View Full Version : Here we go again...(Sparky content)

12-12-2014, 11:14 AM
http://m.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-plan-new-bid-for-celtic-s-leigh-griffiths-1-3632569

12-12-2014, 11:26 AM
do we have to pay extra for his hair transplant? :greengrin

12-12-2014, 11:26 AM
Sorry but the new Griffiths transfer rumours thread just isn't doing it for me. hibs.net clearly haven't invested in gifs and endless speculation as much as they did last window. Do they really expect private members will pay the £10 fee this year if this is what they're serving up? McGrew out, Butcher in! :agree:

12-12-2014, 11:28 AM
http://m.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-plan-new-bid-for-celtic-s-leigh-griffiths-1-3632569

Aye right, EEN spouting pish again. He also doesn't live in Edinburgh.

12-12-2014, 11:43 AM
It's not going to happen.

12-12-2014, 11:43 AM
Can we keep this one clear of gifs please. It might be a busy thread :wink:

Lee Marvin
12-12-2014, 11:48 AM
I heard that's it's a done deal. 1 million % certainty My source says that nothing can possibly go wrong.

12-12-2014, 11:48 AM
Aye right, EEN spouting pish again. He also doesn't live in Edinburgh.

Although Wallyford is technically in East Lothian it still has an Edinburgh dialling code:greengrin

12-12-2014, 11:50 AM
Although Wallyford is technically in East Lothian it still has an Edinburgh dialling code:greengrin

:greengrin Nothing technical about it.

12-12-2014, 11:55 AM
I heard that's it's a done deal. 1 million % certainty My source says that nothing can possibly go wrong.

And can we keep it serious too please :wink:

12-12-2014, 11:57 AM
Commons has just turned down a new one year contract with celtc so will think he will be away this window and led to believe Cardiff are after Stokes, so if they two go then i can't see Griffiths being allowed out on loan unless celtc bring in another couple of strikers in January, but we all no how hard it is to get decent players in the January window.

I'll say now that it won't happen regards Griffiths, hope I'm wrong but just can't see it happening.

12-12-2014, 12:01 PM
It's just the EEN wanting a 70 page thread on here

12-12-2014, 12:14 PM
Six weeks of will hewont he and noi deal at the end of the window. If farid is near a returnby end if january then wont happen anyway. Still keeps papers in something to write about.

12-12-2014, 12:17 PM
Rodders has probably blown the deal already.

12-12-2014, 12:53 PM

Can we get the gif thread put back to the main forum? :wink:

12-12-2014, 01:07 PM
That's what's holding up the deal between the bank and sir Tom to reduce our debt ,the bank are insisting the the deal to sign sparky has to be done and dusted before they agree to debt reduction :wink:

12-12-2014, 01:15 PM
Sick of this. Do we have to do this every window? Everyone gets their hopes up to be let down and then angry at the board for not making it happen and we will put down any other transfer as they will not be of the standard as Leigh. It's been done to death now.

We were so close last time. For the record I personally think this will happen. :agree:

I think 2 will leave In Jan and we will bring in Leigh and maybe 2 others.

Was quite surprised that when I read the headline I actually sighed rather than whooped!...Obviously he would be an amazing capture but its a bit like christmas being advertised in the shops in September...

I'd love it if he came but canna be bothered with all the crap that goes with it..Whats the EEN doing coming up with signing rumours anyway..Not usual for them is it? Or for Hibs to let anything slip prior to it being rubber stamped....Maybe Ive been away too long and everythings changed

12-12-2014, 01:17 PM
We were so close last time. For the record I personally think this will happen. :agree:

I think 2 will leave In Jan and we will bring in Leigh and maybe 2 others.

Would be good to move on Heffernan and Booth. Not many other players left though that aren't really featuring or producing anything.

Sinclair could go back maybe and get more experience in.

12-12-2014, 01:17 PM
It nearly happened last time, Hibs admitted as much, so I wouldn't dismiss this out of hand.

It could happen.

12-12-2014, 01:23 PM
Would be good to move on Heffernan and Booth. Not many other players left though that aren't really featuring or producing anything.

Sinclair could go back maybe and get more experience in.

Yep I agree with that. Heff needs to go as he isn't doing anything at all bar take a wage. Sinclair I've no idea what's happening with him to be honest it's been a strange loan. Booth again doesn't seem to be featuring again so he may well go. I actually like Booth and feel he'd be a good squad player.

12-12-2014, 01:24 PM
It nearly happened last time, Hibs admitted as much, so I wouldn't dismiss this out of hand.

It could happen.

It was very close PB.

12-12-2014, 01:26 PM
Really can't be bothered with this. Would love him to sign but 3 times by my reckoning it was a "done deal" in the last window. Not doubting the sources as I know most of them are legit but I just refuse to get my hopes up again.

