View Full Version : Official Site: BOARD NOMINATIONS UPDATE
22-12-2014, 07:47 PM
A chance to have a say means no change whatsoever in my opinion.
The Boards - like this - I was involved with were changed on three occasions when the Companies were sold because we could not agree a position going forward.
A duty of care - to the Company - is significantly diminished when you are in the minority and you are constantly defeated in voting which is what I expect to happen here.
If you are constantly of a different opinion to the rest of the board then you need to consider why. If you don't agree fundamentally with all the actions undertaken by the board you are part of then you need to leave.
22-12-2014, 08:05 PM
I really can't be funked reading all of those statements. There is quite a lot of words there, so I'll probably just vote for the one candidate I know who is wee kevin fae patheid, he's a boring wee **** but his heart is in the right place and I have seen first hand the good work he has done for hibs over the last 12 months with the school / army tickets and Pat Stantons birthday celebrations.
I'm sure there are quite a few good candidates on the list though so apologies for not bothering to read through your statements but I'm a lazy prick that way.
Thats about all I have to say about that, thank you for taking the time to read my post.
Weststandwanab
22-12-2014, 09:00 PM
If you are constantly of a different opinion to the rest of the board then you need to consider why. If you don't agree fundamentally with all the actions undertaken by the board you are part of then you need to leave.
I was and I did half of my fellow Board members were ..... a sandwich short of a picnic
I did not agree and manoeuvred the sale of the Companies which, in hindsight, proved correct
22-12-2014, 10:06 PM
Not sure why the fans rep must come from Leith or have a business background. I'm looking to support a candidate who has a working class background and is not a senior manager or businessman. I like the updates on here on people who know the candidates. Still not sure I'll go for
22-12-2014, 10:15 PM
On another note, the only one I know personally is Pat Heid and I would certainly vouch for him being someone who would do an excellent job.
Sauzee07
22-12-2014, 11:37 PM
I can also vouch for PatHead aka Kevin Martin. He's done tremendous work with LWT, making many business and personal sacrifices along the way. It's no surprise to those that know him, but he'd do anything to further the Hibernian cause. If he needs to challenge the board to achieve this, he absolutely will. I have no doubt about that.
I know that Kevin would communicate openly and listen to the views of all corners of our support. He knows that the responsibility of this role is immense, and we can place our faith in him to help drive real change.
For the fan representative board appointments to work, we need guys like Kevin in there, shouting our cause.
I'm biased, as Kevin is a close friend, but he is absolutely the right man for this role IMO.
23-12-2014, 03:49 AM
I've known Frank Dougan for about 35 years through following Hibs, and while just like the rest of us he is not a perfect human being and has his faults, Nobody can argue he would have Hibs best interests at heart.
When I come back I see him at every game I go to, even at Kilmarnock in freezing conditions a couple of years back at an end of season midweek game.
While to some he comes across as loud and brash, as the saying goes, he's no as silly as he looks.
We're not as close as we once were, and I dinnae even get a vote, but if I did Frank would definitely get mine.
I'm aware of the years of service he has given the Hibsclub and that counts for something in my eyes too.
That's not meant to say that any of the other candidates don't have Hibs best interests at heart either, but I know Frank, and I guess at the end of the day, I trust him to do the right thing for us.
Weststandwanab
23-12-2014, 06:10 AM
So are you saying that we shouldn't bother, because it's a futile exercise?
CWG I think I am coming to that conclusion.
I just find it hard to believe that by appointing a further two directors – to represent the views of the fans – that the Club is suddenly going to change and for the better.
Let us suppose for a second that these two directors are heard on the board but there ius no substantive change in the team or Club’s fortunes, what then ?
Do not get me wrong I think it has to be tried but I am sceptical and I am a glass half full type of guy.
23-12-2014, 06:33 AM
CWG I think I am coming to that conclusion.
I just find it hard to believe that by appointing a further two directors – to represent the views of the fans – that the Club is suddenly going to change and for the better.
Let us suppose for a second that these two directors are heard on the board but there ius no substantive change in the team or Club’s fortunes, what then ?
Do not get me wrong I think it has to be tried but I am sceptical and I am a glass half full type of guy.
Do you not think that things have improved already, and that the appointment of 2 "fan" reps is just another step along the way?
Weststandwanab
23-12-2014, 06:45 AM
Do you not think that things have improved already, and that the appointment of 2 "fan" reps is just another step along the way?
I do but also feel that the Board have done what they have because they have been forced to act following the position the Club were in during the summer.
I do not feel the Board have acted because they wanted to do so or because they think it is a positive step.
I hope I am wrong and wait to see progress.
23-12-2014, 06:59 AM
I've known Frank Dougan for about 35 years through following Hibs, and while just like the rest of us he is not a perfect human being and has his faults, Nobody can argue he would have Hibs best interests at heart.
When I come back I see him at every game I go to, even at Kilmarnock in freezing conditions a couple of years back at an end of season midweek game.
While to some he comes across as loud and brash, as the saying goes, he's no as silly as he looks.
We're not as close as we once were, and I dinnae even get a vote, but if I did Frank would definitely get mine.
I'm aware of the years of service he has given the Hibsclub and that counts for something in my eyes too.
That's not meant to say that any of the other candidates don't have Hibs best interests at heart either, but I know Frank, and I guess at the end of the day, I trust him to do the right thing for us.
Had the misfortune of sitting next to him at St Mirren a few years back. Likes the sound of his own voice too much as far as I am concerned.
23-12-2014, 07:14 AM
I do but also feel that the Board have done what they have because they have been forced to act following the position the Club were in during the summer.
I do not feel the Board have acted because they wanted to do so or because they think it is a positive step.
I hope I am wrong and wait to see progress.
LD said that she was initially approached by Hibs back in February or March. I think that the board were proactive in this instance.
23-12-2014, 07:24 AM
Not sure why the fans rep must come from Leith or have a business background. I'm looking to support a candidate who has a working class background and is not a senior manager or businessman. I like the updates on here on people who know the candidates. Still not sure I'll go for
Are 'business background' and 'working class background' mutually exclusive? Is it not possible for a senior manager to have been born in Leith, come from a working clas background and been successful in their chosen carreeer?
Certainly, the candidate that I am slightly familiar with fits all of those criteria.
23-12-2014, 07:48 AM
Had the misfortune of sitting next to him at St Mirren a few years back. Likes the sound of his own voice too much as far as I am concerned.
But don't we all?
23-12-2014, 07:51 AM
Just "sell" the seats on the board for a million pounds each. Am sure AS could use this cash.
Weststandwanab
23-12-2014, 07:54 AM
LD said that she was initially approached by Hibs back in February or March. I think that the board were proactive in this instance.
LD was very positive but it is not her appointment that I am sceptical about it is if these two fan “directors” will actually be allowed to achieve or even influence anything.
23-12-2014, 08:02 AM
That's the impression I get from him as well.
Whoever wins needs to remember they have 2 ears and 1 mouth.
23-12-2014, 08:03 AM
LD was very positive but it is not her appointment that I am sceptical about it is if these two fan “directors” will actually be allowed to achieve or even influence anything.
A lot of that depends on the performance of the directors who are appointed...if they work together and find a way to get an aligned voice from the fans to the board - it will be pretty difficult for them not be heard ...if they work separately and don't find a way of bringing a shared voice to the board - then I suspect they will have a. Ineffective stint ...
23-12-2014, 08:05 AM
Are 'business background' and 'working class background' mutually exclusive? Is it not possible for a senior manager to have been born in Leith, come from a working clas background and been successful in their chosen carreeer?
Certainly, the candidate that I am slightly familiar with fits all of those criteria.
Of course your correct that it's not mutually exclusive to be from any segment of society. The point I was trying to make is there are already businessmen and woman on the board. I'm looking for a ordinary fan to stand up for ordinary fans in the boardroom. The comment about not being from Leith was in response to another poster who said the person must be from Leith
23-12-2014, 08:28 AM
A lot of that depends on the performance of the directors who are appointed...if they work together and find a way to get an aligned voice from the fans to the board - it will be pretty difficult for them not be heard ...if they work separately and don't find a way of bringing a shared voice to the board - then I suspect they will have a. Ineffective stint ...
When LD first spoke of appointing supporters to the board, she was clear that it wouldn't happen of they were there just for the sake of being there - they had to have clearly defined roles and bring something to the table.
I'm a member of a cultural association with around 250 members of all ages (from 7 - 70). It is run by a committee of 15 (I'm currently the treasurer). The group's statutes state that at least one third of the committe has to be re-elected each year and we always encourage younger members (18+) to put themselves forward because we are genuinely interested in their opinions and ideas.
I would hope that the current Hibs initiative is being taken in a similar spirit.
23-12-2014, 08:34 AM
Im getting confused between 'this board' and 'the Board'… :confused:
I am not a season ticket holder, but was last year, so from the HFC website I believe that I still have a vote (?)
Im reading a lot of stuff, and Im still trying to work out what type of people will best complement the current HFC Board.
I don't know any of them but am sure quite a few of the candidates would do a great job.
To cover my bets I am leaning towards
One socially dynamic person with the energy to engage with fans/club
One business savvy chap capable of understanding where all the money goes and why...
23-12-2014, 09:40 AM
When LD first spoke of appointing supporters to the board, she was clear that it wouldn't happen of they were there just for the sake of being there - they had to have clearly defined roles and bring something to the table.
I'm a member of a cultural association with around 250 members of all ages (from 7 - 70). It is run by a committee of 15 (I'm currently the treasurer). The group's statutes state that at least one third of the committe has to be re-elected each year and we always encourage younger members (18+) to put themselves forward because we are genuinely interested in their opinions and ideas.
I would hope that the current Hibs initiative is being taken in a similar spirit.
Sounds a good model to me .... Real community spirit ..
One socially dynamic person with the energy to engage with fans/club
One business savvy chap capable of understanding where all the money goes and why...
Could a potential candidate not be both :wink:
23-12-2014, 11:01 AM
Question , are you Pat Head or are you from Pathead ?
Kept on getting mail mis-addressed with 1 h instead of Pathhead. That was why I chose my user name
23-12-2014, 11:05 AM
I really can't be funked reading all of those statements. There is quite a lot of words there, so I'll probably just vote for the one candidate I know who is wee kevin fae patheid, he's a boring wee **** but his heart is in the right place and I have seen first hand the good work he has done for hibs over the last 12 months with the school / army tickets and Pat Stantons birthday celebrations.
I'm sure there are quite a few good candidates on the list though so apologies for not bothering to read through your statements but I'm a lazy prick that way.
Thats about all I have to say about that, thank you for taking the time to read my post.
Thanks
23-12-2014, 11:06 AM
I can also vouch for PatHead aka Kevin Martin. He's done tremendous work with LWT, making many business and personal sacrifices along the way. It's no surprise to those that know him, but he'd do anything to further the Hibernian cause. If he needs to challenge the board to achieve this, he absolutely will. I have no doubt about that.
I know that Kevin would communicate openly and listen to the views of all corners of our support. He knows that the responsibility of this role is immense, and we can place our faith in him to help drive real change.
For the fan representative board appointments to work, we need guys like Kevin in there, shouting our cause.
I'm biased, as Kevin is a close friend, but he is absolutely the right man for this role IMO.
Thanks very much. Nice to be appreciated.
23-12-2014, 11:13 AM
I will be honest about this and say that if I thought I was just to be a patsy on the Board I would resign or probably not stand at all.
Over the past couple of years I have gotten to know a number of the Directors and believe they will welcome suggested courses of action from supporters. When doing projects they have made a number of changes taking into account others thoughts.
We will only find out once the scheme is up and running. I think it is an exciting development in the club.
GeorgieH
23-12-2014, 11:34 AM
How's things? I'm George Henry, one of the candidates for the fans representation on the board. I wanted to introduce myself to everyone and whilst I'm new to .net from a posting point of view, I regularly read the forum pages.
I'm a regular at all home & away games and have been for many years.
I've attached a link to my profile on the site just in case you've not read it as yet.
http://hibernianconsultation.co.uk/tablet/george-henry.html
I'm happy to answer any questions that anyone may have
Cheers G
Gerard
23-12-2014, 11:42 AM
If elected as a director I will do everything I can to see that our fans have a route to see that their concerns are made known to the Hibs BODs. I have been on many committees and know how committees work and know how to be effective when serving on a committee. I have chaired committees and served as a secretary to them. As many of the people who have seen me on committees know I will ask the difficult questions that need to be asked.
When these elections end we will have 2 new directors who will be focussed on making sure that the fans' opinions are heard by the Hibs BODs. The winds of change are getting stronger and we live in exciting times for our club.:wink:
23-12-2014, 11:52 AM
I think at least 3 of those candidates are members on here, there's probably more.
It has to be up to them if they want to 'unmask' themselves. It's not really fair for other people to name them.
