View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian 3 - 3 Falkirk (Cummings x3) [FT]

Pages : 1 [2]

10-01-2015, 03:37 PM
10 mins to go......

We will make the playoffs but this is why we won't win them. Throwing away a two goal lead at home is awful.

Fontaine with a volley over the bar, unlucky

10-01-2015, 03:38 PM
Even though I don't rate Oxley as particularly good, we're stuck with him till the end of the season so here's hoping he doesn't have too much to do in future games.

Wouldn't be surprised to see a Falkirk winner here, dont ask me why because I don't know :greengrin

We wouldn't hack it in the Premiership over a season. Another year in the Championship won't be a bad thing.

It would be a terrible thing. I reckon this squad is good enough for the Premiership already. Do you think our best talent will hang around for another season in the second tier?

oxley IS awful.
I suppose that's why he is 4th choice at Hull.

10-01-2015, 03:39 PM
oxley IS awful.

Pish. Wash your mouth.

10-01-2015, 03:40 PM
dylan takes one for the team...yellow card

10-01-2015, 03:40 PM
oxley IS awful.

Funny, as there were loads of people happy he'd signed up for the second half of the season.

Maybe he's just inconsistent.

Lee Marvin
10-01-2015, 03:41 PM
Funny, as there were loads of people happy he'd signed up for the second half of the season.

Unfortunately inconsistent for a keeper generally means pish.

10-01-2015, 03:42 PM

A player has to be at one of two extremes on here. Even if it's within the same week.

He's either the best in the country or utter pish. No middle ground.

10-01-2015, 03:42 PM
TT on for falkirk

10-01-2015, 03:43 PM
C'mon Hibs. Let's get a winner.

We will make the playoffs but this is why we won't win them. Throwing away a two goal lead at home is awful.

It's also why we came down via the playoffs. Not good enough.

jj unmarked puts a header over the bar :(

Or maybe a shop mannequin would be better in between the posts.

TT on for falkirk

Theresa Talbot????

10-01-2015, 03:44 PM
need a result today, a draw will feel like a defeat but we musnt lose, cmon Hibs step up

Theresa Talbot????

her wee bro Tom

A player has to be at one of two extremes on here. Even if it's within the same week.

I agree. Would say Oxley is average. Seen worse Hibs keepers. Good enough for this division I think, if we get promoted I'd like to see someone new though.

10-01-2015, 03:45 PM
Should have scored with that header.

So much for the standards not dropping.

If the huns are winning then we MUST score!

Looking like 2 points dropped yet again!! Bloody frustrating

10-01-2015, 03:46 PM
How the hell have Hibs thrown this away?

10-01-2015, 03:46 PM
We're still solid in the playoff positions. A draw isnt a disaster.

WillowbraeHibby
10-01-2015, 03:47 PM
3 points dropped unfortunately... Deary deary me...

It is a disaster when we were 2 goals up.

Lee Marvin

Woukd you describe 3 points as solid?

InterviewLoI

Its the nature of it that is annoying people!

10-01-2015, 03:48 PM
Come on Hibs, really need the 3 points keep the momentum going.

10-01-2015, 03:49 PM

It's not a disaster but catching the huns should be the target.

yet another two points dropped at home, it's cost us, and 7 points out of 9 lost to falkirk alone, can't beat them and can't beat Q.o.S, just simply not good enough

Stringer
No plan B

Poor really shouldn't be dropping points at home especially when you are 2 up at halftime. We can't seem to get the better of Falkirk this season which could be crucial come last game of the season

Big incentive to finish 2nd though and force Der Hun to play an additional home and away tie.

Lee Marvin
Poor result. No question.

oldbiker
10-01-2015, 03:50 PM
Villain and Hero who would be a keeper, 2 points dropped though

Results like today sum up our season really .

Should win but don't. It's why we are so far off the pace. Oh well on to next week.

erskine-hibby
A draw is a disaster in my mind. No point in gubbing the Hun's and playing well against THEM if we can't beat teams like Falkirk at home.

10-01-2015, 03:51 PM
To be 3-1 up and chuck it that's simply not good enough. Hope Stubbs goes through them!!

Sounds like we're missing Gray more than Malonga.

we can't even use the excuse away teams come and sit in at ER...falkirk certainly didn't today

*sigh*

10-01-2015, 03:53 PM
Come on Hibs, really need the 3 points keep the momentum going.
So annoying, 2 points dropped, too many draws against teams that should be put to the sword.

Berwickhibby
10-01-2015, 03:54 PM
The defence were very shaky the whole game...... All 3 of Falkirk's goals should have been easily dealt with. 2 HUGE points dropped today.

Yet another 2 points dropped due to our ropey defence, time for change in that department I think.

Oxley caused mayhem at every cross ball and set piece. Boyle had a decent game but should've scored with his easy chance. While defence was woeful.

Rangers (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/rangers)

No Movement3
Hibernian (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/hibernian)

No Movement4
Queen of Sth (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/queen-of-the-south)

No Movement5
Falkirk (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/falkirk)

No Movement6
Raith Rovers (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/raith-rovers)

great incentive for Q.o.S to win the rearranged game in kirkcaldy

Capitulation.

We can't be playing like that if we expect to be promoted through the playoffs.

To be 3-1 up and chuck it that's simply not good enough. Hope Stubbs goes through them!!

It's like the semi in reverse!

10-01-2015, 03:56 PM
Oxley caused mayhem at every cross ball and set piece. Boyle had a decent game but should've scored with his easy chance. While defence was woeful.

