31-12-2014, 10:10 PM
Worse than ever...if that's possible.

31-12-2014, 10:12 PM
What a load of pish.

31-12-2014, 10:12 PM
Going to go against the grain and say I think it's been a slight improvement on recent years.

Not great and still well past it's sell by date but not as bad as I thought it would be.

Gerard
31-12-2014, 10:13 PM
awful time for it to stand down:wink:

31-12-2014, 10:13 PM
I've not watched it for years. It pretty much became a parody of itself ages ago.

Nevi_SOL
31-12-2014, 10:14 PM
Has there been anything about us? Totally forgot it was on

31-12-2014, 10:15 PM
Hendon 'away' to Harrow Borough at 3/4 with Marathon Bet is the best bet of 2015

31-12-2014, 10:16 PM
Hendon 'away' to Harrow Borough at 3/4 with Marathon Bet is the best bet of 2015

They better not let me down tomorrow Sergey :-)

31-12-2014, 10:22 PM
people still watch this instead of Jools Holland?:confused:

31-12-2014, 10:22 PM
About 10 years past its sell by date.

Chibs
31-12-2014, 10:24 PM
Embarrassing.

31-12-2014, 10:25 PM
Glad i decided to go out tonight and miss that nonsense.

It stopped being funny about 10 years ago.

portyhibernian
31-12-2014, 10:26 PM
Has there been anything about us? Totally forgot it was on

Nothing much football related at all! Plenty referendum stuff though. None of it that funny I'm afraid.

Hibby Gav
31-12-2014, 10:27 PM
One show a year for tv and this is the best he can do...........it was much better years ago on the radio when Tony Roper was on it also....

31-12-2014, 10:28 PM
I pay for a TV license for this pish, what a load of crap.

30 minutes of absolute garbage.

31-12-2014, 10:31 PM
7+half out of 10 from moi :agree: me thinks some people just watch it so they can then criticise it, you know what your getting so don't bother watching it :dunno:

and now..........jackie burd :drool: :)

Billy McKirdy
31-12-2014, 10:34 PM
No Hibs or Hearts stuff, mostly Sevco and Celtic with tired characters MacAvennie et al...
Seriously it makes Sportscene look good.
Truly awful pile of schit.

31-12-2014, 10:35 PM
and now..........jackie burd :drool: :)

I just dinnae see it. You're not the only one on here that's a fan though.

31-12-2014, 10:39 PM

i bet yi a pound to a penny the same folk moaning about it this year will STILL watch it next year :agree: then moan about it again :)

31-12-2014, 10:41 PM
i bet yi a pound to a penny the same folk moaning about it this year will STILL watch it next year :agree: then moan about it again :)

Not sure what that has to do with Jackie B tho.

31-12-2014, 10:47 PM
You would all miss it if they stopped broadcasting the programme. Maybe.

Tinribs
31-12-2014, 11:30 PM
Only a world cup excuse, that was pure genius...but also 25 years ago lol

31-12-2014, 11:33 PM
The other certainty to only an excuse being pish is the thread on here every year moaning about it. Oh and Jackie Bird, surely not!

31-12-2014, 11:40 PM

Right now, i would give her a bash. :greengrin

01-01-2015, 12:37 AM
The other certainty to only an excuse being pish is the thread on here every year moaning about it. Oh and Jackie Bird, surely not!

I long ago came to the conclusion that Scottish TV blow a big chunk of their budget every year producing absolute rubbish for Hogmanay and New Year, and Scots dutifully switch on, watch the rubbish, then moan their heads off about how bad it was.

Then the following year ....

It's a tradition we have in these parts, but honestly, sometimes I really do despair. :brickwall

01-01-2015, 01:15 AM

"What happened?"
"You missed it, Don".

I was ironing a shirt at the time and almost burnt it while I ended myself.

I long ago came to the conclusion that Scottish TV blow a big chunk of their budget every year producing absolute rubbish for Hogmanay and New Year, and Scots dutifully switch on, watch the rubbish, then moan their heads off about how bad it was.

It's a tradition we have in these parts, but honestly, sometimes I really do despair. :brickwall

It is the biggest traditional event in Scotland, so it deserves big funding. The money could do with being better spent, though. Have to admit that I only watched a few minutes of OAE. Most of it was the McGonigal bit. Utter guff. I don't imagine I otherwise missed a hilarious show. Bin it. It's deid.

Stan the Man
01-01-2015, 01:43 AM
Do you think Jackie Bird had been given orders to 'look more like Carol Smillie' this year?

