View Full Version : MSPs discuss drinks ban at football grounds

15-01-2015, 12:06 PM
Anyone recognise the handsome gents in the picture taken from the BBC website?

http://ichef.bbci.co.uk/live-experience/cps/512/mcs/media/images/80281000/jpg/_80281947_8748773.jpg

Taken at the Malmo away game!

15-01-2015, 12:12 PM
And about bloody time too, rugby fans drink no problem even down south but not up here.

15-01-2015, 01:04 PM
Boy in the middle Stephen Quinn plays for Hull City and Ireland. :greengrin

Stranraer
15-01-2015, 01:41 PM
I wonder if allowing fans to drink at the game would be such a bad idea, given how many drunken fans I've seen it seems people will drink before the game anyway so having a beer during the game would suit me fine... until we score against them and it would be all over the ****** place.

15-01-2015, 02:21 PM
I wonder if allowing fans to drink at the game would be such a bad idea, given how many drunken fans I've seen it seems people will drink before the game anyway so having a beer during the game would suit me fine... until we score against them and it would be all over the ****** place.

In England you're not allowed to take the drinks to your seats they are drunk on the concourse near the booths and drinks are sreved in usual plastic glass, so that means you could have a couple of beers before the game and aswift beer at half time, would that be such a bad idea plus money into the clubs coffers.

Jpdhfc
15-01-2015, 02:53 PM
In England you're not allowed to take the drinks to your seats they are drunk on the concourse near the booths and drinks are sreved in usual plastic glass, so that means you could have a couple of beers before the game and aswift beer at half time, would that be such a bad idea plus money into the clubs coffers.

Plastic glass what's that?

15-01-2015, 03:17 PM
Have had pints at Crystal Palace v Cardiff and more recently a bottle at half time at Man Utd v Liverpool back in December but can't at Hibs v Alloa.

*** ludicrous.

15-01-2015, 03:36 PM
Apart from certain games where I dont think it should be allowed (namely Old Firm derbies), theres absolutely no reason for this not to happen in Scotland. I go to quite a lot of games in England and Ive never seen any problems from it. In fact, it creates a really good atmosphere on the concourses, and must be a good source of income for the clubs.

15-01-2015, 03:55 PM
Was at a Dusseldorf game recently and sat in the front row of one of the stands with a lovely ( or four ) German ales

Not a hint of trouble anywhere

15-01-2015, 05:25 PM
It was a summers day when the OP picture was taken. Who would have wanted a pint in the East last Saturday

15-01-2015, 05:41 PM
It was a summers day when the OP picture was taken. Who would have wanted a pint in the East last Saturday

Enough people to make a few quid out of it I reckon.

15-01-2015, 05:43 PM
Enough people to make a few quid out of it I reckon.

Even if it takes you 20 mins at least to get served at ht

MartinfaePorty
15-01-2015, 05:43 PM
I was at a Sunderland v Man U game a few years ago and by the time my mate finally got served the 2nd half was about to kick off!

15-01-2015, 06:33 PM
Enough people to make a few quid out of it I reckon.Aye ..the brewers ...

15-01-2015, 06:39 PM
Was at a Dusseldorf game recently and sat in the front row of one of the stands with a lovely ( or four ) German ales

Not a hint of trouble anywhere
Yip that was Germany, sorry but not for me in Scotland.

GreensesArab
15-01-2015, 06:54 PM
Anyone recognise the handsome gents in the picture taken from the BBC website?

http://ichef.bbci.co.uk/live-experience/cps/512/mcs/media/images/80281000/jpg/_80281947_8748773.jpg

Taken at the Malmo away game!

That was probably the last time those three Hibbies smiled last season! I'm sure that guy on the right spent the whole of the second half standing on the perimeter wall with his top off! I wonder where they are now?

15-01-2015, 07:04 PM
I just can't wait to sink a delightful £4.00 plastic container of Carlsberg in the comfortable surroundings of the concourse under the east stand.

Currie-Cabbage
15-01-2015, 07:29 PM
A fine looking bunch, hard to believe that the handsome gent on the left is actually a pensioner!

It looks like there's health benefits to drinking at football

15-01-2015, 07:33 PM
Plastic glass what's that?