Why is it when we have a player who either signs an extension to his contract or loan they play crap? We really do need a decent back up for him.

10-01-2015, 03:58 PM
3-1 up at ht and we still can't win.

10-01-2015, 03:58 PM
next sat

Falkirk v Q.o.S

us v cowdenbeath

10-01-2015, 04:00 PM
Sounds like we're missing Gray more than Malonga.

First time in weeks a reasonably settled side has had to make changes - thought this game would be a bogey one for us and proved correct sadly. The other thing is having such a left sided defence - all four left sided players which is quite bizarre yet can see why Stubbs went that way.

Falkirk are not a bad side so let's not see this as a horrendous result by any means - should have been more clinical, should defend set pieces better - but sometimes we are too fragile.

It's the play-offs for us, we should stay focused on winning/getting something from each game - especially when we have Gray, Malonga, Farid and Jordon still out. We need to have them back, fit, ready, for the play-offs.

Not overly worried after today, just another inconsistent game which this side will have more of as the season goes on.

10-01-2015, 04:02 PM
Oh well, should have seen out the win but a better result against Falkirk who we have been beaten by twice before.

10-01-2015, 04:03 PM
Att: 9,498

highest attendance in scotland today

He really has to make it clear that anything other than a win just isn't good enough.

We can, and should, finish second. It'll make a big difference in the Play-Offs.

So annoying, 2 points dropped, too many draws against teams that should be put to the sword.
Certainly too many draws at home and whoever we play in the playoffs will be watching our home form We really need to get that sorted out Always thought without Gray and Malonga this would be a hard game to win and so it has proved .
If we don't go on a four or five game unbeaten run we aren't going to challenge Sevco for second and won't pull away from the teams chasing us and that will start to put pressure on us . stubbs won't be happy with that , throwing away a two goal lead is frustrating

H18Y GW

Id like an Opta stats on shots saved against goals ,dont fancy it will be great

10-01-2015, 04:04 PM
3 points dropped unfortunately... Deary deary me...

10-01-2015, 04:06 PM
1-5 hahahahahearts v Dumbarton. Does that mean Dumbarton are dead then?

10-01-2015, 04:10 PM
We said at the time that Boyle missing that open goal would cost us.

10-01-2015, 04:15 PM
We said at the time that Boyle missing that open goal would cost us.

Said the exact same thing. We're just so ****ing predictable in these situations

WillowbraeHibby
10-01-2015, 04:22 PM

Thought it was 3 points for a win too..

10-01-2015, 04:24 PM
Thought we were woeful for last half hour. Allan's game summed up when he took the ball of Boyle's toes as he was shooting.After he went off though we started punting the ball every time. Dire stuff.

10-01-2015, 04:26 PM
Certainly too many draws at home and whoever we play in the playoffs will be watching our home form We really need to get that sorted out Always thought without Gray and Malonga this would be a hard game to win and so it has proved .
If we don't go on a four or five game unbeaten run we aren't going to challenge Sevco for second and won't pull away from the teams chasing us and that will start to put pressure on us . stubbs won't be happy with that , throwing away a two goal lead is frustrating

Need to make sure we are in play offs first. Three way fight for two places with Falkirk and QotS. We won't finish above Sevco unless they become Sevco 2.

10-01-2015, 04:26 PM

It is. But we got 1 hence its 2 points dropped

10-01-2015, 04:29 PM
We have messed up today big time.

These are the games we should be strolling - nothing to do with arrogance just a fact if life!

We don't have sufficient cover at the back either. We have a couple of defenders out and we're struggling to cope.

Why was Malonga allowed to go back to the AC of N as well? We should have all our best players available.

WillowbraeHibby
10-01-2015, 04:30 PM
It is. But we got 1 hence its 2 points dropped

I believe you would agree that we threw away 3 points? Points that we sorely need.

Why was Malonga allowed to go back to the AC of N as well? We should have all our best players available.

Because Hibs can't stop him.

Whoosh!

10-01-2015, 04:32 PM
It's games like today when we need guys like Scott Allan to step up and pull the strings.

10-01-2015, 04:33 PM
It's games like today when we need guys like Scott Allan to step up and pull the strings.

He set up two goals didn't he?

10-01-2015, 04:35 PM
Same old mistakes, not clinical enough in front of goal, and awful at the back when it counts, once more we lose ground on the front runners ... not acceptable yet again, on this form we will not fare well in the play-offs - if we even make them that is ...

10-01-2015, 04:35 PM
Scott Allan had a howler today. Injured or just didn't fancy it today. Booth creates huge problems for us in defence.

10-01-2015, 04:41 PM
I believe you would agree that we threw away 3 points? Points that we sorely need.

Threw away 2

10-01-2015, 04:42 PM
Scott Allan had a howler today. Injured or just didn't fancy it today. Booth creates huge problems for us in defence.

Absolutely, he just can't defend. Don't know what was wrong with Allan. If Boyle had stuck away that open goal I still wouldn't have been confident about us holding on, our defending was that bad.

Missed Malonga today, we couldn't keep hold of the ball.

10-01-2015, 04:43 PM
stubbs really needs to work out what the heck is going wrong with our 2nd half performances, or should we really be giving the away team coaches credit for knowing exactly how to turn a game at ER, can they read a game better than AS

WillowbraeHibby
10-01-2015, 04:44 PM
Threw away 2

Aye well, we both look at it differently, just have to live with it I suppose.

sh00byd00
10-01-2015, 04:44 PM

No, we got one of those points, we threw the full 3 points away if that's what you mean, which I'm assuming that is what you mean. How you're wording it is a bit strange.

