View Full Version : Newcastle to Crystal Palace

bigstu
29-12-2014, 09:43 PM
Pardew leaves Newcastle for Crystal Palace, very odd one! I can only assume he wanted out of Newcastle? Probably makes sense for all parties but certainly one of the stranger managerial transfers. Like going from Hibs to St Mirren!

29-12-2014, 09:46 PM
Pardew leaves Newcastle for Crystal Palace, very odd one! I can only assume he wanted out of Newcastle? Probably makes sense for all parties but certainly one of the stranger managerial transfers. Like going from Hibs to St Mirren!

Newcastle supporters never took to him and seen him as part of the cockney mafia at the club, he's a bit of a legend at Palace with over 100 games and scoring a winner in an FA cup semi for them.

29-12-2014, 09:48 PM
Played for Palace though didn't he? Hell he could even be on more money there, his contract at Newcastle was long but not very lucrative I don't think.

29-12-2014, 09:49 PM

From a Championship side to a Premier one, you mean? :wink:

29-12-2014, 09:50 PM
Newcastle is a poisoned chalice. What can you you achieve their other than grief

29-12-2014, 09:52 PM
McCoist is a shoe in.

29-12-2014, 09:53 PM
Newcastle supporters never took to him and seen him as part of the cockney mafia at the club, he's a bit of a legend at Palace with over 100 games and scoring a winner in an FA cup semi for them.

Against Liverpool, in the same season that they'd lost 9-0 at Anfield in the league.

I lived on the main road about 500 yards away from Selhurst Park in those days and used to watch Palace at home.

When they beat Liverpool that day, I tore the sheet off my bed and wrote "Super Alan Pardew" on it and hung it on the roof for the team bus to see. :greengrin

Sadly, they lost the final after a replay to Man U. The game that supposedly saved Ferguson's career.

29-12-2014, 09:56 PM
Still lives down the road from Palace IIRC.

bigstu
29-12-2014, 10:02 PM
Who's next up for Newcastle? Steve Bruce is showing an interest but i wouldn't think he has a hope in hell!

29-12-2014, 10:06 PM
Stubbs.

29-12-2014, 10:16 PM
Was listening to Talksport earlier, and one Newcastle fan came on and said, we hate him, he hates us.

29-12-2014, 10:19 PM
Was listening to Talksport earlier, and one Newcastle fan came on and said, we hate him, he hates us.

Do Newcastle fans like anyone other than Alan Shearer?

29-12-2014, 10:22 PM

Could've been Ashley they were talking about:wink:

29-12-2014, 10:27 PM
Who's next up for Newcastle? Steve Bruce is showing an interest but i wouldn't think he has a hope in hell!

Robbie Neilson and the PBS dream team. Ashley must be aware of the talent there. :greengrin

29-12-2014, 10:31 PM
Robbie Neilson and the PBS dream team. Ashley must be aware of the talent there. :greengrin

Pity Maurice f***%^&* Malpas got a job or the Butcher Malpas dream team would surely be nearer the mark? Newcastle could use a kick up the erse :greengrin

29-12-2014, 10:37 PM

He's right.... They do hate Pardew. Nae wonder. The guy is a complete tool. A foul mouthed arrogant tosser.

29-12-2014, 10:53 PM
He's right.... They do hate Pardew. Nae wonder. The guy is a complete tool. A foul mouthed arrogant tosser.

The rumour that I heard was that he owed one of Ashley's bookie pals big bucks and that's why he got the Toon job - to pay it off.
Maybe he's cleared his debt? I've no idea where I heard the rumour or if it has any substance so take it with a pinch of salt.

29-12-2014, 10:57 PM
The rumour that I heard was that he owed one of Ashley's bookie pals big bucks and that's why he got the Toon job - to pay it off.
Maybe he's cleared his debt? I've no idea where I heard the rumour or if it has any substance so take it with a pinch of salt.

Certainly a rumour was he got offered the job after a night in a casino...

29-12-2014, 11:03 PM
Roaster of a human being.

Bit of a Soft spot for the Palace so gutted for them and their support having that clown anywhere near Selhurst Park.

