View Full Version : Greggs Hibs sign RB (Keith Watson)

Tonez
27-01-2015, 11:49 AM
Keith Watson been signed so I'm told.

27-01-2015, 11:49 AM
Happy with this :top marks

27-01-2015, 11:51 AM
From Dundee United? Very impressed if true - I would imagine it would be a loan?

27-01-2015, 11:51 AM

On loan?

27-01-2015, 11:54 AM
Wat

TowerHibs
27-01-2015, 11:56 AM
Christ almighty

Hard to believe that we are turning into a decent run club here. Difference in a modern CEO with a modern day manager using all the facilities and modern way of running a football club showing already. Now imagine if Stubbs was in the door 6 weeks earlier when we got relegated.

Future is definately green and white

TheGreenMan
27-01-2015, 11:58 AM

How do you know? Any official news due?

seanshow
27-01-2015, 11:59 AM

Sauce

27-01-2015, 11:59 AM
What are we going to do on transfer deadline day?

27-01-2015, 12:02 PM

I'll think of something.

Derek Dougan
27-01-2015, 12:02 PM
I'll think of something.

:thumbsup::thumbsup:

27-01-2015, 12:03 PM
Is he not their regular RB? Played 16 times for them this season already :confused: Happy if this is true, but prefer to get excited when Hibs announce it :greengrin:

27-01-2015, 12:03 PM
If true that'll be a cracking signing, he can play CB too eh? Surely just a loan though, great player.

27-01-2015, 12:09 PM
Is he not their regular RB? Played 16 times for them this season already :confused: Happy if this is true, but prefer to get excited when Hibs announce it :greengrin:

They've just signed Ryan McGowan so maybe 1 in and 1 out.

27-01-2015, 12:11 PM

Contract up in the summer and apparently said he wouldn't sign another as he wants to go down south.

United signed Ryan Mcgowan as a replacement.

ACLeith
27-01-2015, 12:12 PM
Contract up in the summer and apparently said he wouldn't sign another as he wants to go down south.

Dundee to Leith is down south, no?

27-01-2015, 12:12 PM
here's an article from last september

Dundee United star Keith Watson dreams of move down south
http://www.sundaypost.com/sport/football/dundee-united-star-keith-watson-dreams-of-move-down-south-1.598679

With his contract set to end in the summer, Watson is still waiting for United to initiate talks on a new deal.

27-01-2015, 12:14 PM
Dundee to Leith is down south, no?

It would've been had it been a Yes in September.

:-)

27-01-2015, 12:16 PM

Hopefully some official announcement soon then!

Quality once again (if true btw not dissing the OP).

27-01-2015, 12:18 PM

Once/IF it becomes official, I'll express my delight, until then, not falling for it.

27-01-2015, 12:21 PM

They've just signed McGowan, and they've also got Spittal who plays at right back

Gus
27-01-2015, 12:32 PM

I'll think of something.

Aye it will involve, SSN, Natalie Sawyer, my chariot & large box of kleenex :duck:

Good temp signing if true and no need to rush DG back

27-01-2015, 12:48 PM

Member of a Scottish cup winning team. Also described as "without fear of contradiction, the best young player I have ever worked with", by an ex-United manager now lurking in the background at Tiny.

27-01-2015, 12:52 PM
Member of a Scottish cup winning team. Also described as "without fear of contradiction, the best young player I have ever worked with", by an ex-United manager now lurking in the background at Tiny.

If thats the case then why has that ex United manager not signed him or tried to sign him? :confused:

hibeemikey21
27-01-2015, 12:53 PM

Re the best young player - did he not say the exact same thing about danny Swanson?

27-01-2015, 12:59 PM
They've just signed McGowan, and they've also got Spittal who plays at right back

And they want O'Donnell from Partick in the summer...

