder than anyone else to try make a point. Unfair - they were handed the microphone and were interrupted by hecklers. They are entitled to ask their questions.

They couldn't discuss things in an adult and respectful fashion Sorry that's untrue.

28-01-2015, 10:51 PM
Quite simple question that could have been asked tonight maybe ? Not the details of pay just when we stopped paying him or are still paying him.

28-01-2015, 10:53 PM
It could have been, but for obvious reasons it wasn't.

28-01-2015, 10:54 PM
If you are sure it will be in accounts - we will find out next year how long we paid him after he left and hopefully we can see the facts of how much we wasted.

At the time we couldn't fully move on as we were paying 2 managers at the same time.
It probably won't be explicit in the accounts.

NYHibby
28-01-2015, 10:55 PM
Andrew, were you sitting in the same row as me? Left hand side of the room, you had a notepad you were vigorously writing in, there was a guy who vaguely looked like an unshaven Craig Levein sitting between us? As I was leaving I laughed at a comment either you or the other guy you were with made about some of the people at the AGM

w pilton hibby
28-01-2015, 10:57 PM

And if you get this out of date information what good will it be?

You'll never see where you're going if you're always looking over your shoulder.

andrew70
28-01-2015, 10:57 PM
Andrew, were you sitting in the same row as me? Left hand side of the room, you had a notepad you were vigorously writing in, there was a guy who vaguely looked like an unshaven Craig Levein sitting between us?

Haha yes that would be me.

28-01-2015, 11:02 PM
And if you get this out of date information what good will it be?

You'll never see where you're going if you're always looking over your shoulder.

You will never progress if you don't learn from your mistakes..

Saturday Boy
28-01-2015, 11:02 PM
Haha yes that would be me.

You have my sympathy if you look like an unshaven Craig Levein. :confused:

Thanks for for the report.

andrew70
28-01-2015, 11:03 PM
You have my sympathy if you look like an unshaven Craig Levin. :confused:

Na mate, that was the boy between NYHibby and I

28-01-2015, 11:06 PM
Top work Andrew, great reading for those us of not there :top marks

Saturday Boy
28-01-2015, 11:07 PM
Na mate, that was the boy between NYHibby and I

Good to hear. I'm sure you'll agree :wink:

28-01-2015, 11:08 PM

Do you not think we have? Everything happening at hibs just now indicates to me that we have.

28-01-2015, 11:08 PM

And changing to Head Coach and coaching team is not learning from repeatedly sacking managers? (garden leave can be bundled into that). Change can be implemented and people will still dwell, it's the little things that matter to people but sadly I've had enough of "everyday is exactly the same" with regards to Hibs.

I could dwell, there are many things I'm not happy about but dwelling is something I have previously done masterfully and it sadly brings you nothing but torment. Reflect and move on. Things aren't always as bad as they seem.

andrew70
28-01-2015, 11:09 PM
Good to hear. I'm sure you'll agree :wink:

Of course 👍

banchoryhibs
28-01-2015, 11:11 PM

I asked RP if the previous management team was still draining Hibs' budget - he said no; I then said that the gardening leave comments suggested that we were till paying Butcher's wages - he said we were not; I asked if this meant that they were totally settled and gone - he confirmed that this was the case - excellent news!

I was also impressed that RP, STF and LD along with AS stayed behind and spoke to everyone that wanted to speak to them. If HoH or Pia (or their chums) had wanted further questions / discussions they could have done so.

I am not a RP fan but after tonight am satisfied that the club is back on track.

Pia and chums should just fade away - nothing to see here!

JoeT_WasTheBest
28-01-2015, 11:43 PM
Amanda Jones (incidentally a far better MC than D Forsyth): Will we end it now?
Majority of crowd: Yes.
Amanda: OK - but we'll all be downstairs to answer any of your questions for as long as you like.
The Opposition: Boo! Where's the transparency? We've got questions to ask. You're stopping us from asking questions.