Ok mr pedantic a plastic tumbler/ container/beaker or whatever you want to call it

GreensesArab
15-01-2015, 08:14 PM
A fine looking bunch, hard to believe that the handsome gent on the left is actually a pensioner!

It looks like there's health benefits to drinking at football

If he's a pensioner now then that photo must have been taken at the Fairs Cup game in 1970!

15-01-2015, 09:38 PM
I was at a Sunderland v Man U game a few years ago and by the time my mate finally got served the 2nd half was about to kick off!

Was down at Utd v Hull in Nov. Popped down on 42 minutes and got a cracking butchers steak pie, bag of walkers and a cold bottle of Singa before the half time whistle blew. £7 for the meal deal. Cheaper than our pishy meal deals with a cup of juice.
I find it absolutely disgusting that we are not trusted to have a pint at HT yet fans in England are allowed. English football fans have regularly caused more trouble than us over the years. If Millwall had won last night, their fans and Chelsea fans would have been allowed a beer at their FA cup game. Yet I can't buy a beer at Hibs v Cowdenbeath on Saturday 😡

ColintonHibs
15-01-2015, 10:28 PM
I just can't wait to sink a delightful £4.00 plastic container of Carlsberg in the comfortable surroundings of the concourse under the east stand.

£4!!!!!??? It would be £6.99

speedy_gonzales
16-01-2015, 12:47 AM
Have been to see the Argo's and Blue Jays over in Toronto, you get beer served where you sit by girls with big jugs,,,,,makes the turgid game of Canadian rules football a much more pleasant experience!

16-01-2015, 06:23 AM
Have been to see the Argo's and Blue Jays over in Toronto, you get beer served where you sit by girls with big jugs,,,,,makes the turgid game of Canadian rules football a much more pleasant experience!

what size were the jugs :cool2:

16-01-2015, 09:05 AM
And about bloody time too, rugby fans drink no problem even down south but not up here.

Rugby fans behave themselves better than some of the morons that go to football. The morons are the minority obviously, but they ruin it for the rest.

16-01-2015, 09:08 AM

At the rugby, you can drink at you seat. Usually, IPA or Guinness. You can also get a Domino's pizza delivered to your seat!!

Throwing a warm bottle of Becks down your neck in 5 minutes under the stair is all you get at The Lane so its not an attractive option but Arsenal's lounge area was much more civilised and you can still see the game when you queuing or taking a bit more time with your drink.

16-01-2015, 09:12 AM
Was down at Utd v Hull in Nov. Popped down on 42 minutes and got a cracking butchers steak pie, bag of walkers and a cold bottle of Singa before the half time whistle blew. £7 for the meal deal. Cheaper than our pishy meal deals with a cup of juice.
I find it absolutely disgusting that we are not trusted to have a pint at HT yet fans in England are allowed. English football fans have regularly caused more trouble than us over the years. If Millwall had won last night, their fans and Chelsea fans would have been allowed a beer at their FA cup game. Yet I can't buy a beer at Hibs v Cowdenbeath on Saturday 

Good point. Decent food would be a better place to start in improving the matchday experience

speedy_gonzales
16-01-2015, 10:27 AM
what size were the jugs :cool2:
I'm not entirely sure of the metric/imperial size but I needed 2 hands to hold one😕

Stranraer
17-01-2015, 10:50 AM

When I was down at Spotland I was shocked that we were given a ticket at half time to go to the bar and then return for the second half!

17-01-2015, 11:08 AM
Rugby fans behave themselves better than some of the morons that go to football. The morons are the minority obviously, but they ruin it for the rest.

I've encountered far worse behaviour from rugby fans than I have ever experienced at football.

Perhaps a better explanation might be that the 'moron' element attend football matches every week. With rugby about 60000 people crawl out the woodwork 2 or 3 times a season.

17-01-2015, 12:12 PM
I've encountered far worse behaviour from rugby fans than I have ever experienced at football.

Perhaps a better explanation might be that the 'moron' element attend football matches every week. With rugby about 60000 people crawl out the woodwork 2 or 3 times a season.

My experience is totally different. Club rugby fans are notably devoid of the moron element in the games I've been to ( English Premiership). Most football fans are decent folk but there are some notable cretins who wouldn't be tolerated at a rugby match.

