View Full Version : Racist ****

Billy McKirdy
04-01-2015, 06:41 PM
I was at the Derby yesterday and was absolutely appalled at the racist comments coming from behind me (I was block L row 27) by a group of young guys in the very back row.

Directed at Gomis and Bauben, their bile was frequently punctuated with references to the Ebola crisis, calling them black c@##s, n@#$##s and similar racist schit.

I realise that free speech is one of our most important freedoms but it honestly made me ashamed these idiots follow my club. :rolleyes:

04-01-2015, 06:45 PM
It happens. Especially at derbies. Drink is a big factor.

Take a note of seat numbers. Record it on your phone if you have a camera/voice recorder function and contact the club. They have a duty to ensure it doesn't happen.

04-01-2015, 06:47 PM
Was happening behind me toward malonga.
You read that right.

We were In the front row.

04-01-2015, 06:51 PM

Take a note of seat numbers. Record it on your phone if you have a camera/voice recorder function and contact the club. They have a duty to ensure it doesn't happen.

They'll know who bought the tickets for them. Absolutely disgusting behaviour, and shouldn't be tolerated

04-01-2015, 06:51 PM

Drink doesn't turn people into racists.

04-01-2015, 06:53 PM
Should he have said Lacists? :-o

04-01-2015, 06:54 PM

Yeah, but when the drink's in the brain's out.

04-01-2015, 07:03 PM
Tynecastle seems to bring out some real erseholes in our support.

I like a drink, I often drink more than I should, I also like a bit banter and can take a joke but the state some fans get into before a derby and the stuff they come out with is ridiculous.

Nutmegged
04-01-2015, 07:11 PM
This abhorrent mate, truly, saddens me to hear this, I'd contact the club, if you habe your seat number Hibs can inform Hearts who in turn can pass on CCTV footage to the Police...well done for saying something, there will be some that will quietly prefer you buried this

04-01-2015, 07:15 PM
Never understood the desperation to be pished at the match especially a lunch time kick off. It's not as if there isn't about 12 hours drinking time after the game.

04-01-2015, 07:23 PM
They need reported and banned. We don't need ersholes like that in the support. Unfortunately CCTV won't be enough evidence for this as it has no sound recording. And being at the back no one will have them on camera phone.

We do not have freedom of speech in the UK, we have freedom of thought, if those thoughts are racist and bigoted then quite rightly you should not be able to vocalise them without punishment.

04-01-2015, 07:28 PM

No, but it makes them vocal about it.

Billy McKirdy
04-01-2015, 07:29 PM
Was happening behind me toward malonga.
You read that right.

We were In the front row.

They also mentioned Malonga after he failed to receive a misplaced pass, I quote "I f*****n love him but he's a lazy black b*****d".
I'm worldywise and realise that these attitudes towards other races and cultures are still fairly widespread amongst some people but can't accept the blind ignorance and hatred it symbolises.

Confronting them wouldn't have made any difference either, just sickened by it tbh.

04-01-2015, 07:31 PM
They also mentioned Malonga after he failed to receive a misplaced pass, I quote "I f*****n love him but he's a lazy black b*****d".
I'm worldywise and realise that these attitudes towards other races and cultures are still fairly widespread amongst some people but can't accept the blind ignorance and hatred it symbolises.

Confronting them wouldn't have made any difference either, just sickened by it tbh.

Felt similarly tbh man.

Just lowlifes.
I have no time for it

04-01-2015, 07:35 PM
No, but it makes them vocal about it.

True.

Stuarty27
04-01-2015, 07:41 PM
I know the exact guys your are talking about.

Guy with the tartan shirt and slick back doo was the main culprit.

They were drinking straight vodka out a hip flask, must of been a nice xmas pressy!! whats worse two policemen stood no more than 5 yards away from them the whole game and done nothing.

04-01-2015, 08:06 PM
Tynecastle seems to bring out some real erseholes in our support.

I like a drink, I often drink more than I should, I also like a bit banter and can take a joke but the state some fans get into before a derby and the stuff they come out with is ridiculous.

Couldn't agree more. This site could help by closing threads like drinks/ pubs/opening times before the Derby etc but to be fair, these folk will find bevy anyway

04-01-2015, 08:11 PM
I was at the Derby yesterday and was absolutely appalled at the racist comments coming from behind me (I was block L row 27) by a group of young guys in the very back row.

Directed at Gomis and Bauben, their bile was frequently punctuated with references to the Ebola crisis, calling them black c@##s, n@#$##s and similar racist schit.

I realise that free speech is one of our most important freedoms but it honestly made me ashamed these idiots follow my club. :rolleyes:

Unbelievable that we still hear such stuff today........

Stuarty27
04-01-2015, 08:14 PM
Couldn't agree more. This site could help by closing threads like drinks/ pubs/opening times before the Derby etc but to be fair, these folk will find bevy anyway

These guys were drinking in the stadium so I don't think shutting pubs etc would do anything apart from spoiling it for the people who can have a couple of pints, watch a game and no go over the top.