All I learned about them tonight is:
They don't know how to ask questions
They don't listen
They're pretty abusive

I thought Craig, Dempster and Stubbs were very impressive by any standards and I enjoyed Stubbsy's reply to the questioner who complained about Rod "selling off a team"

AS: That's what football clubs do - that's what Everton do.
Q: Aye - but they reinvest it in the team.
AS: Er - no they don't, they really don't. Trust me!

And I've still - after 23 years of folk digging - to be given any evidence of why one of Scotland's most successful businessmen would have chosen an ailing football club as a way of making personal gain. So it's either not there, or it's crap journalism.

Mind you, one 'investigator' said he didn't know who Amanda Jones was - an hour after she'd been introduced to the audience and four or five years after she joined the club..

There were a lot of impressive people communicating a clear vision for the club tonight.
And a few who weren't.

GGTTH.

Totally agree with this post :top marks

28-01-2015, 11:45 PM
Thank you very much for updates PB. Now even more behind Leann and AS than before.

28-01-2015, 11:54 PM
Top work Andrew, great reading for those us of not there :top marks

Agreed. Thanks for the report.:aok:

Thegreenside
29-01-2015, 05:34 AM
Top marks mate

29-01-2015, 05:44 AM
One thing to note. With the AGM done the opportunity for these idiots to get any airtime is limited. Best ignored now even though they are making a lot of us very angry.

29-01-2015, 06:07 AM
Well done Andrew, the work yourself and Pretty Boy have done to keep us all informed is much appreciated.

Weststandwanab
29-01-2015, 06:15 AM
And a big thank you from me.

bodoglimt
29-01-2015, 06:33 AM
Excellent work much appreciated:thumbsup:

Fergos
29-01-2015, 06:41 AM
Good work pal, thanks for the update.

29-01-2015, 06:44 AM
It seems to have been missed everywhere.

Colin McNeill resigned from the football board but remains on the Community Foundation board.

29-01-2015, 06:51 AM
Thanks for that:thumbsup:

Bearders
29-01-2015, 07:03 AM
[QUOTE=EVENTUALLY;4286535]hh

Dear oh dear. Shameful.

SneakersO'Toole
29-01-2015, 07:11 AM
Sorry that's untrue.

You were at the wrong AGM then. Seems many on here who were also there seem to agree.

29-01-2015, 07:14 AM

I wasn't there, but from reading the posts of others who were present it seems that you are are the only one with this opinion.

Maybe there was too much shouting in your area and you missed it.

29-01-2015, 07:15 AM
I asked RP if the previous management team was still draining Hibs' budget - he said no; I then said that the gardening leave comments suggested that we were till paying Butcher's wages - he said we were not; I asked if this meant that they were totally settled and gone - he confirmed that this was the case - excellent news!

I was also impressed that RP, STF and LD along with AS stayed behind and spoke to everyone that wanted to speak to them. If HoH or Pia (or their chums) had wanted further questions / discussions they could have done so.

I am not a RP fan but after tonight am satisfied that the club is back on track.

Pia and chums should just fade away - nothing to see here!

Thanks for the earlier heads-up Banchory, it certainly puts a whole lot of these arguments in to perspective that people forget that companies are constantly moving on. Its time we all took a leaf out of that book

Weststandwanab
29-01-2015, 07:29 AM
Simon Pia rants about STF and RP taking money etc. Is roundly shouted down and booed.

Rp explains at length it is not a donation to pay off debts. It is an investment in the club.

Pia is a buffoon with apologies to buffoons.

STF says he has taken 23 years of abuse from Simon Pia. Contends he has given his very best to Hibs for that time.

In 1990 STF loaned Hibs £240 000 to acquire the club that was in negative value. We now have £19M of assets. Sick of accusations that he has ripped off the club. If fans want the club they can have it, why should he keep it if that is what he has to face? He is keeping it because he believes in the club. The club owe him £5M and he is allowing that to be paid at zero interest for 10 years. He gifted the shares to people that they now hold because he wanted to.