Unmasked - my photo is now on the Profiles page. Don't eat before you view though! (Kevin Martin)
23-12-2014, 12:33 PM
Unmasked - my photo is now on the Profiles page. Don't eat before you view though! (Kevin Martin)
Pat(slap)Head :tee hee:
23-12-2014, 12:43 PM
You've been on the Dalkeith and Bonnyrigg bus a few times i'm sure? :greengrin
Boris
23-12-2014, 01:30 PM
This alleged incident with Frank Dougan in Athens. As the admin guy (Mikey) on here said earlier in this thread nothing was "proved" when it was discussed at the time - didni even know he was on trial like. But I remember a similar allegation against him in a later European game - in the Intertoto Cup, think it might have been Latvia. Again he was accussed of snaffling a load of free programmes. I can't mind all the details but I can mind defending him back then cos it wasn't him, it was me!!! And it was the day before the game, they weren't free & I'd arranged to pick them up with the club by email to bring back as ordered for a couple of Hibs programme dealers (think it was for Rikki Raginia & Brian Johnstone). I did get a drink out of it by the way!
Just I'm disgusted by what seems to be a personal attack on Frank when the facts of what may or may not have happened seemed obscure at best. I was at AEK both times but was still in the wars outside (their bampot Bin Landen supporters then the Greek polis) when the free proggies were given out. Think somebody gave me one on the plane coming back (defo wisni Frank tho!).
I'll be up front here. I consider Frank to be a close personal friend. There are times when I could happilyy strangle him when he goes off on one or gets on his high horse but then I remember the times he's went to great lengths on my behalf both on Hibs-related & personal matters since I moved back to Edinburgh about 12 years ago & particularly when I've had a couple of dodgy health episodes. Frank is the type of mate that is there for you when you most need it & doesn't expect anything in return. And I know for a fact that there's many a person can say that through knowing him via the Suporters Association, the church, etc. He's one of the good guys. If he has one major fault its that he loves the Hibs too much & that can come across in being a wee bit over the top in his passion at times which can come across as ranting & raving. Cut him in half tho & it would be "HIBERNIAN" written thru like a stick of Blackpool rock (nae irony intended given his main attacker here!).
Would he do a good job as a Hibs Director. I'd stake my life on it - aye. He'd put Hibs & Hibs fans first - no personal agenda - and he would walk if it was just a PR exercise.
Just wanted to say what I've said cos where I come from you stick up for yir mates when they're under attack. Whatever it takes. Just to make it clear though, this ain't no "Vote For Frank" propaganda exercise. As I've told him, I won't be voting for him or anybody else. I'm sure most, maybe all, of the 17 candidates are in it for the right reasons but my own personal stance is that nobody should stand while Rod Petrie (and his spin doctor Forsyth) are anywhere near Hibernian FC. You can't have the depth of feeling that resulted in the car park protest then turn round & work with Petrie. But there you go - that's the fragmented nature of the Hibs support.
Merry Xmas - Frankie is Innocent!!!!
Pic now up! Be kind...!
:duck:
23-12-2014, 01:35 PM
You've been on the Dalkeith and Bonnyrigg bus a few times i'm sure? :greengrin
Just a couple of times. Know Kevin and Gordon Flynn and Sammy as my wife is their cousin.
The Ayr trip was epic a couple of seasons ago. :-).
I asked someone on the train back on Saturday if they were you and they were offended
23-12-2014, 01:36 PM
Pat(slap)Head :tee hee:
Cheeky *******
Warned you I wasn't pretty..............
23-12-2014, 01:38 PM
Cheeky *******
Warned you I wasn't pretty..............
23-12-2014, 04:11 PM
Just a couple of times. Know Kevin and Gordon Flynn and Sammy as my wife is their cousin.
The Ayr trip was epic a couple of seasons ago. :-).
I asked someone on the train back on Saturday if they were you and they were offended
Sammy is one of my dad's good mates.
The Ayr trip was class.
Us offended :greengrin
23-12-2014, 04:55 PM
What are the prospective candidates going to do with their Season ticket books if they are elected and get a seat in the directors box?:cb
23-12-2014, 04:58 PM
What are the prospective candidates going to do with their Season ticket books if they are elected and get a seat in the directors box?:cb
Ronnie, don't think its such a daft question. Every non exec should have to pay for their seat each week anyway. When DM owned Rangers, every director had to pay for his seat at each home game.
Not sure I'd want to sit in the directors box each week anyway, rather sit with my friends and family
One has already answered. He'll use it instead of ssitting in the box.
23-12-2014, 05:03 PM
:aok: I've missed that...Who was it to save me trolling through the whole thread again:wink:
Frank Dougan.
23-12-2014, 05:09 PM
Frank Dougan.
Thank you:aok:
23-12-2014, 05:11 PM
he's posted on this thread?
No, it's in his profile.
23-12-2014, 05:14 PM
No, it's in his profile.
Thanks, thought I'd missed something on here
23-12-2014, 05:14 PM
Frank Dougan.
Ah bugger. He'll still be just along from me then. That was the only reason he was getting my vote 😃
Martinwillis
23-12-2014, 05:26 PM
That's voting open folks via the official site. I would be so grateful if anyone would consider sending a vote my way. I would work so hard for the support and be contactable instantly via twitter. I have already said that I would continue to buy a season ticket and use it as much as I am allowed to - I know there are time when the candidate will have to represent the board from the box. On these occasions I would hand my season ticket over to the Hibernian community foundation.
Prawn sarnies has never been my style though... Would hopefully be able to argue the case for better catering so I can continue to enjoy the match from my usual spot!
i think one of the top priorities for fans has to be that the club gets the season ticket pricing right. It has to be affordable and offer value for money - but also be priced in a way that the club are able to run promotions that make games attractive to walk up support too.
MARTIN
@mrmartinwillis
23-12-2014, 05:31 PM
One point for me, I won't be voting for anyone who does not put his or her picture on the website, just a personal thing but I want to see who I am voting for
Leith Mo
23-12-2014, 05:32 PM
Hello to everyone on here and apologies for not having been on this thread so far due to holidays. My name is Morris McBrierty and I'm one of the 17 candidates for your vote. My statement summarises my Leith, Hibs, community and business background and what I think is important for the role. The first thing that is important is that whoever is elected has your support behind them in what all of us know will at times be a difficult task. As I said in my statement if I am unsuccessful I would try to do my best to get behind our representatives.II've met some of the candidates and like myself believe that they have Hibs and not personal interest as their sole motive. There is understandably some cynicism about this process and whether these roles will make a difference in having any real authority. I believe that they will otherwise I would not be a candidate. However I am used to influencing decisions in the absence of authority should that be needed and can assure you of my commitment to ensuring that the voice of as many fellow Hibs fans as possible has a real influence.
Have a very happy Christmas and I hope you will consider giving me your vote. I'll check in on the forum regularly (limited access at the moment) and will happily answer any questions you may have. Thanks again. Morris
Boris
23-12-2014, 05:34 PM
Frank Dougan.
Aye but if allegations on here are true he'd nick aw the free proggies oot the Directors Box first.............................:greengrin
23-12-2014, 06:51 PM
Pic now up! Be kind...!
:duck:
You never told me you owned a suit? :greengrin
23-12-2014, 06:53 PM
Who said he "Owned" it:greengrin
andrew70
23-12-2014, 06:55 PM
Hi guys I am Andrew Jeffrey and firstly i'd like to apologise for a lack of communication since my statement went up. Unfortunately my grandad passed away so I've been pre-occupied with other things as you can imagine.
Anyway as I emphasised in my statement the business, football and financial backgrounds of other candidates may well be of more use to the club and to you the supporters however I'd like to think I could bring something else to the club.
I would like to express my very best wishes to every candidate but here's why I think I can bring something to this role.
TIME
I work in Edinburgh, based at Charlotte Square and after work, I finish no later than 5.30pm each day, whether it be monthly, weekly or even daily to begin with I would meet with Hibs fans to find out exactly what it is they want. I am not doing this for any personal benefit but I would love to have the opportunity to give the club my time and hopefully help to make us proud of our club for all the right reasons.
I've stated my preferences and the way I'd like to see things go but one thing we have to remember, no matter who is elected, is that we are all in this together.
I'd like to think that despite not too many of you knowing me directly or in many cases not at all that I will still stand a chance to make a difference to this club for both you and I. I attend all matches, both home and away, if elected I would also continue to purchase a season ticket and sponsorship of a player each season. The benefits of this role should be in making it a success not in remuneration, whether it be prawn sarnies, comfy seats or free tickets.
I will also email the club a picture as soon as I can, I did send one with my statement but it wasn't the right resolution. Apologies for not having done so before now but as I said other things took precedence.
Please feel free to ask me any questions that you like and I will look to answer as quickly as possible.
All the best
Andrew
Ha ha! There was me worrying about getting pelters for my mug!
Or is that yet to come?!
Who said he "Owned" it:greengrin
Borrowed it from a few guys I know that own a morgue ;-)
23-12-2014, 07:33 PM
Ronnie, don't think its such a daft question. Every non exec should have to pay for their seat each week anyway. When DM owned Rangers, every director had to pay for his seat at each home game.
Not sure I'd want to sit in the directors box each week anyway, rather sit with my friends and family
They don't get paid so wouldn't grudge a non exec a fee seat each week.
I would also rather they were there playing a full part in the meet and greet and influencing on match day. You either join the board and act like a board member or not for me.
I would also rather they were there playing a full part in the meet and greet and influencing on match day.
Wholeheartedly agree with this.
andrew70
23-12-2014, 07:49 PM
They don't get paid so wouldn't grudge a non exec a fee seat each week.
I would also rather they were there playing a full part in the meet and greet and influencing on match day. You either join the board and act like a board member or not for me.
Understand what you are saying but should the Fans Rep be meeting and greeting with other directors from other clubs or should they be mixing with the people they are representing. I.e. Sitting in beside his fellow fans? This was something that was brought up at the meeting I attended with regards to the role. I think I would opt for a mix of both personally.
23-12-2014, 07:54 PM
Understand what you are saying but should the Fans Rep be meeting and greeting with other directors from other clubs or should they be mixing with the people they are representing. I.e. Sitting in beside his fellow fans? This was something that was brought up at the meeting I attended with regards to the role. I think I would opt for a mix of both personally.
:agree: No reason why you can't be in behind the goals one week to the HSA the next, and then even out into the local boozers. You could spend some time with the people you are to represent, and make it to the boardroom for 2.15:taxi
Argylehibby
23-12-2014, 08:10 PM
I've read a number of posts on the thread giving support to a few of the candidates and reckon it's time to chip in a few words for Robert Johnston.
I've known Rab for many years, went to games with him as far back as the 70's and he is IMHO a worthy candidate for the role. His statement on the official page is 100% spot on and he will I have no doubt put his and our opinions across at meetings in a constructive and highly professional manner. I worked with him in the 70's before he moved onwards and upwards in the finance industry. I can vouch first hand for his professionalism, attention to detail and willingness to point out where you could do things differently and better!
It won't be an easy role to fill and it will be a tough ask for any one person to find the consensus of the entire Hibs fan base and put that across on our behalf. Rab I have no doubt will do that well. The successful applicants will not please everyone every time. Years of officiating in the premier league confirm he has a thick skin and more importantly can handle pressure situations.
My one concern when the club suggested the fans rep on the Board was that in the end it would boil down to who had the most mates combined with the most posts on here or the bounce yet here I am advocating one of my mates. Trust me if I didn't think he could do the job justice I wouldn't be posting this, the club is way too important to elect someone just because they you know them.
Good luck to all of the guys and girl who have put their name forward, hopefully the 2 best candidates get the gig.
23-12-2014, 08:49 PM
Still buy my season ticket.
23-12-2014, 08:55 PM
All those nominees who have posted in this thread so far come across well, IMO, and for those of use who don't know any of the candidates personally it won't be an easy decision. I'm sure the successful candidates will do an excellent job.
23-12-2014, 08:55 PM
Think it is important to speak to other club's directors as you might learn how other clubs do things. I would also invite guests into the Board room if they could add to our knowledge. Prior/post matches I would go to BTG or the Supporters Club.
23-12-2014, 10:25 PM
I've read a number of posts on the thread giving support to a few of the candidates and reckon it's time to chip in a few words for Robert Johnston.
I've known Rab for many years, went to games with him as far back as the 70's and he is IMHO a worthy candidate for the role. His statement on the official page is 100% spot on and he will I have no doubt put his and our opinions across at meetings in a constructive and highly professional manner. I worked with him in the 70's before he moved onwards and upwards in the finance industry. I can vouch first hand for his professionalism, attention to detail and willingness to point out where you could do things differently and better!
It won't be an easy role to fill and it will be a tough ask for any one person to find the consensus of the entire Hibs fan base and put that across on our behalf. Rab I have no doubt will do that well. The successful applicants will not please everyone every time. Years of officiating in the premier league confirm he has a thick skin and more importantly can handle pressure situations.
My one concern when the club suggested the fans rep on the Board was that in the end it would boil down to who had the most mates combined with the most posts on here or the bounce yet here I am advocating one of my mates. Trust me if I didn't think he could do the job justice I wouldn't be posting this, the club is way too important to elect someone just because they you know them.
