View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian 5 - 0 Cowdenbeath [FT] (Hanlon, Cummings, Robertson, Booth, Stevenson)

17-01-2015, 01:35 PM
Hibs take on Cowdenbeath today at ER, 3 points is all we need, simple as that, weather conditions should be good enough to keep the ball on the deck and get a few goals today against a poor team in this league, it is a must that the players concentrate for the full 90+ minutes today.

Any team news kicking about yet.

Wrap up well as it will be a cold one today.

:flag: :gwa: :flag:

17-01-2015, 01:42 PM
No excuses today for not getting 3 points.

Come on Hibs, get intae thum!

stevie-bee
17-01-2015, 01:43 PM
According to Sky news djedje starts and I think it said
boyle is injured

17-01-2015, 01:45 PM
Just printed off my tickets and heading out the door, good conditions for some nice attacking football and what should be a 3+ goal victory - come on the Hibees!

17-01-2015, 01:49 PM
Be interesting to see who plays right back today

17-01-2015, 01:54 PM
Be interesting to see who plays right back today

Please please please let it be forster. I believe he has done full training all week

17-01-2015, 01:57 PM
Come on Hibs 3pts today please!!

Lets get right behind the team from the first whistle, and lets hope theres a thread saying how good the supporters were today unlike the thread stated last week. Lets make a racket from the start :thumbsup:

17-01-2015, 02:01 PM
Please please please let it be forster. I believe he has done full training all week

Only started training with the 1st team on Thursday

WillowbraeHibby
17-01-2015, 02:02 PM
3 points today, and the start of the climb into 2nd place, no more messing about with draws. :flag:

Ashtead Hibs
17-01-2015, 02:10 PM
https://twitter.com/hibsofficial/status/556453194688385024

Same team as last week.

Djedje not in the squad. Forster back on the bench.

Only started training with the 1st team on Thursday

Booo. To be honest, even without a proper right back we should be beating Cowdenbeath easily. Although that jon Robertson loves to score against us, him to score anytime might be worth a few quid

17-01-2015, 02:11 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B7jrO0oIYAA1373.jpg:large

17-01-2015, 02:12 PM
I reckon:

Oxley

Booth Fontaine Hanlon Stevenson

Robertson

Allan Craig

Dylan

Djedje Cummings

Hibdan12
17-01-2015, 02:13 PM
No dje dje?

17-01-2015, 02:13 PM
I reckon:

Oxley

Booth Fontaine Hanlon Stevenson

Robertson

Allan Craig

Dylan

Djedje Cummings

Oh well, I had Djedje in due to what earlier posts said! Happy with that team :flag:

17-01-2015, 02:14 PM
Great to see @jordonforster6 (https://twitter.com/jordonforster6) named on the #Hibs (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Hibs?src=hash) bench; his first involvement with first team since October #HFCvCFC (https://twitter.com/hashtag/HFCvCFC?src=hash)

Unfortunately new signing @dja_franck (https://twitter.com/dja_franck) misses out for #HFCvCFC (https://twitter.com/hashtag/HFCvCFC?src=hash) with a slight hamstring injury, but should return asap

No dje dje?

Hibs Twitter saying a slight hamstring injury

Djedje injured?? Was looking forward to seeing more of him as well

17-01-2015, 02:15 PM
#Hibs (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Hibs?src=hash) will field the diamond formation again for #HFCvCFC (https://twitter.com/hashtag/HFCvCFC?src=hash) with @scottrobbo8 (https://twitter.com/scottrobbo8) at the base of the midfield and @ScottAllan_ (https://twitter.com/ScottAllan_) at 'number 10'

stevie-bee
17-01-2015, 02:16 PM
Sky must have had it. Round the wrong way djedje injured and boyle starting

17-01-2015, 02:17 PM
Great to see @jordonforster6 (https://twitter.com/jordonforster6) named on the #Hibs (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Hibs?src=hash) bench; his first involvement with first team since October #HFCvCFC (https://twitter.com/hashtag/HFCvCFC?src=hash)

Unfortunately new signing @dja_franck (https://twitter.com/dja_franck) misses out for #HFCvCFC (https://twitter.com/hashtag/HFCvCFC?src=hash) with a slight hamstring injury, but should return asap

Glad to see he's going to be back asap. I'd be concerned if he was back later than that.

17-01-2015, 02:19 PM
Glad to see he's going to be back asap. I'd be concerned if he was back later than that.

