View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs 2 vs Alloa 0 (Handling & Malonga) FT

13-12-2014, 12:54 PM
Big game today, dare i say it but it is a must win game for us and only 3 points will do.

Won't be attending today's game due to being a bit under the weather, talking of which, clear skies but will be a tad cold so wrap up for it.

Any news on injuries, will Craig come back in to the team, if not the young lads who come in need to start showing they are up for games like this.

:gwa:

H18S NX
13-12-2014, 01:57 PM
i heard cummings is on the bench

13-12-2014, 02:03 PM
You can use I Spy instead of hitting 5 all the time.

http://www.hibs.net/vaispy.php

13-12-2014, 02:05 PM

Any team news?

13-12-2014, 02:07 PM
First game of the season for me, hoping for a good performance :-)

InterviewLoI
13-12-2014, 02:07 PM
Is it on the radio anywhere?

13-12-2014, 02:10 PM

Cummings starts up front with malonga. Craig back in also.

13-12-2014, 02:10 PM

you heard wrong.

Oxley
Gray Hanlon Fontaine Stevenson
Robertson Craig Handling S.Allan
Cummings Malonga

Perntreou Stanton Heffernan Sinclair Booth Kennedy Martin

13-12-2014, 02:16 PM
and they are wearing the white kit. team as per my earlier post.

Kaff
13-12-2014, 02:19 PM
you heard wrong.

Oxley
Cummings Malonga

That definitely seems to be AS favourite XI atm. Forster may edge into it when fit as he carries a goal threat and obviously Farid would be first pick if back to normal.

13-12-2014, 02:19 PM
you heard wrong.

Oxley
Cummings Malonga

That team will do me, no excuses today, 3 points are a must, it can be the worst game of the season as far as I'm concerned, deflected goal to get 3 points will do me.

13-12-2014, 02:20 PM
Anyone no the Alloa team for today.

Sure they have got some of there injured players back for today's game.

H18S NX
13-12-2014, 02:21 PM
you heard wrong.

Oxley
Cummings Malonga

Perntreou Stanton Heffernan Sinclair Booth Kennedy Martin ..obviously,last time i listen to his faither

13-12-2014, 02:24 PM
and they are wearing the white kit. team as per my earlier post.

I quite like the home strip but much prefer the white away top!! Hopefully will bring us a bit of luck at home!

13-12-2014, 02:25 PM
Strongest available XI, should be more than capable.

Lee Marvin
13-12-2014, 02:25 PM
That definitely seems to be AS favourite XI atm. Forster may edge into it when fit as he carries a goal threat and obviously Farid would be first pick if back to normal.

You forgot mcgeough for handling. Hopefully playing Allan at the top of the diamond

WestEndHibee
13-12-2014, 02:27 PM
Is it on the radio anywhere?

Forth 2 have it I think.

http://radioplayer.forth2.com/live/

13-12-2014, 02:29 PM
You forgot mcgeough for handling. Hopefully playing Allan at the top of the diamond

Yip. Really hoping we can do a deal for McGeouch but think wages and/or other teams may be after him.

Kaff
13-12-2014, 02:30 PM

Terrible mistake, sorry!

That becomes a very good team with McGeough and Farid, Forster if he adds a goal or two

HappyHibby93
13-12-2014, 02:46 PM
Yip. Really hoping we can do a deal for McGeouch but think wages and/or other teams may be after him.

Call me a happy clapper but i think AS has got something going here, i think you might see McGeouch buy into. Perhaps I'm a little optimistic, but i reckon we have got a pretty good chance of him being at ER next year.

13-12-2014, 02:53 PM
Call me a happy clapper but i think AS has got something going here, i think you might see McGeouch buy into. Perhaps I'm a little optimistic, but i reckon we have got a pretty good chance of him being at ER next year.

I hope so because he is a quality player.

13-12-2014, 02:56 PM

... only if we go up surely?

13-12-2014, 02:59 PM
Easter Road is empty

13-12-2014, 03:03 PM
Easter Road is empty

Surely not if your there!!! ;-)

13-12-2014, 03:12 PM
Sounds like a scrapy start.

13-12-2014, 03:19 PM
Sounds like a scrapy start.

With a silent s :wink:

13-12-2014, 03:20 PM
With a silent s :wink:

That good!!

13-12-2014, 03:22 PM
Plenty Hibs pressure. Cue goal Alloa

13-12-2014, 03:28 PM
Alloa adopting the usual away tactics at ER this season.

13-12-2014, 03:28 PM
Hanlon almost with a header.

13-12-2014, 03:29 PM

:agree: yawn

Lee Marvin

Do you blame them?! They work more often than not. Lets hope we can find a way through today

1-0 Handling

13-12-2014, 03:30 PM
Goal Handling.

Get in

Goooooalll.

Handling. Tap in after a save by the keeper

yyyeesss 1-0.

Goal from Scapegoat

Edit: Sorry Handling

13-12-2014, 03:31 PM
Glad for him, been getting some stick. Well done Danny! :thumbsup:

:agree: yawn

Was falling sleep about 5mins ago mate ;-)

Get in there!!