10-01-2015, 04:48 PM
Should have put the game away with Boyle scoring having gone past the keeper. Balks into the box problems all day Baird especially dangerous for them in the air. Oxley was very poor despite 2 saves near the end. We passed up too many chances even at 3-3. Allan on top of the diamond the wrong place which is why he wasn't as effective. That's 4 points dropped in 2 games

Sent from my brain

10-01-2015, 04:49 PM
We will certainly qualify for the play-offs.

I think if we qualify for the playoffs we will likely be strong enough to get to the play off with the Premiership club - Rangers II aren't particularly good. I also think we will likely win that and be back in the premier league next season.

What worries me more - a lot more - is how we would cope with the Premier league next season. The Yams are going to win this league out of the park and they will start next season with three things we won't: a young but increasingly experienced and hardened squad, a number of additional signings to strengthen that squad (they will sell a very large number of season tickets at full whack in advance of next season on the basis of their success this season) and the bags and bags of confidence and self belief that comes from both winning a league and going on the unbeaten run they have been on. By contrast we will have had patchy form, still be rebuilding our squad and quite possibly losing some of the key players who currently make us tick (when we do tick that is).

We are pretty much half way through the season. We need to complete the second half with much more consistent form and with a good long unbeaten run at the least - preferably a winning run (especially at home) if we want to begin next season with a psychological edge in our favour.

WillowbraeHibby
10-01-2015, 04:53 PM
No, we got one of those points, we threw the full 3 points away if that's what you mean, which I'm assuming that is what you mean. How you're wording it is a bit strange.

Let's wrap this post up... My thoughts, we lost a game we should have really won, equals 3 points. I see the point about dropping 2 points (A lot of points here) :wink:
Given the situation that we are in, 1 point is no consolation, the dropped points may prove to be very costly in the run in.

My apologies for any confusion..... :wink:

10-01-2015, 04:55 PM
Let's wrap this post up... My thoughts, we lost a game we should have really won, equals 3 points. I see the point about dropping 2 points (A lot of points here) :wink:
Given the situation that we are in, 1 point is no consolation, the dropped points may prove to be very costly in the run in.

I think it's only you that's confused.

10-01-2015, 04:59 PM
He set up two goals didn't he?

He was head and shoulders below everybody today mate.

10-01-2015, 04:59 PM
Sarcastically cheering Oxley and booing at the end ..... Oh don't you love some hibs fans

WillowbraeHibby
10-01-2015, 05:00 PM
I think it's only you that's confused.

Not really confused HH. More concerned when I look at the championship table. As the saying goes, points make prizes.

aljo7-0
10-01-2015, 05:00 PM

No we didn't we drew a game we should really have won. We got 1 point and should have got 3 points. So 2 points lost. Agree that dropped points could be very costly but the 1 point we got might be vital. :greengrin

10-01-2015, 05:02 PM
Sarcastically cheering Oxley and booing at the end ..... Oh don't you love some hibs fans

That was incredible. The complete opposite of getting behind your players.

10-01-2015, 05:03 PM

Don't tell me it's back to being the fans fault!

WillowbraeHibby
10-01-2015, 05:04 PM
No we didn't we drew a game we should really have won. We got 1 point and should have got 3 points. So 2 points lost. Agree that dropped points could be very costly but the 1 point we got might be vital. :greengrin

Well said that man.... That's how I should have put it in the first place.. :aok:

10-01-2015, 05:06 PM
Indeed.

10-01-2015, 05:06 PM

We didn't lose

WillowbraeHibby
10-01-2015, 05:10 PM
Indeed.

:greengrin... Just had 10 minutes of being slaughtered... Better go easy on the Lucozade fae now on! (Get's me hyper I think?) :wink: (Tin hat the next time)...

10-01-2015, 05:17 PM
Criminal that we couldn't win that game after being 3-1 up. The game should have been buried after Boyle rounded the goalie and Allen took the ball off Boyles toes. Very much 2 points dropped rather than 1 gained.

10-01-2015, 05:22 PM
Criminal that we couldn't win that game after being 3-1 up. The game should have been buried after Boyle rounded the goalie and Allen took the ball off Boyles toes. Very much 2 points dropped rather than 1 gained.

The game should have been dead and buried regardless of that. 2 goals up at home in the championship should mean the game is done. I get what you are saying though.

Draws at home have killed us this year.

10-01-2015, 05:24 PM
I couldn't be there today, and whilst it's always disappointing not to win after a two goal lead, the result is hardly a disaster in the grand scheme of things.

Losing would have seen Falkirk draw level with us, but as things stand with our goal difference being vastly superior, we are effectively four points above them - given that they have taken 7 points off us this season and are still three behind us, it would suggest that we should continue to pull clear of them over the rest of the season.

Given that we are 9 points clear of Raith in 6th, Falkirk are likely to be our only challengers for top four. Whilst finishing 4th doesn't look good in one respect, finishing 3rd or 4th doesn't really matter, as you end up playing the extra play off game anyway.

I think we'll finish 3rd anyway. Good that Cummings stepped up further in Malonga's absence today also, he's on a great run at the moment.

seanshow
10-01-2015, 05:35 PM
A game of what if's I was glad to see the lineswoman stopping the 2nd Falkirk goal, I presume it was clearly offside the way oxley was going mad.
It had the desired effect on us and a good 3v1 lead.
It shouldn't be Allan's responsibility to create every chance! Ok his radar was slightly,off, but surely some others could make a creative pass.
Honking at the back in the second half and subsequently brutal to watch the points being thrown away.