Good luck to all of the guys and girl who have put their name forward, hopefully the 2 best candidates get the gig.
He mentioned he was a ref and linesman and mentioned he gave a pen for Hibs at Tynie. Can't remember too many was it the one in the 4 4 game which I think the linesman gave.
23-12-2014, 10:46 PM
I'll be voting for Kevin "Pathead" Martin. I can vouch for him being 100% Hibs which given that his brothers are all die-hard Arabs has not always been easy! He can even claim Hibs first ever captain, Michael Whelehan, as a relative. Kevin already does a lot of voluntary work for Hibs and has a good working relationship with the board.
He also has a vast amount of experience in the financial sector which will be vital for any board member in the immediate future given how tight money is in Scottish football and in the fans' pockets.
I'm lucky in that I know 4 of the candidates so feel I can make a bit of an informed choice. The other 3 I know would I'm sure be great board members but I'm more likely to get a pint off Kev if he wins so I'll be voting for him :wink: Any other candidates want to raise the stakes to 2 pints :greengrin
Argylehibby
24-12-2014, 07:25 AM
He mentioned he was a ref and linesman and mentioned he gave a pen for Hibs at Tynie. Can't remember too many was it the one in the 4 4 game which I think the linesman gave.
Yes it was, I was in the stand screaming at the ref for a penalty, turned round to give a few words of wisdom to Rab too when I saw him standing at the corner flag, flag across the chest and started celebrating a derby win a tad too early.
24-12-2014, 07:33 AM
Yes it was, I was in the stand screaming at the ref for a penalty, turned round to give a few words of wisdom to Rab too when I saw him standing at the corner flag, flag across the chest and started celebrating a derby win a tad too early.
Yes was there also and Dougall I think it was didn't look like he was going to give it though Pressley had clearly handled it. Good for him. My biggest memory from that game apart from the obvious devastation at the end was a guy next to our group saying he had Hibs to win 4 2 at over a hundred to one.
gazelle
24-12-2014, 10:47 AM
now that the voting has started I just want to put another mention in for Geoff Ford. Geoff has been secretary of the perth branch now for a number of years and performed this task admirably.He is an honest and reliable family man who will give this 100%. I have had a look at all the candidates and as far as i can see most seem to be from the Edinburgh region.I still feel it is important to have a spokesman who represents all us supporters who stay out of town and if you are from the likes of Perth, stirling, tayside, fife etc i ask you to seriously think about having someone on the board who represents not only the Edinburgh region but us fans who stay out of town as well .so if you are still deciding who to vote for either with your first or second vote then give him a thought.
24-12-2014, 10:50 AM
now that the voting has started I just want to put another mention in for Geoff Ford. Geoff has been secretary of the perth branch now for a number of years and performed this task admirably.He is an honest and reliable family man who will give this 100%. I have had a look at all the candidates and as far as i can see most seem to be from the Edinburgh region.I still feel it is important to have a spokesman who represents all us supporters who stay out of town and if you are from the likes of Perth, stirling, tayside, fife etc i ask you to seriously think about having someone on the board who represents not only the Edinburgh region but us fans who stay out of town as well .so if you are still deciding who to vote for either with your first or second vote then give him a thought.
He has decided to put next to nothing in his profile though which was a poor choice.
24-12-2014, 10:59 AM
I'll be voting for Kevin "Pathead" Martin. I can vouch for him being 100% Hibs which given that his brothers are all die-hard Arabs has not always been easy! He can even claim Hibs first ever captain, Michael Whelehan, as a relative. Kevin already does a lot of voluntary work for Hibs and has a good working relationship with the board.
He also has a vast amount of experience in the financial sector which will be vital for any board member in the immediate future given how tight money is in Scottish football and in the fans' pockets.
I'm lucky in that I know 4 of the candidates so feel I can make a bit of an informed choice. The other 3 I know would I'm sure be great board members but I'm more likely to get a pint off Kev if he wins so I'll be voting for him :wink: Any other candidates want to raise the stakes to 2 pints :greengrin
Thanks very much Dave.
Yes indeedy. Mick Whelahan was my Gran's uncle and her mum used to knit socks for the team back in the day.
The story goes that when Hibs first won the Scottish Cup in 1887 it was kept on Mick Whelahan's window ledge in the Cowgate for the first night. Please no-one tell me otherwise as it would ruin an image I have had all my life!
gazelle
24-12-2014, 11:29 AM
He has decided to put next to nothing in his profile though which was a poor choice.
you are possibly correct but all the candidates were told to keep their statements as short and as brief as possible . He has perhaps went and took them to their word whereas others have decided to write a novel.
Hey Gazelle,
Nobody was told to keep their statements short. There was no word limit. It was just a recommendation given that, at that point, there may have been 40-odd personal statements.
It was really up to the individual to decide how long, short, detailed or concise they wanted their personal statement to be.
Hope that clears this up.
Cheers,
Amit
24-12-2014, 02:27 PM
Don't like that the voting makes you pick two candidates. I only wanted to vote for one person, but you must have two choices, so voted for someone I know nothing about, not ideal:rolleyes:
24-12-2014, 02:27 PM
This alleged incident with Frank Dougan in Athens. As the admin guy (Mikey) on here said earlier in this thread nothing was "proved" when it was discussed at the time - didni even know he was on trial like. But I remember a similar allegation against him in a later European game - in the Intertoto Cup, think it might have been Latvia. Again he was accussed of snaffling a load of free programmes. I can't mind all the details but I can mind defending him back then cos it wasn't him, it was me!!! And it was the day before the game, they weren't free & I'd arranged to pick them up with the club by email to bring back as ordered for a couple of Hibs programme dealers (think it was for Rikki Raginia & Brian Johnstone). I did get a drink out of it by the way!
Just I'm disgusted by what seems to be a personal attack on Frank when the facts of what may or may not have happened seemed obscure at best. I was at AEK both times but was still in the wars outside (their bampot Bin Landen supporters then the Greek polis) when the free proggies were given out. Think somebody gave me one on the plane coming back (defo wisni Frank tho!).
I'll be up front here. I consider Frank to be a close personal friend. There are times when I could happilyy strangle him when he goes off on one or gets on his high horse but then I remember the times he's went to great lengths on my behalf both on Hibs-related & personal matters since I moved back to Edinburgh about 12 years ago & particularly when I've had a couple of dodgy health episodes. Frank is the type of mate that is there for you when you most need it & doesn't expect anything in return. And I know for a fact that there's many a person can say that through knowing him via the Suporters Association, the church, etc. He's one of the good guys. If he has one major fault its that he loves the Hibs too much & that can come across in being a wee bit over the top in his passion at times which can come across as ranting & raving. Cut him in half tho & it would be "HIBERNIAN" written thru like a stick of Blackpool rock (nae irony intended given his main attacker here!).
Would he do a good job as a Hibs Director. I'd stake my life on it - aye. He'd put Hibs & Hibs fans first - no personal agenda - and he would walk if it was just a PR exercise.
Just wanted to say what I've said cos where I come from you stick up for yir mates when they're under attack. Whatever it takes. Just to make it clear though, this ain't no "Vote For Frank" propaganda exercise. As I've told him, I won't be voting for him or anybody else. I'm sure most, maybe all, of the 17 candidates are in it for the right reasons but my own personal stance is that nobody should stand while Rod Petrie (and his spin doctor Forsyth) are anywhere near Hibernian FC. You can't have the depth of feeling that resulted in the car park protest then turn round & work with Petrie. But there you go - that's the fragmented nature of the Hibs support.
Merry Xmas - Frankie is Innocent!!!!
:top marks:top marks:top marks:top marks:top marks
24-12-2014, 02:29 PM
If elected as a director I will do everything I can to see that our fans have a route to see that their concerns are made known to the Hibs BODs. I have been on many committees and know how committees work and know how to be effective when serving on a committee. I have chaired committees and served as a secretary to them. As many of the people who have seen me on committees know I will ask the difficult questions that need to be asked.
When these elections end we will have 2 new directors who will be focussed on making sure that the fans' opinions are heard by the Hibs BODs. The winds of change are getting stronger and we live in exciting times for our club.:wink:
Gerard, no offence meant, but I don't think you are ruthless or direct enough to challenge decisions. We need strong minded people to challenge these jokers at every turn, and for me you are not that person......
Gerard
24-12-2014, 02:42 PM
Gerard, no offence meant, but I don't think you are ruthless or direct enough to challenge decisions. We need strong minded people to challenge these jokers at every turn, and for me you are not that person......
I may appear meek but when I want something I tend to get it. There are many ways of doing business.:wink:
franks
24-12-2014, 02:53 PM
Don't like that the voting makes you pick two candidates. I only wanted to vote for one person, but you must have two choices, so voted for someone I know nothing about, not ideal:rolleyes:
Agree entirely, was only going to vote for one but after reading through all the statements another one stood out for me so have voted for 2.
Normally when you have 2 votes it is perfectly acceptable to use just 1 vote as should be the case here also.
24-12-2014, 03:03 PM
Having now read all the mission statements I have made my decision and have voted for Leith Mo and Pat Head. As I don't know any of the candidates personally I could only go on what I have read on here and on what each candidates statements said. Some of the younger candidates did tempt me as it might be a benefit to have youthful enthusiasm and energy on the board but I was eventually swayed by the experience and life skills of my chosen two. It would be interesting if we could have a Hibs.net poll showing how forum users are voting on this and to see if this forums top choices are reflected in the real result. I don't know how to set up a poll thread so I will leave that to others with that skill and inclination... Maybe one of the candidates could set it up, I'm sure they would all like to see how they are faring in the run up to the election result..
24-12-2014, 03:32 PM
Having now read all the mission statements I have made my decision and have voted for Leith Mo and Pat Head. As I don't know any of the candidates personally I could only go on what I have read on here and on what each candidates statements said. Some of the younger candidates did tempt me as it might be a benefit to have youthful enthusiasm and energy on the board but I was eventually swayed by the experience and life skills of my chosen two. It would be interesting if we could have a Hibs.net poll showing how forum users are voting on this and to see if this forums top choices are reflected in the real result. I don't know how to set up a poll thread so I will leave that to others with that skill and inclination... Maybe one of the candidates could set it up, I'm sure they would all like to see how they are faring in the run up to the election result..
I'm not so sure that running a poll here during the actual voting period would be fair.
24-12-2014, 03:42 PM
I'm not so sure that running a poll here during the actual voting period would be fair.
:agree: especially as the results will be public, i.e., who voted for whom.
Martinwillis
24-12-2014, 03:44 PM
It's great to hear that people are so interested in the voting and that the support is getting behind the club's decision to work with us in this way. I would encourage supporters to take their time when voting and would plead for a balance of youth and experience.
Personally, I see social media Tools such as Twitter and Instagram as being ideal ways to interact with fellow supporters 24/7.
from the conversations I have had with the club so far, the focus seems to be on community programmes - which are great. However the two areas I promise to focus on are season tickets pricing and the attractiveness of these and long-term team performance. I appreciate that the role may not be an opportunity to right the wrongs of the world - but I believe this is how supporters want attentions focused.
whilst I am on my soap box - can I be the first to ask supporters - what would you want a supporter rep to fight for most?
martin
@mrmartinwillis
24-12-2014, 03:51 PM
It would be interesting though, who cares about fair? This is politics, it could induce tactical voting leaving the weaker candidates with no votes, it would make each vote count. I'll go further, I think we should have a sweepstake with the poster who guess's the first 3 in the poll winning an all expenses paid match day experience at Easter Road with a bar lunch and free drinks at The Loch Inn thrown in.
24-12-2014, 03:52 PM
It's great to hear that people are so interested in the voting and that the support is getting behind the club's decision to work with us in this way. I would encourage supporters to take their time when voting and would plead for a balance of youth and experience.
Personally, I see social media Tools such as Twitter and Instagram as being ideal ways to interact with fellow supporters 24/7.
from the conversations I have had with the club so far, the focus seems to be on community programmes - which are great. However the two areas I promise to focus on are season tickets pricing and the attractiveness of these and long-term team performance. I appreciate that the role may not be an opportunity to right the wrongs of the world - but I believe this is how supporters want attentions focused.
whilst I am on my soap box - can I be the first to ask supporters - what would you want a supporter rep to fight for most?
martin
@mrmartinwillis
Hi Martin
First and foremost, it's got to be about the team on the park. Secondly, the pricing of tickets and getting lapsed fans back. Community initiatives are right up my street too but if the team starts winning, more people will attend, the budget will increase and it will make Hibs a better 'sell' to everyone, making it easier to include all fans.
Good luck
Susan
Leith Links
24-12-2014, 03:57 PM
Hi Martin
First and foremost, it's got to be about the team on the park. Secondly, the pricing of tickets and getting lapsed fans back. Community initiatives are right up my street too but if the team starts winning, more people will attend, the budget will increase and it will make Hibs a better 'sell' to everyone, making it easier to include all fans.