Bronson
29-12-2014, 11:06 PM
Coloccini 1/2 favourite to get the gig.

Mystic scenario.

29-12-2014, 11:25 PM
Coloccini 1/2 favourite to get the gig.

Mystic scenario.

Mental if thats turns out to be teh appointment

29-12-2014, 11:39 PM
Newcastle is a poisoned chalice. What can you you achieve their other than griefEverything, they are an absolutely huge club, with the right leadership they could be one of the biggest clubs in the world.

29-12-2014, 11:54 PM
Foreign manager next I reckon.

30-12-2014, 12:02 AM
Apparently he's on crap money at Newcastle and that Palace are offering more and it's near his family home. So whilst it seems a strange move most of us would move to a job for more money nearer our homes

30-12-2014, 12:05 AM
Everything, they are an absolutely huge club, with the right leadership they could be one of the biggest clubs in the world.

A huge club and potentially one of the biggest in the world?

Na.

30-12-2014, 01:03 AM
McCoist is a shoe in.

8/1 with Skybet.... could be a decent option to move debt from Rangers because of the Ashley link.

I think he would do a terrible job for what it's worth.

Mango Man
30-12-2014, 01:05 AM

Na.

I've often thought that Newcastle were an English Hibs.

30-12-2014, 01:06 AM
West Brom have put Alan Irvine on gardening leave as well

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/30619419

stuff doing any gardening in the winter months

marleyhib
30-12-2014, 01:21 AM
Will double his money apparently, was at the game on Sunday, strange atmosphere - probably best for both parties.

30-12-2014, 01:45 AM

Na.Why not? They have under performed for years yes but they undoubtedly have a massive fanbase and potential.

30-12-2014, 06:54 AM
Foreign manager next I reckon.

Heard a rumour they may approach Middlesbrough for Karanka. Currently 100/1 at most bookies.

bigstu
30-12-2014, 08:33 AM
Looking at the list of potential guys being linked to the job, none of them look particularly likely. De Boer seems to get linked to every job at the moment but Newcastle might not be big enough for him. And ion't think Tony Pulis will be a big enough name for the Newcastle fans.

30-12-2014, 08:50 AM

Not a fan of Pardew, but one word: Ashley.

Imagine working with that tosser every day and having to pretend you like him.

30-12-2014, 09:06 AM
Sally played for the Makems so the Toon won't want him.
If it was me, I'd go for Koeman (sp?)

30-12-2014, 09:49 AM
As a Palace fan, I hope Parish (our chairman) did everything he could to convince Tony Pulis to come back before speaking to anyone else. Pulis could have taken us forward, maybe Pardew can too but he's going to have to do it the hard way. Big mistake by the board allowing/forcing Pulis to leave in the first place.

Warnock was a bit unlucky this season and had a couple of dodgy decisions gone our way (such as Michael Dawson assaulting Julian Speroni during a goal at West Brom) we'd be out the relegation zone and he'd maybe still be here. That being said, we were brutal against Southampton and the fans were beginning to turn.

I'm undecided about whether Pardew is a good manager or not and will reserve judgement until the end of the season. Completely understand his decision to join us though and Newcastle fans are delusional if they think they can be a big club in the Premiership under Ashley.

30-12-2014, 09:57 AM
I think Newcastle are a huge club in terms of numbers they get through the doors, even when playing badly they get huge attendances.

There main problem in my opinion is where they are situated and that can never change. Unless they get an arabian sheik or a Russian billionaire, then its more of the same as far as i can see.

I think their fans would be a lot happier if they were just playing attractive attacking football, football that got them off their seats excited every week.

30-12-2014, 10:09 AM
I think Newcastle are a huge club in terms of numbers they get through the doors, even when playing badly they get huge attendances.

There main problem in my opinion is where they are situated and that can never change. Unless they get an arabian sheik or a Russian billionaire, then its more of the same as far as i can see.

I think their fans would be a lot happier if they were just playing attractive attacking football, football that got them off their seats excited every week.

Keagan's Newcastle side was one of the most enjoyable teams ever to watch.
Ferdinand, Asprilla, Ginola, et al. Music to my football eyes.