He seems furious.

I think he has every right to be.

Thank you PB for the fantastic updates.

And a big thank you from me.

IMO HOH have had their democratic right to ask a question, they have had a response from the owner.

Any more negative PR will only affect Hibs in the long term.

I also hope STF takes legal action on any more slurs on him.

I think STF is too dignified to even think of that.

29-01-2015, 07:29 AM
Sorry that's untrue.

I'd be interested to know which parts you think are untrue.

Jim Slaven who was first to question was heard out and then continually tried to interupt when LD tried to answer his point albeit with a counter question. Paul Kane then got involved and was shouted down when he claimed the support was split '50/50'. Finally Pia stood up and was repeatedly asked by Amanada Jones if he had a question. He ignored that and continued on an incoherent rant about theft, deception, mismanagment etc. He was again shouted down for this.

Despite being a critic of HoH I was genuinely interested on what questions they had last night but lets be honest they had nothing. Slaven was aksed clearly why he thought the share issue should be delayed and couldn't or refused to answer, he resorted to shouting. The less said about Pia the better but when he tried to bring up the red herring of the car park money, which has been clearly explained at least 10 times, it became clear he had nothing. They wasted their chance to ask questions because they were ill prepeared and made sweeping statements about 'speaking for the fans' that others rightly took umbrage to. If they want to blame anyone for not getting answers then they should look in the mirror.

andrew70
29-01-2015, 07:30 AM

Colin McNeill resigned from the football board but remains on the Community Foundation board.

Yes that's correct, totally forgot to put that in. He was thanked for his contribution for his two sessions in position but a new job means he's unable to offer his time/services.

SneakersO'Toole
29-01-2015, 07:37 AM
I'd be interested to know which parts you think are untrue.

Jim Slaven who was first to question was heard out and then continually tried to interupt when LD tried to answer his point albeit with a counter question. Paul Kane then got involved and was shouted down when he claimed the support was split '50/50'. Finally Pia stood up and was repeatedly asked by Amanada Jones if he had a question. He ignored that and continued on an incoherent rant about theft, deception, mismanagment etc. He was again shouted down for this.

Despite being a critic of HoH I was genuinely interested on what questions they had last night but lets be honest they had nothing. Slaven was aksed clearly why he thought the share issue should be delayed and couldn't or refused to answer, he resorted to shouting. The less said about Pia the better but when he tried to bring up the red herring of the car park money, which has been clearly explained at least 10 times, it became clear he had nothing. They wasted their chance to ask questions because they were ill prepeared and made sweeping statements about 'speaking for the fans' that others rightly took umbrage to. If they want to blame anyone for not getting answers then they should look in the mirror.

Perfectly put. They ruined the AGM for others who probably had legitimate questions about the share issue.

Anyone who thinks these guys and Buy Hibs in general should be responsible with a takeover of our club honestly need their head examined.

Gerard
29-01-2015, 07:53 AM
[QUOTE=EVENTUALLY;4286535]hh

Dear oh dear. Shameful.

He appeared to show signs of that condition. It could also be due to a medical condition. It is difficult to be certain regarding this issue without knowing the facts of Mr S Pia's condition......
The AGM was very well attended and I thought that Mr Craig, Stubbs, Petrie and Ms Dempster presented very well in their vision for Hibs.
It was nice to see Sir Tom Framer give an account of the things that he has done for Hibs and is still doing. STF's contribution is documented in many posts on this and other threads.
As I see it the club has got one debt of 5 million pound paybale over 10 years with no interest payable. This will start in August this year. How many football teams have an interest free mortgage?
The majority of fans at the AGM were happy with the way the club is run and do not want HOH or Buy Hibs to be ruuning OUR CLUB.
I think STF has done a lot for our club and still does a lot. He should not be given the abuse that he gets from a small minority of people.
I look forward to seeing our team being promoted this year and winning silverware soon.

Bearders
29-01-2015, 08:06 AM
I wasn't there, but from reading the posts of others who were present it seems that you are are the only one with this opinion.