Good luck
Susan
Leith Links
In a nutshell S.
Get the team on the park right and with the structure now in place everything else will follow.
We seem to be getting more and more right in a lot of other areas now and the team is slowly heading in the right direction. Assolutely everything lives or dies by results on the park though and if we get that right it's an easier sell and a far more positive atmosphere to get the message across in.
24-12-2014, 04:10 PM
Be aware that on certain platforms when you make your vote, and you only want to vote for one candidate then the second choice box will still show a default name (by the looks of it the person at the top of the list alphabetically).
So make sure you use your second vote because you could be using it anyway without realising it :wink:
Martinwillis
24-12-2014, 05:44 PM
Hi Martin
Good luck
Susan
Leith Links
couldnt agree more Susan. These have to be the two top priorities. Let's jope whoever gets the responsibility of representing the supporters thinks the same and is prepared to make this clear to the club. I can promise that if given the opportunity, I would do so.
Martin
Glorious St Pat
24-12-2014, 07:25 PM
martin
@mrmartinwillis
The removal of Petrie first and last.
How do you stand Martin on the Petrie issue?
Glorious St Pat
24-12-2014, 07:33 PM
Just voted for Morris McBrierty - exceptional people skills from working with FTSE directors to the boys in the mail room. A local born and bred and someone who will influence from within - will ask searching questions of Petrie.
Also someone with years of charitable work with Stella Maris and even the Vatican!
History, passion, management and the one for the role.
Martinwillis
24-12-2014, 08:58 PM
I would be very interested to hear how involved Rod Petrie is now in the day to day running of the club. If the finances allow - he has to step away
I don't know any of the candidates personably so my vote so far has been based on the profiles on the website and from looking at the comments from those candidates posting on here. The one that has stood out for me has been Kevin Martin (PatHead) and coincidently was speaking to someone at work today who knows him personally and he spoke very highly of him. I won't be voting until nearer the deadline but if candidates are looking for votes somewhere like Hibs.net, the bounce, twitter, facebook are the places to raise your profile. Good luck to everyone. My 2nd vote is still very much up for grabs
I don't know any of the candidates personably so my vote so far has been based on the profiles on the website and from looking at the comments from those candidates posting on here. The one that has stood out for me has been Kevin Martin (PatHead) and coincidently was speaking to someone at work today who knows him personally and he spoke very highly of him. I won't be voting until nearer the deadline but if candidates are looking for votes somewhere like Hibs.net, the bounce, twitter, facebook are the places to raise your profile. Good luck to everyone. My 2nd vote is still very much up for grabsOver 17000 views for this thread on here ..:agree:
24-12-2014, 09:30 PM
Gave this a lot of thought and spoke with a good few hibbies I respect, there was quite a few convincing cases so respect to all the candidates who made me think. I voted for Kevin Martin and Amit Moudgil.
24-12-2014, 09:32 PM
Gave this a lot of thought and spoke with a good few hibbies I respect, there was quite a few convincing cases so respect to all the candidates who made me think. I voted for Kevin Martin and Amit Moudgil.
This :aok:
kevinc
24-12-2014, 10:14 PM
The removal of Petrie first and last.
How do you stand Martin on the Petrie issue?
Have you asked the same question of the guy you keep promoting?
Leith Mo
24-12-2014, 11:56 PM
Hello Kevin. I saw your post here and on the Bounce re my reaction to Brad & Jim Slaven's involvement & my reaction to it at the same consultation evening I attended. Well it's late. I'm on a phone. It's Christmas Day so all the best. As I said in my statement those who know me personally realise that diplomacy is not always my default position but I do know when to listen. This is one of those times. I respect the opinions of all Hibs fans. My recollection of the evening was posted here (generally well as recei
Leith Mo
25-12-2014, 12:05 AM
On my phone limits access sorry. Happy to discuss but I don't think I've ever "hidden" from anything and would seek to represent your intererests as strongly as any other Hibee's intererests. I can ask Jim directly if that would put your mind at ease? Always happy to ask and answer difficult questions otherwise my name would not still be there. GGTTH. And a very happy Christmas. Morris
kevinc
25-12-2014, 12:27 AM
Hi Morris,
My question was directed at St Pats, as he appears to be a advocate of yours, and I would expect the same
challenge to be levelled at all candidates but have not seen that.
In terms of my view expressed on the Bounce, it probably makes more sense to continue that discussion on the thread it was raised on? I am 100% confident on what I witnessed and have made an interpretation based on what I witnessed and recorded.
Please note that I don't expect a response from you over the coming days, I happen to be on 24x7 call and am taking advantage of the quiet periods.
Merry Christmas and good luck with your application.
25-12-2014, 12:31 AM
Im still going through the candidates. For me though, at least one of them should have some experience with working with footballers (and managers). I feel in the past 5+ years, one our key failings has been a failure to
a) identify good managers
b) identify good footballers.
c) identify and develop promising youth players
It can be easy to say we are looking for talent and ability, but too often we have managed to bring in the following traits:
soft, indecisive, lazy, passenger, wage thief, fragile..
Instead we need people on the board who are able to help identify and recruit to the football team the following traits:
competitive, determined, hard working, ambitious, confident.
Talent and ability without the strength of character to show it, is useless.
More than anything I am hoping that successful candidates can help contribute to changing the ability of our club to identify 'the right' people to bring into the football side.
Merry Christmas in the meantime!:xwave
Leith Mo
25-12-2014, 12:49 AM
Kevin c. Sorry to hear that you're 24/7 especially at this time of year but I honestly wish you all the very best. I posted my (extensive) summary of the consultation evening I attended on .net at the time. It was the night that Brad made his public statement and I don't think that I failed to acknowledge that in my summary? As I said at the time and in my current statement I believe honesty is one of my strong points. I will stand up for our opinions as a support and my own views are secondary to that (I'll argue my corner, compromise but not "disappear up my own arse" to quote a phrase) and always do the best for Hibs and our supporters. It is our Club. Let's get behind whoever is elected. Happy Christmas. Morris
kevinc
25-12-2014, 01:11 AM
Kevin c. Sorry to hear that you're 24/7 especially at this time of year but I honestly wish you all the very best. I posted my (extensive) summary of the consultation evening I attended on .net at the time. It was the night that Brad made his public statement and I don't think that I failed to acknowledge that in my summary? As I said at the time and in my current statement I believe honesty is one of my strong points. I will stand up for our opinions as a support and my own views are secondary to that (I'll argue my corner, compromise but not "disappear up my own arse" to quote a phrase) and always do the best for Hibs and our supporters. It is our Club. Let's get behind whoever is elected. Happy Christmas. Morris
Thanks Morris,
I am comfortable with my view of events, re the consultation evening, good luck with your application.
Merry Christmas, Kevin.
25-12-2014, 07:31 AM
martin
@mrmartinwillis
Why not start with something simple like Total and Utter Domination of Hear7s over the next Decade and win the Scottish Cup ,.well it's Christmass Day so why mot some wishfull thinking .
A question for all the candidates.
Apart from yourself who are you voting for and why?
25-12-2014, 09:40 AM
Just voted for Morris McBrierty - exceptional people skills from working with FTSE directors to the boys in the mail room. A local born and bred and someone who will influence from within - will ask searching questions of Petrie.
Also someone with years of charitable work with Stella Maris and even the Vatican!
History, passion, management and the one for the role.
I was going to ask much the same. He's pushing Mo as the "Petrie Out" candidate over the road but isn't taking as blunt an approach here.
25-12-2014, 10:44 AM
Cracking question.
Leith Mo
25-12-2014, 11:28 AM
Cracking question.
Great question. Happy to answer it by saying that my second vote has gone to Amit. I don't know him and don't think we've met (though I'm sure that can be fixed easily if you want to Amit). I've been impressed by his statements and opinions expressed. Seems to have a lot of what we need. When I met with the Board directors during the process I was one of 7 there that evening of whom I believe another 3 have put their names forward. I would gladly work with any and all of them as well as the other candidates I haven't met (though I do know some of the others). We need to get this right so as I said in my statement we all need to support whoever is successful. In summary for what it's worth I hope to count on your support and would work best (on first impressions and comments on here) with Amit as we share many things in our personal and professional backgrounds. Goo luck to all candidates and have a great Christmas. Morris
25-12-2014, 12:06 PM
martin
@mrmartinwillis
I would want the new members to be able to communicate to the current board an insight into footballers. Why do some footballers thrive and grow, why do others wilt and stagnate. For me its down to the essential personality trait of competitive footballers (and to some extent the manager). Football teams that take themselves seriously (even if they are not pro), have a healthy mix of aggression and competitiveness, alongside their talent. We have had a merry go round of wasters and drifters, and has beens. The youth have also been strangely incapable of making the next step. Its one thing winning without pressure, and a totally different thing to do so when the stakes are high, and you are in the public eye. Everything Ive seen in the last 7 years has suggested we, as a club, have been incapable keeping our eye on these core essentials. Balancing books, marketing, building stadia and all the rest of it are far removed from the challenge of creating a football club with a winning mentality.
Get this right, and we have the financial and business talent to capitalise. Get it wrong and all that talent is wasted.
Good luck to all the candidates and all associated with the club.
P.S. getting rid of Petrie, for me, is way way down the list of priorities - UNLESS he prevents us achieving the above.
andrew70
25-12-2014, 12:10 PM
I would want the new members to be able to communicate to the current board an insight into footballers. Why do some footballers thrive and grow, why do others wilt and stagnate. For me its down to the essential personality trait of competitive footballers (and to some extent the manager). Football teams that take themselves seriously (even if they are not pro), have a healthy mix of aggression and competitiveness, alongside their talent. We have had a merry go round of wasters and drifters, and has beens. The youth have also been strangely incapable of making the next step. Its one thing winning without pressure, and a totally different thing to do so when the stakes are high, and you are in the public eye. Everything Ive seen in the last 7 years has suggested we, as a club, have been incapable keeping our eye on these core essentials. Balancing books, marketing, building stadia and all the rest of it are far removed from the challenge of creating a football club with a winning mentality.
Get this right, and we have the financial and business talent to capitalise. Get it wrong and all that talent is wasted.
Good luck to all the candidates and all associated with the club.
P.S. getting rid of Petrie, for me, is way way down the list of priorities - UNLESS he prevents us achieving the above.
As I've stated on the bounce last night. We can get rid of Petrie but still be in exactly the same mess. As it happens I believe that RP will leave soon but I also believe that the necessary plans are already in place to make good changes.
I am excited at what is going to happen with our club but these things take time. Unfortunately for us these plans should have happened years and years ago and thus we are 10 yrs behind where we should be but they are happening now, however late and I would love to be able to be a part of the regime that puts the great back in to Hibernian.
25-12-2014, 12:15 PM
Morris are you still boycotting easter road? You mentioned you were in the poppy banner thread in october. My impression from reading your posts in that thread and others is that your presence within the club could be divisive at a time where unity is required in order to move forwards.
Should Petrie still have a position at the club? Absolutely not imo but the fact is he does and will while STF wants him there. An elected board member determined to make that a public issue again at a time when we need to pull together for a push towards promotion would not be good for the club imo.
My apologies if I've misrepresented your views or intentions in any way but if you were elected to the board would you intend to work with rod petrie, if he remains as chairman, for the good of the club?
Leith Mo
25-12-2014, 12:27 PM
Mr White happy Christmas. As I've said I'll happily work with anyone for the good of our Club including Rod Petrie. My own view is that he has done a lot of good things for our Club and also some not so good things. Does one outweigh the other? That's not for me to decide. If elected I would seek to represent the views of the support which may differ from my own but it's not about pushing a personal agenda. If a sizeable number of fans share reservations over RP it would be the duty of the elected person bring it to the Board's attention. Likewise to give credit where it's due. Still attending games and still very much in love with Hibs (in spite of everything! )
25-12-2014, 12:39 PM
Mr White happy Christmas. As I've said I'll happily work with anyone for the good of our Club including Rod Petrie. My own view is that he has done a lot of good things for our Club and also some not so good things. Does one outweigh the other? That's not for me to decide. If elected I would seek to represent the views of the support which may differ from my own but it's not about pushing a personal agenda. If a sizeable number of fans share reservations over RP it would be the duty of the elected person bring it to the Board's attention. Likewise to give credit where it's due. Still attending games and still very much in love with Hibs (in spite of everything! )
I have taken the decision not to attend Easter Road until Mr Petrie departs hence I will not be there to fly the banner in person, but just as I am sticking to my principle of non-attendance (mucha s it hurts me to do so) I also wished the principle of highlighting their theft on this of all matters
Ok thanks for your reply but it is somewhat at odds with what you posted on the poppy banner thread in october as quoted above.
Leith Mo
25-12-2014, 12:55 PM
Times change and so do opinions including my own. I'm of the opinion that it's been better to try and influence from within rather than stand on the sidelines and remain frustrated. No one individual is bigger than our Club which as I said remains a constant in not just my own but many people's lives. Hope that helps to clarify my position and that you have a good Christmas.