27-01-2015, 01:04 PM
And they want O'Donnell from Partick in the summer...

he's knocked back a move to blackpool after the club had accepted a 100K offer

27-01-2015, 01:04 PM

I am surprised as I think Watson is a better RB than McGowan. Hope its true, but with Gray being first choice RB at Hibs I don't think it will be.....Oh wait, that would have been the old regimes take on things, its getting used to having a decent signing policy that is confusing me :greengrin:

27-01-2015, 01:14 PM
Nothing on fishy site? :confused:

27-01-2015, 01:25 PM
No danger.

27-01-2015, 01:27 PM
Nothing on fishy site? :confused:
or any other site for that matter

Ken
27-01-2015, 01:31 PM
Can't see this happening but would be delighted if true (even a loan deal)

27-01-2015, 01:31 PM
I think this is slavers although happy to be proved wrong.

27-01-2015, 01:33 PM

Just what I was thinking :greengrin But what a refreshing change to previous regimes.

27-01-2015, 01:33 PM
This doesn't smell right to me, as much as I would like it to.
One post to announce this, then 90 minutes later not another thing from the OP!

:tsk tsk:

27-01-2015, 01:35 PM
Aye it will involve, SSN, Natalie Sawyer, my chariot & large box of kleenex :duck:

I hope we personally don't announce any new signings until next week.

HappyHibeeAG
27-01-2015, 01:39 PM

:not worth Do you think we could remove Jim from deadline day and have Natalie and Georgie doing it???? Or would that put Kleenex into the billion pound company lists?? :aok:

27-01-2015, 01:43 PM
:not worth Do you think we could remove Jim from deadline day and have Natalie and Georgie doing it???? Or would that put Kleenex into the billion pound company lists?? :aok:

Would much prefer Kate Abdo presenting it all by herself. :cb

27-01-2015, 01:46 PM
Hope this is true..

27-01-2015, 01:47 PM
Prove me wrong OP but this seems too good to be true

27-01-2015, 02:12 PM
Can't see it. Would be delighted if true

27-01-2015, 02:15 PM
I have no inside line on this therefore cant say either way. Would this guy come to Hibs as a back up RB? I'm not so sure.

27-01-2015, 02:26 PM
Sounds like absolute nonsense

27-01-2015, 02:32 PM

He first mentioned it a few weeks ago.

Post 7.....

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?297022-David-Gray&p=4270367&highlight=#post4270367

27-01-2015, 02:34 PM
Has this thread not got Greggs written all over it?

27-01-2015, 02:35 PM
According to the Bounce; the rumour has been rife up in Dundee for about a week.

27-01-2015, 02:36 PM
Tonez has been spot on in the past. Broke the Derek Adams news before anyone else iirc.

27-01-2015, 02:38 PM
Tonez has been spot on in the past. Broke the Derek Adams news before anyone else iirc.

and Liam Craig and Rowan Vine

robinp
27-01-2015, 02:43 PM
Tonez has started 4 threads, 3 about us signing staff/players, including this one - both previous were spot on (MArtin Scott and Derek Adams) and out of left field IIRC:
http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?197219-Derek-Adams-assistant-manager-(Confirmed)&highlight=
http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?202752-Martin-Scott-Signs-For-Hibs-(3-1-2-Year-Deal-Confirmed)&highlight=

27-01-2015, 02:51 PM
I've been told it's true so well done on another scoop 👍

27-01-2015, 02:52 PM
I've been told it's true so well done on another scoop 

:hyper

What a signing. Deadline day will be pish now :rolleyes::greengrin

27-01-2015, 02:52 PM
I've been told it's true so well done on another scoop ddc4d

Good good. Hopefully will be announced soon. Quality signing

27-01-2015, 02:53 PM
I've been told it's true so well done on another scoop 

loan deal?

27-01-2015, 02:55 PM
Can I add it is a former hearts player who has said its true. Not any agents I know! I don't know how long the deal is etc sure the op will know more than myself. I just wanted to find out if true so asked around.

27-01-2015, 03:17 PM
This will be outstanding if true!! Surely not though...

27-01-2015, 03:18 PM
Can we maybe change the title until he actually does sign? I got a bit excited before realising it hasn't been announced yet

27-01-2015, 03:19 PM
I have no inside line on this therefore cant say either way. Would this guy come to Hibs as a back up RB? I'm not so sure.