Haha I thought that was a strange thing to say as well. "Should be back whenever he can be arsed"

17-01-2015, 02:29 PM
No excuses today hibs.

2-0 win.

xyz23jc
17-01-2015, 02:39 PM
Game on Forth 2...

http://radioplayer.forth2.com/live/

17-01-2015, 02:44 PM
Stevenson playing right back, booth left

17-01-2015, 02:55 PM
Must win today. As has been said, no excuses

Jim Herriot
17-01-2015, 02:58 PM
Game on Forth 2...

http://radioplayer.forth2.com/live/

BTW, if you find the embedded player doesn't work, as has happened for me before (with IE8 on WinXP), go to www.radioplayer.co.uk and search for Forth2.

Off the bar
17-01-2015, 03:01 PM
C'mon the hibs!

xyz23jc
17-01-2015, 03:01 PM
BTW, if you find the embedded player doesn't work, as has happened for me before (with IE8 on WinXP), go to www.radioplayer.co.uk (http://www.radioplayer.co.uk) and search for Forth2.

Cheers bud! Working ok, game about to start.... GGTTH! 3 Points today anyhow anyway!

17-01-2015, 03:03 PM
Anything less than 3 points is not acceptable Hibs. CMON !!

17-01-2015, 03:07 PM
Are we getting beat yet ?! :wink: By the by Forth 2 have covered a lot of our games this season and I'm beginning to enjoy them.

17-01-2015, 03:10 PM
Hibs Twitter saying a slight hamstring injury
Stubbs said during the week they were working with him individually to get his Fitness up to speed so he could maybe start the game .Clearly they have overworked him hence injury . back as soon as possible , makes it sound like he has just nipped out to the corner shop and won't be long .

17-01-2015, 03:11 PM
Nice goal by Hanlon:flag:

TheFamous1875
1-0 Hibs Hanlon from corner!!!!

WillowbraeHibby
Another couple of goals would be good... Well done Hanlon. :flag:

aljo7-0
Och. Hanlon's 14 minutes too early with that"! :wink:

Get in there

Get in there!!

I want more though!!

17-01-2015, 03:12 PM
Anything less than 3 points is not acceptable Hibs. CMON !!

Thats an understatement if ever there was one Aldo . But Yep Moan The Hibs :flag:

17-01-2015, 03:13 PM
Need to keep the foot firmly on the pedal for the whole game, 100% attack for 90 minutes.

17-01-2015, 03:14 PM
Thats an understatement if ever there was one Aldo . But Yep Moan The Hibs :flag:

Good start Ronnie. Need to keep at it and take our chances.

WillowbraeHibby
17-01-2015, 03:14 PM
Need to keep the foot firmly on the pedal for the whole game, 100% attack for 90 minutes.

Yep... Agreed. :aok:

17-01-2015, 03:15 PM
Sounds like they are coming back into the game.

17-01-2015, 03:16 PM
Your assuming Stubbs has worked out the reason for our second half lethargic starts at home But agree would be nice to see that particular issue sorted today

17-01-2015, 03:18 PM
Your assuming Stubbs has worked out the reason for our second half lethargic starts at home But agree would be nice to see that particular issue sorted today

I don't make assumptions :wink: I merely comment that this is what we need.

17-01-2015, 03:19 PM

There are always going to be spells in a game when the opposition will get chances. We need to make sure we keep it tight (very tight) and take our chances.

17-01-2015, 03:20 PM
Booth storms past defender and crosses. Cummings misses

17-01-2015, 03:21 PM
:gwa:

RamblingJack
17-01-2015, 03:23 PM
1-0 Falkirk

17-01-2015, 03:24 PM
Over the bar by Cummings

17-01-2015, 03:25 PM
Over the bar by Cummings

Hoping we don't rue these early misses??

17-01-2015, 03:26 PM
2-0 we want 07

Cummings scores!!

Cummings Get in there.

Lads on fire.

WillowbraeHibby
Another one... Yesss

TheFamous1875
2-0 Cummings!

17-01-2015, 03:28 PM
Calm down now and do not let them back into it like last week.

Great start again. Cummings on fire.

Off the bar
Yes c'mon hibs, lets have a comfortable win for once 3-4 by halftime will do me!

Calm down now and do not let them back into it like last week. Great start again. Cummings on fire.

This!! Keep at them and do don't let them back in it please.

17-01-2015, 03:29 PM

17-01-2015, 03:31 PM
Cummings Get in there.

Lads on fire.