Lastly and ill say it till im green in the face, .......Summer football, season should start aprils fools day and end 1st week in January, F*** it if we are out of sync with other countries football seasons who cares.
Fourteen layers, hats and hoods is no way to watch football :(

10-01-2015, 05:46 PM
Our inability to pull away from QoS & Falkirk is worrying and it's hugely frustrating to be further behind Rangers than we were before pumping them 4-0.

How did Boyle & Djedje look?

10-01-2015, 05:51 PM
I see what you did there. funny

Just as well his name isn't Jimmy. :greengrin

10-01-2015, 05:51 PM
I couldn't be there today, and whilst it's always disappointing not to win after a two goal lead, the result is hardly a disaster in the grand scheme of things.

Losing would have seen Falkirk draw level with us, but as things stand with our goal difference being vastly superior, we are effectively four points above them - given that they have taken 7 points off us this season and are still three behind us, it would suggest that we should continue to pull clear of them over the rest of the season.

Given that we are 9 points clear of Raith in 6th, Falkirk are likely to be our only challengers for top four. Whilst finishing 4th doesn't look good in one respect, finishing 3rd or 4th doesn't really matter, as you end up playing the extra play off game anyway.

I think we'll finish 3rd anyway. Good that Cummings stepped up further in Malonga's absence today also, he's on a great run at the moment.

Queens will be the biggest danger not Falkirk.

10-01-2015, 05:53 PM
It would be a terrible thing. I reckon this squad is good enough for the Premiership already. Do you think our best talent will hang around for another season in the second tier?

10-01-2015, 05:55 PM

Our biggest danger to finishing 3rd, yes.

10-01-2015, 05:56 PM
How the hell have Hibs thrown this away?

It's Hibs J.

10-01-2015, 05:57 PM
Today's result was very poor and disappointing. To be 3-1 up at home and not win this game may prove very damaging at the end of the season. If QOS now win their game in hand they will go 2 points in front of Hibs into 3rd. Also a chance gone abegging to go six points clear of Falkirk too.

I looked on in disbelief when Boyle failed to score into an open goal to make it 4-1, and I got that old familiar feeling that Hibs would regret it, and so it turned out. It's another old football cliche, but if you don't take your chances you will get punished, and Hibs always get punished it feels like.

What was Oxley doing for Falkirk's third goal in particular? He looked to be at least partially at fault with the other two goals as well, and I thought Paul Hanlon looked shaky all afternoon too.

Having now taken one point out of a possible nine in our three games against Falkirk, this sums up why Hibs are so far behind HOMFC & the Rangers in terms of points on the board. Hibs may be a better football team than the Rangers, but they have more points than Hibs and that's what will count at the end of the season.

It's all very well and good beating the Rangers 4-0, but to chuck away a two goal lead at home against Falkirk simply undoes all that good work if you cannot follow it up. P***** off and angry tonight.

PS: Just as well Gollum's assistant flagged for offside and their "goal" was disallowed otherwise Hibs may have lost this match. Every time a ball came into the Hibs box they looked vulnerable, and the goalkeeper has to be looked at here I have to say.

10-01-2015, 05:58 PM
I've seen Falkirk play us 3 times this season and they are a well organised, hard working team with a bit of quality and a decent keeper.

Today we played well first 20 mins then scored and stopped playing(like PBS last week) They scored and scored again ( offside goal) but we scored 2 out of nothing and led at half time.

2nd half - I don't think one player
played well - standards seriously dropped.

Saying that Boyle should have put away his chance - he did the hard part.

The bigger picture - the league table...coming 2nd avoids 2 extra games.

Wouldn't want to play Falkirk over 2 legs the way they have played us.

Coming 2nd would be a massive help and we are good enough to be their. The problem now is that we are 8 points behind and that's nearly a 3 game swing.

10-01-2015, 06:00 PM
Sort out the defence, never lose a goal never lose a gain-simple.

10-01-2015, 06:03 PM

The Rangers vs The yam Welts this Friday.

Falkirk vs QOTS Saturday.

Hibs need to take 3 points of Cowdenbeath on Saturday at ER.

No pressure. :greengrin

10-01-2015, 06:08 PM
Rangers (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/rangers)

No Movement3
Hibernian (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/hibernian)

No Movement4
Queen of Sth (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/queen-of-the-south)

No Movement5
Falkirk (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/falkirk)

No Movement6
Raith Rovers (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/raith-rovers)

great incentive for Q.o.S to win the rearranged game in kirkcaldy

When is this game being played. ?

10-01-2015, 06:09 PM
When is this game being played. ?

No date has been scheduled for the rearranged tie.

from the RR web site

10-01-2015, 06:10 PM
The Rangers vs The yam Welts this Friday.

Falkirk vs QOTS Saturday.

Hibs need to take 3 points of Cowdenbeath on Saturday at ER.

No pressure. :greengrin

The fixtures are all set up nicely next week for Hibs to gain on their closest rivals. All Hibs need to do is take care of their own business and win at ER. How often have I seen that scenario, and Hibs just don't do it, just like today's result?

Maybe Hibs just haven't got that elusive winning mentality. There's no doubting their footballing ability, but that's just not good enough in itself I'm afraid.

10-01-2015, 06:10 PM

Sad day for Scottish football.

