View Full Version : Your Soft Spot/Cult Hero XI

07BigD
19-01-2015, 10:21 AM
We've all had them in our time watching Hibs,players you can't help but like,not necessarily because of their ability simply because they become something of a cult hero to you and your mates or you personally think they bring something to the team no one else can see no matter if they were decidedly average you just wanted them to do well. Here is my bored on a Monday selection

Ollie the Goalie, plucked from nowhere by Duff Jimmy, always looked to me like he couldn't dive properly to his right,enjoyed a season in the sun during the first division campaign before being exposed again in the SPL

Shaun Dennis, tattoos on his arms and a beer belly and not afraid of a dislocated finger,a real hard man

Steven Tweed,big Tweedy paired up brilliantly with Geebsie for a couple of seasons another big centre half with no front teeth he ended up going off to Cyprus where he played up front and was a goal machine!

Matty Jack,signed as a centre half but looked unconvincing, the GJP moved him into midfield where he booted lumps out of people very successfully, we lovingly referred to him as Das Boot

Justin Skinner, part of the midfield that stormed the first division, by no means the most talented but Mr Dependable letting the other midfielders go and play, scored on his birthday against Airdrie and was serenaded by the away support

Mickey Weir,was always gutted if he didn't start the game, believe he fell out with AM so didn't feature as much as he should have great weekend player and a Skol Cup winner

Kevin McAllister, weeks crunching was one of the last great weekend wingers that always hit the byline and delivered, tough as nails, punted too soon in my opinion

Joe Tortolano, couldn't tackle a fish supper but a bit of a cult hero, used to get loads of stick but equally loved

Brian Hamilton, totally garbage as a footballer but was the ying to McGinlays yang in midfield, always wanted him to do well but sadly never did

Steven Dobbie ,blobby Williamsons love child, great technique but overweight and up against some stiff competition up front during his time at Hibs,went on to screw the nut and score loads of goals elsewhere

Dirk Lehman, the pornstar, had tape on his ears enjoyed a great start to his career at Hibs a definite cult hero at ER

Feel free to submit anyone you had an irrational love of who pulled on the Hibs jersey

07BigD
19-01-2015, 10:24 AM
We've all had them in our time watching Hibs,players you can't help but like,not necessarily because of their ability simply because they become something of a cult hero to you and your mates or you personally think they bring something to the team no one else can see no matter if they were decidedly average you just wanted them to do well. Here is my bored on a Monday selection

Ollie the Goalie, plucked from nowhere by Duff Jimmy, always looked to me like he couldn't dive properly to his right,enjoyed a season in the sun during the first division campaign before being exposed again in the SPL

Shaun Dennis, tattoos on his arms and a beer belly and not afraid of a dislocated finger,a real hard man

Steven Tweed,big Tweedy paired up brilliantly with Geebsie for a couple of seasons another big centre half with no front teeth he ended up going off to Cyprus where he played up front and was a goal machine!

Matty Jack,signed as a centre half but looked unconvincing, the GJP moved him into midfield where he booted lumps out of people very successfully, we lovingly referred to him as Das Boot

Justin Skinner, part of the midfield that stormed the first division, by no means the most talented but Mr Dependable letting the other midfielders go and play, scored on his birthday against Airdrie and was serenaded by the away support

Mickey Weir,was always gutted if he didn't start the game, believe he fell out with AM so didn't feature as much as he should have great weekend player and a Skol Cup winner

Kevin McAllister, weeks crunching was one of the last great weekend wingers that always hit the byline and delivered, tough as nails, punted too soon in my opinion

Joe Tortolano, couldn't tackle a fish supper but a bit of a cult hero, used to get loads of stick but equally loved

Brian Hamilton, totally garbage as a footballer but was the ying to McGinlays yang in midfield, always wanted him to do well but sadly never did

Steven Dobbie ,blobby Williamsons love child, great technique but overweight and up against some stiff competition up front during his time at Hibs,went on to screw the nut and score loads of goals elsewhere