01-01-2015, 02:05 AM
No Hibs or Hearts stuff, mostly Sevco and Celtic with tired characters MacAvennie et al...

They still run with that? It was long overdone 10 years ago.

01-01-2015, 02:17 AM
Do you think Jackie Bird had been given orders to 'look more like Carol Smillie' this year?

I'm thinking of giving her ladyship orders to look more like Carol Smillie this year, I'm not holding out much hope tbh.

01-01-2015, 02:20 AM
Just watched it.

Same old every year.

01-01-2015, 02:56 AM
I used to love and I mean love OAE. However I am sick of the same characters being on year after year. I haven't seen this years as I was working tonight so I shall reserve judgement untill I have seen it but the past few have been poor. There's only so many times you can laugh at the same joke. Bin Charlie nic, jimmy c and frank mcavennie and being in some new characters. I only know who McAvennie is because of OAE and I'm 25 so how people younger than me are supposed to know, never mind find it funny is beyond me. I suspect he knows he's taken it as far as he can and it wouldn't surprise me if it didn't last much longer.

cad
01-01-2015, 06:00 AM
Awfi bad lasted 5 mins deleted

01-01-2015, 06:52 AM
This will soon be highly entertaining again in the 'so bad it's hilarious' sense.

01-01-2015, 07:38 AM
OAE has steadily fallen into the category of ' it's garbage but it's our garbage'. This year's offering struck new lows and beginning to think they're working their ticket. It has gone past the ' so bad, it's good' stage.

Caversham Green
01-01-2015, 07:49 AM
You would all miss it if they stopped broadcasting the programme. Maybe.

I try to miss it when it is being broadcast.

Arch Stanton
01-01-2015, 08:16 AM

This year's stuff had the lok of budget cuts to be honest - the coverage of Princes St looked absolutely miserable (maybe it was of course). Even the announcer said that the fireworks never fail to disappoint - maybe it was a slip on her part though.

Nutmegged
01-01-2015, 08:19 AM

"You're Not my Dad Gerry"... :)

01-01-2015, 08:20 AM
One show a year for tv and this is the best he can do...........it was much better years ago on the radio when Tony Roper was on it also....

Yep it was funny when on the radio. Tony was obviously the funny one. Does anyone under 30 or 40 know or care who Mcavennie is?

01-01-2015, 09:00 AM
Sadly a " tired and past its sell by date " programme
Nicholas /McAvennie /Jim White - even at 83 i've a job to remeber who they were :rolleyes:.

mmmmhibby
01-01-2015, 09:05 AM
Only an Excuse, Still Game and Mrs Browns Boys are aw shockingly cringeworthy viewing. Same kind of cheesy humour IMO.

01-01-2015, 09:30 AM
Turned it off when McAvennie was the first "football" character. I find it hard to believe that we are still paying licence fee money for that

01-01-2015, 10:06 AM
Only an Excuse, Still Game and Mrs Browns Boys are aw shockingly cringeworthy viewing. Same kind of cheesy humour IMO.

:agree: Very much this.

proud_and_green
01-01-2015, 10:39 AM
I am glad I'm not the only one. watched 5 mins of it. Unbelievably lazy work. As others have said McAvennie was going out of date in the 90's and yet in the 5 mins I saw he was featured in it twice!

I wonder how much is forked out for this third day reheat of leftovers!

01-01-2015, 10:39 AM
Just finished watching it. That was bogging. You have to go back 20 odd years to when Only An Excuse was a footballing comedy show, the last few years have more political than anything else. Frank McAvennie has been irrelevant since the late 80's, so why is he still a character? What a load of pish. :rolleyes:

01-01-2015, 10:50 AM
It's groundhog day.

Same thread every year.

01-01-2015, 11:10 AM
It's groundhog day.

Same thread every year.

Can i start a Deek thread. :greengrin

01-01-2015, 11:17 AM
Just finished watching it. That was bogging. You have to go back 20 odd years to when Only An Excuse was a footballing comedy show, the last few years have more political than anything else. Frank McAvennie has been irrelevant since the late 80's, so why is he still a character? What a load of pish. :rolleyes:
Agree re McAvennie you know exactly what's coming next so predictable .He doesn't even talk sense when on the radio talking about football Complete irrelevance.
Don'tmind Political Satire if done well.

01-01-2015, 11:24 AM
All a bit aged.....especially Charlie Nicholas, and McAvennie !!!........just shows you there's no real characters in scottish fitba these days......and I see they completely shat it with regards the Rangers and hearts.....nothing about them ?!......should have got tore into them.