👍👍👍

Get in there Danny boy

H18Y GW
13-12-2014, 03:32 PM
Goal from Scapegoat

Edit: Sorry Handling

Thank Sauzee he never had time to think or take a first touch 😜

13-12-2014, 03:33 PM
Sounded like everyone doing the right things on the radio, Cummings taking his shot and Handling following in like a good 10 should.

More of that, please.

13-12-2014, 03:33 PM
@HibsOfficial: 29: Malonga winds up to shoot from 30 yards out... but he slips and falls. #unluckyDominique #HFCvAAFC

13-12-2014, 03:35 PM
Cmon Hibs lets get another and finish this game early for a change.

Sounded like everyone doing the right things on the radio, Cummings taking his shot and Handling following in like a good 10 should. More of that, please.

Indeed. Shot on target and players following in for rebound.

Mon Hibs let's put this game to bed

And I was about to question why Handling was starting ahead of Stanton... I'll keep schtuum for now :wink:

13-12-2014, 03:36 PM
haha even when he scores for us someone has a dig.... ffs.

13-12-2014, 03:36 PM
Cmon Hibs lets get another and finish this game early for a change.

Like at Dumbarton? :greengrin

It's never finished with Hibs

13-12-2014, 03:38 PM
Well done Danny, keep proving me wrong!

13-12-2014, 03:38 PM
haha even when he scores for us someone has a dig.... ffs.

It's always the case underscore. It doesn't matter what they do they will get it tight. Best way to prove your doubters... Put the ball in net!!

13-12-2014, 03:51 PM
Ht. Get a 2nd and its game over.

13-12-2014, 03:54 PM
I've never so few update posts on a matchday thread.

Either there's literally nothing worth reporting or people's fingers have frozen sold and can't type anything :wink:

13-12-2014, 03:55 PM
I've never so so few update posts on a matchday thread.

Either there's literally nothing worth reporting or people's fingers have frozen sold and can't type anything :wink:

Same reason as always. We are winning. We will get plenty of updates if Alloa score from the usual mob.

13-12-2014, 03:55 PM
I've never so few update posts on a matchday thread.

A bit of both mate

13-12-2014, 03:56 PM
Same reason as always. We are winning. We will get plenty of updates if Alloa score from the usual mob.

13-12-2014, 03:57 PM
A bit of both mate

OK, fair enough.

Couldn't you just post one of your famous GIFs, just to be going on with?

13-12-2014, 04:01 PM
OK, fair enough.

Couldn't you just post one of your famous GIFs, just to be going on with?

Not aloud to post gifs on match threads :(

13-12-2014, 04:06 PM
Dont want to sound negative but i just can't see us holding out for a win.

13-12-2014, 04:07 PM

13-12-2014, 04:09 PM

Hope the players have got a better attitude

13-12-2014, 04:11 PM
We won't need to hold on we will score another one at least

13-12-2014, 04:12 PM

Based on? 'Typical Hibs' doesn't count.

13-12-2014, 04:12 PM
Fancy 3-0 FT

13-12-2014, 04:15 PM
Based on? 'Typical Hibs' doesn't count.

Why would it "not count "??

Think we'll win for what it's worth.

13-12-2014, 04:15 PM
Booth on for Gray

13-12-2014, 04:16 PM
Is Gray injured !? Is it bad !? Just what we don't need...

13-12-2014, 04:16 PM

you do realise that negativity on the internet can have an effect on the game/result :hilarious

13-12-2014, 04:17 PM

Kevin Harper suggesting tnat he might have tweaked a hammy...

56:11 Substitution, Hibernian. Callum Booth replaces David Gray because of an injury.

hopefully not more bad luck on the run of injuries we are getting

As long as we win I don't give a hoot!!

13-12-2014, 04:19 PM
Typical

13-12-2014, 04:20 PM
30 mins left.

Nevi_SOL
Inverness 4-0 down at home against Partick

Typical

Maybe preventative - he didn't seem to be limping when he walked off.

13-12-2014, 04:21 PM
possession

60% v 40%

shots

7 v 1

corners

13 v 2

Maybe preventative - he didn't seem to be limping when he walked off.

Hope that's the case, could do without more injuries, could arguably be our 3 best players out.

Nothing's happening for Malonga at all.

Tollhouse Hibee
13-12-2014, 04:26 PM

maybe time for a wee change - Heffernan?

13-12-2014, 04:26 PM
Cummings does the difficult stuff then shoots wide.

13-12-2014, 04:27 PM

Please no, Heffernans had his chance

13-12-2014, 04:28 PM

... and missed!

13-12-2014, 04:28 PM
cummings consistent with his poor control again

13-12-2014, 04:32 PM
2-- Do Do Do dominic malonga :thumbsup:

2-0 Malonga YEEESSSS!

2-0 Malonga

Schlonga Malonga

Phew, 2-0 :top marks

Yes!

Bit of a howler from the keeper there.

Another goal for Malonga though.

Tollhouse Hibee

not really this season, hardly had any game time, anyway malonga does nothing and scores again!!!