This was my thinking, unless he knows he's leaving Dundee U and his relationship there has deteriorated, gray might be another couple of weeks away and will need to get his fitness back, also so we need a reliable RB just now and a short deal might suit everyone.

27-01-2015, 03:23 PM
Can we maybe change the title until he actually does sign? I got a bit excited before realising it hasn't been announced yet

Agreed!! I've already had to phone my dad back to tell him it's only a rumor as of now. Saw the thread title and was absolutely thrilled, he's a top player. I'll be stunned if this is true to be honest.

Lee Marvin
27-01-2015, 03:32 PM
Agreed!! I've already had to phone my dad back to tell him it's only a rumor as of now. Saw the thread title and was absolutely thrilled, he's a top player. I'll be stunned if this is true to be honest.

Can he play CH or LB? if he is a straight rb it seems like a strange signing. Almost a gray
replica. Where would that leave him as this guy is not signing for hibs to sit on the bench.

I can see this being true if he can play in a couple of positions however and would be suitably delighted!

27-01-2015, 03:32 PM
The last Keith to play for us did alright ;)

The he only other Keith I can recall was good old elbows Houchy

What is it about Hibs players and the "vickeys"?o

27-01-2015, 03:34 PM
as good as Gray's been(which is very good) AS may feel he's an even better option:dunno:

27-01-2015, 03:38 PM
Would be delighted if true!

27-01-2015, 03:39 PM
http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/hibernian/308129-hibernian-in-talks-to-sign-dundee-united-defender-keith-watson-on-loan/

Tonez
27-01-2015, 03:45 PM

Jeezus I was working......

All I'll say is check my past posts.

Derek adams
Martin Scott
Rowan vine
Liam Craig

McIntosh
27-01-2015, 03:53 PM

Derek adams
Martin Scott
Rowan vine
Liam Craig

:aok: well done - you are well on the money. Do you have any tips for the 2.30 at Newmarket :wink: we all need them.

27-01-2015, 04:12 PM
Deleted by moi:- posted in wrong thread!!

27-01-2015, 04:21 PM

Derek adams
Martin Scott
Rowan vine
Liam Craig

I hope he's better than them!! Maybe you're a jinx :duck:

27-01-2015, 04:24 PM
as good as Gray's been(which is very good) AS may feel he's an even better option:dunno:

Hes nowhere near the standard of Gray. Still a decent signing though if true, and much needed numbers in defence.

Theres rumours that United are after Dixon and having just signed McGowan, it makes sense to be moving someone on.

27-01-2015, 04:29 PM
Right back has been a problem position at Hibs for seasons and now we are on the verge of having two really good players in that position! David Gray & Keith Watson. Huge credit goes to Dempster, Stubbs & the folk behind the scenes!

27-01-2015, 04:43 PM
It's nice to finally have a manager and system in place where we sign players in positions that we need.

Hopefully the days of 4 goalies and 5+ defensive midfielders are over :hyper

Well done Leeann and Stubbsy.

27-01-2015, 04:49 PM
We waited years for one decent right back and all of a sudden 2 might be here.

Heedraba
27-01-2015, 05:01 PM
What happened to the rumour that Mark Wilson was going to sign?

27-01-2015, 05:03 PM
Sky sports also saying he is poised to sign on loan 'til end of the season

27-01-2015, 05:03 PM
The Arabs, without slating Watson, seem to be ok with him coming to Hibs - quite a few think it would be a very good move for him. I'm not so keen on the suggestion that they might get one of our better players as part of a deal.

27-01-2015, 05:14 PM
The Arabs, without slating Watson, seem to be ok with him coming to Hibs - quite a few think it would be a very good move for him. I'm not so keen on the suggestion that they might get one of our better players as part of a deal.

That would be a daft move by the club. Whilst we need a RB, it shouldnt be at the cost of losing one of our other players, especially when its only a loan.