Maybe there was too much shouting in your area and you missed it.
Not at all - I just wish to give a balanced , unblinkered opinion on what actually transpired. As always at these events, a small minority continue to shout out interrupting the speaker. It happened to the Board speakers as well as Simon P and Kano. It also happened to STF, who demonstrated his excellent public speaking skills - albeit a position of considerable strength being the owner.
I thought LD looked and sounded tired and for the most part was unconvincing. GC presented very well IMO and like Mowbray, I could listen to AS all day long - it's the football that interests me.

29-01-2015, 08:08 AM
Many thanks to Pretty Boy and Andrew for the updates and summary.:aok:

Like others, I'd like to see intelligent discussion and questioning about the share project. As for HOH's approach, I'm another in the 'not in my name' camp. It's like 'The Young Ones' coupled with 'Citizen Smith', with a cheap, football hoolie flick thrown in. Only it's much more malign than that, because HOH are actual, real-life sad *******s, and their targets are real people (whatever you think of their stewardship of the club), and it's our club which they appear to be trying to destabilise when most others are trying to pull together to heave us out of the doldrums.

Usually I would agree that everyone 's voice should be heard, whether or not you agree with them. I think HOH have surrendered their right to dialogue with Hibs / HSL /STF / RP / everyone else until they show an interest in actually engaging in dialogue themselves. They appear to have no evidence, no answers, and their only response thus far to people challenging their position is to insult them, or delete their questions.

29-01-2015, 08:10 AM
Not at all - I just wish to give a balanced , unblinkered opinion on what actually transpired. As always at these events, a small minority continue to shout out interrupting the speaker. It happened to the Board speakers as well as Simon P and Kano. It also happened to STF, who demonstrated his excellent public speaking skills - albeit a position of considerable strength being the owner.
I thought LD looked and sounded tired and for the most part was unconvincing. GC presented very well IMO and like Mowbray, I could listen to AS all day long - it's the football that interests me.
So everal posts say there was a vote or that the majority of the meeting thought it should be wound up but you say there wasn't. Blinkers?

29-01-2015, 08:11 AM

As I said, I wasn't there so you'd be better answering PB's (and other posters) directly as to how your version of events differs from theirs.

As stated, you seem to be the only one who took negatives from the speakers last night.

29-01-2015, 08:17 AM
If HOH really are speaking for as much as 50% of the support all they need to do is get all their supporters to buy shares and they will have a real power base to influence the club as they wish as well as being able to demonstrate the size of the support they are currently claiming(?).

29-01-2015, 08:44 AM
Thanks for the summery!

29-01-2015, 08:47 AM
Thanks for the summery!

:agree: Brought a bit of sunshine into our lives.

wills
29-01-2015, 08:58 AM
Dont know if the AGM was the place to raise this, but was there any mention of a pay off for Butcher?

p.s great post

29-01-2015, 09:00 AM
Dont know if the AGM was the place to raise this, but was there any mention of a pay off for Butcher?

p.s great post

One poster spoke to RP afterwards, and he confirmed that we are no longer paying anything to TB.

29-01-2015, 09:04 AM
very helpful notes, thanks. There's been a suggestion that the meeting was closed without those present being asked if they wanted to finish then or not, is that correct?

29-01-2015, 09:06 AM
Thanks PB, and others for some great on the spot summaries for those that couldn't be there. :thumbsup:

Been able to form a pretty good impression of what actually happened on the night.

29-01-2015, 09:22 AM
If you go on twitter and look at some of Jim Slavers tweets, i'm sure he was at a different meeting to the one being reported on here?:confused:

Gerard
29-01-2015, 09:26 AM
Thanks for your AGM report.

29-01-2015, 09:30 AM
Petrie 'the bus is leaving u are either on it, or u can watch it leave

Noticed this being said on Twitter as a Petrie quote did anyone hear that being said?