13-12-2014, 04:33 PM
x

13-12-2014, 04:34 PM
Goal! Hibernian 2, Alloa Athletic 0. Dominique Malonga (Hibernian) left footed shot from the centre of the box to the high centre of the goal. Assisted by Liam Craig.

Get in there!!

Hopefully 3 points in bag!!

Thanks for that :aok:

Keep a clean sheet and we're 3rd in the table.

1-0 no longa

Hibs score by Malonga.

:flag: :flag:

Game over.

Nice one practice defending a lead at hope

Kennedy on for Handling

13-12-2014, 04:35 PM
Kennedy on for Handling

Why would it "not count "??

Think we'll win for what it's worth.

Because I'm guessing he'd actually seen nothing this afternoon to rather dramatically suggest he couldn't see Hibs holding on.

How do you work that out. We get six points for a win??

QOTS won yesterday so we can't go 3rd.

13-12-2014, 04:36 PM
Game over.

This is Hibs you know?

Are we getting 6 points for todays win? :wink:

Goal! Hibernian 2, Alloa Athletic 0. Dominique Malonga (Hibernian) left footed shot from the centre of the box to the high centre of the goal. Assisted by Liam Craig.

Yeah, but that's what the BBC says, so it's probably a load of b******s :wink:

13-12-2014, 04:37 PM

It'll be very unfair if we don't!

Thanks for that

QOTS won yesterday so we can't go 3rd.

Sorry, took it from the BBC site which shows them 3 points ahead - up to date as I am that shower

13-12-2014, 04:38 PM

Hes so lazy :agree:

Doo doo doo

Sorry, took it from the BBC site which shows them 3 points ahead - up to date as I am that shower

I had a look and the BBC website shows them on 28 points??? Strange

They beat Rankers, they are 3 points ahead.

13-12-2014, 04:39 PM
How do you work that out. We get six points for a win??

Couldn't be ar$ed responding to that one.............. :wink:

13-12-2014, 04:39 PM
We need another couple to see this game out.

13-12-2014, 04:40 PM

;-)

13-12-2014, 04:41 PM
A livingston goal would be nice now.

13-12-2014, 04:42 PM
Hes so lazy :agree:

tbf he's had a mare today and got a a proper bolliking from the side lines earlier.

13-12-2014, 04:42 PM
A livingston goal would be nice now.

Nah it wouldn't. I've got Falkirk on my coupon this week!

13-12-2014, 04:43 PM
players lininng up for the pass and cummings goes alone again

McIntosh
13-12-2014, 04:44 PM
We need another couple to see this game out. We really need to implement a drug testing policy for posters.

players lininng up for the pass and cummings goes alone again

Was it not Kennedy?

Nah it wouldn't. I've got Falkirk on my coupon this week!

AYE, it would :aok: F£ck your coupon :greengrin

Malonga and Allan are by far our best playeers, long term deals please!

13-12-2014, 04:45 PM
ItS Baltic totally cannae type. Decent performance. Alloa parked the bus again. Very few forrays into oor half.

Heff on for Jase.

Heff on for Cummings

Was it not Kennedy?

it was steve cowan that said so :dunno:

13-12-2014, 04:46 PM
Malonga and Allan are by far our best playeers, long term deals please!

Robertson is Hibs TV's man of the match.

13-12-2014, 04:47 PM
3 mins left :)

13-12-2014, 04:49 PM
Dumbarton 2 Raith 1....good for us

13-12-2014, 04:49 PM
tbf he's had a mare today and got a a proper bolliking from the side lines earlier.

To me, he scored. Which is a centre forwards job. Therefore its impossible for him to have had 'a mare'.

How many goals per game is that now? Must be close to a goal a game.

13-12-2014, 04:50 PM
Folk booing us for keeping the ball when 2 up after 90 minutes. Only a handful but still.....

****ing clowns.

13-12-2014, 04:51 PM
FT 2-0

That'll do! :aok:

FT 2-0

clean sheet for the defence, tiz all good

SneakersO'Toole
To me, he scored. Which is a centre forwards job. Therefore its impossible for him to have had 'a mare'.

Exactly. I'll take a 'mare' every game if he keeps this scoring rate going.

2-0 FT. Three points at home

I think that's 7 total now.

SneakersO'Toole
13-12-2014, 04:52 PM
Good job Hibs.

Let's build some momentum next week going into the double header against Sevco and the tramps.

Last minute Ross county equaliser just cost me £181 for a fiver stake!

Folk booing us for keeping the ball when 2 up after 90 minutes. Only a handful but still.....

****ing clowns. :agree:

Perhaps that is why they are watching football and not playing the game...... :wink:

13-12-2014, 04:53 PM

****ing clowns.

Imagine that being your life, lol.

****ing clowns.

agreed. erse holes.

Last minute Ross county equaliser just cost me £181 for a fiver stake!

Now had it been Livvy, that would have suited us better.... :na na:

13-12-2014, 04:55 PM
Now had it been Livvy, that would have suited us better.... :na na:

Won't say what I was going to say cos that would get me banned. ;-)

13-12-2014, 04:55 PM
I hate some of the folk that "support" us. Booing the players for keeping possession and knocking it about with ease in the last few minutes having had the game in the bag. ****ing idiots.