27-01-2015, 05:21 PM

I've missed this suggestion.
Where is it?

27-01-2015, 05:24 PM
Could it be that Gray's recovery isn't going to be as quick as originally thought , thus the need to get cover in.

27-01-2015, 05:25 PM
Where is it?

On one of their forums, footy mad, maybe.

Where is it?

I heard it was a young development centre half going the other way.

Think he's called Terence Butcher.

Wonder if Grays recovery is perhaps looking like it might take a bit longer? Still, that's some replacement that Stubbsy has lined up! :agree:

27-01-2015, 05:27 PM

Right.

27-01-2015, 05:28 PM

Here - http://boards.footymad.net/forum.php?tno=196&fid=101&sty=2&act=1&mid=2110307141

27-01-2015, 05:38 PM
What happened to the rumour that Mark Wilson was going to sign?

It was just a rumour.

27-01-2015, 05:44 PM
Here - http://boards.footymad.net/forum.php?tno=196&fid=101&sty=2&act=1&mid=2110307141

Link doesn't work but when I google the link Arab Mo appears to ask if there is anyone at Hibs they might fancy.
Is that the suggestion?

Fergos
27-01-2015, 05:44 PM

Derek adams
Martin Scott
Rowan vine
Liam Craig

what at were you doing working and not keeping us up to date? Hope you've taken the next few days off before deadline day day to keep us up to speed......

on a serious note....good signing if true.......although DG has been an excellent signing and wouldn't want him to lose his place when fit.

27-01-2015, 05:47 PM
Great signing. We need to keep the momentum going and this signing does that. Booth is simply not good enough defensively. We must push newco all the way for second and it's good to see us signing a proven Premiership right back.

27-01-2015, 05:49 PM
Has this signing been confirmed anywhere?

27-01-2015, 05:52 PM

No, quite a few media and journalists tweeting about it though.

27-01-2015, 05:54 PM
Link doesn't work but when I google the link Arab Mo appears to ask if there is anyone at Hibs they might fancy.
Is that the suggestion?

That's the one.

27-01-2015, 06:01 PM
That's the one.

Good.
Cant imagine we would look to get a squad player in, on loan terms at that, and at the expense of one of our better players going in the opposite.
Arab Mo sounds a bit 'deluded' if I might.

27-01-2015, 06:08 PM
Is he cup tied ?

27-01-2015, 06:10 PM
Is he cup tied ?

Yes, unfortunately so.

Nomeancity
27-01-2015, 06:12 PM

Derek adams
Martin Scott
Rowan vine
Liam Craig

Jeez I hope it wasn't you who scouted them.

27-01-2015, 06:14 PM
Yes, unfortunately so.

Fosters I'll be back in contention for Raith game as a sub at least so don't think it's crucial he is cup tied as long as gray makes speedy recovery .

27-01-2015, 06:16 PM
On sky sports news. Saying we are close

27-01-2015, 06:17 PM
Fosters I'll be back in contention for Raith game as a sub at least so don't think it's crucial he is cup tied as long as gray makes speedy recovery .

I don't think Stubbs sees forster as a right back.

No evidence to back that up, I just think our full backs are a crucial part of our attacking play so Stubbs will be unlikely to push a central defender out there.

27-01-2015, 06:26 PM
I don't think Stubbs sees forster as a right back.

No evidence to back that up, I just think our full backs are a crucial part of our attacking play so Stubbs will be unlikely to push a central defender out there.
I don't iether I just meant he would be ok to play there in one cup game if needed although our opponents have two players who have scored 17 goals each ( not including the weekend there ) so defence may need to be on thier toes for the cup game

27-01-2015, 06:27 PM
So when both Gray and Watson are fit... Where do we or who do we go with !? I'de prefer Gray myself. Is Watson happy playing second fiddle for a few months in the Championship !? *MIND MIGHT EXPLODE !!* :confused:

27-01-2015, 06:35 PM
Would be delighted with this - a better signing than anyone could reasonably expected for RB "competition". As we move closer to the end of season and presumably play offs, we need as many good players as possible.