Tha that trick we talked about during the week is Defo on :agree::agree::agree:

17-01-2015, 03:33 PM

I am starting the campaign that ensures you start the match day thread for the next month

Tha that trick we talked about during the week is Defo on :agree::agree::agree:

Indeed Ronnie.... Wonder if he can claim a touch in the first one???? (Worth a chance like).

You will agree though that 3 points is far more important than him getting 3 goals!

:singing:

"The Hibs,
The Hibs,
The Hibs are on fire!"

17-01-2015, 03:35 PM
Indeed Ronnie.... Wonder if he can claim a touch in the first one???? (Worth a chance like).

You will agree though that 3 points is far more important than him getting 3 goals!

We are team that's improving and I am more. Confident these days as a Hibs supporter .My view is they aren't agreat team and both objectives should be achievable .
But against most other teams I would agree with your point

17-01-2015, 03:36 PM
We are playing some lovely stuff here.

17-01-2015, 03:37 PM
We are team that's improving and I am more. Confident these days as a Hibs supporter .My view is they aren't agreat team and both objectives should be achievable . But against most other teams I would agree with your point

Yip agree Ronnie.

Holy ***** Swansea 0 -4 Chelski. After 35 mins

17-01-2015, 03:43 PM
I am starting the campaign that ensures you start the match day thread for the next month

We would have had more wins if it wasn't for that pesky Steve (Gif guy) stealing my thunder over the last few weeks. :greengrin

17-01-2015, 03:44 PM
Wee seem a wee bit lethargic today, giving them too much space and time...

17-01-2015, 03:48 PM
Good half. Need another.

17-01-2015, 03:49 PM
Good half. Need another.

Yip out from the off and right back at them.

17-01-2015, 03:53 PM
Their big centre hasn't fancied this since that challenge from Hanlon. Hiding out on the left....

Sent from my brain

17-01-2015, 03:54 PM
We are playing some lovely stuff here.
Haw that's quite enough of the positive nonsense. Any more of that and we will have you delivered to Yakback for a good flogging.....

Or worse given their predilections.....

17-01-2015, 03:56 PM
Some terrifically pleasing on the eye and sweeping passing movement. Whole pitch being utilised and disappointing to be only two ahead really. We don't look completely impenetrable at the back though so really need another to make sure of this. Mcgeogh my man of the half - industrious and always available as he controls the midfield - a really terrific footballer.

17-01-2015, 03:56 PM
Need to get Forster on at Right back. Need a presence there and he needs a run out. Big number 19 looks useful for them

17-01-2015, 03:58 PM

We would have had more wins if it wasn't for that pesky Steve (Gif guy) stealing my thunder over the last few weeks. :greengrin

:slipper::soapbox:

17-01-2015, 04:01 PM
Need to get Forster on at Right back. Need a presence there and he needs a run out. Big number 19 looks useful for them

Feel sorry for Lewis appearing as this weeks stand in right back, Booth looks much more comfy on the left side though and aome positive runs forward with the ball.

17-01-2015, 04:01 PM
Cowdenbeath are playing some decent stuff as well. Good game to watch.

HibbyDave
17-01-2015, 04:06 PM
OOPs Sheep 1 Dundee 3

We can win the league 1 v 3Fundee

Cowdenbeath are playing some decent stuff as well. Good game to watch.

Boooooooooo

17-01-2015, 04:12 PM
All seems quite!!

xyz23jc
17-01-2015, 04:13 PM
We can win the league 1 v 3Fundee

Pleasing! GRFUY

17-01-2015, 04:13 PM
All seems quite!!

Quite what ?

17-01-2015, 04:14 PM
Quite what ? :greengrin

Ha ha.... QUIET!!

Oops ;-)

Edit:- aye there's always one ;-)

17-01-2015, 04:15 PM
Ha ha.... QUIET!!

Oops ;-)

Edit:- aye there's always one ;-)

:thumbsup::thumbsup:

SJNB Hibby
Falkirk 1-1 QOTS----good score for us

All seems quite!!

Quite what?

Edit: Quite late, in my case! :greengrin

17-01-2015, 04:16 PM
Quite what?

CMON D. Bit slow. Hibby Andy has already picked up on that at least 32 minutes ago. ;-)

17-01-2015, 04:16 PM
Bit of a training game really.

Hibs passing it about, breaks down, Cowdenbeath give it back to us and repeat.