13-12-2014, 04:58 PM

:agree: Hardly a game goes by without Malonga getting stick on here for being lazy or having a shocker. And almost every game, the guy scores. I swear there must be some who'd prefer we still had Collins leading the line :greengrin

13-12-2014, 04:58 PM

****ing clowns.

Its incredible eh?! Serious question.... Could someone who did feel the need to boo at that point in the game come on here and tell us why?? I would love to know what they think that is gonna achieve. Please come on and tell us. Ta.

13-12-2014, 04:59 PM
I think that's 7 total now.

I had a quick look at the hibs site and it looks like Malonga has 10 goals in 13 appearances. Although happy to be corrected. Whatever, thats not shabby at all :aok:

13-12-2014, 04:59 PM
I had a quick look at the hibs site and it looks like Malinga has 10 goals in 13 appearances. Although happy to be corrected. Whatever, thats not shabby at all :aok:

7 in the league 3 in the cup

13-12-2014, 05:00 PM
I had a quick look at the hibs site and it looks like Malonga has 10 goals in 13 appearances. Although happy to be corrected. Whatever, thats not shabby at all :aok:

I'll never qn his ability to score goals... but he could do so much more.

13-12-2014, 05:03 PM

Sorry 7 in the league :wink:

13-12-2014, 05:04 PM
Won't say what I was going to say cos that would get me banned. ;-)

Sorry Man :thumbsup:

13-12-2014, 05:05 PM

Goals win games. People moaned about Stokes in the same way.

13-12-2014, 05:05 PM
Sorry Man :thumbsup:

:-). Just messing! No need for you to apologise at all.

13-12-2014, 05:08 PM
:agree: Hardly a game goes by without Malonga getting stick on here for being lazy or having a shocker. And almost every game, the guy scores. I swear there must be some who'd prefer we still had Collins leading the line :greengrin

He didn't play as well as he can.

His touch was poorer than it normally is. He still scored and we won.

"A friend of mine once said he liked his women like his parmesan: strong smelling and shaved"

13-12-2014, 05:09 PM

I disagree and you've landed on one of my pet footballing hates. Defenders that are solid and consistent at the back are never criticised for a lack of goals, neither are holding midfielders. So why are strikers criticised for being lazy and not 'tracking back'? (Especially when this 'tracking back' would probably leave him out of position and unable to score the ten goals hes scored for us.)

Every team needs a poacher. Let him get on with it.

13-12-2014, 05:10 PM

Malonga is the kind of striker who frustrates. If the goals dry up for him he will put pressure on himself as he will be accused of not working for the team.... As long as he keeps scoring it won't be so bad. Unfortunately some players are or look lazy. Malonga comes into that category. You're right tho. His ability to score goals isn't in question...

13-12-2014, 05:13 PM
Good win, performance was not so good.

13-12-2014, 05:17 PM
I disagree and you've landed on one of my pet footballing hates. Defenders that are solid and consistent at the back are never criticised for a lack of goals, neither are holding midfielders. So why are strikers criticised for being lazy and not 'tracking back'? (Especially when this 'tracking back' would probably leave him out of position and unable to score the ten goals hes scored for us.)

Every team needs a poacher. Let him get on with it.

He didn't even poach today tho.. Farid will score as many once he;s back in the team, but he brings so much more to the team.

13-12-2014, 05:17 PM
A stroll today but should've been 3-4 goals, Handling MOM? Scott Allan was the best man on the park, Cummings needs dropped down to U20's his touch is poor and never sees a pass, would like to see Lewis Allan getting a chance but 3 pts and a good performance is what we needed.

13-12-2014, 05:18 PM
Was at the game today, left at half-time. Complete bore-fest inn my opinion. Alloa came, parked the bus and we struggled to break them down. Even after we scored they refused to cross the half-way line. Nah, not for me any more. Anyone know someone wanting a half price season adult ticket for the East ? Club price - £200 can have mine for £100. just send me a pm and it's yours.

13-12-2014, 05:18 PM

In this league its results first every time. :top marks

13-12-2014, 05:19 PM
Its incredible eh?! Serious question.... Could someone who did feel the need to boo at that point in the game come on here and tell us why?? I would love to know what they think that is gonna achieve. Please come on and tell us. Ta.

It must be the total football they are all used to watching

13-12-2014, 05:20 PM

Performance was fine.

Don't think Oxley touched the ball in the 2nd half until about the 77th minute, we won by 2 and should have scored more.

When teams come to Easter road and play so defensively there's only so much we can do.

13-12-2014, 05:21 PM
Was at the game today, left at half-time. Complete bore-fest inn my opinion. Alloa came, parked the bus and we struggled to break them down. Even after we scored they refused to cross the half-way line. Nah, not for me any more. Anyone know someone wanting a half price season adult ticket for the East ? Club price - £200 can have mine for £100. just send me a pm and it's yours.

Steady Franck once we gub them at the piggery you'll be fine

13-12-2014, 05:22 PM

I'll give you £20 if you're desperate. Any more bids?