What a difference a good manager makes to recruitment. Mowbray was excellent in the transfer market IMO but Stubbs' record to date has been faultless, the squad has real depth throughout now. Would fancy us for top 4 in SPFL with this squad if we can get ourselves up this year.

27-01-2015, 06:38 PM
Didn't Mowbray sign that clown of a goalkeeper ?

Fergos
27-01-2015, 06:41 PM

Makalamby...who crapped himself at tiney....

27-01-2015, 06:44 PM

GGTTHIncorrect. Collins signed Makalamby and he never did such a thing at Tynecastle did he? In fact he was between the sticks when an understrength team beat them there. He had a very good game. Was there another time I've forgotten about??

27-01-2015, 06:48 PM

Yes. However on the whole he had a great record in the market IMO.

I intended to say that I can't remember a manager who's done so well with signings as Stubbs, even Mowbray. Not to jinx Watson of course :wink:

Fergos
27-01-2015, 06:49 PM
Incorrect. Collins signed Makalamby and he never did such a thing at Tynecastle did he? In fact he was between the sticks when an understrength team beat them there. He had a very good game. Was there another time I've forgotten about??

Your right - my mistake.

However I'm sure he went off injured at HT at tiney....when about to keep goal at their end

27-01-2015, 06:57 PM
Incorrect. Collins signed Makalamby and he never did such a thing at Tynecastle did he? In fact he was between the sticks when an understrength team beat them there. He had a very good game. Was there another time I've forgotten about??

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/7194799.stm

27-01-2015, 06:59 PM
Makalamby kept 3 clean sheets at swinie IIRC (incl 2 Hibs wins)......better than any other Hibs GK of the last 20yrs or so??

27-01-2015, 07:01 PM
Your right - my mistake.

However I'm sure he went off injured at HT at tiney....when about to keep goal at their end

That doesn't mean he shat it though. Maybe he was genuinely injured. :confused:

khib70
27-01-2015, 07:01 PM

Think he means Malkowski :crazy:

Fergos
27-01-2015, 07:04 PM
That doesn't mean he shat it though. Maybe he was genuinely injured. :confused:

No correct...bit a lot assumed that's the real reason from memory....

Fergos
27-01-2015, 07:05 PM
Think he means Malkowski :crazy:

The fiddler sign...nice action....

Fergos
27-01-2015, 07:13 PM
Makalamby kept 3 clean sheets at swinie IIRC (incl 2 Hibs wins)......better than any other Hibs GK of the last 20yrs or so??

More to do with our overall performance there rather than any GK performances IMHO.

27-01-2015, 07:14 PM
Malkoski. Even typing that name gives me shivers.
Mowbray was brilliant for us, however his inability to sign a decent keeper held us back from achieving more. Criminal

27-01-2015, 07:28 PM
Could it be that Gray's recovery isn't going to be as quick as originally thought , thus the need to get cover in.

No. This is not the case.

27-01-2015, 07:31 PM

I'd imagine tomorrow it will be on the website.

27-01-2015, 07:34 PM
I'm sure I'm not the only Hibee who is somewhat surprised at the level of player we are signing. Wonderful stuff and long may it continue.......

27-01-2015, 07:34 PM
No. This is not the case.

Glad to hear that...very important player for us

27-01-2015, 07:36 PM
It was just a rumour.

Hope its Heffernan . Good replacement for GMS .wink

27-01-2015, 08:26 PM
I'm sure I'm not the only Hibee who is somewhat surprised at the level of player we are signing. Wonderful stuff and long may it continue.......

Just goes to show you how much confidence players have in the Stubbs regime.

27-01-2015, 08:34 PM
Such is my half hearted observations on footballing matters outwith Easter Road, I have to admit to having never heard of this guy. Sounds like he would be a good signing though :agree:

27-01-2015, 08:57 PM
Such is my half hearted observations on footballing matters outwith Easter Road, I have to admit to having never heard of this guy. Sounds like he would be a good signing though :agree:you and me both:agree:

27-01-2015, 09:38 PM
Decent player also a goal threat at set pieces.