17-01-2015, 04:18 PM
CMON D. Bit slow. Hibby Andy has already picked up on that at least 32 minutes ago. ;-)

See my edit! :wink:

17-01-2015, 04:19 PM
See my edit! :wink: Ah!! That wasnae there before now was it ;/)

17-01-2015, 04:19 PM
Bit of a training game really.

Hibs passing it about, breaks down, Cowdenbeath give it back to us and repeat.
Thats when Hibs tend to loose concentration and let opposition back into game.

17-01-2015, 04:20 PM
How was that offside?

Surely under the fancy new rules Booth only becomes active after the ball hit the Cowdenbeath player?

17-01-2015, 04:21 PM
hopefully get the young lads on the bench on and get some experience.

Thats when Hibs tend to loose concentration and let opposition back into game.

Hang on mate...Hibbyradge will sort you out in a minute or four :greengrin

Allan replaced by Stanton.

17-01-2015, 04:23 PM

Farf!!

17-01-2015, 04:23 PM
2nd half slump again ? :confused:

17-01-2015, 04:24 PM
Ferkin grammer polis will be here soon tae gie him a good slapping......:grr:

17-01-2015, 04:24 PM
Blast, memo to self check and check again.

17-01-2015, 04:26 PM
2nd half slump again ? :confused:

:agree: Sounds like it... We're lucky Cowdenbeath are mince...

17-01-2015, 04:28 PM
There is still time for that loss of concentration for them to get back in it. We need another to but this game to bed!!

17-01-2015, 04:28 PM
We really do switch off in the 2nd half. All the pace anf urgency has gone.

We could have had 5 or 6 today easy instead one mistake could see a nervy finish.

17-01-2015, 04:30 PM
Hibs have stopped playing altogether.

Cowdenbeath have kept 10 behind the ball but God knows what goes on at half time.

"A friend of mine once said he liked his women like his parmesan: strong smelling and shaved"

17-01-2015, 04:31 PM
at last 3-0 :greengrin robertson

And right on cue Robertsons scores a very decent solo effort.

Robertson, magnificent goal!!!!!

That should put the game to bed :flag::flag::flag:

oldbiker
yes second half hoodoo kicked

Robertson hasn't switched off though!

"A friend of mine once said he liked his women like his parmesan: strong smelling and shaved"

17-01-2015, 04:32 PM
And just like that... we're 3-0 up :greengrin

:agree: Sounds like it... We're lucky Cowdenbeath are mince...

.....and relax ;)

Yippee 3-0 Robertson

That'll do Hibs, that'll do.

Get in there!!!

17-01-2015, 04:33 PM
hibs get a :7:th corner

That should put the game to bed :flag::flag::flag:

Glad robertson got a goal, been my mom today

Off the bar
17-01-2015, 04:35 PM
Nice

17-01-2015, 04:35 PM
Forster comes on for Dylan

handling on for boyle

17-01-2015, 04:36 PM
Stanton to get the 4th.

17-01-2015, 04:36 PM
even hibs can't balls it up from here now surely! a solid 3 points.

RamblingJack
17-01-2015, 04:37 PM

Shooooooo!

17-01-2015, 04:38 PM
i see Q.o.s left back Durnan has got a straight red card....out against us next week yep ?

17-01-2015, 04:39 PM

I sat giddy at Fir Park when we were 6-2 up... And we all know what happened there... Hibs can balls anything up :greengrin

17-01-2015, 04:39 PM
att; 8,240

17-01-2015, 04:40 PM
I sat giddy at Fir Park when we were 6-2 up... And we all know what happened there... Hibs can balls anything up :greengrin

:greengrin a very valid point, forgive my moment of madness!

17-01-2015, 04:40 PM
and number 4 arrives :greengrin booth

HibernianJK
17-01-2015, 04:41 PM
Not at the game to but Scott Robertson really is the most undervalued member of the squad, glad he's finally starting to get some of the credit he deserves

Great goal again.

Booth - glad for the laddie, he's been great since he came in !! :flag:

oldbiker
Well done Calum and Sam good changes :flag:

goal difference= very important

mon hibs lets go nap

17-01-2015, 04:42 PM
Booth with the 4th.

That'll do hibs, that'll do.

Team is now unrecognizable from the demoralized shambles left by the butcher

Alan Stubbs take a bow :not worth

Great result.

Win next week and we can pull away and catch Rangers.

17-01-2015, 04:44 PM
great result, hopefully start pulling big results like these out more often and give our GD a boost

HibeeEmma
17-01-2015, 04:45 PM

:agree: :top marks

Just shows what a competent management team can achieve.

