View Full Version : Zemmama

09-12-2014, 09:37 PM
Had a meeting with oor Rod today,not Leeann

Mmmmm?

Before anyone says source, sorry been asked not to divulge but he def met him today

09-12-2014, 09:40 PM
Had a meeting with oor Rod today,not Leeann

Mmmmm?

Before anyone says source, sorry been asked not to divulge but he def met him today

Aye right.

09-12-2014, 09:41 PM
Maybe Rod's converting to Islam?:greengrin

70hibby
09-12-2014, 09:42 PM

Lol :greengrin

09-12-2014, 09:44 PM
Maybe Zemamma is an investor to clear our debt.........

09-12-2014, 09:46 PM
Tourist visits old pal shock. Up there with Riordan near incident so is guilty by association exclusive.

09-12-2014, 09:48 PM
Aye right.

You must know more than me then

09-12-2014, 09:53 PM
Aye right.

09-12-2014, 10:10 PM
It's true, it was a double date with them Budgie and Skacel

09-12-2014, 10:17 PM
You should be a reporter for the sun with writing like that.

09-12-2014, 10:22 PM

somebody tell him it's different kind of prophets.

10-12-2014, 01:22 AM
Free agent, only 31?
Maybe worth a trial.
Can certainly create chances.

10-12-2014, 05:04 AM

:hibees

Mark79
10-12-2014, 06:00 AM
No ta. Had his chance. Some cracking moments but more time on treatment table or having a poor game.

Auckland Hibs
10-12-2014, 06:04 AM

10-12-2014, 07:01 AM
No ta. Had his chance. Some cracking moments but more time on treatment table or having a poor game.

He's far better than we currently have so I'd be happy enough with that.

10-12-2014, 07:07 AM

Scott Allan? :confused:

10-12-2014, 07:15 AM
Scott Allan? :confused:

Was thinking more handling, Harris or Stanton but was trying to avoid using their names as criticism of young players doesn't go down very well on here ;-)

I'd say Scott Allan was more of a centre mid where as zemmama is better either put wide or behind the strikers.

10-12-2014, 07:46 AM

Is he really though? When Zemmama was on his game he was a hugely entertaining player, but I also remember the huge number of problems we had getting him to perform consistently or even be on the pitch (whether through injury or because of other issues). If I recall correctly, we ended up getting about 10-15 appearances a season from him over his time at Hibs which is really poor! I dont doubt his technical ability compared to most currently at Hibs, but theres far more to being a footballer than that.

IFONLY
10-12-2014, 07:54 AM
Was thinking more handling, Harris or Stanton but was trying to avoid using their names as criticism of young players doesn't go down very well on here ;-)

I'd say Scott Allan was more of a centre mid where as zemmama is better either put wide or behind the strikers.

But you did anyway!!!

10-12-2014, 07:56 AM
Another player who had too many 'off days' just like all the others. In other words not good enough.

Although one game he was outstanding and one of the best performances I have seen by a Hibs player, think it was against Dundee Utd.

steve75
10-12-2014, 08:38 AM
If he could prove his fitness and fit into what Stubbs wanted I'd be more than happy for the return!

People are forgetting that the top flight standard has dropped considerably since he last played here, and we are a tier below that.

10-12-2014, 08:41 AM
But you did anyway!!!

Yes. I decided that as its a hibs forum it wasn't unreasonable to suggest an ex player is far better than we currently have, regardless of age.

10-12-2014, 08:41 AM
Another player who had too many 'off days' just like all the others. In other words not good enough.

Although one game he was outstanding and one of the best performances I have seen by a Hibs player, think it was against Dundee Utd.

I think he is good enough. Yes he is inconsistent but at this level he would stroll it.
Saturday showed more than ever how much we miss a bit of creativity or a cutting edge. Zemamma would give that.
If terms are sensible then it's worth a punt.

10-12-2014, 08:45 AM
He signed a 2 year deal for Raja Casablanca in August 13. No idea if he has been playing or not.

10-12-2014, 08:49 AM
Seem to remember he had a lot of issues with his missus getting a visa and his family coming over, so that would've certainly unsettled him. That free-kick against St MIrren, that drive against Rangers which led to the quickest goal in SPL history, he was exciting!

10-12-2014, 09:21 AM
Be worth a couple of weeks trial, see what Stubbs thinks.

10-12-2014, 11:09 AM
Zemmama is still my grandson's fav Hibs player . He's now 8 . A couple of years ago when the kids meet santa after the panto , santa asked him "what can i get for you young man "
To which my grandson replied " can you have a word with the manager , for selling Zemmama " . Santa and his helpers burst out laughing . Lol

Ken
10-12-2014, 11:25 AM
If Stubbs is interested in Zemmama and the terms of the contract suit Hibs, I would be all for giving him a short term pay as you play deal

10-12-2014, 11:38 AM

I disagree. He was very inconsistent and if we did sign him he'd need to put in a lot more effort than I remember him doing last time around.