27-01-2015, 09:44 PM
According to a friend who supports Dundee Utd he's really good going forward but prone to the occasional lapse of concentration in defence.

27-01-2015, 09:52 PM
According to a friend who supports Dundee Utd he's really good going forward but prone to the occasional lapse of concentration in defence.

Ach he's only human. :greengrin

27-01-2015, 09:53 PM
Is it 100% just a loan? Would feel much better getting guys in permantly especially of his quality! Him mgeouch and oxley permantly would be very good business! Not see Boyle for hibs so reserved judgement but he sounds to be doing well and doing everything but score! Hit the post and off the line a couple of times

27-01-2015, 09:55 PM
[/B]

Ach he's only human. :greengrin

I'm looking forward to seeing him, think he'll be a good addition.

Joe
27-01-2015, 10:00 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fnbPSHHQXxI

Remember this from a few years ago.

27-01-2015, 10:03 PM
I'm looking forward to seeing him, think he'll be a good addition.

27-01-2015, 10:22 PM
Is it 100% just a loan? Would feel much better getting guys in permantly especially of his quality! Him mgeouch and oxley permantly would be very good business! Not see Boyle for hibs so reserved judgement but he sounds to be doing well and doing everything but score! Hit the post and off the line a couple of times

According to article in Scotsman tomorrow we are in negotiations to bring him in on a loan deal till end of season But everyone seems to be talking like its a done deal

27-01-2015, 10:31 PM
According to article in Scotsman tomorrow we are in negotiations to bring him in on a loan deal till end of season But everyone seems to be talking like its a done deal

Have I not read somewhere that Watson's contract is up in summer which effectively means he would be without a club at the end of the loan. If there is any mileage in this, surely we would be in a favourable position to get him on a permanent deal. In fact, I'm surprised that DU. aren't trying to get a few bob out of us for a deal now.

27-01-2015, 10:43 PM
Have I not read somewhere that Watson's contract is up in summer which effectively means he would be without a club at the end of the loan. If there is any mileage in this, surely we would be in a favourable position to get him on a permanent deal. In fact, I'm surprised that DU. aren't trying to get a few bob out of us for a deal now.
I know what you are driving at , but have to assume no other club has to date offered him a pre contract that he has been happy to sign no club has come in with small cash offer to get him in this window .
Maybe he wants to be a free agent in summer and is happy to just get some games under his belt with a team that's on the up and that puts him in shop window Gray has been out before so he could get more game time further down the line and Stubbs doesn't need to put Gray back in before he is 100% so would be great signing .The cat is saying booth going to Partick Thistle so we Defo need right back cover and I would think Watson is an improvement on Booth .

27-01-2015, 10:44 PM
we will pay his wage until the summer freeing a wage for McGowan going to utd and if he is wanting to away south next season J Mac is wanting players committed to their cause.
Coming here he can get to play and hopefully well, as he will be in the shop window for a move ... finally he will be really good cover for us and only tying a wage up until the summer .. win win win ...i think.... a bit of luck if he likes it here and we can get up then he might stay ???

28-01-2015, 09:32 AM
Is the deal still on ?

ElginHibbie
28-01-2015, 09:34 AM
Is the deal still on ?

I would guess with Booth away there will definitely be someone in today or tomorrow

28-01-2015, 09:39 AM
its all a bit methodical for me..... doesnt seem to be the Hibs way.

28-01-2015, 09:45 AM

He trained yesterday afternoon.

It was only after training that Boothy was told about the chance to go to Partick, was also told at the same time he wasn't getting new contract.

28-01-2015, 09:53 AM
He trained yesterday afternoon.

It was only after training that Boothy was told about the chance to go to Partick, was also told at the same time he wasn't getting new contract.

Keith Watson trained with Hibs yesterday? Or have I picked that up wrong?

28-01-2015, 10:17 AM
I suspect he is coming to us on loan with an understanding in place that he will sign a 2 year deal at the end of the season if we get promoted. If we don't get promoted he will be a free agent and can move where he likes.