Dirk Lehman, the pornstar, had tape on his ears enjoyed a great start to his career at Hibs a definite cult hero at ER

Feel free to submit anyone you had an irrational love of who pulled on the Hibs jersey

Sodding auto correct has played havoc with this mindless dirge of mine

19-01-2015, 10:35 AM
Billy Findlay. Really good player and the arguements me and my mates used to have about him were brilliant!! :thumbsup:

07BigD
19-01-2015, 10:43 AM
You forget about so many of these players over time, it's worth having a wee dig into the past now and again

19-01-2015, 10:46 AM
Not a full team, but a few spring to mind

Graham Stack - Cult hero. Great character!

Lewis Stevenson - Cant help but have a soft spot for wee Lewy!

Sol Bamba - Big man turned up at my wedding reception as a favour to a friend of a friend.

Mickey Weir - Was by far my favourite player as a youngster

Chic Charnley - A few game wonder!

Benji - any player that runs the length of the aprk to GIRU the jambos has to be on this list!!

07BigD
19-01-2015, 10:48 AM
All good choices, Chico scored a better from his own half in a cup game, sadly he got found out like a lot of his team mates that season

07BigD
19-01-2015, 10:48 AM
Belter! That should say, this phone is doing my head in

19-01-2015, 10:49 AM
Paco Luna.

19-01-2015, 10:49 AM
Ma-Kalambay

Gattheusi
Dennis (misunderstood genius)
Bamba
Lovering
Rougier
Charnley
Tortolano
Malonga
Paatelainen

A perfect balance of skill, hardness, some aggression, some laid-backness and some downright mentalness.

Great thread btw.

19-01-2015, 11:26 AM
Stan Vincent - ran about like a headless chicken but would chase everything and never gave up but not a great load of talent on show. Got to know him better when he worked in in The Corstorphine Inn for Jimmy Orourke. Not the brightest spark but a genuine lovely guy.

19-01-2015, 11:34 AM

quiet day then?

Thornton Schmugee and Juha Rippa, we saw their glorious outings for the cabbage, not many did

Humphrey Rudge mainly for the name but played a blinder in the Derby

Tony Rougier when he could be bothered he was immense and the reason we got Russell

19-01-2015, 11:35 AM
Stack

Bamba
O'Hanlon
Jones

Sproule
Shiels
Claros
Cairney
Stevenson

Sodje
Nish

19-01-2015, 11:43 AM
Daniel Anderson
Sproule
Zemmama
Luna
Zitelli
Shiels (don't like to admit it now though)
Zambernardi
Lavety

07BigD
19-01-2015, 11:46 AM
Daniel Anderson
Sproule
Zemmama
Luna
Zitelli
Zambernardi
Lavety
Lavety, I forgot about Basher, another lover of pie

07BigD
19-01-2015, 11:47 AM
quiet day then?

Thornton Schmugee and Juha Rippa, we saw their glorious outings for the cabbage, not many did

Humphrey Rudge mainly for the name but played a blinder in the Derby

Tony Rougier when he could be bothered he was immense and the reason we got Russell
It's January mate, plenty time for contemplation

Willis1875
19-01-2015, 11:47 AM

Amadou Konte,absolutely dreadful at football but got us that 1 vital goal off his erchie

19-01-2015, 11:48 AM
Stuart lovell
Grant Brebner
Tam McManus
David Zitelli
Arpinon (only cos I liked his name!)

07BigD
19-01-2015, 12:05 PM
Amadou Konte,absolutely dreadful at football but got us that 1 vital goal off his erchie
It was very apt him scoring like that, he was always on the deck

19-01-2015, 12:12 PM
My " Cult Heroes " were and will always be

Gordon Smith
Jimmy O'Rourke
and the top man
ERIC SCHAEDLER

" When will we see their likes again ? "

19-01-2015, 12:14 PM
............makalamby

Jay shields... Bamba....thicot...laursen

...............boozy......brebner

Sproule................................sheils.....

