View Full Version : St Mirren looking for new manager

09-12-2014, 10:05 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/30395673

Tommy Craig has left his post as St Mirren manager after a poor start to the season.
The 64-year-old has parted company with the Scottish Premiership club after only 19 games in charge.
St Mirren sit second bottom of the table, ahead of Ross County on goal difference.
Craig, who previously managed Scotland Under-21s and Belgian club Charleroi, had taken charge in the summer after the sacking of Danny Lennon. (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/27398509)

The former Aberdeen, Sheffield Wednesday, Newcastle United, Aston Villa, Swansea City, Carlisle United and Hibernian midfielder had been Lennon's assistant.

09-12-2014, 10:07 AM
Strange move in the first place for them to replace Lennon with him.

I thought that if they were to get rid of Lennon they'd be better with a fresh start altogether.

09-12-2014, 10:09 AM
Saw this coming from the minute he got the gig.

09-12-2014, 10:51 AM
Saw this coming from the minute he got the gig.

Think most of us did ... it was a strange one from the off.

09-12-2014, 11:07 AM
Any early favourites for the job?

09-12-2014, 11:22 AM
Easily the worst decision of the summer. Made literally zero sense and has ended just like all of us expected. They deserve to get relegated for being so stupid

09-12-2014, 11:24 AM

pretty sure they'll get the same 40 invitations as with every SPL club in Scotland gets when there is a vacancy!

09-12-2014, 11:26 AM

Hopefully Butcher and Malpas, if they don't get the Motherwell job :greengrin

Green forever
09-12-2014, 11:44 AM
Hopefully Butcher and Malpas, if they don't get the Motherwell job :greengrin

Wonderful management team, undefeated all season . Swearing at fans seems to have stopped as well.What is not to like ? Fill your boots Saints.

09-12-2014, 11:59 AM
McCoist? He'd have to take a pay cut though lol

09-12-2014, 12:05 PM
Was this not just to save a bit money? Not renew Danny Lennon's contract and promote from within. I can understand why they'd want to do that but I think it was fairly obvious that if Tommy Craig hadn't established himself as a manager by the time he was 63 , it wasn't likely to happen this season. They would have been better trying somebody like Ian Murray.

davidw
09-12-2014, 12:22 PM

Stuart Baxter...

09-12-2014, 12:53 PM
I'd imagine they'll be interested in Robbie Neilson?

09-12-2014, 12:55 PM
I'd imagine they'll be interested in Robbie Neilson?

Big step up for him this early in his managerial career.

09-12-2014, 01:00 PM
Wonderful management team, undefeated all season . Swearing at fans seems to have stopped as well.What is not to like ? Fill your boots Saints.
But has fans swearing at managers stopped?

09-12-2014, 01:03 PM
Big step up for him this early in his managerial career.

It would be but he'd be cheap and I'd imagine that's high on st Mirrens requirements.

09-12-2014, 01:03 PM
Was this not just to save a bit money? Not renew Danny Lennon's contract and promote from within. I can understand why they'd want to do that but I think it was fairly obvious that if Tommy Craig hadn't established himself as a manager by the time he was 63 , it wasn't likely to happen this season. They would have been better trying somebody like Ian Murray.

My understanding was that they had offered the job to Murray in the summer who elected to stay with Dumbarton. Perhaps in the absence of a plan B they then panicked a bit and gave it to Craig.

09-12-2014, 01:07 PM
Gary Cocke? :dunno:

09-12-2014, 01:14 PM
Gary Cocke? :dunno:

Probably hates them for letting Celtic win the league when he was a wee laddie?

09-12-2014, 01:35 PM
Feel sorry for him. It was obvious he wasn't quite up to it

09-12-2014, 01:43 PM
My understanding was that they had offered the job to Murray in the summer who elected to stay with Dumbarton. Perhaps in the absence of a plan B they then panicked a bit and gave it to Craig.
Yeh, I heard that they'd been after Murray as well. I kind of get the impression Craig had been angling for the job, was surprised he didn't go when Lennon did. So much for loyalty these days I suppose.

09-12-2014, 01:44 PM
Happened likes? Video evidence please.

09-12-2014, 01:52 PM
No shock at all. St Mirren made a mistake getting rid of Lennon but compounded it by giving it to craig

09-12-2014, 01:54 PM
I mind nearly everyone on here saying he will be first to be sacked. How Saints couldn't see he wasn't the man for the job I'll never know. He's very, very old school and his time in the game is long gone.