13-12-2014, 05:23 PM
In this league its results first every time. :top marks

Agree. Also performance was fine ...they are hard to beat ...were were patient and dominant ..

13-12-2014, 05:25 PM

As he's a striker scoring nearly a goal a game at the moment, I'll have to respectfully disagree.

What more could he do ?

A few last ditch tackles ? Sproule -esque runs down the wrong perhaps ?

13-12-2014, 05:25 PM
I'll give you £20 if you're desperate. Any more bids?

Scoff all you want lads, serious offer, as of today you can deal me out.

13-12-2014, 05:26 PM
:-). Just messing! No need for you to apologise at all.

I ken :wink:

13-12-2014, 05:26 PM
I ken :wink:

:-)

13-12-2014, 05:27 PM

The modern football supporter.

Each to their own but this type of chat is utterly alien to me

I'll remain a Hibs supporter who continues to, well, support Hibs

13-12-2014, 05:28 PM
Malonga was pretty poor today. He scored though so job done and I'm happy with that. Cummings needs to learn he can't shoot every time he has the ball, wasted several good chances today. Scott Allan is the best midfielder in the league and we would do well to get him tied down to a longer contract.

Bit dramatic tbh

WestEndHibee
Goals win games. People moaned about Stokes in the same way.

This one always gets me. A lazy player is a player who can't achieve results on the pitch. Whatever malonga is doing is working because he's banging in the goals. As soon as you put pressure on a player like this to work more. You actually risk losing the goals he does score as he'll find himself in different positions on the pitch and will likely make different decisions through being more tired.

13-12-2014, 05:33 PM

Sorry, but that's absolutely pathetic, especially on the back of a 2-0 home win. Yes the performance wasn't great, but when you support a team...you support them for life. This 'not for me any more' chat is brutal.

13-12-2014, 05:35 PM
Phew! That wasn't easy on the eyes but an important win bringing us three points closer to Sevco and keeping in touch with Queen of the South. Anything other than a win and Falkirk would have leapfrogged us too.
As maturehibby said we've played better and lost this season.

13-12-2014, 05:35 PM
Thought it was a decent game today. Alloa parked the bus and we scored two. Malonga's first touch was terrible all day, I even think his goal was a bad touch :wink: but I will take that off him every week. Thought Handling was good today but not MotM, Allan takes that again. Worried that Gray went off, got a bit frustrated at Lewis turning back on himself to get on his good foot, there was so much space down the right flank to get in behind them. But I am happy enough with the 3 points. As someone said before wtf were people booing at when we were keeping the ball at the end :confused:. Roll on the orcs and the mini orcs

13-12-2014, 05:37 PM

Aaw. Broke one of your nails hun. ??

13-12-2014, 05:37 PM
I am delighted with a win but I didn't particularly enjoy today.

Our better players were poor as well which didn't help. Allan and Malonga both had poor games and it didn't help that one of our better attacking threats in Gray went off injured.

But like I said we won so I'm happy

"A friend of mine once said he liked his women like his parmesan: strong smelling and shaved"

13-12-2014, 05:43 PM
All that was needed today was 3 points. Job done.

Now we have finally got a win at home then hopefully we will now see a lot more, now move on to the next game and look for another 3 points, and 3 points closer to the to the 3 teams above us.

Well done team and Manager.

13-12-2014, 05:44 PM
That was dreadful today. Alloa the worst team I've seen this season by a distance.

Picking MoM must've been a nightmare.

Surprised to read a few comments saying Allan was the best player on the park - he gave the ball away so often it was untrue. Must've been well into double figures, started off with 3 in the first 3 minutes. I expect more from him tbh.

13-12-2014, 05:44 PM

We knew the deal when we relegated. Teams are going to do that and it's odd that you decide this after a match that we actually succeed in winning. You're probably just a bit baltic.

Your post makes you sound like you're studying at the Pauline Quirk school of performing arts for your diploma in drama queenery.

13-12-2014, 05:46 PM
That was dreadful today. Alloa the worst team I've seen this season by a distance.

Surprised to read a few comments saying Allan was the best player on the park - he gave the ball away so often it was untrue. Must've been well into double figures, started off with 3 in the first 3 minutes. I expect more from him tbh.

I think he struggled with the lack of space. I agree with you though.

Motm was a tough one, certainly wasn't handling though, Robertson maybe? We totally dominated midfield, he probably deserves credit for that.

13-12-2014, 05:48 PM
Jeez that was hard work. Alloa were abysmal but we struggled so badly to break them down

The 3 points is the only real positive I suppose.

13-12-2014, 05:49 PM
Thought it was a decent game today. Alloa parked the bus and we scored two. Malonga's first touch was terrible all day, I even think his goal was a bad touch :wink: but I will take that off him every week. Thought Handling was good today but not MotM, Allan takes that again. Worried that Gray went off, got a bit frustrated at Lewis turning back on himself to get on his good foot, there was so much space down the right flank to get in behind them. But I am happy enough with the 3 points. As someone said before wtf were people booing at when we were keeping the ball at the end :confused:. Roll on the orcs and the mini orcs

I wasn't one who booed but i think the anger was directed at Liam Craig who continues to pass the ball either sideways or backwards almost every time he has possession. ..its frustrating as hell and he needs to take mpre responsibility on the ball as a captain

13-12-2014, 05:50 PM
I wasn't one who booed but i think the anger was directed at Liam Craig who continues to pass the ball either sideways or backwards almost every time he has possession. ..its frustrating as hell and he needs to take mpre responsibility on the ball as a captain

Better passing it forward and losing possession like Allan was doing?