25-12-2014, 01:04 PM
Times change and so do opinions including my own. I'm of the opinion that it's been better to try and influence from within rather than stand on the sidelines and remain frustrated. No one individual is bigger than our Club which as I said remains a constant in not just my own but many people's lives. Hope that helps to clarify my position and that you have a good Christmas.
It does actually thanks. It's the manner in which you might try to influence from within that would be of concern to me. However I'm sure you'll do your all if voted in. Hope you have an enjoyable day too.
Gerard
25-12-2014, 04:12 PM
I wish all the candidates in this election and all the Hibs family a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. I hope that we will have a successful year with our team being promoted and winning the SC.:wink:
madhibby
25-12-2014, 04:56 PM
I have just voted. Not an easy decision. Criteria I used, based on their statements, was
passion for Hibs
some understanding of their accountabilty, need to communicate with supporters, be accessible etc.
feeling that they would think for themselves
On that basis I voted for Lewis Cumming and Keith Williamson but to be fair there were plenty others that looked equally good/strong candidates.
Good luck to whoever is elected.
Martinwillis
25-12-2014, 05:22 PM
Is is great to see such interest in this. I used my second vote for Amit as I see a lot of my aims and character in his biography. I obviously votes for myself too - some won't like that - but if I don't believe I am the man for the job, who else is?!
I have had the pleasure of meeting LD recently and she already knows my focus is pricing and supporter engagement - she is very keen to get these areas right.
please give me the chance to get that right for fellow supporters.
TWITTER - @Mrmartinwillis
25-12-2014, 05:29 PM
I have voted for Amit and Morris.
Every candidate had something to offer and a case could be made for each of them but after reading all the profiles over the last few days those 2 stood out.
Havent voted yet ..but Amit is probably my first choice ..second choice possibly Frank Dougan ...
26-12-2014, 07:33 AM
Voted for Munro and Dougan
26-12-2014, 08:28 AM
Voted for Munro and Dougan
I voted for Gordon Munro too. I've known Gordon for a good number of years and believe he would be a great addition to the board. Like all the other candidates Gordon is passionate about the club but for me his real strength is that he genuinely appreciates the history of the club and its place in the community. I know from personal experience that Gordon is a people person and will stand up for what's right. I also believe he would work well with LD in implementing changes in how the club reaches out, listens and then truly acts on supporter feedback. Best of luck to all the candidates and well done for putting yourselves forward.
Leith Mo
26-12-2014, 08:33 AM
I have voted for Amit and Morris.
Every candidate had something to offer and a case could be made for each of them but after reading all the profiles over the last few days those 2 stood out.
Thanks Pretty Boy. Hope Santa was good to you and all Hibees
26-12-2014, 08:50 AM
I have a question for the candidates. As supporter's representatives how will you decide which viewpoint to represent when given opposing opinions on issues from the support? So if the support is split on an issue how will you represent that?
26-12-2014, 09:03 AM
Morris are you still boycotting easter road?
Let me get this right. This candidate boycotted Easter Road because he went in the huff about something and now he is standing for election to the Board? Surely that cant be right.
Martinwillis
26-12-2014, 09:10 AM
I have a question for the candidates. As supporter's representatives how will you decide which viewpoint to represent when given opposing opinions on issues from the support? So if the support is split on an issue how will you represent that?
That is a tricky one Matty - what we all need to remember though is that IT is not necessarily OUR opinion as supporter reps that we are being asked to voice. It would be our job to pass on the views and opinions of ALL supporters.
That os why it would be my wish to do the following:
- Use Twitter and Facebook to gather supporter views, this way giving me an easy way to present information to the board.
- engage with supporters at branch meetings, behind the goals and other face to face opportubities
- discuss concerns with individuals where necessary. Perhaps at times it will even be appropriate to invite them into the club on matchdays to diacuss these opinions further with LD etc.
- regularly watch the match from the stands.
- Be available EVERY week at full time to meet and chat with supporters
The Baldmans Comb
26-12-2014, 09:47 AM
The first vote for the impressive Amit and the second for Gordon Munro.
Dougan is yesterday's man and wasn't even considered.
Nelly070
26-12-2014, 09:55 AM
Let me get this right. This candidate boycotted Easter Road because he went in the huff about something and now he is standing for election to the Board? Surely that cant be right.
No he isn't boycotting ER, sits very close to me in the East !
26-12-2014, 10:16 AM
No he isn't boycotting ER, sits very close to me in the East !
Thats fair enough but doesn't really answer the question. Did he boycott Easter Road? I would like to know before I rule him in or out for my vote.
26-12-2014, 10:30 AM
I would always have to go with the majority of the supporters whether I agreed with that opinion. If it was a very close decision or even too tight to call I would try to get additional views to add to the views I had received. If it still remained too close to call I would have to listen the arguments at the Board meeting and cast a vote accordingly.
I would always try to explain why I had taken that decision to all.
26-12-2014, 10:30 AM
Thats fair enough but doesn't really answer the question. Did he boycott Easter Road? I would like to know before I rule him in or out for my vote.
So Mo and Dougan have both threatened a boycott?
26-12-2014, 10:31 AM
:agree: No reason why you can't be in behind the goals one week to the HSA the next, and then even out into the local boozers. You could spend some time with the people you are to represent, and make it to the boardroom for 2.15:taxi
Said I would do that some time ago.
26-12-2014, 10:33 AM
Thanks very much Freddy.
26-12-2014, 10:36 AM
I don't know any of the candidates personably so my vote so far has been based on the profiles on the website and from looking at the comments from those candidates posting on here. The one that has stood out for me has been Kevin Martin (PatHead) and coincidently was speaking to someone at work today who knows him personally and he spoke very highly of him. I won't be voting until nearer the deadline but if candidates are looking for votes somewhere like Hibs.net, the bounce, twitter, facebook are the places to raise your profile. Good luck to everyone. My 2nd vote is still very much up for grabs
Thanks very much Ken
26-12-2014, 10:37 AM
Thanks Boston Hibby
Leith Mo
26-12-2014, 10:38 AM
So Mo and Dougan have both threatened a boycott?
I can't speak for Frank Dougan but can clarify my own position. Like many fans I spoke about it and discussed it. Like most Hibs supporters I was not part of any "boycott" and continue to support the team on the park.
26-12-2014, 10:39 AM
Haven't decided Jack but once I have I will post. No need to rush yet.
26-12-2014, 10:40 AM
This :aok:
Thanks Stevie
26-12-2014, 10:49 AM
I can't speak for Frank Dougan but can clarify my own position. Like many fans I spoke about it and discussed it. Like most Hibs supporters I was not part of any "boycott" and continue to support the team on the park.
Cheers Mo - that's what I took from the posts.
26-12-2014, 10:52 AM
I would always have to go with the majority of the supporters whether I agreed with that opinion. If it was a very close decision or even too tight to call I would try to get additional views to add to the views I had received. If it still remained too close to call I would have to listen the arguments at the Board meeting and cast a vote accordingly.
I would always try to explain why I had taken that decision to all.
I would doubt the board ever vote as such. I also think it's not going to be feasible to gauge the views of supporters for each and every decision. In fact a lot of stuff you wouldn't be able to share.
This is the trick thing for me calling these guys supporters reps. There is no clear supporters view on most things. There are various forums and groups and supporters clubs.
Once you vote these guys on you are turning must matters over to their own judgement. Reality also issue will have no idea if they are doing a decent job or not. How are they to be judged? We don't get info on their performance at meetings.
26-12-2014, 11:09 AM
Thanks for clarifying that Mo.
Gerard
26-12-2014, 11:39 AM
The 2 people who are elected to the Hibs BODs will have a difficult job to make their mark on the other directors. They will have legal obligations to accept that the other directors have when they serve on this board. There will be fans who want to know what is happening at Hibs and these directors will not be able to comment or if they can it will be in a general sense. Our fans have a diverse range of views about the things that Hibs should do as a priority and that will be a difficult job to manage and even exceed fans expectations. I hope that the 2 people who get elected enjoy their time as directors and are ablr to make a valued contribution to our club.
regards Gerard
26-12-2014, 11:44 AM
I would doubt the board ever vote as such. I also think it's not going to be feasible to gauge the views of supporters for each and every decision. In fact a lot of stuff you wouldn't be able to share.
This is the trick thing for me calling these guys supporters reps. There is no clear supporters view on most things. There are various forums and groups and supporters clubs.
Once you vote these guys on you are turning must matters over to their own judgement. Reality also issue will have no idea if they are doing a decent job or not. How are they to be judged? We don't get info on their performance at meetings.
I am aware that every decision cannot be analysed with the support. Clearance from the rest of the members would be required and perhaps an abbreviated minute could be issued. I don't think supporter's views will be sought on every decision and agree this would be unfeasible. However lets imagine other supporters approached me and requested a major change such as Rod Petrie's removal from the board. I do have no doubt that we will be asked this by the way. A decision like this would require a lot of consultation before even proposing it and it could end up with the Supporter's Rep being required to take this up. I would handle that as stated above.
As I have a second vote can I ask their nominees where they stand on the Petrie issue?
Gerard
26-12-2014, 11:56 AM
I don't think supporter's views will be sought on every decision and agree this would be unfeasible. However lets imagine other supporters approached me and requested a major change such as Rod Petrie's removal from the board. I do have no doubt that we will be asked this by the way. A decision like this would require a lot of consultation before even proposing it and it could end up with the Supporter's Rep being required to take this up. I would handle that as stated above.
As I have a second vote can I ask their nominees where they stand on the Petrie issue?
I was part of the group that met Leeann and took the view that Mr Petrie should stand down from the board. The result of this vote was discussed at the next WT meting. My view has not changed.
26-12-2014, 12:04 PM
I don't think supporter's views will be sought on every decision and agree this would be unfeasible. However lets imagine other supporters approached me and requested a major change such as Rod Petrie's removal from the board. I do have no doubt that we will be asked this by the way. A decision like this would require a lot of consultation before even proposing it and it could end up with the Supporter's Rep being required to take this up. I would handle that as stated above.
What do you think Directors can do about Rod Petrie being on the board?
26-12-2014, 12:10 PM
I was part of the group that met Leeann and took the view that Mr Petrie should stand down from the board. The result of this vote was discussed at the next WT meting. My view has not changed.
Thanks for replying. Any others willing to share their opinion?
26-12-2014, 12:16 PM
What do you think Directors can do about Rod Petrie being on the board?
A vote of no confidence would show the votes of the supporters if that were the case.
Any proposer would not just say "I motion a vote no confidence in RP". They would have to be prepared with reasoning, advantages/disadvantages of a change, have alternatives proposed. That would take a lot of time, preparation and work.
At worst it would stimulate debate and ask questions of the board. The supporters would at least know where we stand on the issue
26-12-2014, 12:25 PM
A vote of no confidence would show the votes of the supporters if that were the case.
Any proposer would not just say "I motion a vote no confidence in RP". They would have to be prepared with reasoning, advantages/disadvantages of a change, have alternatives proposed. That would take a lot of time, preparation and work.
At worst it would stimulate debate and ask questions of the board. The supporters would at least know where we stand on the issue
Doesn't work that way though.
A Director can only be removed by a shareholders resolution with Sir Tom holding the votes required.
It's not a matter that is worth the board discussing unless you were planning to go to Sir Tom with it.
You'd also have to ask what you were going to be able to achieve on the board if you were going to walk in and ask the current chairman to go. Challenge is great and required but just a practical thing. Boards can't work if fundamentally there are one or two who dont share the general sense if travel. That always ends with those people having to step away.
You choose the hill you want to die on. There is lots that can be achieved but if any of the new directors think the Rod issue is one they influence that I believe would be a mistake. You know the current set up the shareholder has in place that you put your name in to work with.
26-12-2014, 12:34 PM
Doesn't work that way though.
A Director can only be removed by a shareholders resolution with Sir Tom holding the votes required.
It's not a matter that is worth the board discussing unless you were planning to go to Sir Tom with it.
You'd also have to ask what you were going to be able to achieve on the board if you were going to walk in and ask the current chairman to go. Challenge is great and required but just a practical thing. Boards can't work if fundamentally there are one or two who dont share the general sense if travel. That always ends with those people having to step away.
A Director could also resign if they didn't feel they had the support of the board ( RP not me) or resign their influential chairman position.
I would certainly not be walking in demanding change unless I was requested to do so by supporters. As I have said this would take a lot of work as would other requests before a motion was proposed.
I would also add that I will definitely not be a single agenda candidate on the board. There will be a number of issues being raised however it is churlish to suggest this will not be raised very early in the position.
Gerard
26-12-2014, 12:41 PM
I look forward to the AGM in Jan to see the changes that will be discussed and voted on at this meeting. I am aware that it takes only one man to pass or block any changes to our club. I think that our club needs change and we shall soon see what changes are being proposed for our club. There comes a time when people who have served an organisation should move on and lets others take their place.:wink:
26-12-2014, 12:49 PM
A Director could also resign if they didn't feel they had the support of the board ( RP not me) or resign their influential chairman position.