29-01-2015, 09:33 AM
If you go on twitter and look at some of Jim Slavers tweets, i'm sure he was at a different meeting to the one being reported on here?:confused:

there is such a hypocritical inconsistency from Slaven and co....you can't take a position of "let's talk , don't be divisive" in a meeting and on Twitter when you are actively using divisive and defamatory language outside
in the car park and in social media

29-01-2015, 09:35 AM
Petrie 'the bus is leaving u are either on it, or u can watch it leave

Noticed this being said on Twitter as a Petrie quote did anyone hear that being said?

Yep. He did.

29-01-2015, 09:41 AM
there is such a hypocritical inconsistency from Slaven and co....you can't take a position of "let's talk , don't be divisive" in a meeting and on Twitter when you are actively using divisive and defamatory language outside
in the car park and in social media

:agree: They are on another planet, its as if they dont think any of us can see the divisive things they are trying to do, and as for the lets talk, they are the ones who wouldn't talk months ago?

You couldnae make some of this sheite up. :greengrin

29-01-2015, 09:41 AM
You have my sympathy if you look like an unshaven Craig Levein. :confused:

Thanks for for the report.

I think I know who that may be. Someone who posts on here regularly

29-01-2015, 09:44 AM
Does anyone know if the AGM is minuted?

Many thanks to PB for updates and insight into the meeting.

29-01-2015, 09:46 AM
PB/Andy

Thanks very much for your time and effort putting the updates etc on .Net!

Much appreciated. :-)

killie-hibby
29-01-2015, 09:59 AM
I think you are mixing up your Scot's Italians: It was Rikki Raginia that had the programme hut. A good guy and still following the Hibees.

I was mixing them up.Pia's column in the big Issue must be more recent than I stated.

green.and.white
29-01-2015, 10:08 AM
Thanks for the updates guys!

29-01-2015, 10:33 AM
Really encouraging reading that. Thanks for all you work, much appreciated :aok:

Bearders
29-01-2015, 10:36 AM
"only one" [/QUOTE]

You were not there so how can you come out with such a ridiculous statement. I was in attendance. I formulate my opinion based on what i saw and heard. I am not influenced by the man next to me. I have read the considered and articulate posts from my fellow fans which i respect but i don't agree with all that is being said. That is what opinions are all about. I will happily debate these points with these people if the opportunity ever arises on the basis that they were in attendance. For you to come out with "only one" beggars belief when you were not there. I put that down to an over keenness to have a dig.

29-01-2015, 10:36 AM
If HOH really are speaking for as much as 50% of the support all they need to do is get all their supporters to buy shares and they will have a real power base to influence the club as they wish as well as being able to demonstrate the size of the support they are currently claiming(?).

Yip. Few things starting to bother me about this whole episode.

Hibs share issue is just an initiative that might/not succeed. If it fails, then worst that's happened is STF/RP's influence has been diluted and passed to Hibs fans. In anyone's books, that's no bad thing. If it works, then we're all happier. It does not prevent anyone coming forward at any stage with a decent proposal and buying the club if they don't like what's happening and/or think they can do better.

There's no place for abuse or intimidation. If HOH and others can't control themselves then they'll simply lose credibility and support - already happening. In saying that, delighted to see the Board, CEO and owner properly challenged and questioned at every turn. There's been far too little accountability at Hibs over the last few years, with those responsible hiding or ignoring criticism. We all think the team and club have been far too soft in recent years. Well, IMO, so have the fans. If STF is getting a bit ticked off with criticism and coming out fighting then that's ok by me. At least we're seeing some sort of reaction, passion and emotion from our owner after all these years.

Hibs are in a battle of wills with fan groups because there's an important share issue on the go. IMO until the new Directors and share issue is up an running, HOH, BuyHibs, Pia and Kane can still play an important role in keeping Hibs honest and making sure we get the best result possible, but they need to change tack. The game has changed and so must their role/approach.