12-12-2014, 01:31 PM
Really can't be bothered with this. Would love him to sign but 3 times by my reckoning it was a "done deal" in the last window. Not doubting the sources as I know most of them are legit but I just refuse to get my hopes up again.

That's how I'd approach this. I'm not going to get to excited about this no matter what I'm told. Even though I do believe Hibs will get their man, until it's done and he's here then it's all speculation and the fans should treat it as just that.

12-12-2014, 01:32 PM
It was very close PB.

The evening news didn't just guess at this story and if the club didn't think it would happen they'd have told them as much so they didn't run with the story.

Imo this deal will go through in January.

Jay
12-12-2014, 01:49 PM
Can we keep silly posts with only smilies in it off this thread please.

greengnome
12-12-2014, 01:51 PM
This is just a personal feeling, but I believe he will be back. Lee was comfy at Hibs, and to be honest, he is a wee bit in the mould of Reardon, a smashing talent, but a bit of a self destruct mindset.
I don't think many EPL clubs would be clamouring for his signature, and having moved back to Scotland, his time in England may be finished?
He would be a good fit for Hibs.... But, it is a case of wait and see I guess. :rolleyes:

12-12-2014, 02:06 PM
Yep I agree with that. Heff needs to go as he isn't doing anything at all bar take a wage. Sinclair I've no idea what's happening with him to be honest it's been a strange loan. Booth again doesn't seem to be featuring again so he may well go. I actually like Booth and feel he'd be a good squad player.

I know what you are saying mate - but if you are happy to be a squad player in this Hibs team, you shouldn't be there.

12-12-2014, 02:07 PM
Where did the EEN story come from? What/who is their source? Surely they didn't make this story up, did they? :cb

12-12-2014, 02:08 PM
I know what you are saying mate - but if you are happy to be a squad player in this Hibs team, you shouldn't be there.

That's true!!

12-12-2014, 02:39 PM
My brothers best mates uncles cousins neighbours dug saw . . .

Done deal I tell ya!

12-12-2014, 03:26 PM

Never heard of the place. :greengrin

12-12-2014, 03:38 PM

It could happen.

What Griffiths said a few weeks ago, you just don't no who to believe at times. :greengrin

“I have to keep working hard and when the time comes I’ve got to put the ball in the back of the net and show the Celtic fans that this is the only place I want to be.
“There was talk about me moving on loan at the end of the summer transfer window but I didn’t want that. I wanted to fight for my place here and the fans can see that.
“Every time I turn out on the park I give 100 per cent to the game and show everyone what the club means to me and how I want to be here for the foreseeable future.”

12-12-2014, 03:41 PM
What Griffiths said a few weeks ago, you just don't no who to believe at times. :greengrin

“I have to keep working hard and when the time comes I’ve got to put the ball in the back of the net and show the Celtic fans that this is the only place I want to be.
“There was talk about me moving on loan at the end of the summer transfer window but I didn’t want that. I wanted to fight for my place here and the fans can see that.
“Every time I turn out on the park I give 100 per cent to the game and show everyone what the club means to me and how I want to be here for the foreseeable future.”

Players will say what they're told to say, or what they think is the right thing to say. Same as managers, they all play the game.

12-12-2014, 03:42 PM
This is just a personal feeling, but I believe he will be back. Lee was comfy at Hibs, and to be honest, he is a wee bit in the mould of Reardon, a smashing talent, but a bit of a self destruct mindset.
I don't think many EPL clubs would be clamouring for his signature, and having moved back to Scotland, his time in England may be finished?
He would be a good fit for Hibs.... But, it is a case of wait and see I guess. :rolleyes:

Who he.

12-12-2014, 03:44 PM
Who he.

If my memory is correct there was 2 of them? :offski:

greengnome
12-12-2014, 03:47 PM
Who he.

Apologies.... Riordan :greengrin... Cheers SH :aok:

12-12-2014, 03:51 PM
A lot depends what happens at Celtic in the transfer window but I believe this will happen

12-12-2014, 03:59 PM
Players will say what they're told to say, or what they think is the right thing to say. Same as managers, they all play the game.

Yep.

Celtc manager, he's not going anywhere.

Hibs manager, we tried to sign him.

The player, happy to fight for my place here at celtc.

All confusing eh. :greengrin

Are we buying him in the window or are we going to try get him on loan.

I think he will leave Celtc, but not until the summer.

12-12-2014, 04:01 PM
Apologies.... Riordan :greengrin... Cheers SH :aok:

12-12-2014, 04:01 PM

Technically in East Lothian but we've been trying to disown the savages for years.

12-12-2014, 04:08 PM
People on this thread are saying they think this will happen. What are they basing this on?? A story in the evening news, a hunch or quotes from parties involved? :confused:

12-12-2014, 04:15 PM
It will only happen if someone promises to bathe in a bath of Beans outside the FF. Until that happens, he's staying put.