I would certainly not be walking in demanding change unless I was requested to do so by supporters. As I have said this would take a lot of work as would other requests before a motion was proposed.
I would also add that I will definitely not be a single agenda candidate on the board. There will be a number of issues being raised however it is churlish to suggest this will not be raised very early in the position.
I would recommend any potential director who is already thinking of asking other directors to resign to consider if they should really be going forward to work on that board.
Without shareholder support it is a very, very bold move to make to even raise it within a board and would do the position of that director no good whatsoever.
I'd like Rod to go as much as the next man but I'd caution the new directors in getting involved. It's a known issue and one for Rod and the shareholder at this point.
By motion do you mean a resolution at a general meeting? That's the only valid way.
Gerard
26-12-2014, 12:57 PM
I would recommend any potential director who is already thinking of asking other directors to resign to consider if they should really be going forward to work on that board.
Without shareholder support it is a very, very bold move to make to even raise it within a board and would do the position of that director no good whatsoever.
I'd like Rod to go as much as the next man but I'd caution the new directors in getting involved. It's a known issue and one for Rod and the shareholder at this point.
By motion do you mean a resolution at a general meeting? That's the only valid way.
We all have things we want to see happen in life. At the same time we all have to accept that some of these things are not going to happen soon or ever. Being a director of Hibs will mean that you have to accept the collegiate nature of the board. In time all directors of the board move on:wink: I accept this fact and if elected will work for the good of all the Hibernian Family.
26-12-2014, 01:00 PM
This whole charade is becoming tiresome......2 positions on the Board for "fans reps", is merely a gimmick by Hibs, taking the heat out of what happened last May. The forthcoming AGM was always going to be volatile, to me this is a total distraction and deflection mechanism used by the Club.......
What will ultimately change? In my opinion hee haw, whilst the same Director's who were in situ, as we failed season after season, and could not do anything to arrest the slide, still remain in situ..... The whole process/scenario is galling for me........
26-12-2014, 01:04 PM
We all have things we want to see happen in life. At the same time we all have to accept that some of these things are not going to happen soon or ever. Being a director of Hibs will mean that you have to accept the collegiate nature of the board. In time all directors of the board move on:wink: I accept this fact and if elected will work for the good of all the Hibernian Family.
Can we stop this Hibernian Family stuff?:rolleyes:
26-12-2014, 01:06 PM
This whole charade is becoming tiresome......2 positions on the Board for "fans reps", is merely a gimmick by Hibs, taking the heat out of what happened last May. The forthcoming AGM was always going to be volatile, to me this is a total distraction and deflection mechanism used by the Club.......
What will ultimately change? In my opinion hee haw, whilst the same Director's who were in situ, as we failed season after season, and could not do anything to arrest the slide, still remain in situ..... The whole process/scenario is galling for me........
That's pretty much how I feel. No disrespect to the fans who have put themselves forward, there are some very able candidates, but I really don't get the point in all this. Once a fan joins the board they become just another Director don't they?
26-12-2014, 01:09 PM
That's pretty much how I feel. No disrespect to the fans who have put themselves forward, there are some very able candidates, but I really don't get the point in all this. Once a fan joins the board they become just another Director don't they?
26-12-2014, 01:18 PM
They do but the board have been criticised for not being fans or not understanding the views of fans when making decisions.
This is a chance for the views of a couple of fans to be included in biard discussions?
Will it make any difference? No, not for me but I do believe some of the current board are fans and I think although they've been wrong decisions have been made with good intentions in respect of what fans want or expect.
I don't see any of the candidates with skills or experience that would stand out as something really useful to the board.
It might just allow the guys to report back on exactly who makes decisions and how though. We will see if the common view holds up.
26-12-2014, 01:20 PM
Don't think you would just be "another Director" as you would be able to look at the situation from a fans perspective and influence decisions with that in mind. Fresh blood.
The other Directors would surely have to take account of these views and the fresh perspective from these would be brought forward in any decision taken. Lets say in season ticket pricing as that will be getting set very soon as they will go on sale in March/April.
Wouldn't be any point in being on the board otherwise.
Gerard
26-12-2014, 01:30 PM
Can we stop this Hibernian Family stuff?:rolleyes:
Why should we stop this.
26-12-2014, 01:35 PM
Don't think you would just be "another Director" as you would be able to look at the situation from a fans perspective and influence decisions with that in mind. Fresh blood.
The other Directors would surely have to take account of these views and the fresh perspective from these would be brought forward in any decision taken. Lets say in season ticket pricing as that will be getting set very soon as they will go on sale in March/April.
Wouldn't be any point in being on the board otherwise.
Legally yes they are just Directors, equal to the others.
I'd think we could benefit from some innovative thinking but take season ticket prices. I may be generalising but the fan perspective woukd be to say make them more affirdable.
Will they really not have thought of that?
Then your finance director says that's great but cut them and the player budget is cut, take your choice.
The operations guy reports that players and agent fees are not getting any lower and we have targets ready to sign if we can try and maintain a high enough budget level.
What different ideas or perspective might we get from any of the candidates on this? Bear in mind the marketing guys will have some ideas on how effective price cuts are in increasing bodies.
26-12-2014, 01:42 PM
Why should we stop this.
Because it's cheesy nonsense
26-12-2014, 01:43 PM
I'd think we could benefit from some innovative thinking but take season ticket prices. I may be generalising but the fan perspective woukd be to say make them more affirdable.
Will they really not have thought of that?
Then your finance director says that's great but cut them and the player budget is cut, take your choice.
The operations guy reports that players and agent fees are not getting any lower and we have targets ready to sign if we can try and maintain a high enough budget level.
What different ideas or perspective might we get from any of the candidates on this? Bear in mind the marketing guys will have some ideas on how effective price cuts are in increasing bodies.
Off the top of my head, add other benefits - a couple of drinks in the BTG, a meeting at least once a season with the Board, free children tickets or family season tickets not restricted to FF lower, raffle every week for ticket holders, clear explanation as to the difference it makes charging £40 less to justify prices.
26-12-2014, 01:44 PM
Why should we stop this.
This "Hibernian Family" you speak of is, I assume, intended to signify some sort of togetherness and it's been nothing of the sort when you think of all the years of decline and unrest.
To me it only resembles a disfunctional family.
26-12-2014, 01:57 PM
Because it's cheesy nonsense
At the consultation night did you not suggest that the current biard didn't care about things the way we did as they weren't real fans? Dies this at least not help try and ensure that there are people in there trying to influence and make fans views known?
I'm not sure myself as I think they do care and realise what we think but I guess you don't so why wouldn't you welcome this as at least a good step?
26-12-2014, 01:59 PM
At the consultation night did you not suggest that the current biard didn't care about things the way we did as they weren't real fans? Dies this at least not help try and ensure that there are people in there trying to influence and make fans views known?
I'm not sure myself as I think they do care and realise what we think but I guess you don't so why wouldn't you welcome this as at least a good step?
I did indeed Andy, do you think LD/BL (whoever), are just as gutted as a Supporter who has been paying money for 10/20/30 odd years following the Club following relegation or another defeat......
I don't see it as a good step, as I see it as a futile gesture only
26-12-2014, 02:01 PM
Off the top of my head, add other benefits - a couple of drinks in the BTG, a meeting at least once a season with the Board, free children tickets or family season tickets not restricted to FF lower, raffle every week for ticket holders, clear explanation as to the difference it makes charging £40 less to justify prices.
Okay but some of those won't add numbers to any great extent and others would hit income.
I do expect these are the sorts of things that are discussed each year and it's easy to criticise what they come up with. Maybe at least the guys can shed at least a bit of light on why we have had to come to some concussions. But that's mainly communication.
26-12-2014, 02:09 PM
I did indeed Andy, do you think LD/BL (whoever), are just as gutted as a Supporter who has been paying money for 10/20/30 odd years following the Club following relegation or another defeat......
I don't see it as a good step, as I see it as a futile gesture only
I think that's where Bruce got very angry and told you he'd been following Hibs since before you were born!
And Leeann didn't pretend to be a fan but that's when she made the ckaim that she was so angry and upset after the Alloa game that she couldn't go home so she booked into a hotel.
Being part of the set up doesn't mean they can't care. They might argue that being closer to the work and the people it could affect them more in different ways.
Anyway, should you not welcome a couple of people you believe to be proper fans as a decent move? Someone has to run the club!
26-12-2014, 02:12 PM
Okay but some of those won't add numbers to any great extent and others would hit income.
I do expect these are the sorts of things that are discussed each year and it's easy to criticise what they come up with. Maybe at least the guys can shed at least a bit of light on why we have had to come to some concussions. But that's mainly communication.
The cost would not be too high as compared to the reduction in prices.
It doesn't make people buy tickets - only victories and promotion are the keys to more tickets being sold. Might help fans feel more value
26-12-2014, 02:13 PM
I think that's where Bruce got very angry and told you he'd been following Hibs since before you were born!
And Leeann didn't pretend to be a fan but that's when she made the ckaim that she was so angry and upset after the Alloa game that she couldn't go home so she booked into a hotel.
Being part of the set up doesn't mean they can't care. They might argue that being closer to the work and the people it could affect them more in different ways.
Anyway, should you not welcome a couple of people you believe to be proper fans as a decent move? Someone has to run the club!
BL got very angry indeed, I wonder if he was as passionate about Villa or Fulham when he was on their Boards?
Still do not see any benefit of these positions being created. LD stated she felt there were already too many Director's in place
26-12-2014, 02:59 PM
BL got very angry indeed, I wonder if he was as passionate about Villa or Fulham when he was on their Boards?
Still do not see any benefit of these positions being created. LD stated she felt there were already too many Director's in place
The general consensus is the board don't listen or are not Hibs fans, so surely having elected board members is worth trying. The present make up off the board has failed so it's worth trying something different.
26-12-2014, 04:00 PM
The general consensus is the board don't listen or are not Hibs fans, so surely having elected board members is worth trying. The present make up off the board has failed so it's worth trying something different.
Agree with some of this.
However the bleeding obvious is...if the current board have failed (and they have) instead of going through an exercise to add to them.......just replace the lot of them!
26-12-2014, 04:14 PM
Tom Farmer put (and is still putting) his money in.
In my book that gives him authority to run things. He has chosen to (and as far as I can see still does this) through Rod Petrie's presence.
Great that fans think they can make a difference by joining the board.
However, I think that it is only when you are paying the piper that you can call the tune.
Best of luck but I can't see any real difference being made. Replace Farmer's cash with your own then you can impose your views.
I will be delighted to be proved wrong.
26-12-2014, 04:54 PM
I have put myself forward - Kevin Martin - had mentioned it on the pm board a few weeks ago
My personal statement is as below to save you looking it up :-
I believe in supporter representation on the board and that due to my experience I believe am capable of representing the supporter’s views and helping Hibs achieve those goals. Like all Hibs Supporters I want to see our club where it belongs at the top end of the League and in Cup Finals and will work as hard as possible to help us get there.
I am a member of St Pat’s Supporters Club, Hibs.net and Hibees Bounce which I believe are excellent ways of communicating with supporters but also believe in more traditional methods of communication such as newsletters and meetings. I am well aware that not all supporters are members of these forums and it is important that all supporters have a voice.
As part of this objective I would hope to work closely with my co-nominee and between us hold surgeries in the Hibs Club or Behind the Goals on matchdays as well as having open evenings on a regular basis. I will continue my work with Working Together.
I believe in a percentage of supporter ownership to protect the club from unscrupulous owners that have been seen in other clubs both locally and nationally. I am not in favour of complete fan ownership but initially would like to see 25.1% of the club owned by supporters.
I also believe that the Club should further engage with our local community for our mutual benefit.
Over the past two and a half years I have been actively involved with Working Together and this season have been responsible for the Pat Stanton match, the 1914 Commemoration and the Season Ticket Telephone Calls reminders. However, my main success has been to develop the system for the School Ticket scheme and I have been responsible for offering and allocating over 2,500 tickets to every state school in Edinburgh, East Lothian and Midlothian. This has involved a large amount of my personal time which proves I am willing to work for the benefit of the club and am going into this commitment with my eyes wide open. I will make the time available for this to work.
All the work I have done has allowed me to build relationships with Supporters, Staff and Management at the Club and the Community Foundation and has given me insight into the workings of the club. This should help me to make an immediate impact in presenting supporters views from an equal footing.
At Leeann Dempster’s first meeting with the club supporters I am quoted as telling her she would have to “Walk the Walk not just Talk the Talk” which shows I will not just lie down and accept things at face value. Equally I have praised the club for actions they have recently taken under her leadership and believe in a strong, respectful working relationship.
On a personal note I am married to Eileen with 4 grown up children and from East Edinburgh where I was schooled. For the past 25 years have stayed in Midlothian and have been a season ticket holder for more years than I can remember.