Great stuff hibs

c'mon Hibs, make it 5 (or 6 or 7)

Only 5 points and 3 goals behind the huns

17-01-2015, 04:46 PM
We want five 😊

oldbiker
17-01-2015, 04:46 PM
well done Hibs, onwards and upwards :agree::thumbsup:

Off the bar
17-01-2015, 04:47 PM
And relax

17-01-2015, 04:48 PM
Some strike by Lewis.

Amazing what happens when we lift it.

17-01-2015, 04:48 PM
hibs go nap....5-0 get in wee lewis

17-01-2015, 04:49 PM
Signed, sealed and delivered :aok:

oldbiker
Ya dancer Lewis, fighting right the last, what an attitude change, great stuff:gwa:

Hank Schrader
Some strike by Lewis.

Amazing what happens when we lift it.

Delighted to hear Lewis has scored. Well done lad!

Dearie me,there all at it !

WillowbraeHibby
We want five 

There you go.... :aok:

17-01-2015, 04:50 PM
Lewis Lewis Lewis. Get in there!!

5-0 FT, you have got to be happy with that, typical, a home game that I couldn't go to, but that is a fantastic result

now this is a very acceptable 2nd half slump

We want five 😊

Woohoo😂

There you go.... :aok:

Cheers 😎

17-01-2015, 04:51 PM
Superb result :flag:
good result in the Falkirk game as well.

No movement2
Rangers (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/rangers)

No movement3
Hibernian (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/hibernian)

No movement4
Queen of Sth (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/queen-of-the-south)

No movement5
Falkirk (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/falkirk)

No movement6
Raith Rovers (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/raith-rovers)

... good 3 points, decent performance ...

In Lewis, we trust. Cheers pal :aok:

17-01-2015, 04:52 PM
Fantastic result.

I bet even that misery guts Peejay is happy with this :wink:

17-01-2015, 04:53 PM
Fantastic result, great bounce back after the disappointment of last week:thumbsup:

oxley really needs to up his game a bit if he wants to catch up with stevensons goal tally now

Lewis' hattrick. 3rd goal in 200+ appearances :greengrin

Fontaine letting down the defence and not scoring,get it sorted Stubbs !

1st home game I've missed this season and they go and score 5, get in well done lads :greengrin

Forh 2 guys saying Allan was poor again, although it sounded like he was involved a lot in the 1st half.

Seems like we came out at HT lacklustre again but Stanton sounded like he made a very big difference when he came on, we went all out attack and it sounded like it was all too easy, good to see Forster getting a run out too. :thumbsup:

haagsehibby
Well, my MOTM is Scott Robertson. Thought he was excellent today !

Off the bar
17-01-2015, 04:55 PM
Super Lewis Stevenson! Delighted for him! When was the last time we won 5-0?

17-01-2015, 04:55 PM
Well, my MOTM is Scott Robertson. Thought he was excellent today !

He's a box2box and not a DM, give him the chance to go forward and he does well.

17-01-2015, 04:59 PM
equal top scoring team in the top leagues in uk today

Hibernian 5 Cowdenbeath 0
Swansea 0 Chelski 5
Watford 5 Charlton 0

17-01-2015, 05:00 PM

You did my job for me! :thumbsup:

H18S NX
17-01-2015, 05:01 PM
Thought it changed when forster came on and we went three at the back

17-01-2015, 05:04 PM

Didn't watch the game but I'm glad we have that option again, don't like playing with two left footed CBs anyway

17-01-2015, 05:05 PM
Much more like the type of results we should be getting in this league.
Well done Stubbs and the boys.

17-01-2015, 05:07 PM

:agree: Stevenson was pushed up

17-01-2015, 05:11 PM

Not sure if it was a 3,4 or 5, Booth looked like he was pushed right on then kept dropping back to fullback with Fontaine telling him to get up the pitch!

17-01-2015, 05:13 PM
Booth was outstanding today

17-01-2015, 05:23 PM
Well done Hibs! :thumbsup:

thats the waay ya dooo it. :partyhibb

PapillonVert
17-01-2015, 05:26 PM

That man has to be the worst thing that ever befell our beloved club. And we are still handing him money every month... He is totally, totally without shame.....

17-01-2015, 05:27 PM
Another +5 on the goal difference too. Never know just how important that might be when it comes to league placings at the end of the season.

A good professional performance from Hibs today. Well done.

