View Full Version : Salvation Army tv appeal
24-12-2014, 10:53 AM
Whilst I realise its a good cause I can't help thinking asking for donations of £19 is pushing it a bit.
Thoughts?
24-12-2014, 11:31 AM
Whilst I realise its a good cause I can't help thinking asking for donations of £19 is pushing it a bit.
Thoughts?
Aye it does seem a bit steep compared to the usual £5 folk ask for ... I suppose if you get one person giving £19 its better than 3 giving a fiver. I've got a lot of time for the Sally Army mind you.
I have no problem with giving to charity, but I have to say that being a retired person and watching a lot of telly these days it does seem that there is a never ending bombardment of charity ads ..... even for a soft touch like me it does get a bit wearing. Some of the stuff puzzles me a bit and I sincerely am not trying to be controversial, in fact I'm probably about to show my ignorance, but here goes.
Why do people who have lived in arid conditions for millennia need help from the likes of me to dig a well for water?
If the water they do have is teeming with bacteria and parasites why after thousands of years have folk not learned to boil it first? In all the ads they always scoop it directly from the pool and drink it.
My pals daughter volunteered in Vietnam a few years back, she was building paths in the jungle. Why the hell would a nation who built a thousand mile long two lane road, with connecting roads every mile or so, with little more than picks & shovels, and keep it open for years under constant attack need help building paths?
24-12-2014, 11:40 AM
I think people do become immune to the constant broadcasting from all the different charities. The appeal about the wee deaf/blind kids from SENSE does bring a wee tear to my eyes though.
24-12-2014, 12:01 PM
I think people do become immune to the constant broadcasting from all the different charities. The appeal about the wee deaf/blind kids from SENSE does bring a wee tear to my eyes though.
Me too ... gave a fiver last year to that one, if you cant be moved by that ad you have to be made of stone.
24-12-2014, 12:35 PM
Interesting on the PM board we have 3 different charities, all good causes looking for support. At this time of year we do seem to get asked to dig a bit deeper to help the less fortunate in our world. But I do think the Sally Army are pushing it asking for £19. I'd rather give to 3 than 1 charity but I'm sure they know what they're doing. Does any remember them coming round the pubs trying to sell their paper?
The whole begging on TV and social media turned me off all that sort of stuff ages ago.
NAE NOOKIE makes a good point that probably has parallels elsewhere. Not that fussed about animals either.
Jack Stoneheart.
24-12-2014, 03:39 PM
I always try to give a wee something to smaller charities at this time of year as having worked for one myself I know how much they struggle as folk have to tighten the purse strings. Big charities spend a lot of time, and money, on adverts with big agencies with the intention of tugging on the heart strings. That's not a slight on them as they do good work but the likes of Oxfam, Water Aid, Cancer Research UK etc turn over millions of pounds a year. They are the corporate giants of the charity world.
I always give the Edinburgh Dog and Cat Home at Seafield a box filled with food and toys and a small cash donation just before Christmas. I got my dog from there 3 years ago and, sad as it may sound, he is my best pal in the world so I like to give them a wee something. This year I also bought one of those Itison deals to give a homeless person Christmas dinner and I always get my girlfriend a charity gift as an extra. Last year I adopted a donkey, this year I made a donation to Fresh Start an Edinburgh charity who work with local homeless people.
At times like Christmas I appreciate how lucky I am to have a job, a home and a great family and friends so always like to give a very small something back.
24-12-2014, 05:18 PM
The whole begging on TV and social media turned me off all that sort of stuff ages ago.
NAE NOOKIE makes a good point that probably has parallels elsewhere. Not that fussed about animals either.
Jack Stoneheart.
Just to be clear ........ I am overwhelmed because I want to give to them all coz they are all deserving causes. I am not suggesting folk should be put off giving.
24-12-2014, 06:01 PM
I think a lot of people HAVE been put off giving to bigger charities - there was a lot of discontent voiced during the ALS campaign that went around last year and while they were raking in millions of pounds more than usual, smaller charities continued to struggle.
When these fads emerge, people get swept up into them and donate there, taking away from the smaller charities they might have given to in other times during the year.
I give a set amount to some select charities every month, most of them are smaller ones that are closer to my heart. The widespread advertising, whilst I understand the necessity, seems to be getting worse as more charities and more global problems are targetted by charitable solutions. I also find it particularly difficult going to the supermarket/shops at the moment and every day it's a different charity/cause with collection buckets...
To me, £19 seems a ridiculously high amount to ask of people in a 'cold' setting but I do agree that the Sally Army do a lot of great work and are a very worthy charitable cause (even though I disagree vehemently with their religious setting).
bobbyhibs1983
24-12-2014, 07:56 PM
. The appeal about the wee deaf/blind kids from SENSE does bring a wee tear to my eyes though.
I feel the same with regards this advert and i truely wish i could help.Like alof of people im sure we d like to help every charity and most are pretty good causes, but money is tight for most of us .
I often say to my family, well my parents, brother and sister that instead of presents,(we are lder than 10 by the way !) we should spend say £50, and give it to a charity. with us picking a different charity.That way a few differnet charities get some money(abeit a small amount) and we, get the knowledge that we have hopefully(in a little way) tried to inprove the world
A lil off topic prehaps but i hope the charities whom appeal on tv dont get charged money for advertising, it would be a shame if thaey did!
26-12-2014, 09:56 PM
The small percentage of your donation that actually reaches the cause concerns me. I prefer a donation directly towards a target for equipment or trip for surgery etc.
27-12-2014, 07:55 AM
The small percentage of your donation that actually reaches the cause concerns me. I prefer a donation directly towards a target for equipment or trip for surgery etc.
Its scary how little actually goes towards anything, my sister worked for a charity abroad and they advised to do the same as you have done, in uganda for example, the government there take a % of the money given to the charity
27-12-2014, 08:18 AM
I refuse to be made to feel guilty by the constant tugging at the heart strings from the charity industry. Like many I remember when volunteers stood on street corners with a collection tin looking for spare change. Nowadays paid collectors try to get you to sign up to direct debits for the most random of causes. If you do sign up they pass on your details and you are bombarded with pleading phone calls. I do give to one charity by deduction from pay as that's the most efficient way for me and the organisation. However, I'd rather the government put 1p on income tax and took responsibility for charity funding.