The quality's there, I agree, but he didn't show it half enough to justify a second chance.

And in view of his inconsistency and lack of effort, I would challenge the notion that he's better than we currently have.

AND I thought Leeann Dempster was the CEO now - not Petrie. He should have gone in the summer. He certainly shouldn't be hanging around getting involved in the signing of players.

You can't go back.

10-12-2014, 11:40 AM
I would be all for giving him a short term pay as you play deal

These types of contract don't really exist anymore as there are a load of legal issues around said contracts.

Ken
10-12-2014, 11:49 AM
These types of contract don't really exist anymore as there are a load of legal issues around said contracts.

Low basic wage and an appearance bonus. Deal until the end of the season. Don't think that would be too complicated to put in place

10-12-2014, 12:11 PM
Low basic wage and an appearance bonus. Deal until the end of the season. Don't think that would be too complicated to put in place

Agree. It would be relatively easy to put in place.

I dont think he done enough the first time to merit even that though...

10-12-2014, 12:39 PM

You are totally at it! Have you watched him recently?

10-12-2014, 12:44 PM
You are totally at it! Have you watched him recently?

No but I've watched hibs recently.

If he's half the player he was he'd be good enough for this league.

10-12-2014, 12:47 PM
We haven't had a player as creative as Zemmama since he left. Some of his touches were sublime. Worth it for that alone.

Give me 1 zouma instead of 10 of these boring 'safe' players.

10-12-2014, 12:50 PM
Come on, if he's anything like the player we had before he'd be very good in this standard. I genuinely think some people do forget just where we are playing our football these days.

10-12-2014, 12:52 PM
Come on, if he's anything like the player we had before he'd be very good in this standard. I genuinely think some people do forget just where we are playing our football these days.

You must be totally at it!

10-12-2014, 12:53 PM
You must be totally at it!

10-12-2014, 12:59 PM

You both need to lay off the lunchtime shandies.

10-12-2014, 01:01 PM
You both need to lay off the lunchtime shandies.

do you want a bet? :greengrin

10-12-2014, 01:04 PM
You cant comment on a player you havent seen play for years! Maybe we can get Roughie back in goals? Andy Goram is a free agent? Steve Archibald?

10-12-2014, 01:12 PM

You cant comment on a player you havent seen play for years! Maybe we can get Roughie back in goals? Andy Goram is a free agent? Steve Archibald?

There's the clue you missed. :wink:

10-12-2014, 01:13 PM

But you can suggest a trial might be worthwhile given that he is only 31.

10-12-2014, 01:50 PM
What about Benji ? Or is he still waiting for Real Madrid.

10-12-2014, 02:24 PM
Zemamma or Harris? Mmmm let me think!!

I'd take a half fit Zemamma everyday of the week.

10-12-2014, 02:45 PM
If he could prove his fitness and fit into what Stubbs wanted I'd be more than happy for the return!

People are forgetting that the top flight standard has dropped considerably since he last played here, and we are a tier below that.

Agree. Get him in to train and if he looks good sign him until the end of the season. Sinclair etc. will be going back to their clubs in the window so we'll need players in. As we saw on Saturday, our squad is poor beyond the first XI.

10-12-2014, 02:49 PM
Agree. Get him in to train and if he looks good sign him until the end of the season. Sinclair etc. will be going back to their clubs in the window so we'll need players in. As we saw on Saturday, our squad is poor beyond the first XI.

I don't think there will be any etc! If the parent clubs agree, & I believe they will, then Oxley, McGeouch & Kennedy will be here until end of season. I wouldn't completely rule Sinclair out either.

10-12-2014, 03:07 PM

Are we still at Easter Road?!? ;-)

10-12-2014, 03:12 PM

10-12-2014, 03:15 PM

Correct! One of the few players in my Hibs supporting life worth paying in to watch.

10-12-2014, 03:17 PM
Correct! One of the few players in my Hibs supporting life worth paying in to watch.

He really was, he could change a game. We don't have that bit of magic just now. I'd like to see him back and would improve the team IMO.

10-12-2014, 03:20 PM

Aye - you are a very unfortunate age Andy.

First Hibs X1 I saw included Brownlie, Schaedler, Stanton, Blackley, Edwards, O'Rourke, Gordon, Cropley, Duncan etc.. :cb

10-12-2014, 03:24 PM
I disagree. He was very inconsistent and if we did sign him he'd need to put in a lot more effort than I remember him doing last time around.

The quality's there, I agree, but he didn't show it half enough to justify a second chance.

And in view of his inconsistency and lack of effort, I would challenge the notion that he's better than we currently have.

AND I thought Leeann Dempster was the CEO now - not Petrie. He should have gone in the summer. He certainly shouldn't be hanging around getting involved in the signing of players.