01-01-2015, 11:31 AM

Thought Still Game was tremendous.

01-01-2015, 11:55 AM
Getting to be the same cosy New Year tosh like Scotch and Wry, that also ran over the sell by date. You can tell that there is no pressure to deliver.

01-01-2015, 11:59 AM
It was a party last night. Why watch telly? :greengrin

01-01-2015, 12:19 PM
Recorded it to watch this morning but i only watched 10 minutes of it as it was dross.

01-01-2015, 12:53 PM
Can i start a Deek thread. :greengrin

Who's Deek? :wink:

01-01-2015, 01:12 PM
Thought Still Game was tremendous.

Plus Hibs got a mention on the Still Game prog.

Cracker.

01-01-2015, 01:21 PM
It was poor, didnt get the voices right on so many that he imitated.

01-01-2015, 01:25 PM
Plus Hibs got a mention on the Still Game prog.

Cracker.

Recorded Still Game last night, not watched it yet and what was the mention.

01-01-2015, 01:27 PM
Was it a new Still Game?

01-01-2015, 01:32 PM

Robbie Coltrane was talking about a Leith shopkeeper who spoke like Navid in Still Game and just said that when he saw him he said something like 'What about the Hibs result". Might not have said those exact words but mentioned the mighty Hibees. :aok:

01-01-2015, 01:33 PM
Was it a new Still Game?

No. Just talking about the last ten years or so and showing clips from the old shows.

01-01-2015, 02:28 PM
Watched it and thought it was poor,needs to stay in line with football stuff more,so many teams and players looking for a slagging,hibs included but nothing,shame really used to be funny

01-01-2015, 02:51 PM

http://youtu.be/5j0tP74lDlY

01-01-2015, 02:55 PM
Haven't seen it for years. Don't listen to Off the Ball either. I just think that kind of bantering humour is boring now. If I want to hear a bunch of bears joshing each other I'll go to the pub.

01-01-2015, 02:56 PM
Impressions are dated and more recent ones are crap but thought the writing was a bit better than in recent years. Not as bad as I expected.

01-01-2015, 06:08 PM
All a bit aged.....especially Charlie Nicholas, and McAvennie !!!........just shows you there's no real characters in scottish fitba these days......and I see they completely shat it with regards the Rangers and hearts.....nothing about them ?!......should have got tore into them.

Simply not true - there's plenty enough characters that could be worth pulling the leg of in the current game (eg. Johnny Collins, Michael Stewart, Scott Brown, Leigh Griffiths to mention only a few named on here this very day) but the OAE guy is just too useless/lazy/blinkered/untalented to even try it. Got to say I didn't see OAE this year but the last time I did (some years ago) it was a tired and flacid waste of airtime - suggestive of a lazy unimaginative lack of ambition at BBC Scotland - time to bin it and no doubt about it!

01-01-2015, 09:38 PM
Total redder. Could do better myself and I'm not kidding

01-01-2015, 09:39 PM
Recorded this last night, dearie me what a shambles of a programme it's turned into, not a laugh in sight, past it's best and needs binned.

01-01-2015, 09:57 PM
Recorded this last night, dearie me what a shambles of a programme it's turned into, not a laugh in sight, past it's best and needs binned.
:agree: Sky +'d it and deleted sharpish. Maybe I'm just getting auld but what a load o mince.

01-01-2015, 10:05 PM
:agree: Sky +'d it and deleted sharpish. Maybe I'm just getting auld but what a load o mince.

I got as far as Charlie Nichilas and Jim White then deleted it.

Still Game was good though.

15-01-2015, 08:23 PM
I was out the country during festive season but caught up with the show the other night on the iplayer. I`m not going to lie, my sides did not require stitching back up afterwards but I thought were a few decent sketches and was reasonably entertaining. The steward who thought he was still at The Commonwealth Games was not far off the mark, and I thought that the referendum skits were good as well.
If they would just decide to abandon the Frank McAvennie nonsense then the show would instantly improve.

16-01-2015, 09:24 PM
This has nothing to do with the thread title.. gave up watching that a long time ago!

But does anyone have a link to the Crazy gang that was on BT sport channel last month. I've read about the controversy, and I'd like to view it in full.

Anyone any help?

17-01-2015, 07:48 AM
This has nothing to do with the thread title.. gave up watching that a long time ago!

But does anyone have a link to the Crazy gang that was on BT sport channel last month. I've read about the controversy, and I'd like to view it in full.

Anyone any help?

Check bt sport website you can watch it on there.