.............tam McManus.... Riordan

Loved all of these guy. Always have a real appreciation for guys with a swagger about there game, even if there playin awful the know they can do something to influence it or change the game.

Defence- jay shields was a hard little guy, not the best but commitment was unbeleivable. Thicot and bamba at the back had a good understanding to me and liked how they played it out from the back! Laursen doesn't need much explaining

Midfield - boozy needs no explaining. Brebner had a swagger about him and was a good all round player to have in your team, tackle pass score. Sproule again no explaining. Shiels as a young guy I always liked his composure and skill and was always someone I was desperate for him to succeed.

Strikers - tam McManus, one of my favourite players when j was younger, full of confidence and lots of ability unfortunately never showed his true potential. And riordan is a ledgend

19-01-2015, 12:27 PM
Graeme Donald, he burst onto the scene and I thought he looked the part then he was moved into defence by Miller

07BigD
19-01-2015, 12:56 PM
Graeme Donald, he burst onto the scene and I thought he looked the part then he was moved into defence by Miller
Alex Miller seen a defender inside every player

BH Hibs
19-01-2015, 01:20 PM
Surely Budgie would have be in goal would have Pat mcGinlay in there as well.

07BigD
19-01-2015, 01:40 PM
Pat and Budgie are givens, I was just thinking of some forgotten players, I shed a tear at Pats last game I must admit

TowerHibs
19-01-2015, 01:52 PM
Olive in goals - he made a save from big Kevin James in a derby from about 6 yards...bullet header which was a shockingly good save

Derek Collins - reliable and good going forward. Bit like Gary Nev
Thicot - soft as **** but good footballer
Shaun Dennis - raj works
Yannick Zambernardi - he thought he was a world beater

Crunchie - great winger
Wee Trinidad guy - bloody name escapes me. Not Russell but his wee mate. Loved him
Freddy Arpinion - touch of class in there.
Andy Dow - debut goal in Derby. Thought we had a world beater.

Luna - ****ing Athens game. Away celebrating instead of putting ball in the net.
Marc Libra - got thrown out of my ex birds house when he scored at Celtic Park. Her old man being a tit of a Celtic man through me out. 7.30 on a Sunday night

McSwanky
19-01-2015, 03:06 PM
I'm a sucker for a full back.

From my lifetime, Tortolano, Lovering, Archie Lovell and Derek Collins have already had deserved mentions here, but the best of all for me has to be Willie Miller. Totally mental. Loved him.

07BigD
19-01-2015, 03:29 PM
I'm a sucker for a full back.

From my lifetime, Tortolano, Lovering, Archie Lovell and Derek Collins have already had deserved mentions here, but the best of all for me has to be Willie Miller. Totally mental. Loved him.
Willie Miller, what can you say, he was indeed mental but a great right back, went to Dundee when we got relegated which I thought was a pity

McSwanky
19-01-2015, 03:32 PM
Willie Miller, what can you say, he was indeed mental but a great right back, went to Dundee when we got relegated which I thought was a pity

Forgot to mention Alen Orman as well. If only for that goal at Ibrox.

lionrampant63
19-01-2015, 03:37 PM
Olive in goals - he made a save from big Kevin James in a derby from about 6 yards...bullet header which was a shockingly good save

Derek Collins - reliable and good going forward. Bit like Gary Nev
Thicot - soft as **** but good footballer
Shaun Dennis - raj works
Yannick Zambernardi - he thought he was a world beater

Crunchie - great winger
Wee Trinidad guy - bloody name escapes me. Not Russell but his wee mate. Loved him
Freddy Arpinion - touch of class in there.
Andy Dow - debut goal in Derby. Thought we had a world beater.