You can't go back.
Zemmama or Harris? :wink:

10-12-2014, 03:25 PM

beat me to it

10-12-2014, 03:35 PM
Aye - you are a very unfortunate age Andy.

First Hibs X1 I saw included Brownlie, Schaedler, Stanton, Blackley, Edwards, O'Rourke, Gordon, Cropley, Duncan etc.. :cb

First line up I saw was:

Jim McArthur
Alan Sneddon
Erich Schaedler
Jackie McNamara
Peter Welsh
Ally Brazil
Ralph Callachan
Bobby Thomson
Derek Rodier
Willie Jamieson
Bobby Flavell

Yours might win.

10-12-2014, 03:37 PM
First line up I saw was:

Jim McArthur
Alan Sneddon
Erich Schaedler
Jackie McNamara
Peter Welsh
Ally Brazil
Ralph Callachan
Bobby Thomson
Derek Rodier
Willie Jamieson
Bobby Flavell

Yours might win.

Yeah but just think of the quality of the hairstyles. :greengrin

10-12-2014, 03:40 PM
Imagine Zemamma in the middle with a fit Deek banging in the goals. :drool:

Make it happen, Stubbsie!

10-12-2014, 03:59 PM

Pay as you play, who was the last flawed but talented player we did this with and was he a failure? :wink: All about the level of football and the duration of the deal.

To be honest the only part of this that really excited me is if a deal is on WTF has it got to do with the semi retired :wink:, non involved chairman?

10-12-2014, 04:16 PM
Pay as you play, who was the last flawed but talented player we did this with and was he a failure? :wink: All about the level of football and the duration of the deal.

To be honest the only part of this that really excited me is if a deal is on WTF has it got to do with the semi retired :wink:, non involved chairman?

I love this forum.

Isn't Pay as you Play the same as a zero hours contract?

The things we expect our players, manager and directors to do for us is, well, er, perfectly reasonable. :wink:

djs69
10-12-2014, 04:19 PM
Part player part coach, he is the type of player who could always make space in the hole( behave, not that) and had a few tricks up his sleeve, we hear of goalkeeping and defensive coaches , maybe a playmaking coach is being recruited?!?!

10-12-2014, 04:21 PM
I love this forum.

Isn't Pay as you Play the same as a zero hours contract?

The things we expect our players, manager and directors to do for us is, well, er, perfectly reasonable. :wink:

Aw balls, here's me thinking I was being clever again:wink:

It'll never work

10-12-2014, 04:31 PM
He was probably popping in to say hello to Rodders as he's an out the only person he will know

10-12-2014, 04:43 PM
Aw balls, here's me thinking I was being clever again:wink:

It'll never work

Oh, I know all about George Best. I saw every one of his games for Hibs, and the ones he didn't turn up for! :greengrin

George Best signed a play as you pay deal on an extremely high game fee. He would have been picked for every week, if he'd been even semi fit, so that deal probably worked better for him than it did Hibs, in all honesty.

The money also reportedly came direct from Tom Hart's pocket although Hibs recouped some of it through higher attendances.

If Zemamma is looking to put himself in the shop window in order to secure a deal at Hibs or elsewhere, then a pay as you play deal would be an option.

If however, he's fit and has other options, he'd be mad to sign on that basis.

In my opinion, I should add. :greengrin

10-12-2014, 04:50 PM
Oh, I know all about George Best. I saw every one of his games for Hibs, and the ones he didn't turn up for! :greengrin

George Best signed a play as you pay deal on an extremely high game fee. He would have been picked for every week, if he'd been even semi fit, so that deal probably worked better for him than it did Hibs, in all honesty.

The money also reportedly came direct from Tom Hart's pocket although Hibs recouped some of it through higher attendances.

If Zemamma is looking to put himself in the shop window in order to secure a deal at Hibs or elsewhere, then a pay as you play deal would be an option.

If however, he's fit and has other options, he'd be mad to sign on that basis.

In my opinion, I should add. :greengrin

Agree every word, I was at the same games as you, enjoyed every minute, including bumping into him in the pub with other fans before an Ayr Utd cup game when he was in the squad that day.

Hart did pay his wages.

If we could get some moments of inspiration and highlight from Zemmama when he did pay if Stubbs wanted him, and zero cost when he didn't play, I'd do it. That said I wouldn't be too upset if this was a load of tom kite.

10-12-2014, 04:53 PM
He was probably popping in to say hello to Rodders as he's an out the only person he will know

Why was he in Edinburgh then? Pleasure or business?

Maybe he's opening a restaurant?

Actually, I would frequent a place called Zemmama's... sounds awesome. :greengrin

10-12-2014, 04:59 PM
Why was he in Edinburgh then? Pleasure or business?

Maybe he's opening a restaurant?