Honestly the worst thing about this was there was genuinely two policeman standing 5 seat away to the right hand side of these guys, If I could see it and hear it and the OP could then why didn't they do anything about it!

Gus
04-01-2015, 08:17 PM
Was it shouting or talking among their group? Doesn't make it right but the police cannae monitor everything or hear everything.

Stuarty27
04-01-2015, 08:20 PM
Was it shouting or talking among their group? Doesn't make it right but the police cannae monitor everything or hear everything.

The two policemen were stood 5 seats away from them the whole game, they heard it but turned a blind eye, and they must of been blind not to see them drinking out the hip flasks.

I felt sorry for the guy and his son sitting next to them and I am pretty sure they left with 15 mins to go because they had enough!

04-01-2015, 08:29 PM

:thumbsup::agree:
Sadly it gives them the " courage" to express their " feelings "

04-01-2015, 08:46 PM
Did you say anything to them at the time or alert stewards/polis?

04-01-2015, 08:49 PM
We were in the 3rd row and when we scored 2 erse holes in the row behind started kicking in the back of our seats. My Dad is going into Hibs tomorrow to report it as we dont want our season ticket numbers to be associated with this damage. Do these people not know that it is Hibs that has to pay for this? They were in row 4 seats 8,9,10. Well done idiots. Why celebrate a Hibs goal by damaging seats? We had a word with them when it happened but they were so out of it that they had no idea what we were saying.

04-01-2015, 09:08 PM
We were in the 3rd row and when we scored 2 erse holes in the row behind started kicking in the back of our seats. My Dad is going into Hibs tomorrow to report it as we dont want our season ticket numbers to be associated with this damage. Do these people not know that it is Hibs that has to pay for this? They were in row 4 seats 8,9,10. Well done idiots. Why celebrate a Hibs goal by damaging seats? We had a word with them when it happened but they were so out of it that they had no idea what we were saying.

I was in Row 7 seat 12. Never seen a thing?

Though i was going mental when we scored ;)

Billy McKirdy
04-01-2015, 09:31 PM
Did you say anything to them at the time or alert stewards/polis?

No I didn't say anything at the time, the moral thing would have been to challenge it but what IS the right thing to do?
I admit I tolerated this throughout the match and not once did I do anything, does that make me complicit in their actions? I simply want to draw attention to the fact this happened, I've seen and hears much worse than this over the years believe it or not and people's attitudes towards this have improved massively since the days I started attending games in the late 70s.
If I'm guilty of saying and doing nothing about it at the time so is every single one of us who witnessed it....and done nothing.
The police and stewards who obviously were aware of what was happening are even guiltily OMO.

04-01-2015, 09:38 PM
No I didn't say anything at the time, the moral thing would have been to challenge it but what IS the right thing to do?
I admit I tolerated this throughout the match and not once did I do anything, does that make me complicit in their actions? I simply want to draw attention to the fact this happened, I've seen and hears much worse than this over the years believe it or not and people's attitudes towards this have improved massively since the days I started attending games in the late 70s.
If I'm guilty of saying and doing nothing about it at the time so is every single one of us who witnessed it....and done nothing.
The police and stewards who obviously were aware of what was happening are even guiltily OMO.

I don't think you are responsible for saying something. They could easily have assaulted you if they were that drunk. But the polis certainly should have done something if they heard it, the stewards have a responsibility to report it to the polis if they heard it.

Gus
04-01-2015, 09:45 PM
You hear so much at games none of which should happen or be tolerated but it does sadly. But was these guys shouting it or was it in your earshot?

If you had something to them and they had assaulted you (I doubt they would have) then the relevant police or stewards would of intervened.

It's been a sad unfortunate incident and sadly I'm sure there are message boards up and down the country with similar threads

04-01-2015, 10:03 PM

racist
ˈreɪsɪst/
noun
a person who believes that a particular race is superior to another.
"I had a fear of being called a racist"
synonyms: racial bigot, racialist, xenophobe, chauvinist; More
antonyms: multicultural, tolerant
adjective
adjective: racist
having or showing the belief that a particular race is superior to another.
"we are investigating complaints about racist abuse at a newsagents"

Not racist but a racial slur.

Still very unacceptable and I hope you went to the nearest police man/woman.

04-01-2015, 10:05 PM
I was 5-10 rows further down and heard the "ebola" song near the end of the game. I didn't hear the other stuff. Absolutely loads of peope must have heard it...hundreds. It was shameful. In that situation, it's often difficult and potentially dangerous to confront them. I couldn't see who it was and I didn't see any stewards or police nearby either. Unless one of them heard it and took action, it would be practically impossible to prove. Video evidence and seat numbers are the only way, and that's inviting a doing. Someone prepared to belt that kind of crap out in front of people would probably have no hesitation in attacking or threatening anyone who called them out on it. I would guess that's why nobody said anything: fear. I was ashamed for our club when I heard the "song" coming from our "fans" but I also don't blame anyone for not speaking out at the time.