Luna - ****ing Athens game. Away celebrating instead of putting ball in the net.
Marc Libra - got thrown out of my ex birds house when he scored at Celtic Park. Her old man being a tit of a Celtic man through me out. 7.30 on a Sunday nightwee Lyndon Andrews would be that man

McSwanky
19-01-2015, 03:38 PM

That would be Lyndon Andrews. Played a blinder in the 6-2 after coming on as a sub in the first half IIRC.

19-01-2015, 03:39 PM
My " Cult Heroes " were and will always be

Gordon Smith
Jimmy O'Rourke
and the top man
ERIC SCHAEDLER

" When will we see their likes again ? "

Erich Schaedler - if ever the phrase cult hero was made for one man it was Erich - top Hibby, top man, less ability than some but in any debate about men who put it on the line for Hibs he is my favourite.

19-01-2015, 03:41 PM
Belter! That should say, this phone is doing my head in

Mine tae :greengrin

19-01-2015, 03:44 PM
Daniel Anderson
Sproule
Zemmama
Luna
Zitelli
Zambernardi
Lavety

What about Wee Russell :greengrin

19-01-2015, 04:06 PM

Good thread, and you've made some great picks (though I take issue with your descriptions of a couple of players on the list) - but the pedant in me must make a couple of points.

Firstly, I don't think you can really class Mickey Weir or Kevin McAllister as cult heroes, surely they were quality footballers whom everyone enjoyed watching? Mickey is one of the select few Hibs players to win a trophy in recent history, and was almost inducted into The Hall of Fame a couple of years back - Crunchie was a superb player, and I very much agree with you when you say that we let him go too quickly; same with Mickey Weir. We have Jim Duffy to thank for losing both for a pittance, to be replaced by the likes of Paul Tosh and Lee Power, for relatively big transfer fees.

Also, Steven Tweed went to Greece, not Cyprus - he hardly played at all, and never up front. Definitely not a goal machine.

My most recent cult hero was Eoin Doyle, but then only because I am so surprised that so many on here don't/didn't rate him.

07BigD
19-01-2015, 04:09 PM
Good thread, and you've made some great picks (though I take issue with your descriptions of a couple of players on the list) - but the pedant in me must make a couple of points.

Firstly, I don't think you can really class Mickey Weir or Kevin McAllister as cult heroes, surely they were quality footballers whom everyone enjoyed watching? Mickey is one of the select few Hibs players to win a trophy in recent history, and was almost inducted into The Hall of Fame a couple of years back - Crunchie was a superb player, and I very much agree with you when you say that we let him go too quickly; same with Mickey Weir. We have Jim Duffy to that for losing both for a pittance, to be replaced by the likes of Paul Tosh, for relatively big transfer fees.

Also, Steven Tweed went to Greece, not Cyprus - he hardly played at all, and never up front. Definitely not a goal machine.

My most recent cult hero was Eoin Doyle, but then only because I am so surprised that so many on here don't/didn't rate him.
You are right, that is pedantic

19-01-2015, 04:10 PM
You are right, that is pedantic

19-01-2015, 05:29 PM
[QUOTE=WeeRussell;4277218]Daniel Anderson
Sproule
Zemmama
Luna
Zitelli
Zambernardi
Lavety[/QUOTE

Zambernardi is my ultimate cult hero. Great name, great hair.

Liked Antoine Curier when he was here. Missed an absolute sitter against ICT and that was him in the boo boys bad books.

Denes Rosa.

19-01-2015, 05:30 PM
Stan Vincent - ran about like a headless chicken but would chase everything and never gave up but not a great load of talent on show. Got to know him better when he worked in in The Corstorphine Inn for Jimmy Orourke. Not the brightest spark but a genuine lovely guy.

I must admit to not knowing anything abut Stan Vincent, but after him stealing the show at Ted Brack`s "Greatest Game in History" book launch with his entertaining stories, I had to ask my Dad who he was.

Mines would be Willie Irvine - his prolific goal scoring and great partnership with Steve Cowan in 1984 propelled him to the top of the goal scoring charts that season. Socks round the ankles, celebrating goals with both hands aloft - :singing: "His name is Willie Irvine, He`s known as the King of them all...":singing:

19-01-2015, 05:30 PM
Cult hero? For me it's Ivan.
Say nae mair.