10-01-2015, 06:13 PM
Our inability to pull away from QoS & Falkirk is worrying and it's hugely frustrating to be further behind Rangers than we were before pumping them 4-0.

How did Boyle & Djedje look?

Boyle crossed for the third after racing down the wing like Ivan on a motor bike . Was very unlucky not to score our 4th when he rounded the keeper and Allan took it off his toe . Djedje looked impressive when running with the ball and was unlucky with one such run when he was almost clean through at the edge of the box ( skinning a few players on the way)only to be brought down . His free header in the box was horrendous tho .

10-01-2015, 06:16 PM
Indeed.

10-01-2015, 06:21 PM
No date has been scheduled for the rearranged tie.

from the RR web site

Cheers, was looking at BBC site and couldn't see it. :aok:

Almost double the number on the second highest attendance in Scotland.

Only 2500ish at Killie.

10-01-2015, 06:22 PM
Boyle crossed for the third after racing down the wing like Ivan on a motor bike . Was very unlucky not to score our 4th when he rounded the keeper and Allan took it off his toe . Djedje looked impressive when running with the ball and was unlucky with one such run when he was almost clean through at the edge of the box ( skinning a few players on the way)only to be brought down . His free header in the box was horrendous tho .

Boyle looks decent...his cross for the third was different gravy. DJ looked good in flashes. We have no problem creating now...just need to sort out the right side of defence.

10-01-2015, 06:26 PM
The fixtures are all set up nicely next week for Hibs to gain on their closest rivals. All Hibs need to do is take care of their own business and win at ER. How often have I seen that scenario, and Hibs just don't do it, just like today's result?

Maybe Hibs just haven't got that elusive winning mentality. There's no doubting their footballing ability, but that's just not good enough in itself I'm afraid.

Yikes. :greengrin

And it's only Cowdenbeath at home for us, stroll in the park surely. :cb

10-01-2015, 06:30 PM

That's certainly the case round about Picardy Place.

10-01-2015, 06:33 PM
Boyle looks decent...his cross for the third was different gravy. DJ looked good in flashes. We have no problem creating now...just need to sort out the right side of defence.

Thought Boyle offered something different, hints of Ivan, knocking it past a player to run onto it, he did very well staying on his feet for third goal and should scored two second half, dunno wtf Allan was doing?!?

10-01-2015, 06:37 PM
Yikes. :greengrin

And it's only Cowdenbeath at home for us, stroll in the park surely. :cb

Yep, Hibs just need to turn up and they will win easily. Nae problem. :greengrin

10-01-2015, 06:43 PM

I agree. I think promotion is imperative if we are to slip back again.

Great to see a Hibs team with a bit of desire and panache again but, in the grand scheme of things, 3rd place really is the minimum requirement this season. I hope we might exceed expectations for once.

Not meaning to bring doom and gloom and I'll take a point over a loss any day. But we really needs wins, and lots of them. At least there are goals in the team.

10-01-2015, 06:45 PM
I missed the Boyle chances as had left 5 mins before the end of first half to beat the rush for a bovril only to wait for 30 mins and miss the first 10 mins of the second half . So ii blame the guy sitting next to me for mis informing me about the Boyle chances . Lol .

10-01-2015, 06:46 PM
That's certainly the case round about Picardy Place.

10-01-2015, 06:57 PM
Feels like a defeat. We should have had it wrapped up with Boyle's sitter and then Allan taking it off his toe in the box.

After match thoughts. Allan: better deployed further back where he can see the play and pick a pass. No reflection on Stubbs as he was worth looking at further forward. Booth: Championship is his level as he can't defend so we need to look for a replacement RB pronto. Robertson and Craig: the level of player who took us down. Perform well in patches but compared to McGeouch who wasn't match fit they are not good enough. We'll have to stick with them though as we have no replacements.

Also Hanlon had a poor game which seemed to affect both Oxley and Fontaine.

Plus side was Cummings who was excellent, McGeouch who we should try to sign up at the end of the season and Djedje who looked quick and will score goals in the Championship. Maybe play him behind Cummings and Malonga.

Nomeancity
10-01-2015, 07:05 PM
Sorry if it's been discussed elsewhere. But what was wrong with Allan today, he was murder. I realise it was a different formation but that doesn't make him give the ball away - how many times did he try a pass that went to one of them. When he was subbed I wondered if he was ill or injured?

Oxley murder
hanlon murder
fontaine murder
booth murder
boyle- thought he looked quite good
djejde- some not bad touches
cummings - good.

at the start of the 2nd half I honestly thought we were going to take 5 or 6 of them, it just then fell apart.

10-01-2015, 07:27 PM
I agree. I think promotion is imperative if we are to slip back again.

Great to see a Hibs team with a bit of desire and panache again but, in the grand scheme of things, 3rd place really is the minimum requirement this season. I hope we might exceed expectations for once.

Not meaning to bring doom and gloom and I'll take a point over a loss any day. But we really needs wins, and lots of them. At least there are goals in the team.

I will be surprised if any of our talented players will want to stay in this league for another season, we don't go up this year and agents will be getting told to get me away from here ASAP, there is no other thought, we must get promoted this season, another season in this league is unthinkable for a club of our size and it won't be as popular next season if it is us that's left behind with say St Mirren coming down, will BT and Sky be falling over them self's to show games from this league next season, no chance.

Yeah the football is better quality under Stubbs, but as everyone knows it is all about results, if these results don't get us promoted then you have to think about Stubbs as well, okay playing good football but if you can't beat teams when you are two goals in front then it will be the manager who takes the fall for it at the end of the season.