12-12-2014, 04:27 PM
People on this thread are saying they think this will happen. What are they basing this on?? A story in the evening news, a hunch or quotes from parties involved? :confused:

I think Griffith will need a move somewhere in January.

Probably played about 6 hours first team football in the first half of the season. A whole season like that will leave him stale as a striker.

A half season at a club where he gets regular games will put him back in the picture at Darkheid for season 2015-16, when the new Celtic manager can assess him. :greengrin

12-12-2014, 04:41 PM
I've heard he wants out of Celtic Park before he is is the subject of this type of abuse from the weegie meeja....................

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QYfT4bD3PSQ

12-12-2014, 04:45 PM
Talk in Fundee that it's a done deal for Sparky to return to Dens for the rest of the season. Anyone heard this??

12-12-2014, 05:02 PM
Talk in Fundee that it's a done deal for Sparky to return to Dens for the rest of the season. Anyone heard this??

There was talk of this during the summer as well...........:rolleyes:

12-12-2014, 05:17 PM
I've heard he wants out of Celtic Park before he is is the subject of this type of abuse from the weegie meeja....................

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QYfT4bD3PSQ

I always thought that clip was more of a dig at Strachan rather than Riordan.

12-12-2014, 05:19 PM

Im the same GA . But i said as much after the first boot in the goolies , only to get another hit las time . But 3 ? Nah . Imho its no happening this time , last time and the time before that .

12-12-2014, 06:55 PM

Crystal ball
😀

12-12-2014, 07:39 PM
I wouldn't have that celtic badge kissing traitor anywhere near our club

12-12-2014, 08:10 PM

Aye you would. imo I think there is no chance Leigh will come back to us in the near future, too much wages for him to earn. Delighted if I was wrong.

12-12-2014, 08:53 PM

Do not feed the troll.

12-12-2014, 09:42 PM

I love the last bit. Mr Griffiths may become a politician yet! The key is how far can Leigh see? I still reckon that Hibs remain Rangers biggest threat to their promotion hopes, and ergo Celtic won't want to do anything to prevent that from happening.

If Leigh Griffiths signs for Hibs in any capacity this season (2014/15), I will donate £50 to hibs.net.. :duck:

12-12-2014, 09:56 PM

Nae gifs on a Sparky thread. What is .net coming to? :-D

Steve, release the shocked eagle ;-)

12-12-2014, 10:53 PM
He's coming. My sisters cat told me.

12-12-2014, 10:55 PM
He's coming. My sisters cat told me.

If you think your sister's cat is talking to you, Waxy, perhaps you should take a holiday. You've been working hard this year :-D

13-12-2014, 12:31 AM

Lies.

Iceman1875
13-12-2014, 02:25 AM
I reckon he'll join Lennon at Bolton for 6 months in January...

At Easter Road we play...

13-12-2014, 08:56 AM
Interesting the EEN/Scotsman led the story.

They get good tips and heads up from the club, off the record off course. The club know how big a signing he would be, even on loan. AGM looming, structural changes/debt wiped rumoured.

A debt free Hibs and signing off Griffiths would make the AGM a skoosh on the 28th. Even Rodders could waltz in without a police escort.

13-12-2014, 09:28 AM

They get good tips and heads up from the club, off the record off course. The club know how big a signing he would be, even on loan. AGM looming, structural changes/debt wiped rumoured.

A debt free Hibs and signing off Griffiths would make the AGM a skoosh on the 28th. Even Rodders could waltz in without a police escort.

Plus half Season Tickets to sell..

13-12-2014, 09:29 AM
Technically in East Lothian but we've been trying to disown the savages for years.

I wouldn't go so far as to call the rest of East Lothian 'savages'.

13-12-2014, 09:31 AM
If you think your sister's cat is talking to you, Waxy, perhaps you should take a holiday. You've been working hard this year :-DIts been a tough year.Must be taking its toll.

13-12-2014, 09:48 AM

Correct, hibs gave them thus story and of they wanted to they'd have the power to stop the news from running with it.

13-12-2014, 10:13 AM
Has he signed yet?

Has Steve been banned for using GIFS?

Is weststandwanab..

..still doing amazing levels..

..of multiquoting?

We cannae no know!!!

CalgaryHibs
13-12-2014, 10:30 AM

True
Me personally I"m growing tired of this sparky to Hibs ! He's not here and he's coming back so let's move on

13-12-2014, 10:37 AM
True
Me personally I"m growing tired of this sparky to Hibs ! He's not here and he's coming back so let's move on

He's coming back???????? Source??????