04-01-2015, 10:09 PM
Didn't hear anything like this, my gripe is over another issue; do people pi55 in the sink at home? Call me old fashioned if you like, but I normally wash my hands after going to the toilet, but every time at Tynecastle the toilets are full of morons pi55ing all over the sinks, taps etc.

bigstu
04-01-2015, 10:32 PM
The lower section often has a fair amount of numpties in it & is poorly policed so they get off with all sorts. I've seen it all over the years i've been going to away derbies at Tynie. The behaviour never gets any better.

Turkish Green
05-01-2015, 02:18 AM
The two policemen were stood 5 seats away from them the whole game, they heard it but turned a blind eye, and they must of been blind not to see them drinking out the hip flasks.

I felt sorry for the guy and his son sitting next to them and I am pretty sure they left with 15 mins to go because they had enough!

The police would have to take action if somebody reported it. All well and good coming on a forum a day later and complaining but it would have been better to say something at the time.

i am sure there would have been police in the Roseburn as Celtic thugs demolished the place. Which is why many of us had to sit in revamped seats.

Billy McKirdy
05-01-2015, 02:40 AM
The police would have to take action if somebody reported it. All well and good coming on a forum a day later and complaining but it would have been better to say something at the time.

i am sure there would have been police in the Roseburn as Celtic thugs demolished the place. Which is why many of us had to sit in revamped seats.

Ok, I hope you report it the next time you witness such behaviour then. Would you rather I kept my trap shut and say nothing because I have no right relating what happened because I said Jack Schit at the time?
Yeah, it's easy sniping from the sidelines but you weren't there, your not me your you, I kept schtum, maybe you would have let rip eh?....Im so sorry!!!.
Next time eh?......:rolleyes:

Bay Area Hibees
05-01-2015, 02:58 AM
Really sickenkmg to read this.
was thread other day saying how much better our support is than OF and Hertz.
sadly I don't think that's the case, I think it's probably equally proportionate to total crowds team get.
is that right or am I being to hard in Hibs and easy on other teams?

05-01-2015, 04:57 AM
The kind of people one dreams about finding themselves on a rental car break down in Compton, Los Angeles. *****g imposters that tarnish the reputation of Edinburgh, Scotland.

05-01-2015, 07:24 AM
Let them pay their money their then throw them out

05-01-2015, 07:54 AM

That's not true, I've seen people report things at the football and be told to sit down or they'd be arrested. I wouldn't have reported it either as I would be worried about what might happen if I was seen doing so. Why do the police need someone to report it anyway, if they heard it they should have taken action.

05-01-2015, 08:00 AM
That's not true, I've seen people report things at the football and be told to sit down or they'd be arrested. I wouldn't have reported it either as I would be worried about what might happen if I was seen doing so. Why do the police need someone to report it anyway, if they heard it they should have taken action.

portygeoff
05-01-2015, 08:04 AM
Really sad to hear this. Been a diehard Hibs fan for over 10 years and only ever heard one racist comment and that was by a young lad who was quickly pulled up by a pensioner. Not so easy to say something when it is a group of drunks though. However clubs and the polis do act on info even after the event. They have CCTV coverage and can trace the ********s. My experience of this sort of thing is that the clubs that stand the tallest in Scottish Football are the ones were the true fans stand up against this behaviour. Anyone with info should defo contact the club, we are better than this.

Disgusted about the ebola song, one of my colleagues is critically ill fighting this disease, low life ****ers.

05-01-2015, 08:06 AM

Thats why its better to take a note of the seat numbers, get a description of the individuals (and if you can record it on your phone without drawing attention to yourself so much the bettter) and give it to Hibs.

As has been mentioned this kind of thing drives people, especially families, away from games, so noone should feel guilty about 'grassing'. You're helping your club out.

05-01-2015, 08:30 AM
Whilst not condoning this behaviour at all, it is unfortunately all too familiar with our support at tynecastle and against Hearts.

The Ebola song is unnacceptable conduct yes, however i frequently heard both the Skacel and Mercer songs throughout the day on Saturday and not a peep at all about them?

Both loudly sung by HUGE parts of our support across many games, whilst not condoned by many on boards etc they are still sung in full voice at times.

It is an unfortunate situation where songs such as these are "glorified by Social Media" and events like Leigh singing it that make it seem funny.

I would imagine the culprits are reading this today and are embarrased and are hanging their heads.

05-01-2015, 08:56 AM
Thats why its better to take a note of the seat numbers, get a description of the individuals (and if you can record it on your phone without drawing attention to yourself so much the bettter) and give it to Hibs.

As has been mentioned this kind of thing drives people, especially families, away from games, so noone should feel guilty about 'grassing'. You're helping your club out.

That's probably the best way to go about things

05-01-2015, 08:58 AM
I know the exact guys your are talking about.

Guy with the tartan shirt and slick back doo was the main culprit.

They were drinking straight vodka out a hip flask, must of been a nice xmas pressy!! whats worse two policemen stood no more than 5 yards away from them the whole game and done nothing.