I think The Rangers will bring the yams unbeaten run in the league to a end on Friday night, which will not do us any favours and it will leave us in a battle for the last 2 spots against Falkirk and QOTS who sadly have a good record against us this season.

When was the last time we had a good run in the 2nd half of a season, ages ago, it needs to change this year and we start winning more games than drawing them.

I'm starting to get slightly worried that we haven't pulled away from these 2 teams where there is a big gap between us and them, we should be closer to the top two rather than the other way round.

Anyone who thinks another season in this league will be a good thing is of there rocker.

10-01-2015, 07:33 PM
Think Allan taking a bit of unnecessary stick. He was vey lively first half the highlight being a couple of magnificent turns. Yep some of his passing didn't come off and yep big mistake taking the ball off Boyles toe but still one of the best players on the park.

Probably cause he has been exceptional lately and he didn't quite match the level of performance today.

May have been better swapping him and Craig positions as he played well on the left earlier in the season

Not his fault we lost

Completely down to ridiculously bad defending

Thought we had some fantastic moves in the first half but it looked like we thought we were home and dry after half time and never applied ourselves properly

2 important points dropped ... That I think will really see us struggle to get 2nd place now.

We need to get the attitude better against the lesser teams

We have only really shown real hunger and desire against hertz, Sevco and Dundee utd

10-01-2015, 07:47 PM
Just saw goals on sky and the defending is even more horrific than what it looked at the game

Hanlon all over the place for all three

Booth posted missing for 1 and 3

Craig with a very weak effort to clear on 2nd

Cannae see how Oxley was getting so much blame

Yep he maybe could have come for the last two but his defenders let him down big time

10-01-2015, 07:49 PM
Sorry if it's been discussed elsewhere. But what was wrong with Allan today, he was murder. I realise it was a different formation but that doesn't make him give the ball away - how many times did he try a pass that went to one of them. When he was subbed I wondered if he was ill or injured?

Oxley murder
hanlon murder
fontaine murder
booth murder
boyle- thought he looked quite good
djejde- some not bad touches
cummings - good.

at the start of the 2nd half I honestly thought we were going to take 5 or 6 of them, it just then fell apart.

http://media.tumblr.com/65ad245796e23084bbd3d05bdfec7321/tumblr_inline_mwaajgq11q1rdych8.gif

10-01-2015, 07:56 PM
Allan was trying too hard to find a world cup ball when there were simple balls which would have still lead to dangerous positions. He is a great player but he lost the ball frequently in the first half allowing Falkirk to get into our half and gain some belief. They had hardly touched the ball up to the Hibs goal.

Our defence were woeful today though. Oxley was so indecisive at crosses and those nerves seemed to spread through the whole defence. Stevenson played pretty well but the other 4 in the back 5 were woeful.

I thought Stubbs should have kept Boyle on. He looked lively and could easily have scored twice at the start of the second half. He and Cummings actually looked like they had a little partnership starting.

Cummings was very good today. Not only his goals but he had some nice link up play too and was busy all day. McGeouch was very good too and played at a great tempo considering how long he has been out. Took one for the team after running 60 yards to get back.

10-01-2015, 07:56 PM
I will be surprised if any of our talented players will want to stay in this league for another season, we don't go up this year and agents will be getting told to get me away from here ASAP, there is no other thought, we must get promoted this season, another season in this league is unthinkable for a club of our size and it won't be as popular next season if it is us that's left behind with say St Mirren coming down, will BT and Sky be falling over them self's to show games from this league next season, no chance.

Yeah the football is better quality under Stubbs, but as everyone knows it is all about results, if these results don't get us promoted then you have to think about Stubbs as well, okay playing good football but if you can't beat teams when you are two goals in front then it will be the manager who takes the fall for it at the end of the season.

I think The Rangers will bring the yams unbeaten run in the league to a end on Friday night, which will not do us any favours and it will leave us in a battle for the last 2 spots against Falkirk and QOTS who sadly have a good record against us this season.

When was the last time we had a good run in the 2nd half of a season, ages ago, it needs to change this year and we start winning more games than drawing them.

I'm starting to get slightly worried that we haven't pulled away from these 2 teams where there is a big gap between us and them, we should be closer to the top two rather than the other way round.

Anyone who thinks another season in this league will be a good thing is of there rocker.

Serious question - but who are our supposed talented players?

You could maybe make a borderline case for a couple, but I doubt too many would move on to a higher league.

Stack and Stephens moved to the Conference - do you seriously see players in the current set-up bettering that level?

10-01-2015, 07:57 PM

I'll lay a wager with ya SH, say a box of Heroes :greengrin.......Hibs will go up via the play offs :cb probably more cash that way too :greengrin

For me it's been the plan all along - yep, some players won't stay, but the ones that won't are under contract and would command a decent fee (Cummings, Allan, Malonga, etc). But The Rangers are in a mess and won't sign anyone this window........scraped a lucky draw v Alloa today.......QotS I'm hearing have backroom issues and squabbles.......Falkirk wibble at the thought of success.

Likely SPL side is St Mirren or Ross County.......should we get there. Fancy gubbing both if we get to that stage.

As I posted earlier, this Hibs side strangely thrive and play when the pressure seems on them.......when its not they switch off. Hence the annoying inconsistency.