Those calling for these groups to wind-up or **** off are missing a trick or have short memories. It's as if all our past problems are over and our future success is assured. IMO all it would take is a bad set of results/luck or poor start to next season to see these same people start to vent and ask the same old questions we've been asking over the last few years. FeelGood is back and things on the park definitely looking up but we're still in a fragile/precarious state.

29-01-2015, 10:37 AM
very helpful notes, thanks. There's been a suggestion that the meeting was closed without those present being asked if they wanted to finish then or not, is that correct?

Nope :greengrin A clear question was asked and the room voted not to continue with the Q & A. However, they were advised that the whole 'team' would be available afterwards to answer any queries. I was there till 21.40 and the whole Board were still attendance, talking to supporters :aok: Oh, and STF left at the same time as me.

29-01-2015, 10:41 AM
Yip. Few things starting to bother me about this whole episode.

Hibs share issue is just an initiative that might/not succeed. If it fails, then worst that's happened is STF/RP's influence has been diluted and passed to Hibs fans. In anyone's books, that's no bad thing. If it works, then we're all happier. It does not prevent anyone coming forward at any stage with a decent proposal and buying the club if they don't like what's happening and/or think they can do better.

There's no place for abuse or intimidation. If HOH and others can't control themselves then they'll simply lose credibility and support - already happening. In saying that, delighted to see the Board, CEO and owner properly challenged and questioned at every turn. There's been far too little accountability at Hibs over the last few years, with those responsible hiding or ignoring criticism. We all think the team and club have been far too soft in recent years. Well, IMO, so have the fans. If STF is getting a bit ticked off with criticism and coming out fighting then that's ok by me. At least we're seeing some sort of reaction, passion and emotion from our owner after all these years.

Hibs are in a battle of wills with fan groups because there's an important share issue on the go. IMO until the new Directors and share issue is up an running, HOH, BuyHibs, Pia and Kane can still play an important role in keeping Hibs honest and making sure we get the best result possible, but they need to change tack. The game has changed and so must their role/approach.

Those calling for these groups to wind-up or **** off are missing a trick or have short memories. It's as if all our past problems are over and our future success is assured. IMO all it would take is a bad set of results/luck or poor start to next season to see these same people start to vent and ask the same old questions we've been asking over the last few years. FeelGood is back and things on the park definitely looking up but we're still in a fragile/precarious state.

I'm all for people ensuring Hibs are kept honest. I just rather it was done by people who are capable of doing it.

29-01-2015, 10:49 AM
Well done Andrew, the work yourself and Pretty Boy have done to keep us all informed is much appreciated.

29-01-2015, 11:05 AM
Delighted Tom Farmer come out fighting.

Probably why he's been so successful in life, why he has almost £200m in the bank and how he got all that from nothing.

Probably also why he come out fighting for US against Mercer all those years ago. Thankfully a number of us remember this. Some folk think he should invest for no return be thankful for the privelege :confused:

Gon STF. Folk have a chance to invest in the club and support is optional. Either do both/either or dont. Stop boring the rest of us with bull**** and conspiracy theories that dont stack up.

29-01-2015, 11:10 AM
Bearders, I cant quote as I'm on the phone but if your post is a reply to me then I said 'only one' clearly in the context of those who were present and posting on this thread.

I thought that would be pretty obvious to be honest.

29-01-2015, 11:15 AM
Nope :greengrin A clear question was asked and the room voted not to continue with the Q & A. However, they were advised that the whole 'team' would be available afterwards to answer any queries. I was there till 21.40 and the whole Board were still attendance, talking to supporters :aok: Oh, and STF left at the same time as me.
Cheers S seems like someone never heard then.

29-01-2015, 11:25 AM
Sorry if already posted - an altogether more positive report from David Hardie today:

http://m.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-agm-standing-ovation-for-sir-tom-farmer-1-3672718

29-01-2015, 11:37 AM

Probably why he's been so successful in life, why he has almost £200m in the bank and how he got all that from nothing.