CalgaryHibs
13-12-2014, 10:41 AM
Sorry should have said he's not coming back
Let's move on with out him

13-12-2014, 10:52 AM

Agree. Let's move on.

13-12-2014, 11:05 AM

:yawn::yawn::yawn:

13-12-2014, 11:08 AM
Heard that there is absolutely nothing in this story from LG himself, who also confirmed that he will be a Hibs player by the end of the week.

Bleeds green
14-12-2014, 10:03 PM
If it's going to happen or not hope it's clear either way at start off transfer window and not a month long saga

14-12-2014, 10:50 PM
If it's going to happen or not hope it's clear either way at start off transfer window and not a month long saga

If I were you I'd just accept its not going to happen and move on. Easier that way. :agree:

14-12-2014, 10:51 PM
He aint getting games for Celtic against the bottom of the league team,even he knows his future is on the bench at parkhead,that's why he will move on,maybe not to us but why not😎

14-12-2014, 10:54 PM
He aint getting games for Celtic against the bottom of the league team,even he knows his future is on the bench at parkhead,that's why he will move on,maybe not to us but why not

Did he no get a game again today?

14-12-2014, 11:04 PM
Did he no get a game again today?

Unused sub.

14-12-2014, 11:07 PM
Unused sub.

Maybe the game is up for him then. Still don't think that there's anything in him coming to us.

14-12-2014, 11:08 PM
Maybe the game is up for him then. Still don't think that there's anything in him coming to us.

I think you need to accept he's not coming. Time to move on :agree:

14-12-2014, 11:09 PM

I thought my post explained that?

14-12-2014, 11:16 PM

14-12-2014, 11:26 PM
I thought my post explained that?

14-12-2014, 11:30 PM
Heard that there is absolutely nothing in this story from LG himself, who also confirmed that he will be a Hibs player by the end of the week.

If I'd heard this as well then I'd have absolutely no problem confirming it.

R11Loaded
15-12-2014, 01:07 AM

I resent that comment [emoji57]

Class doesn't show on a maroon jersey

Bleeds green
15-12-2014, 07:59 AM

Goals?

15-12-2014, 09:11 AM
Good chance he will be a Bolton player next month.

Islington Hibs
15-12-2014, 09:20 AM
You know what no one knows. I hope he does come, but he is just one player so good if so, not the end of the world if not. I think we should just wait and see. All this speculation does us no good and makes us look pretty junior in the eyes of the media and possibly undermines our chances of getting him.

15-12-2014, 09:32 AM

Thanks! My out loud giggle at this almost cleared my hangover! Basically the whole LG thread summed up in one sentence!

Mathias Jack
15-12-2014, 12:30 PM
It will only happen if someone promises to bathe in a bath of Beans outside the FF. Until that happens, he's staying put.

I'll bathe in a bath of beans? Only as long as it's Heinz and not Tesco value (other cheap value beans are available from your local supermarket)

15-12-2014, 12:31 PM
I don't think we will see Griffiths in a Hibs shirt again.

I'm moving on :greengrin

15-12-2014, 12:36 PM
Cheeky wee tweet about watching the celtc v inter game from the stands.

15-12-2014, 02:04 PM
Goals?

He's likely to head down south to Bolton rather than down to the Scottish championship.

15-12-2014, 02:04 PM

That's Celtic out then.

15-12-2014, 02:46 PM

Well played Leigh :wink:

15-12-2014, 03:27 PM

Only if we allow him

Tha Cabbage Kid
15-12-2014, 03:45 PM
i personally think it would be perfect for all parties if sparky was to come back until the end of the season.

hibs get a player who will undoubtedly score a rake of goals for us allowing him to help us back up to the prem. celtic get to showcase a player they want rid of and allows other teams to see what a class player he is and could sign him at the end of the year for a for a good fee.

everyone wins!

15-12-2014, 03:57 PM
i personally think it would be perfect for all parties if sparky was to come back until the end of the season.

hibs get a player who will undoubtedly score a rake of goals for us allowing him to help us back up to the prem. celtic get to showcase a player they want rid of and allows other teams to see what a class player he is and could sign him at the end of the year for a for a good fee.

everyone wins!

Or how about we pay Celtic a fee (150k - FACT) in January, he scores a rake of goals for us this season and next then we get the benefit of the transfer fee when we sell him in 18 months rather than Celtic picking up the "winnings" on our gamble.

That would be the ideal scenario, somehow I dont think we'd be able to afford either a fee or his wages if we were looking to get him outright.

Also, will celtic really be wanting to strengthen a serious rival to Rangers?? I'd doubt it. Publicly the CFC hierarchy will pander to what the fans want to hear but im sure behind closed doors the directors are all wanting der Der Hun back up asap!