If the police were that close they would have done or said something if there was racist chants, and they were drinking straight vodka (how do you know what was contained in the flask?)

05-01-2015, 11:45 AM
I was 5-10 rows further down and heard the "ebola" song near the end of the game. I didn't hear the other stuff. Absolutely loads of peope must have heard it...hundreds. It was shameful. In that situation, it's often difficult and potentially dangerous to confront them. I couldn't see who it was and I didn't see any stewards or police nearby either. Unless one of them heard it and took action, it would be practically impossible to prove. Video evidence and seat numbers are the only way, and that's inviting a doing. Someone prepared to belt that kind of crap out in front of people would probably have no hesitation in attacking or threatening anyone who called them out on it. I would guess that's why nobody said anything: fear. I was ashamed for our club when I heard the "song" coming from our "fans" but I also don't blame anyone for not speaking out at the time.

Think you have summed it up perfectly GG. These kind of racist attitudes will, unfortunately, take another generation or 2 yet to purge from our wider society. Very sad.

05-01-2015, 12:05 PM
This is quite a sad, but not surprising, bit of news.

Any society has it's share of people with undesirable attitudes and it's no surprise that some of them display this at Football Matches, especially after large amounts of alcohol are consumed.

I thnk the only thing the majority of us can do is make it known how unnaceptable it is. This worked in the early 80s with those who were singing Republican songs at Hibs games and I think it can work with this.

I sympathise completely with the poster that said he felt uncomfortable confronting the culprits, especially since they were so drunk. However, not all of us have such inhibitions and they should be shouted down, or reported.

05-01-2015, 12:06 PM
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.

05-01-2015, 12:11 PM
I maybe understand doing nothing on the day if you felt like that might put you in any danger but doing nothing at all then coming to post about it on here? Not sure what it is intended to achieve?

05-01-2015, 12:14 PM
I never go to Tynecastle because I hate the vile atmosphere generated by their fans and it also seems to attract some of the worst of our fans, probably as a result of that.

I know that there are plenty good Hibbies there but you can't control who you sit next to so I just watch it on the TV.

05-01-2015, 01:23 PM

Because its far easier for them not to.

Its really easy and unthreatening for them catching folk parking poorly, speeding and drunk driving the next day (as they should btw)

Its a nice little earner and makes nice little headlines but don't ask them to do anything difficult or that they might have trouble proving or completing their arrest.

Its all about statistics and the like and not tying up manpower in places like courts, its sickening, but hey their numbers are better and that's all that realty matters to them.

gordieboy
05-01-2015, 01:35 PM
I used to be a g4s steward,and at our breifing before the match we were always told if you hear any racists bigot remarks make sure you have a second person to witness the act,as it would probably go to court.Can't see many stewards on minimum wage wanting to step up to the mark and go to court over this.Especially the abuse they get from fans these days.As for the police they just want an easy life at football and turn a blind eye to a lot of things as it means a while load of paperwork and going to court.

Billy McKirdy
05-01-2015, 01:35 PM
I maybe understand doing nothing on the day if you felt like that might put you in any danger but doing nothing at all then coming to post about it on here? Not sure what it is intended to achieve?

Perhaps to open up a debate on what happened?

Look mate, I get what you say here and after reading what's been said here I'm now considering putting in an email to Hibs as it does need challenged as despicable as it was.

It's obvious most of us are sickened by what occurred.

05-01-2015, 02:05 PM
I will never attend another game at tynecastle simply because of the behaviour of our fans. My Girlfriend and the old guy next to her were hit twice by chairs during the millennium derby. Absolute animals that day and that's when winning. To many wee ********s for me and I have a short fuse so don't want banned from games because of twats.

05-01-2015, 02:29 PM

Look mate, I get what you say here and after reading what's been said here I'm now considering putting in an email to Hibs as it does need challenged as despicable as it was.

I agree opening up the debate is really healthy and I hope it would give people confidence to stand up to this as it is not acceptable.

It is understandable you feel the need to email Hibs, but would you also email about the hundreds of people singing about Skacel and Mercer? Regardless of the man, The Mercer song particularly sickens me, when you consider the thousands of cancer sufferers we all know and love. It comes up every derby and must make so many people shudder.

It would not surprise me if Hibs have already looked at this thread. The difficulty is whether they are all guilty of doing something wrong, or is it purely by association you think the whole group is guilty? There are very serious consequences for these things and actions from a small fine and ban, to people losing jobs, so you need to be sure.

05-01-2015, 02:36 PM
I hope Hibs have a chat with Hearts and get all available evidence. If guilty of any racists chants I'd want Hibs to ban them for life.

05-01-2015, 03:02 PM
I never go to Tynecastle because I hate the vile atmosphere generated by their fans and it also seems to attract some of the worst of our fans, probably as a result of that.

I know that there are plenty good Hibbies there but you can't control who you sit next to so I just watch it on the TV.

:agree::agree::agree::agree:

patlowe
05-01-2015, 03:08 PM

You've not done anything wrong. I for one am glad you are highlighting this and find it pretty bizarre that anyone would have a problem with you doing so.