Fergos
19-01-2015, 05:38 PM
I must admit to not knowing anything abut Stan Vincent, but after him stealing the show at Ted Brack`s "Greatest Game in History" book launch with his entertaining stories, I had to ask my Dad who he was.

Mines would be Willie Irvine - his prolific goal scoring and great partnership with Steve Cowan in 1984 propelled him to the top of the goal scoring charts that season. Socks round the ankles, celebrating goals with both hands aloft - :singing: "His name is Willie Irvine, He`s known as the King of them all...":singing:

Willie Irvine....good choice....amazing season with Cowan up top at Hibs, correct me if I'm wrong but Duries replacement?

Pity he fell right out of goal scoring form the year after, aul boy used to call him "pecker" owing to the way his heed went forward when he ran....PMSL

Mine would be the younger Joe MCBride...good skillfull winger and who can forget his 2 goals in the last 10 minutes in Gorgie getting us a draw with 2 free kicks I'm sure....?

micka_weer
19-01-2015, 05:59 PM
Marc Libbra and Paul Lovering

19-01-2015, 06:12 PM
Hurtado...... i remember the head line....THE TANK ROLLS IN...absolutely past it but i was there to witness probably his only goal against killie

19-01-2015, 06:13 PM
I had a man crush on Bobby Hutchison when a kid, not sure why because he was not very good? :greengrin

19-01-2015, 06:16 PM

19-01-2015, 06:30 PM
Mike MacDonald
John Brownlie
Eric Schädler
Ally Brazil
Gordon Rae
Jackie McNamara
Isak Refvik
Ally McLeod
Joe Harper
Tony Higgins
Arthur Duncan

They'd win nowt but I had a man crush on all of them at some point.

WillowbraeHibby
19-01-2015, 06:47 PM
Peter Marinello... Oozed class, got us a tidy figure from Arsenal... Ah those were the days!! :cb

19-01-2015, 06:48 PM
Mike MacDonald
John Brownlie
Eric Schädler
Ally Brazil
Gordon Rae
Jackie McNamara
Isak Refvik
Ally McLeod
Joe Harper
Tony Higgins
Arthur Duncan

Win nowt???????????????? They'd walk any top division we've had in recent years.

My favourite Jock Buchanan-hundreds went to reserve matches to see him-scored about 60 goals one season-scorer of the first goal in European competition in the UK only played 15 first team games in 7 years.

19-01-2015, 06:53 PM
Not sure if he fits the definition but I'll enter into the spirit of things anyway....

Big John MacNamee?

19-01-2015, 06:54 PM
I'd have Zibi in goals. Who could forget the Puckish Pole's Perplexing Propensity to turn a close fought derby into a rout against us? Just can't stay mad at that guy!

WillowbraeHibby
19-01-2015, 06:55 PM
Not sure if he fits the definition but I'll enter into the spirit of things anyway....

Big John MacNamee?

Aye... Another guid player. :aok:

19-01-2015, 07:03 PM
I had a man crush on Bobby Hutchison when a kid, not sure why because he was not very good? :greengrin

I was like that with big Nishy. No idea why but he was my favourite player when he was at the club and in hindsight I have no idea why :greengrin

19-01-2015, 07:16 PM
I'd have Zibi in goals. Who could forget the Puckish Pole's Perplexing Propensity to turn a close fought derby into a rout against us? Just can't stay mad at that guy!

Whoa there. You did see the "hero" part of cult hero didn't you?

Although to be fair to you Zibi certainly managed to make a right cult of things every time he saw the colour maroon.

weedgiehibbie
19-01-2015, 07:30 PM
Lavety and 7 has ben the only time I have had a name & number on my hibs top when we signed him when I was about 12 or 13, pity after he came back after his illness I don't think he wore 7 again :greengrin Also became a big fan of Derek Townsley :agree:

19-01-2015, 08:03 PM
My First Year @Hibs.. and Stevie Cowan and Jukebox were the names I remember that year.. :greengrin

proud_and_green
19-01-2015, 08:23 PM
Des Bremner

I was absolutely gutted when he left for Villa.