Tha Cabbage Kid
15-12-2014, 04:03 PM
Or how about we pay Celtic a fee (150k - FACT) in January, he scores a rake of goals for us this season and next then we get the benefit of the transfer fee when we sell him in 18 months rather than Celtic picking up the "winnings" on our gamble.

That would be the ideal scenario, somehow I dont think we'd be able to afford either a fee or his wages if we were looking to get him outright.

Also, will celtic really be wanting to strengthen a serious rival to Rangers?? I'd doubt it. Publicly the CFC hierarchy will pander to what the fans want to hear but im sure behind closed doors the directors are all wanting der Der Hun back up asap!

or Buys hibs pay his wages and his transfer fee and we all back them and move for a serious fans take over bit and we all live happily ever after! :)

15-12-2014, 04:04 PM

I don't think Celtic will view it that way, as it's likely to be at the cost of at least 4 (easily winable) derby games next season.

15-12-2014, 06:32 PM
Until something concrete happens what can possibly be added to this debate that's not already been covered? Wake me up before he go-gos ;)

16-12-2014, 01:15 AM
I don't think Celtic will view it that way, as it's likely to be at the cost of at least 4 (easily winable) derby games next season.

I would fancy my chances against Sevco, even without Leigh Griffiths.

If we have our current squad all fully fit and available by the time we get to the play offs then I'm very confident that we could take them on over two legs.

If we had Griffiths to call upon then I reckon we could hammer them.

16-12-2014, 07:39 AM

If we have our current squad all fully fit and available by the time we get to the play offs then I'm very confident that we could take them on over two legs.

Given the current injury list, it seems a long shot we will end up with a full squad who are all fit by end of a long season .
With McCoist getting his pay off this week !they will get a better manager in and that dynamic along with any business they do in Transfer Window could change things so wouldnt be writing them off just yet Trig

16-12-2014, 12:24 PM
Correct, hibs gave them thus story and of they wanted to they'd have the power to stop the news from running with it.

You sure about that.

The papers can write what they want and Hibs have no power over the press.

No quotes or anything, reporter just running with a old story since it is getting close to the window opening again soon.

16-12-2014, 12:29 PM
You sure about that.

The papers can write what they want and Hibs have no power over the press.

No quotes or anything, reporter just running with a old story since it is getting close to the window opening again soon.

Certain.

If hibs don't want the news to run with the story they threaten to withdraw co-operation and stop the players speaking to them.

I also know this story came from hibs.

16-12-2014, 12:58 PM
Certain.

If hibs don't want the news to run with the story they threaten to withdraw co-operation and stop the players speaking to them.

I also know this story came from hibs.

So you are saying Hibs are dictating to the press what they can and can't write about Hibs.

No chance.

16-12-2014, 02:12 PM
So you are saying Hibs are dictating to the press what they can and can't write about Hibs.

No chance.

Not to the press - just the 'Edinburgh Evening News' :greengrin

Northern Hibby
16-12-2014, 05:15 PM

he's coming, Source, Chicken entrails scattered over the kitchen floor :agree:

16-12-2014, 05:31 PM

I think you've missed the point. Celtc want Der Hun back in the top tier. They won't do anything that makes that less likely - such as improving our chances of going up by lending us a player who will score goals for us.

16-12-2014, 08:10 PM
I think you've missed the point. Celtc want Der Hun back in the top tier. They won't do anything that makes that less likely - such as improving our chances of going up by lending us a player who will score goals for us.

Seriously ?

16-12-2014, 08:47 PM

Rangers are doing a good enough job of keeping themselves in this league so celtic needn't worry about giving us griffiths.

16-12-2014, 08:52 PM

No chance.

Hibs have a huge influence on the evening news in terms 9f what stories they go to print with. Its basically a hibs programme.

Fwiw I know someone in the sports desk at the news, what I'm saying isn't guesswork.

16-12-2014, 08:57 PM

Then they are more likely to Send him across the City - Love thy Neighbour and the Bigger Crowds.. naw..

16-12-2014, 11:39 PM

I've not missed the point.

My first line states that I would fancy my chances of beating Sevco, even if we didn't have Leigh Griffiths.

17-12-2014, 12:32 AM

I think 2 will leave In Jan and we will bring in Leigh and maybe 2 others.:agree:I spoke to a person at the w/end who claims to have actually spoke to Petrie. Done deal. I shook my head, shrugged, the usual but the guy insisted. he is from the wrong side, and I pointed it out but he insists. January will be interesting, but without the likes of Griffiths, were snookered this season.does not have to be Griffiths, but the LIKES of him would help.

17-12-2014, 12:39 AM
:agree:I spoke to a person at the w/end who claims to have actually spoke to Petrie. Done deal. I shook my head, shrugged, the usual but the guy insisted. he is from the wrong side, and I pointed it out but he insists. January will be interesting, but without the likes of Griffiths, were snookered this season.does not have to be Griffiths, but the LIKES of him would help.