Robertson was my motm today. We absolutely strolled it today, as comfortable a win as I've seen for a while.

Nice one Hibs 👍👏 Could have been more :agree:

17-01-2015, 05:30 PM

As much to do with Stanton coming on as well I thought. He looked lively.

ACLeith
17-01-2015, 05:34 PM
Forh 2 guys saying Allan was poor again, although it sounded like he was involved a lot in the 1st half.

Seems like we came out at HT lacklustre again but Stanton sounded like he made a very big difference when he came on, we went all out attack and it sounded like it was all too easy, good to see Forster getting a run out too. :thumbsup:

Scott A has been playing at the head of the diamond formation last week and today, don't think it suits him as well as playing deeper, picking the ball up and running at the opposition. Having said that he had some superb touches in the first half, but trying too many "world class" passes. Didn't seem surprised when he came off, so wonder if he was carrying a knock?

I agree about Sam Stanton, he injected some urgency into things, Lewis moved forward and you could see he was hungry to score. :agree:

Although under minimal pressure, Paul Hanlon strolled through the game.

Although completely outclassed, I liked the way the Blue Brazil tried to pass it out from the back and not lump it forward.

Much tougher next week, but given our away form I'm confident of 3 more points

17-01-2015, 05:36 PM
What a difference from Booth this week when played on the left. We lose a lot of Stevenson's attacking play when he's out on the right, however wee Lewis copes a lot better on the 'wrong' side than Booth.
Allan was great first half but really faded second half. Probably a good decision to bring on Stanton, who looked really lively I thought.
Cummings and Boyle had great first half's but both were quiet second half.
I thought Hanlon had a really solid game and it was good to see Forster back and flying into a couple of challenges.
Seen big Farid leaving at the end with a delightful blonde, so kudos to him for that as well.

Juice-Terry
17-01-2015, 05:37 PM
Tin hat and all that, but I thought Robertson (and Craig) were poor again. Hanlon is my MotM. McGeoch was also very good - as was Allan in the first half.

17-01-2015, 05:39 PM
12 goals in our last 3 home games! Our goal difference is now effectively worth an extra point. I'm delighted for all the players but Stevenson & Booth in particular.

17-01-2015, 05:41 PM
Hibs FIVE?????

Musht be shome mishtake .....

cammy1969
17-01-2015, 05:44 PM
Scott A has been playing at the head of the diamond formation last week and today, don't think it suits him as well as playing deeper, picking the ball up and running at the opposition. Having said that he had some superb touches in the first half, but trying too many "world class" passes. Didn't seem surprised when he came off, so wonder if he was carrying a knock?

I agree about Sam Stanton, he injected some urgency into things, Lewis moved forward and you could see he was hungry to score. :agree:

Although under minimal pressure, Paul Hanlon strolled through the game.

Although completely outclassed, I liked the way the Blue Brazil tried to pass it out from the back and not lump it forward.

Much tougher next week, but given our away form I'm confident of 3 more points

i thought that he took a knock 5 mins before he got subbed the guy caught him over at the main stand side on the half way line

17-01-2015, 05:45 PM
Tin hat and all that, but I thought Robertson (and Craig) were poor again. Hanlon is my MotM. McGeoch was also very good - as was Allan in the first half.

Robertson was my MOTM, Craig was solid.

17-01-2015, 05:45 PM

That man has to be the worst thing that ever befell our beloved club. And we are still handing him money every month... He is totally, totally without shame.....

Well said. He was on that Fantasy Football Club show on Sky Sports yesterday... What a prick he is. Sooner he is off the payroll the better :agree:

DownInAlbion
17-01-2015, 05:47 PM
Paul Hanlon my MOTM today didn't put a foot wrong and looks a class above the rest (not saying the rest aren't good)

ACLeith
17-01-2015, 05:49 PM

Just opinions but I thought Scott R was close to MOTM! I agree about PH but no way a defender was going to be MOTM on a day like today

17-01-2015, 05:52 PM
That shows how much we need to get promoted. Imagine another season of playing against teams like that without the big games to break it up!

17-01-2015, 05:59 PM
That shows how much we need to get promoted. Imagine another season of playing against teams like that without the big games to break it up!

Expected to see Cowdenbeath come at us in the second half but they still sat back. Would be embarrassed if we ever did that.