17-01-2015, 03:34 PM
Good point. Decent food would be a better place to start in improving the matchday experience

A decent team on the pitch would improve my 'matchday experience'! To hell with food and drink. Pie and a cuppa not good enough any more?

17-01-2015, 04:52 PM

REALLY?????

You've never been in Rose Street when he Welsh or English are in town. And a lot of the Scots are just as bad.

17-01-2015, 05:40 PM

Not me.

I've been hit by stones and bottles, suffered the effects of CS gas, been spat on and seen people being kicked mercilessly in the head during football matches.

After games I've witnessed running battles, shops getting their windows caved in, pubs getting ransacked and people who were crawling on their hands and knees being followed into shops so their pursuer can rain more blows on them.

I've never seen anything like that at rugby.

17-01-2015, 06:51 PM

As have I, much worse in fact. Ask anyone in the pub game or the taxi trade about rugby fans and you will get a completely different story from the one the press like to tell

17-01-2015, 07:26 PM
REALLY?????

You've never been in Rose Street when he Welsh or English are in town. And a lot of the Scots are just as bad.

Internationals rather than club level so the comparison would have to be with a Scotland v England game.

17-01-2015, 07:31 PM
Not me.

I've been hit by stones and bottles, suffered the effects of CS gas, been spat on and seen people being kicked mercilessly in the head during football matches.

After games I've witnessed running battles, shops getting their windows caved in, pubs getting ransacked and people who were crawling on their hands and knees being followed into shops so their pursuer can rain more blows on them.

I've never seen anything like that at rugby.

I think a lot probably depends on the era and the environment. In recent years I can't recall any real violence at or around Hibs games. You see the stories in the paper but it seems to be the same names time and again reliving the 'glory days'. Football has become a lot more 'family friendly' in recent years and that's with easy access to alcohol at the stadium in places like Behind The Goals.

I'm sure most people who have had the misfortune to work in hospitality when the rugby lads are in town will have their own stories to tell but it's not pleasant. The 6 nations was the one time of the year absolutelt everyone in the hotel hated working. A few highlights where the who can do the biggest jobby in a pint glass competitions (someone has to clean that up), peeing in the bar (spit was probably the least of our worries when it came to bodily fluids), an obsession with being naked, theft was common (bottles from behind the bar, refusing to pay for rounds etc), vandalism (hitting each other on thebhead with trays until they broke was a favourite for some reason, who could throw a glass the furthest in the car park, a set of curtains pulled clean out the wall once) and to top it off the way they treated femalea staff was horrific (one incident even led to Police involvement but no charges because shock horror 'no one saw anything').

I'm aware football fans are no angels but the idea rugby fans can be trusted to have a civilised drink whilst we can't isn't something I understand having seen 'rugger banter' up close for too long.

17-01-2015, 07:41 PM
I think a lot probably depends on the era and the environment. In recent years I can't recall any real violence at or around Hibs games. You see the stories in the paper but it seems to be the same names time and again reliving the 'glory days'. Football has become a lot more 'family friendly' in recent years and that's with easy access to alcohol at the stadium in places like Behind The Goals.

I'm sure most people who have had the misfortune to work in hospitality when the rugby lads are in town will have their own stories to tell but it's not pleasant. The 6 nations was the one time of the year absolutelt everyone in the hotel hated working. A few highlights where the who can do the biggest jobby in a pint glass competitions (someone has to clean that up), peeing in the bar (spit was probably the least of our worries when it came to bodily fluids), an obsession with being naked, theft was common (bottles from behind the bar, refusing to pay for rounds etc), vandalism (hitting each other on thebhead with trays until they broke was a favourite for some reason, who could throw a glass the furthest in the car park, a set of curtains pulled clean out the wall once) and to top it off the way they treated femalea staff was horrific (one incident even led to Police involvement but no charges because shock horror 'no one saw anything').

I'm aware football fans are no angels but the idea rugby fans can be trusted to have a civilised drink whilst we can't isn't something I understand having seen 'rugger banter' up close for too long.

What were the England football casuals like?

17-01-2015, 07:42 PM
What were the England football casuals like?

Probably utter erseholes as well.

They wouldn't be allowed a drink in the ground if they ever came up here though.