05-01-2015, 03:18 PM

:dunno: Bizarre post. Its as relevant to this board as any other post ive seen recently. The only reason I can see for him NOT to post it was if he was worried about it impacting our reputation as fans. Why do you have a problem with him doing so?

05-01-2015, 03:18 PM
You've not done anything wrong. I for one am glad you are highlighting this and find it pretty bizarre that anyone would have a problem with you doing so.

Exactly.

05-01-2015, 03:20 PM

Yes, I've got a slight problem with the approach - at the game there are stewards and police - something can be done and it doesn't need to draw attention to you - have a wander for 30 seconds and mention it to one not directly close by or something.

If you choose not to do that then that's your choice, coming on here a few days later and saying how ashamed you are of it isn't really doing anything to help. If it is such a big issue that moves you to post then take one of the actions available to you at the time. There are lots of messages about helpng to police behaviour by reporting incidents - I don't think any suggest the way to do it is to post on the internet a few days later.

Just my view and I'm sure many will disagree.

05-01-2015, 03:21 PM

I agree but where does the line get drawn, surely as McBean says there is songs sung that are equally offensive, even the one about a players sisters underwear, i'm really sure that cannot be nice for her or her family to hear. Unless people speak to the police or stewards at the time we are not going to rid football of this social disease.

patlowe
05-01-2015, 03:40 PM
Yes, I've got a slight problem with the approach - at the game there are stewards and police - something can be done and it doesn't need to draw attention to you - have a wander for 30 seconds and mention it to one not directly close by or something.

If you choose not to do that then that's your choice, coming on here a few days later and saying how ashamed you are of it isn't really doing anything to help. If it is such a big issue that moves you to post then take one of the actions available to you at the time. There are lots of messages about helpng to police behaviour by reporting incidents - I don't think any suggest the way to do it is to post on the internet a few days later.

I respect your opinion but it is easy to say to someone what they should have done in this situation. He might have done what you suggest but I highly doubt his 'approach' at the time was "I'm going to ignore this so I can moan about it on Hibs.net". He made a decision not to do anything, and I can totally understand that in the heightened atmosphere of a derby. Having made that decision, he has felt moved to raise it on here, possibly as a point of discussion; possibly looking for some advice on how to proceed. Again, I find it hard to understand how anyone could have a problem with that. It's far too easy to say what someone should or shouldn't have done at the time and it's unfair IMO to then preclude him from discussing it on here because of that.

Not sure how to multi-quote but FAO H18sry, I absolutely see what you're saying re other equally offensive songs but IMO this is a broader issue than those individual morons and I don't believe that potentially causing a stooshie at a game is a proven way to solve this problem. If we are looking at individuals then surely ticket/seat numbers, CCTV etc are just as valid solutions.

05-01-2015, 03:45 PM

I think that highlighting it on here does more to deter it, than keeping quiet.

It's a very worthy topic of discussion, whether or not anything was done at the time of the specific incident(s).

The chorus of disapproval only underlines how unacceptable that type of behaviour is and social proof is very influential.

05-01-2015, 03:50 PM
It's disappointing to hear stories about Hibs supporters behaving like this but the positive that I would take out of it is that judging by the comments on the thread and general observations at games ,the vast majority of mature Hibbies find racist slurs offensive. This sort of incident would probably pass unnoticed by the old firm and wouldn't have got a thread on their forums.

beensaidbefore
05-01-2015, 04:11 PM
[QUOTE=kaimendhibs;4265169]Couldn't agree more. This site could help by closing threads like drinks/ pubs/opening times before the Derby etc but to be fair, these folk will find bevy anyway[/QUOT

Hibs.net, world police?

Why did nobody alert anyone at the time? Or better still confront said morons?

05-01-2015, 04:12 PM
Speaking personally, I didn't hear it, was in section m

05-01-2015, 04:54 PM
I will never attend another game at tynecastle simply because of the behaviour of our fans. My Girlfriend and the old guy next to her were hit twice by chairs during the millennium derby. Absolute animals that day and that's when winning. To many wee ********s for me and I have a short fuse so don't want banned from games because of twats.

I am the same, F :aok: Last tme I saw there was in 2001 when John O'Neil scored a late equaliser but there were dozens of broken chairs, the plumbing was ripped off the wall in the gents (so the water, etc :rolleyes:) was all over the concourse and a wee t!t was winding everyone up in our row. Not my idea of a fun day out....

05-01-2015, 05:09 PM
I am the same, F :aok: Last tme I saw there was in 2001 when John O'Neil scored a late equaliser but there were dozens of broken chairs, the plumbing was ripped off the wall in the gents (so the water, etc :rolleyes:) was all over the concourse and a wee t!t was winding everyone up in our row. Not my idea of a fun day out....

Exactly I just don't get why folk go that daft! I'm all for jumping about mad but no need to rip the place apart!

05-01-2015, 06:21 PM
Why did nobody alert anyone at the time? Or better still confront said morons?

What would you have said to them?