17-01-2015, 06:00 PM
No movement2
Rangers (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/rangers)

No movement3
Hibernian (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/hibernian)

No movement4
Queen of Sth (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/queen-of-the-south)

No movement5
Falkirk (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/falkirk)

No movement6
Raith Rovers (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/raith-rovers)

:tsk tsk: I somehow dinna think that last night's score will be counted as a result.

17-01-2015, 06:04 PM
Cowdenbeath are not the worst side to come to ER this season. They at least came to play rather than just defend. I thought Hanlon was MOTM. But how can we announce the MOTM after 77 mins?

17-01-2015, 06:07 PM
Booth looked very lively today, pleased he got on the scoresheet.

Greenblood70
17-01-2015, 06:08 PM
Strolled thru that game today and well worth the 5 goal victory. The encouraging signs are there and it was good to bounce back so emphatically after throwing away a couple of points last week.

It's been said before elsewhere on the forum but Stubbs signings have been hugely impressive. The team building from such a handicapped start due to the legacy of that Hun ******** Butcher has been miraculous.

ACLeith
17-01-2015, 06:11 PM
But it was also nice to see the 4th goal involved Stevenson, Stanton and Booth, all home grown.

17-01-2015, 06:15 PM
Very professional from Hibs today.

Scott Allan is either carrying an injury or he's in the huff. On the ball he was good - maybe one too many Hollywood passes at times, but he didn't look that bothered when off the ball.

Booth on the Left much better.
Forster back and three at the back was great to see in the 2nd half.
Stanton very good in the time he got on the pitch.

If we go back to 352 will be intriguing to see who the middle 3 will be. Lots of option there and up front now.

17-01-2015, 06:17 PM
Just opinions but I thought Scott R was close to MOTM! I agree about PH but no way a defender was going to be MOTM on a day like today

Agreed - i thought Robertson in the 2nd half was especially good when others around him went very quiet. Hanlon strolled the game.

17-01-2015, 06:18 PM
Superb Hibs, just the kind of result us in house bangers have been waiting for. :thumbsup::top marks

TheFamous1875
17-01-2015, 06:19 PM
On form its

Scott Allan is either carrying an injury or he's in the huff. On the ball he was good - maybe one too many Hollywood passes at times, but he didn't look that bothered when off the ball.

If we go back to 352 will be intriguing to see who the middle 3 will be. Lots of option there and up front now.

Surely Robertson, Allan and McGeouch? Bite, drive, class and skill.

hibeesjoe
17-01-2015, 06:20 PM
Seen Scott allan in the office on easter road after the game. He looks about 18. Tremendous player though and hibs will be lucky too keep hold of him.

17-01-2015, 06:22 PM
Great performance and we're looking a bit more threatening in the final third. Who was their number 8? He was head and shoulders above anybody in that Cowdenbeath team, he was brilliant, great first touch, never lost possession and always got himself into acres of space.

17-01-2015, 06:26 PM

Allan was holding his back during the first half. Don't think that was to blame for his lack of work of the ball, he never does particularly much in that sense. Games like today become too easy for him, he starts trying things and giving it away a bit more than he should. Another assist though, he's going to rack up some number of them by the end of the season.

On form its

Surely Robertson, Allan and McGeouch? Bite, drive, class and skill.

Thats what i said also... but loads of options with Craig, Stanton, Handling

cad

:thumbsup::agree::top marks

17-01-2015, 06:28 PM
i thought that he took a knock 5 mins before he got subbed the guy caught him over at the main stand side on the half way line

He went straight up the tunnel after being subbed so I assumed he was away to get treatment

Stax
17-01-2015, 06:34 PM
Brilliant, well done Hibs, 3 points on the board and adding to the goal difference as well. Puts a wee bit pressure on to the the rankers with us closing the gap. Great weekend so far GGTTH

17-01-2015, 06:40 PM
He went straight up the tunnel after being subbed so I assumed he was away to get treatment

The physio ran up the tunnel after him and Stubbs mentioned about managing players in relation to him which would suggest some sort of injury.

Good win today though very poor 20 in the second half though some of the moaning probably didn't help much.

dchibs
17-01-2015, 06:46 PM
Allan was holding his back during the first half. Don't think that was to blame for his lack of work of the ball, he never does particularly much in that sense. Games like today become too easy for him, he starts trying things and giving it away a bit more than he should. Another assist though, he's going to rack up some number of them by the end of the season.
i noticed he was holding the base of his back. im sure he headed straight up the tunnel with the physio after being subbed, I hope its nothing serious.