Hal Jordan
19-01-2015, 08:35 PM
Separated at birth?

19-01-2015, 08:47 PM
Separated at birth?

Anyone Remember the Goalkeeper Sticker that had Jimmy Boco on it. ??? :agree:

19-01-2015, 08:53 PM
Lavety and 7 has ben the only time I have had a name & number on my hibs top when we signed him when I was about 12 or 13, pity after he came back after his illness I don't think he wore 7 again :greengrin Also became a big fan of Derek Townsley :agree:

Townsley is a shout - looked like Hen Broon but was a good contributor in a number of positions.

19-01-2015, 10:28 PM
Pa Kujabi.... Ah he was a cult hero.... Oops, sorry. He was just *****.

s2hart
19-01-2015, 11:09 PM
For some reason I liked my defenders,

Willie Miller - used to see him at the bus stop after games when I was off to work, one of the best I've seen for controlling a ball.

Graham Mitchell - just for his looping goal against Videoton

Jimmy Boco - that much of a cult hero that he even has an underground station named after him in Tokyo!

Joe Tortolano - my all time favourite Hibs player, from meeting him in the car park at Parkhead where I waited for an autograph as he fixed his hair in a car mirror, to practising free kicks at half time during the Anderlecht(??) game and I think he scored a 25 yard volley against Falkirk or someone away! :not worth

20-01-2015, 02:44 AM
Mike MacDonald
John Brownlie
Eric Schädler
Ally Brazil
Gordon Rae
Jackie McNamara
Isak Refvik
Ally McLeod
Joe Harper
Tony Higgins
Arthur Duncan

You better take Joe Harper's name out or Doddie will be sticking pins in your wax effigy :)

20-01-2015, 06:46 AM
Would have to have Fenlon as my Manager. He has to be the only Manager ever to tell 20,000 yams what he thinks of them! Ultimate Cult Hero Status secured for ever!

If you gonna get humped in the SC final, you gotta make it worthwhile, in a very small way it kind of did!

20-01-2015, 09:41 AM
Would have to have Fenlon as my Manager. He has to be the only Manager ever to tell 20,000 yams what he thinks of them! Ultimate Cult Hero Status secured for ever!

If you gonna get humped in the SC final, you gotta make it worthwhile, in a very small way it kind of did!

That is fair enough!

20-01-2015, 10:38 AM

I met Willie a few years ago . I pulled him up for jumping ship when we went down . He told me he wanted to stay but Miller ( manager) told him the deal was done . Said he was gutted but nothing he could do .

Hal Jordan
20-01-2015, 03:15 PM
I met Willie a few years ago . I pulled him up for jumping ship when we went down . He told me he wanted to stay but Miller ( manager) told him the deal was done . Said he was gutted but nothing he could do .

McLeish, surely?
If it freed up wages for Russell and Franck, I can live with it.

20-01-2015, 04:47 PM
Chris Reid
Alan sneddon
Tommy McIntyre
Neil orr
Yannick zambernardi
Kevin McAllister
Paul Kane
John Collins
Michael o Neill
Keith wright
Steve archibald

Hal Jordan
20-01-2015, 05:44 PM
J Burridge
J Boco
W Miller
G Hunter
C Charnley
P McGinlay
J Tortolano
A Duncan
D Lehmann
B Lavety
G McCluskey

subs
G Best
A Sneddon
J Hughes
The Tank
O Gottskalkson

20-01-2015, 06:47 PM
You better take Joe Harper's name out or Doddie will be sticking pins in your wax effigy :)

Don't think that particular effigy could take more pins! :greengrin

20-01-2015, 06:56 PM
Win nowt???????????????? They'd walk any top division we've had in recent years.