We did have some Royal Antwerp fans in once before they played Hearts in pre season. They were nice. Maybe it's a British thing.

17-01-2015, 07:48 PM
Probably utter erseholes as well.

They wouldn't be allowed a drink in the ground if they ever came up here though.

We did have some Royal Antwerp fans in once before they played Hearts in pre season. They were nice. Maybe it's a British thing.

That said there were some real cretins at the Spurs v Partizan game. Like of which I hadn't seen since the early 80s in the UK.

On the rugby side, I go to Saracens and its pretty civilised. I've no worries at all about taking my wee boy there. The kids get to play on the pitch afterwards. I'm very much more choosey about the football games I take him to. Avoided Hibs v Rangers for example.

17-01-2015, 07:52 PM
That said there were some real cretins at the Spurs v Partizan game. Like of which I hadn't seen since the early 80s in the UK.

On the rugby side, I go to Saracens and its pretty civilised. I've no worries at all about taking my wee boy there. The kids get to play on the pitch afterwards. I'm very much more choosey about the football games I take him to. Avoided Hibs v Rangers for example.

I'm more than aware that my experience of rugby fans is based on a few select fixtures. I'm sure the atmosphere and behaviour amongst the 2 or 3 thousand who watch Edinburgh regularly is completely different.

That said I'm sure football is the same. I don't see why drinking couldn't be allowed at a game like today but not permitted at a derby. Seems a sensible compromise to me.

17-01-2015, 07:56 PM
I'm more than aware that my experience of rugby fans is based on a few select fixtures. I'm sure the atmosphere and behaviour amongst the 2 or 3 thousand who watch Edinburgh regularly is completely different.

That said I'm sure football is the same. I don't see why drinking couldn't be allowed at a game like today but not permitted at a derby. Seems a sensible compromise to me.

I think it would be nice, too. It would be good if the whole matchday experience was better. I agree it would be perfectly suitable for a Hibs v Cowdenbeath match and many others but the behaviour of the OF and the worst of the Hibs/Hearts would not permit it at those matches.

17-01-2015, 08:03 PM

I should have said that I agree that alcohol should be allowed at football matches.

I also know that rugby fans can be total erses.

Hannah_hfc
17-01-2015, 11:05 PM
Going on with what folk have been suggesting, the powers that be should maybe trial it at category b games and maybe it would pull a few more folk through the gates for quieter fixtures.

I can imagine each stadium would need to apply first for either an events or premises license to serve the alcohol, which in turn needs the licensing boards and police approval.

A long way to go before we see this changed imo.

18-01-2015, 08:17 AM
Going on with what folk have been suggesting, the powers that be should maybe trial it at category b games and maybe it would pull a few more folk through the gates for quieter fixtures.

I can imagine each stadium would need to apply first for either an events or premises license to serve the alcohol, which in turn needs the licensing boards and police approval.

A long way to go before we see this changed imo.

Good idea. Maybe start with the lower leagues.

18-01-2015, 09:11 AM

I think attendances will be largely unaffected by this change, if it happens, particularly if drinking is permitted only on the catering concourse.

The people who are so dependent on alcohol that they miss going the football so they can feed their habit in the pub instead, are unlikely to be tempted to shell out £22 for the privilege of being able to queue up to buy a pint for £5 at half time.

It will probably only benefit the folk who already go to the game, but I do think it makes the "product" a bit more attractive.

I do like the idea of watching the match in the summer with a beer in my hand. Sadly, that won't be allowed.

18-01-2015, 03:05 PM

So no different from buying a pie then?

Seriously this is a good idea. I was amazed at how slick the operation was at the Millenium in Cardiff at the rugby. Rows of pints waiting at half time, just walk up, ask for 4 pints and then pay and collect.

18-01-2015, 04:25 PM

Although all the things you mention rugby fans doing are a right pain in the arse for staff to deal with its not particularly violent. The difference with football fans , especially in games with a history of trouble , is that there is always an undercurrent of potential violence.

I have no doubt whatsoever if you could drink at the Derby for instance you would see more trouble immediately after the game if fans were allowed to drink inside the ground.

19-01-2015, 11:37 AM
Worked in hospitality for a long time in city centre hotel as Security Manager give me a crowd of loud boisterous rugby fans over footie fans every time.