09-12-2014, 02:28 PM
Are there any prices up for the next manager, I couldn't find them on Oddschecker...

09-12-2014, 02:31 PM
I mind nearly everyone on here saying he will be first to be sacked. How Saints couldn't see he wasn't the man for the job I'll never know. He's very, very old school and his time in the game is long gone.

He wasn't though, was he?

Derek Adams takes that prize.

09-12-2014, 02:32 PM
He wasn't though, was he?

Derek Adams takes that prize.

Sorry "one of the first" [emoji1]

09-12-2014, 03:32 PM
Couldn't believe they got rid of Lennon and brought in Craig. Astonishing

09-12-2014, 03:35 PM
Couldn't believe they got rid of Lennon and brought in Craig. Astonishing

Agree terrible decision.

09-12-2014, 04:00 PM
Strange move in the first place for them to replace Lennon with him.

I thought that if they were to get rid of Lennon they'd be better with a fresh start altogether.
Agree.strange appointment and doomed as soon as he failed to bring Alan o'Brien in with him[emoji1]

09-12-2014, 04:07 PM
Stuart McCall could be a good shout

09-12-2014, 04:13 PM

1875er
09-12-2014, 04:17 PM
Is that not an echo rather than a shout? ... :-)

09-12-2014, 04:24 PM
Took 6 minutes to rebound.

09-12-2014, 04:33 PM
Sorry "one of the first" [emoji1]

Sorry didn't mean to come across as bitchy, in case it did!

It was a genuine question as Adams may have resigned and I don't know if that counts, betting-wise.

09-12-2014, 04:36 PM
Sorry didn't mean to come across as bitchy, in case it did!

It was a genuine question as Adams may have resigned and I don't know if that counts, betting-wise.

I know bud but you were right. Think he was binned by County!

09-12-2014, 04:44 PM

He can surely get a decent job down south or...The Rangers...?

09-12-2014, 04:48 PM
The only surprise for me is that its taken them so long to bin him.

09-12-2014, 05:28 PM

They're actually his hometown team.

09-12-2014, 05:32 PM
Barry Smith being quoted on BBC. Alloa saying no approach made

Joe's ice cream
09-12-2014, 05:38 PM
My problem was the constant round of other managers and media types in the game giving him thire support despite his awful record .
Hughes comments after ICT beat them about him being a "right good manager" were typical of what was coming out.
Michael Stewart on Sportsound the other night seems to be the only one who had the balls to tell it like it was instead of peddling the urban myth around his ability to get it right.

09-12-2014, 05:47 PM
My problem was the constant round of other managers and media types in the game giving him thire support despite his awful record .
Hughes comments after ICT beat them about him being a "right good manager" were typical of what was coming out.
Michael Stewart on Sportsound the other night seems to be the only one who had the balls to tell it like it was instead of peddling the urban myth around his ability to get it right.
You're quite right about the media side of it, and other manager's comments too, but publicly I don't think any of them were going to come out and say 'Sorry, he's a ***** manager, end of story', even if inwardly they might think it. I actually thought Stewart was trying to be a bit more diplomatic than he normally is the other night when he was asked about it, but even he didn't really come out and say 'let's face it, he's pish, taxi for Craig please.'

Joe's ice cream
09-12-2014, 05:52 PM
You're quite right about the media side of it, and other manager's comments too, but publicly I don't think any of them were going to come out and say 'Sorry, he's a ***** manager, end of story', even if inwardly they might think it. I actually thought Stewart was trying to be a bit more diplomatic than he normally is the other night when he was asked about it, but even he didn't really come out and say 'let's face it, he's pish, taxi for Craig please.'

Your 100% spot on and I don't disagree with any of what you've written -I know it will never happen but would be good to be presented with some honest opinions at times - hey ho you can but hope

09-12-2014, 06:03 PM
They're actually his hometown team.

Neilson's? It's all adding up. Expect an approach to be made soon then.

macd123
09-12-2014, 10:12 PM
Billy brown would be perfect for the job

09-12-2014, 10:58 PM
Billy brown would be perfect for the job

I believe he's been places and done things. :agree:

09-12-2014, 11:10 PM
He can surely get a decent job down south or...The Rangers...?

I think he'd actually improve Der Hun.

10-12-2014, 07:59 AM
I believe he's been places and done things. :agree:
He's been a bit quiet recently.I must admit I thought his big purple heid had finally just exploded or he had quietly disappeared up his own erse.

10-12-2014, 05:43 PM
The new owners have offered the job to an English man who is currently considering it