My favourite Jock Buchanan-hundreds went to reserve matches to see him-scored about 60 goals one season-scorer of the first goal in European competition in the UK only played 15 first team games in 7 years.

Don't think any of them won much in their careers. If I was going for a team that would actually win something it'd look like this.

Heriot
Brownlie
Schädler
Stanton
Stewart
Sauzee
Edwards
Latapy
Gordon
Cropley
Archibald

20-01-2015, 09:45 PM
McLeish, surely?
If it freed up wages for Russell and Franck, I can live with it.

Aye it must have been Mcleish . My bad . In my defence , id had a few when i met him . 8-)

20-01-2015, 09:58 PM
Budgie
De La Cruz
Yogi
Benny Brazil
Shades
Rougier
Charnley
Dougie Bell
George ( beastie ) Mcluskey
Steve Archibald
Deeks

portycabbage
20-01-2015, 10:01 PM
Boco
Jimmy Boco
Jimmy Boco
Jimmy
Jimmy Boco
Boco
Jimmy Boco
Jimmy Boco
Jimmy
Jimmy
Boco

20-01-2015, 10:19 PM
Henry
Kidd
Levein
macpherson
Mackay
McGowan
Sandison
Skacel
Crabbe
Colquhoun
Jardine

all of them total cults...

20-01-2015, 11:45 PM
Willie Miller the Bingham Keelie ! Luna and Zitteli in that order.

21-01-2015, 04:08 AM
Henry
Kidd
Levein
macpherson
Mackay
McGowan
Sandison
Skacel
Crabbe
Colquhoun
Jardine

all of them total cults...

I met Walter Kidd when back for the last cup final in Mitchell's pub in Gilmerton.

He's actually no a bad guy and I think hails from a Hibby family who lived near me in Craigentinny at one point.

Agree about the rest though....especially Donkey

21-01-2015, 05:37 AM
I met Walter Kidd when back for the last cup final in Mitchell's pub in Gilmerton.

He's actually no a bad guy and I think hails from a Hibby family who lived near me in Craigentinny at one point.

Agree about the rest though....especially Donkey

Walter Kidd used to come into the (old) upstairs bar at the Conan Doyle every FRIDAY night, where he'd stand at the bar on his own and knock back at least
4-5 pints. Strange one. :confused:

21-01-2015, 05:55 AM
Fabrice Henry

Joe McLaughlin - don't mind anything about him playing wise. All I remember was reading teletext one day and there was random news snippets and it said Hibs had signed 39yr old Joe McLaughlin, a defender from falkirk and I was thinking was "wtf". I then went and told my dad and he just started laughing.

Pretty sure Miller was the manager

21-01-2015, 08:29 AM
Sol Bamba

21-01-2015, 08:33 AM
Boco
Jimmy Boco
Jimmy Boco
Jimmy
Jimmy Boco
Boco
Jimmy Boco
Jimmy Boco
Jimmy
Jimmy
Boco

Now that is a cult team. I'd still find room for Luna - even though it will bugger up the song :wink:

Septimus
21-01-2015, 06:57 PM
Thomas Younger. Don't think that there were cult heroes then but he was, and is, my all time favourite Hibs player

07BigD
21-01-2015, 07:25 PM
Fabrice Henry

Joe McLaughlin - don't mind anything about him playing wise. All I remember was reading teletext one day and there was random news snippets and it said Hibs had signed 39yr old Joe McLaughlin, a defender from falkirk and I was thinking was "wtf". I then went and told my dad and he just started laughing.

Pretty sure Miller was the manager
He was like a defensive Kuqi, his legs were gone, my abiding memory of him is hearing him telling Pat McGinlay to "f*** off" for making some joke about him at training up at Wardie playing fields

GreenOnions
21-01-2015, 08:56 PM
Henry
Kidd
Levein
macpherson
Mackay
McGowan
Sandison
Skacel
Crabbe
Colquhoun