View Full Version : Greggs New Keeper ?

Baldy
24-12-2014, 09:41 PM
I've been told by a friend down south that Hibs and Sheffield Wednesday have been taking about us having Chris Kirkland on loan, He has fallen down the pecking order there and if they get a keeper in then Kirkland will be allowed to leave on loan and Hibs are being muted as a destination

24-12-2014, 09:45 PM
I've been told by a friend down south that Hibs and Sheffield Wednesday have been taking about us having Chris Kirkland on loan, He has fallen down the pecking order there and if they get a keeper in then Kirkland will be allowed to leave on loan and Hibs are being muted as a destination

Can we swap him for Oxley or would Hull be a bit miffed? :greengrin

24-12-2014, 09:55 PM

I dont know about new keepers but I like the style of our ex keeper.

24-12-2014, 10:03 PM

I dont know about new keepers but I like the style of our ex keeper.

24-12-2014, 10:05 PM

He wasn't the best John but he's one of us :greengrin

24-12-2014, 10:06 PM

24-12-2014, 10:10 PM

Yes please.

If it wasn't for injuries Kirkland would have had a far better career imo.

24-12-2014, 10:38 PM
Seems a bit random.

I would say its pish.

However... IF its an option then i would say grab it with both hands. Look at the Leighton situation 20ish years ago. Reserve keeper at Dundee, team bus forgot to pick him up for some game against Stranraer or something... Comes to Hibs, finds form, Scotland keeper at France 98!

As someones tag line on this forum goes.. Form is temporary, Class is permanent

portycabbage
24-12-2014, 10:41 PM

I can think of a fair few worse though!

24-12-2014, 10:56 PM

Loved Him when I was a Kid.. But Watched A.G. have the odd few Howlers... And I Missed His Goal As well..

24-12-2014, 10:56 PM

Ain't that the truth :greengrin

gegs70
25-12-2014, 12:39 AM
Oxley was only a 6 month loan?

25-12-2014, 01:09 AM
Was a superb keeper but injuries have blighted his career, can he stay fit enough is the question i'd ask?

25-12-2014, 02:25 AM
It's a no from me. I don't like keepers who wear hats when playing ;)

25-12-2014, 08:01 AM
Yes please.

If it wasn't for injuries Kirkland would have had a far better career imo.

Those injuries will eventually catch up with him though, got to think it'd effect his mobility if he's had op after op over a long period of time. If he's now down the pecking order at a fairly average championship side I'd think that time has possibly come.

That said I've no idea what his injuries were, if he just kept on stubbing his finger I'm guessing that wouldn't be a problem.

25-12-2014, 08:21 AM
I think he's the lad that won his dad a huge bet when he played for England. His dad had backed him at big odds to win a cap when he was about ten.

25-12-2014, 09:53 AM
He played for england at 10? He must have been good

25-12-2014, 10:35 AM
He played for england at 10? He must have been good

I've said for years & I'm sure Blackpool has as well that there are dozens of keepers in England who are 2nd or 3rd choice for their clubs who would do us a turn. We have Oxley at present, he's decent but not a world beater, Sevco have Simonsen, much the same applies but he went for crazy money earlier in his career. The main problem is cash but if someone is 30+ or looking to re-build their career then a move to Edinburgh is a possibility. I'm sure AS has a keeper as a priority & if Kirkland came I'd be delighted.

25-12-2014, 10:51 AM
I think he's the lad that won his dad a huge bet when he played for England. His dad had backed him at big odds to win a cap when he was about ten.

He won eight caps with the England under-21 team and was regularly selected for the senior squad from 2003 onwards,[5] but did not make an appearance until he came on as a substitute for the second half of a friendly against Greece in August 2006. When Kirkland was eleven years old, his father and some family friends had placed bets of £100 each at 100/1 odds that he would play for England before the age of thirty.[27] Kirkland's appearance netted the syndicate £10,000 each.:wink:

25-12-2014, 10:58 AM
I'd be quite happy with this. Very experienced.

25-12-2014, 11:20 AM
Is this not the boy that gets struck with paralysis type symptoms that completely rule him out, rather than being prone to injuries?

25-12-2014, 11:51 PM
No thanks unless his many injury problems are behind him.

26-12-2014, 08:26 AM
He won eight caps with the England under-21 team and was regularly selected for the senior squad from 2003 onwards,[5] but did not make an appearance until he came on as a substitute for the second half of a friendly against Greece in August 2006. When Kirkland was eleven years old, his father and some family friends had placed bets of £100 each at 100/1 odds that he would play for England before the age of thirty.[27] Kirkland's appearance netted the syndicate £10,000 each.:wink:

Bet he couldnae stop one of your pens though Ronnie :wink: :greengrin

26-12-2014, 09:30 AM
Is this not the boy that gets struck with paralysis type symptoms that completely rule him out, rather than being prone to injuries?

We've had a few keepers with they symptoms when playing at the PBS. 😞

Nomeancity
26-12-2014, 11:30 AM
I'd like to get a keeper who is here to stay. I'm probably just imagining this but I feel over the last few years we have had keepers who were just passing through.
I can remember thinking a good few years ago now that no matter how bad we were, we always had good keepers,
Rough
Goram
Leighton
Budgie

After that it was just a bunch of numpties.

who was before Rough.

Bukta#8
26-12-2014, 11:32 AM
Jim McArthur before him supermike

Nomeancity
26-12-2014, 11:38 AM
Jim McArthur before him supermike

Was there not a period when these 2 took turns, seem to remember turning up at games wondering if super mike was going to get a game or not. ( and hoping he didn't)
jim mcarthur - another unsung hibs hero.