:hyper:

17-12-2014, 12:42 AM
He'd pay for himself with sales of half season tickets.

I reckon a statement if intent like signing Griffiths could sell 2000 half seasons if they're marketed right and enticing. Maybe a free kids ticket with an adult.

17-12-2014, 12:44 AM

No chance.
They do to the Evening News. Notice the EN never have any exclusive signing rumours etc as Hibs won't allow them to.

17-12-2014, 01:33 AM
He'd pay for himself with sales of half season tickets.

I reckon a statement if intent like signing Griffiths could sell 2000 half seasons if they're marketed right and enticing. Maybe a free kids ticket with an adult.Sean, I agree that signing Griffiths would encourage season tickets, of that there is no doubt. It was mooted on here some time ago. It would be good if it happened, obviously and the current half seasons would take a big hike. the problem being, that those currently in charge of our club just cant get that roond there heids! It has been that way, for so long . Derek Riordan was a prime example, and yet they allowed him to go west in his prime.

17-12-2014, 02:00 AM
So tonight I had a look at Griffiths Twitter page and read a lot of his tweets going back aways. I don't quite get it. He doesn't half suck up to the Celtic support! Writing things like 'COYBIG' (Come on you boys in green) with 4 leaf clover pictures, after most tweets. calling Park head 'Paradise'. Telling folk he's desperate to get himself in the team. Then there was the whole having a go at Jason Cummings after he scored the 2 against Rangers etc.

Maybe I'm just looking into things too much, but for such a self proclaimed Hibs fan he's going a bit far is he not?

I'd love it more than anything if he was to join us in January but I just seriously can't see it. He seems desperate to succeed at Celtic and by all accounts is enjoying himself there.

17-12-2014, 07:34 AM
:agree:I spoke to a person at the w/end who claims to have actually spoke to Petrie. Done deal. I shook my head, shrugged, the usual but the guy insisted. he is from the wrong side, and I pointed it out but he insists. January will be interesting, but without the likes of Griffiths, were snookered this season.does not have to be Griffiths, but the LIKES of him would help.

Yeah someone who can score goals from anywhere is what we have lacked and he also puts a shift in. Big Malonga has done very well but we need a runner IMO and Jason Cummings just isn't quite there yet.

Here's hoping the guy you spoke to is right. As I say I think this will happen and think Jan will be a very good month for Hibs.

17-12-2014, 07:41 AM

The deal was done in the summer only for Celtic to withdraw at the last minute. Everything was agreed.

17-12-2014, 07:50 AM
If he is signing, I hope it's 1 Jan rather than 31 Jan!

17-12-2014, 07:52 AM

Im not sure Celtc do want The Rangers back. Ok, they lose 2 big gates a season & they make all the noises about missing their ugly sisters but if Newco return then effectively if cuts Celtc's chances of making the Champions League, minimum £10m, by 50%. Regardless, I really doubt Celtc worry about Newco to the extent that they won't sell a player to their rival's rivals! That's perverse, even by OF standards.

17-12-2014, 07:57 AM

What Hibs must do is not drag their heels this time. Go in with an offer and if it's rejected leave it and move on to other targets that are in their price range! If Hibs dwell again and it drags on and on we will lose other targets and end up back in the good old bargain basement buys again.

This trend must stop and Hibs need to get tough, if a player isn't interested first time or second just move on.

TheFamous1875
17-12-2014, 08:14 AM

Tell you what: Sparky in from the beginning of January would send the dirties running for the derby!

17-12-2014, 08:34 AM
Tell you what: Sparky in from the beginning of January would send the dirties running for the derby!

Nah, they'll still be as arrogant as ever about how they're going to pump us regardless of Griffiths in the team or not.

17-12-2014, 08:41 AM
I'd like to see him get a bit of game time between now and January, if he's coming. How many games has he actually played this season for Celtic, can't be many

17-12-2014, 04:57 PM
I'd like to see him get a bit of game time between now and January, if he's coming. How many games has he actually played this season for Celtic, can't be many

Good, nice and fresh all for us. :greengrin

17-12-2014, 06:20 PM
What Hibs must do is not drag their heels this time. Go in with an offer and if it's rejected leave it and move on to other targets that are in their price range! If Hibs dwell again and it drags on and on we will lose other targets and end up back in the good old bargain basement buys again.

This trend must stop and Hibs need to get tough, if a player isn't interested first time or second just move on.

We're tail-end-Charlies every transfer window.
It's not going to change. Spare the Rod ..... as they say.

Kaff
17-12-2014, 06:42 PM
Im not sure Celtc do want The Rangers back. Ok, they lose 2 big gates a season & they make all the noises about missing their ugly sisters but if Newco return then effectively if cuts Celtc's chances of making the Champions League, minimum £10m, by 50%. Regardless, I really doubt Celtc worry about Newco to the extent that they won't sell a player to their rival's rivals! That's perverse, even by OF standards.