13-12-2014, 05:52 PM
I think he struggled with the lack of space. I agree with you though.

Motm was a tough one, certainly wasn't handling though, Robertson maybe? We totally dominated midfield, he probably deserves credit for that.
Surely he needs to make space then?

Maybe, didn't see much of Robertson though?

McHibby
13-12-2014, 05:52 PM
Kevin Harper suggesting tnat he might have tweaked a hammy...

I almost choked on my own tongue reading this. I'm on my mobby, in a dark car, and misread 'hammy' for something else entirely...rhymes with granny 😂

I have been on aunty duty today as my nephew turned one. I checked the BBC first for the result - you wouldn't even know we had played today. Anyway, well chuffed with the win. Good stuff Hibs.

13-12-2014, 05:55 PM

Away and watch Barcelona on the telly. I hate modern football fans.

13-12-2014, 05:55 PM
Craig is the scapegoat for this just now. If he has the ball in the middle of the park and no one is making a run or coming short then he will play either sideways or backwards to retain possession. I really don't see the problem with this, and if AS doesn't see it as a problem then presumably he's doing what is expected of him. Why can't we, as fans, take this on board?

13-12-2014, 05:56 PM
Surely he needs to make space then?

Maybe, didn't see much of Robertson though?

It's for folk in front of him to make space I'd have thought.

Glorious St Pat
13-12-2014, 05:57 PM

Franck you get your hole last night or something? Teams have been doing that to us all season at home. Fortunately, we had enough in the tank to see it through. Maybe the truth is that it was Baltic and you were desperate to get away and have another pint!... Sounds that way.

13-12-2014, 06:00 PM
It's for folk in front of him to make space I'd have thought.

Sorry I picked you up wrong - I thought you meant he had little space.

13-12-2014, 06:05 PM
Can't believe we won the day. Anyone want my season??

13-12-2014, 06:07 PM
It was a tough one to watch today. Boring, frustrating and bloody freezing. I'm not even convinced that Malonga meant to score with the touch he took (but I'll take that every day of the week if it means 3 points)

A home win, so I'm not complaining, should have been at least 4-0 though

13-12-2014, 06:11 PM
Can't believe we won the day. Anyone want my season??

You'll not be able to give it away mate.

13-12-2014, 06:12 PM
Someone can have my ST for free. Not watching us play diddy sides anymore.

Hannah_hfc
13-12-2014, 06:13 PM
Sometimes you've got to win ugly. Why the talk of getting rid of season tickets when we won FFS? Reading this thread you'd have thought we lost 2-0...

13-12-2014, 06:14 PM
You'll not be able to give it away mate.

I bet I would pal.

13-12-2014, 06:18 PM
Can't find matching socks - giving up supporting Hibs - anyone want my season ticket ??

13-12-2014, 06:18 PM
I bet I would pal.

No, I think he's correct after today's disaster.

I'll pay someone £15 to take mine off me.

13-12-2014, 06:19 PM
The thing that bugged me was at 2-0 we were happy with that.
Allan received the ball and just passed it back to the back four. It's not really what I'm keen to see Hibs teams do.
Why did we seem happy with 2-0 when we should be pummelling teams!

13-12-2014, 06:20 PM

****ing clowns.

Aye it happened on a few occasions today. Often wonder what goes on in some folks heads. Bewildering.

Stax
13-12-2014, 06:21 PM
Franck you get your hole last night or something? Teams have been doing that to us all season at home. Fortunately, we had enough in the tank to see it through. Maybe the truth is that it was Baltic and you were desperate to get away and have another pint!... Sounds that way.
If that's how he is when he gets his hole I'd hate to see him when Mrs Franck has a headache :greengrin

13-12-2014, 06:22 PM
Someone can have my ST for free. Not watching us play diddy sides anymore.

Bye then.

13-12-2014, 06:22 PM
We play well and we don't win - "we need to learn how to win ugly, Hearts have managed it why can't we?!"

We win but don't perform particularly well - "That was boring *****, I'm no watching that every week. Get it sorted"

Oh Hibs.net, you never cease to amaze me.

13-12-2014, 06:24 PM
[QUOTE=mutley;4247989]It was a tough one to watch today. Boring, frustrating and bloody freezing. I'm not even convinced that Malonga meant to score with the touch he took (but I'll take that every day of the week if it means 3 points)

A home win, so I'm not complaining, should have been at least 4-0 though[/QUOTE

Agree with all of that, it was really poor stuff and Malonga's goal was a fluke but we'll take the 3 points and move on.

13-12-2014, 06:24 PM
We play well and we don't win - "we need to learn how to win ugly, Hearts have managed it why can't we?!"