05-01-2015, 10:41 PM

These are the kind of morons that we should be pointing out to the club. Its ridiculous the things some people come out with when full of drink and their tongues loosened by it. Yes it is sometimes better to say nothing because in the state they are in it may cause another horrendous outburst of filth at you yourself.

If you have their seat numbers give them to the club they will have a computer record of each ticket sold and who to on their database and will indeed either report them to the police or write a warning letter to them re their disgusting behaviour!

Even coming down the stairs after the game a gang of neds around me were singing a vile song about the Hearts player Walker's sister, they laughed and giggled at each other after it. One of them was so proud of himself and said " i wish i could see his face when im singing this song" no doubt had he been on his own with the guy he would have been speechless!!!!

They are always full of bravado with alcohol in them and in a crowd. I just wonder how they would feel if someone was singing that filthy song about their sister or mother?

05-01-2015, 10:45 PM
They are always full of bravado with alcohol in them and in a crowd. I just wonder how they would feel if someone was singing that filthy song about their sister or mother?

They'd feel bad, but they'd laugh along with their pals.

Only kidding so no harm done, eh?

Pure radge.

05-01-2015, 10:57 PM
People who indulge in this behaviour are usually drunk, mobbed up youths, looking for attention, and indeed, in many cases only behaving in that way in order to get it. I'm not sure that other fans confronting them in those circumstances is going to help matters.

Older people who indulge in this are usually exceptionally dim specimens, who probably wouldn't fully understand what racism was if somebody with a lot more patience than most of us sat down to carefully explain it to them.

I think ignoring them really is the best policy. This has been working over the years as their numbers steadily decrease. Indeed, real racists probably have the sense to shut up about their views, and are therefore far more dangerous than dumb arsed clowns who just want to make a spectacle of themselves in public, and have decided that this is the best vehicle of self degradation around at the moment.

It's an annoyance and a pest, and often downright offensive to hear, and I get as frustrated about it as the next person, but it really is in decline, and will continue to be as long as people here and in other public places keep rightfully equating it with abject stupidity.

05-01-2015, 11:00 PM
People who indulge in this behaviour are usually drunk, mobbed up youths, looking for attention, and indeed, in many cases only behaving in that way i order to get it. I'm not sure that other fans confronting them in those circumstances is going to help matters.

Older people who indulge in this are usually exceptionally dim specimens, who probably wouldn't fully understand what racism was if somebody with a lot more patience than most of us sat down to carefully explain it to them.

I think ignoring them really is the best policy. This has been working over the years are their numbers steadily decrease. Indeed, real racists probably have the sense to shut up about their views, and are therefore far more dangerous than dumb arsed clowns who just want to make a spectacle of themselves in public, and have decided that this is the best vehicle of self degradation around at the moment.

It's an annoyance and a pest, and often downright offensive to hear, and I get as frustrated about it as the next person, but it really is in decline, and will continue to be as long as people here and in other public places keep rightfully equating it with abject stupidity.

http://www.jagaro.net/wp-content/uploads/2011/01/wisdom.gif

05-01-2015, 11:18 PM
This may sound flip but it's not meant to be.
Why not enlist the Glasgow Polis to handle our derbies?
They seem to have zero tolerance with Edinburgh clubs' fans when we're in the Weege.
Just a thought.

GreenOnions
05-01-2015, 11:18 PM
People who indulge in this behaviour are usually drunk, mobbed up youths, looking for attention, and indeed, in many cases only behaving in that way in order to get it. I'm not sure that other fans confronting them in those circumstances is going to help matters.

I think ignoring them really is the best policy. This has been working over the years as their numbers steadily decrease. Indeed, real racists probably have the sense to shut up about their views, and are therefore far more dangerous than dumb arsed clowns who just want to make a spectacle of themselves in public, and have decided that this is the best vehicle of self degradation around at the moment.

I'm sorry DBS but I couldn't disagree more. How are non-white Hibs fans going to feel if they happen to also be in the crowd?

People are able to hold whatever views they like. However, if we want our club to be a "community" club / "family" club etc, one that believes in inclusivity and rejects discrimination then we have to stand up for that and be seen to be doing so - particularly by younger fans. I think it's absolutely essential that we stop that kind of stuff from Hibs fans attending Hibs games.

I can understand why some might not want to confront these individuals personally at the time. If that's the case then I think the best course would be to bring the behaviour to the attention of the police and/or the club.

05-01-2015, 11:41 PM
I'm sorry DBS but I couldn't disagree more. How are non-white Hibs fans going to feel if they happen to also be in the crowd?

People are able to hold whatever views they like. However, if we want our club to be a "community" club / "family" club etc, one that believes in inclusivity and rejects discrimination then we have to stand up for that and be seen to be doing so - particularly by younger fans. I think it's absolutely essential that we stop that kind of stuff from Hibs fans attending Hibs games.

I can understand why some might not want to confront these individuals personally at the time. If that's the case then I think the best course would be to bring the behaviour to the attention of the police and/or the club.