If Rangers are heading for an 'insolvency event' (raised as a possibility on other threads) then Celtic would have less worries that LG could keep them down, if that is what has held it back before.

18-12-2014, 12:06 PM
If Rangers are heading for an 'insolvency event' (raised as a possibility on other threads) then Celtic would have less worries that LG could keep them down, if that is what has held it back before.

I don't think Celtic have refused to give us him on those grounds.

ArmadaleHibs
18-12-2014, 03:03 PM
Bolton have lost their main striker this week until the end of the season. Would not be surprised if Lennon comes in for leigh either loan or fee.

18-12-2014, 04:53 PM
Bolton have lost their main striker this week until the end of the season. Would not be surprised if Lennon comes in for leigh either loan or fee.

Definitely a possibillity. :agree:

18-12-2014, 05:14 PM

BW have emile Heskey on trial. Fingers crossed he's a success

18-12-2014, 05:17 PM

Looks like we aren't getting Sparky then :greengrin

18-12-2014, 05:28 PM

Maybe they'll get Griffiths and we'll get Heskey! :aok:

Stringer
18-12-2014, 06:09 PM
Bringing him back would kill either El Alagui or Malonga. Neither deserve to be dropped

18-12-2014, 06:12 PM
Bringing him back would kill either El Alagui or Malonga. Neither deserve to be dropped

Don't think you can ever have too many good players if you can afford them.In any event Malonga will be away and who knows when El Alagui will be fit.

18-12-2014, 06:29 PM

Jesus christ, he's graduated very quickly from a bit of shoplifting to murder.

wazoo1875
18-12-2014, 06:55 PM

18-12-2014, 08:37 PM
So tonight I had a look at Griffiths Twitter page and read a lot of his tweets going back aways. I don't quite get it. He doesn't half suck up to the Celtic support! Writing things like 'COYBIG' (Come on you boys in green) with 4 leaf clover pictures, after most tweets. calling Park head 'Paradise'. Telling folk he's desperate to get himself in the team. Then there was the whole having a go at Jason Cummings after he scored the 2 against Rangers etc.

Maybe I'm just looking into things too much, but for such a self proclaimed Hibs fan he's going a bit far is he not?

I'd love it more than anything if he was to join us in January but I just seriously can't see it. He seems desperate to succeed at Celtic and by all accounts is enjoying himself there.

Young Lochend 4 Leaf Clovers!

18-12-2014, 08:49 PM
:top marks:greengrin

18-12-2014, 09:07 PM
He played for Celtc Under 21's v Sunderland U21's at the Stadium of Light this evening and scored both goals in a 2-1 win. Hardly living the dream but still banging them in.

18-12-2014, 09:52 PM
He played for Celtc Under 21's v Sunderland U21's at the Stadium of Light this evening and scored both goals in a 2-1 win. Hardly living the dream but still banging them in.

playing in the reserves now. :confused: Waste of talent.

18-12-2014, 09:55 PM
playing in the reserves now. :confused: Waste of talent.

Played against the Hibs under 20's a few weeks ago, and Calum Crane said he had him in his pocket.
Griffiths has to be careful now about his career. If it's money, he'll stay at Celtic, but he really needs to get his career going again, and soon

19-12-2014, 02:40 PM

IMO, one of the main motivations in leigh's life is wanting to be loved, which is why, despite being entirely capable of earning big bucks, he'd be entirely satisfied playing for hibs.

19-12-2014, 02:52 PM
Maybe they'll get Griffiths and we'll get Heskey! :aok:

As a Bolton season ticket holder, I'd be quite happy with that on both counts :thumbsup:

19-12-2014, 03:37 PM
The deal was done in the summer only for Celtic to withdraw at the last minute. Everything was agreed.

I suppose that's what happens when you're 'Celtic Minded'

19-12-2014, 05:33 PM

Islington Hibs
19-12-2014, 05:47 PM
Played against the Hibs under 20's a few weeks ago, and Calum Crane said he had him in his pocket.
Griffiths has to be careful now about his career. If it's money, he'll stay at Celtic, but he really needs to get his career going again, and soon

Agree- he is clearly talented. Can't understand why Celtic have not give him a chance. Completely understand why he sucking up to their support but surely he must realise paying for the under 20's is ridiculous. I doubt we will see him again (as Celtic have no interest in helping us) but surely he will find a club down South?

19-12-2014, 06:16 PM

Leigh will never be one of them :greengrin

19-12-2014, 06:24 PM
Leigh will never be one of them :greengrin

Might be a whoosh moment :greengrin

19-12-2014, 06:35 PM
Might be a whoosh moment :greengrin

Is it? I'd be surprised if Leigh prefers to eh... alight at Haymarket...