We win but don't perform particularly well - "That was boring *****, I'm no watching that every week. Get it sorted"

Oh Hibs.net, you never cease to amaze me.

Tbf that view isn't exactly representative of hibs.net, was one or two posters with that view, most have disagreed with them.

13-12-2014, 06:25 PM
Haven't missed many home games but sounds like today was another struggle all be it job done with three points.
Stevie Cowan on forth radio critical of Cummings again making wrong choices and being too greedy and getting chance and then having a poor shot Think playing him week in week out is not the answer and sounds like he needs a few games out or benched but the problem is we don't have a lot of options .
He also thought Malonga didn't look interested and was saying he should be subbed and then he scored

13-12-2014, 06:28 PM
We dominated from start to finish but never created that much. Cummings could have a Hatrick. Disappointed with the attitude of the moaning Hibs support again

13-12-2014, 06:29 PM
We had plenty possession and only a few times moved forward quickly and with purpose (Robertson's chance first half). We didn't press them hard enough again.
Didn't think anyone had a particularly great game and no-one had a real stinker. Some of the passing was well intended but fell into the over or under hit category breaking the attack down.
Malonga's goal while welcome was very lucky. That's the sort of luck everyone else seemed to have against us last year and was almost his only contribution the whole game. He seemed intent on sending any pass straight back to where it came from but hit harder giving less gifted footballers difficulty.
Did anyone record how many corners we won today? Allen's inswinger when Gray went off was a beauty - no doubt intended for the just departed Gray but hey....3 points

gaz1875
13-12-2014, 06:30 PM
Craig is the scapegoat for this just now. If he has the ball in the middle of the park and no one is making a run or coming short then he will play either sideways or backwards to retain possession. I really don't see the problem with this, and if AS doesn't see it as a problem then presumably he's doing what is expected of him. Why can't we, as fans, take this on board?

Said the same today. For me Craig was MOM not by much, chased everything down, passed reasonably well and at least put in a shift. Yes he did go back at times but nothing like previous matches, but at least he kept possession. Some people today couldn't wait to criticise him. :rolleyes:

13-12-2014, 06:35 PM
We dominated from start to finish but never created that much. Cummings could have a Hatrick. Disappointed with the attitude of the moaning Hibs support again

Never created much but Cummings could have had a hat trick? Robertson should also have scored when through one on one, on top of that we did actually score 2 so that's at least 6 chances created. Sure there were others as well.

13-12-2014, 06:35 PM

I thought Allan was the best choice for Motm as he has been last 4 or 5 times ive seen him.

He did give the ball away more often than normal but overall his range of passing, turn of pace, balance and close control makes him a cut above the rest. Best player on the pitch easily for me.

13-12-2014, 06:36 PM
I bet I would pal.

I'll take it. :thumbsup:

Pal.

13-12-2014, 06:38 PM
The booing of Craig for retaining posession and passing to his own player was embarassing

It was the 90th minute or damn near it, I want us to keep the ball at that stage of the game, so sideways is okay as long as its to a Hibbie.

A home win and a clean sheet. Happy with that.

Just lacking that final killer pass, and more composure in and around the box. If we had that in our game we would have won by more than two goals.

As has been seen so often at ER this season, Alloa came with no intention other than to frustrate Hibs. They offered nothing. No wonder people are drifting away from attending football matches. Anti-football.

I read Hibs were playing Alloa at Easter Road on league duty today for the first time in over 81 years. Another 81 years for the next time would be too soon.

13-12-2014, 06:40 PM
Hope all the sharp objects were locked away by the time you got home.

13-12-2014, 06:42 PM

Disagree. I thought the Hibs support was remarkably patient as we huffed and puffed against mediocre opposition.

A home win is welcome however we got it but that is not going to bring fans back to ER. Stubbs will bring in at least 2 players, 1 of them a striker, in the window.

13-12-2014, 06:44 PM
The booing of Craig for retaining posession and passing to his own player was embarassing

I doubt the people booing have played football at any level....they are clueless.

I find it quite interesting watching us keep posession like that.

13-12-2014, 06:47 PM
Agreed, I was happy just to see Hibs pass a game out for once. Overall a game played in tough conditions against a team playing with 11 men behind the ball, I'll take 3 points anyday.

13-12-2014, 06:47 PM
Hibs win and close gap on Hearts and Rangers, keep clean sheet and score two goals = fans unhappy !

Hibs gain one point from a derby losing a goal last minute and go out a national cup on penalties - fans happy, upbeat and non critical.

Hibs net is a very peculiar place at times.

13-12-2014, 06:48 PM
3 points, that was the aim, this is a tough league, clean sheet as well.

Move on to the next game.

13-12-2014, 06:50 PM

:agree: I agree with this. It's much safer, and better, to retain possession than to just hump the ball anywhere (gifting your opponents the ball, resulting in your team having to work hard to regain possession) if none of your team mates are in a decent position to receive a pass, or are making a run into space to receive the ball.

All the top teams try to play like this. It's just really basic stuff.

13-12-2014, 06:52 PM
I doubt the people booing have played football at any level....they are clueless.

I find it quite interesting watching us keep posession like that.