28-01-2015, 10:17 AM
Keith Watson trained with Hibs yesterday? Or have I picked that up wrong?

nope, you have picked it up correctly.

Watson trained.

28-01-2015, 10:34 AM
nope, you have picked it up correctly.

Watson trained.

Seems like it's done then. Wonder why Hibs don't have it up on the official site yet that he's signed. Guess there's still plenty of time left in the day though. Thanks for the info as usual

28-01-2015, 10:36 AM
Seems like it's done then. Wonder why Hibs don't have it up on the official site yet that he's signed. Guess there's still plenty of time left in the day though. Thanks for the info as usual

Probably waiting on the Booth deal getting done at the same time

28-01-2015, 10:37 AM
I wonder if this means Gray is going to be out for a bit longer than expected

28-01-2015, 10:39 AM

Sounds like cover to be honest Watson is capable of covering both full back positions and also centre back so strengthens the squad and also keeps the players in the team on their toes. He will want to start games so that is good also.

28-01-2015, 10:45 AM

No. I would expect Gray to be back this weekend.

28-01-2015, 10:46 AM
Looks like if he Watson signs today/tomorrow, he'll go straight into the team on Saturday if Booth is away

28-01-2015, 10:50 AM

Gray is ready to resume training.

28-01-2015, 11:03 AM
Good experience and a good age but I can't imagine he'll be happy playing second fiddle to Gray, who has been a real star for us.
I guess he can suck it and see until the end of season when he'll be a free agent.
United must think they have better options and have just brought in McGowan. They might get O'Donnell from Partick in the summer, who is an excellent attacking full-back.
A bit sad to see Booth move on. He looked like such a bright prospect in that U19 team but that's a while ago now and very few of those guys have done anything.

Hibeewilly
28-01-2015, 11:20 AM
No. I would expect Gray to be back this weekend.
That would be hell of a quick recovery if he is in contention for this weekend Brooster. I would be very surprised if Stubbsy would even risk him

28-01-2015, 11:30 AM
Just tweeted he's signed

Edit - on loan to the end of the season

DarrenSQH
28-01-2015, 11:31 AM
Its official

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/5146

28-01-2015, 11:33 AM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/5146

HappyHibby93
28-01-2015, 11:33 AM
Done Deal; https://twitter.com/HibsOfficial/status/560415002038120448/photo/1

28-01-2015, 11:36 AM
Another quality signing by Stubbs and the club.

28-01-2015, 11:39 AM
Brilliant news!! Respect to the OP

28-01-2015, 11:42 AM
Very decent signing strengthens the team and squad IMO.

WestEndHibee
28-01-2015, 11:42 AM

lucky guess :greengrin

28-01-2015, 11:46 AM
Very decent signing strengthens the team and squad IMO.

Yes, better balance

portyhibernian
28-01-2015, 11:47 AM
Very pleased with the standard of signing so far under Stubbs, quite surprised we've managed to get Watson as I was under the impression he was a regular starter at United and I'm sure there probably other offers from teams in the top tier. I think we're building a really good team here!

28-01-2015, 11:47 AM
Apologies to the OP for doubting his info (BTW, better get yersel another job if you're away from :hnet: for an hour and a half during the day :wink: :greengrin)

Now I can say I am actually getting quite excited about what is happening on the football front at Easter Road. There is a very good squad being brought together here and all credit to Stubbs and Leann and the team for this happening. :top marks

28-01-2015, 11:55 AM
Impressed by this signing, despite it only being a temporary move.

We're definitely putting everything in place to get promoted.

28-01-2015, 12:06 PM
Impressed by this signing, despite it only being a temporary move.

We're definitely putting everything in place to get promoted.

I would suggest this might be down to the fact we are in the Championship at the moment and players and club are signing contracts because of this, which allows both sides to re-negotiate at the end of the season once we know where we will be playing next season.
A sensible move by both club and player IMO.

28-01-2015, 12:11 PM
Brilliant signin...He can play centre half to i think.