I have spent my entire career in Financial Services and have been an Independent Financial Adviser based in Leith for the last 15 years. This means I am capable of analysing figures, reading and preparing reports, understanding accounts and appreciate the workings of boards and businesses in general.
I would be grateful if you would vote for me.
Happy to answer questions
Hi Kevin,
I meant to ask you this a while ago, and as I'm just scouring the thread again it jumped out at me again.
The bit in bold...Did you do this all by yourself, or were you part of a team of people? Did you get help from the Club or was it through the WT team?
Cheers.
26-12-2014, 05:27 PM
Have some of these things not been discussed already at WT Kev?
Gerard
26-12-2014, 05:31 PM
Hi Kevin,
I meant to ask you this a while ago, and as I'm just scouring the thread again it jumped out at me again.
The bit in bold...Did you do this all by yourself, or were you part of a team of people? Did you get help from the Club or was it through the WT team?
Cheers.
Kevin did a lot of the work for the schools and 'Project 2014'. He also contributed to the 'telethon' via WT.
26-12-2014, 06:03 PM
Kevin did a lot of the work for the schools and 'Project 2014'. He also contributed to the 'telethon' via WT.
Are you guys a tag team:greengrin
Gerard
26-12-2014, 06:13 PM
No:wink:
26-12-2014, 06:24 PM
No:wink:
Thanks for that Gerard.
26-12-2014, 06:57 PM
Hi Kevin,
Cheers.
Myself and Rod Cranston have issued tickets to schools. Rod probably phoned a 3rd of the schools. I called rest, sent follow up emails, set up database and maintained the record of who got what, how many and arranged where seats are available in the stands. Leeann spent time setting up letting me know what was required and what she was wanting as an outcome. She has on the whole taken a back seat and let me get on with it though. Sue in Community Foundation helped by co-ordinating with existing schools, providing envelopes and facilities, Nicola and the office staff have been great in helping organise and exchange tickets and posting them out. Could do with help in packaging tickets though if anyone is interested.
Next phase is being worked on which will involve a lot more school involvement. Tom Elliot is heading that and WT will be involved.
26-12-2014, 07:00 PM
Have some of these things not been discussed already at WT Kev?
Yes and not acted on but at that time we were not paying Premiership prices for Championship football.
26-12-2014, 07:02 PM
26-12-2014, 07:03 PM
Hi Kevin,
Cheers.
Argyle Hibby led the 1914 project. I was a helper
26-12-2014, 07:12 PM
Hi Kevin,
Cheers.
Russell Smith led the Stanton day and acted on suggestions from WT developing them. I had a couple of meetings with Russell to give feedback to his and Bruce Langholm's suggestions and provided input as to changes. That included the complementary ticket allocation
26-12-2014, 07:19 PM
Myself and Rod Cranston have issued tickets to schools. Rod probably phoned a 3rd of the schools. I called rest, sent follow up emails, set up database and maintained the record of who got what, how many and arranged where seats are available in the stands. Leeann spent time setting up letting me know what was required and what she was wanting as an outcome. She has on the whole taken a back seat and let me get on with it though. Sue in Community Foundation helped by co-ordinating with existing schools, providing envelopes and facilities, Nicola and the office staff have been great in helping organise and exchange tickets and posting them out. Could do with help in packaging tickets though if anyone is interested.
Next phase is being worked on which will involve a lot more school involvement. Tom Elliot is heading that and WT will be involved.
Argyle Hibby led the 1914 project. I was a helper
Russell Smith led the Stanton day and acted on suggestions from WT developing them. I had a couple of meetings with Russell to give feedback to his and Bruce Langholm's suggestions and provided input as to changes. That included the complementary ticket allocation
Thanks for that Kevin. Seems to have been a BIG team effort then:aok:
26-12-2014, 07:26 PM
Thanks for that Kevin. Seems to have been a BIG team effort then:aok:
Couldn't multi quote. Sorry for so many separate answers.
26-12-2014, 07:27 PM
And you want to be a board member😄
26-12-2014, 07:31 PM
PatHead OUT Weststandwanab IN
26-12-2014, 07:32 PM
And you want to be a board member
Friggin computer. Would invest in a new laptop if appointed :-).
Keeps missing letters which means it takes ages to type a post of more than 1 line. Only happens on .net.
26-12-2014, 07:41 PM
No problem. Thanks for the answers. :aok:
26-12-2014, 07:59 PM
Friggin computer. Would invest in a new laptop if appointed :-).
Keeps missing letters which means it takes ages to type a post of more than 1 line. Only happens on .net.
I get that too when using Internet Explorer so I use Chrome when on here.
Caversham Green
26-12-2014, 08:56 PM
Still do not see any benefit of these positions being created.
One of the loudest and longest complaints seen on this forum is that Rod Petrie "pulls all the strings". The appointment of two elected directors means that they will have twice as many votes as Petrie. They will also have twice as many voices as Petrie so if the string-pulling thing is true their first duty is to persuade the other directors to cut the strings and if they can't do that then they can let the truth be known through their contact with the general body of fans - straight from the horse's mouth. In truth I suspect the likes of Bruce Langham and Amanda Jones always have and always will be directed by their conscience rather than the man with the tache, but with fans' reps on the board we should know for sure.
On a less political slant, the primary reason for having a board rather than a single director is to incorporate a range of skills and views before making any decisions or taking any actions. I would guess that at least 90% of the decisions taken will be unanimous once all the arguments have been heard - the other 10% or less is where the elected directors will really earn their (lack of) fees. I don't know what the candidates are expecting but I reckon they'll find the posts very different from what most seem to think they would be.
If you don't buy all that, well at least they're not going to be doing any harm.
26-12-2014, 10:00 PM
One of the loudest and longest complaints seen on this forum is that Rod Petrie "pulls all the strings". The appointment of two elected directors means that they will have twice as many votes as Petrie. They will also have twice as many voices as Petrie so if the string-pulling thing is true their first duty is to persuade the other directors to cut the strings and if they can't do that then they can let the truth be known through their contact with the general body of fans - straight from the horse's mouth. In truth I suspect the likes of Bruce Langham and Amanda Jones always have and always will be directed by their conscience rather than the man with the tache, but with fans' reps on the board we should know for sure.
On a less political slant, the primary reason for having a board rather than a single director is to incorporate a range of skills and views before making any decisions or taking any actions. I would guess that at least 90% of the decisions taken will be unanimous once all the arguments have been heard - the other 10% or less is where the elected directors will really earn their (lack of) fees. I don't know what the candidates are expecting but I reckon they'll find the posts very different from what most seem to think they would be.
If you don't buy all that, well at least they're not going to be doing any harm.
I was under the impression that, as the Chairman, RP would have the 'casting vote' so to speak if a consensus could not not be reached :confused:
26-12-2014, 10:09 PM
I was under the impression that, as the Chairman, RP would have the 'casting vote' so to speak if a consensus could not not be reached :confused:
And there is no guarantee that the two elected supporters board members will necessarily agree with each other on all/any issues that come up.
26-12-2014, 10:12 PM
That's normally the case in most companies, and I've no reason to think we do things differently. If I could be arsed, I'd look it up on the Companies House website. ...our Articles of Association will be there.
Cav is right, though, that in the normal course of voting the fans' reps will outnumber Rod. Whether or how he would use a casting vote....that depends on one's view of Rod [emoji6]
26-12-2014, 10:15 PM
And there is no guarantee that the two elected supporters board members will necessarily agree with each other on all/any issues that come up.
That's normally the case in most companies, and I've no reason to think we do things differently. If I could be arsed, I'd look it up on the Companies House website. ...our Articles of Association will be there.
Cav is right, though, that in the normal course of voting the fans' reps will outnumber Rod. Whether or how he would use a casting vote....that depends on one's view of Rod [emoji6]
LD advised at her first meeting with WT that RP could overturn any decision but that she didn't expect the occasion to arise :aok:
26-12-2014, 10:17 PM
LD advised at her first meeting with WT that RP could overturn any decision but that she didn't expect the occasion to arise :aok:
That surprises me if he can. It sounds undemocratic.
When I get my brain out of my stomach, I'll do some digging [emoji1]
26-12-2014, 10:22 PM
:greengrin :aok:
Gerard
26-12-2014, 10:29 PM
There are 2 major shareholders who own Hibs. They have that authority through special resolutions to vote in and out and of the directors of the club. As much as any of us would love to see our club being a 'democracry' it is not legally such. Our club is a private company that has shareholders and 2 of them own and run the company as they own almost 100 % of it.
26-12-2014, 10:40 PM
There are 2 major shareholders who own Hibs. They have that authority through special resolutions to vote in and out and of the directors of the club. As much as any of us would love to see our club being a 'democracry' it is not legally such. Our club is a private company that has shareholders and 2 of them own and run the company as they own almost 100 % of it.
Think you are mixing up shareholder power with director power.
It's true that the shareholders have collective power to appoint and sack the directors. The discussion, though, is about the voting rights within the Board.
I would suggest that you, and all nominees, should establish exactly what your voting rights would be within the Board, and whether those votes can be over-ruled by the Chair.
26-12-2014, 10:48 PM
No he can't. Though he may be able to make a call if the board was split on something. I doubt that it ever really happens that way. Voting at boards is pretty rare in my experience and a chair having a casting vote is rarer.
Gerard
26-12-2014, 10:55 PM
It's true that the shareholders have collective power to appoint and sack the directors. The discussion, though, is about the voting rights within the Board.
I would suggest that you, and all nominees, should establish exactly what your voting rights would be within the Board, and whether those votes can be over-ruled by the Chair.
I attended a meeting where several of the candidates who are standing attended. The 2 new directors will have the same voting rights as the exec and non exec directors on voting issues. We were told about the legal obligations that all the directors have on the board and that the board's voting system is a collegiate one. This was made very clear by the directors who attended on that evening.
The directors on the board can discuss and vote on resolutions when a vote is called for. Ultimately the directors answer to the shareholders and we have 2 shareholders who own and have the final say on the direction of how the club is run.
26-12-2014, 11:02 PM
I attended a meeting where several of the candidates who are standing attended. The 2 new directors will have the same voting rights as the exec and non exec directors on voting issues. We were told about the legal obligations that all the directors have on the board and that the board's voting system is a collegiate one. This was made very clear by the directors who attended on that evening.
The directors on the board can discuss and vote on resolutions when a vote is called for. Ultimately the directors answer to the shareholders and we have 2 shareholders who own and have the final say on the direction of how the club is run.
What is meant by "collegiate"?
26-12-2014, 11:04 PM
I would imagine though, that should the unlikely situation arise where there was a MAJOR problem between the actions of the board and the wishes of the major shareholders, then things would be progressed to change the board members so that their thinking aligned with the major shareholders.
26-12-2014, 11:07 PM
And you want to be a board member
26-12-2014, 11:07 PM
I would imagine though, that should the unlikely situation arise where there was a MAJOR problem between the actions of the board and the wishes of the major shareholders, then things would be progressed to change the board members so that their thinking aligned with the major shareholders.
You're right.
I don't think it's ever happened, though, and I can't see that it ever will.
Unless, of course, our reps are really Bolshie and get the rest of our Board to make radical decisions [emoji6]
Gerard
26-12-2014, 11:13 PM
What is meant by "collegiate"?
We were told by a director who attended the meeting with candidates that the clubs directors are bound by a collegiate system of voring when a vote is taken. It was further explained that this is a majority system and you are expected to be bound to follow the majority decision and not subvert it. It was also explained that the Hibs BODs has discussions that are passionate in nature and not all result in a vote being taken. I see the voting system being one where you accept the majority view of the board. This is a reasonable and pratical way of decision making as you have a chance to present your point of view to the board and then a vote is taken and the majority vote decides the outcome of the action(s) being discussed.
26-12-2014, 11:16 PM
We were told by a director who attended the meeting with candidates that the clubs directors are bound by a collegiate system of voring when a vote is taken. It was further explained that this is a majority system and you are expected to be bound to follow the majority decision and not subvert it. It was also explained that the Hibs BODs has discussions that are passionate in nature and not all result in a vote being taken. I see the voting system being one where you accept the majority view of the board. This is a reasonable and pratical way of decision making as you have a chance to present your point of view to the board and then a vote is taken and the majority vote decides the outcome of the action(s) being discussed.
Cheers, that's what I thought, and hoped, you meant.
26-12-2014, 11:46 PM
You're right.
I don't think it's ever happened, though, and I can't see that it ever will.
Unless, of course, our reps are really Bolshie and get the rest of our Board to make radical decisions [emoji6]
Like if they stood on their dig when a ***** strip was proposed and said...."no way I am voting for Hibs strip that looks like that...":wink:
26-12-2014, 11:47 PM
Like if they stood on their dig when a ***** strip was proposed and said...."no way I am voting for Hibs strip that looks like that...":wink:
Got my vote ☺
Weststandwanab
27-12-2014, 07:40 AM
I think you are 100% correct.
Just another one of a number.
She did indeed.