13-12-2014, 06:58 PM
22 quid for that man's season ticket

13-12-2014, 06:58 PM
Folk who were booing when we were keeping posession at the end should just stay away, embarrassing. Support the team or stay at home please. :aok:

SmashinGlass
13-12-2014, 07:01 PM
He didn't even poach today tho.. Farid will score as many once he;s back in the team, but he brings so much more to the team.

I dunno. There was a couple of times Cummings had the ball in a good position and chose to shoot when a cutback to big Malonga for the tap in seemed the better option. Still, Cummings is young and has a lot to learn. Another day, had we not got the win, I may have been more critical of his decision making. Sure Stubbs will work on that in training though

13-12-2014, 07:02 PM
Thought we huffed and puffed a bit today , think Handling as MOM was set up on here this morning , would probably give it to Craig ( he never turned back unless he had to until the last 5 mins.) or Fontaine who absolutely strolled it today.The injury to Gray I think was his shoulder , saw him twice holding it when getting up after tackles so dont think it will be serious. Think both Handling and Cummings need to be given a shake / benched to get them back to form. Otherwise it was a win and a clean sheet , can we have a few more of these boring clean sheet wins please or exiting ones if you prefer but WINS.

13-12-2014, 07:04 PM
A home win and a clean sheet against championship level opponents just isnt good enough

I don't think it was aimed at Craig in particular, I think it was the fact that we were shifting the ball from midfield to back in triangles and running down the clock against an Alloa team who did the square root of nothing in an attacking sense all game and were closer to causing their own keeper issues with clearances than being a threat to Oxley.

I'm happy with the win, clean sheet and goals BUT we shut up shop and saw out time against a pile of rubbish. Was it asking too much to maybe get the ball up the park and try for another goal?

And I've played Sunday League before anyone asks. Badly :greengrin

Folk who were booing when we were keeping posession at the end should just stay away, embarrassing. Support the team or stay at home please. :aok:

That's was me. That's not what I want to see a Hibs team do.

I don't want to watch us keep possession at home against Alloa at 2-0. It's Alloa, not Real Madrid.

We are a big team in the Championship. We should be trying to embarrass teams.

"And on the day that 67-year-old Norwich resident Mary Leese has woken from a three-year coma, we’ll be asking – what’s the best night’s sleep you’ve ever had?"

13-12-2014, 07:07 PM
Absolutely vital we got the win against a team who are awkward to beat so job done. Some of the attention seeking going on is embarrassing.

13-12-2014, 07:09 PM
22 quid for that man's season ticket

Too late, it's sold.

13-12-2014, 07:10 PM

With a crowd of 8000 and the place like a library I'm not sure we should be turning anyone right now :aok:

13-12-2014, 07:16 PM
At 2:55pm today I sat and counted exactly 60 people in the South stand.

13-12-2014, 07:20 PM
We didn't play that great but tbh we didn't really have to, Alloa were never threatening.

End of the day, 3 points is 3 points. I don't care if we dont play good football or if we play like Real Madrid as long as its a win.

13-12-2014, 07:21 PM

You will be sadly missed. :bye:

13-12-2014, 07:21 PM
I don't think it was aimed at Craig in particular, I think it was the fact that we were shifting the ball from midfield to ...

And I've played Sunday League before anyone asks. Badly :greengrin

If it had been Scott Allan (for example) there wouldn't have been any booing IMO.

13-12-2014, 07:26 PM

I don't want to watch us keep possession at home against Alloa at 2-0. It's Alloa, not Real Madrid.

"And on the day that 67-year-old Norwich resident Mary Leese has woken from a three-year coma, we’ll be asking – what’s the best night’s sleep you’ve ever had?"

Well done, you must be so proud.

What would you have said if Liam Craig, or any other Hibs player, had given away possession needlessly, and potentially cost Hibs the game? Keeping possession is part of the game, or hadn't you noticed? It doesn't matter a jot who you are playing.

I learned that playing football at schoolboy level.

13-12-2014, 07:26 PM
With a crowd of 8000 and the place like a library I'm not sure we should be turning anyone right now :aok:

Dufc v afc had just over 3000 more. The crowd today wasn't great but it is still half decent for a mid table championship team.

13-12-2014, 07:27 PM

Then sorry mate but you are wrong. Professional performance toray and keeping possesion and not giving them the ball towards the end of the game is nothing but sensible and professional.

13-12-2014, 07:29 PM
If it had been Scott Allan (for example) there wouldn't have been any booing IMO.

Yeah, maybe so. He should have gave it to Robertson to pass backwards :greengrin

13-12-2014, 07:33 PM
What would you have said if Liam Craig, or any other Hibs player, had given away possession needlessly, and potentially cost Hibs the game?

You would have a point if this was a red hot derby and we were 1 goal up and trying to see it out. No one would be complaining.

But this was Alloa. A 0-2 Alloa who took fright whenever they crossed half way never test our defence never mind Oxley at any point in the preceeding minutes.

I think both opinions have some validity but from my perspective I think it shows how fragile and timid we are as a team that we had no intention of going forward even with a 2 goal lead.