17-01-2015, 06:49 PM
Well done Sammy Stanton, thought his runs behind their defenders when he came on, made a difference. A great run and pick out for Booth's goal as well

17-01-2015, 06:50 PM
Can Allan and McGeough play in the same team? Maybe we've got a lampard/Gerrard situation? 😱

17-01-2015, 06:55 PM
Well done Sammy Stanton, thought his runs behind their defenders when he came on, made a difference. A great run and pick out for Booth's goal as well

Missed today's game Billy ,but listened on Forth 2 , and Steve Cowan was highlighting that in the second haf no midfielders were running behind the defence and was saying Stubbs needed to change things and bring Stanton on to do just that ,have heard him a few times now and he seems knowledgable about the game when he talks

17-01-2015, 06:57 PM
Serious question. Did Oxley touch the ball with his hands today?

17-01-2015, 06:58 PM
Serious question. Did Oxley touch the ball with his hands today?

Yep.

Came and caught a cross very late on. Other than that I can't recall another another time.

17-01-2015, 06:58 PM
Booth was MOTM today IMHO :thumbsup: :aok:

17-01-2015, 07:01 PM
Missed today's game Billy ,but listened on Forth 2 , and Steve Cowan was highlighting that in the second haf no midfielders were running behind the defence and was saying Stubbs needed to change things and bring Stanton on to do just that ,have heard him a few times now and he seems knowledgable about the game when he talks
Yup, and Sam did that. He just needs to get a bit more 1st team football on a more regular basis. Although Robertson scored today, we're not getting enough goals from our midfielders

17-01-2015, 07:02 PM
Booth was MOTM today IMHO :thumbsup: :aok:

I thought he had a good game. Not as good a defender as Lewis, but his final ball is much better

17-01-2015, 07:03 PM
Yup, and Sam did that. He just needs to get a bit more 1st team football on a more regular basis. Although Robertson scored today, we're not getting enough goals from our midfielders

Allan and McGeough need to start chipping in with the ability they have.

Allan seems more interested in setting up others. Should have scored today when clean through instead of trying to square it to Cummings.

17-01-2015, 07:03 PM
Can Allan and McGeough play in the same team? Maybe we've got a lampard/Gerrard situation? 

Great point. Well made. Both very similar in style of play.
Think though at this level, 2 classy attacking midfield players should be a bonus!!

Don't know how we'd accommodate Gerrard & Lampard though LOL :wink:

17-01-2015, 07:16 PM
Can Allan and McGeough play in the same team? Maybe we've got a lampard/Gerrard situation? 

I think Allan is more effective in his deeper role. In games like today we probably don't need both Roberson and Craig who both played well today by the way.

17-01-2015, 07:19 PM
Not sure who my MOM today was. Robertson and Hanlon certainly caught the eye, McGeouch had a few nice touches (esp the combination of he and Allan for Cummings goal) and when he could be bothered Scott Allan. No one actually played badly. Booth got some good crosses in and like Stevenson, scored a goal. Team performance today but Cowden were not interested after 2-0. That said nice to score 3 more and make the last 10 minutes enjoyable for a change. 4-0 versus The Ranger s and 5 today. So just have the opposition show up looking like Rangers and we're home and hosed. :cb

17-01-2015, 07:23 PM
I think Allan is more effective in his deeper role. In games like today we probably don't need both Roberson and Craig who both played well today by the way.

He definitely seems to be based on the last 2 weeks.

And I agree - Robertson did have another good game today.

17-01-2015, 07:36 PM
I thought he had a good game. Not as good a defender as Lewis, but his final ball is much better Really Billy? I only saw one ball today in the box that I thought that's a great ball. Certainly no better than Lewis in that department for me and I was paying particular attention to this as I thought it might be a topic tonight when I saw the line up.

Twiglet
17-01-2015, 07:53 PM

I got the feeling something wasn't right with Allan in the match. It was like he had an injury or was ill. Was directed straight down the tunnel when he came off.

Argylehibby
17-01-2015, 10:14 PM

Too much juice Terry? Robertson was contender for MotM today and Craig better than most today. Agree that Hanlon nicked the MotM award tho.

17-01-2015, 10:17 PM
Allan and McGeough need to start chipping in with the ability they have.

Allan seems more interested in setting up others. Should have scored today when clean through instead of trying to square it to Cummings.

Thats was like watching 5 a side fitba. Couldn't believe he never had the shot. JC wasnt close enough for that ball. I think Allan is a great player but there is an obvious reason he is with us.