30-12-2014, 10:20 AM
Sherwood?

30-12-2014, 10:35 AM
Sherwood?

More suited to the Forest job when it comes up. Psycho's winless in the last six matches.

30-12-2014, 04:50 PM
I cannot stand Pardew, he's a fud who isn't good enough for a club as big as Newcastle, IMO, though it's strange to choose to leave them for Palace. He won't work at such a big club again.

30-12-2014, 04:59 PM
Keagan's Newcastle side was one of the most enjoyable teams ever to watch.
Ferdinand, Asprilla, Ginola, et al. Music to my football eyes.

They were, but they were the big spenders / overspenders of their day, unless another overspender comes along they will win less than Hibs do over the next couple of decades, great examples of fans consistently not getting the owners they deserve.

Bronson
30-12-2014, 05:04 PM
I fancy Steve MacLaren at 18/1, doing a good job at Derby, inevitable they will be a prem team soon enough.

30-12-2014, 05:07 PM
Heard a rumour they may approach Middlesbrough for Karanka. Currently 100/1 at most bookies.

That would be a bad move for him. He's building something at boro and he's better trying to see that through.

If he loses three games in a row at Newcastle the knives will be out.

30-12-2014, 05:48 PM
As a Palace fan, I hope Parish (our chairman) did everything he could to convince Tony Pulis to come back before speaking to anyone else. Pulis could have taken us forward, maybe Pardew can too but he's going to have to do it the hard way. Big mistake by the board allowing/forcing Pulis to leave in the first place.

Warnock was a bit unlucky this season and had a couple of dodgy decisions gone our way (such as Michael Dawson assaulting Julian Speroni during a goal at West Brom) we'd be out the relegation zone and he'd maybe still be here. That being said, we were brutal against Southampton and the fans were beginning to turn.

I'm undecided about whether Pardew is a good manager or not and will reserve judgement until the end of the season. Completely understand his decision to join us though and Newcastle fans are delusional if they think they can be a big club in the Premiership under Ashley.

I have contacts at Palace & from what I heard there's more chance of Ian Paisley being nominated for sainthood than of TP being spoken to by Steve Parish. Personally I think Pardew is a total tosspot but he may be the right guy for Palace at this time. I also heard the gambling story re Pardew from a decent source at least 2 years ago. May explain a lot.

30-12-2014, 06:03 PM
I cannot stand Pardew, he's a fud who isn't good enough for a club as big as Newcastle, IMO, though it's strange to choose to leave them for Palace. He won't work at such a big club again.

Doubling his wages apparently, with a million quid bonus if they stay up.

And his family home is very nearby.

Can't blame him at all..

30-12-2014, 06:13 PM
Doubling his wages apparently, with a million quid bonus if they stay up.

And his family home is very nearby.

Can't blame him at all..

Arguably Palace is as big a club as Newcastle anyway. The greater part of South West London are Palace fans. Croydon and Coulsdon.

Charlton and Millwall share the South East area. They are also big clubs.

Crazyhorse
30-12-2014, 07:36 PM
Arguably Palace is as big a club as Newcastle anyway. The greater part of South West London are Palace fans. Croydon and Coulsdon.

You might get a bite...

30-12-2014, 07:38 PM

How do you measure a big club? Trophies or fan base

31-12-2014, 07:02 AM
How do you measure a big club? Trophies or fan base

It's not just trophies, it's also what kind of relationship you have with them. For example, having a special relationship with a cup means you're a big club.

PiemanP
31-12-2014, 08:03 AM
Pardew did a decent job at Newcastle with a very limited budget, he's best out that club as no matter what he does the fans will never warm to him. Newcastle fans have delusions of grandeur worse than the yams. Having been to a few games at St James' the atmosphere towards the team when losing can be really poisonous.

31-12-2014, 08:04 AM
It's not just trophies, it's also what kind of relationship you have with them. For example, having a special relationship with a cup means you're a big club.
Agree, for example you can have a very special relationship with an entire country if you have won a war for them or when you bump the taxpayers of that country, you rob every single one of them who does feel it's right to pay their way.