Tonez
28-01-2015, 12:18 PM
Chaps I only post what I was told, it's pretty spot on most of the time. Hibs were originally in for RB Gary Miller but the deal didn't happen, Saints were waiting on a player from hertz and that is thought to have been held up cause Hibs were getting Miller.

Greenblood70
28-01-2015, 12:23 PM
The squad continues to get stronger and stronger - very, impressed by the calibre of player we're bringing in. Looking forward to Saturdays again (or whenever we play)!

hibeemikey21
28-01-2015, 12:25 PM
Chaps I only post what I was told, it's pretty spot on most of the time. Hibs were originally in for RB Gary Miller but the deal didn't happen, Saints were waiting on a player from hertz and that is thought to have been held up cause Hibs were getting Miller.

Brad McKay

patlowe
28-01-2015, 12:33 PM
Now I can say I am actually getting quite excited about what is happening on the football front at Easter Road. There is a very good squad being brought together here and all credit to Stubbs and Leann and the team for this happening. :top marks

This. IF we can get promotion this season, which is definitely within our grasp with the current squad, I really feel the positivity around the club right now could see a huge surge in backing from the fans, hopefully realised through ST sales. Let's hope.

28-01-2015, 12:55 PM
This. IF we can get promotion this season, which is definitely within our grasp with the current squad, I really feel the positivity around the club right now could see a huge surge in backing from the fans, hopefully realised through ST sales. Let's hope.

Promotion is a must. I am delighted to see the club now doing all it can to achieve it.

I believe LD when she says she 'gets it'.

28-01-2015, 01:17 PM
Good experience and a good age but I can't imagine he'll be happy playing second fiddle to Gray, who has been a real star for us.
I guess he can suck it and see until the end of season when he'll be a free agent.
United must think they have better options and have just brought in McGowan. They might get O'Donnell from Partick in the summer, who is an excellent attacking full-back.
A bit sad to see Booth move on. He looked like such a bright prospect in that U19 team but that's a while ago now and very few of those guys have done anything.

He won't be second fiddle to Gray, with DG recovering from surgery at the moment, Watson will go into the team at RB and then the jersey is his to lose.

This is an excellent signing, quality in his own right in two defensive positions, but also allows us to take our time bringing Gray back, letting him build his fitness in reserve matches.

28-01-2015, 01:23 PM
He won't be second fiddle to Gray, with DG recovering from surgery at the moment, Watson will go into the team at RB and then the jersey is his to lose.

This is an excellent signing, quality in his own right in two defensive positions, but also allows us to take our time bringing Gray back, letting him build his fitness in reserve matches.

They can both play in the same team. If we play 352, Watson can play in the 3, and Gray wide right

28-01-2015, 04:21 PM
Eliminates the need to play 4 left footed defenders with the signing of Watson / Booth leaving. Better balance.

Al_Bundy
28-01-2015, 04:23 PM

Is Miller out of contract at the end of the season? I'd say he's more of a centre half judging by how much he has bulked up over the past year or so.

28-01-2015, 04:24 PM

If there was poster of the month comp, you would get my vote for your OP.

Well done!

28-01-2015, 04:27 PM
We now have great options in defence and players playing for places all over the line up.What a difference to the pulling names out of a hat of the last few years.Pity to have the press concentrating on the agitators-anything to stoke up trouble I suppose.

28-01-2015, 04:28 PM
Why Booth going west? I don't geddit.

TheFamous1875
28-01-2015, 05:02 PM
Why Booth going west? I don't geddit.

Personally, I think Stubbs thinking will be that Booth isn't good enough defensively (if posts on here are to be believed he has spent most of Stubbs' tenure working on the defensive side of his game and hasn't improved enough and hasn't reached e standards expected of him) and with Callum Crane being 1 of only 2 youths signing an extension, he must be highly rated by Stubbs. For Crane to to take the next step in his development, he needs to be involved and around the first squad(like Scott Martin has), hence Booth's exit.

I'd be shocked if we were to bring in another LB.