10-01-2015, 08:13 PM

I don't see us going into a post Christmass loss of form. But likewise I think the lack of defensive options couldn't of come at a worse time and lack of depth of squad was always going to be something that could work against us . Agree that going into the New Year I hoped we would
be clear in third place Sevco I would expect will get beat by Hearts ,but by only taking two out of our last six points available we aren't putting them under pressure and despite losing McLeod they have taken four out of six points .
We will beat Cowdenbeath in the pissin rain ,am confident of that ,but like you the prospect of another year in this league isn't appealing and I would imagine our better players like you say will be of the same opinion .
Our next two signings of this window could be crucial to us kicking on and return of Gray Malonga and Farid will give us a lift later on , but would rather be in third spot when they return

10-01-2015, 08:15 PM

You could maybe make a borderline case for a couple, but I doubt too many would move on to a higher league.

Stack and Stephens moved to the Conference - do you seriously see players in the current set-up bettering that level?

Stevenson for starters, :wink: then McGeouch Cummings Allan Malonga Handling Forster and El Alagui.

Nothing against Stack but his career was coming to a end and injuries weren't helping him either, Stephens was just really poor, yes the players i have mentioned will go on to play for better clubs than Barnet FC. :aok:

10-01-2015, 08:26 PM
I'll lay a wager with ya SH, say a box of Heroes :greengrin.......Hibs will go up via the play offs :cb probably more cash that way too :greengrin

For me it's been the plan all along - yep, some players won't stay, but the ones that won't are under contract and would command a decent fee (Cummings, Allan, Malonga, etc). But The Rangers are in a mess and won't sign anyone this window........scraped a lucky draw v Alloa today.......QotS I'm hearing have backroom issues and squabbles.......Falkirk wibble at the thought of success.

Likely SPL side is St Mirren or Ross County.......should we get there. Fancy gubbing both if we get to that stage.

As I posted earlier, this Hibs side strangely thrive and play when the pressure seems on them.......when its not they switch off. Hence the annoying inconsistency.

I'm not really doubting that we will make the play off's bud, but i just think we will fall at the last hurdle, that's Hibs for you :greengrin

What worries me is that we never get the right results at the end of seasons, it will be a roller coaster ride that's for sure and maybe we will need a tin of "Hero's" :wink: :greengrin to get us through it.

I would be terrified if it came down to a play off with County. :greengrin :thumbsup:

10-01-2015, 08:29 PM
I'm not really doubting that we will make the play off's bud, but i just think we will fall at the last hurdle, that's Hibs for you :greengrin

What worries me is that we never get the right results at the end of seasons, it will be a roller coaster ride that's for sure and maybe we will need a tin of "Hero's" :wink: :greengrin to get us through it.

I would be terrified if it came down to a play off with County. :greengrin :thumbsup:

For you my friend I will go beyond a wager and give you a years supply of puff candy if we go up :aok::greengrin

Have faith SH, I know you do really.......it's tucked away there somewhere.......it's why we love them, loads of emotion :thumbsup:

10-01-2015, 08:29 PM
I'll lay a wager with ya SH, say a box of Heroes :greengrin.......Hibs will go up via the play offs :cb probably more cash that way too :greengrin For me it's been the plan all along - yep, some players won't stay, but the ones that won't are under contract and would command a decent fee (Cummings, Allan, Malonga, etc). But The Rangers are in a mess and won't sign anyone this window........scraped a lucky draw v Alloa today.......QotS I'm hearing have backroom issues and squabbles.......Falkirk wibble at the thought of success. Likely SPL side is St Mirren or Ross County.......should we get there. Fancy gubbing both if we get to that stage. As I posted earlier, this Hibs side strangely thrive and play when the pressure seems on them.......when its not they switch off. Hence the annoying inconsistency.

Eh rangers scraped a draw with Alloa ???did Sevco no win the day ?

10-01-2015, 08:30 PM
We lost 4 of our first five matches - since then our record has been P 15 W 8 D 6 L 1

We are miles better than we were at the start of the season and will continue to improve. Our manager has only been in the job 6 months, and we have two excellent forwards to come back into the team very soon.

It's been all about the play offs for a long time now. It would be nice to push on and be able to finish in second, but I suspect that is beyond us. We are more than capable of taking care of QOS and Rangers in the play offs though, and as long as that remains the case, I'm not going to worry.

10-01-2015, 08:37 PM

Malonga
Gray
Allan
McGeouch
Cummings
Hanlon
El Alagui (certainly pre-injury)

The above players would all easily move to a higher league than the Conference if they moved to England.

Even most of our other players, who are a bit more vulnerable to criticism, would get a better move than the Conference.

10-01-2015, 08:53 PM
I'll give AS credit for signing Gray but he equally deserves pesters for not having a back up RB

A LB or LM playing RB isn't cover

Ffs, can't be that hard

10-01-2015, 08:58 PM
I'll give AS credit for signing Gray but he equally deserves pesters for not having a back up RB

Ffs, can't be that hard
Absolutely. He should have signed two players for every position. All SPL quality as well.......

10-01-2015, 09:01 PM
Absolutely. He should have signed two players for every position. All SPL quality as well.......

I suppose some folk can laugh at the the lack of RB cover and 2 goals today came directly from that area..

Is that really funny? Am I missing something?

Or are you laughing at the fact we're still playing a LB at RB when cover is needed, as has been the case for about 3 seasons now..

Oh aye sorry, El oh el

10-01-2015, 09:03 PM
Malonga
Gray
Allan
McGeouch
Cummings
Hanlon
El Alagui (certainly pre-injury)

The above players would all easily move to a higher league than the Conference if they moved to England.