If I thought that by confronting these idiots personally, it would change anything, then I'd consider the considerable risk was worthwhile.

That's unlikely though.

Reporting them to the police at the time, I do agree with, but I also think that getting rid of racism won't be achieved by banging folk up.

Generally, DBS is right though. It'll be a slow process.

06-01-2015, 07:36 AM
I didnt understand why some people were singing about Jamie Walkers sister?? And they continued it after he scored their goal. No wonder he reacted the way he did when he scored. Disgusting.

ColintonHibs
06-01-2015, 08:24 AM
These people sound quite insecure about themselves

06-01-2015, 08:50 AM
I didnt understand why some people were singing about Jamie Walkers sister?? And they continued it after he scored their goal. No wonder he reacted the way he did when he scored. Disgusting.

You (and plenty others at that) are well entitled to have your own opinion, but for me this has been blown well out of proportion. I don't really see whats so offensive about it.

As a song, it wasn't clever, but I thought it was pretty funny. Like the Anchorman or Old School films, it's juvenile humour and straight to the point. If you're waiting on Bob Dylan-esque lyrics to chants from the crowd, you'll be waiting a long time.

It wasn't sexist, or racist, or homophobic, or xenophobic, it was the sort of thing a 12 year old school kid might say to his mate and laugh.

06-01-2015, 12:03 PM
You (and plenty others at that) are well entitled to have your own opinion, but for me this has been blown well out of proportion. I don't really see whats so offensive about it.

As a song, it wasn't clever, but I thought it was pretty funny. Like the Anchorman or Old School films, it's juvenile humour and straight to the point. If you're waiting on Bob Dylan-esque lyrics to chants from the crowd, you'll be waiting a long time.

It wasn't sexist, or racist, or homophobic, or xenophobic, it was the sort of thing a 12 year old school kid might say to his mate and laugh.

So if a group of guys (not 12 years old btw) were singing about your sister and how they could smell her pants bla bla bla you would not be offended by this?

GreenOnions
06-01-2015, 12:06 PM

I see what you're saying and I do think it's difficult sometimes to judge what's reasonable "banter" and what's unacceptable. However, the law provides extra protection from discrimination / abuse for certain groups for good reason (eg ethnic minorities, people with disabilities) and I think it's this extra protection that has raised awareness and reduced certain types of abuse over the years. I think we ought to respect that.

Beyond those areas I'm all for juvenile and straight to the point humour :greengrin

06-01-2015, 12:26 PM

There were different versions, one of which said repeatedly that she was a "whore" and there were other versions. So, looking at your list, I think it was in fact sexist....even so, I didn't see what was funny about it or where the humour lay in just throwing offensive names at someone. I'm not being disapproving here btw, I honestly don't see that there's anything funny about it. Each to their own, I suppose, but stuff like this for me isn't "Hibs Class".

06-01-2015, 12:28 PM

We have previous on that...... the Mighty Quinn? :wink:

06-01-2015, 12:29 PM
So if a group of guys (not 12 years old btw) were singing about your sister and how they could smell her pants bla bla bla you would not be offended by this?

I don't have a sister, I do have a mum though, and it really really wouldn't bother me in the slightest if I was playing for Hibs and you had Hearts fans singing that you could smell my mums pants. Given that, I know my mum, I've spent a lot of time in her company, and I can't even smell her pants from one side of the sofa to the other, never mind 'from the east to the west'. I'm talking just a regular sized sofa as well, not a huge 10 man sofa, just a 2 person one.

If what we're saying is that Jamie Walkers sister has a medical disorder that has plighted her all her life, and she has an uncontrollable pungency from her pants, then I would agree that it's maybe a tad out of order to sing songs about it. She probably has a hard enough time without a theme tune to go along with it. That's not the situation here though, unless I'm mistaken.

06-01-2015, 12:32 PM
There were different versions, one of which said repeatedly that she was a "whore" and there were other versions. So, looking at your list, I think it was in fact sexist....even so, I didn't see what was funny about it or where the humour lay in just throwing offensive names at someone. I'm not being disapproving here btw, I honestly don't see that there's anything funny about it. Each to their own, I suppose, but stuff like this for me isn't "Hibs Class".

Was there? I was at the game, and I was in the Roseburn before it. I heard the Jamie Walkers sisters pants song, on repeat for quite a while, and never heard 'whore' in the lyrics. It wouldn't have worked, melodically.

Can I ask, was "booked cos you're ugly" to Stevie Fulton out of order, or just juvenile humour? Cos I'd rank that at the same level of offensiveness.

06-01-2015, 12:59 PM

Well, I would hesitate to approach either the stewards or the police in the circumstances the OP describes.

First, I'd be worried about the response from the guys I was complaining about - and no, I don't really have confidence in Edinburgh's finest leaping to my assistance if the guys concerned jumped me after the game. They'd probably arrest me as well.