Actually, I would frequent a place called Zemmama's... sounds awesome. :greengrin

He was minding his own business and got blown here by Zemamma nature ;)

10-12-2014, 05:10 PM

He'll no be playing wide these days. We signed him as a no 10 and the JC & Mixu played him wide.

Him or Handling?:hmmm:

10-12-2014, 06:06 PM
Agree every word, I was at the same games as you, enjoyed every minute, including bumping into him in the pub with other fans before an Ayr Utd cup game when he was in the squad that day.

Hart did pay his wages.

If we could get some moments of inspiration and highlight from Zemmama when he did pay if Stubbs wanted him, and zero cost when he didn't play, I'd do it. That said I wouldn't be too upset if this was a load of tom kite.

Sorry to be pedantic but this is wrong. Hart didn't pay a penny of Best's wages. The deal was Hart would pay the wage - £2000 - IF he did not increase the gate in any game he appeared [or was supposed to appear] in, The previous seasons attendances used as the yardstick. Remember his home debut v Partick Thistle and 29,000 turned up. Every game Best appeared in added thousands to the gate whilst he played for us.

10-12-2014, 06:11 PM
Sorry to be pedantic but this is wrong. Hart didn't pay a penny of Best's wages. The deal was Hart would pay the wage - £2000 - IF he did not increase the gate in any game he appeared [or was supposed to appear] in, The previous seasons attendances used as the yardstick. Remember his home debut v Partick Thistle and 29,000 turned up. Every game Best appeared in added thousands to the gate whilst he played for us.

20000 were at the game v Partick, not 29000.

We would have had around 4k so it was still a significant increase.

10-12-2014, 06:15 PM

Not pedantic, you could be right, I was told separately by a shareholder and well respected player who went onto have a decent business career that Hart fronted the wages or Best wouldn't have signed (he wanted cash early on at that time in his career). He was guaranteed the agreed wage every time he played, but not if he didn't.

Who knows what to believe, I believed my sources, always wiling to listen to evidence either way. What he did do is bring us a few memories on the pitch.

10-12-2014, 09:06 PM
and he didn't even play cause he was hung over !!!

10-12-2014, 09:35 PM
and he didn't even play cause he was hung over !!!

he did play in the partick game, it was the cup tie against ayr united on the sunday were he didnt turn up as he got pished with the irish fans who were in town for the rugby international which was on the saturday

10-12-2014, 09:43 PM
he did play in the partick game, it was the cup tie against ayr united on the sunday were he didnt turn up as he got pished with the irish fans who were in town for the rugby international which was on the saturday

It was the French Rugby Team not the Irish fans.

Debbie Harry was also with them.

11-12-2014, 04:49 PM
Not pedantic, you could be right, I was told separately by a shareholder and well respected player who went onto have a decent business career that Hart fronted the wages or Best wouldn't have signed (he wanted cash early on at that time in his career). He was guaranteed the agreed wage every time he played, but not if he didn't.

Who knows what to believe, I believed my sources, always wiling to listen to evidence either way. What he did do is bring us a few memories on the pitch.

Tom Hart did guarantee to pay the £2000 wage, but only if the attendance had not increased in comparison to the previous years fixture.

As a wee side note, on his Hibs debut V St Mirren, [a], we were getting beat 2-0 with only a few minutes to play and the St Mirren fans started chanting "Ha ha Georgie ha ha" over and over. Seemed to spur the great man on as he picked the ball up [not literally] dribbled forward and scored from around 25 yards, [great goal]. From the kick-off Hibs regained possession and he demanded the ball, again around the half-way line, dribbled past a few players and unleashed another 25 yarder, unfortunately just a wee bit too high . At the final whistle a few seconds later even the St Mirren fans were chanting his name.

11-12-2014, 05:24 PM
It was the French Rugby Team not the Irish fans.

Debbie Harry was also with them.

:hmmm: Debbie Harry or ER?

Hard call.
(no pun intended).

12-12-2014, 03:28 PM

Up your game eh.

I seen Deek play a few weeks ago for 90 minutes and he was outstanding. :greengrin

12-12-2014, 03:53 PM
Up your game eh.

I seen Deek play a few weeks ago for 90 minutes and he was outstanding. :greengrin

For who?!

12-12-2014, 04:00 PM
[QUOTE=silverhibee;4247093]Up your game eh.

I seen Deek play a few weeks ago for 90 minutes and he was outstanding. N:greengrin[/
at pool,darts ??
need to be more dpecific 😃QUOTE]

12-12-2014, 04:19 PM
Up your game eh.

Now we've got the inevitable "Hibs to try again for Griffiths" thread up and running again, at what point to we dig up the equally inevitable "Deek - worth a shout?" thread?

12-12-2014, 05:03 PM
After the O'Connor's knocking in the goals for Selkirk thread.