PatHead OUT Weststandwanab IN
No thank you. Having experienced the hassle you get for multi-quoting here and a ban elsewhere for an issue caused by dyslexia I cannot imagine how bad it would be when these fans reps - sorry Directors - are party to a decision that is not welcomed by supporters !
And therein lies the route of the problem.
I would suggest that you, and all nominees, should establish exactly what your voting rights would be within the Board, and whether those votes can be
over-ruled by the Chair.
I think this point is vital.
Hi Suzy. I got the impression during the discussion that would be the ultimate sanction and that it would mean sacking the entire board. Something that's just not going to happen.
rj1875
27-12-2014, 09:42 AM
Good morning,
I am one of the nominees, Robert Johnston, I will be at the game today West Upper LL66 ...drop by and say hello.
Happy to chat with anyone who want's to hear more about the board position or how I would try to help get your views across to the board.
27-12-2014, 09:46 AM
Good morning,
I am one of the nominees, Robert Johnston, I will be at the game today West Upper LL66 ...drop by and say hello.
Happy to chat with anyone who want's to hear more about the board position or how I would try to help get your views across to the board.
Only if you agree to share your tartan rug and pass round the pan drops :)
Caversham Green
27-12-2014, 09:48 AM
He does have the casting vote where there is no majority but with an odd number of people on the board and the vast majority of votes being a choice of two options that is unlikely to happen unless there are abstentions or absentees. In practice formal votes are unlikely to take place very often and the vast majority of decisions will be unanimous or very nearly so. As Jack says RP doesn't have the power to overturn a director's vote or majority decision - that is a shareholder's power so he doesn't really have that on his own either.
To reiterate a point that I see as most important, the new directors will be two voices on the board. The right candidates will be able to make those voices heard and working jointly will be the most powerful force there because they will have a genuine mandate from the club's raison d'etre.
I think it's far from being a pointless exercise and I hope we get the right candidates in place.
rj1875
27-12-2014, 09:49 AM
Only if you agree to share your tartan rug and pass round the pan drops :) ....
of course, prawn sandwiches too
27-12-2014, 09:56 AM
Good morning,
Robert Johnston?
Shall I be the millionth person to say that I'll meet you at the Crossroads?
[emoji1]
Hope everyone had a good Christmas.
I'm in the Hibs Club at Sunnyside if anyone wants to catch up.
Also, I sit in the East Stand, Row G, Seat 122. If you want to catch up at the game.
27-12-2014, 10:26 AM
Hope everyone had a good Christmas.
I'm in the Hibs Club at Sunnyside if anyone wants to catch up.
Also, I sit in the East Stand, Row G, Seat 122. If you want to catch up at the game.
Cannae make it Amit, but good luck and seeing you are in the club, give my regards to Walter and tell him I'll see him in August
hibsfan
27-12-2014, 10:30 AM
Can I just put another good word in for Martin Willis? He is the only nominee that I know personally, but I really can't imagine anyone else doing a better job. He is the most passionate Hibee I have ever met and gives everything he does 100% . I believe he has spoken well when posting on this thread and can't believe he hasn't received more positive comments of support.
Robert Johnston?
Shall I be the millionth person to say that I'll meet you at the Crossroads?
[emoji1]
Robert Johnson?
Boris
27-12-2014, 04:45 PM
Cannae make it Amit, but good luck and seeing you are in the club, give my regards to Walter and tell him I'll see him in August
You'll be in Leith Dockers Club the Fred........ Walter was tempted to pastures anew a while back :wink:
27-12-2014, 08:52 PM
You'll be in Leith Dockers Club the Fred........ Walter was tempted to pastures anew a while back :wink:
Never knew that Jim, he was always very helpful on my sojourns back, and finally succeeded in cooling the Tennents in the club.
Oops...off topic, sorry
29-12-2014, 10:01 AM
I will be online for about the next 2 hours if anyone has questions.
Would also like to hear from other candidates.
davcar
29-12-2014, 10:11 AM
I will be online for about the next 2 hours if anyone has questions.
Would also like to hear from other candidates.
Not asking you to spill what today's announcement is, but do candidates know what the press conference today is about?
29-12-2014, 10:27 AM
Not asking you to spill what today's announcement is, but do candidates know what the press conference today is about?
I don't but assume it will be about the debt reduction, trust for the stadium, etc that has been getting mentioned.
29-12-2014, 11:13 AM
Would anyone be interested in attending a meeting at Easter Road to hear all candidates if it could be arranged?
Maybe one evening in January. I would propose 14 January when the next Working Together meeting takes place.
The more people hear about candidates the more informed the vote.
Weststandwanab
29-12-2014, 11:32 AM
I have a question for all candidates ( I have not voted yet), does today's marvellous announcement change in any way what your intentions (if elected)would be as Board Members and if so what would these changes be and why ?
29-12-2014, 11:38 AM
I have a question for all candidates ( I have not voted yet), does today's marvellous announcement change in any way what your intentions (if elected)would be as Board Members and if so what would these changes be and why ?
Gut reaction is not really as we were all aware of the likelihood of something happening. Just didn't know what.
I am surprised that it is 51% straight away though. I thought it might be phased once an indication as to the appetite of the supporters was tested.
If anything it makes it all the more important to engage with as many supporters throughout the term as they will be owners- or at least a lot more of them will be.
Weststandwanab
29-12-2014, 11:48 AM
Pathead many thanks for the prompt reply.
Hi,
It doesn't really change my intentions which are to ensure the views and opinions of supporters are represented at Board level. However, today's announcement (which is great news for the Club) means supporters now have the opportunity to own a share of the club and at the same time safe-guard the Stadium and Training Centre.
[emoji106]
Weststandwanab
29-12-2014, 01:03 PM
Thank you for the response Amit.
29-12-2014, 01:23 PM
Good morning,
I enjoyed our chat before the game Robert (not as much as the game itself though!). You come across as an intelligent and articulate guy who cares deeply about our beloved Hibees. While it's all very well having the passion for the club that undoubtedly all the candidates will have, we need people who will be able to represent the views of our support in a manner that is constructive and well thought out. I think you could be one of those people and wish you luck with the nomination.
Robert got one of my votes (i'm not sure if mentioning is the done thing so i'll keep my other vote to myself!)
29-12-2014, 02:13 PM
Robert got one of my votes (i'm not sure if mentioning is the done thing so i'll keep my other vote to myself!)
I thought I would stop short of actually saying I was voting for him :greengrin
Dunky7
29-12-2014, 03:23 PM
More... (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/5035)
Duncan-Hibs.png
Islington Hibs
29-12-2014, 03:36 PM
I really do not know who to vote for. I don't know any of the candidates personally and it is very difficult to judge from the personal statements as, out of necessity, they are pretty brief and some do not even have photo's. I know this is not a very helpful post but I'll bet there are thousands like me and that makes it a bit of a lottery.
Ultimately I want someone who has no 'agenda,' is open to rational discussion, fairly long term in their approach and not prone to panic and rabble rouse every time we lose and is dedicated, creative and understands the club needs to build a quality 'brand' which is again leading in Scotland. And is not on some ego trip. Does such a person exist?
29-12-2014, 03:48 PM
I have a joint honours degree in history and politics and still have no idea what you meant in this context.
I thought the post you quoted was perfectly clear in what it said and can't see what it had to do with controlling a message or New Labour spin.
Lol I have a joint honours degree in Classical Studies and Philosophy and I didn't know what he meant either lol
I really do not know who to vote for. I don't know any of the candidates personally and it is very difficult to judge from the personal statements as, out of necessity, they are pretty brief and some do not even have photo's. I know this is not a very helpful post but I'll bet there are thousands like me and that makes it a bit of a lottery.
Ultimately I want someone who has no 'agenda,' is open to rational discussion, fairly long term in their approach and not prone to panic and rabble rouse every time we lose and is dedicated, creative and understands the club needs to build a quality 'brand' which is again leading in Scotland. And is not on some ego trip. Does such a person exist?
Hi Islington Hibs,
I can understand your predicament. The personal statements can only provide so much and it also comes down to the reader's interpretation of the statements. For example, some people may interpret that a single candidate has all the qualities you've described above whilst others may think that a combination of the strengths of two candidates deliver the above characteristics.
I'm happy to catch up at the next game if you're still undecided [emoji106]
Cheers,
Amit
29-12-2014, 05:19 PM
Yes me :-)
Seriously I have asked if we can have a Q&A at Easter Road on Wednesday 14 January to which all candidates and supporters could be invited. Obviously subject to numbers. If it was full I am sure a 2nd session could be organised. I am waiting on them getting back.
I am not looking to be a representative for ego or anything other than the best for the club. It will give all candidates the chance to show their strengths. At the risk of sounding arrogant I believe I am the right person for a place on the board as I am not in it for ego or anything other than what is best for the club. As I said in my personal statement I do a lot for the club currently and spend a lot of time trying to get things done. I know a lot of the staff and management which means I would hit the ground running rather than having to wait on building trust and finding out how things work.
I, like you, do not know who to put my second vote for and would appreciate meeting other candidates to find out who they are and why they think they should be on the board. Regarding the "brand" I am looking forward to meeting the new Marketing Manager and seeing what we can do to help.
Kevin Martin
Gerard
29-12-2014, 05:41 PM
We were advised by the Hibs board director to keep our profiles brief in order that people would read them. I only want to do what is best for our club and that is my only agenda. If a meeting is arranged to meet the candidates I will do my best to attend that meeting and make it a priority to be there. All of the candidates are able to make their contrinbutions to our club. I suggest that the candidates who are not elected can still contribute to making our club a better one. There is a lot of talent that thee candidates have and Hibs will benefit by using that talent. I hope that their is a large vote from 'electorate'.
29-12-2014, 05:50 PM
Would anyone be interested in attending a meeting at Easter Road to hear all candidates if it could be arranged?
Maybe one evening in January. I would propose 14 January when the next Working Together meeting takes place.
Good idea, but I'm away all that week. Would it not be better to hold before a home game?
Martinwillis
29-12-2014, 06:10 PM
I appreciate that it must be difficult to decide who to vote for. I love the idea that has been suggested of a Q&A session for supporters and nominees. It will be interesting to see how the club reacts to this plea.
All i I can say is that I am not here for an ego trip or any reason other than the good of the club. It's not really about what we want or what we can offer / change. That's not what's being asked of us. We are there to be aware of and to communicate the views / opinions and concerns of fellow supporters and to ensure the club are aware of and deal with these.
I will be happy to chat with anyone at the next fixture - as I would be every week if I was successful in this process.
The best way to communicate with me at the moment though is twitter @mrmartinwillis
Capt Mainwaring
29-12-2014, 06:16 PM
I'd like to see the Candidates that are posting on .Net use this Thread to make a statement on the proposals outlined by Hibs today together. Thanks in advance
Islington Hibs
29-12-2014, 06:17 PM
Thank you to those that have responded- appreciated. I am sure most supporters really will just take a gut view on the profiles and also on some of the comments on this board. I think who ever gets it will need a pretty thick skin and be prepared to take the rough with the smooth. Best wishes.
29-12-2014, 06:26 PM
Good idea, but I'm away all that week. Would it not be better to hold before a home game?
With hospitality and things on the main stand would be difficult. Might be easy enough to do it in BTG or in the Hibs Club if they would accommodate us. Leave it with me.
29-12-2014, 07:10 PM
I called the Hibs supporters club but no committee members were available. I have sent them an email asking if a hall could be arranged before the Falkirk game.
kevinc
29-12-2014, 07:41 PM
I would attend such an event, regards.
29-12-2014, 07:44 PM
I'd like to see the Candidates that are posting on .Net use this Thread to make a statement on the proposals outlined by Hibs today together. Thanks in advance
I did say in my personal statement that I was in favour of partial fan ownership though I favoured 25.1%. Not sure if any other candidates mentioned it? I am therefore happy with today.
I don't think it will change the role of a board member though highlights why they have to communicate with supporters/shareholders.
Hi Capt Mainwaring,
In a previous reply (post #481), I stated that today's announcement doesn't change my intentions (should I be one of the successful candidates) which are to ensure the views and opinions of supporters are represented at Board level.
However, today's announcement is great news for the Club and means supporters now have the opportunity to own a stake in the Club and at the same time safe-guard Easter Road Stadium and the Hibernian Training Centre.
I hope that covers off your question.
Cheers,
Amit
Gerard
29-12-2014, 10:05 PM
I think this is good news. The debt of the club is reduced and it gives us the chance to buy up to 51% of the club. It also protects ER and the training centre. To be dbt from from the bank is a good day for our club.
Martinwillis
30-12-2014, 07:57 AM
I have always said that 100% fan ownership was something that I was very fearful of. I have also been reluctant to support the buyHibs campaign. Therefore I feel that today's announcement is a positive one and the right balance in terms of giving power to supporters. I have said before that I believe LD is one of the most positive signings we have made in a very long time. My only concern is that at times her focus seems to be too heavy on community projects rather than the project of getting it right on the park long term.
At at least with her though, there IS a plan.
as always - happy to discuss with undecided voters - contact me via Twitter - @mrmartinwillis