19-12-2014, 07:05 PM

Such a great saying that only edinburgh folk understand. :greengrin

20-12-2014, 03:49 PM

"...never mind the express, here come the goods" (to quote another old gag).

23-12-2014, 03:39 PM
Picture of him on twitter... He's surely not had another bairn?? :confused::confused:

woodythehibee
23-12-2014, 05:32 PM
Picture of him on twitter... He's surely not had another bairn?? :confused::confused:
It's his mate's bairn :agree:

23-12-2014, 06:44 PM
It's his mate's bairn :agree:

Or is it?..

24-12-2014, 03:04 PM
Never really put much credence in reports he would be back, but based on current paper talk looks to me that he is definitely staying at Parkhead now he is a 24/7 footballer.

24-12-2014, 07:57 PM
Bolton are interested I believe

24-12-2014, 09:34 PM

Notlob? Surely that's a step backwards :wink:

24-12-2014, 09:35 PM

No chance they just got big Heskey back :greengrin

26-12-2014, 06:40 PM
No chance they just got big Heskey back :greengrin

Big heskey came on and scored today, they won't want griffiths now. :greengrin

26-12-2014, 07:41 PM
Big heskey came on and scored today, they won't want griffiths now. :greengrin

So what you're saying is... Griffiths is coming back?! :hyper

26-12-2014, 07:45 PM

Oh here we go. HM is that all you can post? :rolleyes:

Ah **** it :hyper

26-12-2014, 07:51 PM

150k fact.

26-12-2014, 07:53 PM
150k fact.

£300 a week :hyper

26-12-2014, 08:07 PM
It's not happening, won't be allowed to go Championship club in Scotland, SPL/Championship England or abroad if he goes out on loan, my money is on him staying with celtc, good bonuses with European football at celtc, even if your on the bench or in the stand.

26-12-2014, 08:11 PM
It's not happening, won't be allowed to go Championship club in Scotland, SPL/Championship England or abroad if he goes out on loan, my money is on him staying with celtc, good bonuses with European football at celtc, even if your on the bench or in the stand.

Not so lucrative in uefa cup mind. I do agree it's unlikely he will sign for us though.

26-12-2014, 08:23 PM
Not so lucrative in uefa cup mind. I do agree it's unlikely he will sign for us though.

For the players it will be if they progress, and the bonuses will get bigger if they get in to next round etc etc,

26-12-2014, 08:23 PM
For the players it will be if they progress, and the bonuses will get bigger if they get in to next round etc etc,

They've no chance. What is their record in Europe this season

26-12-2014, 08:38 PM
They've no chance. What is their record in Europe this season

They got through the group stages but were drawn Inter Milan in the next round, could be as far as they go, but if Griffiths gets a run in the team and does well he could be involved in the Milan games, worth staying at celtc for i would think.

26-12-2014, 09:03 PM
They got through the group stages but were drawn Inter Milan in the next round, could be as far as they go, but if Griffiths gets a run in the team and does well he could be involved in the Milan games, worth staying at celtc for i would think.

There is plenty of sense in this post Silver but it wont go in my head! He's coming home! :greengrin

26-12-2014, 09:31 PM
Only trouble with getting Griffith on loan is we already have a loan player from Celtic. ( McGeough )

SPFL Rule 78 says a team can only have one loan player from any single ( Scottish ) club.

We have got Dylan to the end of the season , we would have to convert his loan into a permanent deal, if there was any chance of Griffith returning on loan.

26-12-2014, 09:34 PM
Only trouble with getting Griffith on loan is we already have a loan player from Celtic. ( McGeough )

SPFL Rule 78 says a team can only have one loan player from any single ( Scottish ) club.

We have got Dylan to the end of the season , we would have to convert his loan into a permanent deal, if there was any chance of Griffith returning on loan.

Was that not discussed at length in august/September with the general consensus being that because of mcgeough's age and our status in the championship it would be ok?

26-12-2014, 09:49 PM
We have got Dylan to the end of the season , we would have to convert his loan into a permanent deal, if there was any chance of Griffith returning on loan.That works for me!

26-12-2014, 11:25 PM

Or we could keep McGeouch on loan and just sign Griffiths on a permanent contract. :hyper

26-12-2014, 11:28 PM
Or we could keep McGeouch on loan and just sign Griffiths on a permanent contract. :hyper

I don't think stubbs would want him now. i don't think he fits the template.

26-12-2014, 11:37 PM
I don't think stubbs would want him now. i don't think he fits the template.

What is the template? :confused:

26-12-2014, 11:53 PM
There is plenty of sense in this post Silver but it wont go in my head! He's coming home! :greengrin

He is mate. :hyper