Probably also why he come out fighting for US against Mercer all those years ago. Thankfully a number of us remember this. Some folk think he should invest for no return be thankful for the privelege :confused:

Gon STF. Folk have a chance to invest in the club and support is optional. Either do both/either or dont. Stop boring the rest of us with bull**** and conspiracy theories that dont stack up.

Nail on head absolutely.

andrew70
29-01-2015, 11:41 AM
My musings on the AGM and a look ahead to Saturday.

http://www.scotzine.com/2015/01/hibs-blog-time-to-get-on-board-the-bus-and-support/

29-01-2015, 11:53 AM

Indeed and buy Hibs can get their large backers to invest also and the ball is their's.

29-01-2015, 12:14 PM
Fast becoming a total roaster with no facts whatsoever to back up his so called arguments. im losing all respect i had for Kano...sadly
I lost respect for him when he shot down the road to join Oldham.

29-01-2015, 12:19 PM
Is it not the fact that Kane and Co were looking to get their hands on Hibs for next to zero ?, it would seem the clubs initiative has blown that chance of ever happening if it ever was a chance !.

29-01-2015, 12:27 PM
Not sure if it's been mentioned, but one of my favourite exchanges last night was between LD and (I forget) Paul Kane or Jim Slaven, on the subject of HSL.

He:- "why are you involved?"

She, looking straight at him, "because I have experience in this."

I know where my Valentine card is going this year.:greengrin

hibbychick1
29-01-2015, 12:29 PM

Excellent post. Spot on.

29-01-2015, 12:32 PM

Hibs.net backing them??

29-01-2015, 12:34 PM
George Craig
He spoke about the influences of Sir Clive Woodward and George Brailsford when telling us football is a “performance sport” so “little advantages, small percentage gains” help us “to be better.”

Dave Brailsford. Were you even there? :grr: :panic:

Seriously, thanks for the great reporting! :flag:

29-01-2015, 12:35 PM
hh

What struck me tonight was the togetherness between LD,AS and GC. They each referred to each other when they spoke about all sorts and never mentioned RP or any other directors by name simply stating the support they receive from the Board in general.

Ive seen Pia on a few things and thought that myself, the one that really jumps out was when he was on STV news trying to debate with Kevin Williamson about the independence refernedum, he looked and sounded half jaked.

andrew70
29-01-2015, 12:38 PM
Dave Brailsford. Were you even there? :grr: :panic:

Seriously, thanks for the great reporting! :flag:

Haha oops. Thought I'd got away with winging it there. 😜 will change it now.

Well spotted.

29-01-2015, 12:40 PM
Cheers S seems like someone never heard then.

:agree: :wink:

29-01-2015, 12:42 PM

True, and I'm not slagging him off, as he seems a decent guy, but how many folk actually knew he was back/there in the first place? :wink:

WillowbraeHibby
29-01-2015, 12:47 PM
Thank you for the report Andrew, very much appreciated it is. Well done. :top marks

Mathias Jack
29-01-2015, 12:54 PM
One poster spoke to RP afterwards, and he confirmed that we are no longer paying anything to TB.

That would certainly explain why i've seen him on the TV a lot more recently; Fantasy Football Club on Sky and Ipswich's FA Cup replay with Southampton.

Anyways, I digress...top post andrew70, brief and very informative :top marks

speedy_gonzales
29-01-2015, 01:07 PM

That would certainly explain why i've seen him on the TV a lot more recently; Fantasy Football Club on Sky and Ipswich's FA Cup replay with Southampton.

The question has to be asked whether TB walked away or whether a lump sum was required to terminate the contract?

Regardless, and as others have said, excellent post andrew70 :thumbsup:

29-01-2015, 01:08 PM
True, and I'm not slagging him off, as he seems a decent guy, but how many folk actually knew he was back/there in the first place? :wink:

I thought he'd already gone!

andrew70
29-01-2015, 01:15 PM
Any idea who runs the Hibernian Retro page on FB? Appears they've taken my work and used it as there own.

Wouldn't mind if he/she had asked...