Second, I have approached stewards and police about racist abuse in the past. The time I spoke to a steward the steward DID speak to the guy and warned him - which turned out to be all that was needed. The time I spoke to the police I was told to sit down and keep quiet or I'd be removed from the ground. I couldn't report the officers concerned because they had their high-visibility waistcoats covering their collar numbers. They did absolutely nothing about the abuse and not another sould spoke up with me.

I can also say that the first time I took my son to ER - 25 years ago now - I asked a PC were there any arrangements in place for youngsters - he was 9 at the time and a big crowd was expected. I was told (quoting verbatim) - "**** off or I'll lift you." I had an adult friend with me and the wee lad was between us. I was about to ask the PC for his number when Brian pulled me away and told me that if I wanted to see the game I should shut up and walk. We then approached a sergeant with the same question. He couldn't have been more courteous and helpful.

But I would still be very wary of being seen speaking to police at a match, especially making a complaint about guys sitting next to me.

06-01-2015, 01:04 PM
We have previous on that...... the Mighty Quinn? :wink:

Indeed we do.

And a mighty skilful talented player wee Pat was and all.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c1TR8V-vEak

I never did work out who Quinn the Eskimo was ...

06-01-2015, 01:40 PM

I think a lot of people (myself included) DO have the urge to confront people about this. Just not convinced it helps as it gives them what they are essentially looking for, in the form of outraged attention and places them at the centre of a drama. I think people ARE currently bringing it to the attention of the police and the club. And not just through forums like this. That's why this behaviour, though persistent and annoying, has been in secular decline for thirty odd years.

06-01-2015, 01:52 PM
Was there? I was at the game, and I was in the Roseburn before it. I heard the Jamie Walkers sisters pants song, on repeat for quite a while, and never heard 'whore' in the lyrics. It wouldn't have worked, melodically.

Can I ask, was "booked cos you're ugly" to Stevie Fulton out of order, or just juvenile humour? Cos I'd rank that at the same level of offensiveness.

There was. I heard the song calling her a "whore" several times. Yes I did.

I was also in the East Stand when Fulton got booked and the song about him started. As I recall, he turned to the Hibs fans, grinned and blew them a kiss, which earned him a fair bit of laughter in return and an impromptu and respectful round of applause.

Yes, I do personally think it's more offensive to call someone's sister a whore and other derogatory sexual names than tell a footballer on the pitch that they are "ugly". I think there's a big difference, but you disagree, which is fine.

06-01-2015, 02:00 PM
There was. I heard the song calling her a "whore" several times. Yes I did.

I was also in the East Stand when Fulton got booked and the song about him started. As I recall, he turned to the Hibs fans, grinned and blew them a kiss, which earned him a fair bit of laughter in return and an impromptu and respectful round of applause.

Yes, I do personally think it's more offensive to call someone's sister a whore and other derogatory sexual names than tell a footballer on the pitch that they are "ugly". I think there's a big difference, but you disagree, which is fine.

I'm disagreeing on the basis that I didn't hear the versions of the song you heard.

06-01-2015, 02:05 PM
I'm disagreeing on the basis that I didn't hear the versions of the song you heard.

Either did I.

Not saying it didn't happen but I only heard the one version. What was the version with whore in it?

06-01-2015, 02:20 PM

I'm not sure what the discussion is here. It was you who brought up the subject of the Fulton song and asked me a question about it, and that's what I answered in my reply. As my answer differed to yours, and as you had specifically asked me, I made the point that we obviously disagreed. Just a difference of opinion and no big deal.

In the stands during the game at the derby, I clearly heard, on several occasions, a song calling Jamie Walker's sister a "whore". Doubt it if you like, but I definitely heard it.

06-01-2015, 03:11 PM
Does Jamie Walker have a sister?

06-01-2015, 04:57 PM
Whenever this subject comes up, there's always an attempt to equate or compare racism with other forms of abuse, and the Fulton song always comes up as an example.

Whatever you think of the Fulton song or the Walker song or the Mercer song misses the point. The point is, do you or do you not like sections of our support racially abusing opposition players, or in some cases, apparently, our own players.

It shouldn't be a difficult question to answer.

Billy McKirdy
07-01-2015, 11:21 AM
Whenever this subject comes up, there's always an attempt to equate or compare racism with other forms of abuse, and the Fulton song always comes up as an example.

Whatever you think of the Fulton song or the Walker song or the Mercer song misses the point. The point is, do you or do you not like sections of our support racially abusing opposition players, or in some cases, apparently, our own players.

It shouldn't be a difficult question to answer.

Exactly, it was getting sidetracked a bit, the issue for me was/is the racist jibes and I feel that's what this discussion should be about and nothing else.
It's been good to read that most .netters are in agreement that what these young guys were doing is totally unacceptable and a slur on all good Hibbies.

beensaidbefore
07-01-2015, 12:33 PM
What would you have said to them?

Probably something along the lines of 'excuse me, do you think its acceptable in this day and age to be shouting that sort of thing at a football match, especially seeing as there are young kids here.'

It is likely that it would be met with some kind of come back, but I'm sure someone would have backed me up if they felt it was needed. It only takes one person to speak up, the rest usually follow.