Even most of our other players, who are a bit more vulnerable to criticism, would get a better move than the Conference.

Lets be brutally honest - Cummings aside, the above list are no more than honest hard working professionals.

Gray - Previous clubs - Stevenage/Burton
Allan - The exception (hopefully)
McGeouch - Not our player
Cummings - Potential
Hanlon - Erm...
El Alagui - He was at Falkirk and subsequently couldn't hold down a place at Brentford

What do the exceptions to your list say about the players who you didn't quote? I honestly don't see too many playing above Conference standard.

We're in the 2nd tier of Scottish football and are shopping at Lidl for players.

A few youngsters may have a nominal transfer value, but the rest ain't worth a cent.

10-01-2015, 09:14 PM

Ffs, can't be that hard

Would imagine Forster would have been covering for Gray right now if he hadn't had his appendix out

10-01-2015, 09:19 PM
Lets be brutally honest - Cummings aside, the above list are no more than honest hard working professionals.

Cummings - Potential
Hanlon - Erm...
El Alagui - He was at Falkirk and subsequently couldn't hold down a place at Brentford

What do the exceptions to your list say about the players who you didn't quote? I honestly don't see too many playing above Conference standard.

We're in the 2nd tier of Scottish football and are shopping at Lidl for players.

A few youngsters may have a nominal transfer value, but the rest ain't worth a cent.Shopping at Lidl ? Yet you suggested on a previous thread that we should look at players from lower league football that you regularly follow.

Surely that would also be shopping at Lidls then ?

10-01-2015, 09:21 PM

Cummings - Potential
Hanlon - Erm...

A few youngsters may have a nominal transfer value, but the rest ain't worth a cent.

Based on his performance levels so far, David Gray would get a move a couple of steps above Conference level, if he moved to England.

He's been very close to our player of the season so far.

El Alagui would also get a move down to League One standard, based on his early form with us. It remains to be seen if he'll be the same player when he comes back from injury but based on how he performed for the first few weeks of this season, before his injury, I would say he's much better than Conference standard.

10-01-2015, 09:25 PM
Shopping at Lidl ? Yet you suggested on a previous thread that we should look at players from lower league football that you regularly follow.

And look what happened when we last dipped into non-league.

Clayton fu$*&^%in Donaldson :wink:

Probably playing EPL next season and was castigated by all and sundry on the forum.

What is/was your point exactly?

10-01-2015, 09:27 PM
I don't see us going into a post Christmass loss of form. But likewise I think the lack of defensive options couldn't of come at a worse time and lack of depth of squad was always going to be something that could work against us . Agree that going into the New Year I hoped we would
be clear in third place Sevco I would expect will get beat by Hearts ,but by only taking two out of our last six points available we aren't putting them under pressure and despite losing McLeod they have taken four out of six points .
We will beat Cowdenbeath in the pissin rain ,am confident of that ,but like you the prospect of another year in this league isn't appealing and I would imagine our better players like you say will be of the same opinion .
Our next two signings of this window could be crucial to us kicking on and return of Gray Malonga and Farid will give us a lift later on , but would rather be in third spot when they return

We should remove the roof of the away stand for this Saturday coming. :agree: :thumbsup:

Next weekends fixtures/results are very important for us. Hope Forster is back soon. :aok:

Forever_Green93
10-01-2015, 09:30 PM
Highlights

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/30663878

10-01-2015, 09:34 PM
For you my friend I will go beyond a wager and give you a years supply of puff candy if we go up :aok::greengrin

Have faith SH, I know you do really.......it's tucked away there somewhere.......it's why we love them, loads of emotion :thumbsup:

Will you pay for the dental treatment :thumbsup: If we go up we will have a sweetie fest bud :thumbsup:

If i didn't have the faith i wouldn't go support them everywhere, but i do, i love them, wasn't there today as not feeling well, i just need to look in my Hibs room upstairs to know how much Hibs mean to me, :wink: :greengrin

10-01-2015, 09:37 PM
We lost 4 of our first five matches - since then our record has been P 15 W 8 D 6 L 1

We are miles better than we were at the start of the season and will continue to improve. Our manager has only been in the job 6 months, and we have two excellent forwards to come back into the team very soon.

It's been all about the play offs for a long time now. It would be nice to push on and be able to finish in second, but I suspect that is beyond us. We are more than capable of taking care of QOS and Rangers in the play offs though, and as long as that remains the case, I'm not going to worry.

My hopes are lifted a bit after reading that Stevie. :thumbsup:

10-01-2015, 09:58 PM
Isn't it strange that the better we get, the further our neighbours
Go in front of us? One week we are going to be 2nd, the next we need to look over our shoulders at the others.

10-01-2015, 10:00 PM
Go in front of us? One week we are going to be 2nd, the next we need to look over our shoulders at the others.

Yes, very strange.

10-01-2015, 10:03 PM

During this great run we're on the cheats seem to be stumbling further ahead, strange indeed

10-01-2015, 10:13 PM

http://www.azlandscapecreations.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/spooky.png

11-01-2015, 12:23 AM
My hopes are lifted a bit after reading that Stevie. :thumbsup:

Glad to hear it SH :thumbsup:

11-01-2015, 06:49 AM
If nothing else, Booth is proving once and for all that he's never going to be good enough.

11-01-2015, 07:09 AM
If nothing else, Booth is proving once and for all that he's never going to be good enough.

Did you honestly think he was going to be? People tend to hold onto more hope for players that come through our youth systems. When its established they are not good enough off they should go. Not hold onto them and hope they will come good.