29-01-2015, 01:15 PM
Any idea who runs the Hibernian Retro page on FB? Appears they've taken my work and used it as there own.

Thats classy. :rolleyes:

29-01-2015, 01:18 PM
I attended last night's AGM and was looking forward to hearing both the pro's and cons of the share issue. Instead what we got was a shouting match when we could have had a honest, civilised debate from people who should be on the same side, ie the improvement in the fortunes of our football club. After many, many failures the board have made what seems, excellent choices for the CEO and the management team. But, what we have to remember is that the Board are employees of Hibernian FC and they go into each day because it is their job. We, on the other hand, go to ER as it is a way of life, a calling if you wish. Thus the Board are custonian's of our club and sometimes they have made bad mistakes. We all do ! So we have £19m worth of assets and £5m worth of debt, not too bad a place to be. But, we shall pay it. Why ? Because this guys is HIBERNIAN FOOTBALL CLUB, not some shanty town mob from the other side of town or from Glasgow who think they ideal way to run their affairs is to build up huge debt and then run away. THAT, friends is the difference. I shall go further, I will pay the mortgage (with some help !) 1000 fans at £10 a week for ten years or 500 at £20. We can do this if we try. GGTTH

andrew70
29-01-2015, 01:20 PM
Thats classy. :rolleyes:

I called them up for it and they have added in a bit saying that I wrote it now.

29-01-2015, 01:22 PM

Hibs.net backing them??

We can only assume it's their idea of a joke. Who knows what the thinking was behind putting Hibs.Net on that one. Mildly amusing though.
For the avoidance of doubt hibs.net don't back anybody, all we do is provide a platform for Hibs fans to discuss all things Hibernian. I know we have said it several times before but there is no editorial policy here. We probably couldn't agree on one anyway. The members here are more than capable of thinking for themselves. If the Admin team here suggested a stance you lot would probably back the opposite just to annoy us. :greengrin

29-01-2015, 01:22 PM

They did the same with some HibeesBounce artwork recently.

They've got previous going back to their very beginning just about!

For different reasons another 'group' we could do without, IMO, albeit for very different reasons.

WillowbraeHibby
29-01-2015, 01:25 PM
We can only assume it's their idea of a joke. Who knows what the thinking was behind putting Hibs.Net on that one. Mildly amusing though.
For the avoidance of doubt hibs.net don't back anybody, all we do is provide a platform for Hibs fans to discuss all things Hibernian. I know we have said it several times before but there is no editorial policy here. We probably couldn't agree on one anyway. The members here are more than capable of thinking for themselves anyway. If the Admin team here suggested a stance you lot would probably back the opposite just to annoy us. :greengrin

It would just be for arguments sake.... In a good way!!! :greengrin :thumbsup:

andrew70
29-01-2015, 01:26 PM
They did the same with some HibeesBounce artwork recently.

They've got previous going back to their very beginning just about!

For different reasons another 'group' we could do without, IMO, albeit for very different reasons.

Agreed! Just find it annoying that they weren't even going to acknowledge it until I said something.

wills
29-01-2015, 01:28 PM

Thats good to hear. Thanks CWG

29-01-2015, 01:33 PM
Have to say PB did a great job with meeting minutes. What came across to an extent was the personal bitterness some have towards both RP and STF. I don't feel its fully justified.

1) I don't for a minute think it would make any real difference to Easter Road attendances if RP walk out the door tomorrow, perhaps a few hundred. What will, is a winning and promoted team, the promoted part being hard to achieve this season in my opinion, but possible. RP has admitted mistakes and yes he did, but who in life hasn't.

2) I am an admirer of Sir Tom Farmer, as a business man who, as a young man saw a opportunity and single mindedly followed it through to create the successful business which he did.
As a human being in the way he lives his life, no scandal, providing money for his chosen charities and folowing his chosen faith.
We at Hibs owe STF a huge debit of gratitude, for saving Hibs from becoming another Third Lanark, a statistic in the record book of Scottish football.
Well thats me had my say for what it is worth.